Safe drinking water and adequate sanitation are crucial for poverty reduction, crucial for sustainable development and crucial for achieving any and every one of the Millennium Development Goals. – UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon

Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

It should be easy for most Barbadians to sympathize, or perhaps even empathize, with the plight of the residents of those local districts who have had to endure a regrettable lack of piped water to their homes in recent months. It certainly is no laughing matter when one is forced to endure the discomfort and displeasure of not being able to flush a toilet by a mere press of the plunger or unable to take a shower at the end of a long hot day. The โ€œbathe-upโ€ or standpipe baths and gatherings of bygone Barbados ought not to be an imperative for the contemporary taxpayer. To add insult to injury, it has been reported that bills, more than nominal in some cases, continue to be issued to these long-suffering individuals for water usage by the Barbados Water Authority.

It is equally easy, if one is so inclined, to use this unfortunate circumstance as an opportunity to bash the hapless administration in office and to classify its occurrence, as has been done by more than a few, as an example of poor governance, of poor leadership, an abdication of ministerial responsibility or a heady cocktail of all the above.

At one level, the state does bear ultimate responsibility if this โ€œessential serviceโ€ should not be supplied to all citizens without discrimination. According to several of the international conventions that we have ratified, ensuring the national supply of safe, potable water is an express state obligation. For example, under Article 24 (2)(c) of the Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC), States parties are required to pursue full implementation of this right and, in particular, shall take appropriate measures: โ€ฆ (c) To combat disease and malnutrition, including within the framework of primary health care, through, inter alia, the provision of adequate nutritious foods and clean drinking water [Emphasis added].

And Article 14 (2) of the Convention for the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) mandates states parties to โ€œtake all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in rural areas to ensureโ€ฆto women the right: โ€ฆ [h] To enjoy adequate living conditions, particularly in relation to housing, sanitation, electricity and water supply, transport and communications.โ€ [Emphasis added]

Other conventions such as the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights also recognize the right to water as an international human right, obligating the state to ensure to its citizens the supply of sufficient, safe, acceptable, physically accessible and affordable water for personal and domestic uses.

At another level, however, the state may lawfully claim exemption from this obligation where the failure in supply is owed to circumstances such as an Act of God or nature (drought or endemic water scarcity); act or default of another for whom the state assumes no responsibility; or where the failure is otherwise exempted by law so that the claim to an absolute entitlement in any circumstance whatsoever does not arise.

So far as the first is concerned, it may very well be that this condition currently subsists, although the people from the affected districts would not be acting unreasonably to query why the onus of this drought should fall on them unequally.

Nor can the state fairly place the blame on the Barbados Water Authority that, although not constitutionally part of the Crown, bears practically a sufficiently subordinate role thereto as to be considered integrated into the state machinery.

It bears mention in this regard nevertheless, that much of the blame for the recent happenings has been placed on the inherently defective and ancient mains that are currently undergoing replacement. To the extent that this is an ongoing process stretching across the change of governing administrations, it would be clearly inequitable to place all the blame for the delayed achievement of this initiative on the current administration. The partisan ascription of blame, though perhaps electorally beneficial in future, does little to relieve the current insecurity of the affected citizens.

I accept that the figurative horse is well and truly out of the stable, and that from now until the elections bell is rung by the Prime Minister, most civic failings will be seen in a partisan light against the party that comprises the current administration. This is par for the course and, I suppose, those concerned who are far more knowledgeable than I am in these matters will seek to apply and to resist this onslaught as forcefully as may be practicable.

โ€œIt is clear that the solutions to the delivery of water and sanitation for all are fundamentally political in nature and not just technical. The need for opening the โ€œWater Tapโ€ for transparency, accountability and participation is vital as we face the rapid increase of urbanization and the frightening implications of climate change for our scarce water resources”-George, Nhlapo and Waldorf- โ€œThe politics of achieving the Right to waterโ€ (2011)

262 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Politics of Water Security”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Peter….I agree, as fighting corrupt government ministers, politicians, business people, insurance companies etc is an ongoing battle…keeping them all under internstional spotlight is very effective, while we create other ways to preempt their vicious practices and behaviors…

