Combermere School
Combermere Secondary School

Of concern to the BU household are the increasing number of hours being forfeited in the school year for one reason or the other in Barbados. Combermere Secondary School students have been the most visible example of being short changed because of a perennial environmental problem. Other schools have had to close classrooms because of the severe water management problem the country has experienced since December 2015.  Somewhere between the environmental and water problems other issues have forced schools to close doors as well –industrial action comes to mind.

The obvious concern for stakeholders, especially parents, is how are students being affected by the short in class room time. As far as the BU household is aware there is no contingency to -or apparent urgency- to establish makeup classes. The BU household will retract if proved to be incorrect.

IF Barbados is serious about building a more productive society we must change the way we respond to situations that negatively affect goals (national). If schools have to be closed for extended periods commonsense should dictate that the ministry of education ensure continuity planning is legislated.

The BU household does not have the expertise in the area of testing, measurement and assessment and related matter, however, commonsense supports a reasonable expectation that the technocrats have calculated the number of hours required to execute the subjects in the local curriculum. What would be the result if a simple risk management exercise were applied to evaluate the effect loss of teaching hours so far have had on the school population?

Several weeks after the Combermere Secondary School was closed by the ministry of education there has been no decision to reopen. In fact, the latest news is that the senior school (5th and 6th forms) will have to report to classes at Erdiston Training College and the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic from Monday next week. The length of time it is taking to reopen the school rubbishes headmaster Vere Parris assertion that a sewer cover was left opened because of an act of sabotage. Too much politics!

BU’s simple recommendation is that an agreed number of teaching hours  must be available to students. If hours are missed through no fault of the students makeup hours must be factored into the timetable. The extra time can be taken from vacation days or extra periods during the week.

What BU has recommended is not novel neither is it rocket science –we expect resistance to the commonsense suggestion. Bear in mind the use of available technology can make implementation a simple exercise.

95 responses to “Legislate Extra ‘School’”

1. Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic.

2. There must be space going a begging at UWI Cave Hill since this government cut back on state funded tertiary education there.The woman of wigs,who suddenly found her market-vendor-type voice to regale all and sundry on radio on which government department was present at the ‘linking of hands’ in the environs of Heroes Square on Monday November 28th should therefore factor in that institution in the spatial requirements of the school while environmental concerns are addressed at Waterford.

3. @ David,

There is no need to give students ” extra time “.

These so called ” environmental issues ” cannot be difficult to correct unless they are caused by aliens.

What would the government do if this was happening at the QEH ?

What would they do if people died within 2 weeks of getting sick from these ” environmental problems ” ?

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your summary says it well: “What BU has recommended is not novel neither is it rocket science […] Bear in mind the use of available technology can make implementation a simple exercise.”

You are right. In 2016 the issue of missed contact class-room hours should not be a catastrophe of missed teaching time.

Students can be assigned the work as required and teachers can relate and respond to them via the ubiquitous devices every Gen-Zer has in hand today. How embarrassingly easy would it be for the school tech dept to have some type of Facebook study group by class where material is presented and a robust back-n-forth facilitated; at a set time for a set duration.

That’s minimalist. A fellow like Pieces with all his old-man tech knowledge and that grandson of his could offer better and more comprehensive tools.

That apart clearly if the students along with their parents want to bust-out of this stupid paradigm which treats them like guinea pigs or hamster on a treadmill of ‘rote learn-respond’ then they WOULD.

Really ‘bright’ folks don’t rely on their teachers to teach them; rather they soak up knowledge on their own and use their teachers’ experience and years of scholarship to guide them and point out their flaws. One does not have to sit in a 20 X 20 room in a smelly building to achieve that.

You are also absolutely right in your sotto voce thrust, that there is really no deep interest by any of the stakeholders (particularly the teachers’ union and the complicit Min of Ed) to develop an education platform to take Bajans to awesome heights.

We are stuck in the same anachronistic models of a Combermere from 350 years ago…!

Blow up the Min of Ed (as the Bushman has said).

Your post actually brought home to me exactly how ridiculous this entire episode has been….so we might as well wash out the stables starting at Waterford. Sacrilegious. I weep to say that!

(Incidentally, does Combermere or any Bajan school have electronic interface to parents that allows them to see homework assignments, chat with teachers and basically be up to date with events at the school???)

5. @ David
    This would make sense if the education being imparted was meaningful and valuable.
    One gets the impression that both teachers and students have concluded that the whole damn exercise is a waste of time anyway, and so missing some classes is neither here nor there.

Do you not see the ease with which schools were closed on Thursday “so principals can check the school’…..??!!

