Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In an effort to recover monies owed to the Student Revolving Loan Fund by delinquent borrowers, the Student Revolving Loan Fund Management Committee (Committee) has resorted to naming and shaming delinquents by publishing their names in the print media. I wish the Committee well in its efforts but I am afraid that it is going to be difficult to shame persons who seem to be devoid of any conscience. They made use of the funds and now have no compunction about not repaying so that others can benefit, as they did.

Many of these heartless defaulters had asked friends and family members to be guarantors. Now that the loans are in arrears, these kind-hearted souls are left holding the bag and are required to repay the debt. Unfortunately, in many cases, the guarantors are retired public officers who rely solely on their pensions to keep body and soul together. And now without showing any mercy, the Committee has issued instructions to the Accountant General to garnish their pensions.

I do not know if the Accountant General has acted upon those instruction but the Committee will soon find out, if they have not already done so, that it has no authority to issue those instructions.

Pensions granted to retired public officers are intended to maintain the pensioners’ quality of life, and can only be levied upon in very limited circumstances. Regrettably, satisfying another person’s commitments to the Student Revolving Loan Fund does not qualify. Section 15 of the Pensions Act states:

15. A pension, gratuity or other allowance granted under this Act shall not be assignable or transferable except for the purpose of satisfying

(1) a debt due to the Crown or a debt due to the Housing Authority under the Public Officers Housing Loan Fund Rules, 1958;

(2) an order of any court for the periodical payment of sums of money towards the maintenance of the wife or former wife or minor child of the officer to whom the pension, gratuity or other allowance has been granted, and shall not be liable to be attached, sequestered or levied upon for or in respect of any debt or claim whatever except a debt due to the Crown or a debt due to the Housing Authority under the Public Officers Housing Loan Fund Rules, 1958.

The Student Revolving Loan Fund is not the wife or minor child of any of the guarantors and it is certainly not the Crown. It is a statutory board established by section 3 of the Student Revolving Loan Fund Act. Section 4 established the Student Revolving Loan Fund Management Committee, and goes on to say at subsection (2):

“The Committee shall be a body corporate and section 21 of the Interpretation Act, Cap. 1 applies thereto”.

For the purposes of this article, part of subsection (1) is relevant, it states:

21. (1) Where an Act passed after the 16th June 1966, contains words establishing, or providing for the establishment of, a body corporate and applying this section to that body those words shall operate-

(a) to vest in that body when established-

(i) the power to sue in its corporate name;

(ii) the power to enter into contracts in its corporate name, and to do so that, in relation to third parties, the body shall be deemed to have the same power to make contracts as an individual has;…

This does not mean that a guarantor, who is a government pensioner, does not have to repay the loan in the event that the borrower fails to honour his/her commitments to the fund. It means that the Committee would have to take those pensioners/guarantors to court to see if they have any means to pay, other than their pensions.

While I condemn, in the strongest terms, those borrowers who refuse to repay their debt to the Student Revolving Loan Fund, the Committee must share in the blame for accepting men of straw to be guarantors.

130 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Student Revolving Loan Fund: Guarantors Left Holding the Bag”

1. They are others of higher pedigree heavily indebted to the Training and the Agricultural Credit bank loan funds. Why not publish their names too now we are in the business of shaming?

2. I see with ND being on line people now want to call names , but not the names of the ones who cause all things to fall out of line, The Big ups names need to be printed first called first for all things roll down hill,

3. The loans need to be repaid cherry picking who should pay and who should not pay is not the answer , there is a debt which was signed as a promissory note to repay govt. all the long talk about who should repay the loan is an exercise in futility, Those who signed the dotted line as a commitment did not waiver their right as a pensioner or non pensioner not to repay the debt
    Barbados has found itself between the devil and the deep blue sea too many so called intellectuals would be the proverbial death nail of this beloved nation

