Submitted by David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley is right in calling for and mobilizing a march against the governmental Administration of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, but she has not gone far enough in identifying the primary goal of the march.

It is not enough to stage a march to express “disgust” at the Freundel Stuart Administration! The political, economic, psychological, and social situation in Barbados has gone far beyond a mere expression of disgust. Barbadians need– as a matter of the utmost urgency– to be relieved from the stultifying grasp of a rotten Governmental Administration that has lost all political legitimacy and that is taking the country down to a disaster of epic proportions.

The only remedy — the only demand– that makes sense at this late stage is a demand for the staging of new General Elections– now!

Our nation urgently needs to be released from the utterly dysfunctional and clue-less Freundel Stuart Administration, and a new national political leadership needs to be put in place. The central demand and slogan of the Opposition Leader’s march should therefore be:- “Elections Now!”.

Indeed, the march needs to be focused on launching a mass people’s demand for immediate new General Elections, and calling on all right thinking Barbadians to march and demonstrate in support of such a demand until it is achieved!

No sane or responsible Barbadian can any longer have any lingering doubt that our nation is in grave peril.

Like the notorious Roman Emperor “Nero”, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has shamelessly abdicated his leadership responsibilities and has chosen to “fiddle” with his Democratic Labour Party cohorts in New York City while his country burns!

In a mind-boggling interview carried out in New York with the Nation Newspaper last Monday, the Prime Minister of our country asserted that he has no idea as to whether his Government had lost confidence in Dr Delisle Worrell, the Governor of the Central Bank!

The Nero-like Prime Minister Stuart also claimed to be unaware that his Minister of Finance, Mr Chris Sinckler, had brought any “proceedings” against Dr. Worrell! Mr Stuart’s precise words were:- “I have not made myself privy to all that has been happening because I am not aware that proceedings were brought by the Minister of Finance against the Governor…. It is my understanding that proceedings were brought by the Governor”.

These are the words and reactions of a political leader who has lost contact with reality, and who has therefore lost any right to continue to hold on to the reins of government. It is time for Mr Stuart and his Administration to go !

167 responses to “Let’s March for New Elections –NOW!”

1. The Governor failed in his bid before the High Court his evening.

Let the curtain open on part two of this miserable play.

Every single issue in Barbados is about moves to determine a winner in the POLITICAL sense.

2. That time has come and gone long time.

3. Just picked the following statement posted to Facebook by someone who should know:

Hey guys. In case you forgot. There are still 30 constituency councils in Barbados servicing the needs of the community for the past 9 years and to which council members are assigned and receive a monthly stipend for their guidance. I take it you knew that already as you have been exposed and impacted by this robust mechanism which allows for the decentralization of government services. Tell me, what’s the most recent project your constituency council has done for your area with the grant funds at their disposal? I’m very happy to hear of them and share the lessons learned.

Say it isn’t so. Has the public been given a report of the work done by the councils so far?

4. David,

What are the grounds for appealing to the CCJ. I was under the impression it had to be on a point of law only.
    No democratic court of law can tell the governor that he cannot be sacked; the government’s only obligation is to honour his contract. This is more unnecessary theatre.
    In the meantime, is the governor allowed in to his office?

5. @Hal

The court declined the request to allow the matter to proceed.

6. I have read that, but Mr Nicholls still said he would proceed. Can he? If so, what is the point of law? That his client rightly, and expectedly, lost his case?

7. Act 1 Scene 2: Cassius enlists Brutus

8. He has got to go; it was a bit of entertainment while it lasted. Not a national catastrophe as some claimed. |n the wider scheme of things it does not matter who is the central bank governor. S/he will just be governor of an empty pot. The nation is bankrupt.

9. David Comisiong

You also have to go much further as well. Further than MAM.

If this is not the time for radical transformation in the political and economic life of our country, when?

An election, though you are right to make such a demand, will do us no good beyond 6 months or so.

And how would you be able to attract the attention of a BLP government which will be as lost as this one is?

Why should this not be the time for radical transformation of systems which themselves are ‘Nero-esque’?

And once that election is had, what guarantees would you give the people of Barbados that we will not be in the same position we currently are?

10. A read of the BLP’s Covenant of Hope does not see any radical departure from the usual promises of this and that. It is important for a 3rd party to take root in this election cycle to force the hand of the entrenched duopoly.

