BrexitBU has ascertained from correspondents that an atmosphere of disbelief pervades the United Kingdom today in the wake of the Leave vote. In the last two weeks, most people, on whatever side of the divide, have felt that Remain would prevail. The Remain campaign leaders (headed by PM Cameron) had booked the venue for a victory celebration, a booking that had to be cancelled. Meanwhile, the Leave campaign had no celebratory plans. They didn’t think they would have anything to celebrate. Meanwhile in Brussels, the atmosphere, as far as we are able to discern, is total shock. The Brussels leaders are now apportioning all blame to David Cameron on the basis that he ought never have given the British electorate the right to vote in referendum on a matter of such vital importance. They claim that the UK parliament has “sovereignty” in these matters.

It is clear from the UK press that the campaign was strongly contested and, sadly, as we can see from the BBC, even after the electorate has made its will known, the contest continues. The PM has announced that he is stepping down and it is clear that Boris Johnson is the frontrunner to replace him.

On several occasions, Remain MPs have said that surely the electorate will not support a government of which “Boris the Buffoon” is PM and they have even derided the Lord Chancellor, Michael Gove whose background could best be described as humble. Mr Gove’s father had a fish shop in Aberdeen and educated his son with his meagre financial means to become Lord Chancellor of Britain, instead of the golden backgrounds and education at Eton College enjoyed by David Cameron and Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osbourne and, incidentally, the same Boris Johnson who happens to be the child of Turkish immigrants.

But whatever the results, BU takes no position on either Remain or Leave. What we do look at, however, is the likely result of Brexit on the Commonwealth, more narrowly on the Region and narrowing our perspective again, on Barbados.

Specifically, in Barbados we used to have a sugar industry, but the EU contributed heavily to its demise, so that now we are entirely dependent on tourism and foreign investment and off-shore banking. One of those scarcely exists any longer and the other fluctuates wildly. Regionally, an examination of EU Rules shows that there are no less than 4 EU directives on bananas, ranging from their curvature to other completely irrelevant requirements. So our banana-producing neighbours are subject to the dictates of Brussels in their traditional supply of bananas to the UK.

It is instructive that many years before Boris Johnson became a politician and while he was a journalist with the UK’s Telegraph Newspaper, he was already bemoaning the fact that the UK had side lined the Commonwealth in order to meet its obligations to the EU. As a politician, Mr Johnson’s position did not change and as one of the Leave leaders, he has been vocal in his desire to enter a far closer association with the Commonwealth, a sentiment echoed by Mr Gove and many others on the Leave side who alone have recognised and publicized the role played in the National Health Service by health professionals from the Commonwealth, many of them from Barbados, while the Remain camp has seemed obsessed solely with the “Johnny-come-lately’s” from the EU. Mr Johnson and Mr Gove have been at pains to make it clear that they want immigration, but not unlimited immigration from the EU, but rather to open up immigration to the Commonwealth. As we know, the promises and opinions of politicians are often written in the sand with a tidal wave approaching. However, these views did not depend on political expediency when they were stated, but have the appearance of being convictions. So maybe Her Majesty will not be alone now in holding the Commonwealth, from the British position, together any longer and she, at age 90, will finally have some assistance within the executive of the UK.

Then there is Nicola Sturgeon, the Scottish First Minister who, among the expedient politicians, certainly takes the cake today. Ms Sturgeon, having lost a Scottish referendum for independence from the UK just two years ago, is now stating that another referendum is now “on the table”. It has transpired that in France Marine le Pen, the leader of the National Front, is the frontrunner in the imminent French presidential elections and has made it clear that she will hold a referendum to bring France out of the EU and the polls show 68% of the French electorate want to leave the EU. Poland too wants out. So does the Netherlands. Ditto Denmark and Portugal. And most importantly, Germany is heading that way as well. So, if Ms Sturgeon does manage to extract Scotland from the UK on the basis of Scotland remaining a part of the EU, she may well be leaving the UK and its vital (to Scotland) subsidies (given the near collapse of North Sea Oil) just in time to help preside over the demise of the EU and then not be able to participate, or have to negotiate to participate, in the UK’s new trade deals globally and with the Commonwealth.

