Jeff Cumberbatch - Columnist, Barbados Advocate
Jeff Cumberbatch – Columnist, Barbados Advocate

โ€œIn short, his wits being quite gone, he hit upon the strangest notion that every madman in this world hit upon, and that was that he fancied it was right and requisite, as well for the support of his own honour as for the service of his country, that he should make a knight-errant of himself, roaming the world over in full armour and on horseback in quest of adventures, and putting in practice himself all that he had read of as being the usual practices of knights-errant; righting every kind of wrong, and exposing himself to peril and danger from which, in the issue, he was to reap eternal renown and fame. Already the poor man saw himself crowned by the might of his arm Emperor of Trebizond at least; and so, led away by the intense enjoyment he found in these pleasant fancies, he set himself forthwith to put his scheme into executionโ€ฆโ€ โ€“Don Quixote โ€“ Miguel de Cervantes

As many others, including apparently the majority of the voters in the United States, I do not care much for the politics of the current president of the United States, Mr Donald Trump. Having myself survived exposure to the nightmare scenario of his Electoral College triumph last November, nothing he has done since persuades me that he is not the narcissistic, temperamental misogynist that he projected himself to be during the campaign to citizens of the United States who, albeit, by fortuitous electoral distribution and for their various personal reasons, did not care enough about these flaws and so elected him to the high office of POTUS, as it is so charmingly referred to.

Most of my readers will be familiar with the epithet โ€œquixoticโ€. It describes, according to one source, behaviour that is foolishly impractical especially in the pursuit of ideals and marked by rash, lofty, romantic ideas. The word derives from the character created in 1605 by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra in his novel, โ€œThe History of the valorous and wittie (sic) Knight Errant Don Quixote of La Manchaโ€, to give its full title. There has been a number of musical and film adaptations since, including the 1992 โ€œMan of La Manchaโ€, featuring the popular hit, โ€œTo dream the impossible dreamโ€.

Constraints of space do not permit a fuller discussion today of the adventures of the title character, but the epigraph above offers some information as to the anatomy of his pursuits.

The connection that I seek to make between Don Quixote and Mr Trump lies in the erratic, nay, quixotic nature of the behaviour of each of these individuals. For instance, perhaps the best known escapade of Don Quixote is tilting at windmills, an expression that has found its way into the lexicon as a metaphor for inutility and one that is ideally likened to Mr Trumpโ€™s attempts to exclude Mexicans and some Muslims so that America will be โ€œgreatโ€ again, whatever that coded expression might mean.

โ€œAt this point they came in sight of thirty or forty windmills that there are on a plain, and as soon as Don Quixote saw them he said to his squire, “Fortune is arranging matters for us better than we could have shaped our desires ourselves, for look there, friend Sancho Panza, where thirty or more monstrous giants present themselves, all of whom I mean to engage in battle and slay, and with whose spoils we shall begin to make our fortunes; for this is righteous warfare, and it is God’s good service to sweep so evil a breed from off the face of the earth.”

“What giants?” said Sancho Panza.

“Those thou seest there,” answered his master, “with the long arms, and some have them nearly two leagues long.”

“Look, your worship,” said Sancho; “what we see there are not giants but windmills, and what seem to be their arms are the sails that turned by the wind make the millstone go.”

“It is easy to see,” replied Don Quixote, “that thou art not used to this business of adventures; those are giants; and if thou art afraid, away with thee out of this and betake thyself to prayer while I engage them in fierce and unequal combat.”

The analogy is satisfied even further whether we consider Sancho Panza to be Mr Mike Pence, the Vice-President, Ms Kellyanne Conway with her โ€œalternative factsโ€, or Mr Steve Bannon with his antediluvian views on difference and press freedom; and Mr Trumpโ€™s choice weapons of war not to be the lance and shield but his penchant for executive orders and late-night-to-early-morning tweets.

None of this is to ignore the fact that for some unarticulated reasons perhaps best known to them, there are those who support Mr Trump. I will not hazard a guess as to their reasons, although I am prepared to concede that they are certainly entitled to their opinions.

Nonetheless, his obsession with being perceived as the smartest and the most popular incumbent ever, as well as his seemingly facile ignorance of the basic principles of US constitutionalism that he swore to uphold less than a month ago, together with his propensity to speak in superlatives all mark him out as nothing less thanโ€ฆquixotic.

Indeed, Mr Trumpโ€™s relationship with matters legal so far has been less than auspicious. First, he chose to dismiss, as was his prerogative, the substantive Attorney General for demurring to a patently discriminatory embargo on certain individuals, even as his proposed replacement awaits Senate confirmation, thus leaving a gap in the governance architecture that would be constitutionally repugnant in most other jurisdictions. Second, he nominates a predictable replacement for Justice Scalia on the Supreme Court; one who, unsurprisingly, comes mouthing the same tired conservative claptrap about the Constitution having a settled meaning, as if time has stood still since the time of Jefferson and the others in the 18th century.

