This week’s Barbados Editorial adds to the commentary about the rising pubic concern about crime.

crimeWhile the national crime rate is not the direct legal responsibility of the governing administration, opposition parties everywhere are never slow to go on the offensive whenever this reaches an electorally unacceptable level, that is, whenever there is the public expression of popular discontent with the status quo. This is understandable; the perception of an electoral advantage is strategically enticing to any political grouping.

In our view, however, any political approach to crime should be bipartisan or non-partisan even since, first, like the rain, crime is no respecter of persons, and it falls alike on the government and opposition members and supporters without discrimination and, second, a propensity for crime is unlikely to be abated by something as mundane as a change in governing administration. Indeed, our regional neighbour, Trinidad & Tobago where, if anything, the crime rate has increased exponentially since a change in administrations, is a case in point in this regard.

It was therefore of more than passing interest to read in a recent issue of Barbados Advocate of a colloquium between the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in that jurisdiction that has by now become globally notorious for its murder rate that significantly exceeds one victim per day for this year so far.

Unsurprisingly, their meeting appears to have revealed little in the way of bold new initiatives to combat the scourge, although this is in no way to belittle this laudable bi-partisan political effort. According to the report, they agreed that preliminary enquiries in the magistrate’s courts should be abolished, that there should be effective co-operation between the governing administration and the opposition, and that there should be the right legislation to increase the effectiveness of the police in apprehending criminal offenders.

Regrettably, and we say this mainly because of the unlikelihood of its future execution, both sides agreed that the death penalty should remain the law of the land.

We are minded to counsel that there should be a similar collaboration locally, especially at this critical time. As Dr. Rowley intimated after the meeting, “mutual respect was necessary between the Government and Opposition”, and there was agreement that a Joint Select Committee be established to be chaired by an Independent Senator, “to ensure that the political acrimony that may exist between [the] sides does not affect the work…”

In Barbados, the Attorney General has rightly been taken to task for his recent assertion that the upsurge in crime, especially gun crimes, is not his fault. At a strictly literal level of expression, he may be right, but then no one is accusing him of having committed the offences himself.

However, good governance entails the creation of the appropriate laws and policies to ensure a socially just and orderly society. Moreover, under the Westminster system of governance that we purport to follow, a policymaker is never allowed to say “it is not my fault” in respect of any foul up that might occur under his or her watch. It was not the fault of then British Foreign Secretary Lord Carrington in 1982 when Argentina invaded the Falklands but he was in charge of the Foreign & Commonwealth Office that had failed to foresee this development; nor was it his fault in the Crichel Down affair in 1954 when the Minister of Agriculture resigned despite the fact that all mistakes were made by civil servants without his knowledge.

Nevertheless, calls for the resignation of the Attorney General at this time are clear political bluster; after all, faithful adherence to the Westminster model is not, and has never been, the system of governance we practice in this country.

215 responses to “Crime and Political Solutions”

1. When David Thompson raised water rates by 60% in 08 and made promises to the citizenry that the funds would be used to improve and upgrade the existing unsatisfactory service,he sent a Minister in the person of Denis Lowe who promptly called in the CBCDLP press to say…..”when a pipe burses,we will have a crew on standby to immediately go out and fix that burse pipe.” In addition,Thompson who said he would not lie,cheat nor steal sent another minister to BWA in the person of Arnie Walters so that the increased water rates was to pay not one minister in the person of Lowedown Denis Lowe the corruptee but two ministers.Furthermore Walters,along with Lowedown made such a mess of the BWA that after the Auditor General listed a garrison of infelicities there,like pipes for mains replacement ordered and paid for but could not be found,things got so embarrassing for Stuart that both ministers of the BWA,which in the BWA had two whole ministers,not one you know but two,things were so out of sync there that not one but two were moved.Arnie is no longer in the spotlight but Lowedown went online to face the cameras and the glare of adverse publicity in the matter of the Cahill scam and in the mess that is the SSA and it’s garbage collection portfolio which stinks to high heaven.This BWA thing is karma for the Dems on account of Sandy causing the untimely demise and death of a much revered civil servant cast in the old Bajan tradition of service to the country first and last.No inefficiency was to be condoned or tolerated under the watch of public officers during the middle to end of the 20th century Barbados.For the Dems like Sandy,Thompson,Stuart and Inniss the mantra was and is…”…wunna had wunna day,now it is we day,we gine do as we like wid wunna money”

2. PDYR.ole fart lol you trying to hang on to Artexeres coat tails to score brownie points
    Lol again… you did not even understand the comment but in true PDYR style tried to attack ac and to make stupid remarks until you were awaken to the facts. Lol more and more everday you are proving yourself be an ole fossils .

