The following was posted to his Facebook page by former Attorney General and member of parliament for St. Joseph Dale Marshall
roadsafetyassociation
Road Safety Association personnel staking flags next tp potholes to warn motorists

The Ministry (read Minister) of Public Works is demanding that the Road Safety Association remove the fluorescent flags which that association has installed to give warning of potholes. The Ministry (Minister) asserts that it is contrary to law.

No matter how laudable their effort, no matter how good the cause, if the installation of the flags is contrary to law, the association must move them, or face the penalty stipulated in the statute. Plain and simple.

But the chickens do sometimes come home to roost.

In the General Election of 2008, the DLP unlawfully erected a large number of billboards, displaying campaign messages. The Chief Town Planner went public and demanded that the DLP remove the billboards, since their erection was contrary to the Laws of Barbados.

Michael Lashley was smirking as the DLP’s then leader, David Thompson, announced that they would be doing no such thing! He went further to say that by the time anything could be done about it, the DLP would have won the Government!!

In 2008, Michael Lashley was fully in support of a flagrant violation of the laws of Barbados, since at that time it suited him. Now, he wants to cry foul.

Mr. Lashley, what about the other flagrant violations of the laws of Barbados at Coverley? Do they also suit your purposes?

Did the Chief Town Planner not issue an enforcement notice for the structure in the road outside Coverley, which your Ministry, responsible for roads and road safety, has conveniently chosen not to demolish, as per the Chief Town Planner’s directions? What about your part in that violation of our laws?

All people must obey all the laws. That is the rule of law.

If installing the warning flags is contrary to law, then they must be removed.

But as a user of the road, if a flag placed alongside the road could warn me of the presence of a pothole, I would consider that to be helping to preserve life and limb.

I salute the Association for its efforts to save lives. And those efforts might well see justice being tempered with mercy if any charges are brought against these fine individuals.

St. Augustine said “An unjust law is no law at all.”

I say that Mr. Lashley and his government are now feeling the backlash of their flouting the laws only 8 years ago. But this time, in a far more noble cause.

112 responses to “Michael Lashley: Lawmaker Lawbreaker”

1. You are a jackass of a very tall order.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 11, 2017 at 6:21 PM
    “Clico, Baico payout coming”

So where is the money coming from?

The printing press at Central Bank has been dismantled by the IMF and the Mickey Mouse bonds being sold to suckers like you are being used to meet the interest payments due on the debt racked up by OSA according to you and Lady Irene S-G (or are you playing the game of forgetfulness?)

The Barbados dollar is on the cusp of an external devaluation and you really feel the MoF and his gang have any time to deal with stupid policyholders who have been treated like ‘comforted’ fools since 2010.

CLICO and Four Seasons have a thing in common. Both are blowing in the wind to delapidated perdition.

3. Nation newspaper haters will be happy that Roy Morris resigned today!

4. Very sudden too!There’s gotta be more to his sudden departure or was he pushed?

5. Now that miller has mentioned the lady Sandiford Garner………………I have now remembered something I meant to mention since last year.

……….Remember when she said on the floor of the Senate that Bajans need to start paying for more things……this after her party slap taxes on Bajans every budget. She suggested that Bajans should pay at least $30 for barrels at the Port. It was only when I went to the Port that I realised that those bastards had introduced the tax and I dont remember hearing anything about the introduction of this tax until I went down to the Port. They intend to kill bajans with taxes at their whim and fancy while giving millionaires and billionaires every tax break for which they ask.

And we Bajans dutifully pay the tax and say nothing.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son January 11, 2017 at 7:17 PM

The Pierhead marina exposé must have been the poor fella’s undoing. That piece of “professional” journalism must have really upset the political class.

It’s a good thing Roy, the killjoy of upcoming electoral bluff and spin, did not go town on the potpourri of fake projects still in the lifelong queue of a pipedream like the Andrews Sugar factory, the Cruise ship terminal, the All Seasons fiasco, the Brandons Performing (Chinese) Arts Centre with its nearby Exmouth High-rise Housing complex and more recently the Hyatt Lofty Erection.

He probably be soon made persona non grata in his own homeland.

7. I read and heard of this pending BAIPO and CLICO payout.

ac, dont get your panties twisted……….if this happens any time soon, I will be shocked. This announcement is just like:

………..Four Seasons
    ………..Beaches
    ………..Merritt Bay (Foul Bay)
    ………..the Bridgetown Marina
    ………..New buses
    ………..New hospital at Kingsland
    ………..Airport bridges
    ………..the UWI will be paid
    ………..Bursaries for UWI
    ………..600 million stimulus
    ………..not one public worker will lose his job

All empty promises by a government that has lost its way………devoid of ideas or solutions to govern this country!

