David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
David Comissiong

Does the erection of a 15 storey American-owned Hyatt Hotel in Carlisle Bay, abutting Barbadians’ beloved and world famous Browne’s Beach, constitute “development” for the nation and people of Barbados? That is a crucial question that we Barbadians need to grapple with and answer in this 50th anniversary year of our national Independence!

There are some Barbadians who believe that the best way to “develop” Barbados is to invite foreign companies to “invest” in Barbados by either buying up and taking over existing local enterprises, or by setting up their own new business enterprises in Barbados and extracting profits therefrom- profits that they are entitled to transfer to their home countries.

It would appear that the writer of the recent Nation Newspaper editorial entitled Comissiong off target on Hyatt is one such Barbadian. He or she argues in the Editorial that “foreign direct investors” are critical to economic growth in Barbados, and that foreign investors should always be welcomed since they “provide much-needed jobs” and “generate foreign exchange”. The Editorial-writer therefore welcomes the idea of the American multi-national company setting up their towering 15 storey hotel on or near Browne’s Beach.

I, on the other hand, have advanced a very different concept of Barbadian national development! In my recent article entitled Bajans Wake Up! You Are About To Lose Browne’s Beach!, I expressed this concept as follows:-

“We (Barbadians) have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based on the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians. Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Browne’s Beach, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browne’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!”

And so, these are the two philosophically different concepts of “national development” that we Barbadians need to think about and discuss in this 50th anniversary year.

The “development by invitation to foreign investors” model is most associated with the Caribbean territory of Puerto Rico – a country which, despite its privileged access to the American market, is suffering worse unemployment and economic crisis than Barbados or any other English-speaking Caribbean nation! Too late have the Puerto Ricans learnt that the road to dependence on foreign investors is the road to even greater national dependence, lack of self-reliance, and poverty of spirit!

The alternative to the Puerto Rican model is a nation that strives to base its development on a population that is committed to thinking for itself, doing for self, and being its own unique self — a nation in which the people are encouraged (and facilitated by their Government) to get busy and produce for themselves, rather than to depend on some “foreign investor” to come from “over in away” to set up a potentially “alienating” enterprise to employ them.

No doubt, there are circumstances in which the establishment of foreign owned business enterprises in Barbados would be welcomed: namely, when the foreign enterprise would be introducing Barbadians to desirable new and advanced technology, skills and structures of production, and at the same time would not be doing any significant damage to our cultural heritage and identity.

Let us , for example, be prepared to seek out and welcome new “clean” high technology manufacturing enterprises to Barbados: but, so far as tourism is concerned, let us resolve to refine and perfect the beating of our own uniquely Barbadian home drums!

316 responses to “What is “National Development”?”

1. AC
    Did you notice your PM on tonite’s CBC news hard pressed to look into the camera when he attempted to praise Sleepy’s contribution.All he could find to make reference to was some legislation to do with the IMF,the Parks and Beaches and some other item.He left out the legislation changing the constitution allowing political interference in the appointment of Judges and other senior public servants.Now many of us clearly remember Sleepy himself admitting it was the worst thing he had done as AG of Barbados and Stuart was so ashamed he held his head down throughout his verbal diatribe of a tribute.
    The other item of news tonite on CBC was the JA Pilgrim speaking of a motion to be taken to the annual tribal meeting of the Dems later this month,scoffing at Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition properly and for a sound reason abstaining from a motion to extend the tenure of 2 ‘special’public servants and not those others who had to resort to the courts for being retired too early.

2. Ammm Gabriel do you work for the nation news you seem to have a likening to taking all kinds of notes. So the Prime Minister head down, i believe his head being a part of his body he can direct it in any which position he chooses

3. Tee-hee!

4. Body language speaks louder than words, I find.

5. You think the comradery of FC and AC is coincidental?

Peanuts usually come with two sections, one nut at the top and the other nut at the bottom.

6. @ Artax
    ha ha hah
    muh belly!!

