The Honourable Freundel Stuart

Prime Minister of Barbados

Government Headquarters

Bay Street

Bridgetown

Barbados

THE PROPOSED BUILDING OF THE HYATT HOTEL

Dear Sir,

I write to inform you that members of the Barbados Lobby are standing in solidarity with Mr. David Comissiong in protesting the building of the Hyatt Hotel on Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, St. Michael.

The group is of the opinion that while there may be economic benefits to be derived from the building of a hotel at that locale, it will be at the horrific cost of disrupting the highly valued recreational space that the beach has become for the Barbadian public. In a densely populated Bridgetown, Carlisle Bay is one of the few remaining open places except for Queens Park and the Garrison Savannah where hundreds of people each week can freely gather for socialization, rest, vigorous exercise and recreation. We are of the strong conviction that the area should be turned into a window to the sea.

It must have taken considerable time and effort for Bridgetown to achieve its designation as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is therefore confusing why Mr. Mark Maloney of Vision Developments did not see it fit to follow the guidelines that already exist, given the historic designation of the area.

One wonders how an increase in traffic congestion due to the location of the hotel on this site will be handled. This alone may be a primary reason why the hotel should not be built on this site. A more suitable location for this hotel should be sought.

Our concerns for the environment are grave. We do not know what effect the building a hotel of that proposed size will have on the environment since no Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) has been done. What we do know is that this beach is relatively new; leading some to speculate that it may not be wise to proceed without that assessment. We can also question what impact this will have on the coastline.

We are also concerned about the lack of transparency surrounding this project. Your manifesto promises to the people of Barbados regarding transparency are in danger of yet again not being honoured. We have been informed that to date, the people who live in the surrounding area where the proposed hotel is to be built have not been consulted.

We have been disappointed by the role played by the Minister of Industry and Commerce, the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Tourism with regards to this matter. How could the Minister of Tourism participate in a signing ceremony for the building of this proposed hotel when no permission was given by the Town and Country Planning Department? To add insult to injury, we were lost for words when the Minister of Industry and Commerce and the Minister of Finance went into the people’s House of Parliament and lied to the entire population of Barbados that building permission had been granted. We can only expect that you will not take this lightly and that appropriate disciplinary action will be taken by you.

Each and every Barbadian is called to be “a strict guardian of our heritage” and a “craftsmen of our fate” on this little rock and must leave our island in the best possible position for future generations to have and enjoy. We must never be made to feel that we are trespassing in our own country.

We are therefore appealing to you to act in the best interest of Barbadians and deny building permission for the Hyatt Hotel at the proposed at Carlisle Bay location.

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

On the behalf of the Members of the Barbados Lobby and;

246 responses to “Open Letter to the Prime Minister Re:Hyatt Hotel Project”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…ya see now why the ACs are filling up the blogg with such useless rubbish….they are trying to distract us from the reality of devaluation, since the government does not know how to reduce the deficit and have no more millions of dollars if taxpayer’s money to waste hiring useless foreign consultants who don’t know either. …..

The government has broken the treasury and is now desperate.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/03/watch-where-you-allow-people-to-build-cdema/

Should read…watch where you allow people to build 15 story buildings on sand and coral rock.

3. That is why the Hyatt should be built barbados dependency on foreign exchange is crucial to bringing down the deficit but then the doom and gloom naysayers keep standing in the way of economic progress

4. @ac

Its looking like a very difficult proposition to get ‘the projects’ started in time for the announcement of early elections planned for November/December 2016.
    1) Cahill – DEAD
    2) Hyatt – DYING
    3) Sam Lords – FANTASY
    4) Andrew Factory – INDUSTRY DEAD
    5) Four Season – DEAD, NIS MONEY STOLEN
    6) Pierhead Marina – KILLED BY MINISTER OF FINANCE
    7) New Cruise Pier – KILLED BY MINISTER OF TOURISM
    8) Rock Hard Cement – GONE HARD, NO VIAGRA NEEDED.

5. And no knowledge at all is even more dangerous, bird brain.

6. Well Well,

Instead of learning how to post crap from the sand nigger she should hire a Infants B teacher to help her with her illiteracy. But then I would have to pay for my Bajan comic relief instead of getting it here for free.

Tee hee!

Moving on……

7. @Kammie re your 7:52pm post of a possibility of a lawsuit against the government regarding the Cahill Plant. Who will be suing? Claire Cowan does not have the money. No credible attorney would want to represent her. The Bizzys, Maloney’s, Bjerkhams, Tempros and whoever else will not want this matter near the law Courts. They would have to bring evidence to Court to prove injury. All of those documents are on BU and all their dirt would be exposed for Barbados and the entire Caribbean and the rest of the world that is interested to see. Do you think they would risk that. Did you not see that Maloney pulled every string he had to get a stay from the Court regarding that building in the Port?

