Submitted by Afra Raymond
Muhammad Ali
Muhammad Ali – 1942 to 2016

Cassius Clay, later Muhammad Ali, was an iconic, irrepressible example to us growing up in the disputed diaspora…We are now hearing that Ali died last night, Friday 3rd June 2016, although my mood had shifted to a sombre, reflective space a few days ago with the news of his hospitalisation…To me, Muhammad Ali epitomised the vogue expression ‘out of the box’, even before that phrase was invented…He represented a kind of constant restless wrestling with destiny and possibility…he showed us the limits of possibility and, in overstepping those, showed us the importance of dreaming and the necessity of trying to break out of the boxes of racism, imperialism and the many overlapping isms with which we are beset…he used his fists, his fine mind and his exquisite lyrical ability to rank with the best…Ali’s autobiography ‘The Greatest’ (authored by the late Alex Haley of ‘Roots’ fame) remains one of the top-ten non-fiction epics I have read since its publication almost 40 years ago…it ranks with ‘The Black Jacobins’; ‘Capitalism and Slavery’; ‘How Europe Underdeveloped Africa’; ‘Bury my Heart at Wounded Knee’…those are all true epics for the ages, so that is some measure of the man…The movie of the same title also remains a classic, with the title song by George Benson ‘The Greatest Love’, remaining in my top-three of contemporary music of sheer beauty and power…

Finally, I have to say that Ali always seemed to me to be one of those Midnight Robbers of Yore, telling it like it was in outrageous, unmatchable verse…here is a short one from one of the many effusive obituaries published this morning –

I done wrassled with an alligator
I done tussled with a whale
Handcuffed lightnin’, threw thunder in jail
Only last week I murdered a rock
Injured a stone, hospitalized a brick
I’m so mean I make medicine sick

Ali, the Diasporic Boukman!

Note from the BU Blogmaster – Cassius Clay, later Muhammad Ali suffered from Parkinson’s Disease. Here is a presentation from Dr. GP to take the opportunity when we will have an increased focus on this ailment.

194 responses to “Tribute to Muhammad Ali”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ali epitomized the true spirit about how a free black person and black men should think for the preservation of their race. A true hero with a free spirit, free mind, independent thought, not to be bought, sold, used or reduced to the status of a boy.

Books about Ali should become mandatory reading in Caribbean schools, showing young people how to stand up for what they believing in and not become spineless, treacherous, useless mouth pieces like their current corrupt leaders and titled slaves.

2. A MAN who knew how to build bridges without firing a shot but used his God giving talents to do so People all over the world knew him and loved him , A MAN who would be forever remembered as THE GREATEST

3. https://youtu.be/WgcovIu3k9o

He epitomized a True Black man. He was proud of his Blackness. A man to idolize.

Those 2 vids posted by Ping Pong shows his brilliant mind dissecting the dirty, inferior pyschological mindset of the Cracker and his filthy system.

“I don’t serve Negroes”….Ali’s brilliant response “I don’t eat em neither”

“I want my children to look like me” “I want my Black American Woman”

He wasn’t only a beauty on his feet he was also brilliant in the mind. And he kept company with another brilliant mind El-Haaj Malik El Shabazz.

I question that Parkinson Disease Prognosis…I think his Great mind was silenced. Since he was a WORLD GIANT he couldn’t be silenced with a bullet like Malcolm or Martin, so we’ll just reduce “Louisville Lip” with the shakes, put him in a box and call it Parkinson’s Disease.

One of his daughters said that even after his other organs had shut down his HEART kept on beating. One of his former opponent’s wife said while she was in the shower room on Friday morning a BUTTERFLY appeared. Truly a man who was able to manifest the God in him.

Travel safely Great Elder for you have completed your mission and join all the other Great Black Ancestors who await you with open arms.

Natalie Cole started this journey at the beginning of the year and she has taken many a souls with her. Year 2016 a #9 year. A year when many cycles will be completed and Muhammed Ali has completed his.

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

One of his most profound statement is when he was asked why he had changed his name ‘Cassius Clay is a slave name, I am no longer a slave.’

5. Perhaps Dr. GP will educate us about what makes a heart continue to beat after all other organs failed.

On Sun, Jun 5, 2016 at 8:26 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I question that Parkinson Disease Prognosis…I think his Great mind was silenced. Since he was a WORLD GIANT he couldn’t be silenced with a bullet like Malcolm or Martin, so we’ll just reduce “Louisville Lip” with the shakes, put him in a box and call it Parkinson’s Disease.