These same people need international venues to hide their laundered money etc, you need them to be monitored, keep eyes on them, if ya cant lock them up in Barbados for their crimes against the people…..let those with the resources watch them so they do not get ideas to move their criminal enterprises to other countries, make sure they are on the look out for them.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The blame lies squarely at who is in charge of it all. When you are going to come into power under false promises and tell the Barbados Turf Club your 30 million dollar debt is no longer a concern of the government of Barbados, knowing that the economy was dootsie dobbling, you to got to be blame. When you are going to tell lies to give CLICO Parris 10 million in a bailout that has no accountability attached to it, at a time when several other social and welfare services in the island needed upgrades and supplies, you got to hold the blame. When you are going to wait the last minute in spite of the many warnings to put systems in place to deal with Barbados spiralling out of control debt and fiscal deficit problems, and come with massive layoffs, increase taxes and introduce new ones in one wave after the other, you got to take the blame. When you are willing to commit the island to a waste to energy project in the form of Cahill that would have been a first of that size anywhere in the world, not knowing where the france we all would have ended up, you got to hold the blames. Then when you come blatantly put 7 million dollars towards celebrating and neglect the needs of the people in sanitation and water problems, your ass got to hold every blame. What the stinking BLP did is irrelevant. They are not the ones at the wheel of Barbados governance DEM is, and for that reason alone, and no other, they got tek all the friggin well the blame. They did shite and pretend that is golden apples sweet for picking and eating. Just take a look at the shite happening in the island under DEM. Who is to blame-NEMWILL?

3. @ Jeff
    You need to take off your partisan blinkers, Bush Tea. The effects of misguided inaction do not immediately cease with an electoral change.
    Bushie admits to having partisan blinkers. It comes with an understanding of the BASIC point of living on this earth …and THAT comes as a gift, which was attached to his being adopted.

It cannot be taken off…
    Unfortunately, the BLP crowd said the same shiite back in 2008, …and will say it even louder next time they asses are on the line, but no problem, Bushie has grown accustomed…

You are wrong AGAIN though…. no one is talking about the ‘effects’ of previous misguided action…
    The effects of misguided inaction do not immediately cease with an electoral change….BUT the ability to blame such for CURRENT ineptness does….

It is not as thought these DLP jokers were UNAWARE of the Sandi debacle…..
    It is not as though someone FORCED them to take the responsibility…
    These brass bowls highlighted the ‘misguided inactions’;
    …OFFERED themselves as solutions;
    …Raised water rates by 60%;
    …and then turned around and spent $60M on a ‘palace’ – ONLY because it was a convenient mechanism to get assets into the hands of their political financier….
    …while ignoring the liabilities that they had ALSO inherited.
    …and now they (…and YOU)…. trying to tell Bushie that Sandi is to blame for the current mess…?

Sandi was to blame UP until they volunteered to solve the mess…and took on the assets and liabilities. THEY HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY DONE SHIITE.

It is interesting that you seek to apply different logic here than you did when trying to pass off blame for the poor quality of legal ethics in Barbados …from your faculty to the Sir Hugh Wooding place…

4. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

sunshine sunny shine
    You see it. You get it

5. Why should there be placing of blame.but instead a collective discourse and agreement on fixing the problem
    The interjection of political partianship is tedious and dangerous especially when drawn from a well of political division

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea September 18, 2016 at 11:39 AM #
    I thank you for clearly exposing the mechanism and motive for the corruption which resulted in the misguided edifice in the Pine. You are correct of course that the blame for that lies entirely with the current governing party.

What shall we do to inhibit the repetition of such iniquity?

I have found copies of the proposed Freedom of Information legislation online. Does anyone have access to drafts of proposed Integrity in Public Life legislation?

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chad…this should interest you.

A machine that detects cancer in MEN…called a prostate ultrasoubd machine costing $53,000 dollars was donated = for free… to QEH over a year ago, techical experts were brought in from Trinidad to check the machine, made sure it’s calibrated and in good working order, instructions were left with QEH staff on how to use the machine.

It the most accyrate way to diagnose prostate cancer.

Prostate cancer is one of the leading causes of deaths in MEN…on the island.

To date…the machine has never been used and no one can give an explanation why the machine is sitting in an air conditioned room and not being used by MEN to save the lives of MEN in Barbados.

Under that mentality and those circumstances.., women and children ARE NOT safe on the island.

8. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Forgive me if i don’t want to join the collective discourse.
    Read all above and you would think we found new shit.
    same old stuff
    same old talk
    same old bullshit walking.
    Time we put aside dictionaries and start talking in bajan
    wunna in charge; wunna need to fix stuff;

9. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Gonna watch the c in FTC stand for contortionist.
    Don’t get me wrong.
    I love ya bro..
    But it will be interesting to see how do it.

