Submitted by George C. Brathwaite (PhD) is a member of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP)

I pledge allegiance to my country Barbados and to my flag,
To uphold and defend their honour,
And by my living to do credit
to my nation wherever I go.

Barbadians everywhere are disturbed about the social and economic challenges confronting this nation. Sadly, there are too many pressing issues that are being sidestepped or downplayed by the current administration. Doing so serves no good for a population that is daily feeling the anguish of turbulent economic performances which have been formulated and followed by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in government. The many downgrades, the numerous pronouncements that are laced with promises of better days ahead have become intolerable and no longer fanciful to the ears.

Furthermore, the callousness and arrogance of the Freundel Stuart Cabinet inspires little or no confidence, with hope of relief extended only by the constitutional arrangements of a law-abiding society. The people wait – but with pain for Prime Minister Stuart to exercise his legitimate right. The DLP parliamentarians and some of its waning supporters are preoccupied on those things which may be considered political expedient in an election year. Together, they have failed to bring Barbados from the brink of disaster. These are truly troubling times under an abhorrent DLP Government; the people are fed up!

Generally alarming, is the fact that partisan politics is inhibiting the political class from doing the right things. Democratic traditions are in contradiction with the need for good governance thereby, pushing many to assert that the country needs serious reforms including the right of political recall. Such calls have swelled over given that failure and crises have become embedded and characterise the executive arm of government. Barbados, by most objective measurements, appear to be a society and economy worst off today than a decade ago.

The DLP promised much in 2008 and realistically failed to deliver despite winning again in 2013. Not heeding sage advice, the DLP continued its policy options which have led Barbados into social and economic tailspin. Last week Moody’s with another downgrade indicated that: “Despite the government’s efforts to contain the fiscal deficit and alleviate pressures on foreign exchange reserves, the fiscal deficit remains large and credit risks have increased in Barbados. The debt burden has risen in recent years and will continue to do so for the next few. Domestic and external liquidity pressures on the sovereign have increased.” Moody’s concluded that “the likelihood of a credit event in the near-term as very high, given lack of fiscal adjustment and increasingly limited financing options.”

Despite the dismissive tones coming from the lips of PM Stuart, a high deficit persists coupled with the foreign reserves dropping to low and dangerous levels. Additionally, the local debt keeps climbing with a Bloomsberg Markets report insisting that: “The governor being fired would have rattled investors simply because it shows some kind of instability there at a policy-making level … [because] the governor had started to come out about how bad it really is” in Barbados. The same report added that “the 2-to-1 peg with the U.S. dollar is starting to show cracks, and an all-out balance of payments crisis is a possibility.” Surely, these statements were neither conceptualised or made by any of the political parties in Barbados. Yet, they repeat warnings that have come from economists, political scientists, and the business community in Barbados.

Hence, it is reprehensible that PM Stuart in wanting to dismiss critics and those calling a spade a spade, would insolently suggest that Barbadians are “being imbued with a sense of our own inferiority, or a sense of our own inadequacy.” Utter nonsense! Just imagine Barbados’ principal public servant contending that “rating agencies can only downgrade Barbados’ credit worthiness, its ability to borrow. They cannot downgrade Barbados itself.” Boy, was he ludicrous! Stuart simplistically added that “the most they can do is to say to us that if you want to go and borrow, because we’ve downgraded you, persons who might be inclined to lend you will make the money they want to lend you more expensive.” PM Stuart is surely disconnected from reality. The rating agencies influence the investors we seek out in a competitive global environment.

Contrary to Stuart, Barbados can look around and realise that we are not “on a much sounder footing” as compared with the economy that the DLP “inherited in January 2008.” The DLP Cabinet has lots to be ashamed about. Stuart, Sinckler, Inniss, Estwick, Lowe, Lashley, and the other so-called wild boys must be disgusted as thousands of Barbadians demonstrated on an overcast Saturday afternoon. Against calls to boycott the BLP-inspired ‘Step Up If Yuh Fed Up’, Barbadians took to the streets. A protest march and rally is one way of reclaiming people power against an administration that can no longer basks in the sunset of its remaining days in office.