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The same Slime was asked to put $50K into an computer training programme to support 2500 people a programme that would have taught them how to learn to code over 3 years.”

It’s much more satisfying for them to to sponsor wukups, watch bajans make asses of themselves shooting and stabbing each others.

The ACs are thieves and plagarists, they wait for you to post something sensible, then wait a few more days to see if you are not monitoring the blog, then repost what you posted…as theirs.

I warned these thieving ACs about this since last year.

The ministers stealing from the taxpayers….their yardfowls stealing from bloggers and everyone else…ya surrounded by thieves.

Watch how ya putting out ideas,

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole fart, Neanderthal and Stoopid Poster boy voted up your down comment pun de ole man heheheheh

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….ah heard something is not quite right in the yardfowls party….ah heard they got major problems. I am sure social media will pick up the details shortly.

The yardfowls hearts must be heavy…lol

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is only because this New York bombing crime thread was started here that I persist periodically to revisit it briefly.

I wanted to speak to the “purpose of the target” which might confuse a few initially but will be understood in a few seconds.

Chelsea demographics shed a “spotlight” on these more than 5 explosives of which one was successfully detonated and the others miraculously found by divine intervention across this community with an Average Household Net Worth of $1.2 million dollars.

It should not take you sharper readers too much brain power to understand the purpose of the target particularly as the polls indicate the shortfalls that certain campaigners are experiencing witching a specific segment of the upper middle class and anglophone Caucasians.

The second bevy of bombs was discovered by two men who were searching a garbage bin for food (dem did not say this but it is obvious) and came across a container that looked like if it had items of value in it.

Now, mind you, the object of IED placement is to be nondescript and not to attract attention but such was not the fortune of these multiple bombs.

Steupseee and dem tink people stupid.

But this just speaks to the level of depravity of the party involved, that they would stoop sooooo low to secure this demographics votes through fear

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, take your 7:29 AM remarks, particularly the inference from your comment (suitably edited, loll):”But this just speaks to the level of [intent] of the party involved..” and wrap it around the quote below and I think you will agree that D. Trump has unleashed a side of the US populace that is directly and diametrically opposed to the rise of all things Obama…long live the Birther movement and ‘Tea Party’ acolytes.

+++ “Trump has only been actively soliciting cash for a few months, but when he reveals his campaign’s financials later this week they will show he has crushed the total haul from small-dollar donors of the last two Republican nominees, John McCain and Mitt Romney — during the ENTIRETY of their campaigns. (all emphasis my own)

All told, Trump is approaching, and has possibly already passed, $100 million from donors who have given less than $200, according to an analysis of available Federal Election Commission filings… It is a threshold no previous Republican has EVER achieved in a single campaign. And Trump has done so less than three months after signing his first email solicitation for donors on June 21 — a staggering speed to collect such a vast sum.

“I’ve never seen anything like this,” said a senior Republican operative who has worked closely with the campaign’s small-dollar fundraising operation. “He’s the Republican Obama in terms of online fundraising.”+++

If he wins the presidency…look out America. If he loses the presidency…BEWARE America!

8. @ De Word

Your last remark Look Out/Beware is profound

9. @ AC

While this poster that I promised last night but could not deliver due to other commitments is late, I now submit it for your customary ruminations.

I submit it in the context of Crime and (inept) Political Solutions while I express solidarity with the remarks of the Honourable Blogmaster’s submissions that come from the twin island of T&T and their assessment of the wastage of respective government on the transient activities of football and these other sports that are designed to titillate the feeble minded and the socio-economically disadvantaged

The thing is that you and the David Thompson crew are famous for giving that which only you can provide, “more of less” until you achieve your personal best which is “everyting of nothing” as waste foops do.

