“I think the most important number to watch right now is foreign reserves. Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) online data to February 2017 show that reserves declined by 29% year-over-year (y/y) to USD 329 million, which I estimate at roughly two months of imports. (2) that USD inflows raised from debt (from the development banks or otherwise) have to be repaid with even more USD over time, and the Barbados Government is already running a primary fiscal deficit. This means they are borrowing to pay interest on existing debt – and further debt will drive total debt servicing costs even higher (already 26% of total revenues), (3) that in light of chronically weaker USD inflows, borrowing more USD now, could make things worse in the medium-long term, (4) and finally, USD inflows for projects are largely temporary – they flow back out as materials and equipment are imported for the execution of the project.” – Marla Dukharan, Group Economist of RBC

Marla Dukharan has been criticised in the past by Minister Chris Sinckler regarding her analysis of the state of the Barbados economy. However, based on every economic indicator she has been proven to be correct. In light of her recent review of the economy many will want to contrast it with the first quarter economic review due from the Central Bank of Barbados. The review will be presented by the acting Governor of the Central Bank who was elevated to the job when DeLisle Worrell was fired by Minister Sinckler in a controversial affair that required intervention from the court.

Dukharan has expressed concerns about Barbados’ capacity to defend the peg of 2:1 with a monetary base of 2.34 billion and foreign reserves of 329 million as at February 2017 – a result of massive printing of money by the Central Bank of Barbados. She also mentioned the 74% holdings of government securities by NIS which exceeds the prudential limit of 54% and NIS target of 60%. The lack of transparency by this government of the NIS fund and the management by successive governments has been discussed many times in this forum.

The big economic challenges for Barbados are 1) reduce the public sector debt significantly and 2) earn foreign exchange to pay our bills. The government if it wants to win the next general election due in the next 12 months will be hard pressed to position the interest of the country above the goal of the party, FACT. The foreign exchange earnings projected from the sale of BNTCL and the Hyatt hotel are stuck in the pipeline because of litigation brought by David Comissiong and RUBIS respectively (it must be noted the BNTCL deal is pending FTC approval). Even if the two projects are released in quarter three or four, it is unrealistic to expect the economy to benefit in the current financial year from the Hyatt hotel deal given the time required to mobilize a project of that size. Marla Dukharan has echoed the view of local commentators that a significant percentage of the foreign inflows for the Hyatt project will have to be be expense in imports therefore the net benefit to the foreign exchange account will be a lot less than 100 million dollars.  The assumption BU is making is that the developer has sourced funding for the project from outside of Barbados. At the time of writing Barbadians have not been apprised about the financial arrangement by Vision Development Inc for the project.

Unfortunately Duhkaran has recommended that the Barbados government MUST find a way to reduce the deficit by 600 million dollars. The three areas that afford the opportunity to do so are wages, interest and transfers and subsidies. Further, that Barbados enters an IMF program, FACT!

Read the Marla Duhkaran’s INTERVIEW with Caribbean Strategic Research

228 responses to “RBC Chief Economist Reviews the Barbados Economy”

1. By the end CCC will stand for Come & Clean-out Corruption

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“The bus service is working.”

First lie…no need to read the others.

3. Or Corruption Cannot Continue

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tron April 18, 2017 at 11:22 PM

Hospitals? I fly to my private doctor in NYC or Miami.
    Transport? I have my Mercedes GLS.
    Education? My children go to Harvard, since I can afford 50,000 USD fees per year.
    Roads? My Mercedes has air cushions. And the private roads in my gated community are in top shape.
    Garbage? My gated community has private sanitation service.
    Country? Which country? I serve the highest bidder.
    Environment? No problem in my gated community. The golf course is in top shape

What is your point other than to try showing off to impress BLP idiots like your self?

