Jeff Cumberbatch - Columnist, Barbados Advocate
Jeff Cumberbatch – Columnist, Barbados Advocate

โ€œIn short, his wits being quite gone, he hit upon the strangest notion that every madman in this world hit upon, and that was that he fancied it was right and requisite, as well for the support of his own honour as for the service of his country, that he should make a knight-errant of himself, roaming the world over in full armour and on horseback in quest of adventures, and putting in practice himself all that he had read of as being the usual practices of knights-errant; righting every kind of wrong, and exposing himself to peril and danger from which, in the issue, he was to reap eternal renown and fame. Already the poor man saw himself crowned by the might of his arm Emperor of Trebizond at least; and so, led away by the intense enjoyment he found in these pleasant fancies, he set himself forthwith to put his scheme into executionโ€ฆโ€ โ€“Don Quixote โ€“ Miguel de Cervantes

As many others, including apparently the majority of the voters in the United States, I do not care much for the politics of the current president of the United States, Mr Donald Trump. Having myself survived exposure to the nightmare scenario of his Electoral College triumph last November, nothing he has done since persuades me that he is not the narcissistic, temperamental misogynist that he projected himself to be during the campaign to citizens of the United States who, albeit, by fortuitous electoral distribution and for their various personal reasons, did not care enough about these flaws and so elected him to the high office of POTUS, as it is so charmingly referred to.

Most of my readers will be familiar with the epithet โ€œquixoticโ€. It describes, according to one source, behaviour that is foolishly impractical especially in the pursuit of ideals and marked by rash, lofty, romantic ideas. The word derives from the character created in 1605 by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra in his novel, โ€œThe History of the valorous and wittie (sic) Knight Errant Don Quixote of La Manchaโ€, to give its full title. There has been a number of musical and film adaptations since, including the 1992 โ€œMan of La Manchaโ€, featuring the popular hit, โ€œTo dream the impossible dreamโ€.

Constraints of space do not permit a fuller discussion today of the adventures of the title character, but the epigraph above offers some information as to the anatomy of his pursuits.

The connection that I seek to make between Don Quixote and Mr Trump lies in the erratic, nay, quixotic nature of the behaviour of each of these individuals. For instance, perhaps the best known escapade of Don Quixote is tilting at windmills, an expression that has found its way into the lexicon as a metaphor for inutility and one that is ideally likened to Mr Trumpโ€™s attempts to exclude Mexicans and some Muslims so that America will be โ€œgreatโ€ again, whatever that coded expression might mean.

โ€œAt this point they came in sight of thirty or forty windmills that there are on a plain, and as soon as Don Quixote saw them he said to his squire, “Fortune is arranging matters for us better than we could have shaped our desires ourselves, for look there, friend Sancho Panza, where thirty or more monstrous giants present themselves, all of whom I mean to engage in battle and slay, and with whose spoils we shall begin to make our fortunes; for this is righteous warfare, and it is God’s good service to sweep so evil a breed from off the face of the earth.”

“What giants?” said Sancho Panza.

“Those thou seest there,” answered his master, “with the long arms, and some have them nearly two leagues long.”

“Look, your worship,” said Sancho; “what we see there are not giants but windmills, and what seem to be their arms are the sails that turned by the wind make the millstone go.”

“It is easy to see,” replied Don Quixote, “that thou art not used to this business of adventures; those are giants; and if thou art afraid, away with thee out of this and betake thyself to prayer while I engage them in fierce and unequal combat.”

The analogy is satisfied even further whether we consider Sancho Panza to be Mr Mike Pence, the Vice-President, Ms Kellyanne Conway with her โ€œalternative factsโ€, or Mr Steve Bannon with his antediluvian views on difference and press freedom; and Mr Trumpโ€™s choice weapons of war not to be the lance and shield but his penchant for executive orders and late-night-to-early-morning tweets.

None of this is to ignore the fact that for some unarticulated reasons perhaps best known to them, there are those who support Mr Trump. I will not hazard a guess as to their reasons, although I am prepared to concede that they are certainly entitled to their opinions.