4. a nation cannot be financially sustained efficiently when there are those in society rich poor black or white who takes for granted that they are somewhat entitled to taxpayers money without govt having the right to pursue avenues for compensation. A loan is not a give way of taxpayers money
    The defaulter owes a debt a contract signed by the guarantor does relives him or her of any right to renege, In any event unless that person can show with all reasonableness the inability to pay there are legal avenues to pursue for such dispute
    The notion that a piece o legislation which was vaguely written can appease or wipe away a debt owed to taxpayers is a legal hurdle of unconscionable proportions which should be address with haste in the court
    Setting any kind of precedent that would depreciate what is best in the national interest of the country should be avoided at any cost,
    The bottom line being the betterment of country comes first anything else is secondary

5. Ac says “the bottom line being the betterment of the country comes first,anything thing else is secondary”….
    Ac,how about telling that to the many corrupt members of parliament on both sides of the aisle but in particular the DLP side where the number is so great it’s an embarrassment to Fumble Dolittle.

6. @Caswell

As per usual some do not like to read. Perhaps on your behalf BU can restate the thesis statement of your article. Those who borrowed from the SRLF should repay BUT according to the law you quoted it is illegal for the government to garnish the pension of civil servants.

#theJAs

7. a nation cannot be financially sustained efficiently when there are those in society rich poor black or white who takes for granted that they are somewhat entitled to taxpayers money without govt having the right to pursue avenues for compensation. A loan is not a give way of taxpayers money
    The defaulter owes a debt a contract signed by the guarantor does not relive him or her of any right to renege. In any event unless that person can show with all reasonableness the inability to pay there are legal avenues to pursue for such dispute
    The notion that a piece of legislation which was vaguely written can appease or wipe away a debt owed to taxpayers is a legal hurdle of unconscionable proportions which should be address with haste in the court
    Setting any kind of precedent that would depreciate what is best in the national interest of the country should be avoided at any cost,
    The bottom line being the betterment of country comes first anything else is secondary

8. @ AC

The devil took David Thompson as part-payment , for sure you AC are of no value to the DLP deal

9. For your observation Courts have have overturned laws when it came to national interest
    my argument goes beyond what is right for a pensioner but for those seeking the fund in the future who might find it much harder to access funding because of stipulations that grant defaulters a right to renege
    Saying that it is ok is not always ok especially when the fallout is detrimental to those who might be deserving

10. Who is the committee of this ‘Loan Fund’?
    Any bets that it comprises a bunch of misfits and lackies – who are there for the couple dollars they get for attending meetings?

The first names to be published should be these, and previous committees, who sat around on their asses while the situation deteriorated …and who now seek to take the easiest, most inept route to recovering the outstanding funds.

Brass bowls to the letf of us
    brass bowls to the right
    brass bowls ahead of us…
    and a pack of bullers behind us…..

Damned place is doomed.

11. Somehow the point that the blogger Mr. Franklyn is making and that the Honourable Blogmaster is repeating is lost on the rabble.

It is by law illegal for the pensions of the guarantors to be garnished under these particular circumstances ACCORDING TO THE LAW.

Let de ole man explain whu I unnerstand.

25 years ago when I was did 40, i tek pun meself to stand guarantor for me chile, or me brudder chile, or de next door neighbour chile or somebody at de church.

De Revolving Student Loan Committee look at me job at de time and say dat it reach de requirements of supporting de loan actuarially and they estimated that the party needful of the loan would have by that time repaid it.

Dem did not and at age 65 I retire (unlike de feller dat acting as DPP who dem trying to extend he post tuh offset dem prosecution when de BLP wash dem out) and ent wukking for de $600/week no more.

Now only getting 1/4 of dat as me pension but me expenses has increased since afta all de food, light, water when it get to my house stink wid rust, gone up

All i got is me pension to meet me expenses so that “actuarilly computed calculation” ent mean diddly to me critical path expenses AND, since de student ent want to pay back dem loan and wunna now coming tuh me in my pernicious circumstances.

Which bring de ole man to George Orwell’s 1994 and the Certificate of Character.

The prerequisite of every job as well as immigration procedures brings with it the requirement of a current Certificate of Character.