Regardless of the outcome of the next general election in Barbados, it is absolute that new and inspiring national leadership is required. As such, Barbados requires a proactive Mottley and not a procrastinating Stuart or ill-prepared other. As a matter of honest reflection, it must be emphatically stated that the Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley, has consistently demonstrated the type of empathy, tenacity, accountability, and decisiveness that are necessary for leading a troubled nation.

Indeed, considering the battles and the tantrums thrown at her by past and present personalities existing within a male-dominated political culture, it is obvious that Mottley’s back is broad. On the streets across the nation, many accept that Mia Mottley has clenched the imagination and support of the people. Mottley continues to rub shoulders with thousands of ordinary people reeling from the many errors and shenanigans of the DLP. Mia Mottley has exposed several infelicities done or perpetuated by the ruling DLP including the CLICO affair, the stealth with Cahill, and in these last few days, the insidious petulance of Prime Minister Stuart.

With candid sobriety, Mia Mottley arguably has the intelligence, confidence, perseverance, and political capital that will ensure Barbados moves away from the bleak years it has been experiencing since 2008. Both her passion for national service and resoluteness in the face of hostility and trumped up charges, especially with the nefarious claims of fear-mongering by the reckless DLP spokespersons, illustrate that Mia Mottley is the best person to drive the vehicle of progress for the Barbados nation.

Alongside the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and its operatives, credit must be given to the many who are rekindling interest in the directions that the country must go. Of course, there are some less inclined to support either of the two major political parties. Yet, it is possible that daring men and women who present themselves to the electorate may want to serve not out of personal grandeur, but instead of national necessity. It is essentially good for democracy that persons are ready to utilise their skills on top of using their constitutional rights to see the back of a DLP administration that has performed miserably for the past nine years.

At the same time, the perception or likelihood of victimisation by the DLP will keep a few potential candidates from coming to the forefront, even as the dawn of an election approaches. The ‘new’ parties and candidates inclusive of so-called ‘independents’ have been thus far ambiguous at best, and at worse, calculatedly low-keyed. The public wants to see and hear alternatives from all those on deck. Perhaps such will minimise the discourse suggesting that party deviants are advancing a stage for personal vendetta and/or attack. Barbados can no longer tolerate the burden of a failed government. The nation cannot accept the DLP’s distortion of the realities. Soon enough, the Barbadian people will decide for love of country.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

124 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – For Love of Country”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The people are lacking a self-preservation and survival instinct, they need to hone these lifesaving skills and put the lying politicians of both governments and the newer political parties in their place.

This is more important than patriotism, which is new to the landscape….and is only being copied from larger societies who are now watching in horror as that false ownership of countries spread like a cancer and turns to sh…t.

Survival instinct and self-preservation have been around for millions of years but appears to have gotten weak in bajans. Over the last 50 years the population has become too dependent on useless politicians and government ministers, one only needs to take a stroll through any of these politician’s or minister’s constituencies or former constituencies to see the continuing degradation, particularly in the lower income and depressed areas.

2. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

With candid sobriety, Mia Mottley arguably has the intelligence, confidence, perseverance, and political capital that will ensure Barbados moves away from the bleak years it has been experiencing since 2008. Both her passion for national service and resoluteness in the face of hostility and trumped up charges, especially with the nefarious claims of fear-mongering by the reckless DLP spokespersons, illustrate that Mia Mottley is the best person to drive the vehicle of progress for the Barbados nation.@@

After this POST you can prove your PHD is as good as Cheltenham,better look at facts, Mia is a crook and who ever support a crook is also a crook , Do you home work before posting junk, Seem you dont have a clue , We might see where talks of 100,000$ went to , to pay people to write trash on the BU,

Mia a croook, Owen a Crook and all AGs from 1966 even Sir Judge Sleepy Smith , Long stand crooks you love to pump up, take a seat , People watching you well ,

At this time in Barbados any Party is better than all the DLP or BLP crooks you can put out there, Clico With Owen and Mia, also, So do your home work , from 1986 lawyers, 1997 BLP with UDC and NHC, Money and greed got them like this follow the money ..

