โ€œI think the most important number to watch right now is foreign reserves. Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) online data to February 2017 show that reserves declined by 29% year-over-year (y/y) to USD 329 million, which I estimate at roughly two months of imports. (2) that USD inflows raised from debt (from the development banks or otherwise) have to be repaid with even more USD over time, and the Barbados Government is already running a primary fiscal deficit. This means they are borrowing to pay interest on existing debt – and further debt will drive total debt servicing costs even higher (already 26% of total revenues), (3) that in light of chronically weaker USD inflows, borrowing more USD now, could make things worse in the medium-long term, (4) and finally, USD inflows for projects are largely temporary โ€“ they flow back out as materials and equipment are imported for the execution of the project.โ€ – Marla Dukharan, Group Economist of RBC

Marla Dukharan has been criticised in the past by Minister Chris Sinckler regarding her analysis of the state of the Barbados economy. However, based on every economic indicator she has been proven to be correct. In light of her recent review of the economy many will want to contrast it with the first quarter economic review due from the Central Bank of Barbados. The review will be presented by the acting Governor of the Central Bank who was elevated to the job when DeLisle Worrell was fired by Minister Sinckler in a controversial affair that required intervention from the court.

Dukharan has expressed concerns about Barbadosโ€™ capacity to defend the peg of 2:1 with a monetary base of 2.34 billion and foreign reserves of 329 million as at February 2017 โ€“ a result of massive printing of money by the Central Bank of Barbados. She also mentioned the 74% holdings of government securities by NIS which exceeds the prudential limit of 54% and NIS target of 60%. The lack of transparency by this government of the NIS fund and the management by successive governments has been discussed many times in this forum.

The big economic challenges for Barbados are 1) reduce the public sector debt significantly and 2) earn foreign exchange to pay our bills. The government if it wants to win the next general election due in the next 12 months will be hard pressed to position the interest of the country above the goal of the party, FACT. The foreign exchange earnings projected from the sale of BNTCL and the Hyatt hotel are stuck in the pipeline because of litigation brought by David Comissiong and RUBIS respectively (it must be noted the BNTCL deal is pending FTC approval). Even if the two projects are released in quarter three or four, it is unrealistic to expect the economy to benefit in the current financial year from the Hyatt hotel deal given the time required to mobilize a project of that size. Marla Dukharan has echoed the view of local commentators that a significant percentage of the foreign inflows for the Hyatt project will have to be be expense in imports therefore the net benefit to the foreign exchange account will be a lot less than 100 million dollars.ย  The assumption BU is making is that the developer has sourced funding for the project from outside of Barbados. At the time of writing Barbadians have not been apprised about the financial arrangement by Vision Development Inc for the project.

Unfortunately Duhkaran has recommended that the Barbados government MUST find a way to reduce the deficit by 600 million dollars. The three areas that afford the opportunity to do so are wages, interest and transfers and subsidies. Further, that Barbados enters an IMF program, FACT!

Read the Marla Duhkaranโ€™s INTERVIEW with Caribbean Strategic Research

228 responses to “RBC Chief Economist Reviews the Barbados Economy”

1. How people features change so? The way Edwin features change…nobody changes like that naturally…slow poisoning the country… Politicians talking shite about this protects the island that that protects the island, and in the end they’re just killing Barbados trying to make it Africa….Barbados is AMERINDIAN…

they’re killing me over this…is the actual truth…things obvious to every Bajan, talking shite about it’s Freemason secrecy….the new colonialism and imperialism

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/amazon-collapsed-under-caribbean-sea-y-zed-brathwaite-sealy?published=t

2. According to this Advocate report the MoF has a contingency plan to mitigate the delay in the Hyatt and BNTCL transaction. He promised that acting Governor of the central bank Haynes will reveal all soon.

GOVโ€™T STABILISING FOREIGN RESERVES

Tue, 04/18/2017 – 12:00am

MINISTER of Finance and Economic Affairs, Christopher Sinckler, said that Government has had to make some alternative arrangements in stabilising the countryโ€™s foreign reserves, given the delays with completing the sale of the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL).

Government is banking on $200 million in inflows from that sale to boost the reserves, which had dipped to just under $700 million at the end of December, and to lower the fiscal deficit.

However, the proposed sale of the BNTCL is a matter before the Fair Trading Commission (FTC). Sinckler said the situation as it now stands has delayed the inflows, which Government had been expecting from the sale. โ€œBut the process is the process, the law is the law, and you have to wait until those matters are properly resolved,โ€ he said, noting that as such they have had to make alternative arrangements, which were done.