8. Donna do not let ac hurt yuh brain yuh brain is too big for yuh body .meditate on those things that would give you a purpose to be alive. Food for thought

@Recall gloating is a disease of a sick mind.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….agree, the Hyatt should be built…on top of your house.

Donna..lol.

10. On top of a fowl run????????

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Donna tee hee tee hee you naughty…

12. Not me! Blame Well Well!

13. Why is the garrulous Andrew Pilgrim not lending his voice to the Hyatt debate.Where do you stand on it Andrew?
    Why is Tricia Watson not lending her voice to the debate on Hyatt.Where do you stand Tricia?
    Is Bobby Clarke still active?He is silent as well.It appears evident that many of these 1100 lawyers in Bim seem to be ‘starveout’ lawyers and would prefer a role in maintaining the status quo rather than rock the boat.Anything to make a dollar.Isn’t that the definition of prostitution? Activists so called are born and bred.Its an innate quality that cannot be contained.Ask those who went to kolij with EWB,Bree,Ritchie,Tom,David.

14. Those who are against the Hyatt even despite it has to meet 52 requirements need to answer the below in fairness.

1) What are the alternatives options and compromise?

2) What projects would the Anti Hyatt Movement recommend to urgently boost FX?

3) Is it true that the area in question which is to the north of the BoatYard not that popular for sea bathers?

4) Even if the 52 Town Planning requirements are met will not some partisans still oppose?

5) Mark Maloney may be arrogant but how many not seeing enployment benefit and not Malonely?

6) The GOB has mislead on Anti Corruption legislation and is not the BLP silent on its proclamation? Winscreen Wiper Politics.

7) How many know why they truly oppose the Hyatt other than its an anti government action?

8) What are the possible projects to rehabilitate the Pondside Area and provide employment for residents in that urban corridor?

9)

People country must come before party, selfish political grab or blind opposition. Donville Inniss my friend like Mia friend also was wrong to make the pronouncement for it sends the wrong message. Thus, lets not oppose for opposing sake and seek a compromise on what can be a project which compliments he area and meets the Heritage requirements.

I will try to acquire the 52 requirements for sharing. #FairNessEludesBarbados #ANewWay #ConfrntationKilledConversation #ConversationOverConfrontation My conscience is clear and lets have a civil discussion in the name of civility!

15. Ok Donna you got the Stupid Poster Boy coming to your rescue.. That is a no brainer.

The Hyatt will be built. This time around the govt has the last word .the nations economic progress cannot be mainted or slowed by the negative mouthings of a few.
    The positives outweight the negatives .This is not Cahill..trying to ride the wave of an unpopular Cahill project is foolhardy in the event oil prices rise again a WTE plant would becoming another hot button issue as is right now a cooling off period in oil prices has help to diffuse WTE.
    Anyhow on the opposite side of the coin the issue of waste management is still left as a burning issue which must be address.

16. @AC, your head is so damn hard and even Carson Cadogan head aint so hard, lol. As a blind political operative why don`t you tell Dr Denis Lowe about the CoreNetwork which sees communities across Barbados sorting at source. In Ocean City, Fortesque, Ruby, Husbands to name a few Metals, Ewaste,Plastics, Paper, Magazines and Glass is picked up by recyclers.

Yearly, just short of $10M of kitchen scraps is imported into Barbados and reconstitued as Compost. Thus when composting is starting as part of the CoreNetwork waste going to SSA or the private contractors will be around 5 PERCENT. Did you hear that AC.

@AC, so you you can just for once stop push the money grabbing robbery for a Waste To Energy Plant and see our waste management problem is only a problem because its arrogance. Dr Denis Lowe a trained psychologist knows full well what he is doing but some reads him like a predictable novel.

I impute no malice or motives for environmental ignorance.

17. For Your information WTE plant is not the brain child of ac. The fact being many have been built as leading technological alternatives to Waste management Here on this island govts have been grappling for years to find sustainable alternatives to waste, daily we hear or read of the numerous problems that have plagued the Sanation dept from broken vechicles which leads to piles up of garbage due to lack of pick up , people in barbados resent having to pay more taxes
    You are looking at one solution to waste . but waste management is a comphresive program that entails more than recycling of garbage
    All in all govt still have to find the affordable funding to do all that you have proposed daily A waste to energy plant is much more equipped and efficient in handling at a faster rate the waste deposited on the island.
    The truth being presently for every load of garbage pick up on a daily basis or gullies and manholes still are loaded with man made garbage which is too bulky for recycling

18. @Kammie, re your 8:19 am post, I thought you were not into partisan politics. Perhaps a true patriot would not point fingers at other people but come up with the solutions.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You have no brainchild ACs….waste management is only a problem because the dummies in parliament make it a problem, they are paid a salary by the taxpayers to find solutions….not scams and scam artists….to resolve the problem..