10. @ Mr Miller,

“How do you feel having to report to and having to be under the policy direction of a Minister of the Crown who holds collective (Cabinet) responsibility for a Statutory entity over which you have regulatory control and perceived independence in your agencyโ€™s decision-making process”?

Sir, if I understand your question, you perceive a conflict for me among serving as Chairman of the FTC, therefore having to take policy directions of a broad nature from the Minister and yet acting with independence in the decision-making process of regulation.

As far as I am concerned, regulatory decisions are based on technical advice from the staff premised on a prudential application of the law. I am at least competent enough in the area
    to know when i am being fed bullshit instead of wise counsel.

The Minister may, of course, disappoint the Board if he is not satisfied with their decisions, but then I did not take up the present position on any understanding that I would have security of permanent tenure. Independence is not merely apparent. It is also a felt imperative!

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“therefore having to take policy directions of a broad nature from the Minister and yet acting with independence in the decision-making process of regulation.”

Those are the key words explaining all the failures in every ministry headed by ministers…the ministers set the shit policies that fail.

The ministers can blame no one else but themselves for their failed policies and the countries’ failures.

None of the ministers are geniuses…….There are no geniuses in parliament.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The Minister may, of course, disappoint the Board if he is not satisfied with their decisions,”

And to compound the failures and blame rightly attributed to these ministers of government. .. even if the policies are shit, are seen as shit and the ministers told the policies will fail, they still ignore advice and force the implementation of failed policies.

13. Good Decisions

September 15, 2016Steve Keating

The right decision made at the wrong time is a bad decision. The right time to make a decision is when you have as many facts as you can get to make it. Sometimes it will be all the facts, sometimes it will be enough facts and sometimes youโ€™ll have to make a decision with less facts than you would want.

But if you intend to lead then you have to make decisions period!

Once you have all the facts available, whether you believe itโ€™s enough facts or not, you must make a decision. Deciding not to make a decision or deciding to delay a decision IS A DECISION and it is frequently the wrong decision. In fact, itโ€™s worse than a wrong decision because a wrong decision can be fixed, a โ€œnon-decisionโ€ often cannot.

I see people all the time who have the facts required to make a decision and yet just canโ€™t bring themselves to make it. They think and think, rethink and rethink, sleep on it and still donโ€™t come to a decision.

When they finally decide something itโ€™s often too late to have the positive impact that a more timely decision would have had.

I believe one of the major causes of poor decision making is a lack of awareness of values, vision, and mission.

When faced with a decision ask yourself how each possible decision will align with your values. Does the decision get you closer to your vision or not?  Does the choice you would make โ€œfitโ€ with your mission?

Hereโ€™s the real challenge: when asked, most people canโ€™t clearly state their values, either their personal values or the values of their organization. Most every organization has some sort of vision and or mission statement but they are no better than a slogan unless people know what they are and actually align themselves to them. A vision and mission statement should be used to guide every decision made in the organization.

If something doesnโ€™t get you closer to your vision then why on earth would you do it. If something is contrary to your values or the values of your organization then your choice is clearโ€ฆand much easier.

When you know AND live your values every decision is easier. When you understand your mission, either in business or in life, then every decision becomes clear.

It requires some serious reflection to truly understand your values. You will also find your values much easier to know than to live. But thatโ€™s okay, values can not only help to keep you on track, they can help you get back on track when you fall off the rails.

When you know, really know, what your true values are, when you understand your mission and have a vision for your life and business then you will find yourself not only making faster decisions, youโ€™ll find yourself making much better decisions too.

Share this:

Loading…

Related

How to Make a Decision-MakerIn "Leadership"

When Deciders Donโ€™t DecideIn "Leadership"

Decisions, DecisionsIn "Leadership"

LeadershipDecisionsDecision MakingLeadership ActionsVisionVision StatementLeadership CharacteristicsMission StatementValuesDecidingPoor DecisionsDecide

Post navigation

โ†

5 thoughts on โ€œGood Decisionsโ€

1. patmcdga

Another insightful article, this time on a topic near and dear to my heart. I agree that when oneโ€™s vision, mission and values are clear, decisions do get easier. Not always easy, but easier.

I think another reason some people delay in their decision making, or require unceasing information, is the fear of making a mistake.

No one wants to make a wrong decision, but if you make one in alignment with your values based on the best information available at the time, then you need to tune out the Monday morning quarterbacks.

Dave Ramsey, who makes decisions based on his mission and values, says โ€I make a decision, and if itโ€™s the wrong one, I make another one.โ€ He keeps moving forward, while tuning out the critics.

