Submitted by David Comissiong, Citizen Advocate
Mark Maloney – Vision Development Inc

Over the past week or so an entity named “Hyatt Centric Development Team” has been sending out invitations inviting selected persons to a “public interactive discussion on the project” at the “site of the Hyatt Centric Resort, Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, Bridgetown” on Saturday June 10th, 2017.”

This development constitutes a callous “slap in the face” of all Barbadians and a monumental insult to our intelligence!

Indeed,these people are so contemptuous of us that they are bold-facedly holding a public town hall meeting (or as they term it— a public interactive discussion) NOT during the period  of the processing of the application; NOT prior to the Minister making a decision on the application, but some four (4) months AFTER the Minister has made his decision to grant permission to construct the controversial hotel!

This meaningless town hall meeting is therefore simply a window dressing and public relations exercise on the part of the developer ! It has no substance or utility!

The whole purpose of a public town hall meeting is to give the Citizens and residents an input or say in the decision-making process BEFORE any decision is made by the authorities.

Indeed, when a public town hall meeting is held as part of the processing of an application for a construction project it is stipulated that a record MUST be made of the meeting, and that the record must be forwarded to the Town and Country Planning authorities for their consideration PRIOR to the making of a decision on the application.

I wish to reiterate that the application of Mr Mark Maloney’s company for permission to construct a 15 storey hotel on the beach at Carlisle Bay required that the proposed project be subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)  BEFORE any decision could be properly made on the application. And the staging of a serious and meaningful public town hall meeting would have been an integral requirement of the EIA process!

Here, for the record , is what our Town and Country Planning Department’s “Handbook and Guide To Town Planning” says about this matter:-

PUBLIC  CONSULTATION

Any application to the Chief Town Planner which requires the preparation of an environmental impact assessment SHALL be the subject of a PUBLIC  MEETING. The EIA report shall be made available to the public for a period of not less than twenty-eight (28) days to allow for perusal and scrutiny. The EIA report SHALL be made available within the community, district or main public library and the Town and Country Development Planning Office.

No later than fourteen(14) days after the public meeting the applicant is REQUIRED  TO  SUBMIT  THE  REPORT  OF  THE  PROCEEDINGS  TO  THE  CHIEF  TOWN  PLANNER.

ADVERTISING

The public meeting shall be advertised on local media and at least one daily newspaper announcing the availability of the EIA report at the commencement of the twenty-eight day period. The advertisement should occupy at least one quarter page in the newspaper and should be bold and noticeable.

Furthermore, Section 12.2 of our country’s Physical Development Plan stipulates that “where Environmental Impact Assessments are required they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner  PRIOR to approval being given“.

In light of the foregoing, the proverbial “Six Million Dollar Question” is :- “Why wasn’t this particular project subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment, inclusive of a substantive and meaningful public town hall meeting in which we— the people of Barbados– could have asked serious questions, demanded answers, and recorded any concerns or objections that we might have about the project ???

Somebody will have to answer this question , whether that answer is provided in the public domain or in the confines of a Court room.

232 responses to “They Making (HYATT) Mock Sport at WE!”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TAKEN FROM FACEBOOK

“The matter of the SI which was drafted and purportedly passed into law in 1984 to permit Ms. Mottley and 3 other to practice law in Barbados WITHOUT a legal certificate is currently engaging the attention of the Chief Justice of Barbados and the Prime Minister.

I have written to the CJ in respect of the de jure and de facto position of a judge who was called to practice in Barbados under that same legislation.

I have discussed the matter at different levels.

It is not a simple matter. We do have a problem on our hands… The solution lies with parliament.”

2. angela Skeete Avatar

WEll Well! go tell Mottley getting her LEC is one way of demonstrating good leadership, Better yet maybe you WELl WELL can take the examination and pass the certification on to her
    it is so embarrassing that Mottley got up in parliament and use theatrical self defense to usher in an entitlement that she sees as befitting and beneficial to her self

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Yeah Carson…I am sure you will find that those exemptions for Mia et al were approved by government ministers, an attorney general and several legislators, one of whom may have been the prime minister of the day..

