The Honourable Freundel Stuart

Prime Minister of Barbados

Government Headquarters

Bay Street

Bridgetown

Barbados

THE PROPOSED BUILDING OF THE HYATT HOTEL

Dear Sir,

I write to inform you that members of the Barbados Lobby are standing in solidarity with Mr. David Comissiong in protesting the building of the Hyatt Hotel on Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, St. Michael.

The group is of the opinion that while there may be economic benefits to be derived from the building of a hotel at that locale, it will be at the horrific cost of disrupting the highly valued recreational space that the beach has become for the Barbadian public. In a densely populated Bridgetown, Carlisle Bay is one of the few remaining open places except for Queens Park and the Garrison Savannah where hundreds of people each week can freely gather for socialization, rest, vigorous exercise and recreation. We are of the strong conviction that the area should be turned into a window to the sea.

It must have taken considerable time and effort for Bridgetown to achieve its designation as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is therefore confusing why Mr. Mark Maloney of Vision Developments did not see it fit to follow the guidelines that already exist, given the historic designation of the area.

One wonders how an increase in traffic congestion due to the location of the hotel on this site will be handled. This alone may be a primary reason why the hotel should not be built on this site. A more suitable location for this hotel should be sought.

Our concerns for the environment are grave. We do not know what effect the building a hotel of that proposed size will have on the environment since no Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) has been done. What we do know is that this beach is relatively new; leading some to speculate that it may not be wise to proceed without that assessment. We can also question what impact this will have on the coastline.

We are also concerned about the lack of transparency surrounding this project. Your manifesto promises to the people of Barbados regarding transparency are in danger of yet again not being honoured. We have been informed that to date, the people who live in the surrounding area where the proposed hotel is to be built have not been consulted.

We have been disappointed by the role played by the Minister of Industry and Commerce, the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Tourism with regards to this matter. How could the Minister of Tourism participate in a signing ceremony for the building of this proposed hotel when no permission was given by the Town and Country Planning Department? To add insult to injury, we were lost for words when the Minister of Industry and Commerce and the Minister of Finance went into the people’s House of Parliament and lied to the entire population of Barbados that building permission had been granted. We can only expect that you will not take this lightly and that appropriate disciplinary action will be taken by you.

Each and every Barbadian is called to be “a strict guardian of our heritage” and a “craftsmen of our fate” on this little rock and must leave our island in the best possible position for future generations to have and enjoy. We must never be made to feel that we are trespassing in our own country.

We are therefore appealing to you to act in the best interest of Barbadians and deny building permission for the Hyatt Hotel at the proposed at Carlisle Bay location.

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

On the behalf of the Members of the Barbados Lobby and;

246 responses to “Open Letter to the Prime Minister Re:Hyatt Hotel Project”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

I have read both of Kammie s posts earlier and there is something that he has said which sheds an additional light on the nuance of this matter.

“… You are mixing up trying to do something with imprpoer pronouncements over giving praise when its due…”

Maybe that simple point that Kammie been hinting at all the way from the time this item posted is lost on many but it is not lost on you.

Let me be raw so that wunna understand whu Kammie saying.

Every once in a while, in the heat of passion a woman grab you parts and ram then in, but she forget that like Carl Moore Cousin Aussie Moore said “these ain’t Xmas bells, these is mansize balls” and we men, as sweet as de ting is, does say woman, DO NOT DO THAT EFFING INGRUNCE AGAIN.

Kammie is being admonished here for saying precisely that to someone who, even though one blog entry later, he says that he likes the overall action, mentions that it was an “improper action”

It is interesting that Kammie the man has come back here and kept his peace with all these politically correct salves to this wound yet Angelique, after openly sending two salvoes at Holder re on ms Taylor, has not recanted on her action yet, NOT EFFING ONCE!!!