The critics of decisions are always around because people often fall prey to the Hindsight (Predictive Memory) Bias. Simply put, they evaluate past events in the light of current informationโ€ฆ and how it turned out.

Remember Pete Carrol after the Super Bowl with the Patriots? He got roundly criticized for throwing a pass on the goal line rather than running the ball. If it had turned out well, no one would have criticized a thing. If instead they ran the ball and there was a fumble, the critics would have criticized that decision, too.

Make the best decision you can, based on the best information you have and in alignment with your vision, mission and values. If it doesnโ€™t turn out as you hoped, learn what you can but keep moving forwardโ€ฆ and make the next decision.

September 16, 2016 at 12:41 am

• Steve Keating

Thanks Pat, that is such an insightful comment. Making a decision is the only way to move forward, itโ€™s also the only way to can make โ€œanotherโ€ decision. If you never made one in the first place you canโ€™t make another one to fix the first one.

Mistakes are only made by people who tryโ€ฆnever making a decision is just as disastrous as never trying.

September 16, 2016 at 1:09 am

2. coachesteban

Steve I concur the decision needs to align with your values.

In my youth Iโ€™d analyze things eight ways to Sunday. In the last 10 years or so I do a gut check regarding values.

If I intuitively feel the decision matches my values Iโ€™ll go for it. In spite of the fact if I donโ€™t have all the facts.

Iโ€™m willing to green light the decision and make it up, figure out the how Iโ€™ll get it done, as I go along.

September 17, 2016 at 4:53 am

Leave a Reply

14. The biggest problem that I have with this untenable water situation in our rural parishes is that many people are being blackmailed by the BWA into paying horrendous bills by telling them that they would get their water cut off if they don’t pay the bills they receive. The other thing is that they are committing fraud by making the residents pay for a commodity which they are not receiving. Let’s say for instance, someone orders something from a store and is promised that it would be at his/her premises by the next day or the day after, and that item isn’t there by the next week! Wouldn’t that person have the right to get a lawyer and do what he/she finds to be the rightful thing? Why can the BWA get away with not supplying what it promises?

15. As i wandered through the varying rational (and irrational bipartisan) commentary here in this article I was able to remark on the elements of the style of the writer as he shifted in his commentary on the obviously emotive and political nature of this water issue through its legal issues e.g. paying of water while receiving no water to its underpinning aspects of the successive legacy of multiple administrations.

I said that I would try to deviate from my normal style of engagement in this article in my effort to enhance the timbre that i note that Jeff Cumberbatch’s articles always take.

He gives a comprehensive insight into a problem, he presents both sides of the issue, and teases his audience with reviews and issues that impact on the topic but then, most of all, Jeff says, “ladies and gents, here are the fact, in this dispassionate envelope”

Many get caught up in thinking that Jeff is pro or contrary to a topic that he presents but, if many of you see beneath his writing style, you will notice that he is not the type of man that lingers long on that which CANNOT BE CHANGED

He is a man who is essentially saying “Given this, tell me what can be done to move forward?”

I realise that the post was going to be long so I brek up up, more to come

16. @ Jeff

Rights come with obligations. You know this.

You may contend that you have a right to breathe fresh air but if commercial interests continue to pollute the air thereby ignoring an obligation not so to do and continue, the right maybe in law but has little practical meaning unless one has the resources to seek redress. And that is the problem. In these circumstances there is no right to fresh air, water etc.

17. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch September 18, 2016 at 12:10 PM
    โ€œThe Minister may, of course, disappoint the Board if he is not satisfied with their decisions, but then I did not take up the present position on any understanding that I would have security of permanent tenure. Independence is not merely apparent. It is also a felt imperative!โ€

The quickest way to get a man to demonstrate his level of intelligence is to attack his sense of fair play.
    Jeff, I am satisfied with your response. Well done, young man! We can only hope you will live up to the โ€˜normativeโ€™ expectations you have set yourself.

We can see you clearly functioning as an objective arbiter in the upcoming price adjustments applications from the private-sector electricity and telecommunications utilities as a direct result of the โ€˜fabricatedโ€™ rising cost of doing business and delivering a dependable service in Bim. After all, shareholders rising expectations from recent takeovers must be met along with senior management performance bonuses.

But as far as the BWA is concerned, we can only repeat the old adage wrapped in a kernel of advice from the mother of the current Minister responsible for Water Resources: โ€œTime is longer than twineโ€. We shall wait and see if that same minister is not thrown under the bus as a sacrificial toothless pit bull to the political dogs of Electoral War.