Wuh shiite Boss!!!
    Yuh mean dem could not check a damn school on Wednesday evening (like St Winifreds did) and get the children in school on Thursday?
    Lotta shiite….

Then with large expensive water tanks in all schools, (or they should be- by LAW ….since even homes are mandated to have them) ….and PARTICULARLY since these schools are claimed to be ’emergency shelters’…..where then, will those seeking shelter after a storm, get water?

Ever time there is a water outage, the whole damn school goes home…
    …or when there is a cane fire
    …or the rain set up
    …or a tree fart
    …or a sewerage cover leaks (surely they know of back-pressure from suck wells from time to time when large volumes of water enter the underground system)

The WHOLE administration of education is in the hands of retarded jackasses, who are destroying our children.

Then to add icing to the cake, with such a lackadaisical approach to school time, the same shiite ministry is making a big issue of paying a few teachers who took time off to haold a union meeting….

Shiite…. Yuh mean AC and Dompey in charge of EVERYTHING at the DLP….?

6. Just saying most likely the resistance to your recommendation would come from Mary Redman and her band
    Simplicity equal complicity in barbados

7. Ah lest we forget the World Economic Forum, as was just announced in today’s media by Deputy Council Chairman Dr Marcia Potterut of the Caribbean Examinations Council, rates Barbados education among the top 10 systems in the world. This ranking is far above the USA, Canada, Great Britain and Australia.

8. Why would the principle lie. Furthermore in all aspects the information that the principle shared would have been generated by those who would have inspected the school premises
    This nonsense to rubbish shared information is typical of yardfowl baiting .Yet these same conductors would get on the pailing all day long and crow about transparency
    Again i ask why would the principle have to lie

9. CAN ANYONE OF YOU ,GOOD BAJANS EXPLAIN TO US OUTSIDERS, WHAT IS MEANT BY THE PHRASE,” GOD IS NOT A BAJAN”?
    THANKS

10. (Incidentally, does Combermere or any Bajan school have electronic interface to parents that allows them to see homework assignments, chat with teachers and basically be up to date with events at the school???)

No

11. Yes Congratulations in order for Barbados achievement in education when placed against some of the leading educational giants world wide
    Btw mention was made of barbados standing in education a few weeks ago here on BU and the silence was deafening
    If the news is not bad it would be hard to find an article that says anything good about barbados here on BU
    I am of the opinion that there are some who troll BU have selflove and love of countryis just an after thought
    That is why you would find that there comments always ring loud of a defeatism and callous attitude towards barbados

12. Adtewairie

As an outsider myself I could only hazard a guess as to why God isn’t Bajan. It is because He isn’t a Bulla?

13. AC

I really question the motives of people such as Caswell Franklyn who pretends to have his country interest at heart by pumping, peddling and spewing his weekly bullshit about workers rights, but yet masquerading under the verisimilitude of a provocateur of the ruling establishment.

14. It is usually dangerous to generalize from a personal experience, but even so, I am firmly of the belief that for secondary school students in the Caribbean, less is more.

Translation: Most teachers are so bad at their jobs in the classroom, that students are not necessarily worse off when they are excused from classes.

The teachers were on strike when I did my A-levels, and left to my own devices, I earned two As and a B. Now, perhaps my situation would not apply to everyone, but how necessary is it to have a full year of instruction when so much of what we learn is forgotten in a few weeks.

15. Chad9999

Education has less to do with the paper one receives, and more to do with what it took to obtain the paper sir. You didn’t know that brother?

16. If the system of education in Barbados is superior to that of the UK, US and Canada, why is the island so technologically and economically dependent on these countries?

Why is the quality of spoken and written English so inferior?

How many Nobel prizes have Barbadians earned?

How many patents have been registered in the names of Barbadians?

Why do we like to believe our own bulls***?

17. David on December 3, 2016 at 11:17 AM
    (Incidentally, does Combermere or any Bajan school have electronic interface to parents that allows them to see homework assignments, chat with teachers and basically be up to date with events at the school???)

An emphatic “Yes”! Once again, St Winifred’s communicates with parent/guardians via email and homework assignments while given to children in class is also transmitted to the home electronically. One chan also chat with the class teacher.

18. Chad
    Reminds me of our teacher of History the late Ronnie Hughes.In 5A he said Combermere will get a 100% pass in the subject.He was right.Our friends at Kolij failed miserably.They got 1 pass….I think his name was Chandler.

19. So too People’s Cathedral, NOT Combermere. Is it any great surprise those who are able to afford and even those who cannot are sending their children to private schools?