Maybe, while it solidifies the “every man shall not buy or sell without a number” construct, it might be wise that an enhanced Certificate of Character will have a CODE, much like the Tax People have a E.I.N number, which ties all recipient students to the Student Revolving Loan facility and, upon their gaining a job, here or elsewhere, the specific authorities are apprised of their income for direct garnishes to be made to that income.

And doan tell de ole man dat i cyan get done especially effing dem garnishing me pension fuh dat ungrateful pickni next door.

But of course that would mean taking the recipient and not the guarantor and that is not what these people want to do anyways.

Having said that, one still has to consider the working poor conundrum that faces thousand of the student loan recipients for years after they get a job.

12. Neanderthal i understand the legal fall out from the piece of crappy legislation, However my concerns of expression goes beyond what is written in the legislation hence i prefix in one comment by stating that remedy to that piece of legislation should be address in the court ,
    After all it is the taxpayers money that is of high risk and some one would have to pay it back at some point and time including you ole fart
    not one quick to join the band wagon of legal gymnastics without weighing all the actors and risk involved to a society

Signed
    Country First

13. there are plenty ole pensioners on BU who have no qualms about refusing to pay for anything so it would not be surprising if their value of self interest supersedes the value of country interest
    Hence the quickness of protectionism over the over ridding aspects that would serve others needing to access the fund
    this kind of persuasive mentality of greed is a sure momentum which eventually would push the island into total financial darkness, the writing is on the wall.

14. I know of one case where a family member signed as a guarantor and the borrower, who now lives and works in Florida, refuses to pay. The SRLF issues directions to the Accountant General to garnish the guarantor’s pension.

The guarantor is angry because while the borrower was delinquent, he came back to Barbados and applied for a grant from the Ministry of Education to do his masters which he got.

My understanding is that his father lives in Ronald Jones’ constituency and happens to be one of his canvassers.

15. @ Caswell,

“While I condemn, in the strongest terms, those borrowers who refuse to repay their debt to the Student Revolving Loan Fund, the Committee must share in the blame for accepting men of straw to be guarantors.”
    Why sully a very informative article by taking a dig at the Committee , a Ronald Jones constituent etc.
    This is one of the many reasons that we cannot progress. We must always pelt in some kind of party/political nonsense.

16. Caswell
    Never mind William’s attempt at muzzling this press.Its not going to work.Caswell name the sumbeetch stocksupper.

17. Graduates usually get higher salaries than non-graduates. Graduates are also the backbone of the brain drain.
    Why should poorly educated people pay taxes to educate graduates who see them as social inferiors and look down upon them?
    There are two solutions: either make parents take out insurance cover for their children’s education, or introduce a graduate tax. There is nothing called free university education.

18. Do you comprehend that many who search out guarantors do do become of their weak financial state?

19. The punishment for those defaulters living overseas would be that of govt supplying their names and information to appropriate credit rating services in that country a sure and safe way of denying them any source of credit funding world wide
    A guaranteed punishment that these defaulters would have want no part of and one which would force them to finding a resolution to repaying the Student Loan living in a global community has privileges that can defeat such criminal activity

20. @ William
    ..and why should the committee not share (TAKE) the blame….?
    Who do you blame the borrowers who came to realise that only idiots bothered to pay back because there were no consequences for not doing so…?
    The only blame higher than the committee is the damn ministers who appoint the jokers…

21. @ ac
    The punishment for those defaulters living overseas would be that of govt supplying their names and information to appropriate credit rating services in that country a sure and safe way of denying them any source of credit funding world wide
    Well said.
    How about the same prescription for those defaulters who refuse to give back the CLICO funds stolen from thousands of policy holders…?
    …or does Froon only have the names of the defrauded ..and not the non-leper defrauders?

22. @ AC or Cuntry First

No one here seeks to remove any liability from the guarantor of the loan.

We all understand well the construct and its mechanism to be replenished as the name suggests doufus.

The author of this article gave explicit circumstances and provides recourse to John and Jane doe retirees who may find themselves in circumstances where they cannot pay a cent.

Cuntry First, I know that you vex because i exposed your standing in the DLP as a Nobody but try not to get on so vehement when dealing with the points in front of you.

