UWI,Cave HillAgainst the background of numerous political, economic, and social issues grabbing national headlines and our concerned attention, this past weekend was very heartening. As a proud graduate of the University of the West Indies (UWI), I became washed with positive emotion while taking in the two graduation ceremonies. The graduating students were splendidly dressed not only in terms of their apparel, but more poignantly they wore consummate smiles reflecting anticipation, happiness, satisfaction, elation, relief, and that wonderful joy of overcoming.

My sincerest congratulations to the graduating classes of 2016, and to the academic and administrative staff of the UWI for reminding all and sundry that we are collectively โ€˜a light rising from the westโ€™. Worthy acknowledgement is also extended to the several sponsors of students, their projects, and the accompanying events inclusive of the graduation ceremony. Without their cooperative inputs, Saturday could possibly have been somewhat dulling. Fantastic presentation, job well done!

Arguably, the collection of oneโ€™s certificate will tend to remain with the individual for a lifetime. However, I am convinced that the most conscious and awe-inspiring moment at the graduation ceremony came when the Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, Sir George Alleyne, requested the graduates to turn to their loved ones โ€“ parents, guardians, spouses, and friends โ€“ and give them the biggest applause they have ever given to anyone. Profoundly remarkable!

It is precisely this grand act of appreciation for the loved ones and supporters, many themselves may not have graduated from university but were willing to sacrifice their time, financial and other resources, in order to make possible a positive difference in the lives of whom they supported did not go unnoticed. The mere exposure to higher education, inconsequential of class of degree, would bring a tremendous sense of achievement to the graduates.

The graduates will go back into their communities, the workplace (some for the first time), and the society with a โ€˜newnessโ€™ for which all advanced and developing countries strive. Their โ€˜enlightenedโ€™ impact will be very telling for generations to come. Indeed, the recognition of this synthesis presents quite an opportune time for us in the broader society to contemplate: โ€œWhat kind of education do we need in Barbados and the Caribbean?โ€ Attempting to respond to this simple question elicits very complex answers which fittingly encourage us to consider a different question: โ€œWhat kind of society do we want?โ€

According to three academics, higher education exists โ€œto create and disseminate knowledge, and to develop higher order cognitive and communicative skills in [mostly] young people, such as, the ability to think logically, the motivation to challenge the status quo, and the capacity to develop sophisticated values,โ€ and more recently, as โ€œa training ground for advanced vocational and professional skillsโ€. Surely, these composite benchmarks are instrumental for building the type of society we imagine, and achieving the platitudes of investment contributions which are necessary for national development.

Furthermore, another group realising the challenges in the contemporary world assert the view that: โ€œTodayโ€™s knowledge economy requires highly skilled personnel at all levels to deal with rapid technological changes,โ€ in addition to meeting the โ€œcurrent societal needs.โ€ In fact, Barbados and the Caribbean are grappling with issues as these relate to ensuring that higher education institutions are accessible and that wider sections of the population are exposed to programmes which are edifying for the individual and the society on a whole.

In Barbados, numerous arguments have been put to state officials by multiple stakeholders. For starters, there is now an urgent necessity to reconstruct curricula at all stages of the educational construct – inclusive of primary, secondary, and tertiary institutions. Key to this route of reform is the willingness and capabilities for attracting the best yet most cost-effective pedagogy, and the political will for implementation and assessment of policies โ€œto ensure that all students,โ€ by the end of their relevant classes of instruction, have attained the desired attributes and competencies for moving upward to the next level, or for entering the workplace with the enlightened capability to contribute meaningfully to national development.

A closer examination of the competencies required, reveal that subject specific and generic training and practical exposure are vital cogs for the fertilisation of attitudes and aptitudes in order to effectively build capacity in national development. As a developing society, Barbadosโ€™ labour force needs competences in a broad range of disciplines. The broad area of the natural sciences inclusive of the range of new technologies and strands of physics, chemistry, and engineering for example are particularly useful points of take-off.

Notwithstanding emphasis on the natural sciences, there is a real need for the social sciences, the arts and humanities, and importantly, the development of persons with the ability to cooperate across discipline boundaries by putting their choice discipline into a broader context. The reality is that knowledge, understanding, and the ability to act are crucial to the era that we live in.