For the 1000th time….no one appears to be protesting the Hyatt Brand……only the LOCATION….christ, what’s wrong with your hard as ass heads.

20. @ Piece since you have decided not to be divisive, I though I would share my emailed daily word…sent from God to me.

“Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
    Isaiah 41:10

Amen

21. @ Heather
    I though I would share my emailed daily word…sent from God to me.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    That particular message was sent SPECIFICALLY to those ADOPTED by BBE….

Jacob, whom I have chosen,
    the offspring of Abraham, my friend;

you whom I took from the ends of the earth,
    and called from its farthest corners,
    saying to you, “You are my servant,
    I have chosen you and not cast you off”

But it is VERY easy to tell if you are among those so chosen….

Behold, all who are incensed against you
    shall be put to shame and confounded;
    those who strive against you
    shall be as nothing and shall perish.
    You shall seek those who contend with you,
    but you shall not find them;
    those who war against you
    shall be as nothing at all.

22. Kammie
    “Is it true that the area to the north of the Boatyard not that popular for seabathers?”

Is seabathing the only use of the beach? You should stay in your lane. Talk about composting; lead pizuning and other cut & paste stories.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Heather it’s interesting to see the undertones of a group ‘power tussle’ dynamic play out here. Normally these things spill from behind ‘closed doors’ near the end game stage but with the immediacy of social media we get to be a voyeur on such matters much earlier.

Certainly you have all the ability to poll all your group members and get all those of like mind to support your Hyatt initiative – totally disassociated from the previously focused project – without the broadsides to any other group members who disagree with you.

Social media as a tool does not change the fundamentals of negotiating, good manners or ethics. It simply allows one to either make a fool of one’s self very quickly or enhance a reputation and support very quickly. Bad or good.

Often here we seem to plumb the bad. Why?

24. @Dribbler for the last time, I asked the group and wrote the name Kammie Holder as well as Thomas Sankara. If he did not get one he got the other. Please note that he responded to Leslie Taylor the complainer on Facebook.

25. Recall September 3, 2016 at 7:25 AM

9) Deltro Solar – NOT GONNA HAPPEN

26. @Heather my dear what are you going about for the second time I have posted asking persons to join the Barbados Lobby if they are against the Hyatt Centric. https://www.facebook.com/groups/barbadoslobby/

Oh by the way I am a member of the Barbados Lobby who is not against the Hyatt Centric once the 52 requirements are met.

Why not also offer alternatives as an economist.

H, stop get angry and call me names my dear for a difference of opinions gives meaning to diversity of life.

27. https://www.facebook.com/groups/Corruptionbarbados/

“Good morning, just a brief note that I am personally not against the Hyatt Centric Hotel. The group was formed to fight the Cahill WTE and to offer alternatives. Thus, it would be of utmost deceit to say the group is against the Hyatt Centric without an exhaustive poll of members as it would be straying from the mandate for which the group was set up.
    Persoanlly, I don`t think we are out of the woods until Denis Lowe leaves office or that Cahill International says they will not be seeking damages as a remedy. Persons are free to join the The Barbados Lobby and give Heather Cole their support. The Barbados Lobby.”

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Heather re at 11:34 AM…what exactly is this social media thing this amazing peer to peer medium that we use so readily; I often wonder!

I do not question whether you reached out to the group. Rather I wondered aloud why you ‘coopted’ the 9K bandwidth of their activism for a cause that had nothing to do with their original focus in the absence of their complete agreement.

Even if you had received a response from the so called ‘leader’ of this group would he actually be able to speak for them all (does Kammie, see himself in that way).

There is now apparently a ‘Barbados Lobby’. So what exactly stopped you from preparing your letter and canvassing your original group to be aligned under some related new name but with the same strength of numbers is beyond my comprehension.

A few more clicks is all it took. And then @Pieces would have no justification to call you a hijacker of that movement. LOLL.

The fundamental question/concern I posed to you has been addressed @12:36 PM by Holder … with those extra clicks.