We will comment but will not post, When Daivd BU get mad he removes history ,,

3. We are tired of George Porgie Brathwaite saying the same things all the time.

We will no longer read him until the BLP come to ‘power’ and he can then report the seamless implementation of MAM-dom!

Separately

We see that the mother country has voted, in both houses, to trigger Article 50.

We heard it between sleep and wake.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MORNING FOLKS

Hope everybody is fine today!!!!!

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…everyone is fine, it’s the government confessed to their own 9 years of incompetence. ..not so fine…haha

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We are indeed fortunate to be living in Barbados at this time.

However some of us need to drop this reliance on WHITE PEOPLE validation of what we as BLACK people do.

I was lucky to read a Caribbean article publish this morning. And it reminded me of the Barbados Labour Party and its members and supporters. They have this knack for still thinking in a Colonial manner. The headline went something like this:

“Colonial mindset blamed for slow accession to CCJ

Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) judge, Vincentian Adrian Saunders, says there is good reason for the remaining Caribbean Community (CARICOM) states that have not yet done so, to accede to the appellate jurisdiction of the CCJ.

Saunders says there are clear accession worries, which he believes date back to colonial times.

“During the colonial experience the harshest forms of oppression were meted out by our immediate persons we interfaced with in our respective countries. Whether the guy who had the whip with the gang, or the slave master, or the local governor and very often in order to ameliorate that harshness you had to petition England to get redress and very often you got redress because it didn’t suit colonialism for those kinds of excesses to occur. They could extract the wealth and benefit in the way in which they wanted to benefit without that kind of harsh brutality,” he said.

According to the Caribbean jurist, that practice led to the region’s people growing up with the notion that justice is something which is best obtained from overseas.”

This really knocked my socks. It sounded to me just like the present situation here in Barbados where a a group of Bajans calling themselves the Barbados Labour Party and their minions who are giving great credence to people from over in away passing judgement on what we here as BLACK people do. Of course you know I am talking about the Corrupt rating agencies.

See the similarity?

Colonial thinking both times.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

……and George, you dont have to keep putting “PhD” everytime. You are not the only “PhD” in Barbados. Plus you got your when you were an old man.

I have a daughter who is 25 and she has a PhD.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson……yall just spent/wasted over 7 million dollars of poor black people’s money to keep empowering the colonial crap…ya cannot cry down colonialism when it suits yall incompetent agendas, what is the name of your prison….your police force, why dont you change the colonial names….

…..why do you ministers still act as slaves, stealing from the majority black population to enrich a few mediocre, scallywag minorities….why are you ministers so psychologically damaged.

These are very important questions that can give us an insight into why government ministers and politicians seem so cursed and are incapable of seeing. their own people attaining and maintaining wealthy, as a whole.

9. ” Health authorities here are reporting an outbreak of syphilis on the island. ”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/14/syphilis-outbreak/

Bushie could be right bout de devil portal at de Garrison.

10. ” The criticism of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart by one of his own Cabinet ministers is getting sharper, with Minister of International Business Donville Inniss today suggesting Stuart’s position on the recent downgrades of Barbados was disingenuous.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/14/inniss-takes-on-stuart-on-downgrades/

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

You crawl from under your bed as yet to try to mislead Bajans?

I dont know why you hate Bajans so.

12. @ CCC

I assure you that it is standard; it is a handle consistently used. You are the one that looks for titles. In your ministry they must Refer to you as Minister. In the HoA they call you Honourable. Crticise my content and forget the effing title. Is that what desperation does to you DEMS?

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

George

No disrespect intended. After all we are buddies from Facebook.