There is going to be a vacuum that may well be of great benefit to the Commonwealth, Region and Barbados and maybe we should be looking at optimising our possible advantages and look to fill a part of that vacuum, instead of bemoaning the inevitable demise of a super state advantageous only to multi-national bankers, investors and corporations.

159 responses to “A Take on the BREXIT Vote”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…and that is what has now befallen the useless politicians, but no one should care about their problems, let them rot I say.

The issue as Hants has pointed out, is educating the people to their new found freedom to survive the next wave of manmade misery…as long as they know….. the hardest thing is to know.

The politicians are too stupid to see the freedom of their people they are too busy still growing up stupid under the union jack.

2. @Bushie

For millions of years Indigenous’ peoples were on this earth. It is only in the last few thousands years when the ‘albino-centric thinking’ took over that we’ve had the kinds of problems that can’t help but get worse and worse.

In some ways the same far right fascist elements in Europe are rebellion against the same. But we were here before, remember!

3. @Hants
    Wunna Bajans should mek kitchen gardens in wunna yards. A few chickens will provide eggs
    If they are going to raise chickens, they will have to move back to the villages from the “Heights & Terraces”. In my day all the conveyances for the new housing developments prohibited the rearing of domestic animals (except dogs and cats) in these areas. When people move to their upgraded abodes they don’t want to wake up to the smell of cess pools or the constant crowing of “fowl cocks”, but hey the lady a few doors away from the hacienda in Bim keeps several dogs that bark incessantly, the madam thinks that they are a nuisance but I call them an early warning system.

4. @AC

Do we not cede sovereignty every minute of every day when the people of Barbados are not the Sovereign but an old White woman in London.

Why can’t you advice you PM, when he kisses the Bible and pledges allegiance to the queen that that is a violation of ‘sovereignty’

Or did you not know that her majesty and her majesty alone is the sovereign of Barbados.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word

Left something for you at Brexit 1 from 28 leaves 28

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs dont know that they dont know…lol I brt pimps that they are they cannot feel the freedom now reining down…they gotta stay tied to their shackled political leaders..

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It felt so good saying that…lol

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/brexit-turmoil-brings-wall-street-market-plunge-article-1.2686455

I am sure everyone is trying to run around sticking all 10 fingers in the dyke, that has already broken….love it.

.http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/obama-confident-brexit-won-spell-doom-u-s-relations-article-1.2686953

Let them feel it to the max I say.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“The top EU executive said that he had spoken with leaders of member countries and they were determined to forge ahead.

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,” Tusk said.”

And this is the cue for Caribbean people to make sure it does not kill them.

10. British tourists are left penniless as ‘pound panic’ spreads around the globe and banks and hotels refuse to exchange Sterling into local cash

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3658206/You-t-exchange-pounds-don-t-know-worth-Hell-British-tourists-hotels-REFUSE-swap-money-amid-Brexit-market-turmoil.html#ixzz4CawHsBzi

In the immediate aftermath of the Brexit, If the pound continues to fall we might see some visitor cancellations. Continued reassurance has to be given within the UK and around the globe in order to qualm fears.

With change in the air maybe it is time for Barbados to remove its head of state, and UWI to remove its visitor , the queen. The British are not afraid of change it seems, and have removed the queen as head of their universities yet we here in the commonwealth hold on to her. These vestiges of colonial rule which we refuse to Barexit, and Uweexit from while we seek reparations, speak volumes.

11. de pedantiic Dribbler Avatar
    de pedantiic Dribbler

@Bush Tea. I can understand and readily accept your: “Here is some advice for you,..It may be better fuh wunna donkeys to head home hear…?Yuh could find a breadfruit to roast, and yuh could sleep pun the beach down here…”

Breadfruits are basically good food and swimming the sea is excellent exercise for old bones.

But I unable to decipher your other exhortation that “The only REAL solution is the ‘ARMOUR of BBE’”.

How does that armour alone provide the only real solution to the corporate and governmental elites that drive the unions of the industrial complex the world-over or the “the Bizzy/Baloney revelations” of this world?

I appreciate your status in life to proselytize your Word but don’t you realize that such a statement by itself makes your advice as all consuming and self-defeating as the word from the elites to trust their prescriptions.

Certainly you NEVER, ONLY used the armour of BBE, so rhetorically I ask you, why such a recommendation now? No response desired. I accept your base point.