Hospitals
    I had a friend just like you.
    he had to get an operation but QEH was not good enough for him, so he went to Hospital in Miami, next thing we received a phone saying he had died on the operating table. hahaha we had a good laugh.
    Transport
    A Suzuki Forsa can go anywhere in Barbados just like a Mercedes
    Education
    UWI provides excellent tuition and their Degrees are accepted all over the World. My buddy has a UWI educated son is gainfully employed Sweden with his UWI Degree. So you seem to be wasting your money.
    Roads
    Toyota Corollas in Barbados have excellent suspensions and the ride is superb can take anything Bajan roads throw at them. All with out the inflated price tag of the Mercedes.
    Garbage
    Garbage pickups on a weekly basis. In some areas such as mine on a twice weekly basis all without the costly price tag you have to pay.
    Country
    Barbados , one of the ten best destinations on Planet Earth.
    Environment
    Around the corner from me we play a lovely game of football, cricket, basket ball, volley ball, on the playing field

But remember this TRON idiot, you will die like the rest of us and you will be put into a six foot hole like the rest of us.

You will not be able to take with you , your Mercedes GLS, Harvard, air cushions, gated community, Golf course or any other worldly positions. What a pity huh?

Tron are vain.

5. I agree with vincent they should bring the donkey carts back, they were cool and life was simpler then

6. Lawson

Chuckle……looks like you have decided to take over from Bushie,whilst he sulking due to the amount of licks he got…….have fun with your alt-facts.

7. The issue many have questioned Worrell is allowing (or advising) the minimum interest rate to be removed. The result has seen interest rate falling to .1% offered by some banks. The travesty here is that it opened the door to duping Bajans to purchase government saving bonds for them an investment but for the government borrowing from citizens under a guise.

8. It is embarrassing to listen to Charles Herbert (head of the BPSA, a man we admire)chide the prime minister publicly for allowing the BPSA beat him to be the one updating the public on the outcome of the recent meeting between government and the private sector. Herbert went as far to admit publicly they urged the PM to issue a press release.

9. William Skinner Avatar

” The travesty here is that it opened the door to duping Bajans to purchase government saving bonds for them an investment but for the government borrowing from citizens under a guise.”
    To dupe a fradulent or scheme or action; fraud, trick, deception,deceit, cheat, sham, racket……
    Guess that you have the evidence of that since you are the one who calls for transparency. You are saying that Dr. Worrell deliberately set out to trick Bajans.

10. David

That was my take as well….that he left the meeting with the PM and a select few from cabinet with the understanding that a press release of all the decisions taken would be aired,as well that they would be in the budget coming before the end of may.

He has stated previously that he will give the PM time to undertake action and after a certain time has passed he will air the content of the reports and it would appear that the twine has popped and he will be revealing all at the private sector meeting.

11. The blp has been beating this reserves issue like a dead horse to no avail it has not helped them to win elections in the past and it would not help them in the future .what the blp should most be careful is how much of bad mouthing they project to outsiders about barbados .as bad as things are barbadians would not forget or forgive the blp at the polls
    It seems as if the blp has a seriui attachment to all things negative a morbid and debilitating disease that has caused the blp to lose the past elections

12. Somethings are best not said, for now. If you are interested in getting your question answered give Wild Coot a call.
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/68696/wild-coot-buying-bonds-sin

13. @Vincent

To Herbert’s credit the BPSA will have their meeting on Friday to brief members. Good to see the private sector waking up, finally.

Also Dr.Clyde Mascoll’s contribution was an excellent one on the afternoon show today.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MIA AMOR MOTTLEY wants election called now.

MIA AMOR MOTTLEY don’t fool yourself, if elections were called today, your corrupt Barbados Labour Party would still be voted back onto the opposition benches.

As a Min of Education you were a failure.
    As a Min. of Economic Affairs you were a failure.
    As an Attorney General you were a failure.

You have no pedigree of success at any thing you have done. For the past 4 years you have offered nothing of any value to the people of Barbados as opposition Leader. Only DOOM AND GLOOM and DOOM AND GLOOM.

THE VOTING PUBLIC OF Barbados ARE NOT TAKING YOU WITH ANY SERIOUSNESS.

15. Vincent Haynes Avatar

We can see now that the govt has made their own decision on what to do or not do to carry the country to wherever that suits them.