11. Now de ole man got to speak here cause to remain silent would indeed be a gross dereliction of duty.

I going measure my words carefully lest if be said dat I like i want to run tings in Bados like Mugabe.

I going axe you Mr Commisiong a few things if I may

As leader of the People’s Empowerment Party and as one of the two and a half lawyers in Barbados, we ent counting our pally pally george Archangel I am going to ask you these few questions

(1).Do you have a list of the various issues that the DLP has done wrong through their 8 year tenure?

Now you beeters had not tell me no causing if I ask Pachamama, or Artaxerxes or any of the other Heavy D’s as in Discoursers here on BU dem would give a feller a list in a hurry

For example here is one of Bush Tea ‘s lists.

(i).Their Finger-Printing scam
    (ii).The Andrews Sugar factory on hold due to land issues with a neighbour
    (iii).The Alexandra School Issue
    (iv).THe DLP reneged on the EWB Free Education
    (v).No Public Servant layoffs
    (vi).Four Seasons Scam
    (vii). Sam Lord’s Castle scam
    (viii) CAHILL Assification Scandal
    (ix).Shite tax had to be revoked

You see how a man who is just a concerned citizen not only got a list but is on record as prosecuting these lists here on BU.

Now.

To your Credit mr. Commissiong (I nearly slip and call you…)

But to your lasting credit there are a number of things that you have prosecuted on behalf of the people of barbados? that have given you some mileage in your legal practice.

Let us be honest here, the coin has two sides civic responsibility and indirect advertising.

Now if we are to remain honest, let de ole mann axe you which of dese activities was de same Barbados labour Party, the Mugabe-ites, or Party in Waiting, which of these did they

(a).Initiate?
    (b).Assist in”
    (c).March for? or
    (d).Just raised their fingers at?

Now having answered that question with a Resounding Nuffin you see why I am distresses by your comments here “…Opposition Leader Mugabe Mottley is right in calling for and mobilizing a march against the governmental Administration of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart…”

She nd her party should be castigated and run to ef out of Dodge.

She has been ineffective and incompetent and even has colluded with said government in at least one of these instances heheheheheheh but you dun know that dont you?

I am therefore very concerned that you should tarnish your currency to endorse the Barbados Labour Party (otherwise know as Brigands Laying in Parliament not to be confused with CLIT Chvunts Lacking In Testosterone or CLIP Chvunts LIcking Pus*ies or CLIPs who may bite CLITS)

But de ole man wandering as a feller say earlier in the day.

My point is why are you kind sir endorsing these charlatans who have lingered in the House of Assembly, pretending to have a care for Bajans, and who are now seeking to have them get victimized by walking with them in the hot sun on Saturday the 13th of March…

The have been equal waste foops in the HoA lollygagging while pretending to care for Bajans.

It would be good if you answer any of these questions or end your proxy to answer BUT WE DONE KNOW dat you ent going say nuffin cause you cant…

12. What prompted that incoherent outburst from George Pilgrim today? He seemed rather frazzled and stupid. i thought he would hide forever after predicting a Red October for the Bees.

People like him confirms our worse fears as to why this country is in such a mess.

13. send not end send your proxy…

man dis ipad is someting else…

14. @ Piece Uh De Rock

Add to your list:

The deteriorating state of the QEH
    Poor state of roads
    Pain of no water in St Joseph for months
    Poor garbage collection for months
    Four seasons
    Pickering
    Grotto
    Failure to make Maloney move island on the highway

15. I listenend to an ad on DLPTV….the government’s solution to the lack of buses to transport poor Barbadians………..carry out a survey………………oh my goodness.

These morons just dont know what to do.

I thought they knew everything and did not want to hear anything from us.

16. Governor Worrell…………my advice to you, do not go down by yourself.

You were trying to salvage your reputation and the morons with whom you were in bed threw you under the bus and now your reputation as an economist is in tatters.

Do not go down by yourself……………do not let a man like Stinkliar fire you………..wuh crumbs, you have more knowledge in your big toe than that idiot Stinkliar……………take all of them down with you. Even the PM disowned you.

Do a Harold Blackman on these dems………..but there again………..you knew up front that dems treat politics as a blood sport, so you were just collateral damage.