Just pointing out the obvious: There is NEVER any ONE REAL solution…even or particularly when it comes to your BBE!!!

12. The old white woman in England power has been cut many years she stands their as a figure head the global economy is now own and dominated by a small group who owns most of the worlds wealth and they would make sure that there interest remains protected ceding nothing to Britian in return for nothing . britain might eventually have to ceded to reality instead of emotionalism .

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As it stands, if the Bizzys, Maloneys Bjerkhams have any of their stolen money hidden in UK banks, as amsure they have, knowibg of thrir arrigance and sense of false suoeriority…their ass is grass, their dogs just all died…get them out of the taxpayer’s treasury, get them away from the people…get Bjerkham out of the central bank, stop taxpater funded contracts to them…let them suffer.

Lol..and why is my buddy MoneyB so quiet. Money honey, where are you.

AC pimps yall have no loyalty at all, just the other day yall were kissing that old woman’s gray ass..lol

14. @Bush Tea
    Here is some advice for you, Sarge, Dribbler, and the other ‘Canadian water’ drinkers….
    It may be better fuh wunna donkeys to head home hear…?
    +++++++
    Yuh could find a breadfruit to roast, and yuh could sleep pun the beach down here
    And all along I thought you liked me, will you be my bodyguard while I sleep on the beach? If yuh want to be rid of me you could suggest that I play in de traffic on the ABC Highway.

Yuh know life is still good here, today I checked out my garden and the tomatoes, cucumbers and collard greens are coming along. In the herb section the Thyme is thriving, the Sage, chives and marjoram are abundant, the basil and Rosemary are a little behind but I don’t have much luck with the peppers they are ornery and seem to have a life of their own so if I manage to get one or two that would be a bonus. Did I mention that I have broad leaf thyme (or as you call it old man pork) in a pot? Incidentally I hear that it curbs certain carnal desires but you could expand on that.

I didn’t even get to the flower garden I’ll save that for another time.
    The bad news I got my property assessment notice this week and it reports that the updated property value is up a bunch of dollars since 2012 which makes Bim attractive for $700.00 per year in property tax.

The good news I could walk to the local grocery and buy breadfruit, yams, sweet potatoes, green bananas etc. so thanks for the advice……..

15. A lot of the comments here today are bigoted and self-serving. As if most of you are simply incapable of acknowledging just how disruptive mass immigration and rule by unelected bureaucracies can be for a proud, accomplished people in one of the most successful nation states in the history of the world. I am not an Anglophile, but facts are facts.
    So I want to congratulate the Brits (OK, the English and the Welsh peoples) for demanding a renegotiation of their relationship with the Continent.
    One other thing: When Boris Johnson (no, he is not the child of Turkish immigrants, it was one of his great grandfathers who was Turkish, and that is offset by his blood ties to British and European royalty) and Michael Gove speak of re-connecting to the Commonwealth, they are referring to the old Dominions — Canada, Australia and New Zealand — and to India, with an asterisk. They are not talking about the Caribbean, and they are definitely not talking about Pakistan and such.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac June 25, 2016 at 9:09 AM

Since you know that “the old white woman in England” power has been cut many years and she stands only there as a figure head, why don’t you and your DLP yard-fowls in Her Majesty’s backyard take the people into your confidence and put the republic referendum to the Bajan brass bowls?

Don’t you think your own people are as good as their former role model?
    What are you afraid of? Here is what you should be asking the Barrow-educated generation to vote on as a 50th birthday Independence gift?

“Hello well-educated people of Barbados formerly Little England, do you think your country should remove the Queen (Sovereign of the United Kingdom now broken away from the European Union) and replace Her with a born and yard-fowl bred President of the Republic of Barbados (ROB)?”

Please select your Hobson’s choice as follows:

(1): “YES”

(2): “YES”.