And Brother Bush Tea, it does not tek de ole man too long to recognize despots in the making and from the time she jumped up and was so vicious with that matter with different opinion on rewriting the Barbados Constitution with Jeff, I dun see she number for the opportunist that Angelique is.

When you have been graduated and are driving a D9 bulldozer Bush Tea you seem to forget that, when the Bulldozer working on a developed property, weeds that are near to the existing wall CANNOT BE CLEANED BY THE D9 s shovel attachment.

Kammie and Jeff have shown the weeds in this woman’s heart that are all around her “building”

I don’t care how much of a boss architect a person is, this little matter shows that you “cannot draw a straight line with a crooked stick”

She took the “proceeds” of the BU facilited household and family initiative, UNILATERALLY APPENDED THAT TO HER OWN TING, AND NOW, WHEN CALLED OT ON IT WILL NOT APOLOGISE!!!

If she starting dis ting bad, by teifing the proceeds of others in something as insignificant as a letter to Fumbles, a letter which now has to be adjusted since its legitimacy is in question, then Brother Bush, I am afraid to say that she is just as bad, or worse that her principal Mugabe.

We doan cross swords here regularly but We are speaking to mending an endemic problem that manifests itself in kickbacks in Syrup for School Meals, to “Leroy Greenverbs is my Friend”, to VETO contracts at Dodds that the currency ent known till today, to Cahill, to Gems of Barbados etc.

We heah PROMOTING the fact that the hint of impropriety causes prime ministers in civilized countries to resign yet, incredibly, some here seeking to give Heather a pass for nurturing the very same characteristics of confabulation that the Woman in Brazil just get impeach for – AN IMPROPER PRONOUNCEMENT

Something is wrong with this picture

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Mia would be extremely foolish once elected to continue the same patterns, same practices, same corrupt, criminal activities of aiding and abetting the Bizzys, Cows, Maloneys, Harris, Parris, Bjerkham et al, or foreign, self-proclaimed investors, without any proof or background checks…….against the people…….that both governments have become famous for over the decades, that has clearly brought the island to it’s knees…..and expect different results.

Then……..

If that’s the same worn out, overused and abused route Mia takes, she and her ministers will deserve everything they get going forward. .

3. @ Piece…
    Look Boss…
    Bushie knows Kammie well…
    Decent chap. Genuine patriot….. but in the final analysis, a regular brass bowl Bajan just like you and Bushie…and 99% of Bajans.

The truth is that Bushie also knows most of the brass bowl politicians personally, …Froon, Mia, Owen, most of them!!… and quite honestly, THEY ARE NOT DEVILS…
    … Shiite man… the last time Bushie saw Owen it was when HE hailed the bushman in a supermarket…and talked some shiite for a few minutes…
    The problem is much BIGGER than personalities.
    NONE of us can make a difference alone….but together, everything changes.

The question then is how to achieve ‘togetherness’.
    It can only come from ‘letting go’ of our selfish individuality and embracing a collective philosophy based on justice, ‘rightness’, and openness – AND BUILT ON MERIT.

The truth is that it matters not very much who is in charge …NOT if there exists a NATIONAL COLLECTIVE FORCE that is committed to transparency, truth, justice and integrity. Even Froon could me made to ‘wake up to the light’ in such circumstances.

Kammie played a role in building the foundation of such a force with CAHILL.
    It may well be Heather’s role to build on that foundation with Hyatt ….and who knows who will use the resulting structure to unravel CLICO? … Fowler perhaps…?

Kammie seems to be suggesting that Heather and Commissiong should start all over again building their own foundation; …then Fowler should re-invent the wheel all over again etc….

Lotta shiite!!

That is the same trap that the stupid politicians have set for the country by not BUILDING on the legacy meant for our children and grandchildren…. Selling state assets… and leaving them penniless, in debt, and having to start all over again building the foundations of a society…
    This is the VERY definition of brass bowlery…

4. @Bushie, you think you know me well and whats my thoughts are, sorry ah don`t think so.