I think that this government is selfish and cares only for themselves as the clearly cannot love Barbados. They prefer to let Barbados go over the cliff rather that admit that they cannot get the country managed…….heartless SOB’s!

8. David ac asked a relevant question , maybe unanswerable given your last salvo and because you cannot verify your own words which in truth and in fact can be regulated as fake news
    truth and ethics are synonymous to journalistic standards ,therefore if David BU wants his words to be taken seriously he must first practice what he preaches along with being mindful of the fact that what he says would be held to transparency and full accountability unto himself

9. “FIFTY-SIX POLICE officers were promoted today during an official ceremony at Police Headquarters”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92364/police-officers-promoted#sthash.vBLB1zru.dpuf

10. October 16th 2017

11. ac likes spreading good news , first let me congratulate the govt for taking the legal path for resolution and remaining steadfast and not listening to the opposition leader Mia Mottley advice of making payments to the policy holders by way of tax payers monies which was the most foolish , conflicting and dumbfounding piece of nonsense to be peddle on the floor of parliament

12. What about the Billboards put up by the DLP.

13. Ac
    Did not your dead king give 10 million in tax payers money to Clico in ’08?Btw where are:-
    The promised new hospital
    The promised 4 Seasons
    The promised Sam Lords Castle
    The promised Hyatt
    The promised Beaches hotel in St Peter
    The promised marina over which an installed board resigned en masse.
    The promised IADB loan to repair roads
    The rotten Dems,a party without a vision and zilch management skills.

14. The promised cruise ship terminal

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…the ACs realized everyone poibtedly ignored the CLICO/BAICO story so they are looking for kudos fir the government….good luck with that, the policyholders who were robbed by tiefing Leroy Parris and David Thompson aint get their money yet and many of them will die of old age between now and December….if the payments ever materialize from these liars at all.

I hope some of those victimized policyholders have some buckets of the leaked raw sewage from the south coast stored somewhere for when the ministers especially the likes of Dumbville and yardfowls Alvin go pimping around their houses for votes between now and next year….they give them a raw sewage bath….demons.

16. They probably will get pay out from the money from the BNOCL sale

17. @Joseph Dale Marshall “In the General Election of 2008, the DLP unlawfully erected a large number of billboards, displaying campaign messages. The Chief Town Planner went public and demanded that the DLP remove the billboards, since their erection was contrary to the Laws of Barbados….Michael Lashley was smirking as the DLP’s then leader, David Thompson, announced that they would be doing no such thing! He went further to say that by the time anything could be done about it, the DLP would have won the Government!!”

Well it worked for the DLP didn’t it? They won the government. However it didn’t work so good for Sweet Cakes…may he rest in peace.

18. Let ac deny that the government has not taken up 11 million taxpayers dollars and paid CLICO for that ugly building on Collymore which they will have to keep on their hands as no one will want to go into it.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/11/slippery-slope-3/

The beginning of the end.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92378/budging

S&P holds their position on Barbados, numb brain Alvin ya see.

20. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Well Well & Consequences January 12, 2017 at 5:33 AM #
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/11/slippery-slope-3/

The beginning of the end.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92378/budging

S&P holds their position on Barbados, numb brain Alvin ya see.

As I’ve typed here several times, we haven’t hit bottom yet.

This islands economic death will be caused by corrupt business facilitation; in this country for the past 8 years, if you want to play you have to pay. 99% of business people won’t pay, the 1% have been flourishing.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

The day after they are gone the floodgates of local and foreign investment will open.

Barbados has not changed, only the retards trying to run it for the benefit of themselves and their lackies.

21. Prodigal:
    “… while giving millionaires and billionaires every tax break for which they ask.” Seems to me they would be following the example of the U.S. Not true? Ask Trump. As for the building in Collymore rock, isn’t that part of the assets of CLICO that form part of the settlement with the company? If the assets were turned over to Government what do you have to quarrel about?
    The Four Seasons is a creature of OSA, MIA, COW, the villa purchasers,and Pemberton, et al. The DLP got involved AFTER all failed. After the Chinese workers were illegally brought in and then sent back. The DLP always find themselves in the position to fix failures of the previous government, and when they are fixed get thrown out of office. Learn the true history of that project before the DLP won the election. And the pot holes are being patched, the IADB loan is being put to use. The other things, if greedy wait hot will cool. Hyatt was on postulated a few months ago. Did you expect it to be built between then and now? A new hospital was never promised, it was a suggestion and a postulatioon

22. Months ago I made a contribution to BU, in which I implied government lowered the duties on cement to accommodate Maloney. My assessment was based on the government’s relationship with him and the fact that, shortly after lowering the cost of imports, government announced they were embarking on a concrete road building project.