14. @ George C. Brathwaite PhD,

The PhD is real but the “Honourable” is questionable. Who the cap fits!lol

15. @Pacha

Was the result unexpected?

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I see that you are up or out.

Ready to carry out your daily misinformation and disinformation tasks for the day.

Well I wish you no luck.

17. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@CCC. Black people love titles and appellation. Look no further than Africa, from traditional rulers to presidents. Barbados probably got more PHDs per capita than any other country. And what do we have to show for all this knowledge.? Tourism and offshore financial service.

18. @Pacha

How do you see the trigger of Article 50 by May touching the Le Pen situation? Her nationalist appeal appears to be on the wane?

19. Hahahaha

However some of us need to drop this reliance on WHITE PEOPLE validation of what we as BLACK people do.
    ………………………………….

Ah wonder who just gave PM Stuart a degree an wuh colour dem iz…….hahaha

De more a monkey climb…….

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

George

Now that you are here.

Can you tell us if the Barbados Labour Party is a client of Moodys or S&P?
    We all know these rating agencies are always looking for new business and once the entity can afford their fees they will work on their behalf.

21. YOU GET THE GOV’T YOU’VE CHOSEN

Some say the white man came from above oh oh!
    That is if you believe that supernatural stuff. UFO
    The locals treated him not like a beast
    Like the three wise men from the East

Like how Columbus founded the West Indies
    Then try to convert the poor Indians! Please!
    When that failed they went buffalo butchering
    Leaving the Red Indians starving and cowering

Coveting land from humble folks with their flags unfurled
    Settling up their own towns and villages all over the world
    But in their wake they left many in tears day after day
    All over the good land which was never theirs any way

They maltreated many a people who cried long tears
    Someone got to be punished for we know God cares
    You can sing, and run and jump with all your might
    For karma is bitter sweet when it comes back to bite

When some countries got their freedom
    Their governments thought they’re dumb
    They too tried to do like the Caucasians
    Who maltreated the local Amerindians

They built cities and made kingdoms
    Living it up drinking coke and rums
    They lived the good life like the imperial master
    As they too put the little man on the back- burner

As their own folks live in poverty
    Amidst their masters’ proclivity
    For years the people took it and did nothing
    The doers willfully neglecting them sneering

The reapers of the ill gotten gains in their castles in a moat
    You take it staying quiet for you don’t want to rock the boat
    Tears have been shed every day many going insane
    And someone has to pay, here comes karma again

Living the likes of a hog as they shed tears of joy
    As they plot and scheme to carry out their ploy
    Wives, mothers and children became high brows
    Covered from head to toe as their belief allows

But the poor farmers keep toiling and trod on
    Eking a miserable living to bring in the bacon
    And months became years and fades
    And decades ran into more decades

Until the people ran out of tears
    They swear and shed their fears
    Their anger reached every man, child and wife
    For all they ask for is just to live a simple life

Their anger reached a pitch they want to get even
    They were ready to face torture of even an AK47
    The cry for freedom and democracy was in the air
    And every man in South East Asia wanted a share

And so in Tunisia, one day in a little town called Tunis
    Using a format called Facebook the locals found bliss
    The folks sent messages to one another
    Innocently talking and in serious chatter

When Muhammad Bouazizi, a farmer doused himself in kerosene
    Which was seen all over the world to show his wrath of that mean
    Ben Ali, dictator who lived like a hog for over 27 years
    As unemployment grew, people die shedding long tears

All about their welfare and hardship in rage
    Actually, bottom line they wanted a change
    Citizens were called to silent arms and demanded democracy
    Ben Ali trembled in his boots but stuck to his despotic policy

And when the smoke cleared the dictator was kicked out
    The people rejoiced as they sang tears of joy and shout
    As they pray and hope for a better tomorrow
    But the fires were burning all the way to Cairo

Hundreds and thousands were alerted who care
    And they all met at the famous Tahrir Square
    And the words that went out were “We have taken up
    Enough of this, we’ve to bring this nonsense to a stop”