Just as Donvilles Inniss pronouncement on the Hyatt was inappropriate/presumptious so too was Heatheraction.

In addition in the absence of a facebook response Heather have my phone numbers like the government.

Persons in the group are being asked to throw their support behind the David Commissiong initiative if its their wish.

The page has intentionally remained clear of political contamination so as to not loose its objectivity.

its best to look at the opportunity cost of the project and not just say no because its Mark Malonely.

Should the Hyatt be built if the 52 conditions are met Bushie?

What are the alternatives to be put forward by those who are against to provide employment for urbanites?

Oh, I never do dirt thing as I thing to defend my position. Nor will I respond to every salvo across my bow.

A decision is to be made on the movement`s future via a poll if to change its name an focus, if could be a thrust towards anti-corruption, Governance, seeking Judicial reviews of bad case law or Lobbying. The members will decide!

NB: Piece of De Rock, keep the good work up with the posters for we can impact change rod by rod.

5. Rumors of corruption and poor governance is much a concern to me as any non partisan citizen. Derrick Murray, former West Indies cricketer of Trinidad and a Transparency International representative offered to help set up a Corruption Watch Barbados since 2007.

6. Bushie,

I too know many of them personally and they are not devils. They are regular people. This is why I am so shocked to see what transpires. At first I put it down to the corrupting effect of power. But maybe they are just go-with-the-flow guys. Visionless and spineless guys who have capitulated to an engrained system. Mentally enslaved and overwhelmed. Just can’t see another way. They may not be devils but they sure do need a spiritual awakening.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s even more stupid than that, black politicians and government ministers, both male and female believe they owe local and foreign whites, indians, lebanese and syrians something, they actually believe that they have a right to pick up the people’s money, contracts, land and whatever does not belong to them and give to these people, because they have they status to do so and they can get something for themselves in return, no matter hoe small…they are just a bunch of stupid house slaves, the educated illiterate.

For whatever sick minded reason, these same ministers and politicians do not believe they owe the majority blacks on the island anything….despite promising the moon and stars to the people, before elections….the mind of a true slave.

I do not know all the idiots in parliament personally, but I do know many of their bribers.

8. @ Kammie
    touché…
    …but what about the bigger picture of BUILDING on the already established foundations?
    You may well be correct about the PROCESS needed of polling the members, but why not proceed with that process and facilitate the growth…?
    We cannot just keep working on foundations… (or as Paul says to ‘christians’ …drinking milk..)

…They are regular people. This is why I am so shocked to see what transpires
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie is surprised that you are shocked.
    Surely you know that this ‘fight’ we are facing is not one at the human level…. It is not a fight against ‘flesh and blood’ but a war at the spiritual level…. against ‘principalities and powers’ – at levels beyond our comprehension and control.
    Even if we made Piece PM next week …our ass will still be grass when the dark forces take control of his fate…

THERE IS ONLY ONE DEFENCE….
    Putting on the whole armour of God…..Truth, Righteousness, Peace, Faith…. all of which we, as a country, have discarded as nonsense….
    Ephesians 6:10-18 explains it all…

9. There is no greater feeling than being part of a great team with everyone playing his or her part according to his /her strengths and compensating for the others’ weaknesses. It satisfies one’s need to belong as well as one’s need to accomplish. It is actually the best chance we have of self-actualizing and so we need not stop thinking about ourselves but instead we must understand that in achieving a common goal the benefits are actually shared. Fighting against each other actually lessens our chances of self-actualizing.

I still love watching that cheesy A-team series just to see the good plan come together.

10. Bushie,

I know I shouldn’t be shocked but I still am.

11. Be reminded that the issue for many is the lack of transparency with this and other transactions by this government. Why was Vision the company owned by Mark Maloney encouraged to amend the original Town Planning application from 7 storeys to 15.