7. Sir the same analogy u apply to me you can also apply to Mia who as of recent have found solace in defence of Comissiong mouthings
    Or maybe in Mia case another example of rubbing shoulders
    Also a great reminder that birds of a feather flock together….and that is no joke

8. Why do you continually respond to my contributions by referring to Mia Mottley? She is neither my relative, friend nor companion. Just goes to show you think everyone possess yard-fowl traits similar to yours.

You consistently demonstrate unreasonable thoughts and fears about Mia Mottley, which leads you to repetitively focus your attention on her, whether or not she is the topic of the discussion.

Your “ritual” is a perfect example of obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD), which is characterized by unreasonable thoughts and fears (obsessions) that lead you to do repetitive behaviors (compulsions).

9. And……………… Mia Mottley continues to live rent free in your head.

The ACs remind me of a song by the Cranberries named “Zombie,” you only have to replace the word “zombie” in the chorus, with “Mottley.”

“In your head, in your head,
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley
    Hey, Hey
    What’s in your head, in your head,
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley
    Hey, hey, hey, oh……”

10. In fact, the entire song accurately describes the mental states of FC and AC:

11. Anthrax and his likes are mere Detractors from the Root Cause of All that Ails Us!

http://www.energyenhancement.org/keep-calm-and-bury-head-in-sand-2.png

12. @Donna
    ‘Oh shirt! What a tag team! What an unholy alliance’

You summed it up correctly.

Catching up and the first thing I noticed is what one person referrred to as the BU
    ‘cousins’ (ac & FC) acting like they are twins.

FC: To a hammer everything looks like a nail – socialism and communism
    ac: …… the nail

13. Sir why every time the name of Mia is mentioned by me it arouses your sensitivity. Maybe it is you with the complusive behaviour defecit. Except for you no other comments attack my accurate account of Mia.shirtcomings
    Btw do n/t u think it is time that u advice Mia about her defecits and the negative fallout it has done to her image.instead of your chastizment of my every word in reference to Mia.

14. Have a little Empathy ‘ac’ and Recognise , Anthrax, Doolittle and such are Suffering from DDD…

http://i.quoteaddicts.com/media/q4/1462914.png

15. just as PM is belittle for some of his associates .Then why shouldn/t the same theory be applied to Mia close association to the socialist and wanne be leader Comissiong

16. First know your weight class…

There are two critical components that we often neglect from our discussion: the size of our island and the size of our economy.

An investment of six hundred million dollars is a fly on the elephant’s back to the Us economy; to Barbados, this is a very large investment. Investors knows this and drive hard bargains; so most likely we will always find ourselves on the bad side of big deals. When we get beyond the finder’s fee part of the deal, these islands are at a disadvantage.

To continue, if a new 200 room hotel was built in the US, this would be a pimple on a elephant’s butt, but in Barbados this represent a 5% increase in the number of hotel rooms.; a significant increase. I wish to point out that in terms of land area it would also occupy a significant portion of our island.

My point: on a small island with a small economy, every business deal is a major deal. Mentally, in our business dealing with others, we must make a similar conversion as when we are talking about US or Barbados dollars. Sadly, the conversion rate is much higher. This calculation is often missing from our discussion.

A fly-weight may punch above his weight class, but he should exercise extreme caution if he steps into the ring with a heavyweight.

17. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

I enjoyed this posting, but I found one part to be a bit rough reading.
    In what I hope is a good Chad impersonation “There is no such thing as a Puerto Rican model. Those blighters just want to suck on the US nipples. There is no thought of independence, just mendicancy. Don’t you dare call that a model 🙂

Seriously, I do not take PR seriously 🙂

18. What do you know of honesty, fraud? You come around here playing Mary Poppins and oh so quickly the veil came off to reveal the beast with seven heads. My head is much happier buried in sand than up a sand nigger’s orifice.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Gazer

You are correct about the economies of scale vis a vis $600M in Barbados etc.