Again to any observer it WAS VERY CLEAR THAT THE LATE CASSIUS CLAY DEMONSTRATED ALL OF THE SYMPTOMS OF PARKINSONS DISEASE , namely

BOARD LIKE RIGIDITY
    AKINESIA
    RESTING TREMOR
    SHUFFLING OR FESTINATING GAIT

physicians DID NOT NEED TO COMMIT THE ERROR OF DIAGNOSTIC GREED TO SEE THAT CLAY HAD PARKINSON’S DISEASE, BUT BU MEDICAL ILLITERATES FEEL FREE TO EFFLUX BULL SHIT FROM OPENED SHELVES OF HOUSTON.

AMAZING

7. MUHAMMAD ALI was my favourite boxer.

I also had great respect for his decision to change his name and religion during a period of overt racism in America.

May he rest in peace.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All the great heros are passing…leaving the pretenders behind.

Ali could not be bribed to change his stance, about his race or his people..

9. “We quaffed the Soma bright,
    And are immortal grown
    We’ve entered into light
    And all the Gods have known.”

https://youtu.be/GrfmQf_lO5Q

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re One of his daughters said that even after his other organs had shut down his HEART kept on beating. SO WHAT? WOULD IT NOT BE INTERESTING IF HIS HEART STOPPED BEATING AND HIS LUNGS LIVER KIDNEY AND BRAINS WERE STILL WORKING.

WHAT A LOAD OF COW’S WALLOP BY THIS MEDICAL ILLITERATE.
    ARE WE TO REALLY BELIEVE THAT HIS ORGANS COULD FUNCTION IF THE HEART WAS NOT WORKING? HOW COULD THE KIDNEYS FILTER BLOOD IF THE HEART IS NOT PUMPING?

DOES THE LUNGS NOT NEED THE PULMONARY CIRCULATION TO THIS STUPID WOMAN TO SEND OXYGENATED BLOOD BACK TO THE HEART AND VICE VERSA?

WHEN AN IDIOT SPEWS BOVINE PATTIES DO SANE PEOPLE THINK OR DO THEY RECOGNIZE IT AS IT REALLY IS ….MATERIAL FOR COMPOSTING?

11. “That pyramid of Imposture reared by Rome
    All of Cement for an Eternal Home
    Must crumble back to earth; and every gust
    Shall revel in the desert of its dust;
    And when the prison of the Immortal Mind
    Hath fallen to set free the bound and the blind
    No more should life be one long dread of death,
    Humanity shall breathe with fuller breath;
    Expand in spirit and in stature rise
    To match its birthplace of the earth and the skies.”

12. Due Diligence Avatar

He de BES

13. A lot of revisionist history has been written about Muhammad Ali, there are many who claimed to have loved him but actually hated him. This was true even of some of my friends some younger some older who grew up with me in the sixties. One older friend used to say “Why did he refuse induction in the Army, he wouldn’t be sent to Vietnam instead they would make him into a “goodwill” ambassador” a la Joe Louis in WW11. Another friend hated him for his braggadocio and lived for the day that he would be pummeled in the ring. If this was true of Black Bajans imagined what it was for “white” Americans in the Vietnam era, Martin Luther King and Civil rights. Those who became “Draft dodgers” were reviled and considered unpatriotic Americans, the bulk of that war was fought by those at the bottom of society’s rungs. Those who were well to do or had other means largely escaped being drafted, GW Bush spent his time in the Texas Air National Guard and Cheney had five deferments.

The hatred of Ali intensified after he declared himself a Muslim and follower of Elijah Muhammad, if Ali the boxer was unbearable, Ali the “Black Muslim” and associate of the likes of Malcolm X was toxic to a large portion of American society. Ali’s saving grace was that the majority of Black people in the USA never lost faith in him and saw him as an underdog fighting against the US Establishment. A group of Black athletes led by Jim brown held a Summit and questioned Ali about his beliefs and came to the conclusion that he was sincere and the rest of society slowly followed as they came to despise the Vietnam War.

The US always uses Sports as a seminal point in its history, from Jim Thorpe to Jesse Owens to Jackie Robinson, now Muhammad Ali joins that illustrious cast of “non white” sports figures who would have contributed to the country’s evolution.