17. I think Bushie is nauseatingly right on this one. The powers that be will attempt to put the people back in their places. As for the rest of it – who knows where it will all end? I don’t even care to speculate but one thing I do know is that we in Barbados need to get rid of the “albino centric” train wreck of thoughts and free ourselves. We must get up off our tails and save ourselves. And yes, plant more of our own food. And Sarge, I have a friend in the terraces who grows almost everything she eats in big plant pots (even strawberries and grapes). She is a diabetic but she is looking really well. When I saw her in the supermarket with her almost empty trolley, she promised to come and help me. Instead of being Chicken Licken panicking because the sky appears to be falling we should attempt to be chicken farmers. My friend is thriving because her food bill is waaaay down, Her healthcare bill is reduced because she is eating well – good nutrition and no pesticides. She pays no gym membership fees but she gets great exercise and plenty of fresh air. She feels a sense of accomplishment. She feels in control of her life. And she looks SO STRESS FREE. The impact of this simple act is tremendous. Stop looking up to see if the sky is falling and get back in contact with the earth. Back to basics. Control what you can.

18. @ Dribbler
    The breadfruit is tops…. in fact, there is a new delicacy with roasted breadfruit and various toppings now, that is threatening to make breadfruit the next caviar…. LOL
    …but you may want to watch the sea bathing thing. Bushie said to SLEEP on the beach.
    The government of Barbados runs a number of sewerage systems where the treated water is discharged out to sea… Think about it…
    …Government of Barbados run….
    …’treated’ water…
    …discharged at sea..

As to the armour of BBE, don’t feel any way about it not making sense. If it did, this world would be a completely different place. Ephesians 6: explains it all….
    … our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world, and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.
    Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand….
    Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place
    and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.
    In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.
    Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.
    And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.
    None of this will make sense if your frame of reference continues to be the materialistic distractions that constitute our lives, but for those who are able to see beyond the short-term and the fleeting reality of living, it makes perfect sense.

The POWER of truth, righteousness (doing RIGHT), peace-making, faith, along with the confidence provided by a genuine understanding of the word of God is UNMATCHABLE – even for the dark forces of this world.

19. The question to you Pacha.How will the Brixts pulled themselves up by the boot straps coming out of dominoe effect and a downward spirling of its economy ..an economy that is tied to world financial markets and investment and a world economy which means that when Britain faulters the ramifications are felt.
    It would be interesting in the weeks and months how Britain reinvent the wheel to heightened investors confidence investors who had grown accustomed to the EU perks and its influence in immigration and freedom of movement
    The reality being that when the dust is cleared the people would have to bear the burnt of the restructing process as investors holdfast to what they own and would not be caught off guard goaded by political propositions

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ chad99999 June 25, 2016 at 9:41 AM
    “One other thing: When Boris Johnson (no, he is not the child of Turkish immigrants, it was one of his great grandfathers who was Turkish, and that is offset by his blood ties to British and European royalty) “

That means Boris is in possession of blood money inherited from his English (or should that be Scottish) ancestors’ role in the African slave trade.

Well let him join Benedict Cumberbatch in this acknowledgement.

Btw, Pakistan is still geographically and demographically part of the Indian sub-continent.
    The only difference between Pakistan and India is an imaginary line of an old religion versus a newer version of superstition.

One other thing, too: There are ‘much’ more “Pakis” in the UK than Hindus and one must add, at an astronomically uncontrollable rate; so take that in your pipe and smoke it for edification.

21. @ Donna
    I think Bushie is nauseatingly right on this one
    That is a LOW blow…..

Bushie cries ‘FOUL’ Boss… 🙂
    Wuh yuh going do…?

22. @Bush Tea
    Bushie just wish that we had a Prime Minister who was not so OBVIOUSLY a complete jackass.
    On the CBC radio news at 5 yesterday, …first item was Froon announcing that he expected no impact from the BREXIT vote because ‘people who visited Barbados for 40 years will not stop because of the vote’. He added that those who invested in Barbados will not change their investments because of the exit.
    Cuddear the man was not briefed; how do you expect a man who has no concept of economics or trade issues (like the majority here) to respond to this kind of questioning? Yuh think there was Cabinet meeting that explored the possibility of the “Leave” side winning and how they should respond? BTW most of the world expected the “Remain” side to win and were gob smacked when it lost. Ah mean if yours truly had your prescient wisdom I would have sold out some of the assets I hold on Thursday and bought them back on Friday.

Anyway, yuh seem to be short on Jeremiads today, yuh waiting for GP?