20. It would be interesting and beneficial if parents had access to teacher attendance at school and also which class periods are not supervised and by whom. One is constantly told of classes going for weeks without certain teachers being in attendance.

21. Chad9999

An associate’s degree at your local Community College requires that one completed 66 credit hours to graduate, and one subject equal 3 credit hours which can last approximately three months. So you see how long one has to stay in a classroom to obtain this piece of paper?

22. @ FearPlay
    It would be interesting and beneficial if parents had access to teacher attendance at school..
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    “interesting”? … Boss, you mean SHOCKING and revealing.

23. Chad9999

Great points Chad but of course, Barbados educational system is superior to those in the region and yet St. Lucia have to Nobel Prize winners and Barbados zero as we speak. I know my grammar isn’t the best, but when I heard Rihanna who attended Combermere spoke to Oprah Winfrey regarding the Chris Brown incident, I nearly fell out my chair.

24. If Rihanna is what Combermere is producing these days in terms of students who ought to excel academically, we ought not rate Combermere as a school of national acclaim anymore.

25. BU learned about a committee selected by the PTA to assist with the issue at Combermere. We read in the media there was a meeting between the PTA, PTA Committee and the Ministry and all were happy with the outcome. What was the outcome? When will the damn epidemiology reports be made public?

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John Everatt December 3, 2016 at 10:57 AM re”… Barbados education among the top 10 systems in the world. This ranking is far above the USA, Canada, Great Britain and Australia.”

I must agree with Chad45 that these studies on the merits of various school systems make no sense without careful and practical awareness of realities.

The US system is vast and indeed very unequal. So its easy enough to get large swatches of neighborhoods in Chicago or Compton, CA or NY that pull down educational measurements of excellence.

Barbados with its quite smaller pop and realities can slide under the radar when averages are taken but surely we cannot be fooled by the reports.

As Chad noted where then are the first among equals as compared to the supposedly weaker US folks. This is parallel to the point made by the Bushman when he clearly laid out the male dysfunction at pre and early teens that then evolves to a better competitive excellence later.

How can a Barbados system be so good and we had the realities of children sitting 11-plus who were basically ILLITERATE?…How do we have the depressing situations where in some schools teachers have to provide breakfast, support and basic guardianship services to various students term after term?…How can our system be great when too many teachers are sexing with students or as I heard playing AIDS-stud to unsuspecting female peers.

All this with nary a rebuke, meaningful fix or even criminal prosecution?

To put it another way. Just a few weeks ago in NY over 28,000 students sat a test to get acceptance to one of 9 top high schools in NY; 800 will be accepted.

And so what, you say!

Well, at the top three of those top school the Black attendance averages around 5%. Thus taking test results from certain white and Asian neighborhoods (avg 20% and 65%) you certainly will get superior standards of achievement than if you tested in certain Black neighborhoods.

Not suggesting that Blacks are necessarily intellectually inferior but unfortunately they don’t come out of their neighborhood schools to the same level as many of their peers.

So just noting that drilling into results can rationalize otherwise wonderfully appearing reports.

27. It says a lot abut these taking head who are given generous media time to release irrelevant BS. Here is the point -when will the ministry of education share performance stats with the public. Bear in mind successive governments have worked diligently to hide this information from the public.

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dompey December 3, 2016 at 12:49 PM re “If Rihanna is what Combermere is producing these days in terms of students who ought to excel academically, we ought not rate Combermere as a school of national acclaim anymore.”

Domps the thing about you is that you take very simple statements and twist them into some of the most nonsensical pronouncements possible.

Did Rihanna ever try to make herself out to be an academic?

You suggest that you have gained a lot practical knowledge to apply and improve simple theory.

Yet you can pronounce as above. LOLL. You are the best critic of your own words.

Do you have any freaking idea of the number of students who passed the common-entrance to supposedly good schools and went through the system who are yet ‘grammar challenged’ or are not comfortable with public speaking and thus in that nervous situation speak ‘horribly’.

Big strong man that you are, maybe you still pissed your pants on the live-ammo training battle the first time you thought that AK-47 bullet was going to blow a hole in your head. LOL.

All sorts of people went to Cawmere and HC or Lodge. And surely not all of them speak perfectly or even pretend to be academics.

Get REAL!

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Really ‘bright’ folks don’t rely on their teachers to teach them; rather they soak up knowledge on their own and use their teachers’ experience and years of scholarship to guide them and point out their flaws. One does not have to sit in a 20 X 20 room in a smelly building to achieve that.”