Oooops, actually do continue arguing in your usual bombastic manner replete with your grammatical assasinations of the English Language.

Such will fan the flames that show the general populace how profoundly illiterate you and the rest of you are.

The bright feller gone church right??

Whuloss now we got to put up with you for the rest of the day till he come back?

Signed

De Neanderthal, Stoopid Cartoon Poster Boy

23. We should not debate about the defaulting loans. The default was predictable, given the poor financial status of Barbadian society. People can hardly pay for food. How should they pay back a big loan?

We should talk about education. The stream of new students will soon end. Only the children of ministers, judges, high bureaucrats, pastors and businessmen will have the necessary funds to study in Bim. Everybody else not. In essence, we are back to colonial and planterยดs age. Soon we will lack enough doctors and other professions, limiting national productivity even more than now during the Great Depression.

In my opinion, young people are best advised to study abroad in Scandinavia or Germany, where they do not charge any fees, and stay there to work. Why suffering here if you have it easy elsewhere?

24. @Bush Tea

The suggestion is simplistic. To institute what is called substitution services is very expensive and we know the reason this government, according to Caswell, is breaking the law by going after pensioners is because it is broke.

25. Good point Tron.

Do we not have credit unions and banks having to write off loans because the financial circumstances of borrowers and guarantors have changed for the worse?

26. @ Caswell

Please forgive my lack of comprehension skills, but are you trying to state in your article that:

1) Pensioners who were guarantors of delinquent individuals, who received funds from the SRLF, should NOT repay as stipulated by the agreement.

2) Or, although you agree that guarantors should be made to repay, it would be ILLEGAL for government to GARNISH their pensions under the current terms of the Pensions Act, (which I interpret your article is suggesting)..

If the answer is (2), then why would anyone interpret your article to indicate you are trying to state pensioners SHOULD NOT REPAY, implying nonsense about โ€œcountry first,โ€ unless of course they are attaching their personal political motives/agenda to this issue.

27. PDYR

Nincompoop everybody makes grammatical errors so what is your point
    Your enthusiasm to correct my flaws makes me wonder how perfect are you ? your quickness to point flaws is a definite tell of your own insecurity now back to your stoopid poster board 2018 is quickly approaching . BTW i do recall your stating that election year was 2017
    not a grammatical error but a floating of an in- factual misguided untruth so there you have it no one is perfect

28. Hmmmmmโ€ฆ.. โ€œnot a grammatical error?โ€ โ€ฆโ€ฆ. um is โ€œUN-FACTUAL,โ€ not โ€œin-factual.โ€ Unless you are INFACTUA(TED) with PUDRYR.

Hahahahahaโ€ฆ

29. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@ Caswell,

โ€œWhile I condemn, in the strongest terms, those borrowers who refuse to repay their debt to the Student Revolving Loan Fund, the Committee must share in the blame for accepting men of straw to be guarantors.โ€

I thought this was a fair statement. Non-repayment of student loans did not start yesterday and those responsible for lending should have been aware of this and made necessary adjustments. They should not be given a get-out-of-jail-free card.

As always, well written.

30. Here we go again ! What arrogance on Artax part to indicate from my commentary there is a statement in the articles suggesting that Pensioners SHOULD NOT REPAY,
    hate to bow to that level of discourse by having to correct another untruth , but what i have stated that the law gives influence and a right of passage for pensioners to renege on the loan and a court remedy would be necessary to seek resolution

31. @Franklyn

I fact the STUDENT LOAN REVOLVING FUND is in fact a Crown Agency and therefore any pensioner guarantors are on the hook to have their pensions garnished.

People who guarantee loans have to realize that they maybe on the hook for repayment of said loans.

Stop moaning and pay up.