Enjoy

http://imgur.com/a/8J7lc

10. @WW&C look closely i am rolling my eyes

@PDYR…oh you forgot about free bus fare for school children maybe you can add that as a wasted foop on your stoopid cartoon list

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The taxpayers pay for the children’s bus fare ACs, not the frauds in parliament, and only because the squatters in parliament are using it to grow empty headed like yaselves…

…… are the buses in good working condition yet, if any of the children get injured on those unstable and malfunctioning buses…will they ever be compensated.

Roll ya eyes at that.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece……we want a “stoopid cartoon” for the transport board malfunctioning buses…with Lashley driving.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

…..and only because the squatters in parliament are using it to grow empty headed yardfowls like yaselves…

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/ANRN304m54a

That’s the dude they got for the bombings in NY and NJ..such an amatuer, he will cause nothing hut trouble for his family.

15. @ AC

If you must copy or plagiarize as Artaxerxes has shown that you do, PLEASEEEE copy correctly!!

THe term IS NOT WASTED FOOP it is waste foop.

And secondly, the free bus fares are not a “waste foop” that is incorrect they are “a FECUNDITY”

Hold on a few seconds and de ole fat will give a cartoon that shows what the fecundity is about the free bus fares is.

For you to rool your varying body parts to

16. In the interim I would like you and your fellow Criminals in Politics to enjoy this Stoopid Poster

http://imgur.com/a/Bi8Pp

17. This Stoopid Poster is for AC of Legion

She cannot read too good and wrote the term “WASTED FOOP” as opposed to “waste foop”.

To help her to understand the subtle difference in the words the renown Stoopid Cartoon Author Piece O. D. Rock decided to show her the error of her ways.

This cartoon seeks to instruct the Doufus that the “free bus fares” that the Democratic Labour Party implemented are not a “waste foop”

But in fact a “FECUNDITY”

For what is the use of “free bus fares for all school children, island wide” when not one single bus that the DLP government operates is working?

How can people utilize said free bus fares?? are they going to use the leased Mercedes from Transtech?

http://imgur.com/a/3WirB

18. Here is an IADB report/paper on the issue of Crime in Barbados from the Crime and Violence in Barbados: IDB Series on Crime and Violence in the Caribbean for those who are interested

https://publications.iadb.org/handle/11319/7774

19. My thanks to AC and [[WW&C]] for the inspiration for the Waste Foop and Fecundity explanation around the “Free Bus Fares” subject of the Demonic Lying Party

Dear WW&C I should not have used your name in the same sentence with Assinine Cretin lest it set a blight upon thee heheheheheheheheheh

I did however put square brackets around your name to protect you from the she blight heheheheheheheheh

Never let it be said that the Neanderthal, and Stoopid Poster Boy and Ole Fart is unkind to his fellow colleagues in this battle against the Waste Foops, Wasted Foops and Fecundities

Whuloss, hold de ole man, i gine fall…..

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Piece, ya killing me.

21. PDYR

YAWNnnnnnnnnnn

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/5Qri304mIf9

Piece…this clearly proves that cops in the US wilfully and maliciously murder blacks, just look how they handled the accused bomber….and he shot 2 of the cops.

23. “the general mindset of cops when taking in “a negro” is “terminate with extreme prejudice” especially if dem wink at you, like how Val Kilmner winked at the fellers at the OK Coral in Tombstone.

I am serious. You do anything that they consider dissing them, andt the place is dark enough, you are grass.

The TWEP doctrine is entrenched in the mind of cops especially white cops because a skillfully written police report makes any cops sanctioned murder go away. (BUT THAT WAS BEFORE THE ADVENT OF SMART PHONES)

They “weighed” his firepower against (a) his value to the bombing investigations and (b) the circulating hype? and polotical implications and (c) their ability to ward of the ensuing flax of killing a suspect/perp in a high profile “international terrorism incident”.

Maybe they were also unsure as to how many cameras might have been closeby to record any of their “overly exuberant” responses.

When you profile those officer who went in for him I would wager that we will see a “healthy arrest record” that will be conspicuously devoid of the “kill the perps during their apprehension” modus.

It will come down to the senior officer on the scene and what they were instructed.

Having said that it is not always that you going encounter a feller who may run out of bullets on the other end of an encounter or what may suggest to you as the arresting offices that this man has a “do the KILL ME” attitude and the suspect does not project a “YOU AINT TAKING ME ALIVE” attitude.