Many ivy leaguers will tell you that they learn very little of value from their professors and learn much more teaching themselves, one attended her coop work program and was handed a book by the company on how to teach herself about they way to operate within the IT environment, a book that was not in any of the ivy league libraries, these kids can navigate any, tablet, ipad, software program, they can aid in their own progress and education.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…..”rates Barbados education among the top 10 systems in the world. This ranking is far above the USA, Canada, Great Britain and Australia.”

This jackass woman is lying, the information was posted to BU 2 weeks ago by Moneybrain, i read the whole article and explained it to MoneyB…..this thing whoever she is, is spreading misinformation…they waited until they thought everyone had forgotten and started lying,

The rating worldwide is 1-11…Barbados came 11th…about ready to fall off the list, it was compiled to show the degrading standard of education worldwide.

A rating of 12 or more and your education level has dropped.

I wish these pretensious lying cows would stop spreading misinformation in the small islands…she is a liar..plain and simple…I saw the rating list myself and all the countries involved…and the island was last in the list of the best of the degrading education.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/03/high-ranking/

There is the liar.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Of course the idiots ACs would believe anything….fine example of the rapidly deteriorating rate of the education system…lol

32. WW&C
    As I recall there were 3 Countries including Barbados that were graded 9th.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They really need to change the names if those high schools ir keep fibding themsekves lookibg more and more desperate and foolish, just ket tge kids gobto school and do their best, create more techinical high schools, upgrade the education ststem as all the coubtries around the workd niw understand the degradation taking place and are trying to do….

AND stop telling lies about the island being in the top 10…..again, the rating was compiled to show the continuing and consistent degradation of the education system WORLDWIDE. ….

Again,…..the rating is 1….to 11…Barbados was rated as 11, last in the line of what they now consider the best education, if you will.

Instead of looking for ways to make sure they dont fall off the ratings list in the next 2 years…this liar struts out like a yardfowl with her misinformation.

Now it’s plain to see why the island is regressing rapidky, badly, the lies, the deceit, the lies, the pride, the lies…how could she miss what the article said when it was written in English for intelligent people to understand…how could she see 10 or in the top 10…..when the rating specifically said:

#11……Barbados.

MoneyB can back me up on this, he is the one posted the article to BU.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…the blogmaster can pull up the article MoneyB posted, it’s in his archives.

MoneyB even posted that the island was 11th…that is what prompted me to read the whole thing to see how it was being rated. .it was 11.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As a matter of fact…I can even tell you where the article is…around the week of the US elections..it was on the Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump blog on BU….go look for yourself.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yall like to live in too much damn fantasy….step into reality, it cant hurt.

37. I never assumed that Rihanna was an academic by any stretched of the human imagination, but when one has attended a school of national reputation in Barbados, he or she is expected to shine intelligently, and beyond those persons much like myself who have attended a second rated school in Barbados. Back in my day when someone in the neighborhood attended Combermere or any of those schools of national acclaim, he or she was revenant with adulation because that person was know to separate his or her self iintellectually from the others.

38. Rihanna, does not fit the criterion by her articulation as someone who has attended a school national reputation in Barbados. And I am not trying to denigrate this young lady’s character because she carries the same surname as I do, and according to my madda: she is a very distant cousin, but the truth is the truth as far as I am concerned.

39. If one looks at the actual World Economic Forum’s Global Competitiveness Report 2016 2017, it is difficult to come to the conclusion that Barbados has the 9th best educational system in the world. Barbados ranks very highly out of 138 countries but the summary of Barbados’ rankings as given on page 129 of the report states that we rank 10th for “Quality of Primary Education”, 22nd for “Quality of Education system ” (this under the subset “Higher Education and Training”) and 20th in the “Quality of Maths and Science education”.

Barbados educational system thus ranks in the top 14% of countries according to the report.

http://www3.weforum.org/docs/GCR2016-2017/05FullReport/TheGlobalCompetitivenessReport2016-2017_FINAL.pdf

Of course I have not assessed the methodology of determining the rankings. It is reasonable to accept that overall, given our size, history and resources there is much to celebrate regarding our educational system to date. However there must be questions as to whether we can improve the performance of the system or even maintain the present quality and more importantly whether we can effect those changes that make the system fit for the future challenges of a 21st century society.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And therein lies the problem…everyone learns at a different pace, no student that can digest and regurgitate information faster tnan the other students should consider themselves any better or in a class by themselves.