So that’s the social media thing…this bane of good and enabler of impulsive, often ill-thought out actions.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word aka Dribbler

Man I’d you doan want me to come back to your skylit house, why you doan tell me so to me face? Lololol,

You doing tuh me de same ting I does do to the watch of the trembling tings!!! Whuloss…

You neighbour does still do dem barbecues???

Tell dem de Bajan with the “acid tongue” per institutionalized racism, tell dem hello and send dem a black power salute!

30. So what good is it if those person suporrting HC joined the Barbados lobby if HC cant used the Name Barbados lobby on social media or other media outlets
    to generate support for her cause/s mostly likely you Kammie would be the beneficiary of HC hard work by having her supporters join your group
    If i was HC i would say thanks but no thanks on your offer unless i can incorporate the name Barbados lobby to help fight my cause

31. Folks, do not worry about the hotel. No foreign investor will bring one cent into this country before the question of devaluation is finally sorted out.

The earliest time for devaluation will be the year 2018 just after the next elections.

32. Enuff
    Are you suggesting Kammie learn to drive in a cemetery?

33. @Tron

I have been following this blog. I did not see anything saying that Hyatt is putting in any money. As far as I understand it, Vision and its partners building this shite and paying Hyatt to use its name and manage it. I may be wrong, but that is my reading due to lack of transparency. I think that siggning and press hullabaloo was the ticket to get the banks to cough up the $$ to finance it. Just my take.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As long as it’s the bank’s coughing up forBizzy and Maloney’s pipe dream and not the taxpayers, the pension fund or the credit unions.

When the minorities dream up these big tim scans, they should have the big time money to follow through, read 4 Seasons failure…same players, Bizzy, Cow et al.

35. @ Kammie re your 2:36 pm post. Then does it not make sense to fight to push Denise Lowe out of office if that is your ultimate signal that the plant will not be built? That makes to me. Ultimately we must have a new start and the aim of every Barbadian must be an election that is free of fraud to elect a new goverment that practices good governance.

36. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac; re. your posts of 7:12 and 7:18 yesterday;

When were those videos taken? Are they new developments? Has the Maria Agard case been adjudicated?

37. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Caught up……
    Saw that PUDRYR has been promoted to ‘Stupid Poster Boy’.
    Do SSS and colonel get a promotion
    The ‘Stupid Poster Team’ is rocking.

38. Power failure on west coast again,third time for the week.Emera doing as they like.Quisling on the payroll so expect moe of the same.

39. Don’t throw out the baby!

Barbados Today on September 3, 2016.

The proposed construction of a high-rise Hyatt hotel in the heart of Bridgetown has provoked controversy.

Let me say at the outset that I have no more information on the project than what has been made public. So I’m dealing with principles more than facts.

While the present proposal lacks transparency, we should not reject it out of hand. In fact, we should welcome the presence of a hotel or two in Bridgetown proper, because it will be a huge impetus to the revitalization of our capital city, and a boost to our economy.

But here are my caveats.

First, a plea to this and all future governments: we understand the need for confidentiality at certain stages of the negotiations with private sector interests, but public consultation must be built in as part of the process in any project that has a major impact on our communities. This is especially true of Bridgetown, in view of its UNESCO World Heritage status.

Second, all the UNESCO guidelines must be rigorously complied with. And of course all the other requirements of town planning and coastal zone management.

Third, whether the height of the proposed hotel (I have seen both 12 and 15 storey claims) is in compliance with the UNESCO guidelines or not, a height over ten stories in that location seems to be an aesthetic blunder. What will be there to stop other high rises going up all around Carlisle Bay?

Now, I have always favoured high density buildings in Bridgetown and its environs as a way to induce people to return to reside in the city. It is after all a highly liveable place. But these should be a maximum of eight stories with retail shopping on the first (ground) floor, services on the second floor, and residential accommodation above.

Moreover, the architects should try to ensure that the design of any new building is sympathetic to the unique cultural and historical heritage of Bridgetown. A fine example of this is the RBC building on the other side of High Street from the Parliament buildings.

Third, and this can’t be stressed enough, Carlisle Bay should not be allowed to become like most of the west and south coasts where there are very few ‘windows to the sea’. Government should adopt a policy of allowing future hotel or condominium construction only on the land side of the road with respect to Carlisle Bay.

It is not just a question of beach access but of Barbadians being able to enjoy scenic views of the beach and the sea. A boardwalk from the Pierhead along Carlisle Bay is also a necessity.

Now the proposed location of the Hyatt is, strictly speaking, not on Browne’s Beach proper, but in an area where there was traditionally no beach at all, and where there is now no view of, or access to the beach. So much depends on the design of the hotel complex.