17. @ Prodigal Son

Justin Robinson was engaged by David Thompson in 2007? to carry out a survey of the bus routes and user patterns

9 badword years ago!!!

Steupseeeeee

18. Let me say up front that I am not a supporter of anything or anyone that seeks to threaten the flow of free speech, so that Mia Amor Mottley does not make my list of favorite persons. That said, the welfare of my beloved Barbados is so important that when matched against a somnambulant pedant better known for his interaction with returning visitors than for simple association with a poor bajan, his constituents included, she stands head, shoulders and then some out front. Today on Brass Tacks through its General Secretary the Democratic Labor Party would have provided the impetus for all who truly love this country to come out on March 11th and in the most pellucid way possible tell them to GO TO HELL…..except that’s where most Barbadians call home today.
    ” The BLP fired this person….we did not march. They fired that person…..we didn’t march”.
    The one that got my goat was the mention of Winston Cox. You idiot, with clinical precision he was relieved. Rightfully or not a decision was taken and executed. With such precedent clearly set you are still able to make this country the laughing stock of the Caribbean. Seems as though the only precedent you would have followed to the letter of the law is the one that makes us clamor for Integrity Legislation. The Minister of Labor gave the press a figure for impending retrenchments, the Minister of Finance refuted that figure. The Minister of Education promised bursaries to displaced students, the Minister of Finance swore ignorance to such a plan. No less a person than the somnambulant pedant told the press of nineteen Barbadians set to be kicked out of the USA. From whence came that story? Our very own Foreign Affairs Minister. What secretary Pilgrim neglected to tell us today is what the hell this bloated Cabinet really does on Thursdays?
    For all that has gone on you as an elected administration made the choice that as disrespectful as it came over, you owed no explanation to John Public unless and until the bell was rung. Even the now embattled Central Bank Governor adopted such a stance, even if facilitated by a rather submissive forth estate. An impending march has forced you to hastily break a well practiced silence? Please come full circle. Since we have heard your voice, lets hear the sound of the bell. Lets see for whom the bell shall toll.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin February 23, 2017 at 7:03 PM

The Guv knew full well he was standing on very shaky legal ground and with little sympathy in his corner at the court of public opinion.

His sole intent in pursuing the legal path was to expose and embarrass his former masters for selling him down the river after his professionalism was called into question by the international financial community in light of his persistent collaboration in the printing of monopoly money to prop up a false economy.

The poor discredited fella is now passé. What should be of current interest is the person chosen to replace that discarded utensil.

Which local man or woman from the incestuous academic gene pool would have the professional gumption to take up that position with the clear expectation that he or she would have to play the role of a politically-appointed lackey and stoolpigeon to be in blatant breach not only of professional ethics but also clearly identified as the idiot hired to carry on the nasty job of printing ‘play-play’ money which can only be seen in the light as placing the devaluation fuse next to the dynamite to blow up the already fragile economy.

And like Guy Fawkes would go down in Bajan history as the treasonous person who was instrumental in the destruction not only of the deceitful lying party (dlp) but also in the sacrilegious ‘dishing’ of the ‘haughty’ pride of many Bajans who would soon witness the mighty fall of their dollar once considered sacrosanct.

20. Retribution- Things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution- Things that make me go hum!

George Pilgrim came on air and talked about all the good works the DLP did especially in the area of Housing – Lmao! Talk about in denial!! George/DLP you ever hear “self praise is no praise”.

21. Is it only me, or wunna too get a sense dat George was reading something composed by Dennis Kellman? Hard to believe such crap could have come from multiple sources.

22. How is talking about housing something to be puffed up about? Have We forgotten Greens, Parish Land, Coverlet, Grotto, Contant etc.

23. Prodigal dont you think it is high time that you clean the blp house before you tell people how to mash up some one else house
    With all the pending court cases placed against Mia coming from within her own cabinet you got the nerve to relay dissent upon others peoples property , you ought to be ashamed of yourself ,.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

I fully expect Worrell to call a press conference and expose them all, everyone of those ministers as well as Stuart.,…tell all, everything….what does he have to lose.