The news spread like wildfire all the way to Benghazi
    But was trampled by tanks, guns of an insane Hosnie
    And Mubaruk refused to budge as the people persevere
    Strengthened by the victory in Tunisia they didn’t care

T‘was do or die they made up their minds shouted out their demands
    To oust Mubaruk after 30 years of stealing the wealth of their lands
    Eventually he packed up his bags and left after 30years of conniving
    As the Muslim Brotherhood stood silently on the sidelines watching

The fires had already spread to Libya a kettle of a different brand
    Democracy was a word Muammar Gaddafi could never understand
    As he dined with prostitutes in Cannes in Europe like a leech
    At home he ruled with an iron hand banning even free speech

Bucket a guh a well everyday, one day
    Eh battam guh lef my Nannie used to say
    As Tripoli seethed and the people protested
    As men women and children were slaughtered

Using jet fighters, tanks and mercenaries from Africa
    As his own soldiers refused to kill their own in Libya
    Hiding behind his high walls madly raving
    With his two evil sons aiding and abetting

After 42 years of wallowing in the Libya’s troughs he can
    He said he’d kill any opposer to the last woman and man
    The world is shouting that this is a crime against humanity
    But all words fell on the mad ears of a man bent on insanity

As the UN and the USA threatened and warned
    That no more innocent Libyans should be harmed
    Gaddafi answered by sending planes to shoot at oil rich
    Brega
    Threatening before he goes he’d burn the oil wells of
    Libya

I said we get the Gov’t. we’ve chosen
    Sometimes the voters are left frozen
    And they have to put up and abide
    Their time and flow with the tide

Cause they’re evil forces at work out there
    And the innocent are cornered in dire fear
    Like what happened in the 1960’s in Guyana
    When the British stealthily agree with the USA

To stifle the PPP and oust Dr.Cheddi of Guyana
    For they thought Guyana would be another Cuba
    History has proved after 28 years Cheddi was not
    But Burnham was and that was what Guyanese got

In Africa and Europe dictators arose
    All eventually got the peoples’ blows
    Those who don’t have it want it
    But really can they handle it?

Democracy is what they want
    They shouted give us in any slant
    In the garage we want a good motor
    An oven, a stove and the refrigerator

A detached home is so so
    A townhouse or a condo
    A job in the bank and money inside
    No matter what they promise to abide

We see water it’s not a mirage
    We also want a car in the garage.
    Many times we have seen great incorporations
    And the architects ending up in incarcerations

Look back in History with the great Mahatma
    When he and Jinnah were fighting for one India
    Jinnah caused India to split is a fact
    He was the brains of the Luknow Pact

Jinnah never wanted an Independent India
    He was too violent even rejected satyagraha
    Every time Gandhi preached cooperation
    It was met with the Lahore Resolution

The same thing happened in Guyana’s PPP
    When the Muslims rejected the Jagan’s Party
    In that case the CIA’s puppet Mr Langley
    Gave Richard Ishmael $2.08M for perpetuating the 80 day strike
    Also to the Muslims and the Trade Union Council and their like
    The Muslims split the Indian vote and formed a PNC coalition
    Joined with Burnham who later kicked them out in
    jubilation

Greedy rulers from Stalin  to Mussolini
    From Ben Ali to Mubharak to Gaddafi
    And the others in poor Africa
    Even Burnham from Guyana

All have one common denominator
    And that is the built in greedy factor
    Their coffers are bare yet they spend much on war
    Their people go hungry as the leaders dine on caviar

Even the educated started our good then made a mess
    This shows greedy rulers can’t rule I have to confess
    How can these so-called leaders sleep deep at night
    When their people sleep with a bug infested plight

When they practice the opposite what’s preached in Mecca
    Covering their women from head to toe sheltered by Sharia
    Laws as they defile and use other women like play things
    Paying top dollars for sexy women who party and sings