This jurisprudential perception is indeed instructive in the current context, for the original Constitutional text in the US regarded certain individuals, definable by a common characteristic, as being less than whole human beings. Too besides, it is at least passing strange that this soโ€“called โ€œrightโ€ meaning seems always to accord with conservative points of view, while those opinions that endorse such progressive values as the autonomy of women and others to guard their privacy are considered matters of regrettable and unconstitutional judicial activism.

The following piece is apposite:

Almost immediately after, Don Quixote runs into some merchants whom he challenges to admit that his lady, Dulcinea, is the most beautiful damsel in the world. Not sure where the situation is leading, they address him as โ€œSir Knightโ€ but anger him by some facetious comments regarding Dulcineaโ€™s beauty. On hearing these remarks, Don Quixote charges but unfortunately Rocinante slips and our knight ends up beaten by a muleteer. What might be construed as a setback for Don Quixote is easily explained: it was Rocinanteโ€™s fault.ย  But equally important (to him) is the fact that the merchants addressed Don Quixote in chivalric terms.

388 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Don Quixote Goes to Washington”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now if we can only get trump and his dummy supporters to understand this very simple fact….but nah….it’s way too difficult for any of them to process.

“Mr Robart added it is not the court’s job to “create policy or judge the wisdom of any particular policy promoted by the other two branches,” but rather to make sure that an action taken by the government “comports with our country’s laws”.

“The Constitution prevailed today,” he told reporters. “No one is above the law โ€“ not even the President.”

2. Jeff Cumberbatch February 5, 2017 at 4:51 PM #
    John, you are beginning to sound more and more shrill in your blog posts. After viewing the video, are you telling me you are still not persuaded on a balance of probabilities (more likely than not) that Trump cannot read?

++++++++++++++++++++++

I watched the video a second time as requested.

In the video Schwarz says he would be shocked to learn Trump read any book from cover to cover.

He then says in a tweet that Trump read the book …. did you actually read the link to the 15 books Trump “wrote”?

On the balance of probabilities, I would say Schwarz isn’t worth listening to or reading as he can’t keep a consistent story….

Since “The Art of the Deal” is a #1 bestseller, logic would dictate that Trump, on the balance of probabilities, wrote it!!

Who would want to read a person who can’t keep with one story!!

3. Now if people were paying careful attention they would realise there is a glaring inconsistency in the claim that Trump only watches TV!!!!

How can a man who claims the news is fake watch it …. and furthermore rely on it???!!!

I have a possible answer but I will leave it for the moment and see if anyone can figure it out!!

4. Trump is deliberately pushing peoples buttons
    from protestors, courts up to idiots like John

5. Why wunna don’t let John enjoy his fantasy nuh?
    The poor man sees a faint chance of someone restoring the world of the Plantocracy – where his albino kith and kin ruled the waves, and Black people did the hard work …and worshiped those of his ilk …. or was lynched otherwise.

John, having thoroughly researched those times past – now daydreams about the glorious times that were had by his ancestors… especially after reading all those old wills with the stolen wealth.
    Is it any wonder then, that he sees Trump as his messiah?

Trying to bring logic to John on the topic of Trump – is like trying to show Zoe the BASIC flaws in his bogus religion.. They CANNOT hear us, understand us …or see the obvious….. because they are brainwashed by unrealistic daydreams of bogus grandeur.

6. Trump is like Shane Warne, both are skillful but both understand the art of getting under people’s skin

Watch how Warne operated in this last over of the day and setup Strauss!!

7. Trump’s ghost writer on “The Art of the Deal” speaks in a rather uncomplimentary fashion about Trump:

โ€œI feel a deep sense of remorse that I contributed to presenting Trump in a way that brought him wider attention and made him more appealing than he is,โ€ Tony Schwartz, the ghostwriter on the 1987 best-seller, told The New Yorker in a lengthy profile. Schwartz, who has a joint byline on the memoir, split the $500,000 advance with Trump, and has received half of the millions of dollars in royalties over the years. But all that money hasnโ€™t bought Schwartz a clear conscience. After spending hours with Trump, whom he depicts in the profile as an unfocused, dishonest, attention-loving, power-hungry menace to society, and reflecting on those hours years later, Schwartz is horrified by the idea that Trump could actually end up in the White House. โ€œI genuinely believe that if Trump wins and gets the nuclear codes there is an excellent possibility it will lead to the end of civilization.โ€

The most alarming of Trumpโ€™s character traits, Schwartz says, is the potential presidentโ€™s inability to focus on any topic โ€œother than his own self-aggrandizement, for more than a few minutes.โ€ If, for instance, Trump had to be โ€œbriefed on a crisis in the Situation Room,โ€ Schwartz found it โ€œimpossible to imagine him paying attention over a long period of time.โ€ That short attention span has left Trump with โ€œa stunning level of superficial knowledge and plain ignorance,โ€ he said.