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea
    When will you learn to rightly divide the Word of Truth?
    The parable of the 10 virgins is an extention and part of the Olivet Discourse, and has nothing to do with the issues here.
    Who was Jesus speaking to?
    Why?
    To whom does issues of the kingdom refer?
    Why does this section of the Olivet Discourse not repeated in the other presentations of this discourse in Mark or Luke?
    Why is the Olivet discourse not presented at all in John?

Dont worry to respond to me. I dont expect to get a sensible sound Theological discussion from you. You do not understand or respect sound Hermeneutics.

Your time might be better spent responding to the jackass who does not understand that this statement is not only stupid but blasphemy

“Just pointing out the obvious: There is NEVER any ONE REAL solution…even or particularly when it comes to your BBE!!!

This lesson used to be taught in singing at primary school in the 50’s in this hymn
    Lord, I would own Thy tender care,
    And all Thy love to me;
    The food I eat, the clothes I wear,
    Are all bestowed by Thee.

’Tis Thou preservest me from death
    And dangers every hour;
    I cannot draw another breath
    Unless Thou give me power.

Kind angels guard me every night,
    As round my bed they stay:
    Nor am I absent from Thy sight
    In darkness or by day.

My health, and friends, and parents dear,
    To me by God are giv’n;
    I have not any blessing here
    But what is sent from Heav’n.

Such goodness, Lord, and constant care
    I never can repay;
    But may it be my daily prayer,
    To love Thee and obey.

This simple song was written for children, but its sound teachings are relevant also for old fools!

This Brexit shit and all that will exude therefrom is leading clearly to the rise of AntiChrist. This is the man who will lead the imminent one world order. We are seeing poor leaders literally pour on to the world scene. None of them have any of the required answers.

The panic to day is a mere foretaste of that predicted as presented in Revelation 17. In that day it will take one hour for everything to fall flat. What a day that will be!

This is a time for some of us to REJOICE….as we see the “day approaching!

I generally teach that REVELATION is a large river into which the several streams of Bible Prophesy enter. If you know nothing of the streams, you can not figure out the whole. It is like the Mississippi river which traverses much of the USA with its several local characteristics.

We live at at a time when many of the parts are rapidly entering the big river of time. Few are heeding the warnings.

I GONE

Chadx9..ya want bigoted and self-serving, that is the UK politicians lying to the elderly from UK and Wales….the vote is 52-48…just as the politicians in Barbados lied to the elderly in 2013, so too UK politicians played on the fears of the elderly making them believe they will lose their healthcare and pensions if they don’t leave EU…the young people voted to stay….there is your bigots and self-serving creeps..it was not well thought through but pushed through by arrogant nuisances with no sense of fairness, only greed.

They asked Obama his opinion when they invited him over to UK.he gave it to them amd said leaving will cause disaster….they cussed him and told him he was meddling.

Let them suffer..lol

This is Scotland and Irelands’ cue to have a referendum amd run in the other dirction from UK and Wales…let them suffer, no one owes them anything..

Just as the majority in Barbados do not owe the minority parasites anything, all they do is steal from the majority anyway anyway…let them suffer for their greed amd nastiness.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman..ya right about the seabathing thing, stay far from the shoreline, stay just outside the sandline, a vortex held on to me one day and would not let go, I waited it out, but lucky for me someone else stepped into the water and it grabbed her and washed her out to sea…swim in a pool, it’s a little safer.

26. Racists won by immigrant bashing
    white scum now claim that vote was more nuanced and not dog whistle racism nationalism ism schism

https://youtu.be/Cd2_XQgU38o

27. GP

Hermaneutics is just a branch of philosophy, not confined to the Bible or other ‘holy’ scriptures. Therefore it does not require any belief system to reason the pros or cons of interpretation/s or aspects thereof.

Why disqualify the great Bushie. The most likely, of us all, to have something insightful to say.

Well, you ended up by straying from the strictly hermaneutical into belief. One in the tens of thousands of beliefs based on an acceptable interpretation.

28. And do not forget that Obama has made it clear to the Brixts that he would be in no haste to create a new trade deal with Britain
    Talk about shooting one self in the mouth a thorough analysis has been made coming from the Brixts decision and concluded such was the case

29. Mark my word.Britz seem to be now aware that the talk of saving £350 million is pure piffle and lies.It is now abroad that many are having second thoughts on possible loss of job opportunities,investment,freedom of movement,etc therefore the likelihood of a snap election is real so as to give a new government an excuse to renegotiate the negatives while maintaining the positives and finally reverse the ‘leave’decision.
    Angela Merkel seem to be for giving the UK space to breathe.