Presently we have Kellman attempting to laugh at the contribution that Mascoll just gave on the country’s situation.

16. Carson,

It is not my intention to ridicule Barbadian institutions.

I simply described the lifestyle of Barbadian politicians and other members of the establishment I know. For example the big guy in his space grey BMW X5 MP 68.

17. David April 19, 2017 at 1:05 PM #

“Also Dr.Clyde Mascoll’s contribution was an excellent one on the afternoon show today.”

Yes, it was.

As it relates to your other comment re: interest rates……… the following are examples of why the CBB relinquished control of determining interest:

1) To facilitate the reduction of Barbados’ risk premium through intervention at the Treasury bill auction.

2) To improve the attractiveness and encourage the purchase of bonds.

18. @David April 19, 2017 at 1:02 PM #

The Article in NATIONNEWS is nonsense. Nobody will be able to recover the government bonds by 100 %. We will get a haircut after next election. MAM already talked about “restructuring debts” in an interview two years ago. Surely, she does not want to “restructure” any foreign loan, but to cut the bonds of local taxpayers for a good reason: Nobody should rely on repayment on bonds in deep B- or C-territory.

19. @Tron

MAM mentioned reprofiling as distinct from restructuring the debt. Should we be concerned about her use of language?

20. @Artax and David

After Dr Mascoll’s contribution, can you tell me why the idiot Kellman called in?

What was his point? He had nothing to say……..he was pathetic. It seems as if his job is only a part time one and is this how he works for taxpayers money?

21. He called for the reason expressed here. The strategy of the DLP-and BLP -is to suffocate the media channels (social and traditional) as silly season approaches. Kellman could not venture close to the explanations given by Mascoll therefore he did what the DLP actors have perfected, resort to political poppycock arguments.

22. Is this the SMR Kellman who when pressed on Brasstacks last week to declare his plans for providing housing in St.Lucy stated he had a comprehensive and sophisticated plan?When asked to elaborate on that plan he said it was a 3 pronged plan. When pressed again eloborate on his 3 pronge plan he said it was, North, South and East.

And people why Barbados is in the state that it is?

23. William Skinner Avatar

I agree with you that the BLP and DLP
    strategy is to suffocate the social and
    traditional media. They have done an
    excellent job of that on BU. They take
    every serious discussion and turn it
    into BLPDLP theatre. Then they resort
    to innuendo and verbosity. This forum
    has been a real victim of these
    BLPDLP party hacks and they have
    succeeded to a great degree in
    undermining whatever you originally set
    out to achieve.
    As for Mascoll, he would not have been
    on the radio today spouting the same crap
    he has been for the last twelve years, if
    he had led the DLP to victory. Another
    opportunist, who is now waiting his turn to
    be GOCB. He also proved that there is
    no difference between the BLPDLP.

24. Here is some advice for you William. Be responsible for your comments. Let readers take away what they want. This is the real world where the good, bad and ugly compete.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This is hilarious.

Clyde Mascol and his plaid shirts.

26. We have an example of two “politicians” who, for reasons known only to them, “crossed the floor” to join their political opponents.

Both gentlemen were accepted with one being offered a ministry and other a “junior minister” pick.

And a disgruntled individual known for ALSO USING “innuendo and verbosity,” as well as making “presumptuous assumptions,” characterized one as “brilliant” and the other an “opportunist,” when both men are guilty of the same sin.

Seriously????…………….SMH!!!

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Clyde Mascoll

The saga continues

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hon. Prime Minister’s Leadership style.

29. Yes Clyde Mascoll made an outstanding contribution today on Brasstacks.I support his call for a return to local government(definitely not the toothless,blatantly yardfowl constituency councils) to deal with parochial matters such as refuse collection,roads,degrassing,lighting poverty alleviation etc.Its is overdue as is the reduction in the insane number of ministries and permanent secretaries in government .Further, I agree the Senate should be abolished and a unicameral legislature be adopted.

30. Carson

Has the injunction application for Sam Lords been filed as yet?

31. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Chuckle…..these operatives must be given a large food for effort as they are definitely singing for their supper.

Trouble is……who is listening…..hmmm…..better take back the plate.

32. It is a fact that Worrell fudged unemployment numbers to make the DLP look in a better light.That is a fact.
    It is a fact that Worrell contributed to the poor monetary policy by continually carrying out the dictates of the fiscal policy of the MoF.The IMF actually commented on it.
    It is a fact that Worrell aided and abetted the govt of Stuart get around the unwillingness of the banking sector to further invest in junk bonds by allowing the banks to set their savings rate while he offered the carrot of a higher junk bond interest rate to the unsuspecting public.The banks saved millions upon millions by this sleight of hand crookery,Staurt continued on his merry borrowing to prop up the capital account and the foreign reserves continued to take a hit.
    It is a fact that Worrell acted most unprofessionally when he allowed his office to be used by 2 bit political nincompoops like Stuart,Sinckler, Quisling Boyce and Ince the man with the unbiblical chord.High wind know where old house is.Worrell is a public disgrace now.He has no shame.

33. Democracy at work in the USA
    Bill O’Reilly has been forced out of Fox News by the several advertisers withdrawing their association with his notorious(some would call it famous)top dollar earning show The O’Reilly Factor.
    Bill forced himself of lots of women and Fox bailed him out while Ailes the chairman was doing the same.Ailes was hounded out and now Bill has been hounded out.The power of the female of the species.Don’t tangle with them.They can be dangerous to your health and your well being if you are so stupid to think the use of power is without consequences.Trump is next.He gotta be urinating his pants all like now.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Clyde Mascoll’s wife.

35. It must hurt the yardfowls and trolls when the vast majority of their comments are flushed.

36. Wonder how many are DLP supporters that get flushed , quite noticeably most BLP operatives seems to have a safe sit on the BU round table

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is understood.

This is a Barbados Labour Party blog. The welcome mat is paced only for those BLP persons with comments that represent that party or vilify the Democratic Labour Party.

All other comments are not welcome. Say something nice about the crooked Barbados Labour Party or say something nasty about the Democratic Labour Party or DAVID will flush your comments.

That is understood.

38. William Skinner Avatar

For those in the BLPDLP bankrupt camps. Here are some policies from the NDP’s Manifesto of 1991, approximately 26 years ago. This is what we presented to the public:
    • Culitivation of all agricultural land;
    • Diversification of the agricultural sector, on a scientifically determined basis having regard to soil characteristics, market opportunities and food security;
    • Creation of greater linkages among agriculture, fisheries and other sectors of the economy;
    • The attainment of self -sufficiency in the production of beef, pork, mutton, chicken and eggs;
    • Production of exotic fruits for the local and export markets;
    • Improvement of the efficiency of our fishing industry;
    • Expansion of the fishing industry to the point where Barbados becomes a significant exporter of fish;
    • Development of efficient marketing arrangements for fish and agricultural produce;
    • Further development of agro-industry

And for those who only heard of local government today for the first time. On page 27(1991) of the NDP Manifesto it was presented:

After identifying the weaknesses that still exist today after fifty years of the BLPDLP duopoly. The NDP Stated:
    “ An NDP Government would promote governmental reform aimed at making the Government
    More efficient, more participatory, more honest and more responsive to the needs of the people.
    Such reforms would include the introduction of a system of local government. The specific form of local government introduced would not be imposed by an NDP Government, but would be the result of an evolutionary process, guided by the needs and interests of various communities.
    On this page we also dealt with : integrity legislation ,increasing Parliamentarians pensionable age from 50 t0 age 65,introducing legislation to repeal the 1974 amendments to the constitution, instituting formal arrangements to the succession of Prime Minister, abolishing the Housing Allowance for the Prime Minister, whether or not he chooses to live at Illaro Court.

Note : These ideas and this Manifesto came from a party that did not win a single seat in 1991. The tragedy is that the bankrupt BLPDLP had no vision for this country then and they are now, 27 years after, totally blind.
    I will continue to hope that the voters dump the BLPDLP !!