Add to that Schwartzโ€™s assertions about Trumpโ€™s truth-telling, or lack thereof, as he put it. โ€œMore than anyone else I have ever met, Trump has the ability to convince himself that whatever he is saying at any given moment is true, or sort of true, or at least ought to be true.โ€
    The Art of the Deal paints Trump as a brilliant dealmaker: a charming member of society unburdened by the desire to make money, inspired simply by the โ€œart formโ€ of making business transactions happen. Schwartz now says it was a trick, one he needed to play in order to make money to support his growing family. It was he who was the artist, he says, painting Trump, โ€œa living black hole,โ€ as a โ€œcharacter far more winning than Trump actually is.โ€ He says he turned down Trumpโ€™s offer to write a sequel, but if he were to re-write the original version today, he would give it a different title: The Sociopath.

http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2016/07/trump-ghostwriter-art-of-the-deal

8. The issue I responded to was whether Trump could read.

I am still to be shown that he can’t!!

As to his ability to focus because of his short attention span it is a fact that he was able to focus his attention on the election campaign for over a year and also win although everybody said he could not.

That “stunning level of superficial knowledge” is part of what made him like ordinary people and I think why the average Joe took to him.

He watches TV even although he complains of “fake news” because the average Joe watches TV and also complains of “fake news”.

That’s why the gallup poll on the credibility of news media shows that less than 1/3 of Americans actually believe what they see and hear.

Trump is an average American and is clearly identifiable as an average American … and it is not an act … he is the real McCoy!!

Compare his opponent, Hilary Clinton!!!!

Trump wears his heart on his sleeve every day, people are yet to figure out if Clinton even has a heart.

…. and still people can’t understand how he won!!

9. For all the clueless people who have never studied business management at university:

Research carried out on the day-to-day routines of chief executive officers in large corporations shows that most CEOs are MEN OF ACTION, who move rapidly from one brief task to another and make hundreds of decisions rapidly every day. They do not read a lot as a group.

It is not surprising that The Donald operates in this fashion, having worked for many years as CEO of the global Trump Organization.

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Research carried out.demonstrates …studies show…intellectual giants argue…Any chance of identification? Or are we just supposed to accept these Trumpisms without question? Still waiting since morning, Chad, for the names of those originalist “intellectual giants”…

11. John and Chad you are so effing blind. Wunna can’t see that Trump has bluffed his way all his life. It is clear he has a problem reading and comprehending. He may be dyslexic and has hidden it all his life except those closest to him. He blusters and bellows to make himself look strong. He is very ignorant and does not have a wide vocabulary due to his learning disorder. He is afraid to let his secret out so he pretends. Look at him how he is signing the Executive Orders, he hasn’t read any of them and had to be shown several times where to sign. The man is a mess , an incompetent fool.

Besides his learning disorder, he is a narcissistic moron who seeks attention all the time and being on the cover of Time Magazine is a great accomplishment for him. The GOP will use him for their own agenda as long as they can.

A bloodless coup has taken place in America and the constitution will be taken apart bit by bit and replaced by Executive Orders if he is not stopped.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad99999 said CEOs “do not read a lot as a group.”
    Good CEOs read voraciously… Welch, Gates, Jobs, Buffet, Slim, Bezos, Zukerberg… one of the few common characteristics that good CEOs have is an appetite for reading and constant learning.

13. … and despite all these flaws he still won the election!!

He is either very gifted, very lucky or his opponent was just not up to it.

There is no question reading is necessary to keep yourself fresh and up to date.

I like history and I enjoy reading original legal deeds and wills over reading a historian’s summary in a book.

I have plenty of books and papers, physically and electronically and still I know I do not read enough.

… and then there is a completely unimaginable amount at the archives, Public library and on the net.

I couldn’t deal with the various subjects I deal with on BU if I did not read.

Water, history, politics, technology, current affairs and even legal matters I have been known to write about on BU.

My goal is to write and I know I have to read if I want to write.

I am lucky as I am in a position where I have to write and to do so I have to read.

One of these days I will count the pages which I reckon must be well into the thousands but I enjoy it as it teaches me to hone my skills as a writer for the real tasks ahead.

BU is a diversion and also provides a forum to test and challenge myself.

It is easy for me to spot someone who does not read.

Trump just does not fall into that category.

If he did not read he would have failed miserably in the debates but he did not.

Trump has failed as a businessman, picked himself up and then succeeded.

It is difficult to imagine he could have done that without reading.

I am sure he could afford to hire people to read and summarise most of what he would have had to read

Now he gets to be President, he earned it fair and square, doesn’t matter if Clinton et al lost it, the fact Is he won.

… and he will need to keep reading, but at least his country is paying for people to keep him briefed and current and from what seems to be emerging, he is a workaholic.

14. @chad99999 February 5, 2017 at 7:43 AM “becoming by his own efforts one of the richest American businessmen”

So it is a lie then that Donald Trump’s daddy left him tens of millions of dollars?

15. Trump has also mastered the art of delegation.

People want to work for him.

He employs women and men on merit …. he himself remarked that his female campaign manager would go into any den of lions his men were wary of entering.