Nonetheless, his obsession with being perceived as the smartest and the most popular incumbent ever, as well as his seemingly facile ignorance of the basic principles of US constitutionalism that he swore to uphold less than a month ago, together with his propensity to speak in superlatives all mark him out as nothing less thanโ€ฆquixotic.

Indeed, Mr Trumpโ€™s relationship with matters legal so far has been less than auspicious. First, he chose to dismiss, as was his prerogative, the substantive Attorney General for demurring to a patently discriminatory embargo on certain individuals, even as his proposed replacement awaits Senate confirmation, thus leaving a gap in the governance architecture that would be constitutionally repugnant in most other jurisdictions. Second, he nominates a predictable replacement for Justice Scalia on the Supreme Court; one who, unsurprisingly, comes mouthing the same tired conservative claptrap about the Constitution having a settled meaning, as if time has stood still since the time of Jefferson and the others in the 18th century.

This jurisprudential perception is indeed instructive in the current context, for the original Constitutional text in the US regarded certain individuals, definable by a common characteristic, as being less than whole human beings. Too besides, it is at least passing strange that this soโ€“called โ€œrightโ€ meaning seems always to accord with conservative points of view, while those opinions that endorse such progressive values as the autonomy of women and others to guard their privacy are considered matters of regrettable and unconstitutional judicial activism.

The following piece is apposite:

Almost immediately after, Don Quixote runs into some merchants whom he challenges to admit that his lady, Dulcinea, is the most beautiful damsel in the world. Not sure where the situation is leading, they address him as โ€œSir Knightโ€ but anger him by some facetious comments regarding Dulcineaโ€™s beauty. On hearing these remarks, Don Quixote charges but unfortunately Rocinante slips and our knight ends up beaten by a muleteer. What might be construed as a setback for Don Quixote is easily explained: it was Rocinanteโ€™s fault.ย  But equally important (to him) is the fact that the merchants addressed Don Quixote in chivalric terms.

388 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Don Quixote Goes to Washington”

1. William Skinner Avatar

“And while there are aspects of his personality which liken him to Quixote we are not convinced that this characterization alone is enough to explain the phenomenon that is Trump or Trumpism. ” Pachamama
    I agree with Pachamama. Jeff is perhaps the very best writer in the country but I find the article a bit soft in that it attempts to portray Trump in a light that to me in a strange elevates him.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John is craxy…trump did not write 15 books, he can hardly spell….he got 15 books written in his name, an editor, a speech writer, etc etc….just as he dpes npt build all these hotels, but sells his names to be used on them….Barbados is a small island in the atlantic, but it’s not so far that you would not know how the real world works.

Are you sure you ever left Barbados John.

The 15 books are as real as Trump University….which cost him a 25 million payout for that fraud.

3. Jeff
    Great article and as Bushie says one that brightened with some chuckles this Sunday morning.Reagan and Bush 43 were equally asleep at the wheel and were really led by Baker and Cheney, the back seat drivers.Disney,Orwell and Cervantes are appropriate references to this psycho called the Don.

4. @ Zoe

I have never read in the Bible where men were called upon by God to perform specific tasks, have faltered and allowed to continue doing His work. According to the Bible, Saul was not a very good person, but after his conversion and name changed to Saul, he put away his old ways and continued on a path of righteousness.

Jeremiah 9:23-24 states: โ€œThus says the LORD, “Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches; but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises lovingkindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,” declares the LORD.โ€

You claim that God appointed Trump as US President to fulfill a specific purpose. Yet, unlike those Godly appointees who made fundamental changes to their lives, Trump continues to boast about himself, his wealth and is a persistent liar, which are all frown upon by God.

To you and the other religious fanatics, it seems that an individual only has to say something positive about Israel, you interpret that individual as one sent by God. There are tensions existing between Russia and the USA and Trump wants to re-establish relations with them for reasons of political expediency and to suggest he is an agent of change. Could he not be extending such courtesies to Israel for similar reasons.