He stated that the Acting Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Cleviston Haynes, will shortly be reviewing the economy for the first quarter of 2017.

โ€œThen you will see what is happening with economic growth, what is happening with the reserves. I can say we have seen a stabilisation in the reserves, so we are feeling a little better where that is going, but there is still a lot more work to be done,โ€ he said.

Sinckler spoke to The Barbados Advocate yesterday at the Desmond Haynes Oval where his St. Michael North West Constituency branch hosted a Kite Flying competition.

Sinckler said that given the nature of the issues involved, it is reasonable for the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) to take its time in making a decision on the proposed sale of the BNTCL.

The Commission, which is the regulatory body in Barbados, is currently assessing the proposed sale of the Government-owned entity. Sol and Rubis have shown an interest in acquiring the facility.

The Minister stated that energy is a critical part of the economy.

He pointed out further that because of the structure of the petroleum industry in Barbados, both parties are linked to the proposed sale, and the Commission has to take its time and try to get the best arrangement.

That arrangement, he explained, will allow for investors to achieve a rate of return and for consumers to get the best deal possible, while ensuring that there is competition in the sector.

Sinckler said that the process has been going on for more than 18 months.

โ€œI donโ€™t think it is unreasonable for the process to take this long, because the FTC is reviewing everything, after two months since it was formally presented to them at the beginning of March this year, for a review,โ€ Sinckler told the media.

โ€œIt takes time, and my understanding is that the FTC has asked for some clarifications on issues,โ€ he said, adding that it wonโ€™t be able to execute until the Court has dealt with the matter. (JB)

3. The RBC CEยดs analysis is correct, in my personal opinion even too bright. Without faking statistics on foreign exchange and debt, Barbados (or more precisely, the lower and middle class, since the rich and powerful on this island have lots of USD and EUR) will definitly not survive the next 12 months. Reason: Before the election in 2018, the government does not want any substantial reform, and the civil service and clueless masses are still unwilling to accept reality.

We face two scnearios: In both scenarios, Barbados will definitly run out of foreign currency within the next months.

The market will set a floating / sliding exchange rate to align Mickey Mouse dollars and hard curreny to buy goods. RCB CE assumes an exchange rate of 1 USD : 7 BBD. When that happens, the machete, the guns and gangs will rule this island. Poverty all over the place, except gated communities, golf plantations and hotels. Probability: 30%
    Alternatively, government could “ban” devaluation and going down the road to hell like Venezuela, meaning declaring an artificial peg without enough foreign currency. Consequence: Shortage of every imported good and grey market. In this scenario, the official press, politicians, judges, high bureaucrats and pastors will go on telling Barbadians that they are the “freest black country on earth” and that “defending the peg needs some sacrifice”. The elite will use the remaining USD for capital flight. Riots and poverty as in scenario 1. Probability: 70%, since election in 2018.

Another big question now: Is Central Bank willing to release the true numbers about foreign exchange before election in 2018? They could try to “greece” the numbers for the clueless masses. Probability: 50%.

4. Arawak-Carib is Indies, it isn’t India….no other place in the world is Indies

They have no values whatsoever, they wouldn’t insist on ethnic cleansing in Barbados, no nuclear weapons to threaten anybody with…

Remember a few years back how all of a sudden so many people died from cancer? British, Irish, Scottish and all that Cow Williams bring Barbados…the Chinese and a whole lot a shite…

I live in the US, it’s the world’s biggest morally decrepit bereft of any values no respect for anything at all, along with England, Spain, India, Ireland etc…they’re racism is pitiful and disturbing

Arawak-Carib are what we are….look at how Edwin features change, or how your own change in the photo album

Don’t eat anything from them…no injections…too many Trini Indians owning shit in Barbados

5. @David MoF “has had to make some alternative arrangements”. NO foreign bank will issue 200 million. Handing over money to a bankrupt client constitutes a criminal act, at least in North America and Europe. And the conditions? 20 or 30% interest per year in foreign currency!

Barbados had its last opportunity in 2013 with the international syndicated CS loan. That window of opportunity has closed.

6. None of them have ANY respect for anything at all….hard workers, sound education, noble and church lineage, family wealth, political connections…

The Irish, Spaniards, Italians are nasty as well, the Mafia, Irish Mob, N’Drangheta and Comora etc…or something like that, when they commit crimes they’re DISTURBING….