Sure he has had his outs with some but what that is just part of life.

For many people, winning the lottery marks them for disaster.

Trump could easily have lost whatever he got from his father but he did not, he built on it.

Like all humans, he can fail but let’s see what happens!!

16. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“I like history and I enjoy reading original legal deeds and wills over reading a historianโ€™s summary in a book.

I have plenty of books and papers, physically and electronically and still I know I do not read enough.

โ€ฆ and then there is a completely unimaginable amount at the archives, Public library and on the net.

I couldnโ€™t deal with the various subjects I deal with on BU if I did not read.

Water, history, politics, technology, current affairs and even legal matters I have been known to write about on BU.

My goal is to write and I know I have to read if I want to write.

I am lucky as I am in a position where I have to write and to do so I have to read.

One of these days I will count the pages which I reckon must be well into the thousands but I enjoy it as it teaches me to hone my skills as a writer for the real tasks ahead

@John, you are even beginning to sound like Trump. A true reader does not boast about how much he has read. It is shown rather by his or her vocabulary, the way he or she uses languages, the connections he or she makes in language. Where would you have come across original legal deeds and wills in sufficient quantity to make a boast about reading them consistently? Most lawyers do not, unless they have to!

17. Why is a law professor asking me to name prominent conservative legal philosophers and jurists?

With all due respect, if you don’t know their names, you are not only incompetent. You are beyond the pale. Originalism and natural law are key frameworks for understanding the written opinions of nearly half of the justices and judges in the American federal judiciary, which is the most powerful community of jurists in the world. This is not some fringe movement in a tiny European country.

18. @Vincent Haynes February 5, 2017 at 3:22 PM “what rational explanation do we have for trumps existence?

Trump exists because his mother and father had sex, the same reason you and i exist.

Why you looking for something esoteric?

19. Simple Simon

While the amount of money Donald got from his father is a matter in dispute, he had to share the money with several siblings, and most business magazines have said it could not have amounted to mire than $10 or $20 million. From this modest beginning, The Donald has become the richest developer in New York City, worth more than $3 billion, if you believe Forbes Magazine. That means he multiplied his father’s inheritance by a factor of at least 150.

20. PLT

I am only telling you what I learned in the MBA program of a distinguished university.

Most CEOs do not do a lot of reading. There are academic studies to support this. Perhaps it is different in Silicon Valley because of the peculiarities of the Tech sector — although you mentioned Bill Gates, who is not a great CEO.

21. Also, Buffet is essentially an investor, not the top executive of an organization with numerous employees.

22. There is no way I would have voted for either Trump or Hillary myself if I were an American, but I have to give Trump credit for the way he answered Fox News know-it-all, blowhard Bill O’Reilly in a recent interview.

In an interview to be aired ahead of the Super Bowl later on Sunday, Bill Oโ€™Reilly asked if Trump respects Russian President Vladimir Putin, to which he replied, โ€œI do respect him. Well, I respect a lot of people, but that doesnโ€™t mean Iโ€™ll get along with them.โ€

Seemingly surprised, Oโ€™Reilly goes on to ask him why.

“He is the leader of his country. I say itโ€™s better to get along with Russia than not, and if Russia helps us in the fight against ISIS โ€“ which is a major fight โ€“ and the Islamic terrorism all over the world, thatโ€™s a good thing,โ€ Trump answered.

โ€œWill I get along with him? I have no idea.โ€

Oโ€™Reilly then challenged Trump, calling the Russian president โ€œa killer.โ€

Trump shrugged the comment off, saying: โ€œThere are a lot of killers. Weโ€™ve got a lot of killers. What, do you think our country is so innocent?โ€

If after that admission anyone heard annoying beeping sounds in the audio feed, doubtless it was the cognitive dissonance alarm going off in Bill O’Reilly’s head.

https://www.rt.com/usa/376357-trump-putin-interview-killer/

23. are-we-there-yet Avatar

There have been several points made in this discussion that are of great importance in tring to discern what effect Trump’s presidency will have on the future of America and the World.

The posts that seem to best identify some of the characteristics that best explain Trump and how he got here are the ones which suggest that:-

Trump is a narcissist

Trump can only read to 3rd Standard level, if at all hence his reliance on twitter and inability to follow complex ideas

Trump totally depends on his staff to read all significant documents for him

His attention span is miniscule

Trump follows TV slavishly – I asked wunnah in an earlier post to check out the glaring similarities between Trump and the star character in Peter Sellers’ “Being there” – but I suspect that even Jeff didn’t consider that as important. Well check it out and some will see that Trump and his meteoric rise to the US Presidency resembles the Peter Sellers simpleton character who rises from from a position of a Gardener to a high position in Government (perhaps it was the Presidency also, I forget, but wunnah get de pint).

Trump is incredibly loyal to friends and people who adulate him. Check out his relationship with Putin.