The thing is that that investment will employ 500 – 400 of whom will be foreigners by 6 months of operations and 100 of who will be gardeners and housecleaning FOREVER earning $300/week before taxes!!

Concomitantly, what we have never been able to do, in any administration, over ALL THE YEARS, has been to attract 60 $10 million initiatives which employ 50 bajans in PERSISTENT and STEADY GROWTH industries.

Health Industries. Barbados should have long ago diversified its tourism industry into this sector with a brand which incorporated the gullies and erstwhile hidden ecosystem and preserved it. Treehouse-like accommodation similar to the Roman Catholic accommodation in Dominica.

ICT specifically the Software as a service sector. Noyone “sells” software anymore, everyone “rents” it, Cloud based software and the commensurate data security services (Medium Long Term objective)

Provisioning Business Products and Services via the Virtual Medium, few entities own warehouses but they facilitate the distribution of products and services remotely e.g. Amazon

Renewable Energy, as Bush Tea says all the time building on the assets of the generation before, the Dr. Headley Legacy died with his death and the UWI seems devoid of any inheritors
    yet Sir Hilary getting land donations and looking to carve up the land as Housing Developments

Human Resources Outsourcing e.g. UWI Faculty of Arts and General Studies – English Teachers for the Rich non-english speaking Latin Americas – Virtual or In Situ Instruction & Immersion

Logistics and Transportation for the World. Utilize IP for the less developed countries. Here is an item to put this in context It relates to the British MI5/6 secret Service use of Big Data @ 2014!!!

“A 2010 Cabinet Office review of agencies’ use of bulk personal data released as part of the tribunal process revealed that GCHQ held flight manifests gathered through INTERCEPTION.

In its witness statement to the tribunal, a GCHQ deputy director wrote that since 2014 it has run “a new travel data tool that uses various different feeds of information to build a picture of the travel of individuals” that is accessible by analysts at MI5 and SIS.”

The technology still is not ubiquitous AND only 15 – 20 countries world wide of 184 countries have manifest management systems.

Telecommunications (post Barbados’ active deregulation of the local industry) there are technologies which make sLIME & Digicel dodo birds. We need to invest in these for all else is going to kill our growth.

Get the PRC launch another of their low orbit satellites for use by the CARICOM governments as part of our collective ITC development strategy towards 2025

20. @ Donna

OSTRICHES BURYING THEIR HEADS IN THE GROUND IS A MYTH

So, don’t worry about Freedom Crier’s depiction of BU contributors as “ostriches bury their heads in the sand.”

21. Wait PDYR wid all dat literary eloquence .Why dont u instead of giving advice for others to follow. Why dont u take such advice and used it in favour of self and countrymen.Or are u one of them Gawd awful socialist flies waiting on line to burn everything to the ground
    It is so amazing how the socialist decry everything in a democracy but does not take any time to do those things that are beneficial in the development of a country.

Btw anonymice u should be counting your lucky stars that in a democracy you can offer advice as to whom one should be associated

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

It took me a while to find this song

I getter suits AC and Mugabe

It is by Shadow – Bassman

“Every night I lay down in me bed I hearing Mugabe in Me Head…

Pin Pum. pumpity pum (I want some horns….)

“It is me Mubage you Bassman from Cave Hill Woods…”

Now sweeter sweeter…..

Actually It sound better with

“Uncle Fumble in me head, and he want me to dead…

You dun know that if I was Mugabe Mottley I would approach Shadow for copyright of that song and adapt the version for a Fumble version…

Steupseee, I heah doing all this free wuk fuh she Troika and ent getting a cent

I like i name AC and Legion who ent getting paid by de DLP fuh she support of that party

I wonder who paying the Sand Nigger? She mussie getting pay from the roti restaurant or by posting dem videos and fliers dat she does be finding lololol

23. All the socialist have taken up residence in BU .but yuh know what i always suspect one or two but never gave much thought to others.
    Btw if anyone take a listen to Comissiong message in his speeches on the history of Bussa what resonates in my mind is his continuing call for the Bussa process of revolution to become a reality in Barbados
    He never ceases in his approach to make salient yet revealing points how the revolution can become a reality by way of bussa process

FC keep the fire burning . Without freedom society is doomed

24. @Freedom Crier

Can you stay on topic instead of posting ideological bullshit every topic? What views do you have we can deem pragmatic and relevant to issues affecting Barbados. Freedom of expression is not freedto post bullshit.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dufus.