Exemptions which by your own posts, proves that it was legislation passed into law to allow Mia and others to practice law without an LEC..it is not illegal, Mia did not commit a crime.ya cannot unring that bell…and people who clutch at straws usually drown.

The only thing ya can do is rescind the legislation that allows Mia to practice law…Good luck with that as ya might find that after yall rescind it that when ya get kicked out of parliament.,, CJ Marston Gibson will find his appointment which was the results of DLP legislation change…rescinded as well, it’s called fair play.

Besides. ..if Fruendel, Lowe and any of the lawyers in parliament were capable of any rational or analytical skills to think through simple thinkPgs at this level…yall would know this….

And if Lowe had attended a real university instead of that fly by night degree mill…he would also know this…..sigh.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TAKEN FROM FACEBOOK

“”CARICOM leaders participated in the process to exempt their “charges” from going to Hugh Wooding ….They mischaracterized the concept of a “transition”.

Persons who started law in 1981,82,83,84….if they knew that an “exemption” was coming in 1984 could have gone to the UK .

It was wrong and smacks of privilege. Even the way Ms. Mottley flaunts the recommendations is distasteful. I have told her that those recommendations don’t matter. “”

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

So is Justice Gibson’s exemption that DLP gave him to become chief justice…it may be wrong in the eyes of the narrow minded and those with wicked ulterior motives…but not criminal.

Carson…ah hope yall dont intend to use this lie about Mia on political platforms to fool ya weakminded yardfowls….voters will have to be told about yall lies from now.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Who was prime minister in 1984 Carson.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://bit.ly/2sQGnhk

Here is a list of Barbadis’ prime ministers in 1984….from 1966..until.

If Mia’s exemption did not come from Tom Adams, which I doubt because of the time frame and he may have exemoted the older lawyers but not Mia, which means that exemption came from Errol Barrow in 1986 or Bree St. John in 1987…..but wait. ..is that not DLP….who would have given Mia the exemption.

Carson.., yall will end up punished for wasting my time.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And I repeat for dummies…..

If Mia’s exemption did not come from Tom Adams, which I doubt because of the time frame and he may have exempted the older lawyers but not Mia, which means that exemption came from Errol Barrow in 1986 or Bree St. John in 1987…..but wait. ..is that not DLP….who would have given Mia the exemption.

And…it will be interesting to know which government Mia’s father Elliott was working for and posted to overseas missions in 1987….or there abouts.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“”See 2nd schedule of LPA which was “sidestepped”.
    An informal request was made of parliament to have Hansard checked and to have the relevant Gazettes checked.

An election year followed….lots happened.””””

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

WELL WELL

For your edification:

All four persons who received exemptions are all BLP operatives.

I will leave it there.

11. IT’S BLOCK VERSUS BLOCK, and bad-man versus bad-man perpetuating gun violence on the streets of Barbados.

“according to Acting Commissioner of Police, Tyrone Griffith, plenty of Barbadians in villages and communities have vital information about people involved in drug trafficking and gun-running, but refuse to help lawmen end the shootings which have become widespread in recent”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/97650/cop-bajans-talking#sthash.K6nYNLxd.dpuf

12. “POLICE ARE INVESTIGATING the unnatural death of a 47-year-old man, and injuries to a 28-year-old woman, which occurred today around 2 p.m., along Black Rock Main Road, St Michael.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/97624/fatally-shot-black-rock#sthash.wyqHkU3E.dpuf

13. “BARBADOS’ EXPORTS HAVE decreased at a time when several neighbours have registered growth.”

Barbados desperately needs help.

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Even so Carson…those exemptions to practice law withiut LEC…particularly Mia’s exemption were more than likely given to BLP lawyers under DLP governments…., ya cant take it anywhere else…lol

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Now that crap has been cleared up…

Jerome Walcott will be a liabilty to taxpayers if he makes up the next government, he currently sits on the board of directors at Bayview Hospital, was given a 20% share of Diagnotic Services owned by the same family to redirect MRI, Ultra Sound and any other medical services QEH also makes money from….to Diagnostic Services…that is bribery in its most ugly form…it compromises QEH hospital and any money they can make…..and, he is a prime candidate to be blackmailed, further compromising the government and Bajans….

….as are all the politicians and government ministers of DBLP currently being blackmailed by these 2 indian brothers who are known blackmailers.