30. George Osborne did not go to Eton. Br exit was about head (facts such as the end of the nation state, economics) and heart, (localism, taking back your country, etc). It is the revenge of the working and lower middle classes.
    Ideologically, it is the same populism as Trumpism, Le Pen in France and Wilders in Holland. It is the stormtroopers gathering at the gate.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ĺoss of jobs, loss of big business…100 billion pounds went poof overnight, they can always say it was just a joke.

Divorce papers have not been signed yet…..but how do they get rid of the nazi stormtroopers, that’s the trick…lol

32. Well Well & Consequences

Both sides of the debate threatened dire consequences if their side didn’t win. I think the Remain Side and Obama were even worse than Boris and Michael.
    And before you celebrate the leave-taking of the penniless Scots and Irish, remember that France, Spain, the Netherlands, Poland, Italy and Austria all have large secession movements in their own countries. The Scots may be heading for disaster themselves.

33. The Government of Barbados needs to plan for the inevitable downturn in the Barbados economy.

Anyone with average intelligence understands the consequence of the financial turmoil caused by Brexit Leave.

British and some EU Politicians will try to”sugar coat” and do damage control but don’t be fooled. This will be no smooth exit for the UK. Some EU countries will stop or reduce trade with the UK.

Barbados ( fornerly known as “Little England”) should focus on “diversifying it’s economy” and playing nice with the other Caribbean countries.

I am having a flash back to a Political mass meeting and a speech made by the late Errol Barrow during which he suggested that Caribbean countries could trade among themselves
    and reduce dependence on the rest of the world.

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

pacha
    I particularly said Dont worry to respond to me. I dont expect to get a sensible sound Theological discussion from you. You do not understand or respect sound Hermeneutics.

I speak of Biblical Hermeneutics.
    I have nothing more to say on this matter.
    I will now listen to the pundits bullshit on tv ad nauseam until I can find something more meaningful like the Lone Ranger or Roy Rogers

Lots of useless talk will not change the tide which will soon become a flood as men’s hearts fail them for fear.

WELL WELL
    Ĺoss of jobs, loss of big business…100 billion pounds went poof overnight, they can always say it was just a joke.

THIS IS JUST A SMALL PICTURE OF THAT DESCRIBED IN REVELATION 17 & 18

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chad…disaster was bound to happen, everything has run it’s course…..karma, it all has to start from scratch, with everyone watching the other.

36. Hal Austin

Your reference to stormtroopers is the purest form of ignorance.
    Mexican immigration and Asian exports are threatening America.The threat is as much to the entire system of technological innovation as it is to the jobs and wages of the white and black working classes. A similar argument can be made about the threats to British identity. Long live Donald Trump. God bless Boris and Michael.

37. “A BARBADIAN LANDSCAPING COMPANY has come up with an easy solution for householders who want to grow their own food but have limited space or time”.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82384/kitchen-gardens-instant#sthash.qpSVuc1d.dpuf

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Anyone with average intelligence understands the consequence of the financial turmoil caused by Brexit Leave.”

So Hants, where do you expect Fruendel and Co to get that average intelligence from, has he not already said it cannot affect Babados…did both political parties not say that a WORLDWIDE rececession could not affect the island in 2005 and again in 2008.

Good luck looking for average intelligence in bajan politicians.

You must be mistaking them with Gaston Browne of Antigua, who at least has balls and genuinely cares what happens to his island and the majority people who live there.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP..and we shall watch, but only some of us will learn.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ chad99999 June 25, 2016 at 11:16 AM
    “And before you celebrate the leave-taking of the penniless Scots and Irish, remember that France, Spain, the Netherlands, Poland, Italy and Austria all have large secession movements in their own countries. The Scots may be heading for disaster themselves.”

Chad 5 of 9, there is nothing called the United Kingdom without Scotland. Despite its small population Scotland certainly is one “country” that punches above its weight both in the UK and internationally.

Many great people of influence and outstanding achievement are either Scots themselves or have Scottish backgrounds?

Where do you think the names Cameron and Johnson derive from? Ecky-becky Land of the Scotland District or the red-neck Johnnies from Arthur Seat in Barbados?