! thank you for the 3rd compliment that you have given me, albeit grudgefully, here on BU.

Look Legion.

The fact is that the DLP, the BLP and the CIA and others in the public and private sector come here to Barbados Underground to (i) pimp to test your popularity (ii) to posture and present (manifesto) ideas (c) to glean the temperature of the political climate in Barbados (dat would be the Economic Division at the US embassy to gauge the communism leanings and assess what is the level of acceptance of PRC programs (d) the 5% who want to know whu going one and if dem massa policies safe from getting burn down or if de niggers jes as ingrunt as before

Dis here is de place to come to see if Police Brutality is noticed

TO see if Cahill contracts and other corruption schemes, like VECO, Hyatt, de School Meals Syrup scandal etc, going be smooth riding

TO see how many seats wunna going get

You name it, Ionics, Education, Cave Hill Students paying, De teifing Speaker of de Mouse, I said mouse not house, Mugabe and de Troika, De impotent Church and De Senator who Siad David Thompie will not die under His Watch, everyting.

You asked, in your illiterate english, so I dun know which one uh wunna dis is, “Why dont u instead of giving advice for others to follow. Why dont u take such advice and used it in favour of self and countrymen?”

Whu de ole man does post heah is fuh countrymen thou dolt!!

De advice here is free fro those who have the vision to see what is contained in the suggestions.

Unlike George C Brathwaite “a researcher and WTF else he is…” and Angelique the Vampire and others of you parasites, I do not post here to advance self.

I post because I know who comes and like Donna with what Alvin Cummins calls her utopian ideal, I too hope that on either side of the DLP/BLP dufus divide that one uh wunna, or another outside of the dufus inbreeding, will rise up to make a difference and some part of my suggestions may be used.

Now and again, I do show how to crush the DLP and to ensure that wunna doan get one seat in 2017 but I is a bajan and dere fore whu I doing is for country.

You really stupid doah, you does read whu you write?

26. BAJAN VINTAGE IDEAS, COMPLIMENTS BU GROUPIES,

WHILE IGNORING THE OBVIOUS… WE ARE STEEPED TO OUR EYEBALLS IN SOCIALISM!!!

http://media.gettyimages.com/illustrations/ostrich-burying-its-head-illustration-id56983469?k=6&m=56983469&s=170667a&w=0&h=VNbsy5mSKegXlz-msYBzJjVilbc1z4q-GFRFL5zXnE4=

27. DAVID YOU HAD THESE RELEVANT ISSUES IN YOUR POSSESSION AND BECAUSE OF
    YOUR BIAS YOU HAVE NOT SHARED THEM BUT INSTEAD GAVE A SPINOFF THAT HAS HAD LITTLE TRACTION…

YET ANOTHER BOA DANGLES AROUND THE NECKS OF BAJANS.

Submitted by Freedom Crier

What do you consider to be Toxic Governance? BU has raised many voices on issues relating to things that discomfort Barbadians in many areas pertaining to the Bad Governance of Barbados including Cahill… What do you envision as the future for Barbadians if we embrace ideas that further Canker `The Very Fabric Of Our Island?

I think using the Power of the Sun is a wonderful idea but The Technology is not currently (no pun intended) cost effective, in Barbados, that is. Surprise, surprise. Anyone investing their money into sun power at this stage of the game is asking for another Cahill around their necks.

Why should Barbados with a population of 250,000 people be at the forefront of trying to produce Sustainable Energy at an Indeterminable Cost? As a Bajan would say “you want to move from the frying pan into the fire”. (Cahill into Undetermined Costs). If you thought that your Light Bills used to be high, get ready for the Energy Bill on Steroids with alternative energy, by Wind or Solar Power.