I heard on the news this morning that Maloney is in discussion with government to build concrete roads.

I have no problem with the concrete roads, but these arrangements always come across as lacking in transparency.

23. Also note there seems to have been some construction work done at the port authority site since the last court date.

They got that information about concrete roads from BU, which should have been done 20 years ago, by both governments…, all of them travel and know that the roads are concreted….to last, they should be glad the blogs exist or bajans would never see concrete roasd, but treasury draining patchwork that lasts 3 years…a scam.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…no political party should have more than 5 years in office, do your jobs and get out, that’s why they are paid a salary.

Now that one or 2 other political parties are presenting themselves, there is no need to keep any of them in parliament for more than 5 years…..too much damage has already been done by all those destructive ministers rotating in and out in increments of 10 or 15 years over the last 50 years, even worse, there are no term limits, so it’s up to the bajan electorate. …to set 5 year limits for ministers and each political party, that is not fair..

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92382/exchange-rate-worry

Wait for the yardfowls…they will say this is not true.

27. Let them deny it as much as they want, Well Well……..I am being told the same things as Jeremy Stephen is saying.

I am scared for this country. The governor was the one with the economic sense and he could have steeresd the economic clown Stinkliar along the right paths!

28. Prodigal
    Don’t be misled.That governor is one who when the Statistical Service provided the correct unemployment figures that would have made the Dems look bad,he went and got his own unemployment figures.Worrell is not untainted by the Fatted Calf passport breed of professional so called.
    Alvin
    The 4 Seasons closure was nothing to do with what you have written.Your party and the BWU conspired to fool the public that no Bajans were working on the site and OSA did the silly thing to halt the project while a personnel inventory was to be taken.Stupid thing to do.Next thing he lost the election and your party has been trying to get Cow and Bizzy their money back and every budget the stupid Sinckler man got something on his desk to sign to get the project restarted.Bunch ‘o feckin clowns all ‘o wunna mustee Dems.Since Barrow dead wunna lost and cant find wunna way out of the maze called government.

29. If memory serves both unemployment numbers were within the statistical margin of error.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Prodigal….it’s a monumental mess, they really have to think hard of adopting the US currency, they have nothing else to lose.

I saw on a blog one Carson Cadogan saying if there is a devaluation Barbadps will stilll survive, he needs to speak for himself, what will the people survive on, they do not manufacture enough to export, so there is nothing to break a fall.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/12/offer-stands/

And investors are still trying to buy the island for US currency this time.

Adopt the US dollar and open other doors, but do they have the intelligence to pull it off or do these ministers of doing nothing plan to continue sitting on their hands and their few braincells until they are kicked out of office….

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/12/group-of-st-philip-residents-cry-out-for-road-rescue/

Is this not Michael do nothing Lashley’s constituency, what does he do all day, he cant get an efficient bus service or transportion system running, among so many other problems….why is he being paid a salary by taxpayers.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

My bad…even worse, this is Adriel do no work at all Nitwit’s constituency, why is Brathwaithe even a minister in government collecting taxpayer’s money in salary for doing no work in his constituency, in the judiciary, what else has he neglected to work on…..2 ministers in St. Phillip for 9 years and neither can get anything running smoothly for the people who elected them, what a shame, not one seat for either of them come election….both of them are embarrassments.

I am sure Adriel Nitwit and Lashley promised the St. Philip people the earth and the moon during both elections to get their votes, now the best Nitwit can do is call the road he should have fixed in the last couple years, an embarrassment. …what a shame and disgrace.

“A Belair, St Philip resident whose home is located on the same stretch of road as Government representative Adriel Brathwaite’s constituency office, says road leading into the area is so badly damaged that even her Member of Parliament has deemed it an embarrassment.

“The constituency office is at the end of road . . . and I asked about it and our representative said it is very embarrassing,” said Andrea Jordan in recalling what Brathwaite had told her and other residents in his St Philip South constituency.”

33. ww&C

3 Ministers in St. Phillip, St. John had 2 Prime Ministers.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Watchman…ya just made them all look not only lazy, but stupid….3 ministers in St. Philip and so much neglect is taking place in that one parish.

St. John is a lost cause unless the parish gets rid of Mara Thompson, useless she is and the population, electorate gets rid of the government.

Don’t tell me Christ Church has 3 ministers too….that would really be beyond disgraceful and embarrassing.

I dont even want to know how the ministers all became so useless, I just know that the electorate cannot afford to keep them beyond 2018, if they dont get rid of this government, just inagine the state of the island by 2023.