Yet I am surprised cause he did shoot 2 of the cops and that is amazing in itself

http://ow.ly/enbq304nD0M

Piece…when ya see a lowlife republican like Bush the elder voting for the Democrat Killary…instead of the republicanTrump…ya know…Houston, we got a problem…..lol

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces…re “Yet I am surprised cause he did shoot 2 of the cops and that is amazing in itself”

WHY. You explained that action pellucidly with ” They “weighed” his firepower against (a) his value to the bombing investigations and (b) the circulating hype? and polotical implications and (c) their ability to ward of the ensuing flax of killing a suspect/perp in a high profile “international terrorism incident”. ”

Unless he had 10 more bombs strapped on and was about to run full bore into a crowd he was EXPECTED to be taken ALIVE for all the reasons you stated.

It’s one thing to kill an ‘innocent’ Black man – even with his hands-up’. It is a completely different thing to take out a terror suspect and deny oneself the chance to interrogate unless he poses a serious threat at the moment of capture. For that ‘stupidity’ the local cop (s) would face the wrath of federal officers.

And of course we would start wondering if your other scenarios re the affiliations to the Trumpster have merit. (smile)

Now we WILL really turn our attention to Mr Trump because the data being released on this man’s recent history sounds very much like the key-stone cop caper that pre-dated the 9-11 lapses in investigatory common-sense and it DOES give credence to Trump’s strident calls for more practical immigration analysis/investigation and that dangerous word ‘profiling’.

We can have a major chat on that word alone.

26. @PUDRYR

The most salient observation BU offers to your link to the IDB crime report is that it highlights the lack of research on crime in Barbados. Therefore we conclude that rejoicing about the report findings relating to Barbados is premature. It also is an indictment on our education system, especially at the tertiary level.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The police are lying, that cow for a cop wilfully killed that dude.

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences September 20, 2016 at 12:06 PM # re “The police are lying, that cow for a cop wilfully killed that dude.”….

When do we get tamp down the rhetoric and attempt to resolve this major issue of police instigated deadly force in a meaningful manner?

The officer certainly ‘willfully’ acted outside acceptable protocols and should be disciplined and fired (quite frankly). But to say she ‘willfully’ killed the man as if to suggest she deliberately took his life (in the absence of any basis for that), is blogging BS.

I would also say that someone needs to explain to me WTF is a BLACK man in this volatile environment doing walking towards his car with ‘1000’ police officers trailing behind with GUNS DRAWN and REACHES into said car.

What was he THINKING!

He is dead and whatever punishment is done to the officer who shot him or those who wandered around aimlessly for precious seconds before attempting to administer first aid, his life is over.

I do not condone that cowardly act by the cop. I condemn her lack of judgement and obvious unsuitability at that time to be placed in high-pressure situation.

Why did she not taze the man if she thought she needed to disable him?

And clearly, if ( as I do) we accept that every cop (white and black) sees every Black man as some ‘big, bad’ dude regardless of the situation then we have to play ‘possum’ every time we encounter a law officer…until we are told otherwise. Rather play possum than be really dead.

This foolishness feels so unreal. But death never is.

29. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

There are a few comments that are indicative of the regard that the IADB, rather the writer of the report, has inserted which shed light on the state of affairs and the reporting competencies of a few institutions, and more specifically, (or as Stinkliar would say pacifically”)

“ACCORDING to the police, gangs in Barbados use symbols to advertise their existence and
    turf….ACCORDING to the RBPF, the criminal activities associated with these groups are carried out in a distinctly informal manner and are distinguished from more structured gang activity in other countries)

It is as if the Police, and Barbados’ authorities, in vetting the report, went to great pains to make sure that the report downplayed the activities of the gangs and even sought to say that there were none

The report stated that among the “Institutional Framework for Addressing Violence and Crime in Barbados” the University of the West indies was one listed entity.

Could you hazard a guess why UWI is listed as an entity that Addresses Violence? Is this a sort of tangential reference like “if you are at the UWI, you wont become a criminal/violent person? the same could be said of schools or churches.

But I ingrunt Honourable Blogmaster so I cyan see these linkages widout um dropping pun me head like a breadfruit

Um is de recommendations/conclusions dat I did looking at which in brief state

“Few areas overlap in institutional focus…methods focus on care and counselling…an obvious deficit in the provision of secondary prevention…particular suppression…little attention paid to situational or community variables…

Well, de ole man got to read de whole ting dat gine tek a year and then I will have to do some comparative reading for the other jurisdictions so you dun know what that means.