12. Bushie I agree wholeheartedly.
    Why is there a need for each agenda to have a separate movement when the objective–GOOD GOVERNANCE–remains the same? We are talking about 270,000 people where only 8,600 joined the Cahill protest group. If good governance is the aim, then every example of bad governance should find a home under the Cahill umbrella. Objection to such brings into question the authenticity of the movement and whether it is genuinely seeking to improve governance, or only keen when there is a soapbox to ascend or no mashing of friends’ toes. Poor to non-existent public engagement; environmental concerns; use of public land; seeming disregard for process and statutory regulations; site suitability, and; ad hoc. Any similarities to Cahill? If yes, why re-invent the wheel? Just rename the group: Bajans against bad governance formerly known as Bajans against the 700m….lol.

13. LOL @ Enuff
    You and Bushie on the same boat…??!!
    Skippa, dat sound like trouble brewing hear..??

Did you miss the point about the folly of selling state assets instead of us making the PRESENT sacrifices needed – in order to ensure that they are passed on WITH ENHANCEMENTS, to future generations…?

You sure you got the right Bushie…?
    🙂

14. All right Bush Tea

[[I agree with you AS USUAL. I put that in brackets so that Donna doan se it tee hee tee hee , according to Donna]]

Let me just say that I have some “insights” into some things that Mr. Holder CONTENDS WITH daily and has managed quite well for quite some time and which, given their nature, would understandably make him “touchous” to use the bajan vernacular.

It ent everybody in the BLP who agree wid expelling Maria Agard but all uh dem now tarred with that brush and similarly so, while all uh we want Barbados to start to live again, some uh we want that to be “after we get our cut”

https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/03cfbbf3da713f4ec5a7810b8428db9a9be0a2c7/32_161_1168_701/master/1168.jpg?w=620&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=502a50c0b72b8028044ad5b773098729

or this one

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/89/New_York_Times_Building_41_Park_Row_from_north.jpg

The second one looks like the exterior of the Empire theatre does it not?

As such it would be “consistent with the “Bridgetown and its Garrison” ambience

Reality made some observations this morning at 4.21. a.m. about the Hyatt project and its possible economic benefits and some who would fight just for “fighting sake”.

Also put in some plugs for Mugabe too. Was looking at the language, DEFINITELY NOT AN AC type blogger.

Having been to Cuba with its UNESCO designation, one realises that it may be possible for new buildings, like that in the picture above, built with older “facades”, to co-exist while achieving all? of the Hyatt Centric 52 requirements.

For me, the Demonic Labour Party is at its zenith “a party to run a general election campaign” but, beyond that, they brought nothing to the table, other than graft and what is in it for me-ism, in fact, when they all leave next election, the number that they would hold in the House, “zero” would be a kindly value to sum up their contribution to Barbados’ growth

The suffering that the country has endured under these scvunts is only going to be meaningful IF, THE MAJORITY OF BRASSBOWLS that we are, learn from this and, unswervingly pursue, a path of doing the right thing, since it believe that, “Righteousness” will be a bridge too far.

15. Very funny, Piece!

16. What other attractions does Barbados have to offer tourist, other than the Friday night lime in Oistins?

St. Lawrence gap was one of the biggest tourist attractions in Barbados. However, the rich, white residents of Dover complained about the noise coming from the various night clubs, protested wrote letters to the parliamentary representative and solicited signatures residents in the surrounding neighbourhood. The last “casualty” was the guy operating a bar on Maxwell Coast Road.

Eventually, St. Lawrence Gap has now become a ghost town. This same gap was filled with taxi operators, people vending art, souvenirs, food, etc. At that time no one bothered to think about “the lunacy in action as FDI which could improve their economic situation (took) flight.”

However, now people are voicing genuine concerns about the Hyatt project, (although they are actually NOT against the project) they are deemed to be unpatriotic.

It seems as though the DEMS and their supporters BELIEVE to be CRITICAL of the DLP is an ACT of TREASON.

17. @ Mr Kammie Holder.