35. ww&C

4 Ministers in Christ church , Boyce, Lashley, Lowe, Jones

36. A possible new beginning in trade unionism for barbados as the Ministry of transporation and BWU step up a notch agreeing to work hand in hand to resolve the transportation issue. Kudos are in order to both sides

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

4 ministers in Christ Church, this just keeps getting better and better Watchman, cant bajans see for themselves even if 12 ministers were placed in each parish, they are all incompetent and do not serve the people whom they will all go to their houses within the next year begging votes, to renew and continue to practice incompetence on black bajans for another 5 years.

As a man said to me recently, not even bajans could be that stupid to return those do nothing ministers to parliament.

What kudos what ACs…that should have been done 5 years ago, what took them, the bus service has neen deplorable for years you useless yardfowls….ah told ya yardfowls and political pimps are useless bottomfeeders.

38. The BWU calling for a new board for the BWA as in their opinion its not enough to change the top management but the board with an 83 year old chairman should go as well…….will the Minister listen……will the two work together and receive kudos as well?

39. Now enters General Secretary Of NUPW Roslyn Smith with a milder gentler tone ,,,,,

40. Any one interested in providing funding for a new Barbados Development bank a local barbados business man is willing to provides some of his financial wherewithal as a start up

Also a charitable organisation is seeking charitable funding by local people in helping to resurface part of a highway that is need of repair ,

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What did the government do with the taxpayer’s money in the last 9 years that could have started those projects ACs……yall just sold all yh5e balance of the shares in the national bank…now ya soldvthe oil terminal.

Ya got 7 ministers divided between 2 parishes for the last 2 elections….9 years and still nothing gets done, what do they do all day for taxpayer’s salary….ya have empty houses sitting there rotting away while homeless women and children need housing.

The only way anyone would invest their hardearned dollars, is if all of you leave the parliament, the ministers are collecting salaries for doing nothing and talking crap….every time they open their mouths, shit pops out, yall are infected with9 the buckingham palace blight and curse.

Go find some jobs burying pitchforks.

42. David Davis

2 hrs ·

Pothole update #3

It is with a heavy heart and great disappointment that i have to report to you the people of Barbados. In my previous report i praised the ministry and the Minister for their efforts as it relates to the patching of the road in Goodland St Micheal because i experienced the patching of a pothole there which was done the right way in my presence. I was assured by the Minister Micheal Lashley that all the holes would be patched in that same manner. I saw an effort that was one to report positively to you the public of Barbados but when i revisited the area a day ago to my disappointment i realized that the only area that was patched right was the area that was patch when the media and i was there. The remainder of the road was patched in the same shabby inattentive manner as previously done. No cutting of the frames to ensure maximum strength and durability and the leveling has a lot to desire. I give Minister Lashley a failing mark as it relates to the patching of Goodland. However interestingly a stones throw over in George Street every single pothole was cut and cleaned in preparation for fixing which is the tested and proven way for best results. My question to you Mr Micheal Lashley is "what is the difference between George Street and Goodland?". Why would George Street be done correctly and Goodland so shabby? When are you going to stop wasting the Tax payers money with shoddy patching when your team is capable of doing the job the right way as seen in the patching of that ONE area in Goodland?

Stop playing politics with the roads and fix them with the consistency of The George St Road! We will be watching and we will report back to the people who are paying to get this job done! D2.5 #warrior #forloveofcountry

43. @David

Just viewed the short video by posted by Duguid and my query is: What is the criteria for obtaining one of those homes and how long have they been sitting vacant?

44. @Sargeant

Many of these houses located at Constant, Greens, Parish Land were built by the starboy Michael Lashley before the last general election held in 2013.

https://www.facebook.com/wduguid1/posts/10155194633852448

45. @David

Thanks for providing a timeline but how does one obtain one of those homes?

46. @ Sergeant
    ….how does one obtain one of those homes?
    First thing yuh gotta be a ‘D’…. and as you may know, many D’s have been resigning from that party in shame of late…
    Second, yuh have to be able to pay the cost of ownership or rent… and the remaining qualified persons, (“D’s), are mostly yardfowls of the AC ilk, …who cannot afford to undertake long term commitments as they expect to be unemployed for at least 16 years while the DLP parasites die out – at least in the memory of Bajans….

47. @Sargeant

Officially you apply to the NHC. Of course these houses appear not to be compliant.

Follow the conversation with the minister:

https://www.facebook.com/denis.kellman/posts/10206425299226316?comment_id=10206425970643101&reply_comment_id=10206429794178687&notif_t=feed_comment&notif_id=1484357071647334

48. I expect that ALL NHC HOUSES will be occupied by the end of this year or sooner.