32. @ Bush Tea
    The Committee acted in good faith. Those who backed the loans acted in good faith. This matter should have been addressed decades ago but as usual we waited until a crisis to act. We have those who believe that free university education is a right bequeathed by Barrow and it should never be touched- utter nonsense. We have those seeking opportunistic political gain, conveniently forgetting that these bad loans were left unattended by both the Dees and the Bees, knowing full well that we were struggling with our obligations to the UWI.
    I would recommend that those who backed these ungrateful students be offered a settlement of 50 % of monies owed with enough time to settle , so that they will get some ease in repayment.
    @ Hal Austin,
    Great ideas with which I agree
    @ Gabriel,
    There is freedom of expression and then there is sheer foolishness. Are we going to publish each loan backer’s constituency, his or her party affiliation etc. Soon we will be asking court reporters to do the same.

33. Artax

Re: your comment at 9:37

# 2 is correct. At first I did not understand your reference to country first. I had to read comments from “AC” which I wouldn’t ordinarily do.

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Caswell, excellent review of the legal quandary facing the SLRF committee. I would have loved to see your analysis of why these loans have not been paid over these many years and a full-throttled view of why the actual student borrowers have not been hunted and ‘liened’ upon heavily for the monies.

Frankly it would have been even more excellent – with your awesome analyticalally and legal nous – to hear your views on how these many comfortable Bajans (notwithstanding the economic peril) have completely pulled the rug from beneath the feet of prospective UWI students.

Yes. The selfish, I-getting-mine mentality has contributed to the fund being NON-revolving.

Bush Tea’s committee jokers and the “idiots [not] bothered to pay back because there were no consequences for not doing so” have all contrived to bring us the new tuition fees at UWI.

But all good…the monies go to exorbitant and unnecessary cell phone data plans; to annual sojourns to distant places and diversions and vastly overpriced strips of cloths to jam-n-whine.

Why should they honour loans when as the man said there are ” no consequences” and they have to enjoy life.

35. William

You usually exhibit more common sense. The constituency is relevant in the case I cited. This borrower was delinquent and then applied to the Ministry of Education for a grant. He was given a grant. I believe that the fact that the delinquent’s father is one of Jones’ canvassers is relevant. Under ordinary circumstances, delinquents would not be entitled to grants.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Willam, all true re years of neglect. But just a slight note. Like many of you here I know a few people who signed as guarantors and a few loanees too. I know of the many letters and threats issued. I know of loan takers stepping up to their obligation. And like all of you I know of those who did not step up primarily because of political cover.

So with that I suggest that your ” those who backed these ungrateful students be offered a settlement of 50 % of monies” be amended as : “those who took the loans should have all wages garnished accordingly and sought in their foreign domiciles via reputable collection services”.

@Tron noted above how credit worthiness can be affected. Let there be consequences.

But as @Caswell stated so eloquently in sotto-voce this is a total political boon-dongle. There is no true will to resolve this issue as too many political acolytes are given these soft loans with an understanding that there is no need for repayment.

Sad to say really but this is just a tantalizing fun-house shewed mirror image of the Caves loan $700K fee payment. Our society is bereft of any decency.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is a shame, those owing student revolving, really do need to pay up, the money was made available when needed, university education outside is very expensive, if you had access to the funds, there is no reason not to make arrangementsto repay, that will suit your income…to give someone else the chance at the same opportunity.

I understsnd there was a time they did not need guarantors and refused to repay, they have guarantors now and many still refuse to repay….they lack a moral core.

38. So then let govt keep writing of monies owed to taxpayer with an indifference for national interest . By all accounts when financial institutions write off loans these same default loans in part are recouped as a business lost when filing income taxes by these institutions also the financial institution can apply high service fees as an initiative of protecting their financial stock
    Nothing is free eventually all losses would be returned for sourcing by the govt or taxpayer or the consumer

39. The late Ossie Moore is said to have said to to his employer Magistrate Nurse. ” sir I can swim but I don,t swim.”( some of you would know that “joke”.

There must be some “GUARANTORS” who can pay but won’t pay.