What are Fruendel and Mia and others in the government, lawyers and some doctors plan to do about these 2 indian  blackmailers….how much longer yall plan to allow them to continue their vile blackmailing operations..before what you are being blackmailed over hits the blogs..

For your sakes, I hope not long

16. Here we go again being distracted by a spurious and extended discussion about Ms Mottley’s law degree instead of discussing and highlighting the real problems foisted upon us by a sad and sorry excuse for a government. How many of us will join the NUPW if they organize a march in protest of the government latest robbery misnamed as a budget? Will the BWU, BUT and BSTU enjoin them this time? How about the Church, the Chamber of Commerce and the Barbados Employers Confederation? Talking about Ms Mottley is BIG FAT DISTRACTION!!

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Information needs to be shared to all voters in Barbados about DLP ministers and their yardfowls lying to them about Mia’s LEC degree….cut them off at the knees.

18. David June 11, 2017 at 5:24 AM #

The fact that the developer saw the need to stage the event yesterday shows there was always room to do it up front read before Stuart approved the project.

David, agreed, but where is the EIA. That document would inform the public about the project. You get a chance to peruse the EIA, then you hold a Town Planning Department mandated Town Hall Meeting to hear feedback and provide feedback, communication between the developer and public.

19. The legislation passed is not illegal but history is laced with legislation that could not pass the litmus test and found to a wrong prepetrated on the masses of gullible and unsuspecting. This Mia prefered entitled piece of legislation is now being tested in the court of public opinion and is found wanting

20. @Nostradamus

Maloney stated yesterday that the developers were willing to do an EIA.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Nostradamus…Hyatt is a scam.

22. @Fearplay

Agree with you. We have some commenters on the blog who deliberately post to divert and we have the other blockheads who willingly allow their objectives to be met. It is quite boring. Of ourse when members of the BU household see certain comments we quickly delete. We highly recommend same.

23. What was Harris’ name before it was Anglicised?

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

The TRUTH cant be deleted!!!!

25. Here we go again scrutinizing a piece of legislation with all the hidden trademarks of a scam.

26. Look this blog provides serious debate, sound and unsound arguments, outright lies and pure comedy, which makes it the best place on the net.🤣
    Just look at the shifting argument by the George Street Goebbels Brigade; all of a sudden Mia Mottley’s connections influenced Caricom leaders to provide transitional arrangements to suit her in the treaty establishing the Council of Legal Education. Prior to this, the impression was given that she is practising outside the ambit of the law and is therefore breaking the law.

Fearplay/David
    The lies must be challenged, if not they become embedded in the debate as truth. The DLP is desperate and knowing what worked in 2008 and 2013, the party is setting in motion a similar platform to mischracterise the leadership of and the BLP to instill doubt in the electorate’s mind. Have you forgetten selling out of land to foreigners, Dodds, ABC highway, $75,000 cheque, plane loads of Guyanese, yachts, busfares, mass public sector layoffs? I think even Mia realises that more than good policy is required, hence the promise of “Haggatt Hall”.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“” Those informal requests were to ensure that the law was indeed followed. The mischief lies in the law itself!””

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FROM FACEBOOK

“”The legislation still has to be laid in both houses. The request of parliament was to make sure the processes were correctly followed. If the process was not that raises ANOTHER issue.

I’m not prepared to say more here ….I’ve left the matter with the Chief Justice who has to consult the Prime Minister with respect to my claim that a judge sits on the bench who is not properly appointed as an attorney.

It is clear that if no investigation is carried out that I will have to bring a claim for a declaration that….””

There are four “”Lawyers”” who have a problem. Mia is just one of them.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TAKEN FROM FACEBOOK

“”Everyone is distracted by the fact that she didn’t go to law school (Hugh Wooding) and therefore doesn’t have an LEC. The article says that even an LLB was not produced.

Here is how law works:

You go to uni and you get an LLB. You use the LLB as evidence that you qualified in the study of law. You present it to Hugh Wooding. You train there for 2 years and they give you an LEC. Now you are both qualified and trained.

If you have an LLB from somewhere other than the Caribbean, and you were already trained (like at one of the Temples) you do a 6 month course of training for your LEC.