David, we ent ready AND what is quite evident is that the people who sit on these interdiction and intervention committees are inept.

Fellers like Rodney Grant and Pinelands who are adept at the practical considerations of “overlap” suppression, and is versed in situational and community variables WILL NEVER FEATURE IN THESE SOLUTIONS cause dem KNOW THIS SHY#E inside out

So they are to be ignored while these old bembers get the gravvy train consultancies until the effer die and another set take over to milk the coffers of government.

Steupseeee

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedant. ..stop blogging crap…it’s a badge of honor still…to kill black people in the US, they are still hunted and murdered as a sport, using any excuse……doubt me.

Take a trip to the US as a big hardback black man and see for yourself….see if you last a year.

There is a killing club within the 1.5 million strong police force.

Jackass……

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedant…..vous devez toujours sur tout penser quand la réponse est juste en face de vous .

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And I would bet my last dollar it would be a white racist female cop to drop ya ass dead, she would sense ya stupidity.

33. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Short and to the point…….

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/JaGl304p9HN

Pedant…this killing of a black man by police, happened this afternion in NC…try overthinking it.

35. @ Dribbler
    And clearly, if ( as I do) we accept that every cop (white and black) sees every Black man as some ‘big, bad’ dude regardless of the situation then we have to play ‘possum’ every time we encounter a law officer…until we are told otherwise. Rather play possum than be really dead.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Spoken like a true, brass-bowl, mental slave …who has come to FULLY accept his place as a cowardly ‘yard boy’, who been ‘lucky’ enough to be allowed to serve his master faithfully in exchange for being allowed to live off the plantation scraps.

Oh shiite man!!! …this attitude represents the worse of the worst of human pride and self value. ….Bushie would rather die one hundred deaths.. before succumbing to such depths of self pity and cowardice…
    …and coming from a Black man…. molded in the very IMAGE of BBE, and carrying his DNA, your pitiful rant is particularly distressing….

Cowards die 1000 deaths…

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Why do I believe that the bombing in Chelsea was orchestrated?

The mainstay and only message that Donald Trump has been pushing has been a xenophobia islamophobia, build the Wall America is for Americans chant and hypnotic aum ma in pad meh um.

It is much like de ole man posters heheheheh vote all de effers out, constantly until it is all that you hear or see.

If you listen to Trump s political platform and that of his son Skittles you slowly? start to realize the button that the Donald is pushing and that Americans who for the most part hate outsiders inside America, are swallowing whole.

Can anyone give one specific policy or program that Trump has detailed per his plans for America??

There are none.

So these increasing incidents have one single focus which is to say

“The immigrants and Mexicans and Muslims are bombers, rapists and murderers. Hillary cannot keep them out see how they are just turning up every day. This is Hilary’s fault she and Obama formed ISIS.

Now mind your up until 2015 there were roughly 80 incidents of a terrorism type basis in the us for the last 10 years but suddenly, The Donald is running and America is besieged by more civil disturbances in one year than in 5 years.

People are not stupid.

He was talking all over his mouth when he came off the craft to announce the bomber incident almost simultaneous to it happening.

Yet, when it was determined that the bomber had been taken alive, whereas the had killed the patsie niggers, not one effing word for the entire night!!!

Does that mean that the faction did not expect there to be a survivor and for there to be a live link to the source of the bomb plot???

As the Donald would say “I don’t know” but wunna is bright peeple join the dots.

The man’s wife left the US days ago, it was not expected that he was to be taken alive, this was not a random jihadist mission, this is a concerted plot orchestrated with one objective in mind.

If wunna doubt de ole man watch the debate on Wednesday and observe where the focus is going to be for the Donald.

De ole man predicteth that he will focus on securing the borders of the United States , her email, and the foreigners.