Good luck, young fella!

18. So as de ole man was saying earlier I going try to rise to Jeff challenge

To do that i went to two things

The first was to reread John’s comprehensive remarks on September 17, 2016 at 10:24 AM # on the โ€œTHE STATE OF CASTLE GRANT RESERVOIRโ€

More specifically de ole man man went and tried to google “the Senn report” he spoke of and to find these Geological Surveys that form part of this report.

Whu de ole man trying to do is quite simple and is much like The Gazer been saying about we the people working collectively “to fix de stuff”

Ohhhh, before de ole man do dat search for Senn Reports which BTW, are difficult to find on the internet, I was did tinking bout this.

Tunnel Rats. “You really cannot teach an ole dog new tricks, and a carpenter does doan forget he trade.”

https://chivethebrigade.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/vietnam-tunnel-rats-19.png?w=600&h=341

Senn’s report mentions 700 wells in his survey/study so de neanderthal dat i is, say to meself “meself, if there are 700 wells, in this limestone aquifer-like structure that Barbados is, could it be that, as part of the technologically advanced nation that Peter Boos and Dr. Basil Springer claiming dat we is, (or going be in 2025), we could be proactive in dis water storage ting?”

Now I ent no geologist nor nuffin BUT de ole man figure dat effing de BWA, or de Organisation dat Mr. Kammie Holder is a part of, dat Future Centre Trust, was to make a representation to the Inter American Development Bank’s Sustainable Cities Grant fund dem cud seek some $$$

De Grant would be to (a) chart dese underwater aquifers like dem Tunnels in Vietnam (and de Mexican US border) and, MORE SPECIFICALLY, (b) develop a national proactive programme to actively hoard water (like how dem BWA successive whores collect all be money like Caswell say and dis new set build a new HQ)

The ultimate object might be the channeling of appropriately treated water to that network of 700 wells.

Of course de ole man acknowledge dat it is not as simple as turning all de run-off water towards de various well/openings, but with the correct expertise, de same way dat we now supposed to be hoarding water off we roofs under we house in a storage “bin” when de rain falls, can we not look at directing a substantive portion of de flood/rain water to some of these wells?

I is jes an ole man bereft of any intelligence like wunna bright fellers who pastor read dat story bout 7 years of plenty and seven years of famine at church and de ole man misinterpret it

19. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Davis September 18, 2016 at 1:40 PM
    โ€œ Letโ€™s say for instance, someone orders something from a store and is promised that it would be at his/her premises by the next day or the day after, and that item isnโ€™t there by the next week! Wouldnโ€™t that person have the right to get a lawyer and do what he/she finds to be the rightful thing? Why can the BWA get away with not supplying what it promises?โ€

And that is one of the severely damaged hamstrings keeping Barbados still trapped in an unenlightened Third World of colonial darkness and ignorance.

Why should a person, poor or otherwise, have to hire an expensive lawyer (they demand some form of payment upfront) to get their rights and entitlements (commercial or otherwise) respected and delivered?

That should be par for the course in any modern enlightened jurisdiction which claims to have some of the most educated and overqualified people on the planet.

20. Why should a person, poor or otherwise, have to hire an expensive lawyer (they demand some form of payment upfront) to get their rights and entitlements (commercial or otherwise) respected and delivered?

That should be par for the course in any modern enlightened jurisdiction which claims to have some of the most educated and overqualified people on the planet.

Isn’t this why we established the FTC and Office of the Public Counsel?

21. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ David September 18, 2016 at 2:31 PM

โ€œIsnโ€™t this why we established the FTC and Office of the Public Counsel?โ€

No disrespect to Jeff, but you do mean the โ€œFearโ€ Trading Commission and the Office of Public โ€œConfusionโ€, right?

These basic consumer rights should be enshrined in crystal clear Statute law whose matters should be heard within a period of no more than three months.

But what can you expect when educated well exposed honest Bajans are required to use the services of a solicitor to write a simple will, probate a straightforward will or even sell your own unencumbered and legally registered property.

22. @ David

Thanks for your usual pinch of realism to Jeff’s legal principles. at 2:31 PM #

23. David

The time will come when Government will realise that it cannot take the docile nature of Barbadians for granted. And I hope when that time comes, there will be minimal or no loss of life.