Is green energy, particularly wind and solar energy, the solution to our climate and energy problems? Or should we be relying on things like natural gas, nuclear energy, and even coal for our energy needs and environmental obligations?

Alex Epstein of the Center for Industrial Progress explains.

Can We Rely on Wind and Solar Energy?

Barbadians have been spared the Monstrosity of Cahill around their Economic Necks through the Grace of God. Are we so Gullible that we want to invite a yet another atrocity?

There is no Country or County that have produced a successful “Sustainable” energy Project and by successful I mean any Project producing above 75% of their stated Capacity. Big Rich countries of the World with the other 7 billion people have not produced any such projects they only reach in the low 30%. And of this date England is decommissioning their Windmills, because they have not risen to their expectation!

The much-reduced cost of oil is a major factor in this argument. If oil is cheap and readily available, the switch to renewable should not happen be slow to take place in spite of all the good intentions!!!! Another good example of the oil barons and their pocketed politicians who rule the world.

THE SOLAR FARM PROPOSED IN WATERFORD IS YET ANOTHER CAHILL IN THE MAKING… It is all a Set –Up and has nothing to do with Investment…

28. MORE YOU SAY MISTRO…

If you have an Oversees Singular Investment Company they have to pass Real Money to the Bureaucrats to get the permission including Facilitation Fees to accomplish what they want to do as in the Cahill Project!

SOLAR FARM IN ST. LUCY

(1) THE FIRST PIECE IS IN PLACE: Paying more for Electricity that is generated by Solar to BL&P- A tactic often employed is to use Consumers to say that they are doing it for them for those with Solar Cells on their roof. Remember when BL&P said our bill would go up because of this and they were only a few people when they are more persons the bill will go higher which means that we the persons with no solar panels will be paying for the panels of others. Bizzy help push this price up to make the panels return on investment more attractive, which in turn pushed his panel business soaring.

(2) YET TO COME: BL&P have already made their intentions known that they want to Charge Different Rates for Different Times of the day. Variable rates? What possibly can go wrong for us the consumers?

(3) Only in a third world country would you want Solar Energy when the price of oil is so low and is not going to rise anytime soon. Why do it? The world is awash in oil and more being discovered each day, Barbados has awarded the sea exploration rights around Barbados. When they start to pump the oil would Barbados say we do not want any?

(4) The Government has been saving Foreign Exchange for over a year and a half or more with the low prices on oil and yet we hear they want to put Burdensome & Controlling Regulations on Foreign Currency. Not withstanding what the Central Bank Governor said that if we went All Solar, the Economy would grow. However now that Barbadians are Saving ½ of their Energy Cost, the Economy is Still Declining! When a country has to spend over 60 cents on every dollar of income it earns to repay national debts, what the hell do you expect??? When will somebody start telling the Truth or be Competent or recognizing their Socialist Ploys?

(5) The Next Axe to fall is that no one has said by how much your Electricity Bill is going to DROP BY and what rate they are saying the price of oil is for the Electricity to drop. All we can hear are the Promises but No facts or numbers to back It Up!

(6) How is this Electricity Generating Farm in Waterford going to link up with the Grid, considering that they do not own the Grid? Is this going to be yet another attempt like Cahill. Is the BL&P going to be given a choice if they want to pay for other people’s electricity and put it through their grid or are they going to be forced to comply?

Barbadians once again will be forced to pay for an investment for people who have no Track record in Barbados just like Cahill. What they are not telling you are that the rate they will charge will be based of the oil price of yesterday not today’s reality of being washed in oil for decades to come.

The solution does not have the people at ransom from the guaranteed pricing that will have to be offered to these solar plants in Barbados at the expense of its populace.

Free trade among free people is not fixing the game so that we the people pay wither it be Bizzy or Del Mastro.