They don’t need to be anywhere near Barbados…their cultures isn’t like ours AT ALL, they don’t know how to behave, no respect for God or man…nothing in society, no brawtuksee whatsoever

7. One has the question the ‘price’ we have had to pay to put an alternative in place if the first option was to sell the profitable BNTCL.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

General Elections in the United Kingdom for 8th June have just been announced by Prime Minister May.

Shouldn’t PM Stuart be following suit to get his Devaluation mandate?

9. A last word on the interview: Reads like the discussion on BU by cut and paste. And Lashley aka Carson and Rose Trimmer want the shutdown of BU? Why not going after the lady for her interview? Clearly, for the politicians in charge of the worldยดs “freest” plantation of the early 21st century, the interview is some kind of libel and slander.

10. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

UK Gov’t calls early elections in June so the gov’t has a clear mandate on Brexit.

Bajans begging for elections since 2014 in the face of repeated fiscal failures of the current gov’t without success.

Banana republic.

11. I rejected involvement in many discussions…Bajans must be able to produce red-skin like mine, in high numbers as previous for any world power to have any credibility, “red Indians” are native to the Caribbean…they talk bullshit in the United Nations about Human Rights and ethnic cleansing

Nobody in Barbados is any ethnic group other than Bajan when of native Bajan parentage….the web link speaks of our heritage…some refuse to see and hear the obvious

The average Bajan IQ is around 135 – 140, my cousin went to Ellerslie IQ 130, I passed for Combermere IQ 190. Slow poisoning the island,..trying to make us less smart as if it’s anything to do with whatever foreign country

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/amazon-collapsed-under-caribbean-sea-y-zed-brathwaite-sealy?published=t

Personally:
    – Noble and Religious lineage (Arawak-Carib “The Meeting” Teekumteebakailaa)
    – Strong family history
    – Religiously educated
    – Bachelors and Masters Degrees
    – Yuppie (young up and coming professional – designed a revitalized school system based on years of research)
    – Upper Middle class family
    – Community Worker
    – Only child

Cloning is weighty moral discussion for most people…believing in the sanctity of life, imposing cloning on an entire population because they’re able to,,,is the nonchalant endeavour of the CISEN, MI5, CIA, Mossad, Mukhabarat etc…

12. Why is there an exaggerated recognition of the RBC analysis of the Barbadian economy? Why are our independent economists taking a careful look at our own economy? Is this not one of our many deficits?

13. @Miller and FB

Have we not discussed on BU many times how far apart the model of democracy we practice in Barbados is different compared to the Westminster system?

14. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

David April 18, 2017 at 7:03 AM #
    @Miller and FB

Have we not discussed on BU many times how far apart the model of democracy we practice in Barbados is different compared to the Westminster system?

Practised by our power-hungry whores? Ours are experts, no more practise needed. Nearly at Mugabe level.

15. David King

A quote from Prime Minister May of the UK. We can do well to observe how a breathing democracy works.

She said Britain needed certainty, stability and strong leadership following the EU referendum.

Explaining the decision, Mrs May said: โ€œThe country is coming together but Westminster is not.โ€

There will be a Commons vote on the proposed election on Wednesday โ€“ Labour have said they will vote with the government.

Theresa May to seek snap election for 8 June – BBC News

16. @Hal

This is a Caribbean based economist adding an assessment to the pool of analysis we have had so far from local, regional and international players. Have we not had Jeremy Stephen, Charles Skeete, Clyde Mascoll, Michael Howard, DeLisle Worrell, Don Marshall,Winston Moore, Stacia Howard and a host of local talent share? What is the point you are trying to make?

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tron April 18, 2017 at 6:09 AM
    โ€œAnother big question now: Is Central Bank willing to release the true numbers about foreign exchange before election in 2018? They could try to โ€œgreeceโ€ the numbers for the clueless masses. Probability: 50%.โ€

Tron, you are one blogger for whom I have the highest intellectual respect. You remind me so much of Due Diligence (DD) for posting your prescient analyses. LOL!!!

It seems the Sun is setting on those days of โ€˜doctoringโ€™ statistics and fudging numbers inside the CBB. That $300 million fudge to fix the 2013 numbers for election purposes has left a massive โ€˜black holeโ€™ in the foreign reserves tank.