He won’t be able to carry any papers in as cue cards but, like his daughter did with the earphone in her ear, below the hair, he will also require the prompting of his team to answer the questions on how will he manage the economy and what is his foreign policy going to be

They are going to grill that man and between now and next week, if someone does not bump the bomber off, one or two revelations will make someone’s camp very lively

37. Bushie
    A few nights ago I turned off my tv and sat meditating, as I often do.
    I saw a light shining at the bottom and lock area of my back door, so I turned on my light and then turned it off again and walked to the front of the house. Next thing I heard is you in their show some Id to show you not a burglar

I replied WHY?
    This is Sanford Police. Then the man beating on my front door
    I said why you beating on my door man.
    The reply was Someone reported they heard an alarm at this number.
    I said we have no alarm.

NOW THIS IS THE IGNORANT WAY THE SANFORD POLICE OUGHT TO INVESTIGATE A REPORT OF AN ALARM IN A GATED COMMUNITY
    THESE POLICE ARE IGNORANT

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word

No policing force in the world can, based on the antiquated methodologies they are currently utilizing, profile “a clean skin”

The second thing that the Americans and the rest of the western governments are failing to see is that the indoctrination is NOT Iman or male centric anymore the clean skins I.e. men are being turned by the women.

It is a new phenomena which we males cannot see, cannot detect and cannot, in the current matrix of contra radicalism interventions, plan against.

The pokkerts is being integrated into the radicalization!!!

The intelligence services have eyes but see not and, they are now playing a game of catchup via the persistent data gateway strategy that Facebook, Whatsapp FaceTime and these other social networks signed onto last year.

The problem De Word is how can the NSA tell that you have been turned when you went to Pakistan to marry your 14 year old bride?

And the answer is right in front of them and they are not seeing it.

The profiling is not going to work, that is outdated and the “enemy” has evolved beyond that blatant camp ground in Syria for their training.

Read the new software agreements on your upgraded Windows, Apple, Whatsapp etc and you will see the cyberprofiling that you and I are part of and don’t have a clue!!!

Leh we jes go and wuk up content as we are to live in blissful ignorance

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea September 20, 2016 at 10:06 PM # re “Spoken like a true, brass-bowl, mental slave …who has come to FULLY accept his place as a cowardly ‘yard boy’, who been ‘lucky’ enough to be allowed to serve his master faithfully in exchange for being allowed to live off the plantation scraps.”

I am often disappointed by your absolutely irrational remarks offered simply to voice your standard screed re brass-bowlery. If you perceive that ANY Black man who is stopped by a police officer in the US is being ‘cowardly’ when they basically play possum or in better descriptive terms act extremely deferential then you are simply being ‘powaful foolish’ or in standard English: STUPID.

Unfortunately I speak from too many years of reading of persons like you who adopt the ‘I am man’ rhetoric at the wrong time. And then I speak of very direct personal experience.

So Mr BushTea when confronted by a police office anywhere in the US I will ‘serve that master’ for those 20 – 30 minutes and ideally live to fight another day. You sir are free to be as ‘powa-ful’ as you like. We both may live to see 100, and trust me that my dignity will be as intact as yours regardless of how I act before that officer. He does not determine my self-worth.

@Well Well & Con…of course I am a ‘jackass’ to assert that this ridiculous rhetoric between cops and citizens be tamped down…smh!

I have had my fair share of traffic stops over the years from travelling in the US and beyond. Some simply the driving-while-Black variety. For example, making a LEFT turn from the LEFT turning lane at a traffic light controlled T-junction ( I had to turn left, so I created no hazard); yet I was ticketed for not using my indicator. I was so pissed that I did mouth-off rather boldly on that occasion and got my backside an expensive trip to court.

The bottom line is that police actions re deadly force are an ingrained part of their process and training and we as Blacks need to tamp down to save OUR own lives.

There was an incident recently reported (which surely you in your one-sided rhetoric may have missed) where an officer was FIRED because he did NOT use DEADLY force to take down a man but rather ‘talked’ him down. Although the situation was accepted as that of a mentally disturbed man seeking ‘death by police’ in the subsequent investigation, the officer was still cited for placing his colleagues’ lives at risk and was summarily dismissed.

So yes we are all aware of the tone of police behaviour re Black intervention. Stating the obvious every time there is an incident solves nothing.

And of course we need to agitate loudly and call out the cops on their tainted behaviour but we also need to be practical and as self-aware as possible to ensure we stay alive.

The bluster that Bushie (and you, maybe) proffer is a senseless and ultimately deadly, stupid bravado.