Rihanna cut the legs from under that lie, she was oit academic, but she did not need to be to acquire success, just the basics of finishing high school, ya would think the uneducated in the ministry of education would understand that and make the necessary changes and upgrades.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What Barbados needs to do is make the upgrades to stop themselves from falling off any current rankings, instead of preening like peacocks and falling over themselves with pride, do the necessary work and make the required changes that would put them on the same footing with Japan…..who is ranked #1….just avoid the same social issues that go with being at the top.

42. We have to ask the more important question as to why when kids from the Caribbean migrate to America, they’re placed in remedial English classes because of improper English? I know we as West Indians have tendency to speak fast according to some Americans, but that is only part of the problem. It is our inability to sustain a conversation speaking the proper grammar, and I have witnessed this problem amounts all West Indian who have initially migrated to America from all over the Caribbean.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It has nothing to do with speaking fast and everything to do with the damn dialect, it’s anither language, it’s guttural and no one can understand what you say….the words never sound complete. The same thing with the US Ebonics.

Standard english is just that, standard, it’s taught in the schools in all the Caribbean islands and shoukd be spoken as such when dealing with those who are not used to dialect, you do not speak french or german to people in Holland, because most speak Dutch,

44. Sometimes I am amazed at my 10 year old son, as to how at times he able to correct my wife and I when we are using improper grammar, and how he is able to sustain a conversation using the correct English. A polar distinction between my niecs and nephews in Barbados of the same age as my 10 year old son.

45. @Dee Word

Here is a link to show how exact the hours are calculated to execute the syllabus elsewhere.

http://www.angelo.edu/dept/education/advising/student_teaching.php

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dompey December 3, 2016 at 3:49 PM re ” …but when one has attended a school of national reputation in Barbados, he or she is expected to shine intelligently..” AND ” Rihanna, does not fit the criterion by her articulation as someone who has attended a school national reputation in Barbados.”

Dompey, with respect bro but again you are your own worst enemy. The Bushman has said this repeatedly to you that you simply do not ‘understand’ what you are saying. You write statements that fall in on themselves. Some, simple fallacies and others too complex and beyond my ability to analyse : pure cow-dung in Bajan speak. Again said with respect, senor.

Don’t you UNDERSTAND that the mere fact that Rihanna has EXCELLED in the dog-eat-dog world of the international entertainment industry is in fact a sterling example of her ‘intelligence’.

Whether she gained that mostly at Cawmere or from family and school which she then blended beautifully to what she learned as she climbed to the top I certainly cannot determine. But clearly she is very intelligent.

Was the entire matter of knowledge and power et al not discussed ad nauseum already.

Stop the simplistic and frankly abjectly stupid conflation of what a child does on an exam of regurgitated data at 11 with their real intelligence.

Stop equating lovely oratory or even grammar with measurements of innate intelligence. You are displaying your clear inability to properly discern.

I met a few years ago a young lady who went to St. Leonards and who like you still uses inaccurate grammar. Yet she is as sharp as a tack at discerning the logic and fallacies of life. So clearly it is not about where one goes to school or subject-verb agreement.

You are way off-based here and simply do not know of what you speak. Go back to BushTea’s remarks on knowledge and intelligence. He said it much better than I ever could.

To be repetitive, GET REAL!

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Thanks David.

Again Mr Dompey re “Sometimes I am amazed at my 10 year old son, as to how at times he able to correct my wife and I when we are using improper grammar, and how he is able to sustain a conversation using the correct English. A polar distinction between my niecs and nephews in Barbados of the same age as my 10 year old son.”

You are saying that you and your wife are lazy and content to stay in the hole dug for you n your youth when you lived among people who repeatedly spoke ‘badly’.

You are saying that your son is forced to speak properly there in the US and thus can correct your lazy backside.

I am being rude in my speech because your post are increasingly inane. I have family who went to your so called “schools of national reputation” and those who didn’t. Those who speak poorly do so because of the environment in which they operate and their lack of reading. NOT as a result of where they went to school.

Like you they are lazy as there is no excuse for ‘ebonics’ today. NONE.

The act of posting is an excellent practice to hone English skills yet you write here often and repeat the same errors; similar I suspect to your son’s correction.

At this stage of your life that is pure laziness as you are certainty ‘intelligent’ enough to have banished the errors from your writing and speech.

Stop pontificating and start being serious…..fah real!

48. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

I am always amazed at what I see here. Some are seeing the ball as big as a breadfruit; some are blind squirrels; trouble makers, apologists and yardfowls.

Then we have Dompey…

49. WW&C
    As I said three countries including Barbados are rated 9th…..
    here is the link:-
    http://www.business-insider.com/wef-ranking-of-best-school-systems-in-the-world-2016-2016-11/#9-japan-56-1