Supposed other religious Reverends, Prophets, Priests, Rabbis, Deans, Bishops, Apostles or Elders were to present articles in which alternative views about Trump are presented, and they say their opinions are based on insights from God, would you accuse those individuals as being false and not of God?

You need to be a bit more rational in discourse and stop presenting these โ€œcopy & paste articles that present your biased opinions, which you want to force upon those in this forum, and as long as you mention God, they have to accept it as being true.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/Dfjq308HoEb

Ah telling ya that block on the ban stays, let’s see how far yall want to carry it. You would think that as president trump has more work to do than this obsession with trying to win a case againt the judicial government…let the process run it’s course, it has not even started yet, but the liar already knows he cant win, he is playing his fools for supporters..lol

Appeals Court Rejects Request to Immediately Restore Travel Ban
    By MARK LANDLERFEB. 4, 2017

President Trump leaving the White House on Friday to travel to his Mar-a-Lago resort in Palm Beach, Fla. Credit Al Drago/The New York Times
    WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. โ€” A federal appeals court early Sunday rejected a request by the Justice Department to immediately restore President Trumpโ€™s targeted travel ban, deepening a legal showdown over his authority to tighten the nationโ€™s borders in the name of protecting Americans from terrorism.

In the legal back and forth over the travel ban, the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in San Francisco said a reply from the Trump administration was now due on Monday.

The ruling meant that travelers from seven predominantly Muslim nations โ€” Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen โ€” as well as vetted refugees from all nations could, for now, continue to enter the country. Those foreigners had been barred by an executive order signed by the president on Jan. 27.

After a Federal District Court in Seattle blocked Mr. Trumpโ€™s order nationwide on Friday, the Justice Department appealed the ruling late Saturday, saying that the president had the constitutional authority to order the ban and that the court ruling โ€œsecond-guesses the presidentโ€™s national security judgment.โ€

On Saturday night, as Mr. Trump arrived at a Red Cross gala at Mar-a-Lago, his waterfront Florida resort, where he was spending the first getaway weekend of his presidency, reporters asked him if he was confident he would prevail in the governmentโ€™s appeal. โ€œWeโ€™ll win,โ€ he replied. โ€œFor the safety of the country, weโ€™ll win.โ€

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/yami308HpEG

The filed appeal document is embedded in this CNN article.

7. I watched the video and I put a link to the 15 books Trump “wrote”!!

I am assuming you are referring to the video on Trump’s inability to read.

http://gawker.com/look-at-all-the-books-donald-trump-has-written-that-n-1777348404

If you look at the link you will see that the guy who claims to have actually written the art of the deal claims Trump read it.

So we can conclude, he can read!!

The other 14 books he wrote no one has laid claim to have written in his stead.

So we further conclude he can both read and write!!

The title of the article is “Look at all the books Donald Trump has “written” that nobody is buying.”

I suspect before his term is out a lot of people will be reading them to try and figure out how they could have missed the ability in the man!!

8. Artax

โ€œGod moves in a mysterious way
    His wonders to perform;
    He plants His footsteps in the sea
    And rides upon the storm.โ€

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/middle-east/kuwait-muslim-ban-denies-donald-trump-fake-news-a7563716.html

Oh you liar, it’s the lies that are energy draining and if each country does not stay on top of it, trump and his liars will continue to spread more lies on them, the latest lie is being told on Kuwait.

John…neither you nor trump and his supporters are credible as it relates to further destruction of the people on this earth… none of you can be believed.

10. @ John

There is information which suggests at one time Trump claimed to be the author of โ€œThe Art of the Deal.โ€

11. Anonymouse -TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse -TheGazer

Masterful. Excellent.

However I feel the word quixotic may be inappropriate; it seems too benign. Trump actions are harmful and real; there are no giants and windmills. His is a world of us or them, friend or foe and the consequence of being a foe is destruction.

Trump seems to be a composite of the worst of Don Quixote, Animal Farm, 1984, and the cruelty of Lord of the Flies (I can barely remember that book).

Chad elevates himself by trying to pull you down to his level. He aims his gun upwards in the hope that you will aim yours downwards at him. In his mind it is a level battlefield. Shades of Trump.