They pray 5 times per day pointing towards Mecca
    As they bank the people’s money to be used later
    At the Cayman Islands, Swiss or the country they all hate
    Or just invested it in stocks and bonds and in real estate

Since the last time we spoke
    Some thought it was a joke
    Since then we saw the fall of the South East Asian Empire
    A dire land of totalitarians and some secular pundits for hire

Tempered by monastic vows
    Treating their women like cows
    Governing wretched peoples yet who sneered and
    applauded
    Praying to their God when the Twin Towers fell and were
    bombed

A people who always want the green US dollars
    But funneled the money for domestic owned wars
    And sat and took it decade after decades
    As that part of the world became Hades

Fast forward to Toronto in Ontario, to live
    With the Liberal Party vs the Conservative
    You would never believe politicians can be so sick
    One would surely think one is in a Banana Republic

Wasting and covering it up is the order of the day
    And all the poor taxpayers don’t have a darn say
    Billions of dollars wasted to save their party some seats
    As erasing tapes and emails done secretly at their meets

The fists would fly and guns would be drawn
    But all dumb Ontarians do is smile and yawn
    But really you have to blame it on the naive lesbians
    Pride has voted as a block maybe they got the billions

When the people put party before sound economics
    It always come back to bite them where it ticks
    Only time would tell in the next few years
    But then it may be too late for long tears

22. @ CCC
    If I were you, I would listen to what is going on in Parliament. When it comes your turn to speak, I would tell Barbadians the true implications of the rating agencies, and how does your colleague Minister intend to deal with any fallout and avoiding any more downgrades. Your statements have much more impact than mine on the populace with you being an elected official. Do your JOB!

23. @ CCC

Did you hear the indictment that Mara placed on two crucial areas that shoild be of key interest to you. The lack of busses for the St. John people and the horrible state of the roads in that parish. We all know what is happening (or not happening) across Barbados. A failed government with failed policies and predictable outcomes. Get busy Carson C, Cadogan and trespass not, for I will continue to call a spade a spade.

24. If Carson Cadogan is really a politician, it confirms the poor educational quality of our political leaders. His nonsense in this forum says a lot about his ability to manage a department of state. It is embarrassing.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. CadoganMarch 14, 2017 at 10:11 AM
    “We are indeed fortunate to be living in Barbados at this time.

However some of us need to drop this reliance on WHITE PEOPLE validation of what we as BLACK people do.”

Carson, you are just a twisted mouth carrion dog.

You are here on BU ‘bad-talking’ blacks about their sycophant desire for “WHITE PEOPLE validation” yet you jump with the joy of an Uncle Black Tom when your boy-in-the-yard playing primate inter goons accepted in true Muttley style an honorific title from the same Dick Dastardly White institution called Keble College.

What’s wrong with Cave Hill under Barriteau? Or more appropriately, Codrington College the old slave plantation his ancestors would have toiled for food under the hot sun of white exploitation?

Aren’t you aware the Keble College is just one of many colleges which make up Oxford University a doyen of colonialism as represented by the colossal statue of the white supremacist Cecil Rhodes (the arch colonialist) in Oriel College, a ‘sibling’ college to the same Keble?

Your PhD daughter can fill you in on Rhodes. She might even have benefited scholastically from his ‘dirty’ money earned from the exploited blood, sweat and tears of the African ancestors of the same blacks you now wish to admonish.

Now tell us CCC the confused convoluted comic, what is the difference between the Keble “white people validation” of Fumble the blackened Stuart the ‘perfected’ caricature of African identity in colonial Barbados and the rating agencies downgrading of a country under a supreme buffoon who requires no make-up to be a black minstrel in drag?

26. These hated white people – are those the ones that we encourage to come here as visitors to help boost the economy, or rather, keep the economy alive?

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson is a hpoctrite and a slave boy for the mediocre Maloney, Bizzy, Cow, Bjerkham gang, stealing from his own people to enrich the few scum for his kickback, the people of St. Philip will have to get rid of him.