39. wuh happen to ac and dont say ac is a double /David BU has entertained and allowed multiple handles from the blp operatives

40. Another lie from you and you are out of here.

41. William,

The sad political reality is that the Westminster model favours the two biggest parties in the given system. If a new third party gains 20 % of all votes and staunch DLP supporters stick to their party at the same time, the third party could even push the DLP to a third term.

42. “wuh happen to ac…….???”

The yardfowls “metamorphosed” from AC (bad) to Angela Sealy (worst)!!!!

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The President, Officers and Members of The Democratic Labour Party
    Invite you to our Launching of the ASTOR B. WATTS Lunchtime Lectures
    The Errol Barrow Gallery, DLP Headquarters, George Street, St. Michael
    Wednesday 19th April, 2017 – 3:00 p.m.

44. @William re your 5:51 post. Did you read Cumberbatch on Sunday when he proclaimed in his own style – which I paraphrase here – that manifestos are the creations of fabulists and should be used by voters as compost wrappers for their gardens and absolutely never expect any promise to be fulfilled.

I appreciate the NDP’s best intention but that reads like just so much jargon filled nothingness.

• The attainment of self -sufficiency in the production of beef, pork, mutton, chicken and eggs;

What exactly does that mean? A better, bigger abattoir or a new one. More pig farmers, a bigger Super Poultry or a Chickmount. Things in some guise that have been done since then of course.

• Production of exotic fruits for the local and export markets;
    Again what exactly is that? What exotic new creations were you guys going to develop?

• Improvement of the efficiency of our fishing industry;
    • Expansion of the fishing industry to the point where Barbados becomes a significant exporter of fish;
    • Development of efficient marketing arrangements for fish and agricultural produce;
    • Further development of agro-industry

Ditto, ditto and ditto!

Respect bro, but being simply frank there is nothing there that makes the NDP specially progressive.

Maybe they were and would have been but unless you can assert that there were rather detailed binders with plans and what-if scenarios to flesh out these lovely ideas then they are nothing more than ‘par for the political course of manifesto writing’.

And if there were such plans then you should be able to advise that the ideas were still developed via private investments and the like!!!

And as Jeff said boldly not many of them are worth the time spent to read them!

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Were you there DAVID?

I don’t recall seeing you.

46. William
    …….and for those who only heard of local government today for the first time……you better haul……

47. William Skinner Avatar

And here is more evidence that the BLPDLP hvae a long history of problems with GOCB

APRIL, 1995: It began towards the end of his very first Budget presentation, when approaching midnight on what parliamentary sources said was the longest third-day sitting in memory, Arthur hinted broadly at firing then Governor of the Central Bank, Calvin Springer.
    It was also the first real glimpse the Barbadian public had of Arthur’s temper – which must have reached ballistic stage a few days earlier when he abruptly forced the cancellation of a Press conference by Springer to review the economy.
    “I am not into a witch-hunt,” an obviously angry Arthur said. “I want to see Barbadians employed, but I believe that my relationship with people must be a professional relationship, and I do not expect that if the Central Bank was telling me three months ago that growth was likely to be two per cent, that you would now come by way of
    a Press release days before the Budget, without discussing the implications of it with the Minister of Finance, and saying it’s dropping to one (per cent)”.
    He was also incensed that he had retained Central Bank directors appointed by the DLP; that he had asked the bank in March for submissions on Budget proposals but did not receive them; and that he had to learn from a Press release about measures which Thompson said were already in his possession.
    Albert Brandford Nation Newspaper.

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler

Your point is taken. While Elections are about winning, they should also be about ideas and not repeats of Crop Over !

@ Gabriel
    Take it easy.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Tron

That is what Forbes Burnham called the vagaries of democracy.

50. David stop talking crap about throwing out people with differing opinion . fuh christ sake that is what made the blog popular.rather than defend yuhself yuh talk about throwing out people.shit man it is your blog no sweat off my rear end with yuh onsided view.i asked a simple question and yuh sound off like a bull in a china shop phewie