The 12 story building on Browne’s beach Represents Free Enterprises as they will have to compete to get people to Barbados to stay at their hotel not the forced payments to guarantee the company that builds it as in these Solar Projects. Tell the Commie to find something useful to do for a change as he did in stopping the government getting all our biometric data from Barbadians, which can at the flick of a switch can be sent to all parts of the world. Thing is he is constantly looking for a reason to ‘air out e mout’ if not nobody would ever notice him.

If we choose otherwise it will result in more laws, More Rules, More Regulations and More Restrictions on businesses which in turn results in Government having More Power, More Duties of enforcement and therefore ever-swelling budgets.

Costs to Operate Will Go Up For the Energy Producers. Costs to regulate the producers will go up for the Government. And the Tab for all of these increased costs will ultimately come to Rest on the Shoulders Of The Consumer and Taxpayer.

Intended Effects Versus Unintended Consequences…

INTENDED – More Abundant Clean Energy For All.

UN-INTENDED – More Government, Higher Costs For All.

29. Many years ago the English introduced a Sunlight tax in the 1800’s what makes you think that if you developed an independent form of energy that you would not be taxed. They will find a way, as they always do to suck the lifeblood of the populace.

The Problems of Corruption are surely not Limited to our Shores.

We only have to look to our neighbor Venezuela to see Full Blown Socialism in Action.

And so many people Turning a Blind Eye, Pretending this not their Problem, not recognizing that Full Blown Socialism is creeping up at a faster pace than we can imagine! Nothing to see here folks simply move along…

The Facts about Venezuela

No, it is not a victim of its own economic success.

Oil prices went back down, and down went Venezuela. Somehow, at the end of that roller-coaster ride, Chávez’s daughter acquired a net worth of $4.2 billion.

I always tend to talk on the Root Cause of our ills, which produces all the issues we debate (wither intentionally or not). When we recognize the Culprit the Mirage becomes Clear and we are no longer baffled and entangled in issues of their making leaving us puzzled. Socialism / Collectivism is Serfdom; it only benefits the Elitist resulting in Tyranny and Chaos as witnessed by what is ensuing in Venezuela under Full Blown Socialism! There are different Degrees of Socialism, but it is All Socialism with guaranteed results of failure.

Why in the first place did it get so out of hand? Eventually the System Rots and every kind of corruption emerge. I am sympathetic to suffering but we have to come to grips with the Root Cause…SOCIALISM.

More than a failed state, it’s a failed SYSTEM. It’s called Socialism and it sooner or later fails everywhere. Its motto is, “When at first you don’t succeed, fail, fail again.” In the free, competitive private sector, failure is something you learn from, so you can succeed in the future. But in the public sector under Socialism especially, failure is merely an excuse to fail even more spectacularly later because all that matters is intentions, not results. Let’s hope that in Venezuela, the hour of liberation is near and that lessons will be learned from this horrific flop spelled S-O-C-I-A-L-I-S-M.

Consider that one of the fruits of Socialism is Crony Capitalism. True Capitalism and Free Enterprise is good! What has developed in this country is due to the bastardization of the two by insane taxes, stifling over regulation. This has allowed Cronyism through Politicians and big businesses that are forced to “play ball”, to commit theft and control in such a grand scale that is almost unfathomable!!!!

30. Pdyr no i do not read my comments too busy reading your bullshit and ignorant posters
    Notice how frustrating David bu has become the once unstoppable David Bu has thrown down the gauntlet in protest against freedom of speech laying claim that not all freedom of speech is justifiable and can be deemed bullshit. What next does he have on his socialist agenda?Although he might have made a point he contradicts himself by allowing under the guise of protest PDYR bullshit posters.How hypocritical that his attacks which in my mind might be a call to censor FC freedom of speech or protest yet sees no wrong harm or danger with PDYr insulting posters meant to demean peoples character
    What next David a changing of the guard to the socialist agenda

31. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

FC: Frankensteinian Contributor
    I like to google your sentences and I can find them word for word here and there. I was extremely surprised when one of your postings on BU came up in my google search. It seems that eventually, the monster will be yours only …from plagiarism to ownership… that’s theft

32. Here comes another socialist acting out on impluse with an imagination of fear selectively going about due dilligience to frame and conspire. A sick tactic one which can only be found among the propaganda pages of a socialist.