An befoe wunna cut my tail fuh poor gramma “said to have said” is inspired by a phrase from the late Shilling during an ” event” circa 1960 in which he said

” and when I decide to decide the decision”

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Caswell is right, I understand many of the delinquents were yardfowls, friends and families of ministers and others…in government. ..those are the ones who usually get these loans…cause ya have to call a minister for everything…

In 2010 when the ministry did not want to release the names of their many, many scholarsp winners, ya had to call a minister, when ya wanted access to the fund to supplement overseas studies…ya had to call a minister….so they are to blame also….they need to stop trying to accumulate so many yardfowls for favors…

……..there is a process to gain access to the funds, everyone should be able to apply and given the same opportunity and consideration, without involving the ministers.

And dont try to tell me otherwise or I will talk out everything…by force.

41. The govt has several options for recouping the money owed by guarantor /Pensioners but as usual the hue and cry would be the POOR GUY or Woman so until this society takes responsibility as a serious matter for resolution it would be a given that more of the same lackadaisical and lethargic approach to good governance would continue to permeate as we struggle with the back and forth of what is right

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Neanderthal i understand the legal fall out from the piece of crappy legislation”

Ah bet ya the ministers have no intention of changing “the piece of crappy legislation”…that would mean less yardfowls.

43. โ€œMore of the same lackadaisical and lethargic approach to good governance would continue to permeate as we struggle with the back and forth of what is right,โ€ accurately describes this inept DLP administration.

44. “15. A pension, gratuity or other allowance granted under this Act shall not be assignable or transferable except for the purpose of satisfying

(1) a debt due to the Crown or a debt due to the Housing Authority under the Public Officers Housing Loan Fund Rules, 1958;”

The above is the law, but when a person sings his name as guarantor for a loan, what that person is in fact doing is CO-SIGNING for the loan. In cases where the person who applied for the loan defaults, the co-signor is liable and subject under the law as if they had in fact borrowed the money. I am old and forgetful, but am 99% sure that is contract law. The guarantor actually signs a contract which becomes “jointly and severally” collectible. Therefore, the government can legally garnishee the pensions of those guarantors.

Amused may want to clarify. I left the legal system in 1967.

45. @Dee Word

Would you agree to the SRLF making public the list of loans writtenoff in say the last 10 years? Suspect you know where we are going although William prefers to push his head in the sand. If a practice has become ensconced in the way we do things it will call for a systemic unpacking and repacking of the issue to arrive at a solution.

46. @ William
    …sorry boss.
    Bushie did not realise that you were on de committee….
    ๐Ÿ™‚

47. Caswell,
    You said:”…the Committee must share in the blame for accepting men of straw to be guarantors…”Are you saying then that the guarantor; whether or not he/she is a former government servant,or former worker in the Private sector, are “men /or women of straw? By law if you are delinquent in discharging a debt, the co-signer is liable for the debt and there is provision for the obtaining of these funds. Banks and other financial institutions do this all the time.
    Why should the Government be treated with disdain? Why should the people (for it is the peoples’ money that comes from the taxes) be disrespected by refusing to repay the debt due?

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…ya should be saying the same for the CLICO thief Leroy Parris…stealing policyholders money with his EPA scam.

49. One of the measures announced in the August 13, 2013 Budget presented by Sinckler was, from 2014 Barbadians pursuing studies at the campuses of the UWI would be required to pay tuition fees. This policy was supposed to reduce the transfer to UWI by an estimated $42M per year.

Perhaps, before they hastened to implement this policy, government should have examined the SRLF (they could have read the Auditor Generalโ€™s reports for the past few years) to make the necessary adjustments, such as ascertaining the outstanding loan amounts; the percentage amounts that are collectible and uncollectible (debts that have virtually no chance of being paid); and implementing new guidelines for loan applicants.

Instead, in the absence of providing adequate sources of funding and no clear collection policy, government directed students to SRLF as a means of financing their university education. Recall, this also caused a problem, especially to those parents who were over the age of 50 years, since being that old made them ineligible to apply for loans or stand as guarantors.

These instances are indicative of an inept administration that do not have any clear policy initiatives, but engages its mouth before engaging its brain.

What will the cost to Barbados, of doing this โ€œdamage controlโ€ after the problem has gone pass the crisis stage?