It became patently obvious what Angelique was doing and continues to do, even now.

Her process is flawed and the methodology is not one of collaboration it is one of dictatorship under the guise of “consensus of the collective”

Look at What Bush Tea and Enuff have arrived at, POST A CYBERSPACE EXCHANGE, on the same issue regarding the matter of moving forward within the context of the reason the group converged in the first place.

But attendant to that compromise there is a shared process NOT A UNILATERAL ADOPTION!!

@ Today she knows not to play with your strings like she also learnt from Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch some months ago while insisting that he change the Barbados Constitution upon her dictum!!

Che and Fidel liberated Cuba from the Batisto regime and to their credit, also contributed to changing the landscape of a racist south Africa but in the end, they parted ways, did they not?

Dissent, among respectful colleagues in arms, is a healthy thing.

We are not the BORG of Star Trek “to be assimilated into the single whole” and therein lies the difference in God’s Creation – Man.

WE HAVE CHOICE!!

Thanks per the “Stoopid Cartoons” compliment, others will carry it to the maximum since they have greater resources than I do.

18. @ Kammie re your 8:52 am post. Stop trying to mislead the public. I asked if anyone in the group had any objection to the name being added to the letter. So there was a poll. To date only 4 persons were not in favour of having the groups name added. Is it that you are saying that I should have called you to ask for permission to put up that post? Or that you are the only person entitled to act on the behalf of the group? The three posts regarding the letter are still generating conversations as we speak.
    The bottomline is that I was transparent and participating in a democracy. Your are just trying to save face. As Bush Tea alluded to in his post last night, we should all be concerned with joining each other to do what is right.
    In case you have not been paying attention to the news, we should all be taking note of Mr. Jones’s statements at the opening of Mr. Bjerkmann’s school. Is this their next plan to take over the building of secondary schools in Barbados and then lease back to the government?

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The “stoopid posters” are the bomb, the atom bomb to unseat and root up the nuisances, there is no longer any reason to overthink anything, just keep the posters coming….

……ah heard many people cant take them, makes it harder to be corrupt…especially the 5 Steps to help stop vote buying…, that one hurt…lol

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Who is Bjerkmann?

Was that a typo, is it the parasite Bjerkham….. those males in parliament are of such a weak variety that nothing is surprising, I would be surorised if any of them have testicles,…I just hope they are the ones end up in shackles and chains and not the people they continue to sell out.

21. @ Donna yes, it was a typo and it is him.

22. As a youngster, my two best friends and I used to go to the Esplanade on Sunday afternoons and fish directly opposite to Government Headquarters. I can’t remember if the building was yet erected but I know that while our parents thought that we were at Sunday School, we went fishing. The sea came right up to the wall/breakwater of the Esplanade and there was about a four to five foot drop down to the water. Our main catch was rock hinds and shaggers. Whenever there was a weather system passing Barbados, my father and others would go to the Esplanade to watch the massive waves wash across the road with resulting deposits of sand and debris. The seas all along the coast from Burkes Beach down to the Pier Head broke agains the walls and rocks for as far back as I can remember. Be reminded that the Harbor Police had a jetty almost opposite to the church.

This magnificent piece of beach is a recent addition to the landscape. Any fool who chooses to purchase land along this “prime” coastline will be in for a surprise when the ocean chooses to reclaim what rightfully belongs to it. Will the citizens of this country be forced to pay increased insurance premiums when mother nature exacts what is hers? Can you imagine the massive insurance settlements that will result from destruction by hurricane on Bay Street waterfront properties and also along the west coast. Premiums for the rest of us will skyrocket. We the fools will pay for the folly of the wealthy.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fearplay. ..dont be surprised if that’s what the money demons are praying for, a hurricane washing away a hotel filled with people is a huge case complete with settlements, that’s why the people gotta play their part and FIGHT DOWN Bay Street as the location for a Hyatt hotel…..it’s not the dumb PM and his foolbert ministers who willl have to pay out on a massive lawsuit, it’s the taxpayer’s.