Accompanying these points of interaction and engagement are the shaping and manifestation of the appropriate attitudes within the framework of national society and international settings. The productive and competitive spaces that characterise todayโ€™s workplace, mean that increased levels of awareness and initiative are likely to increasingly feature with regards to hiring. Research has demonstrated that people consistently identify work in one of two ways โ€“ being primarily about personal fulfilment, and serving others or about status, advancement, and income.

Again, considering higher education in the context of what kind of society do we want in Barbados and in the Caribbean, it is useful to reflect upon an essay first published in 1929 by A.N. Whitehead who wrote:

โ€œThe university imparts information, but it imparts it imaginatively. … This atmosphere of excitement, arising from imaginative consideration, transforms knowledge. A fact is no longer a bare fact: it is invested with all its possibilities. It is no longer a burden on the memory: it is energising as the poet of our dreams, and as the architect of our purposes. Imagination is not to be divorced from the facts: it is a way of illuminating the facts. It works by eliciting the general principles which apply to the facts, as they exist, and then by an intellectual survey of alternative possibilities which are consistent with those principles. โ€ฆ The development of studentsโ€™ intellectual and imaginative powers; their understanding and judgement; their problem-solving skills; their ability to communicate; their ability to see relationships within what they have learned and to perceive their field of study in a broader perspective. [It] must aim to stimulate an enquiring, analytical and creative approach, encouraging independent judgement and critical self-awareness.โ€

In conclusion, the call is for all Barbadian and Caribbean peoples to embrace the value and significance of allowing for as many individuals as possible to have access to higher level education. At 50 years, our work is clearly not done, and realistically, the country and region have both progressed in other stages of development which require belief and delivery in all of our instructional institutions.

In particular, although not a statement of exclusivity blocking out vocational, technical, and professional institutions of instruction, the urge is for us to celebrate the 2016 graduates of the UWI. Let us embrace the pedagogical work and research contributions being made by the UWI on all of its campuses. There is no doubt that the deep and phenomenal significance of higher education to the national and integrated development of the Caribbean region rest with the graduates being produced and their sometimes underestimated contributions to humanity.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer in Political Science at the UWI-Cave Hill Campus, a political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

130 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – What Kind of Society Do WE Want?”

1. On Brasstacks yesterday the BIBA CEO made the point that a number of UWI graduands lacked the ability to communicate effectively in both written and oral english.

Presently english is the language of commerce,where we wish to compete.

I wonder when we will rid ourselves of the colonial garb in this tropical climate…..during the 70s a valiant effort was made by our leaders to show off the benefits of the shirt jac by wearing them on all occasions.

2. It is more about the ability to reason and in the process offer relevant skills.

3. David October 18, 2016 at 8:36 AM #

It is more about the ability to reason and in the process offer relevant skills.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………

Where is this evident?

Note…The majority of our present leaders are graduands of UWI.

4. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

George,

Congratulations on one of your better pieces. It was well written, well argued and readable. I think that I ought to congratulate Bushie on polishing your brass bowl. It is now not only bright but shining. As you know it is more important to shine than to be bright.
    @vincent Haynes,

The function of UWI is not to teach English or communication. It should have been taught at the Primary School Level. The fact that the UWI graduates would have gone through the Secondary School system,and were able to communicate their mastery of their disciplines to the examiners at UWI is evidence enough that they wrote English and communicated their understanding of the subjects.

When we send graduates into the work place they would have mastered the art of learning. Perhaps the critics should communicate to the new graduates exactly what it is they want them to do. So the problem may be that of the employers.

5. UWI is an irrelevant and archaic waste of time and money. It would be a great institution if we back in 1980 and were seeing, what we see now, back in 1975.

George says that “The graduates will go back into their communities, the workplace (some for the first time), and the society with a โ€˜newnessโ€™ for which all advanced and developing countries strive.”
    Lotta shiite!!
    They will go back to their communities unemployed or just as unmarketable as if they had no damn degree, ..and those “in the workplace” are overwhelmingly working for Canadians, Trinidadians and other foreigners – who were NOT educated at Cave Hill.