Putting this all together weaves a tapestry of a totally different individual from all others who have held the presidency, even Nixon. This uniqueness suggests that the US is now in totally uncharted territory wrt even gauging what Trump is likely to do when confronted with difficult challenges.

One of several futures I can suggest explains why I think his first 2 weeks have been so frenetic. He has essentially laid out the groundwork for Pence and Priebus and McConnell and Ryan to work on over the next several months while he takes on another role. That of being an essentially ceremonial Monarch. He will not take on a typical Executive Presidential role but will chose a ceremonial role to allow time for him to relax and manage his vast holdings while having others delegated to carry out the President’s normal functions. It is also why he will persist in helping the Trump Family empire to surreptitiously make billions from his contacts until something unexpected happens to stop it. You would all note that there is no talk now from the Republicans for him to disclose his Income Taxes or even to divest his holdings into a real Blind Trust. That is not just happenstance. The Republicans are getting their agendas fulfilled so they will do nothing to allow Trump to be removed unless he does something egregious and his enablers in the WhiteHouse, including his family members will correct any such errors he might make.

Please excuse the ramblings!

24. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Chad, I will not deign to argue law with you, but you should be told that originalist views of the interepretation of the Constitution and natural law theory are not to be conflated. Your support for Trump is understandable now given your cowardly evasion of my challege

25. Jeff,

Please stop the disingenuous strawman arguments. There is no substitute for integrity.

I did not “conflate” natural law and originalism. They are two distinct strands of conservative jurisprudence and every one of my statements on this thread makes separate references to the two philosophies.

26. @John, you are even beginning to sound like Trump. A true reader does not boast about how much he has read. It is shown rather by his or her vocabulary, the way he or she uses languages, the connections he or she makes in language. Where would you have come across original legal deeds and wills in sufficient quantity to make a boast about reading them consistently? Most lawyers do not, unless they have to!
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I am sorry if I sounded like I was boasting but I was hoping to show the absolute necessity of reading.

Regarding original documents, go to the Archives, ask to see original wills!!

It is fascinating to hold in your hands documents that are centuries old and signed by the actual testator.

Often the books containing the centuries old handwritten copies of the wills are closed due to decay and the only way to see the will is to ask for the original will.

Certificates of marriage, baptism and burial I presume are originals, recorded in the parochial registers by the parish priests and curates from the year dot.

Some are copied from original registers now closed.

Nowadays you get microfilm or you can look at scans of the originals on the web.

Handling originals from centuries past is asking for trouble.

One of these days the Archives will be accessible on the web in much the same way as the PRO at Kew is accessible.

You are right concerning the title deeds.

The deed books contain copies so strictly speaking they are copies, a couple of centuries old perhaps but copies nonetheless.

The originals pass from solicitor to solicitor, owner to owner.

Often originals vanish and the legal profession has methods of titling land which I have seen in a couple of cases is down right theft!!

Some lawyers who shall remain nameless specialize in the exercise and need locking up!!

Nowadays a registered copy of the title deed will denote title as the original did …. the law changed recently or so I am led to believe.

Perhaps this is a way to curb the excesses of the profession!!

I have seen one case where a title deed was sworn to have disappeared in a titling suit only to reappear 10 years later clearly as a result of the actions of the deponents and their lawyer who drew the affidavit.

The three, all relatives, lawyer included, forgot, conveniently, where it went!!

I held the original from the 1880’s in my hands!!

The Registrar has conveyed the land based on the decision of the court which in turn is based on a false representation.

There are many others ….. such are the workings of due process in Barbados!!

27. Just like the prophets of old who foretold Christ centuries prior in “code” form โ€“ from Isaiah, to David, to Micah, to Hosea and others โ€“ Kim Clement hit the bulls eye regarding Trump winning the election – in prophetic “code” form.

Kim’s prophetic utterances regarding Trump and Hillary were spoken years ago, before Trump was even a politician.

Two years and 2 months before Trump declared his candidacy in June of 2015, Kim prophesied in April 2013 about a Donald who would hold the American flag, an influential person, that would win the election.

Almost 10 years ago, in April 2007, Kim prophesied I will raise up the Trump to become a trumpet. http://www.elijahlist.com

28. An MBA at a distinguished university….yea….Trump University. It is important to remember that the most common CEO qualification during the financial crisis was an MBA. Not many CEOs in banking and insurance understood their own financial products or their actuarial assumptions.
    On the other hand, not a single qualified CFA Analyst working as a finance director had any problems.
    Some time ago I tried to persuade a young Barbadian, in London to do an MBA, to switch to the CFA, he looked at me as if I was mad. He never made contact again.
    An MBA does not qualify one to be an economic analyst, but when someone is a liar there is nothing you can do about it.
    Name the distinguished university or shut up. It is bad enough using a pseudonym. The one thing we now know is that the forum’s resident liar is not a lawyer, or living in the UK, or a political theorist….he is an intellectual fraud.