12. @ All

John is correct when he says “…Trump simply fits in to the general mold, thatโ€™s what makes him so appealing to millions….”

…Millions of ingrunt Americans…

De ole man really dont know if wunna unnerstant how igrunt the average american is.

There are only two dynamics here.

Comprehending what “Making America Great Again” means to the majority of americans who, while they have killed out the native american people, as British Convicts did to the Aborigines of Australia, as the Rhodesians did in South Africa, what that we going get you non white donkeys out of America coupled with being able to identify with a fellow simpleton.

Half uh wunna heah only visit amurica fuh a vacation and your impression of Americans is that they are super bring, rich and enterprising.

Most Americans are living off of credit card debt and are simple read stupid as badword.

Trunk is mentally deficient but and here is the clincher, so is have of the American population.

THis is why Hal Austin’s blog earlier about our need to invest in our education makes so much sense because, if we continue at the rats that Billie/Mottley/Atherley/Boyce and We-Jonesing pretty soon all uh we scvunt going be like them

And do not fool wunna selves we are just a pussy hair away from that , looka AC?

Productivity and a well defined oiled Oligarchy is what keeps the USofA running but they have understood how the mechanism works and how one Don Quixote rather Donald Idiote with an acute on the e can seduce an entire nation on a phrase.

Just two presidents before him you had another gaffer George Bush who was a similar idjit too but the social media framework that exists was not as extensive NOR AS EMBOLDENED as it is today but that man was no less and idiot than Trunk.

Watch whu I tell wunna, Trunk mouf going do for he that is if Putin does not escalate the game to Phase II soon.

13. As god does not exist……….what rational explanation do we have for trumps existence?

14. Artax February 5, 2017 at 2:31 PM #
    @ John
    There is information which suggests at one time Trump claimed to be the author of โ€œThe Art of the Deal.โ€

You don’t say!!!

If you look carefully at the cover of the book you will read it is authored by Trump and Schwarz!!

https://www.amazon.com/Trump-Art-Deal-Donald-J/dp/0399594493

The cover also claims the book is a national bestseller!!!

Is that true?

15. … actually #1 National Bestseller!!

16. @William at 1:14 PM #…Not another tussle with you good blogger…LOLL but I will use your post to offer my two cents.

I surely don’t have Jeff’s rather prodigious literary reading breadth but recently here I also made a comparison to the goodly President and Cervantes main actor (And no David didn’t do him in lit classes in fifth or beyond. That was The Spire, Biswas, bunch of Shakespeare like most here and all that. LOLL).

So back to @William , Jeff – as he noted – could have used any of several themes to make his point (The Emperor’s New Clothes is like the absolute best, really) but the Don Quixote theme is not soft in the least.

Trump is from among the people but sees himself as clearly above and beyond the reach of the masses. He sees giant issues where there are none and at the same time he valiantly aims his lance at real and dangerous problems that need to be vanquished.

So he has the support of many of the masses even as he invites their scorn and disdain for his ill-focused and quixotic attacks on firmly planted constitutional and rights issues.

We could all wish that Trump had a stodgy, unlettered man-on-a-mule who Cervantes used as the wise muse that saves the Knight from himself…the Bannon’s of Trump’s world do NOT play that role.

Great stuff Mr Cumberbatch ! I disagree with my fellow blogger. Nothing soft here. In Bajan parlance serious hard-seed imagery and depth in the piece.

17. @ Artax
    There is no point in referring Zoe to the bible for explanation. It only confuses him…
    He is still trying to figure out why Jesus spoke in parables in a deliberate effort to confuse those multitudes following him on twitter…. ๐Ÿ™‚
    ..and since Bushie pointed out to him the problem he faced in defending the ‘Trinity’ nonsense (in explaining that when Jesus was dead for three days and three nights, it would have had to be a ‘Duality’) ….he has tended to keep a low profile…

But of course you are correct, Trump is as far from being a ‘prophet of God’ as it is possible to be…
    Indeed, Trump is CLEARLY empowered by the other side of the great battle. In fact, the whole world is currently the domain of Lucifer – as can be seen from the almost blanket confusion that (otherwise inexplicably) obtains.