How the hell can we be praising an institution that was designed to produce world class leaders for our society, when the FACTS are that our society continues to ACTIVELY seek foreign investment and foreign management for the great majority of our enterprises? …and more are on the block as we speak…? while the few remaining local “UWI educated leaders” continue to embarrass the damn country?

Steupsss
    But if George is a lecturer there, supposedly representative of the thinking prevailing there, and partly responsible for the quality of the output, who can be surprised at the irrelevance of the damn place….

6. We hate to be the ones to disappoint Dr. Brathwaite but nothing, nobody coming out of Gideon will save or help us in determining what kind of society we will have.

That power properly resides outside of Barbados, we regret.

All we are likely to get is more of the same. People thinking they are now entitled to be paid 40K per month because of some advanced credential issued by a factory specialized in producing widgets.

The UWI is incapable of ‘teaching’ people how to think. It knows well how to teach its students how to obey.

Obedience to things unseen. Obedience to international managers of empire. Obedience to the people likely to hire them. Obedience to falsehoods. Obedience to failing systems.

Almost everything these students have ‘learnt’ is irrelevant to the demands of these times.

In economy for example, if the students graduating having as little contemporaneous knowledge as their esteemed faculty, including you Dr. Brathwaite, their miseducation is already 50 out of date.

And we could make similar points about other areas of ‘learning’

7. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Vincent Haynes 8:36 AM

What exactly do you mean to say about our current leaders who graduated from UWI? Apart from not adopting the shirt jack and putting on ceremonial robes at graduation , you conclude that they have no abilities, skills and reasoning powers? I think you need to go to UWI.

8. Does UWI teach courses in Composition? In Logic? If so, how many students take these courses? How well is this kind of instruction integrated into the subjects students choose to specialize in.

My guess is that for most students, an “advanced” education consists of reading a series of assigned textbooks that are not well understood. If classrooms are overcrowded and students don’t get a lot of help from the lecturers and tutors, how much good is that?

Then there is the fact that most lecturers have pathetic publication records. They are either unable or unwilling to create knowledge.

Time to cut the university budget. Producing thousands of half-educated young men and women, some of whom will never find satisfying work, is a recipe for social unrest and a luxury we cannot afford.

9. @ Bush Tea,

Your writing style reminds me of Chris Gayle the serial destroyer/slugger of the world’s best bowlers. You have a tendency to cut through academic bullshit. I wrote in a similar vein in another posting but the honorable blogmaster was rather dismissive of my contribution in an exchange that i had with Alvin.
    ………………………………

Exclaimer October 17, 2016 at 11:22 PM #

Did you not read the article Alvin? There is a glut of lawyers on the island. The UWI should be reformed as it does not address the needs of the region. We are wasting finite resources on a limited number of students whose skill sets are not required. Surely a man of your status can understand this.

David October 17, 2016 at 11:30 PM #

Yours is a very simplistic reply. Of course individuals will follow their dreams but if there is a strategy for national development many will be encouraged to follow that path. Singapore and others have been successful in this regard by implementing incentive programs. In other words leaders cannot surrender on the obligation to demonstrate leadership.

10. Bernard Codrington. October 18, 2016 at 9:23 AM #

Could you rebutt……chad99999 October 18, 2016 at 9:25 AM #…..and Bush Tea above,then I will respond to your question.

11. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Bush Tea, at 9:05AM

I think you drank the wrong brew this morning.

Dr. George Brathwaite is asking us to ask our selves what kind of society we want to live in. Just because it is a difficult question does not mean that we should avoid providing an answer. More ,importantly,we will not all come up with the same answer. But we can only hope that we agree to implement and accept the majority with similar answers

So BT you need to put on your thinking cap and respectfully attempt to answer the question,not for me ,nor for George, but for yourself. The same goes for Vincent Haynes. It goes beyond what you wear. It is more about what you think and what you do. Stop flogging apparently dead horses. It will get you no where fast.

12. I have made countless observations on the poor standard of teaching English Language at primary level where it all begins.The eyebrowless gal comes to mind immediately.If this is how we communicate, Barbados is in the bottom rung on pride and industry.No wonder the boyfriend used the incident to scratch off.

13. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Chad9999′

One goes to Secondary Schools and Universities to learn, not to be taught. The emphasis is on developing the students critical skills. They write compositions for every tutorial which are critiqued by their peers. The tutor is generally an umpire or referee. The tutor gives his opinion in writing when he returns the submission to the essayist.
    Of course he tries to correct any flaws of logic he may pick up in the discussions and correct any errors of fact. The essence is on development of cognitive skills. It is like coaching in sports.

14. It has always amazed me why the UWI and a large number of international universities have continued to dismiss vocational and technical courses. A man such as Leonarda da Vinci would have been excluded from the UWI.

“…..Young Leonardo received little formal education beyond basic reading, writing and mathematics instruction, but his artistic talents were evident from an early age. Around the age of 14, da Vinci began a lengthy apprenticeship with the noted artist Andrea del Verrocchio in Florence. He learned a wide breadth of technical skills including metalworking, leather arts, carpentry, drawing, painting and sculpting. His earliest known dated workโ€”a pen-and-ink drawing of a landscape in the Arno valleyโ€”was sketched in 1473. ”

http://www.biography.com/people/leonardo-da-vinci-40396

15. RE Gabriel October 18, 2016 at 10:01 AM #
    I have made countless observations on the poor standard of teaching English Language at primary level where it all begins.The eyebrowless gal comes to mind immediately.If this is how we communicate, Barbados is in the bottom rung on pride and industry.No wonder the boyfriend used the incident to scratch off.

TODAY THEY SAY IT IS THE THOUGHTS THAT COUNT NOT THE GRAMMAR OR THE SPELLING OR THE PUNCTUATION
    IT IS SAD WHEN YOU CANT MATER YOUR “MOTHER TONGUE” LOL

16. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Gabriel 10:01AM.

Learning English and communication begins in the home before the child reaches Primary School.
    I would have admired the partner of Miss One Eyebrow if he had stayed in the relationship and ensure his children could communicate in standard English. But I suspect like her employers, he was looking for an out and took this opportunity.
    She should say good riddance to him. Most likely he panicked because of the reduced family income.

17. Bernard

With all due respect what you are saying is mostly not true.

The classroom critiques a student receives are usually too superficial to be of lasting value. The bullshit about “learning” is fashionable nonsense — most students need to be taught. Taught how to think and taught how to write and taught how to do research.Their minds are not sufficiently developed for them to be very efficient or effective at self-education. Turn them loose in a library and most of their time is wasted.

The proof of what I am telling you is in the miserable quality of UWI graduates and faculty.

18. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Exclaimer 10:01,
    Leonardo Da Vinci was no artisan.
    He was a geometrist, mathematician,and design engineer. Take a closer look at what you think is art and see the mathematical precision and engineering design and creativity contained there in. I think you need to read more than what is given on the internet.

19. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Chad9999 your measure of quality is not our measure of quality. So let us agree to disagree.

20. I am a product of the primary school system and was taught to speak ‘properly’ there,on pain of a cutass.I came top of the class every term and on a few special occasions I was given a penny by the head teacher for writing topical essays on a slate.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The private schools in North America from grade school focus on composition if you are a natural at math, half the job is done, all other courses are a cakewalk.., that is the foundation.

I cannot talk abot public dchools,

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Here is a man who speaks English perfectly and has perfect diction

Will he be your poster boy??

http://imgur.com/a/RfYjl

23. Bernard

My measure of quality is the measure of quality most of the world recognizes.

That is why UWI cannot produce world-class scholarship. Look at the publications of their faculty.

How many UWI students can hold their own against the best and the brightest in the North Atlantic states?

The typical teenager enrolling at the University is a baby in the world of modern science and technology. He has never studied philosophy or sociology or psychology or anthropology either, so his ability to understand and critique the books and papers from Western countries that are suddenly thrust upon him is close to zero. These are the people expected to blossom into mature scholars in three years? That is such total bull—- .

You don’t know what you don’t know, I guess.

24. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Gabriel10:35 and

WW&C 11:20 AM

Good for you. I think we aim to do or continue to do the same here in Barbados at the Public and Private primary schools with a high measure of success. The objective measures of this are published every year in the Common Entrance exam results, the CXC and CAPE results and the UWI Graduation Ceremonies every year. It is also reflected in the Human Index rankings every year.
    The responsible leaders in this country continue to strive for a better life for our citizens. There will always be some who will be chronic complainers. But this is human nature. Over 4000 years ago the Bible records that the Israelites after escaping slavery in Egypt complained about the lack of onions and other vegetables which they used to get in Egypt. Some of them even asked Moses to lead them back. Simply because they did not want to bear the labour pains of crafting a new state for themselves. They were mortified by uncertainty. I see these same symptoms in some bloggers. So I do understand. So be of good cheer.

25. @ Bernard,

With respect sir, I do not think that I need to be lectured by you. When one is born and raised in London it becomes evident at a very early age that one is living in both a time capsule and at the same time an environment of seismic change and creativity.

I am afraid that you have completely missed the point. Do you really believe that I am not aware of the full scope of Leonardo Da Vinci works? Bernard, I am what you would call a seasoned traveller who has visited numerous countries. I have seen so many great sites (both popular and relatively anonymous). I would recommend that you visit (like me) the incomparable Blue mosque which is found in one of the most worldโ€™s finest cities โ€“ Istanbul. It was designed by Muslims who used a combination of geometry and mathematical precision to create an extraordinary aesthetic monument.

I have lived in a continental European country for over five years where I improved my language skills and ended up speaking relatively fluently the language of that country.

There is a tremendous advantage when one is born and raised in Europe. Firstly, you tend to travel more; secondly, you acquire language skills (I remember being invited to a German friendโ€™s fiftieth birthday in the Black Forest in Germany; of the thirty guests, everyone spoke a minimum of two languages, the majority spoke three, whilst some spoke four, and one spoke five; thirdly, we in Europe live in close proximity to the continent of Africa and The Middle East , this is reflected in our appreciation of the culture of others whether it be sampling their cuisines, their works of arts, their writers, their history, their music, et al.; and fourthly, you will find a more open and a progressive mind set then you will find in the part of the world that you reside in.

I can accept criticism or a slap in the face but please donโ€™t pull such a cheap stunt on me again.

26. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Chad9999,

I speak of what I do know . You speak of what you do not know. I am a graduate of the UWI, I lectured and tutored part time at UWI. I was a research Fellow at that Institution. I studied at two universities abroad. I employed and recruited graduates of UWI. I have two children.One graduated from UWI. My evaluation of the quality of UWI graduates is based on facts not speculation.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Here is something that is also based on fact and not speculation

Patrick Todd Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister

12 years to complete a well rounded UWI degree

12 freaking years!!!

http://imgur.com/a/TqVsi

28. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Exclaimer at 12:07 PM

And what point are you making ,Sir.? What exactly is the cheap stunt you think I am playing? You introduced the achievement of Leonardo to shore up your weak argument that technical education is the superior form of education. And further proceed to give me a lecture on your place of birth the number of languages you speak and the places in the world that you visited. What has that got to do with Barbadians need to craft their fate?

29. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Piece of the rock,

If I had anything to do with giving you a piece of this Barbados rock you will never get it. All you want to do is to lick down politicians’ palings. So have fun. Never criticize a man unless you have walked in his shoes.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

What shoes Codrington?

The shoes of inepts?

The shoes of the bungling DLP?

The shoes of the worst government that this country has ever had?

You revere the University of the West Indies and the metric which you use is that “you have been there” your children have been there and that you have taught overseas.

That is your metric.

I looked at the speech of the victim ludorum (purposely used my man, because I ent no doofus) and I was ashamed.

He shouted every single effeminate word into that microphone and I cringed as he spoke, not because of his persuasion, anachronism that I am, but because of the assault that he inflicted on the microphone and the ears of those who listened to him.

After that, I who feel that even the less fortunate have their story, turned off.

Here is the metric that i will use contra your brainwashing and alma mater loyalty.

(i) how many of the graduated of the UWI contribute to an active endowment programme of the UWI

(ii) what is the commercial value of the UWI’s research at a National then regional then international level?

(iii) name one product which affects any discipline which redounds to the honour of the UWI?

(iv) name one avenue of endeavour which has its genesis in the UWI and which sustains the barbadian economy?