The greedy insurance companies will not miss out on playing their parts of robbing policyholders, jacking up premiums, one or two, read CGI etc…is already known for not paying reinsurance premiums…it would be a disaster. …..condoned and given permission by the idiot ministers.

The folly of the so called parasitic wealthy cannot happen if Fruendel Stuart and his dummies……dont give permission.

25. The sentiment for this thought came from Heather Cole and is itself a very provocative concept.

Food for thought

Barbadian Activist Heather Cole posed a provocative blog earlier at 10.42 on September 2nd on the open letter to the PM blog which is paraphrased here for a particular reason

To paraphrase her “should Bajans all be taking note of Mr. Jones’s statements at the opening of Mr. Bjerkmann’s school?”

Further she queries if this is (another?) big foot Democratic Labour Party’s plan where the Bjerhkamm Group et all “take over the building of secondary schools in Barbados” with the possibility of then lease the same school buildings back to the government?

As usual, with my “stoopid cartoons” I always ascribe authorship rather genesis of an idea to the “blogger of source” IF THERE IS ONE.

So for those of you who understand the “central nuance” for consideration I would ask these questions

Q1.What if I had, in addition to ascribing authorship to Ms. Cole de ole man had put her name to the Bottom of the Pretend Book Series?

Q2.Would that impute her “authorship” or her being the source of inspiration”

Q3.Would such be a unilateral application of her name/blogging name and would such be considered ascribing an “improper pronouncement” to a fellow blogger unilaterally?

Not withstanding the absolute provocative nature of her submission, technically my paraphrasing coupled with her name on the front of the confabulation could easily be misconstrued AND CORRECTLY SO.

She did not give me permission to suggest that the pretend novel was written by her, and even though the words are paraphrases of hers, I would be at moral fault to ascribe her “authorship” to the cover which brings her string of words to life in the poster media.

Notwithstanding my tangent of thought on “improper pronouncements” You have to admit that what she has suggested is credible and not incredulous GIVEN THE NATURE OF THE PEOPLE THAT WE ARE DEALING WITH.

Please note that we are in the same “fight” but technically speaking had i done that “authorship” exercise, would I not have done the same thing to her that Kammie complained of?

And with that convoluted reasoning de ole man, having been wisened by Bush Tea’s observation per our race’s innate “divisiveness” and Enuff’s “compromise”, and Kammie’s ongoing endorsement, and the endorsement of My Dearest Suzanne, de ingrunt ole man going leave you alone Ms. Cole with the hope that you ent the Mugabe herald…

http://imgur.com/a/mB3Ud

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece. .lol……ya still had to throw in zinger.

Love the “stoopid cartoons”.., they will dream of them tonite…lol

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The kids might have to learn to speak Norwegian, I think that is where Bjerkham is from…lol

The jackasses in parliament love to provide their own saddles…..so ride Bjerkham. ….ride.

28. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

Leasing public buildings: That has already backfired. Look at the cross-boarder-leasing in the US. A complete disaster.

Would it not be better to lease ministers? 😉

29. Hear is a reality that still resonate in the mind of the electorate not a STUPID CARTOON

30. Cannibalism

31. @ Tron

Lease Ministers?

and in de same sentence you mention Mexico.

You mean to Lease Bajan Ministers To Mexico?

Whuloss Tron, and you ent use [[square brackets]] to hide that sentence?

You dun know that Verla Depeiza going see to it dat you going get hang for Treason!!!

Speaking of which, i going and do a poster fuh she right now…..heheheheheheh

32. On the contrary, I haven’t heard one person lately talking about Owen and Mia or Maria. But I have heard several whose blood vessels were in danger of bursting as they discussed the latest move by the government.

33. Who said Cahill is dead? I was informed today that litigation against GOB is being considered and only time will tell if those who feel slighted follow thru!