BBE is NOT an architect of confusion…. and, having withdrawn from a previous ‘balancing’ role that BBE tended to play (after the now almost universal vote by humanity to follow the Satanic albino-centric philosophy of brass bowlery)…, plays very little part in our current affairs.

Just like Americans chose to vote for Trump, Brass bowls the world-over, voted for his Boss’s philosophy of selfish, greedy, albino-centricity… shiite Artax, we even build a monument on the Garrison in his honour…

Very few persons ANYWHERE exhibit the albino-centric philosophy as outstandingly Trump does…. Perhaps that is what impresses John and Chad….

18. @ John

The following information reveals once again that Donald Trump creates his own reality.

โ€œThe book received additional attention during Trump’s 2016 campaign for the presidency of the United States. He cited it as one of his proudest accomplishments[5] and his second-favorite book after the Bible.[6] Schwartz expressed regrets about his involvement and he and the book’s publisher, Howard Kaminsky, ASSERTED that Trump had PLAYED NO ROLE in the ACTUAL WRITING of the book.โ€ [Wikipedia]

โ€œTrump, facing a crowd that had gathered in the lobby of Trump Tower, on Fifth Avenue, laid out his qualifications, saying, โ€œWe need a leader that wrote โ€˜The Art of the Deal.โ€™ โ€ If that was so, Schwartz thought, then he, not Trump, should be running. Schwartz dashed off a tweet: โ€œMany thanks Donald Trump for suggesting I run for President, based on the fact that I wrote โ€˜The Art of the Dealโ€™.โ€

โ€œSchwartz HAD GHOSTWRITTEN Trumpโ€™s 1987 breakthrough memoir, earning a joint byline on the cover, half of the bookโ€™s five-hundred-thousand-dollar advance, and half of the royalties.โ€

“Is that true.”

19. If Schwarz lent his name to something Trump had no involvement in it looks bad for Schwarz … I mean can we even believe him?

Schwarz’s name is there under a false pretense!!

What sort of a publisher would play such a trick on people with a book?

So what about the other 14 books?

Who published them?

I doubt very much Trump wrote all by his lonesome self … if he did he must be some kind of genius!!

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler
    Oh no my good blogger – no tussle at all. I don’t dismiss characters like Trump hence I prefer to call them exactly what they are and represent. Elevating Trump in any form is dangerous even when such elevation seeks to denigrate him. Don Quixote’s character has been firmly planted in Literature….Donald Trump is no Don Quixote . Anybody who thinks that Trump is dreaming needs to wake up !!!

21. What experience making deals does Schwarz actually have?

If you want us to accept Schwarz interviewed Trump and then put what he was told into writing then you might have a chance!!

22. Obviously John did not watch the video posted by Jeff to see the quote attributed to Schwarz, is being a provocateur, is an idiot or all of the above.

23. Here is an example of the Bernie supporters

… and people wonder how Trump won!!!

http://video.foxnews.com/v/4739991919001/?#sp=show-clips

24. I will watch it again and see what I missed … if anything

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….ah told yall John had an agenda, but did not take the powers of the judicial government seriously because he did not know that such power was embedded and existed in the constitution, neither did Chadster neither did trump…lol so their plans are all now catspraddled, they still can’t recover, but now they know.

Just imagine Caribbean leaders head up to Washington for a breakfast meet with trump.and as soon as they leave he sarts lying on them worldwide….wont that be a thing…..lol

McClean is already expressing trepidation because she would be way out of her league, this wont be like lying on Myrie to make her go away…this would be real life lying..hahaha

Photo published for Iran threatens to fire 'roaring missiles' at 'enemies' after Donald Trump Twitter spat

Iran threatens to fire ‘roaring missiles’ at ‘enemies’ after Donald Trump Twitter spat

A commander in Iran’s Revolutionary Guards has said the country would use missiles to defend itself from its "enemies". It followed hostile rhetoric from US President Donald Trump, after he said on…

independent.co.uk

27. David

Ok, so tell me the actual time in the clip you want me to watch.