(v) the rest of these here going do all that scholarly effluent which you are going to sidestep with your pretty talk but Codrington I is a man who doan side step none uh wunna effers AT NO TIME!!!

My point is very straight ant that is your UWI graduates of whom you speak so lustily are the very politicians that lead us now that DO NOT EVEN KNOW WHERE TO PUT A DECIMAL POINT and who are running the economy of the cuntry!!

My black ass is putting up their faces sir to underscore all this pup that George C brathwaite writes constantly dat does not mean didly squat cause it is written by a doufus like you

Even if the cure for anything were to reside in any UWI student the way that we are taught DOES NOT BRING FORTH THAT CREATIVITY and then the environment that we have to exists in IN EFFING KILLED BY THESE EFFERS WHOSE FACES i feature.

It would appear that GOD DIED LAST NIGHT AND NOW YOU HAVE THE POWER TO GIVE ME BREATHE AND REASON AND ENERGY TO WRITE.

Stop resting on meaningless laurels of I graduated and get into the meat of the matter OR GET THE FVUCK OUT OF THE KITCHEN OF MEANINGFUL CONTRIBUTION here on BU

I going here and complete my portfolio of the OTHER EFFERS WHOM WE THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS NEED TO SEE THEIR FACES AND REMEMBER THEM WHEN WE GET TO THE BALLOT BOXES AND VOTE THEM & PEOPLE LIKE YOU OUT because you are no different to the fellers who killed Hawkesworth and Rick Rick only thing your bullets are soft flowery words and inaction flossed over with your family’s accomplishments

Steupseeeee

31. Barbadians need to craft their fate

Very hard to teach old dogs new tricks. Or like forcing a camel through the eye of a needle
    Errol Barrow asked Barbadians what mirror image they see of themselves and the answers are very revealing ..big houses and luxury cars and very little interest in the development of their country

32. @ Bernard Codrington. October 18, 2016 at 12:24,

Where did i say that “that technical education is the superior form of education”? You must have misunderstood me. Take Germany, a country that i have visited three times. A country that embraces education fully. Take a look at their well balanced economy. A country re-known for her combined prowess in all fields technical, scientific and “academic”.
    Good day sir. I have to go to Bridgetown.

33. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

BU is like democracy. I have a right to put another view. I have a right to expose”ignoranciness” when I see or hear it. It offends my mind. It makes me to want to go back in a time machine and demand my share of tax dollars that was spent on the blogger’s education. You may notice that I am bi- lingual.’ Ignoranciness’ is the highest form of ignorance. There is ignorance,’ ignorancy’ and’ ignoranciness’. The latter two will only be found in the lexicon of the little village in which I was born.

34. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Exclaimer .

Go to Bridgetown and spend some money. The workers there need to draw their wages at the end of the week. Any expenditure, however small, will contribute to the GDP, employment, and GOB tax revenues. Thank you.

35. Bernard

I have worked in the Caribbean for three years with numerous graduates from UWI. One of my brothers and one of my sisters went to UWI as have dozens of my friends and high school classmates. I have collaborated with UWI lecturers in teaching and research

Most of the time, the quality is not there. I am being kind. That is not just my opinion. Again, look at the publication records of UWI faculty and compare them to the publication records of faculty at an average STATE university in the US. I am not even comparing you to the top-ranking schools in the US and Canada because you definitely can’t compete with them when it comes to research.

36. How can a country develop when one half are entitlement beneficiares and the other half sit on the block contributing nothing
    The sad part are those who have benefit the most from free education are those who complained the most and contibute little or nothing

37. Bernard

No need for me to respond further as my point has been made many times over by members of the BU household.

38. When the dust settles the accurate measure of the quality of our education system and this includes the UWI is the current state of the societies we participate and manage.

What can we say?

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://nakeddeparture.com/2016/10/15/neverlaine-springer-on-the-run/

I just came across this blog that is not at all what it seems, it’s so shocking in content and strikes right at the heart at where the society nows stands..particularly UWI graduates old and new, it’s a topic we have had on here for about 3 years about the doctors and lawyers selling their souls..