29. Alice in Wonderland?

Marine Le Pen says she is the ‘people’s president’ as she makes 144 promises against immigration and global trade http://aje.io/4awf

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadster knows nothing about jurisprudence or he would have known the ban was illegal and could not at this time be overturned on appeal without still violating the constitution and people’s right without proof to show that the executive order was not bogus, that there is immediate and eminent danger to Americans, enough proof to allow congress to amendment the constitution to allow the ban to stay in place.

The only true comment I have heard trump make is that just like Putin, the US is infested with killers and is nit innocent, but he only made the comment to defend Putin, the damn idiot…but then it makes you wonder why he wants to ban anyone from entering the US with so many homegrown killers on the loose, foreign people should be protected instead.

Simple…dont listen to Chadster and John and their stupidity trump got around 1 million dollars from his father and he has been stealing from everyone ever since….those two are just as fraudulent as trump.

Between the judicial government and the real business giants, these are the people with the real power in the US thst can stop trump at any time, he cannot touch the constitution unless any of these combined with congress…allows him to….that is the reality, everything else is fantasy.

http://ow.ly/1JfG308Ih8V

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

More than enough precedents have been set throughout history in and outsude the US filed in the Supreme Court to make trump and his idiocy handsoff people’s rights….testing the powers of the judicial government will not get him far.

“Appleโ€™s Chief Executive Tim Cook has said his company was considering legal options against Trumpโ€™s executive order for affecting hundreds of its employees.

The DOJ is attempting to appeal a ruling made by U.S. District Court Judge James Robart on Friday to stay the ban nationwide.

The brief filed on behalf of technology companies depicts Trump’s travel ban as a violation of U.S. immigration laws, the Constitution and a detriment to business dealings domestically and overseas.

“It hinders the ability of American companies to attract great talent; increases costs imposed on business; makes it more difficult for American firms to compete in the international marketplace; and gives global enterprises a new, significant incentive to build operations โ€” and hire new employees โ€” outside the United States,โ€ writes Mayer Brown partners Andrew Pincus and Paul Hughes.

“Separately, the Fred T. Korematsu Center for Law and Equality in Seattle filed its own strongly worded brief suggesting history will remember the White Houseโ€™s executive order as the nation’s latest misstep in human rights.

It cited the so-called “Oriental invasion” for vilifying Chinese immigrants during the late 19th century.

โ€œThe birthplace of the plenary power doctrine, the Chinese Exclusion Case, relies on racist descriptions of Chinese immigrants that stoked xenophobia,โ€ according to the Seattle University-based law firm. โ€œThe Court stereotyped Chinese laborers as โ€˜industrious,โ€™ โ€˜frugalโ€™ and โ€˜content with the simplest fare, such as would not suffice for our laborers and artisans.โ€

“Relying on the plenary power doctrine, a doctrine rooted in racism and xenophobia, to permit the Executive Order to stand will be seen for what it is — the judiciary’s abdication of its duty to stand as a bulwark against those who would undermine our core constitutional principles.”

The law center was named for the civil rights activist who waged a Supreme Court battle against the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II.”

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman,…I am on to both the Chadster and John’s wickedness, they cannot hide it anymore and bpth will fully expose themselves in due course….lol

33. We are hearing two thing: Washington has no standing in the matter and the President has sweeping powers when it comes to directing immigration policy. How will the Court rule?

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The president only has sweeping powers…within the constitution. ..but none outside of it.

Obama deported 2 million people within the laws of the constitution in 8 years. ..I am sure he lost a few thousand cases re deportations, because there are immigration laws to be observed and despite these laws saying to the contrary, not everyone is deportable, but that does not stop ICE from attempting to deport…but there is a process in place to follow, within the boundaries of the immigration laws, protected by the constitution.

Trump is trying to deport 8 million people all in one day, as well as ban millions of travellers outside the boundaries of immigration laws….and the constitution. .big, big difference. …he targeted documented US residents who are green card holders and visa holders, he is deliberately testing the constitution to see if anyone is paying attention in an effort to dismantle it…that is why he hates and tried to delete the judicial government…and he will be punished.

Lawson…ya think we easy, just look at the 97 companies about to sue trump and see just how easy we aint…lol

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Something for you to complain about John….trump’s 4 day vacation pouting trip to Florida is costing the taxpayer’s upwards of 3.6 million US dollars, after only 15 days in office, multiply 3.6 million x every 15 days x 4 years if that will be his trend and remember he is a 70 year old tired, washed up man….talk about that.

“According to a report the Government Accountability Office prepared about a similar trip for then-President Barack Obama in 2013, the trip could cost taxpayers upwards of $3.6 million.”

36. the Court will side with the Constitution unless the President side can show convincing evidence that those countries he targets pose a serious threat to america National security

37. In North America, the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) is the poor man’s substitute MBA, usually obtained by some impecunious ruffian who did not have the wherewithal to take a full time university course.

It does not provide the contact with professors that an MBA provides. Whether it teaches you anything you won’t get in an MBA depends on the university.