Schwarz says “I would be shocked to learn that Trump had ever read a single book cover to cover”

If you read the article I put up on the 15 books Trump wrote, well 14 if you don’t count The Art of the Deal, you will see a tweet from Schwarz asserting that Trump read the book!!!

I mean, I pointed that one out already.

Read it and you confirm it for yourself!!!!

It is all there in writing!!!

28. Here is another example of Don Idiot goes to Washington.

Huffington Post โ€@HuffingtonPost 13m13 minutes ago

The White House won’t say whether Donald Trump played golf. Here’s why. http://huff.to/2lcV6zB

29. I thought Trump had said I am not big on vacations.

Playing Golf on a weekend can’t count as a vacation!!

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Whenever Obama took one little break, they were all over him…12 days in the whitehouse and trump needs a break.lol

31. http://video.foxnews.com/v/4739991919001/?#sp=show-clips

Here is Obama on the subject of vacations before he became president

32. … and here is an estimate of what no vacations cost!!

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is the mantra everywhere. …Obama could not play golf in peace for trump.

Bernie Sanders On Donald Trump: โ€˜This Guy Is A Fraudโ€™
    The former Democratic presidential candidate slammed the president for his ….

34. It was SNL last night and now Jon Stewart. Will we have to put up with four years? And we thought George W took the cake.

Jon Stewart has a couple of predictions for President Trump’s next executive order http://cnn.it/2kbdTdx

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…soooo….it’s budgeted in and Obama gave back a portion of his salary when they had to make cuts to the federal government budget and employees were affected, look for that one and post it. . ….what’s your point.

Why dont you post the cost to the taxpayers of the Bush wars ….trillions of dollars.

36. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

John, you are beginning to sound more and more shrill in your blog posts. After viewing the video, are you telling me you are still not persuaded on a balance of probabilities (more likely than not) that Trump cannot read?

37. @William at 4:02 PM #…You reason well senor so a ‘tussle’ with you is always good natured and worth the effort; whether we agree or not.

I certainly don’t think that ” Trump is dreaming” and I am sure that people like Jeff who can understand well complex ideas, do so either.

As discussed above and across the written word now trillions of times Trump is a narcissistic megalomaniac. He is not ‘mad’ in strict psychiatric terms and nor is he intent on starting war.

He firmly believes in a world view that I would succinctly label as ‘White is Right’. With that as his unshakable ethos of life he will act often impulsively stupid and still otherwise rather practically too.

But basically no one who espouses a dictum of racial superiority, class superiority or any other mantra that one group is better than the other (this construct that US Constitution must be interpreted as the original framers intended- whatever that really means – is also a superiority of one over the other) can EVER govern equally and reasonably.

Trump is the demagogue of a contingent of those red-state folks to which @John refers above. They have been many others but none captured the imagination to get into the WH…several of them are in the senate, hundreds in the US House and many sit as governors.

So we may focus on Pres Trump but we need to understand the unwavering devotion to that ethos by those masses…that is the problem ahead of us.

As they say: Houston We Have a Problem….and it’s certainly not just the head nut that’s loose!

Trump may have lost the popular vote by three million and that is all well said….but he received over 60 millions votes too.

We has gotta deal wid dat!

38. @ John

Do you really believe that many reasonable contributors and individuals who read BU, are gullible enough to accept anything from FOX News as being fair, balanced, reliable and without having an extreme biased towards Donald Trump?

Come on, John, surely you can do better than quoting anything from FOX News.

Reading FOX News’ articles is similar to reading articles written by the BLP’s and DLP’s pseudonyms, Beresford Leon Padmore and Douglas Leopold Phillips, respectively.

39. Our Guyana-born DPP is saying in another place that the owners of the Haggatt Hall pit bull that killed that lady could be charged with manslaughter.
    I said that within hours in another place. It is a prima facie case of manslaughter by neglect. Next time I will pass it on to Chad so he could post it and claim bragging rights.