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Peltdown….you will note that these damaged ministers only hate whites when it interferes with their personal agendas of deceiving the people of Barbados, it’s like they become possessed, they dont care what whites do to the majority blacks, they would help them lock up, steal from and disenfranchise the majority, but these lowlife scum for ministers draw the line at whites informing the majority of the minister’s deceit and incompetence,…that has to be a mental illness….it cannot be normal.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…do you really understand what you and the incompetents in parliament are dealing with….all of you are on autopilot and totally incapable of coherent critical thinking or analyzing your own dumb, destructive actions, you have dug your own graves.

Inniss has now turned on Fruendel, both of them had turned on the Clico victims like snakes to save and protect their thiefing buddy Leroy Parris…..that is what Karma looks like, both Inniss and Fruendel, you, Lowe, Sinckler, Boyce, Sealy, Blackett….all you jokes and liars are going to be kicked out of parliament never to return, do you understand that.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

IN A COUNTRY SUCH AS OURS:

With free Primary education
    With free secondary education
    With fees of 10% for University Education
    With free Technical education
    With free Health care
    With free Polyclinics
    With free medicines up to a point
    With electricity covering 100% of the country
    With water service covering 100% of the country
    With excellent telephone and Internet services
    With free standpipes(only place in the Caribbean)
    With natural gas covering 80% of the country
    With a variety of housing solutions covering 90% of the country
    With all the household comforts imaginable
    With unemployment below 10%
    With excellent fire service
    With outstanding police Service solving 95% of reported crimes including Murders
    With first class Airport services
    With award winning Port services
    With good road surfaces
    With world class Banking services
    With World class hotels and Restaurants and Tourism services
    With the most beautiful beaches in the World
    With the best entertainment
    With people of all races living in harmony
    With food stuffs or every kind
    With Beverages of every kind
    With a variety of Religious denominations
    With the best Cricket team
    With the best Govt. Social care services
    With training facilities
    With a variety of sporting facilities
    With $4billion in Bajan savings on the Bank

and the list goes on. I will highlight more.

Only a group of people calling themselves the Barbados Labour Party and their minions would seek to portray Bajans as living in Hell.

There are plenty people World wide who would gladly trade place with us.

31. Is it BU alone or other feel repulsed by the fact Maureen Holder is paid with tax dollars by a state agency in the hole 115 million dollars. Her blatant bisase is unprofessional on so many fronts.

32. WellWell,
    “wasted over 7 million dollars of poor black people’s money to keep ..”
    Who were the beneficiaries of money? The money was not sent to Mars of even St. Vincent, it was paid out to the same poor people who got jobs, who sold things to government, who helped built stages, fishermen whose boats were utilized in the “flotilla” at the beginning, and the masons who helped build things. Are you saying that it was a waste to spend the money on the same people you are talking about.?

33. Vincent Haynes Avatar

You know as well as I do that both sides have had their yard fowls in CBC and according to the MoF no taxpayers money is used on CBC.
    Which will bring one to wonder how do they fund themselves?

34. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Alvin

Chuckle….are you suggesting,that was the most creative idea your govt had to distribute 7M to the poor black people of Bim……what are the stats on how many benefitted?

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin…it was a waste, that money would have been better spent fixing the collapsed sewage system and there would have been no embarrassing poop flooding the streets and sea to be exposed internationally.

How quickly you forget.

And since you have no credibility, we have to take what you say re bajans benefiting from 7 million dollars with a cup of salt, maybe yardfowls and that too is iffy, government dont like to pay their own people.

36. Has the forum seen the Guyana-born Ronald Sanders, in another place, once more pushing the case for buying passports.
    Why is it that he is always on the wrong side of history? I am sure he is a decent and honourable guy, but he comes over to me as a spiv and con man. I m afraid it must be my judgement.

37. @Hal

Perhaps what he has resigned to saying is that traditional revenue is not sustainable as exposed across the region. His suggestion should inform robust critique of our economic fundamentals. All good!