WW&C

You should know by now that there is no “correct” answer to the question of whether the Trump travel ban is constitutional. Different lawyers and judges will come to different conclusions. The answer that matters will depend on the composition of the Supreme Court.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/8aay308IucJ

This article spells it out better than I ever could…if you are not Native American descended from Native Americans or Black Slaves….you are descended from immigrants and refugees and have no right banning or barring anyone from the United States which was built by Native Americans and Black Slaves…they are the only ones with any rights to do so….anything else will end in continuing chaos.

As a matter of fact European refugees, immigrants and settlers…found blacks and native americans in the US…all this fraud, fantasy, facade and lies will be exposed…..their own constitution will see to that.

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I see that nobody ent read my 12:42 am post.

OK, here is an URL that gives a summary of Peter Seller’s movie Being there.

http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/great-movie-being-there-1979

Read it if wunnah want to understand what is happening.

Trump is a real true-true version of Chance the gardener. TV and his minimalist tweets and short attention span says so, indubitably. Their TV habits are identical but Trump is a bit less a robot than Trump. The correspondance of characteristics is not exact but enough features are the same to lead to an alarming conclusion.

If so, and if the GOP only needs a president who only has fingers to sign documents, where goes the US?

Trump has been programmed to be the unique character that he is at this time and there is only one possble outcome.

I think Bushtea has some ideas about the source of the programming. If I am correct, Trump will be assisted to complete the mission which can only have earth shattering consequences.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“You should know by now that there is no โ€œcorrectโ€ answer to the question of whether the Trump travel ban is constitutional.”

Speak for thyself Chadster…I have read the constitution 4 times, had to take several exams on it’s contents…have you ever read it….it boils down to how versed the lawyers involved are in constitutional law and how skilfully they present their arguments…no judge will go against the constitution. ….as Robart has just ruled, there is a violation, it has to be argued, defined and decided.

41. โ€œName the distinguished university or shut up. It is bad enough using a pseudonym. The one thing we now know is that the forumโ€™s resident liar is not a lawyer, or living in the UK, or a political theoristโ€ฆ.he is an intellectual fraud.โ€

If the above comments refer to chad99999, then they are โ€œspot on.โ€

“The forum’s resident liar” is a pseudo intellectual plagiarist who takes phrases from different articles to complete his contributions.

It is impossible for anyone to consistently write contributions that read as though they came directly from a book.

42. @are-we-there-yet February 6, 2017 at 12:42 AM ….. As usual your vapourings are more a breath of vital oxygen and not the dangerous carbon monoxide spewed by some others.

I was quite amused to see Jeff and others get taken in by Chad45….amused because the Chadster has hooked BU in the same way his supreme leader hooked the world. Why continue to fall for Chad’s bold statements when he bamboozles with retorts like “Why is a law professor asking me to name prominent conservative legal philosophers and jurists?”

Well, because you called them out, Mr Chad45!!!!

Geezus, haven’t we seen this in play for almost two years specifically of the campaign and for the last eight years. Do we not see it now daily from the WH Press Secretary and WH consellors?

Trump HIMSELF said that he had implemented a ‘BAN’ and when the newspapers reported it as such his team vehemently pushed back and said that it was the media that started talk of a ban. Chad on steroids!

But give Chad his props; it takes smarts to dissemble; and it takes effing intelligence to completely bamboozle and tantalize an entire nation and too smart folks on BU!

So we can argue how Trump gained his intelligence and about the extent of his ADHD but to dismiss the man as stupid or unschooled is absolutely like playing down the wrong line to that Warne googly! Just saying.

Oh, whereas many texts aptly tell the tale of Trump ‘monarchy’ I still remind that ‘The Prince’ is the studious primer for the Don’s operational philosophy.

And all who doubt the man’s ability to digest data should reflect….the attorney who marshaled Sen McCarthy’s hate filled ‘communist’ campaign was his mentor and attack dog for eons. The same guy who did drugs and apparently was less that totally heterosexual… circumstances that led to his mentee having a very troubled ‘last days’ with him.

I mention all this to highlight that Trump has long been wired for his brand of thought. What and if he reads now is relevant only as far as it answers the question “Does it BALANCE his thinking”. NO, it does not.

He reads ONLY the data that validates his views. Thus he can tweet and widely propagate a debunked study on voter fraud from a man who just like Chad REFUSED to provide the background data to validate his wild assertions.

So whether than waste time tussling with Chad the ‘NoEvidenceNutter’ I do like John and go read some original stuff…the original treatise on political con artists: The End Justifes The Means.

That gets us much closer to Trump’s inherent focus than most other stuff…..

BTW John, well said that “BU is a diversion and also provides a forum to test and challenge myself”. You clearly are like Chad as you test your ability to engage other thinking people with your brand of often wild logical leaps. That Warne masterclass was a solid exercise…Trump WOULD never have appreciated that. He only reads what makes him look good…and the Scots were never good at cricket, anyhow.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad99999 said “I am only telling you what I learned in the MBA program of a distinguished university.”
    In my MBA program I learned that most CEO’s are very mediocre managers; I was drawing your attention to ones who had achieved extraordinary success across a variety of disciplines to point out that reading voraciously is a common thread in their characteristics. I consider Henry Mintzberg’s “The Nature of Managerial Work” to be the seminal contribution in the field of studying what managers actually do. It’s over 40 years old but I recommend it.