40. Some folks have nothing to do but post negative stuff about the Obamas in the hopes that Trump looks good in comparison, all Presidents go on vacations how much will it cost the American taxpayers for Trumpโ€™s vacations? Trump moved in two weeks ago and he is already spending the weekend at his home in Florida. Eric Trump just visited South America promoting the family business and it cost the American taxpayers $100,000. Eric Trump is not President he happens to be the adult son of the President and is โ€œmanagingโ€ the family business that still has his fatherโ€™s fingerprints all over it. Letโ€™s see how much it will cost Trumpโ€™s extended family for the next four years.

BTW Trumpโ€™s wife elected to stay in NYC instead of moving to the WH, how much is it costing the US taxpayer for security and related expenses at that second residence?

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/nationworld/politics/ct-eric-trump-uruguay-trip-20170203-story.html

41. “Hal

Can you remind us why Bjerkham’s son was not charged for killing his son given similar merits?

42. David,
    As you may recall, the Guyana-born DPP went in to the magistrates court and dropped the case for lack of evidence.
    But, as I have said, there was a prima facie case of unlawful killing. The decision as to who did it and if it was murder or manslaughter was for the jury, not the DPP. The only eye witness was dead, but forensic questioning of Mr Bjerkham would have brought out any hidden evidence. But the Guyana-born DPP, for reasons best known to himself, decided not to test his alibi.
    You may also recall the Mr Bjerkham went to the US for non-life threatening medical attention before being interviewed by police.
    In any other jurisdiction, to my mind, he would have been arrested as soon as the death of the little boy was known to police, and in any case, on his return he should have been held at the airport and have his passport withheld.
    But I am not a lawyer.

43. Hal
    Guyanese Ricky Singh had the Guyana born DPP appear in the local magistrate’s court and had $150,000.00 fine on each of Singh’s two sons for dealing in mucho ganja in Barbados.Rumour has It that there was a plea from a very high level of politician in Guyana on behalf of Singh.
    On the other hand,the Guyana born DPP was quick to have local attorney Philip Nicholls jailed on a weekend and charged inter alia with money laundering.The case took five years before the same DPP took his cool time and dropped all charges.This man still drawling a salary paid by taxpayers and driving a Benz paid for by taxpayers.If Barrow was alive his mass would be grass like stoby mass was grass when dipper ascend the throne inl 61.
    This same Guyana born DPP appeared in a local court representing the USA in an extradition case.He was forced to withdraw when the attorney for the defense called him out in open court.

44. Note Philip Nicholls has filed a law suit naming the DPP, AG and a couple others.

45. Harriet Harman and Yvette Cooper are two notorious misandrists. They think women should always be on top.

No surprise they want to boycott Trump.

46. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Cap 295 of the Road Traffic Act states “…Where an accident occurs owing to the presence of a
    motor vehicle on a road, a member of the Police Force may inspect and test the motor vehicle or cause it to be inspected and tested by an inspector or examiner, and may for this purpose,
    require that the motor vehicle shall not be driven or taken away from the scene of the accident until it has been so inspected and tested…”

I vaguely recall that if a person leaves the scene of the accident they too are guilty of a crime and may be prosecuted

Now, in a case where the law provides for the prosecution of a party for driving away a vehicle involved in a crime or the party who walks aways from such an accident even the blindest man on a trotting horse would consider the flagrant non-observation of the party But Jerk a Man and a DPP and a Nation Around to be absolute disregard for the Laws of barbados by its DPP.

And further, his prosecution of a poor less socially connected black man in this incident where dogs savage a woman to death to be “full of hot air and signifying nothing”

And one does not have to be a lawyer to recognize that we have one law for the Medes and another for the Persians a la Guyana

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/7KcE308HEhl

Billionaires boys club, killers and thieves…lol, hahaha, lol.

All that talk Chadster and you have no power whatever to stop them from boycotting trump and putting him in a back room to see who he can grab….instead of among more decent women…they will probably fill the room with strippers so he wont feel offended.