33. If this topic continues on the current trajectory it will be closed.

Here is an opportunity for us to clash heads on serious issues affecting Barbados and we have to resort to asinine exchanges. Sometimes to release steam but every time?

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Gazer

It has been known for the longest time that Sand Nigger is a plagiarist of the superlative type.

Not one original thought.

In fact when she has tried to post something original her idiocy shines out.

If you go back to her original posts you see haw she alludes to her strugles with her family and something about her education or lack thereof.

I cant recall the detail now and frankly dont want to lololol

35. Just a friendly reminder. The Communist burn the books..The socialist close the blogs.
    Six of one half dozen of another.pick your preferences

36. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

Sorry blog-master
    Sometimes ‘we” are able to scroll and ignore……..
    But along comes that one last straw……

37. Do we not consider the graveness of our situation in Barbados where Corruption Infringes on every aspect of our lives including what happened with Cahill? Do you think this will be a Singular Incident?

Now we are witnessing yet another Ploy by Stealth to make Barbados the example of Self Sufficiency in Solar Energy as the front runner for the Caribbean and other nations at the Expense of a Nation People who Will end up footing the bill of Higher Energy Cost when all is said and done!!

WAKE UP…Socialism Abounds and Prospers at the Expense of Our Nation. Socialism is Economic Cannibalism.

Examine the System of Governance that is causing endless turmoil on our shores and Internationally! We just have to look to our neighbors in Venezuela. If we could warn our Neighbors of impeding destruction, should we not with every fiber of Soul to do so?

Or are we so caught up in our Narrow Vision, Issues and Selective Ideologies, not to Hear the Cries of Others? I think wherever we see injustice we should have the fortitude to stand and let our voices be heard.

I am a Free Thinker and I say it as I see it Without Clouded Judgment. I am Not in the Entertainment Business as others who wish to only paint pretty pictures. I Fear No One, Nor Am I Looking For Anyone’s Approval, that is why I Am a Free Individual To Say It As I See It, Plain as Night Is From Day, that is the Difference Between Truth and Error and we all can know the difference if Influenced By Our Conscience within.

Don’t Envy SEEK AND YE SHALL FIND…

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/2a/ab/6f/2aab6f0ebbfab2fcb7ea478e58e160ac.jpg

38. R it de troot dat Heather a wicker? Dis ole man doan know. but areit de troot?

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sometimes Honourable Blogmaster it is a wise strategy to let people “show their colours”.

I blog on a few American sites while using Tails the superlative in USB incognito systems.

The main topics of my blogger contributions are Discrimination and Police Brutality & the Presidency/Elections and generally Civic Responsibility supported through various channels 502C3s community interactions etc. etc.

You would be surprised how regular topics go south on a site with 100,000 users.

The topic sometimes auto regulates itself but sometimes, when users find themselves out of their depth, people will talk on non related topics.

This is a very specialized topic and not many people know what it is, nor, even if they know, can maintain the topic at the level of engagement that can do adequate justice to it in a virtual environment.

Secondly, Freedom Crier, who was invited to post here by ***, lolol has done and continues to do like Dompey.

The thing is that whereas one could reel in Dompey, Freedom Crier cant be reeled in.

Bush Tea said it best when he spoke of ways to disrupt a website that is affecting the powers that be.

Buy it out.

Censorize its behind

Or get a poster to post dog pup.

I now create posters and DO NOT POST THEM, or rarely post them because, with Freedom Crier posting every page of Mein Kampf and every Black man who said anything contra Communism, Socialism or Hilary Clinton nowadays i save my blitzkrieg for phase two which will ***.