38. David

As long as we have hard times impacting the White poor peoples of the world we will have distorted manifestations of xenophobia, Islamophobia, White ‘nationalism’ and the rise of the ALT-Rightists. They never stopped!

Theirs is essentially a racist discourse.

These mainly poor, ignorant, Whites have no critiques of the elites of all stripes but will join with their White oppressors to build a front, even a Front Nationale, based on race mainly but religion as well, but never class.

This is about race!

There are only differences in form not substance between Theresa May, Marine Le Pen, Donald Trump, Greert Wilders and the like. They are united by the rise of White impoverishment due to a deliberate de-industrialization, lack of a modern education for vast numbers of their kef and kin, etc.

They see nothing wrong with domination by White elites.

We disagree, the Le Pen appeal is not on the wane it may have been less expressive but White people always retreat to racism when all else fails. There has never been a discourse by Whites that racism, as institutional constructed, should be abolished.

This is the reason for such an absence. That it can be used as a social lever whenever needed.

This is not the beginning of the end of ALT_Rightist political discourse. It is not even the end of the beginning.

The next phase maybe stealing other peoples’ resources as Trump threatened and that French President Francois Hollande has put into practice in Mali.

It may take a new colonialism to make poor White whole.

39. David,
    I know there is a paucity of ideas in Barbados and the wider Caribbean, but Sanders is no intellectual.
    We are where we are because of the lack of trust and vision. Caricom as a body should be punching the weight of Norway. Barbados as an island should be up there with Iceland and Singapore.
    I blame the educational system. David, if you were to add a news stream to BU there will be no need for anyone interested in Barbados to read the Advocate, Nation or Barbados Today.

40. poor Whites

41. As someone who lives in multi-ethnic society, whites may be racist, and many of them are, but the most vicious racists are not the whites. Try Latinos and Southern Europeans for a start, and Indians and Chinese.

42. “With free { taxpayer funded } Primary education
    With free { taxpayer funded } secondary education
    With free { taxpayer funded } Technical education
    With free { taxpayer funded }Health care
    With free { taxpayer funded }Polyclinic”

Doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

43. @Pacha

An interesting comment for those labouring under a view that Europe is the quintessential multicultural society.

44. Who are the fear-mongerers? Just listen to that Jack Ass (Blackett) that is currently speaking in Parliament.

45. The nastiness has started. Blackett, talk yuh talk. The higher the monkey climb, the more yuh see he tail! Oh foolish you Blackett.

46. @Hal

Thanks for your kind words but as you know it is imposible to be all things to all men.

47. Agree that Blackett is a JA squared. This is personal.

48. Vincent Haynes Avatar

In this day and age we still talking foolishness about black and white as opposed to the gross ignorance of the majority of the worlds population because they can be controlled by a few through the use of religion,capitalism,communism or dietism as in N.Korea.

The masses are the sheeple of the world and have always been controllable by the elites of their tribes……how did they become the elite,by convincing their sheeple of their greater intelligence in whichever area that they view can be used to manipulate the masses.

The sheeple have never had an agenda other than to follow their elite…..each tribe has its own elite….left to the masses of the tribes they would all get on with each other.

The agenda of the elite is control/power and they will subscribe to any tool in order to achieve it.

Pigment is a distraction.

49. David

The question you asked Pacha had to do with White ‘nationalism’ as a current phenomenon.

This writer has lived all over the world, including Russia, and have seen all kinds of ethnic biases, as well.

But racism is particular breed.

Some ethnic biases exist amongst and between all races. These do not equate to the same level as institutional racism.

In the UK, for example, there are ethnic biases between Scots, Irish and the English. Even within these groupings there are internal rivalries.

We did not think that such a question involved other ethnic biases or the fact that because of Racism and other factors all the other non-Black peoples of the world believe that somehow they are better than their father – the African.

Even light skinned or straight nosed Black people think that they are better than their father, Pachamama