44. An MBA reads always read to keep abreast in a dynamic environment.

@Chad99999

If the Court stays with history the vote will be 4:4?

45. Jeff

John will never be the kind of mind on which a second of your time is well spent.

Separately, we admire your love for reading (widely),,,,,,,,,,,,,, and more importantly writing

This has to be encouraged. We have found, many years ago, that Bajans, even those in academia, are generally afraid of writing. Afraid of exposing their ideas for interrogation.

If you were to look at national knowledge production levels, over decades, this point could be borne out.

We have to thank Dennis ‘Briggs” Clarke (the late) for curing us of this national malady.

What we fear most is that this illness continues to afflict our children.

Of course, this could be properly located within an historical context.

46. If the following prophetic declaration IS* from the LORD, no matter what opposition arises, nothing can ultimately hinder what Trump has been called to do!

“Stand Tall America, and Honor Israel”

“America, America, I have called you in this hour,” says the Lord. “To stand tall, to stand free, to stand independent and sovereign, in the light of My glory. You will lead the world into a new day, My day, My vision, My heart,” says the Lord.

“As you honor Israel, I will honor you. As you remember the poor once again I will remember you. As you feed the hungry, I will feed you. And nothing will stop you. You are an unstoppable nation, a moving force for good and greatness, in the sight of the nations,” says the Lord.

“I have chosen Donald Trump to forerun a new model of national leader; yea, even a new form of world leader,” says the Lord. “This man will batter through demonic barriers, even on the world stage, which no man or woman in world history, has been able to have the breakthrough in before. But I have anointed him for this time, and his strength is not his own. I have assigned My angels to assist him in the breakthrough, to remove every stumbling block, to extract every demonic levy.

“His sound will be heard and felt, and I will put My fear on entire nations who see, and fear, and do not understand My working in this man,” says the Lord. “For he will demonstrate something that I have chosen him for, a unique office, a unique position, a unique role. And many will follow after him, not just in America, but in the nations,” says the Lord.

“Is My arm shortened, has My heart grown dim in the dark places of the world? Have I forgotten My people whom I love, whom I died for, whom I shed the innocent Blood for, even of My only begotten Son, to save them?” says the Lord.

“Trump Will Bear My Heartโ€”Fearless in the Face of the Demonic”

“No, I have not forgotten you, I have not forsaken you. In this hour of awakening, you will know My heart, and you will know My strength, and you will know My plan,” says the Lord. “Every child I see, every child I hear, and this man, whom I have chosen, will bear the weight of the world on his shoulders, and in doing so he will bear My heart. I will move his heart while he’s in office, and he will continue to sacrifice much, for My people,” says the Lord.

“He will continue to give much of his fortune, and much of his life, for this cause which I have yoked his heart to. And this cause, which he has not yet fully understood himself, shall continue to take hold of him and consume his heart. I will make him a compassionate leader, a loving leader, but a strong leader, fearless in the face of the demonic,” says the Lord.

“Let the spirit of breakthrough flow through this man’s administration, as the breakthrough of Heaven’s armies continue to invade the earth, even Africa, even the Sudan, even the far east, parts of the world broken, uncontended, I will contend for your heart,” says the Lord.

“I will release in the valleys of darkness, in the places of captivity, in the strongholds of religion and men. For it is time for the piercing light of My Word to go deeper and deeper. I will continue to go deeper into India, deeper into the Sudan, deeper into Saudi Arabia, deeper into Iran. I will break apart your foundations, and build new ones in the apostolic, new ones in love, new ones in Me,” says the Lord.

“And My Kingdom will advance, My Kingdom will wage war, for the battle is Mine,” says the Lord! (To Subscribe to the Elijah List go here.)

Stephen Powell
    Lion of Light Ministries
    Email: info@lionoflight.org

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Another example of Life imitating art in an area that might be of importance in the Trump saga is Dr Strangelove, another Peter Sellers movie.

Here’s a wikipedia summary of the movie:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dr._Strangelove

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Pachamama;

Who is Dennis “Briggs” Clarke?

I was taught Art by a Briggs Clarke several decades ago. He died a few decades ago. But he seemed to be totally engrossed in visual arts and I never heard of him inculcating a love of Reading in any of his students.

Could Dennis “Briggs” Clarke be the same person?

49. Chad reveals his enormous lack of knowledge every time he says any time. I suggest you get hold of the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute programme and compare it with the multiplicity of MBAs in all kinds of universities and see which is more demanding.
    I know there are about 28 CFA Analysts in the local chapter of the association.
    But for even better evidence, look at the financial crisis, at who had MBAs and who had CFA diplomas.
    He still has not named the ‘distinguished university’ that had him as a student.