In saying that, Stuart has always shown himself to be disconnected from the majority people, unless he has some deceit to fill up their heads, disconnected from what his role as a leader of everyone on the island should be, the only time he shows any life is when he has tourists at Llaro court and he is bowing and scraping with a shit eating grin…or he is performing for the minority business people, or in NYC talking rubbish…, all the other times…he is disconnected.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son February 23, 2017 at 8:09 PM

Should this completely incompetent administration remain in office for another 3 months you can expect the rating agencies to downgrade Barbados by at least 2 notches; possibly on par with some African countries ruled by dictators.

If the international financial community wanted any more evidence to start treating Barbados as a genuine pariah for lending and investment then that speech given by George Pilgrim reflecting the views of the current DLP administration should represent ample evidence and conclusive proof that the country is now an economic basket case.

The printing of money is now the sine qua non to economic survival even when the economy is doing fine with unemployment on the decline and the future looks brighter than it ever was.

It really saddens me to see what you and others have been warning about has finally come to pass. A once proud and well-managed country is now the economic basket case and laughingstock of the region.

26. Amm how many marches has Mia orchestrated in the past seven years to win election Ad how many elections has she won
    People who have encouraged Mottley to stage this march are either unaware of her failure to produce gains and are also unaware that such marches have proven to be failed strategy
    Or have an agenda with sinister motives similar to what occurred in one of our neighboring islands recently
    An idea which had been bandied about by the political noisemakers and misfits for the past seven years and an idea which some might believe is ripe for exploitation in the heat and frenzy of the political season
    Buyer Beware of the actors and actions of the the political stage hands connected to this march

27. @ Hamilton

In the VOB chat today, that was the opinion of most of the chatters. They said Kellman a.ka. Pound Food had to be the person who wrote the shyte Pilgrim read. They said it is not possible that two people in the DLP could be equally ignorant…………..lol!

28. I was in another territory recently and the people there kept asking what is going on here and they cannot believe what lows to which Barbados has sunk.

29. ac has drank too much rum from Fundels parties! The D’s made that same argument 8 years ago, and only one thing has changed, their richer today by bankrupting the country.

30. You miller hate that not only George Pilgrim but well respected officers in the banking industry have related a similar tone as to why govt has to obtained money via printing towards the viability to the managing the country
    Miller i know you hate to hear the reasoning and the cause and its effectiveness which is tied and crucial serving to protect the internal foundations of the country
    Reason being that the sting and firing power of the blp criticisms and critics of govt policy becomes diluted sufficient so and enough to lossen the grip of political stealth which the blp have been using as the precursor during electioneering to strike fear in the hearts of the people
    However just a friendly note Nothing Absolutely nothing would strike more fear than when Mia has nothing to offer the voters other than Privatization to the people.

31. Ac
    I know you can’t help being a JA but this simple example should help you understand the foolishness you speak …….”well respected officers in the banking industry have related a similar tone as to why govt has to obtain money via printing towards the viability to managing the country”……if you had a business and had to borrow money to pay your staff every week or month,would you say that is an acceptable way to run a business?

32. “Democracy in Barbados cannot and must not mean a mere moment in a polling station once every five years. Our citizens must, from day to day and from week to week, receive facts, opinions, comment and interpretation of public affairs and must also be encouraged to express their opinions. That is what participatory democracy is all about.” – Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford, former political leader of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and Prime Minister of Barbados, 1987 – 1994.

33. “Such marches have proven to be a FAILED STRATEGY.”Can somebody tell ac that the modern translation for Dem two words is Christopher Sinckler? Would have been interesting if today George would have told us if the downgrades still meant nothing, as was proclaimed by them since 2013. Burst mains don’t waste water, because it goes back to the aquifers….The proliferation of pot holes highlight a modern day road safety program. Using NIS liquid cash with the prospect of repayment in government paper that no one wants and telling the nation that it’s a viable investment…. then the shite today that Starcom really should have been paid to bring….One good thing is this. Our children have hope. If Dennis could be a legislator in a modern Barbados, aspirations are reachable.

34. Gabriel and you know what would be the end results of my business if it could not fund money through borrowing to pay my employees except in case of an economy the stakes are much direr and higher for the country ane people existence
    Btw did not OSA borrow money to pay external and internal debt incurred under hid magement678th when foreign reserves were running low
    The blp behaviour and attiiutde in this present circumstance smacks of hypocrisy since the blp had undertake similar actions for the preservation and security of the nation

35. Can someone please enlighten Dr George that the concept embraced by Sir Lloyd was rejected by Mia Amor Mottley?

36. @ Hamilton Hill

Why enlighten me? Can I not think for myself? Sorry to disappoint you.