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, re”The profiling is not going to work, that is outdated and the “enemy” has evolved beyond that blatant camp ground in Syria for their training.” AND “Read the new software agreements … and you will see the cyberprofiling that you and I are part of and don’t have a clue!!!”

That is the rub: what exactly is ‘profiling’ today!

It is a politically toxic word because of the history of its use: ‘all Italians are Mafioso’, ‘all Blacks are criminals’ (and for a brief period on America’s Most Wanted, that was All Jamaicans are criminals, lol) and of course recently all ‘Mexicans are crooks and rapists’.

However, we profile every damn day, have been doing it personally (when seeking partners) for centuries and absolutely must continue in very practical and real terms to do so forever.

As it to relates to terrorism you have noted the reality that NSA, FBI, CIA et al ‘profile’ based on metrics well beyond ‘being Muslim’ and other ‘outdated’ boundaries. Clearly that is as nonsensical as it is to determine that all Brazilians can play or even like football.

The intel community must profile based on sites visited…how they manage the legality and practical aspects of monitoring millions of hits to a site is clearly the problem. They must profile based on countries visited whether to seek brides or to take vacation. And surely when young men who have lived their entire lives (95% of) in the US take extended trips to the ‘ole country’ of their parents and said country happens to be related to terror based activities then they need to profile and create intrusive long-term surveillance. Of course, easier said than executed over years when a suspect can go quiet with no further suspicious activity.

However, this latest actor in NY/NJ mimics the behavior of the Boston terror actors and that must be a major concern for any intel pro right now.

BTW, to profile in my view is akin to looking for a book by going to the library; then going to the section on Thrillers to get an action book on thrill-seeking. Makes no sense going to the Food section for that type book, does it…

We gine all get we backsides ‘profiled’ nuff, nuff….dated or not, as you suggest they already in we tail!

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.theroot.com/articles/news/2016/09/report-disabled-black-man-shot-dead-by-police-while-reading-in-the-car/

Keep overthinking it until one of those killer cop confronts you with their loaded gun.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pedant…ya just a plain jackass.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word

Should have said “current Profiling is outdated” since what the US is seeing is (a) incomplete itineraries from which they obviously can deduce nothing and (b) they HAVE NO MECHANISM for the new type of “clean Skin” who is being radicalized by females

Simply put, if a female gang member of the Skin Out Panty gang had come to the court yard with the weapon discovered on that yute by the security guard at Coleridge Street, “she would not have been frisked”

We do not pat down females in Muslim countries because we risk all sorts of issues regarding male armed forces patting down a female.

I want you to project that rationale into the radicalization domain of investigation and detection of indoctrination and see why the new modus, with its triple layer of deployment is being missed.

They are looking in the wrong place.

The wife has gone back to be “recycled” for want of a better term which means no insult to women but, like your reasoning with these encounters with cops in the US, has been said as a statement of fact.

When you encounter white cops, in a secluded area, where you are not 200% in possession of camera AND VOCAL AND PUBLIC AND LEGAL AND THE WORD OF GOD CONFIRMATION THAT YOU CAN TALK BACK, OR DO ANYTHING THAT GOING GET THOSE STATE SANCTIONED KILLERS RILED, PLAY “POSSUM”

Imagine that the policeman’s badge says “this is my license to kill you, NO QUESTIONS ASKED, instead of, “to protect and to serve”

I looked at that aerial camera footage as that man walked back to his car and I have one question to ask anyone here.

Which of you can tell me if, in the unrecorded verbal exchange between the officer(s)? and the dead driver she/they did not, in clear view of the circling cameras say to that man “go back to your car and bring me your driver’s licence and insurance?”

And then kill him in clear view of the cameras?

Which of us viewing that video can gainsay that her soon to be public statement of defence, corroborated by those other officers on the scene, that the man was not obeying the instructions to stop where he was and they feared he had a gun in the vehicle?

Sometimes a wise man has to play the part of a fool or end up very dead.

(Just in case, for the Internet grammar police, the noun carries the “c” the verb the “s” but Americans mess up everything)

44. @PUDRYR

Do we know if the police at the scene has teasers on their belts?

Was there another way to deal with the situation? Yes the man was an idiot if he refused to adhere to police commands but…

45. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, it is reported that the man WAS ‘tased’. It so happens he was also shot at the same time because of an officer’s unsuitability to ‘command and control’ or rather because the officer is trained to do as she did and get away with it.