………I am totally floored, flabbergasted…but it strikes at the true nature of what is really going on in Barbados….lol hahaha, lol..cant help myself, the characters are unbelievable and it seems to be an all out and ongoing war of words.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I shouldmhave added, it’s in the 30 comments when you scroll down, a cuss out between Peter/Thomas Harris and some lawyer…lol hahaha, lol.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

What is my mirror image?

Mine is an image where minds that can give something to country are foremost in the fray of economic empowerment and not waste foops like the DLP.

Mine is an image that in 2016 when Exclaimer goes to Bridgetown to spend a dollar that the GDP that he is supporting in not the $250/week income that existed 40 years which makes whores out of the mothers who come and beg me for a $50 for a wuk fuh wuk that one Codrington enjoys under his vision of the Beautiful Barbados that he is living in cause he went to UWI and he children went to UWI too.

Mine is a mirror image where all men and women have a chance to ply their goods and services based on merit and not on the suck poochism that abounds in this country today that AC and Alvin Cummins and BC are promoting so vociferously.

That BC is another village term from my little village that you would not be familiar with Codrington.

My mirror image is one where honest men and women can walk bout when they please and where they please as opposed to wunna mirror image AND REALITY where druglords and criminals got all uh we put up at night at 7 pm like sheeple.

Mine is a mirror image where men who get paid $17,000 a month dont say to the normal business man “where is my Cut?”

Mine is a mirror image where when a fire alarm goes off a stupid ass woman would not say she gots to put on her eyebrow…

or a country when I go to wipe my ass in the QEH there is toilet paper or when i go to shyt##e in my toilet of my house I can flush my shyt##e down the toilet.

Dat is my mirror image

You feeling me??

42. LOL @ Bernard
    Boss, it is one thing to be loyal and sentimental about your alma mater, but one must be PRACTICAL and most of all, honest. UWI is a waste.
    It was destroyed by a philosophy of mediocrity that espoused the goal of one graduate in every household.
    An idiotic, low-class vision deserving of our scorn.
    A vision fuelled by the ultimate in idiocy – where successive governments provided a blank check for ever physical body registered on campus – independent of quality….fuelling an empire-building binge by Sir Cave….
    Only when the money ran out, did someone look to see it was a stupid course….

Education is the most valuable asset that a human being can acquire, but when it is devalued by freeness and lack of quality control, it becomes our worse enemy.

In the final analysis, look and see who OWNS Barbados; who RUNS Barbados; who DECIDES for Barbados. A simple medical insurance claim needs to be approved by a Trinidadian, in Trinidad, ….or you may die.
    Bank lending policy is set by NON UWI graduates….
    Our Energy policies are determined in Canada, and out Telecom priorities set by Irish…
    …and talk as we like, our tourism is managed by expatriates – and the money largely turned off-shore…

How are we different from 1916?
    …at least those old folks dreamed of freedom. We do not even REALISE that our asses are enslaved….
    What UWI What??!!

43. George,

Is this a job application?

44. Brilliant, Bush Tea. Spot on.

45. We must be fair to George, it is not the wise thing to be overly critical of one’s employer. George would have observed the 1 eyebrow girl who went through the eddoes last week.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As we can plainly see by the link I posted, too many UWI doctors and lawyers graduate and then reduce themselves to pimps and lackey owned by small time organized criminals who misuse and abuse the supreme court and the people for self enrichment, these lawyers get used to immoral, unethical and criminal tactics to keep their jobs…because despite having degrees, they seem to know nothing else…

…….they become part of the organized criminal element to acquire big money…that is what the local society has become because the organized criminality was not nipped in the bud 15 or 20 years ago, it was allowed to flourish by government ministers/politicians, former chief justice David Simmons, office of the DPP and law enforcement.

….Now they got a fully exposed monster….lol

No one should come out of school with a degree and work for people with no moral core, an organized crikinal enterprise. … and are unable to move on to better, with their reputations in total ruin, known on the island as dishonest lawyers and doctors…what a waste of taxpayer funded education.

47. Some of you are too bitter. #aloes

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

an organized criminal enterprise.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington

Alot uh Wunna charlatans does come pun BU AND because BU does hold wunna to a very high standard wunna doe sdo this holier than thou act and espouse nice sounding doctrines.