This Government is destroying the dream and aspirations of the people of this country. Things that our taxes have been paying for over the years are no longer being supplied adequately or at all. Our tax dollars are being used to enrich the fatted-calf brigade, while garbage is being piled up on the streets, to the delight of the rats and other vermin, and the resources of the Sanitation Service Authority are being spent in a most irregular way, rather than in buying parts to fix the authority’s equipment. If you are a friend of the DLP and working at SSA you can get as much as $6,000 per month overtime.

The QEH is being starved of resources to the point that it is fast becoming a health hazard. Sometimes not even alcohol is available. In some cases, patients have to source surgical supplies in order to get an operation.

Patients at the Psychiatric Hospital are being fed cooked Eclipse biscuits and water for lunch.

Government illegally raised the water rates by 60% and still refuse to supply adequate tanker trucks to supply the suffering people in BLP constituencies. Time longer than twine Mr. Minister. Sent from my iPad

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

According to the FTC website “… the FTC deals with the โ€˜beforeโ€™ โ€“ that is, making sure that consumers are not misled and have all the information they need before buying. The Office of the Public Counsel on the other hand, takes care of the โ€˜afterโ€™ โ€“ they put measures in place so consumers donโ€™t have problems with goods or services after they have bought them and that if they do…”

The Office of the Public Counsel web presence is a pathetic embarrassment:
    http://www.commerce.gov.bb/index.php/departments-a-agencies/office-of-public-counsel

Who is the Public Counsel?

25. Why should a person, poor or otherwise, have to hire an expensive lawyer (they demand some form of payment upfront) to get their rights and entitlements (commercial or otherwise) respected and delivered?

Isnโ€™t this why we established the FTC and Office of the Public Counsel?

You are correct, David. No legal expertise is required to assist the consumer in either case…and both mediation services and legal representation before the Tribunal are free for those consumers who avail themselves of the with the supplier Office of Public Counsel.

@ Miller _Thanks for your good wishes!

26. The problem Jeff is the lengthy period (perceived or not)by those who seek remedy from the Utilities when accessing the two Oversight bodies.

27. Jeff

You are too intelligent to believe this

The law does not exist of and by itself.

It has to operate within all the other environments, economic, class, race etc.

We cannot be convinced that free legal advice from anywhere is the same as a high priced legal eagle.

Even low life lawyers, as a class, are not created equal.

28. @Caswell

Unfortunately the issue of social justice will become more of an issue as the economy remains in the doldrums. Why do our leaders, especially the politicians believe that Barbdians will remain docile? Just listen to Minister Donville last week on the talk show and before that Senator McClean.

#AnimalFarm

29. Some of tgecarguments posted are remiscent of those times when EWB placed barbados on the path of Indelendencr. The same rigourous and boisterous applications by opposers fueled by a vision to derail EWB vision of independence. Meanwhile here on the 50th year of independence when govt has made hardened decisions for corrective measures to replace outdated and broken pipe lines the detractors are at it again with a vocal authority absence of truth and solid facts to derail

30. I would be more concerned by the fact that the Government of Canada recently wrote the government and the PM to alert them to the poisonous water being delivered to the population from the contaminated belle and waterford wells.

31. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

“No man, when he hath lighted a candle, putteth it in a secret place, neither under a bushel, but on a candlestick…”

Might I suggest something? From time to time there are a few bloggers who, in exercising their right to query the FTC’s operations make some less than complimentary comments per the Fear Trading Commission.

As you might know, I, like many here, have little respect for that institution. (I cannot even use the qualifier, prior to your appointment, Jeff but, since I have no recent experience to speak to, and numerous prior encounters,I am thusly convinced even though I have not seen any recent public encounters to change my mind)

Having said that, it is noted that the FTC “outreach” via the internet has made a slight improvement to what it was in 2015, certainly post others’ representations regarding their website and that of Jamaica’s FTC.

Still the Barbados counterpart does not in any way look like http://www.jftc.com/PublicRegister/CourtJudgements.aspx and your annual report HAS NEVER resembled their standard annual reports an excerpt of which follows

“FTCโ€™s jurisdiction challenged by Digicel
    4. In response to the suit that was filed by the FTC against Digicel, Digicel filed a claim
    against the FTC, as to whether the Fair Competition Act (FCA) should apply to the
    transactions effected by the agreement between Digicel and Claro, and whether the FTC
    has jurisdiction in relation to the agreement. This matter was heard in Chambers on
    January 31, 2012; and the Court ordered that there be a separate trial to hear the
    issues. Subsequently separate submissions were made.”