Also, it seems the prophets of doom and gloom are becoming rather optimistic about the inevitable restructuring of the Bajan economy and a massive rearrangement of its public finances and administration long recommended and excessively overdue.

The society would have to adjust and adapt to suit the new realities of having to live within its economic means with local agriculture, especially for food production, being the biggest beneficiary.

Brexit and its consequential effects to further weaken the ยฃ should have more negative impact on tourism as foreign reserves in the coming months even after the June general election.

So how should we peg the Bajan dollar against the greenback? 5: 1 or 7: 1?

Let us be optimistic and go for 5:1, initially. The potential flare-up on the Korean peninsula or even in Japan could have further negative impact on the Bajan economy.

18. @Hal Austin April 18, 2017 at 7:00 AM

Hal your a bit of a JACKASS, wake up and smell the rose shit that is going on in Barbados, CBB, politicians, newspapers ALL REPORTING GARBAGE with respect to the countries economic situation. The only place reliable information is available is offshore, RBC, Scotiabank, IMF etc.

19. Andrew Simpson Avatar

Bajans must get super creative. Innovate to halt imports while resourcing local to provide unique visitor experience. Practice Carib-Agro Environomics.

20. Does this mean the independent review by a respected economist working at Canada’s largest bank will speed up the publication of the action plan coming out of the action plan submitted by the social partnership?

21. @ David
    Hal …What is the point you are trying to make?
    That he is largely clueless about the day to day reality of Barbadian life,.
    …. but nonetheless, feels driven to participate here, where he feels a sense of relevance….
    …. which is badly missing in his adopted hometown.

But his questions are usually quite good….. except when he allows himself to be guided by the ‘Ossie chap’ Carl……

22. @Andrew

What policy and framework is there for Barbados to transition to high tech agriculture production on a large scale? What products do we import that we can significantly replace in a cost effective way to significantly dent the agriculture import bill?

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 18, 2017 at 7:19 AM

Can’t you see that Hal is losing his marbles?

We wouldn’t be surprised if he embarks in true jingoistic fashion on one of his journeys of xenophobia.

Itโ€™s Ok for an Irish ex-Central Banker to comment of the Bajan economy but not Ms Dukharan.

Pacha, come for your patient Hal. Donโ€™t forget to bring your straightjacket.

24. Wily,
    Is that poverty a reflection of or own home-grown economists? Can you imagine a German economist being the lead commentator on the US economy without any comment from the US media and think-tanks?
    By the way, is it part of our DNA that we cannot engage in debate without being abusive? Does that make our arguments any more powerful?

25. One learns something new everyday! From the BBC website…

“Under the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 general elections should take place on the first Thursday in May every five years. The last election was held on 7 May 2015, so the next one was not due until 2020.

But the prime minister has just announced that an early general election will be held on 8 June 2017. So, what is likely to happen now?

There are two formal ways that a general election could happen and Theresa May indicated she would call for the quickest way which is available under the act.

This would be if two-thirds of MPs back a motion calling for an early election. The motion would require two-thirds of all the seats in the Commons – not just those who vote – and this includes one vacant seat as well. With 650 seats in the Commons, that means 434 MPs must back an early election.”

“The Fixed-term Parliaments Act was introduced after the 2010 election, and was interpreted as an effort to solidify and bind together the new coalition government. The discretion of prime ministers to pick the timing of elections was removed and the dates fixed five years apart.”

What say you, Bajan politicians?

26. @Hal

To repeat, she is just another economist who has added a voice to all the analyses recorded so far. Can we move pass your simplistic huff and critique what she has put squarely on the table? Doesn’t it accord with all the local analysis we have had so far? Has she stated any new insights in your opinion?

27. @Hal

This is local talent, forget RBC.

28. David,
    Stop talking nonsense and read your various commenters. Do you think I am ‘huffing’, simplistic or otherwise? I have made the simple point that it takes a foreign analyst working for a foreign bank based in a foreign country to lead the analysis on the Barbadian economy. Does this not seem strange to you?
    What is really simplistic is the level of debate about our macro-economic policy.

29. @Hal

Do you understand that Marla Dukharan as Group Economist of RBC CARIBBEAN Operations has responsibility monitoring several Caribbean countries including Barbados? And that her role does not preclude all the local analysis that has been deposited in the market already? Why debate a non point. Move on and analyze what she has put on the table.

http://www.ttenergyconference.org/ms-marla-dukharan/

30. @ Hal
    …..it takes a foreign analyst working for a foreign bank based in a foreign country to lead the analysis on the Barbadian economy….
    Should we be equally wary of a foreign ex-journalist, based in a foreign country, seeking to lead local discussion on BU….?