Then you go to the court and take an oath to become an officer of the court. To do this 2 attorneys in good standing my SWEAR to the court that they know you, that you are fit to be an officer of the court, AND THAT THEY HAVE SEEN YOUR LLB AND LEC.

In the letters presented by Mottley, there is no evidence of successfully completed the LLB or that any attorney has seen it.

I don’t know if they have. I don’t know if they mentioned it in the letters and the newspaper didn’t quote that part. But the paper seems to indicate that neither the LLB or the LEC was presented to HOA.

The implications of not having an LEC when you already have an LLB from London School of Economics and are trained at Middle Temple are not particularly earth shaking. Yes ‘privilege’. Yes ‘uncle’ Errol and ‘uncle’ Henry accommodated your whims because ‘power’.

However the implications of not having an LLB are way more serious. With no LLB, and no LEC and being called after 1980… well… um … you are not eligible to hold a practicing certificate 😔

Now you must ask yourself if the reason for using privilege to get out of doing a simple 6 months stint in Trinidad that tantamounts to a holiday is more than we suspected. It could be that it’s not a simple matter of invoking privilege. Avoiding Hugh Wooding may be necessary if one fails one’s LLB.””

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Is this fool for real…

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/11/lashley-ready-to-listen-to-the-people/

Lashley ready to listen to the people
    Added by Davandra Babb on June 11, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Minster of Youth Sports and Culture Stephen Lashley says the time has come for the Government of Barbados to listen to the concerns of citizens.

In fact, he believes that it would be “very foolhardy as a Government not to recognize that persons are concerned”.

So strong is Lashley’s conviction, he said the Government needs to take the concerns of the Barbadian people seriously and listen to them.

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

DLP will still be voted out.

32. angela Skeete Avatar

To think that Mia is positioning herself to become an entitled PM of barbados , i guess when OSA spoke of Mia connected to privilege and entitlement that was the genie in the bottle he was speaking of

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The attorneys general and prime ministers of Barbados woukd much prefer to be blackmailed by minorities and their corrupt ministers be exposed for the world to see rather than lock up corrupt criminal minorities and government ministers.

Well so be it.

“The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has ruled in favour of the attorney general in Belize taking legal action against two former government ministers for losses suffered by the state as a result of misfeasance.”

34. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

Angela

You can start packing your bags now as this circus is closing down and these clowns are about to be out of a job. GOOD RIDDANCE.

35. angela Skeete Avatar

Comissiong is likened to a mole he has infiltrated both the B and D camps getting the necessary inf oration to keep these parties straight so far he has been able to keep the blp on a yo yo puppet string , but with the dlp he finds that the govt would not buckle under his fanatical fantasies hence his combative legal threats

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ANOTHER POST FROM FACEBOOK

“”I got up this morning and read this post in Barbados today. It has generated quite a lot of discussion but no one seems to understand the implications. Why is this still an issue?

Well, I always say that when you start questioning someone, you put yourself up for public scrutiny. The BLP (and not just Mia) targeted Dr Denis Lowe about his doctorate, and implied that his claims to having one may be weak.

Dr Lowe has since produced an original certificate attesting to said doctorate as well as a doctoral thesis. Most rational people would agree that Dr Lowe’s evidence put the issue of his qualifications to rest. In his turn, he challenged the leader of the opposition to produce hers.

What is the evidence required to prove one is an attorney?

An LLB from a recognised university; and,
    An LEC from Hugh Wooding Law School, or equivalent evidence attesting to having completed a course of professional training in law.

Now we all know the story, before 1984 persons who were called to the bar in UK did not require the LEC. The exact law is that anyone who was accepted in one of the Temples before December 1984 does not require an LEC from Hugh Wooding.

Despite finishing law school in 1986, Ms Mottley had already registered at Middle Temple from September 1984 and therefore was not required to attend Hugh Wooding. Fair Enough.

But I have questions. What of the LLB? You need to complete that BEFORE you are accepted into Hugh Wooding. That is the difference between Hugh Wooding and Middle Temple! You can get accepted to Middle Temple before you have an LLB (even though you need the LLB to get your bar call) but you can’t get accepted to Hugh Wood without an LLB.