Fourth, Bridgetown needs desperately to be re-developed and revitalized within the UNESCO-mandated requirements. This includes both restoration of historic heritage buildings and the creation of new building developments that help our economy grow. The most urgent task is to bring the waterfront redevelopment to fruition.

The waterfront is the showpiece of Bridgetown and it needs more than a facelift. Important work has already been done: the Chamberlain lift bridge, the Wickham-Lewis boardwalk, the Old Spirit Bond, work on the Constitution River, and Independence Square.

But we need to think of the waterfront – and the structures surrounding it – holistically. It is best if the entire waterfront redevelopment is conceived of as much as possible as a whole with its parts in harmony. While the vision needs to be holistic, elements of it can and should be implemented in a piecemeal fashion.

We must ensure that the re-development of Bridgetown includes many public spaces. These are places not only of recreation but also of social interaction that is an essential ingredient in building social trust and a sense of community. Contrast this with the pedestrian-hostile, ugly, chaotic growth of Warrens.

To sum up, I think we should not reject the Hyatt proposal out of hand. If it meets the requirements, it will become a critical catalyst for much needed development in the area: the Pierhead, including a maritime museum with the Screw Dock, Nelson’s Statue and old cannon as highlights, Golden Square with a statue of Clement Payne and a small museum of the 1937 Rebellion, Parliament (Heroes’) Square with a statue of Samuel Jackman Prescod on a plinth with the names of all parliamentarians since 1639 inscribed, a renovated Empire Theatre, the removal of derelict buildings and the restoration of all heritage sites in the area.

Tourists staying in the heart of Bridgetown are far more likely to visit heritage sites in the area and spend money in cafes, restaurants and shops. This should give us an incentive to improve these sites and provide these facilities.

All this should redound not only to the proliferation and profitability of Bridgetown entrepreneurs, but also to the benefit of all Barbadians. There is no inherent conflict between profit-making ventures and the public interest.

(Dr Peter Laurie is a former Barbados ambassador to the United States, retired permanent secretary and head of the Foreign Service.)

Laurie isn’t a government lackey nor a mouthpiece for the obnoxious twins Maloney and Bizzy but he gets it. The one remaining set of knuckleheads who cant appreciate the benefits of a Hyatt in Bridgetown is the BU yardfowl gallery.

40. Ooooh! Peter Laurie! Well, that settles it then! We can’t disagree with Peter Laurie now, can we? LOL

41. @Passin thru aka waiting aka Ins and Out etc

You copy paste to make a point about Hyatt being allowed to be built on the beachfront BUT you ignore the other stuff posted by Laurie? Here is a reminder:

While the present proposal lacks transparency, we should not reject it out of hand. In fact, we should welcome the presence of a hotel or two in Bridgetown proper, because it will be a huge impetus to the revitalization of our capital city, and a boost to our economy.

But here are my caveats.

First, a plea to this and all future governments: we understand the need for confidentiality at certain stages of the negotiations with private sector interests, but public consultation must be built in as part of the process in any project that has a major impact on our communities. This is especially true of Bridgetown, in view of its UNESCO World Heritage status.

#dlpyardfowl

42. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“….an election that is free of fraud to elect a new goverment that practices good governance…”

Have we ever elected one? Is there one anywhere?

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whuloss Jeff!!!

Belly searcher and upper cut, 1-2 knockout special.

You see why I dun tell dese peeple dat you ent to be messed with??

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh, by the way.

De ole man ent mean to be the BU grammar police or nuffin but, Dr. Peter Laurie, former Ambassador to the United States misused the word “piecemeal”

Certainly that was not what he wanted to say I.e. unsystematic partial measures, by then again you never know…

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The bottomline line is…even if they build 50 more hotels and the deficit is still not reduced….what’s the point, it’s obvious that to date the tourism model….al8ne…. is not solving the island’s debt problems, not generating enough income, cash flow…..foreign exchange.

What’s the point of a one sector economy…if you are not progressing….ya regressing though, it’s plain to see.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I thought they had thrown Nelson’s statute in the careenage where it belongs….the older tourists, most of whom have already passed on are now in nursing homes drooling in their pampers, were the only ones in the 60s, 70s, 80, 90, interested in taking photos of a green statue filled with bird shit.

The new age tourists are not interested in all that pretensious, fraudulent activities…that I can tell ya.

47. The hyatt would be built . The govt would NOT let a few Neanderthals and BU ole farts win this fight,. Furthermore govt does not expect to have the support of any of these losers,

48. Donna
    Wait.Laurie ent David Thompson mudda brudda?

49. Gabriel,

Is he?

50. That is the story