…just asking…..

31. Oh David,
    I must get elementary lessons from you in basic financial economics. Every bank, fund manager, think-tank, university, has economists who comment on economies, their own and globally. All I am saying, David, and I know it is difficult to understand, is that the lead analysts on our economy should be Barbados-based independent analysts. What is wrong with that?
    As the referee you should stay out of debates and let the various contributors discuss the issues. By taking sides you distort the debate.
    For example, you encourage, deliberately or not, idiots to claim that I have called for the deportation, sacking etc of the Guyana-born DPP. I have never done that, but the BU thugs claim it because it fits their arguments. Set the parameters and let people debate with courtesy and good manners.

32. @Hal

Not sure why you are not taking the point that this lady has responsibility for Barbados and 19 other Caribbean countries and is imminently qualified to speak on the Barbados economy. She visits Barbados several times a year. Her company is the host of economic forums in Barbados. She is from the region. The big point though is that her analysis of the Barbados economy does not suppress or negate analysis from local economists and financial analysts.

Finally, where has BU encouraged commenters that you have called for the DPP to be deported? If you persist in referring to the man as Guyanese born you should handle the flack as a result. The man has been in Barbados for almost all of his life for crissakes.

Final comment from BU along this line to avoid hijacking the topic.

33. Correct me if Iโ€™m wrong, but did Marla used information from the Estimates and last Central Bank report to make an analysis of the Barbados economy?

34. @Artax

She seems to be accessing multiple sources, Estimates, Central Bank Online stats and informal sources? For example, how was she informed about the foreign exchange number?

35. The numbers are for 2/2017. We are interested for the numbers at the end of 3/2017.

36. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

50 million Frenchmen can’t be wrong.

Anyone with half a brain knows:

Sinckler is incompetent.
    Stuart is a neuteured baboon hiding under his desk.
    The DLP gov’t is dysfunctional.
    Civil servants are holding this country back and not being managed by their bosses.
    Statutory corporations employing freeloaders are sinking us.
    Gov’t assets are sitting idle or costing taxpayers money and need to be divested.
    Taxation is choking growth.
    Bribery at its historical peak.
    Private sector ignored.
    Health care in chaos.
    Financial experts ignored.
    Total financial meltdown imminent.

There you go Hal, obviosities from a home-grown businessman who didn’t need to consult an economist, foreign or domestic.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

37. David,
    I find it difficult that you seem not to understand that anyone can comment on the Barbados economy. What I am saying is that her analyses are given an exaggerated importance because local economists and the media fail in their duty of informing the general public. That is basic sourcing of economic information. Far more important is the methodology used by the central bank.
    Similarly, a few days ago a commenter stated that people were awaiting the central bank quarterly figures so local economists could finesse their analyses. I replied that although the central bank report was important, the information it is based on should be available independently – apart from the inflation figures and the foreign reserves.
    It now looks as if the RBC group economist gets her information independently. Point proven.
    David, it would suit you better to be the referee rather than the teacher. Although I am a slow learner, and a bit thick, I have been at the sharp end long enough that even I could understand elementary financial economics.
    I know what a group economist does; I also know there are junior economists on the team that do the donkey work but do not often get the recognition.
    By the way, encouragement is selective intervention as with this issue.
    The DPP was born in Guyana, a statement of fact which seems to irritate some people.
    I am not a lawyer so cannot comment on the quality of his advocacy; but I am qualified enough to comment on some of his (and the attorney general’s) decisions. Is it bad manners to mention his place of birth?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin April 18, 2017 at 8:24 AM

Why don’t you stop telling lies (on yourself)?

So if you have not called for the sacking of the “Guyana-born DPPโ€, why do you constantly attack the man? Or is it your โ€˜Christianโ€™ way to show your love for the ‘foreignerโ€™?

You condemn Pachamama for attacking you yet you turn around and like a true-blue bully attack the โ€œGuyana-born DPPโ€ for not bringing charges against alleged wrong-doers including the recent incident of the dog which mauled the old lady to death.

If he is not doing the job he is being paid to do donโ€™t you think he should be โ€˜replacedโ€™ just like the ex-Guv of the CBB?