“FTCโ€™s operation challenged by LIME
    5. In October 2011, Cable and Wireless Jamaica Limitedโ€™s (LIME) filed an Application in the
    Court of Appeal to compel the FTC to: (1) seek an injunction against Digicel and Claro
    under section 47 of the FCA on the basis of breaches of sections 17 and 35 of the FCA;
    (2) issue directions under section 21 of the FCA to prevent the abuse of dominance
    given effect by the transaction between Digicel and Claro; and (3) issue directions under
    section 21 of the FCA to halt the steps already taken by Digicel and Claro to combine
    their operations pending final judgment in the current action should leave be granted.”

You have indicated on several occasions that you WILL NOT comment on the internal machinations of the FTC and I can respect that.

Maybe an alternative solution to fielding these sotto voce comments might lie in how the Bajan counterpart facilitate an environment where bajans are aware of FTC effecting its mandate?

The Jamaican FTC report discloses (summaries of) decisions across a panoply of interactions for corporations AND INDIVIDUALS and one would think that our FTC should also have such encounters to report and disclose.

The Barbados FTC site, specifically its reports, barring simplistic pretty charts, makes no mention of any “interactions/decisions” with the common man/woman.

All the site shows are those decisions with the major Utility companies.

BTW, while de ole man ent no accountant, the Ernst Young Account Financial report show that of a $3M or so budget some $1M plus comes from income from “Sums Levied on Utilities Service Providers”

So 33% of the FTC ‘s income recognition comes from the same entity that the FTC is supposed to be regulating….hmmmmm?

My humble suggest Mr. Cumberbatch relates to “full disclosure” of all decisions and what such disclosure translates into regarding the operations of the FTC and the Office of Public Counsel.

What has been the consistent modus of erstwhile? serfdoms not to share any information may be what we the simple public will query wrongly? believing that this silence and non disclosure is indicative that “those who are supposed to be the guards” are in cahoots with the invading hordes.

Just saying…

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Shirley Williams September 18, 2016 at 4:32 PM #
    I would be more concerned by the fact that the Government of Canada recently wrote the government and the PM to alert them to the poisonous water being delivered to the population from the contaminated belle and waterford wells.”

If that’s the case, they are likely to ignore Justin until international bodies are sent in.

Like I said, it’s only international bodies with the power to sanction these fly by night retards in parliament, to get things rolling toward change, until then expect more of the same.

There are no geniuses in parliament.

33. @ Shirley Williams

Finally.

Finally effingly.

De ole man has asked people heah to do a simple effing experiment with a simple glass of water for one week.

Let the water drip one drop JUST ONE DROP and let the glass remain for 1 week and then clean the inside of the glass with a white piece of cloth.

what every one of you will get is a black gummy sediment that congeals on the bottom of the glass (in my case I am using a bucket) and that gum then makes its way up the side of the glass/container

But de ole man stupid

http://imgur.com/a/T8muM

34. “Shirley Williams September 18, 2016 at 4:32 PM #
    I would be more concerned by the fact that the Government of Canada recently wrote the government and the PM to alert them to the poisonous water being delivered to the population from the contaminated belle and waterford wells.”

I would like to see this correspondence. It boggles my mind that I elected this man be concerned with Barbados water problems, when we have our own in Canada. Right here in Ottawa, whenever it rains, several millions of raw sewage is dumped, yes DUMPED into the Ottawa River, that feeds the down stream communities of Alfred, Wendover, Rockland, Hawkesbury, etc., which get their water directly from said river. Two weeks ago there was a boil water advisory over in Gatineau and a Native Indian community had to be evacuated last year because of contaminated water. I am not even sure they are back on their reserve.

So, please, let me see this correspondence. I want to write my PM and my MP re same.

35. @Miller
    Have you heard a word so far from NOW or the Council for the Disabled or even BARP?
    ++++++++++
    Agree that they should be advocating for women and the elderly who are discomfited by the lack of water on a daily basis, itโ€™s a matter of denial of personal hygiene on a basic level.

What about those two organisations? They cater to a middle class demographic and the folks affected donโ€™t live in the heights and terraces so the ordinary folk lack champions to fight on their behalf.

One should be wary of the โ€œdo goodersโ€ in society who are members of service organisations and are primarily interested in photo ops or appearing on TV. The โ€œgood doersโ€ are the invisible ones who quietly go about helping others and hide their light under a bushel.

36. NOW is politically tainted and intellectually weak.

Council for the Disabled depends on donations and there is mindful of the need to e politically correct.