De poor ole man ent shift from my position bout “NOT ONE EFFING SEAT FOR THE DLP” from de time my ass start dat campaign months ago.

Once you see the error of your ways you supposed to repent and move way from the road to Damascus.

Lest you forget whose paling you were kicking down let de ole man refresh your turncoat memory for all and sundry here with this pronouncement your weathercock made on the Barbados Today article on July 6, 2016 at 11:38 am

“Bernard Codrington.

I am not surprised. This is part o the new political game starting in 2008 It is called โ€œblame everything on the other person or institution.โ€

See http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/30/husbands-teachers-must-account-for-lawlessness/

But de ole man, if the Dispensation of Mild and Honey that My GOD doles out on me, were left to you be one where “If I (Bernard Codrington) had anything to do with giving you a piece of this Barbados rock you will never get it.

“All you want to do is to lick down politiciansโ€™ palings. So have fun. Never criticize a man unless you have walked in his shoes.”

Like I said before.

GOD DIED LAST NIGHT and Bernard Codrington has not been appointed GOD so it is ok for Bernard Codrington to decry the actions of the political administration with your soft soaping words in the barbados today, but de po’ ole man get castigate fuh speaking my mind bout any one uh dem.

Dat is the thing bout wunna warriors, wunna alone is to be allowed to knock down people palings or to pretend to knock dem down.

Long live your friend Dr. Lucille Baird and Senator David Durant cause dem is jes’ weekend warriors like you…who does come here and type TO BE SEEN

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ George Bra(i)thwaite, PhD:
    โ€œThe graduates will go back into their communities, the workplace (some for the first time), and the society with a โ€˜newnessโ€™ for which all advanced and developing countries strive. Their โ€˜enlightenedโ€™ impact will be very telling for generations to come. Indeed, the recognition of this synthesis presents quite an opportune time for us in the broader society to contemplate: โ€œWhat kind of education do we need in Barbados and the Caribbean?โ€ Attempting to respond to this simple question elicits very complex answers which fittingly encourage us to consider a different question: โ€œWhat kind of society do we want?โ€

Very moving words from the โ€˜loosenedโ€™ mouth of a “professional” academic but who is not yet fully seasoned with the healthy skepticism of a true intellectual.

Just let us repeat your most โ€˜impactfulโ€™ assertion: โ€œTheir โ€˜enlightenedโ€™ impact will be very telling for generations to comeโ€.

Are you, dear George, implying that the โ€˜pastโ€™ UWI graduates who now walk the corridors of pompous political power were not โ€œenlightenedโ€ enough to make a major positive difference to their societies?

Havenโ€™t Fumble Stuart and his cabinet of UWI scions made a positive difference to the lives of the Bajan masses?

Here is a little food for thought:

The Cave Hill campus cannot survive as a stand-alone teaching and learning institution without the fast becoming redundant Faculty of Law.

Do you really feel the Bajan economy and society can โ€˜absorbโ€™ the number of lawyers graduating yearly from that paper mill of the future unemployable?

What else at the Cave Hill campus is so intellectually attractive and socially profitable to justify its continuation in its present form?

With the pending loss of taxpayersโ€™ funding of the law Faculty because it is now producing lawyers in excess to requirements donโ€™t you think that โ€˜Campusโ€ ought to be restructured post-haste to reflect in a ‘enlighteningly’ proactive way the fast changing realities of the Bajan economy and society?

If public sanitation, health and water availability can take a hit why not the luxury of law and its excessive minions clogging up the judicial system?

Shouldnโ€™t you be making out a water-tight case for its eventual transformation into a major division of the University College of Barbados (UCB) with the capacity and competence to award โ€˜theoretical certification in the many โ€˜academicโ€™ disciplines including the branch of human knowledge called LAW but fully funded (in a true Privatization fashion) by those who so desire to benefit from it?

Now wouldnโ€™t that be a major step in the direction of the much talked about โ€˜Revolution in Educationโ€™ and its concomitant ‘transformational’ results on the Bajan economy and indeed its big Society?

Come On, Dr. George B, now donโ€™t be a real โ€œGeorgie Porgieโ€ and run away to hide your intellectual talent under a bushel at the Cave Hill mausoleum ofโ€™ mis-educationโ€™!