As far as critical analysis of the Bajan economy is concerned, hasnโ€™t the debate been led by none other than Owen Arthur?

Has he not given a window of opportunity of 90 days to stave off devaluation by going to the IMF as the lender of last resort?

Even the most highly-placed economic guru Dr. Worrell was summarily fired for telling it like it is.

What else do you want the local economic experts to say or do?

What do you have to contribute to the so-called debate other than the unmasking of anonymous contributors who refuse to toe the line that you draw in the sand of your intellectual sterility?

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Hal…why are you being such a contrary, petulant child this morning, forget the messenger, focus on the message, she has been saying what the international experts been saying about the economy for years, she is of the Caribbean community and recognized as in expert who is quoted in Bloomberg and other internationally recognized forums….

….would you prefer Sinckler be the one giving deceptive info on the economy or some taxpayer paid government yardfowl fillling ya head with lies….ya need someone unbiased and well informed.

…….your central bank governor in UK is Canadian…have you complained on any blogs in UK or to the UK government about that foreigner.

40. We should focus on the shocking state of the Barbadian economy and contemplate, how to survive the inevitable. The 90 days are soon over.

41. @ David you will see agriculture production on a large scale…….because there will be

choice.

Bajans in the Diaspora will send more “barrels” but it will not be enough to feed the masses.

The good news is that you can replace the flower gardens with vegetables,passion fruit

and bonavist vines will climb up de paling, and if yuh pelt some belly pumpkin seeds in de

yard you will get pumpkins.

Bajans will rediscover the traditional culinary art of making bakes.

Thank you David for allowing this …..-Canadian to write about Barbados. lol

42. Here is another point Dukharan’s makes that has been echoed by BU and all the LOCAL analysts is as follows:

While authorities may suggest that reserves are likely to increase in the near future based on these inflows, I want
    to caution that any such increase in reserves would be temporary, and would not suggest that the underlying problems have been resolved. The major factor driving reserves lower is the fiscal deficit, and until this is addressed,reserves will continue to come under pressure.

43. Other than the known DLP yardfowls on BU,the vast majority of commentators have repeatedly exposed this joke cabinet and government of Bdos.If Hal would read and retain he too would know that.All the points Dukharan made have already been assessed on BU,aired and solutions identified and proffered We just need to get the fudgers Stuart and Sinckler on board.

44. With solar technology now available and hundreds of acres of farmland in Bdos in wild grass and river tamarind,there is no reason why the same farmers and entrepreneurs cannot come together and produce all the temperate climate fruits and vegetables needed for the local and export markets.Peaches,pears,apples,all the berries(straw,rasp)grapes,etc.

45. @ Gabriel,

Why not grow more mangoes, bananas, figs, avocados , golden apples, grapefruit, oranges cashews and fat pork?

46. Personally, I do not have any problem with Marla Dukharan analyzing the Barbados economy. Too often, people attached ulterior or political motives to assessments made by local economists.

But what has Marla mentioned that was not previously mentioned by Dr. Mascoll, Jeremy Stephen and, more recently, Dr. Worrell or โ€œdiscussedโ€ by BU’s contributors?

47. Do not pay attention to the blp professional doom and hlommers . There job is to be active objectors nothing more nothing less
    The youth of barbados has been shining bright in the winners circle at the Carifta games but not a peeking word of encouragement one would hear coming from these yahoos and ministers of evil.

48. I have been saying for any years now that we are doing tourism wrong. We have a realy high tourism leakage rate of above 70% and hence as soon as the tourism money comes in it goes back out in short time. We have been borrowing to live a dream (nightmare soon) of being well off as a nation but not earning the money to do so. We need to change the model of tourism operation to have a tourism leakage of around 40%. We have also been measuring our tourism efforts wrong for years with basically only two measurement tools (arrivals and tourist spend) that do not tell us if the industry is making money for the country or not as well as if our systems are sustainable in the full sense of the term and just not enviornmental.

49. Gabriel April 18, 2017 at 10:00 AM #

Thank you for reminding the BU household on this point that has been made ad nauseum.

The other point wich will address Hants’comment is that since the 90s a plan exists to make the Scotland District the bread basket of Bim.

Andrew Simpson April 18, 2017 at 7:27 AM #

We need doers now

50. Miller

June 08th could be a god send for the Lib Dems….the phoenix rises….possibly leading a coalition govt.

If only in Bim…….we could see a Son Mitchell scenario at our next elections which should have been long ago.