34. BU is waiting to see how the Owen Maria as ”independents” develop. So far the BU household has to admit disappointment. The utterances from them have been largely pro government and not reflective of firebrand independents..

35. You expected firebrand independents????!!!!! I guess hope springs eternal with you, David.

36. Fear Play@12.13p
    i was thinking more of Kick-um-Jenny ‘getting up’ one day and causing havoc around these islands.Wise governments take precautions by listening to the experts and not to azold chop shuppers like Inniss,Sealy,Lowe,Kellman and Sinckler.

37. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

I am speaking about cross-border-leasing between United States and European communities. US law firms recommended the following deal: European communities sell their assets (eg water pipes) to US companies, then the latter lease the assets back. Purpose: Tax savings. It ended as a complete disaster for the European communities.

They seem to commit now the same categorical error in Bim. That was my point.

38. “The land on Bay Street on which it is proposed that the hotel be sited is not virgin land. It has been in commercial use for generations and for all that time has been surrounded by other commercial activity. Whether or not it is used for Hyatt or some other hotel, there is little chance it would not have been upgraded at some point in the future. In fact, much of Bridgetown is in need of significant upgrading and it certainly can’t be in the best interest of the country to insist that land be only developed in keeping with its historic use, or that because an area had been used for a warehouse or two-storey office accommodation it should continue so for the next century.

By all means those concerned should insist on the undertaking of relevant environmental impact studies, that any permissions given guarantee unhindered access to and use of all beach land (perhaps even beyond the traditional high-water mark) and that issues of traffic flow be addressed. But in an environment of increasingly scarce beachfront land for such development, it is time for regulators to advance a sensible argument for why a building can’t be more than six or seven storeys tall – other than “we say so” and “that’s how it has always been”.

And while we, like most Barbadians, cherish the World Heritage Site designation and believe the country should do everything reasonable to maintain it, we cannot surrender our future to the dictates of any foreign entity or country. If it is in the national interest of Barbados to promote developments such as Hyatt then we should offer to sit with the relevant parties and determine how the two can co-exist, but we can’t raise an economic white flag based on emotion and sentimentality. ”

Nation news editorial fair and balanced. Where do jackasses like Tony and Wayne Webster arrive from surely not out of the communities that toiled to move Barbados from sleepy villages to the NO 1 Developing country.

39. The sooner Maria and OSA leave the chamber the better for all concerned.OSA is the bigger disappointment even sitting on the same side as the man who used his’note’ to him,a note that was meant primarily to comfort the fool froon,but contained a school boy barb of a BLP gorilliphant in waiting.The ungrateful Froon turned around and scored a cheap political point on OSA by publishing the note to the detriment of the BLP.And OSA would have us believe that MAM is the devil incarnate.Prove it OSA or be ever condemned.Unless you do you will not be able to say like the admired comrade Fidel…….history will absolve me……….

40. Passin thru aka waiting aka Ins and Out.

#DLPyardfowl

41. in the realm of possibilities

42. #nobody cares

43. the electorate cares that doe not include you ! dunderhead

44. Illiterate!

45. Your illiteracy would be fine if you hadn’t been to school. I’m sure you did though. What does it mean if you went all through the school system and still cannot write a sentence? You are not teachable. That’s what it says, bird brain.

46. @ac

Peter Gilkes…………..congratulations on securing the removal of import taxes ad duty on luxury boats and yachts especially at a time when an additional 2% tax was imposed on everyone else. What assholes.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/03/devaluation/

Wouldn’t they have to increase imports to maintain a devaluation.

It’s their own stupidity, inflated egos and hard headed ness would cause a devaluation to the dollar.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…yall will soon have to go begging Mia for a little yardfowl pick, just remember, you will not be the lead yardfowl, you will be at the back of the line and well muzzled….

…..can you imagine what will happen if your government cannot reduce the deficit and the dollar is devalued under their wttch……. ha, ha.