It was also reported in one article I read that a cop (this same female officer) who was first on the scene had looked (maybe just a quick scan) into the front of the car when Mr Crutcher was walking ‘from the side of the road’ (presumably from out of the woods after a leak??). There was no report that the officer said that a gun or other weapon was evident from that quick review by .

Ipso…@Pieces’ point of the man being directed to get his DL/Insur is quite a reasonable interpretation. That has happened before and was seen on camera when that gentleman was shot on the ‘tarmac’ of a gas station when reaching for his credentials on orders of the cop.

The intrigue to all this is the fact that only one officer fired a gun. At least three officers were there. One shot rang out, one taser went off, the other dd not engage! That alone speaks volumes.

The other intrigue is to see how the officers retreated from a man lying prone and bleeding to death on the road-way…as if he was still an imminent threat. Maybe he was strapped with explosives and thus that also contributed to the 2 minute delay in going to his assistance.

And of course in the proverbial Hollywood script/reality show context: Female officer one who authored the deadly gun strike just happens to be the wife of the officer in the helicopter who said, ““I got a feeling that’s about to happen,” re a taser strike. That should make for a few months of interesting spousal chatter before the wife is kicked off the force and charged!

@WW&C, do have a great day. I know there is enough room for a ‘plain jackass’ like me in a world of ‘fancy thoroughbreds’ like you. ‘Un embrazo’ as my Spanish friends would say.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

According to the report from the Associated Press one of them did.

This is an excerpt of their coverage

“…Shelby’s lawyer says Crutcher ignored officers’ commands, kept touching his pocket and was reaching through one of the vehicle’s windows when she fired. A fellow officer drew a stun gun to shock Crutcher….”

Mind you they show us all of the dead man’s movements and his hands never reach for his pockets.

Additionally the man is seen trying to open the door and never once reaching through the window.

She killed that man like if he was just a trophy or a notch on her gun butt, that was an initiation into the brotherhood of the state sanctioned version of the Klu Klux Klan with Badges.

@ Dr. Georgie Porgie.

You are not a black man that plays.

You are a successful professional living in a gated community and I don’t know your particulars but I will hazard a guess that you are not loved dearly in your gated community.

I mean no disrespect not impute no derogatory commentary on you as an individual but, “an alarm from your number? When you do not have an alarm? at that hour of the night?

I would advise you to make an immediate investment in some perimeter cameras with the capacity to record all activities outside your house and AND IMMEDIATELY POST TO THE INTERNET WITH BACKUP STORAGE.

That sounds real fishy as either a late night attempt to have you open your door to robbers OR GET YOU A WHUPPING OR WORSE BY STANTON POLICE.

Whu after all what is a black man doing in a gated community if he ain’t teifing!!!

Remember this from de ole man.

Anytime you hears de words “he gots a gun” dat is going to be you moment befo de “your personal rapture” and not the Real One

Any night dat de police turns up at de ole man house, I know dat dem coming fuh reward me fuh my prosecution of de Remington 30.07 matter and de Nazzim Blackett commentary

I doan do drugs nor does I run drugs or arms nor does I BREK de law, I got one vice and I does try to control dat but …

Remember get external cameras and get your YouTube channel and upload every piece uh jobby, dem doan like dat but um does keep yo alive ok….

47. Dribbler
    People with your mentality kept us in slavery for 400 years.
    It took ‘Jamaican type’ thinking and actions to bring about change, and it will take current ‘Charlotte-type’ actions to redress the current mess.

Jokers like you who shiver in their panties only reinforce the idea that blacks are no more than pets who need to be trained and controlled, rather than equal (superiors really) who need to be respected – even if not liked.

No one is talking about being rude to police. But in GP’s example above, you would have crawled out of your house on your belly – in front of your family, begging not to be shot… as opposed to GP who told the cop to bug off – he have the wrong address.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word

You can’t be serious!!!

Dave Shelby, Betty Shelby’s husband was in the effing helicopter!!!

They killed that effing nigger!!

And recorded the shy@e!!!

This is an orchestration of national discontent and unrest that we are seeing being played out by actors positioned in the system.

“My hubby was there to video my blooding!!!”

In-effing-credible!!!