BARP is still cloaked in a conservative culture of Kathleen Drayton and more concern about promoting the financial well being of its members and not too worries about social justice issues.

37. Are influential BARP council members not also strategically placed on various government Boards etc…?
    …and the churches enjoy inexpiable ‘tax-free’ status, so they cannot be expected to rock any boats…

A clear conflict of interest, but business as usual in Bim.

38. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@Bajans,
    I like your answer..
    You don’t really care if it is true or not or about the welfare of a single Barbadian. You want the bearer of the news. How come you give Shirley a pass. Go after her also.

39. BARP – cloaked in the conservative culture of Kathleen Drayton?
    Is David on the same planet?
    Kathleen Drayton has been dead for seven years. She was never conservative. I would describe her as a radical feminist who used to be married to a Marxist. And the leadership of BARP has always been in the hands.of Marxists and former Marxists.

40. Any problem with the water supply to Sandy Lane Estate or Fort George Heights or Royal West Moreland or Sunset Crest?

41. @ bajans, shit overflows into lake Ontario too.

http://lostrivers.ca/content/points/CSO.html

42. Reudon Eversley’s column in Thursday makes for interesting reading on this issue of water management in St Joseph.

43. @chad99999

Seriously?

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Chad999999&blind

wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hahahaahhha. Wait, wait for it..it coming,HHHHHHHAAHAHAHAHAHAH OH SHITE BOY YOU TOO SWEET: I got me a wee wee in me nickers just thinking about all the crap you tend to write under the guise of intelligence. Wait for it again, wahhhhhhhhh hahahahahahahah lord haveif mercy. Ma belly ma back ma navel string dey crack hahahahahahaha.

45. Hants September 18, 2016 at 8:24 PM #
    Problems? Many St Joseph people for the last 18 days have not seen a drop of piped water in their homes, and are still required to pay high water bills ,to the unrelenting BWA. But in contrast, it was discovered a few years ago that one of these upscale communities on the Gold Coast, had an unauthorised connection, and was receiving free water for 10 flipping years. The residents, up to now were not asked to reimburse BWA for the service, neither were they threatened in bold red print ,with disconnection. And no charges ,apparently was brought against the person or persons who facilitated the “free” connection to his/her or their personal benefit.
    And we are bragging about 50 years of independence ,when the real benefactors of this so-called independence are hardly likely to be seen on November the 30 jumping and waving the Broken Trident.
    We may give ourselves grand titleS and parade like peacocks among the masses, but when we set foot in the plantation yard, we do so with cap in hand, and tails between our legs.

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Colonel Buggy

Can you we get a poster on this revelation? My colleague will not be back in office until November then he goes on holiday. That is why my posters have literally dried up. He taught me a lot of stuff but after the Mia Bubble effort taking me three days I lost interest. I prefer to create the ideas and let those with the photoshop skills put it together. Besides, it is no fun navigating through the maze that is CS6, now he tells me CS6 is old and he is using something called Creative Cloud illustrator….stuuuupse

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Chad is outdoing himself.

48. “it is equally easy, if one is so inclined, to use this unfortunate circumstance as an opportunity to bash the hapless administration in office and to classify its occurrence, as has been done by more than a few, as an example of poor governance, of poor leadership, an abdication of ministerial responsibility or a heady cocktail of all the above.”

Not only as a result of this instance but of several others. Take for instance the imposition of the 2% levy and the recent comments of Mr Donville Inniss Minister of Industry and Commerce about sitting down with the Minister of Finance to discuss its implication. What brassbowlery according to Bushie. Shite man if I didn’t live here I wouldn’t believe that they sit in the same Cabinet.

49. Giving a shout out to all water warriors who took the initiative in reaching out to give a helping hand to the water stricken areas of St. Joseph giving real meaning to the statement attributed to the late David Thompson”barbados is more than an economy but also a society
    We as a people should not wring our hands and give into hopelessness but as an educated people should rise to the occasion and do whatever necessary to help our fellow persons

50. You wouldn’t have known but Davis and the WWW have been shipping water into St.Joseph for months. Go and check David Davis Facebook page. In recent weeks the attention level was raised by a St.Joseph resident by the name of Dickson who planned the march, has been in the media and talk shows venting on this matter. He has taken the plight of Josephines to another level. Not everything one can picked up online. A reminder that the mandate of the BWA is to deliver potable water to all water subscribers. The least the BWA should be able to do is to maintained the community tanks full 24/7.