In this Barbados Today article, we are told that Mia went back to the flood and produced several items of private correspondence including certificates of her O level and A level passes!

But you know what was NOT produced??
    1. A certificate attesting to her LLB from London School of Economics.
    2. An LEC or the equivalent certificate attesting to her having completed a course of professional training at Middle Temple (BVC).

Now what did I tell you are the two pieces of evidence to prove you are qualified to be an attorney-at-law?

And if you decide to accept a challenge to your bona fides as an attorney, would you produce O levels, which do not speak to any qualifications in law? Or would you exhibit your LLB?

Why then did Mia choose to present O levels to parliament?””

37. angela Skeete Avatar

the blp operatives are suffering from pre post political syndrome i once cautioned David BU not to get cocky with his accusations about govt minister but he did not heed my warning but got overly zealous and pompous posting unfiltered comments by some bloggers which were untrue and could not be proven
    Now as the country heads towards the election finish line and the political wheels keep grinding back and forth David BU would be rudely awaken that for all he has done to inflict attacks on govt the same big stick he used to whip and chastise would be used against those with whom he most favored to reign and rule barbados and There would be no exemptions or passing grades because of status

38. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

Every year after the LOTO shares blows against the DLP in the Budget, they bring up this issue of her LEC or lack thereof. This year having realized that Ms. Mottley did not require an LEC on account of her have already been called to bar in the U.K. in 1984, this year the are calling for her LLB.

These clowns are surely getting desperate.

39. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

The focus on this LEC and LLB is a twin point of attack of the DLP. This is the sum total of their defense to 9 years of totally failed policies and t the wreck and ruin of Barbadis, SHAMEFUL.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Unfortunately in this fiasco, others are going to get hurt when the other names are called.

41. Mia Mottley gine get lock up because she does not have a LEC…..Legal Education Certificate !!!!!

Mia Mottley lives by the mantra ……..LEC…..Lick Every Cunt…,.!!!

Wunna mixing up those 3 letters wid Mia’s ……practice….!!!

Mia only interested in the latter meaning of LEC…..!!!

Wait fuh the explosive Canuoan tapes….fuh confirmation……!!!!!! 😛

42. Back to the topic,I note with amazement how these ‘developers’ Blinkered Vision Ltd can get free advertising of their lame duck project on DLPTV.Who cares what might be.What matters is did BV Ltd satisfy the laws of parliament specifically the protocols required by the TCP Act and secondly by the UN Heritage designation.And the rudeness of these people painting a mural as though that act legitimizes the sham gathering of the DLP clan in support.I like Kellman’s observation.If it can’t be built at Bay Street,bring it to St Lucy.After all Pickerings did not get off the ground and North Point Surf Resort is awaiting a resurrection.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

St. Lucy is the perfect place for Hyatt, give them to Kellman..lol

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…I see ya got barbadostoday in an uproar about a nonissue, but information is being shared around that you yardfowls are liars and frauds, so ya wasting valuable time while preparations are being carefully made to expose ministers and politicians of both political parties, once and for all to see.

45. Didn’t Mia make the LLB a document of the house, and Lowe say it is the LEC he talking bout? Now it is an LLB the Dems after. Imagine Mia is practising as a lawyer illegally, according to some here, yet the AG waiting to expose her as a political stunt rather than treat it as a criminal offence. Then we wonder why people say it’s about party not country. I give up! 🙂🤣🤣

46. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

Barbados is a really funny place, how Hal Gollop get to be the lawyer for Vision Development Inc?

47. angela Skeete Avatar

Funny place indeed Armando Mia ministers called her a fraud and a liar.Osa calls her a thief and Mia wants to be PM of barbados .yet people of your ilk see nothing wrong with endorsing her.Funny place indeed barbados

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Check the name, VD=Venereal Diseases.

49. Fractured BLP Avatar

Mia will never be PM

Why ?????

We do not know her views on :

Same – sex unions !!

Sexual violence against women !!

Show a speech she ever made on International Women’s Day !!!

She is a DESPOT !!

She likes ” practicing ” ……LEC !!!

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MORNING ALL

Mia is shaking in her/his boots at the thought of Owen Arthur throwing his support behind a certain emerging 3rd party.

Look out for further developments as they unfold.