Even your idol Trump can boast of his Scottish ancestry from his distaff side of the family tree.

Not to mention your Fumble the Sesquipedalian for a PM from the ‘blackened’ House of Stuart.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump does not even have a good rep in Scotland, land of on of his grandmothers built some halfassed golf resort there, the locals thinks he is a fraud…lol

Is it not interesting that it’s those who have the most immigrant and countryless backgrounds are the ones hate immigrants the most.

42. @GP

Are you the same GP for whom, only this week, we fought to defend you right to speak? LOL

We guess that by limiting debate, as you so circumscribe, it will allow one interpretation to prevail.

43. Chad,
    I appreciate I may be ignorant. What is wrong with calling the supporters of Trump, Le Pen, Farage, et al stormtroopers? Because sit is outside your experience does not mean it is not true.
    By the way, what undermined the US economy was the battle between Wall Street and industrial America. It was Wall Street, hungry fore more money, that offshored jobs from the US to Mexico and Asia. These jobs are now coming back onshore.
    Localism is the answer in some communities to globalism. The people with the skills and knowledge migrate; those without are stuck.
    This movement takes place internally too; even in China urbanism is one of the fastest social developments, carefully managed by government.

In societies such as Britain, the bright young graduates flock to London, that is why London is so creative. The number of French people in London is the size of a city, that is why there is a representative in the French parliament.
    Easy answers to social change is what led to the rise of the Nazis in 1933; they found it easy to blame the Jews. Farage and his lot blame the immigrants.
    We heard the same arguments about West Indians in the 1960s; it is like history repeating itself.
    Have a look at The Myth of the Rational Voter: Why Democracies Choose Bad Policies, by Bryan Caplan.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants…that is true genius, readymade kitchen gardens. Barbados now has the means and incentive to grow their own food, to hell with the government, as long as yiu have yiur own foid securitym Dumbville can eat the rotten chicken out of UK.

45. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hants June 25, 2016 at 11:26 AM #

Nothing new under the Sun……….Gus Joseph must be quite happy from the great beyond that Bimmers are finally adopting what he promoted in the 70’s from his farm in St.Philip.

During the 90’s this type of ag. was promoted without any take up…….I wish them luck.

46. Vincent Haynes Avatar

millertheanunnaki June 25, 2016 at 11:48 AM #

Has anyone realy thought out the effects of disunity among powerfull nations…….this block was 2nd in the western powers line up……who stands to benefit?

47. Bushie,

I hate when I agree with you – hence the nausea. lol

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PACHA
    RE We guess that by limiting debate, as you so circumscribe, it will allow one interpretation to prevail.
    READ WHAT I SAID AGAIN. I DID NOT SAY THAT WUNNAH SHOULD NOT DEBATE
    PEOPLE LIKE TO TALK NUFF………..BUT I NOTETHAT MUCH OF THIS LONG TALK ACCOMPLISHES LITTLE
    CARRY ON DEBATING

49. Hal Austin

I do not need to read a book about voters choosing bad policies because I have mentioned excellent reasons why resisting mass immigration and Asian exports is NOT bad policy for Americans. Leaving the EU is not without costs, but it is probably not bad policy for the Brits.
    As for comparing British resentment of the Eastern European onslaught to earlier resentment of immigration from the Caribbean, what are you saying? Back then, the Brits could, and did, eventually force their leaders to legislate a reduction in the volume of immigrants. This time, they are powerless, and have to leave the EU just to recover for themselves the degree of control they had in the 1960s.

50. The Scots are claiming that the Brits held membership of the EU as a Sword of Damocles over their heads as a consequence of voting to dissolve the union with England, now England has voted to withdraw from the EU and drag Scotland along with them while the majority of Scots voted to stay put. They want a second referendum to determine their fate, but any referendum has to be authorized by the British Parliament so we may see Boris using his Parliamentary majority to block any Scottish referendum. BTW if that happens the Bajan phrase of “cat piss and pepper” would be apt for that situation

After all the dust settles, history will point its finger at Cameron as he was faced with a Conservative rump who were never happy with the EU and to silence them once and for all he used a referendum to quell their uprising when it was unnecessary.

Cameron gambled and lost, history will not be kind to him.