You alone have the power to throttle any one of us who will not play by BU’s rules

40. look before you close the blog one more thing that i must say . how interesting is it that this topic was fueled by a man in a rush to push back the development of barbadods . A man whose interest is rooted in a socialist agenda far removed from the mechanism of freedom and rights in a democracy On the cusps of ushering a new era of power called nationalism attempting with sweet mouthing words driven to stall and push back barbados advancement Here he stand tall among the wolves in sheep clothing as a shepherd an en -lightener a person with exceptional knowledge to be effective and efficient enough , yet for all his vision right across the water those systems of governance which he yearns for and cherish have been plunged in to a world of darkness . Yes a man called Comissiong a Man for all the wrong reason

41. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

@PUDRYR
    You have made some excellent contributions.
    The ‘stoopid cartoons’ or ‘pretty pictures’ have delivered some devastating blows. Any fool would know this.

Whoever thought of the ‘unholy alliance’ is brilliant. I will try my best to ignore……

Keep up the good work.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Let me explain how I will blog on a topic in the context of my comment this morning about an observation that was made about Thani Shoe Stores and duty free abuse and Frustrated Business Man’s response regarding how to deal with the Duty Free Problem.

I was focused on revenues to be derived from Software as a Service and applying that to the specific problem and to produce a persistent stream from the Duty Free sector while managing the constant duty free problem and job for several foreign nationals at Thanis and ShoeLocker.

He, as a seasoned business man, was proposing a macro solution to solve all of the Forex Bleed.

He chose with his superior knowledge to break it down for a simpleton like me and I went away the wiser for the encounter.

My point is simple, there are topics here that I have not got a clue about, much like Stinkliar ent got a clue about Finance and decimal points. So I stay outside the debating chamber and try to glean something when Artaxerxes and Prodigal and The Sage Miller and even PPK talk about these actuarial matters.

For those that i dont know but would wish to know about, i will go and read.

So were it that i did not know what ND meant i would have found “National development refers to the ability of a nation to improve the lives of its citizens. Measures of improvement may be material, such as an increase in the gross domestic product, or social, such as literacy rates and availability of healthcare…” disaggregated the matter for a segment where I felt I could contribute based on my experience and speak to that segment.

AC nor Sand Nigger are not in that mode of contribution to the whole AND, a careful analysis of many of the BU family, reveals that that modus of collective contribution and discourse IS NOT COMMON TO the Bajan psyche.

We are simpletons whose minds are so clouded by DLP/BLP compasses that a simple discussion on if slippers are bad for the arches of our feet slips into but Barrow imposed a tax on SJ Pilgrim that forced him to stop importing proper Clark shoes. And Tom abolished the tax.

43. YOU WANT RELEVANT ISSUES, SO I GIVE A WHOLE ARTICLE ON SUCH YET YOU DO NOT POST IT BUT WOULD PREFER TO KEEP FIRING ACCUSATIONS THAT I DO NOT SPEAK ON UP TO DATE THINGS AFFECTING THE NATION.

DO NOT EXPECT THAT I WOULD NOT POINT OUT WHAT IS CAUSING ALL THE ILLS RELATED TO THESE ISSUES AND HOW SOCIALISM LEADS TO THOSE ISSUES..

We live and learn as life unfolds itself and especially when we Question, Question and Question some more to find correct answers. Just a little advice from someone that has been around for a long time!

I have found with certain Topics presented in this setting, folks look the other way because it does not suit their Agenda that they have been following all along and to acknowledge something may be possibly True other than what they Perceive to be True takes them out of their Comfort Zone so they pretend that it is Irrelevant!

THEN THEY EXPRESS EXPLICITLY THEIR DDD SYNDROME…DENIAL, DEFLECTION AND DEMONETIZATION WHEN ONE SPEAKS OPENLY AND HONESTLY.

http://cdn.meme.am/instances/51465947.jpg

44. @ David
    What close what blog what!!!??
    Just delete the idiot’s posts….
    …just like Boremann’s…