37. De ole man sorry to bother wunna.

but I hearing so much bout this speech dat George Pigrim mek

No body ent tape he and got he pun a mp3 or something???

Dere has to be someone out there who collects these inspirational messages.

I am sure that someone out there would love to splice dem, add dem to videos and ting.

38. Hamilton are you not being repetitive regurgitating what you and the blp operatives have been stating over the last seven years . Remember Mia vote of no confidence /s against Sinckler another one of her failed strategies to have Sinckler ousted
    So what will the public witness in March would be a broadsided attempt to oust govt under the guise of “election Marches” instead of. Mia having wise and viable solutions concerning the economy..
    Btw what happened to Mia brainstorming idea of having a think tank team of experts to solve the economic problems another strategic failure like one thst never got off the ground.

39. I hope that wunna have taken record of ACs comments at 9.19 pm today which were “…Or have an agenda with sinister motives similar to what occurred in one of our neighboring islands recently…”

Yet all the policemen in Barbados now are carrying a gun dont mind three people get shot in Lascelles Road one minute ro the police station in Holetown and all them say when interviewed is that “dem heard a shot…”

40. @David Comissiong

After seeing how you fought the Barbados Government for a foreigner, a discriminated against resident of Clarkes road, St James seek your help as to The MTW officials allowing a foreign white woman to illegally obstruct a clearly define watercourse and re-rerouted the flood to his and other residents houses , to date you have not respond, since it can’t be a matter of black, is it a matter of too poor for your services,

41. @George

Can you dispense with political correctness and explain what your colleague Don Marshall is trying to explain on the backpage of the Barbados Today?

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

“instead of. Mia having wise and viable solutions concerning the economy..”
    agreed
    So tell me, what are the wise and viable solutions you have?

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

“what your colleague Don Marshall is trying to explain on the backpage of the Barbados Today?”

His CV admission for the vacant post of Acting GoCB. It says…I en gine bit yah like that Worrell fella, all I need is a 5 yr guaranteed term, with a generous buy-out clause.

44. You will get your elections, if only because a bus driving at eighty miles an hour, on a corner, with no brakes and a drunk river is bound to crash, unless forcibly pulled over and a new driver installed, when it runs out of gas first.

Hopefully those with the gas make sure the relevant controls are in place for a recovery.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/24/reduce-the-vat-suggests-arthur/

Someone is chatting with IMF that they made recommendations, so when were Fruendel, Inniss and Dumbville going to jump in the press and tell the people about the recommendation by IMF to lower the vat to 16%…..ivertaxing a country can bring negative results as oeople have been telling these goats for years.

Reduce the VAT, suggests Arthur
    Added by Kaymar Jordan on February 24, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    No more tax please!

Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has come out in full support of an International Monetary Fund (IMF) recommendation that this country’s rate of Value Added Tax (VAT) be lowered from 17.5 per cent to 16 per cent.

Addressing a meeting of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados here on Tuesday night, the former minister of finance also warned Government against any going the route of increased domestic taxation, saying any further reduction in the disposable income of Barbadians was bound to affect the performance of the VAT.

“So there is much merit in the proposal contained in the IMF report to lower the rate to 16 per cent, broaden the base by reducing the wide array of zero-rated and exempted transactions and hence let the VAT do the work that it was intended to do,” he said.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93910/bank-deeds-land

This is how banks in Barbados steal property from blacks on the island they immediately assume you will never be able to repay the loan, you make the final payment on your loan and they can never find your original deeds, you then have to take the matter to court to later learn someone else also owns your property.

Stop dealing with the dishonest banks on the island.

Been hearing for years that they always “lose and cant find” property deeds.

With all those safety deposit boxes for such, how do banks lose property deeds.

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Overtaxing a country can bring about negative results as people have been telling these goats for years……

47. @Vincent

Notice you are always sharing stories from the traditional media all over Facebook but guess what -you hardly ever share a BU blog. Why is that? If the Nation publishes the same item guess what!

48. Daavid,

Stop being so sensitive. BU is the leading news media discussion site in Barbados. The others are following you. The Advocate is a waste of space and you are many times better than the Nation and Barbados Today.