14. The above was posted under “sports’ in error

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David June 5, 2016 at 4:38 PM # re…Perhaps Dr. GP will educate us about what makes a heart continue to beat after all other organs failed.———–

I did my last Biology class at 16 or thereabouts but surely we should know enough – even as medical illiterates – to accept that the heart is the end all and be all of life.

We can be ‘brain dead’ and remain ‘alive’, we can lose all sorts of organs and have some type of medical device as a saving grace to continue some type of life but the moment our heart stops (real or artificial) we have but a few seconds – if we cannot be resuscitated – before we go to eternal rest.

Ali’s daughter’s remarks were a lovely allegory of her father’s life. Intended to project his entire existence as a true fighter even to the last moments of his life.

I believe well-intentioned folks can allow her that latitude. She was certainly not attempting to establish any new medical status with her simple and touching remarks.

Would we all have that ‘joy’ of saying good-bye to our loved ones in similar ‘peaceful’ circumstances as they sounded that breath at their last fight.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DRIBBLER WHY DONT YOU GO AND WRITE YOUR PROSE FOR A MAGAZINE?

ALI’S DAUGHTER WAS TALKING SHITE PURE AND SIMPLE AND HOPI REPEATED THE

PATTIES HERE. I WILL NOT HAVE IT. I TRY TO BE ACCURATE BECAUSE I HAVE TO BE AND I EXPECT THE SAME FROM OTHERS.
    WHAT I SAID CAN NOT BE REFUTED

Ali’s daughter’s remarks were BOVINE PATTIES AND NO ALLEGORY.

HIS TIME WAS UP AND HE GOT THE NUMBER OF HEART BEATS ASCRIBED TO HIM……..NO MORE NO LESS.

WHAT LATTITUDE WHAT? WHAT simple and touching remarks, WHAT?

her remarks were INACCURATE IN EVERY RESPECT. wHY CANT YOU ACCEPT THAT
    HIS HEART BEATED UNTIL THE LORD STOPPED IT. WHAT FIGHT WHAT. WHAT FIGHTING COULD HE DO THEN EXCEPT TO COCK UP, HE WAS NOT FIGHTING IN THAT HALF HOUR SIR HE WAS COCKING UP TO DEAD

SHE HAD NO WAY OF KNOWING FOR CERTAIN WHAT WAS HIS EXACT PATHO-PHYSIOLOGICAL STATUS.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

A lot of excellent tributes have been written and spoken about Mohammad Ali but one scribe,
    Chuck Modiano, touched on an obvious but perhaps overlooked point. He said it this way:

“Fifty years ago, Muhammad Ali had his passport revoked and was not allowed to leave the country because of his religion. Today, Trump, supported by millions, vows to stop all Muslims from entering it…

Today the most beloved man around the world, and even in white America, is a Muslim…

Despite this outpouring of love, America — through actions and policy — hates millions who look and pray like him.”

Accurate, true and well enunciated!

@Dr. GP, by your training and years of experience as a doctor you have likely seen death thousands of times – up close and personal. The average person like Mohammad Ali’s daughter or me has seen it in that context once or twice or maybe four or five times. Not very often, basically.

Most of those are relatives like a mum or dad. And at those moments we are not observing any propensity or need for medical accuracy and decorum. We are seeking solace.

If as a medical professional you are really goingto ‘re-parse’ a daughter’s allegorical prose of her dad as ‘a fighter’ at his last breath when that man happened to be the acclaimed greater fighter in a boxing ring in our life time then sir I leave you to your scholarship, medical accuracy and superior intellect.

Allow people like me to wallow in our illiteracy and enjoy the simple pleasure or wishing our loved ones good bye. Please.

Be comforted in the knowledge that certainly none of your loved ones would evoke any latitude to ever issue forth such ‘BOVINE PATTIES’ when you are ‘COCKING UP TO DEAD’

Enough on this. Sleep well.

And oh by the way thanks for the back-handed compliment. LOLL.

18. @Pedantic D…………This thread is in honour a GREAT MAN with a GREAT MIND and a GREAT HEART who once walked amongst us. Let’s keep it honourable and while ur at it just get yourself a fly-swatter.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

correction…greatest…not greater.

simple pleasure OF wishing…

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PEDANTIC BRIMBLER
    WHY CANT WE JUST BE ACCURATE
    I DID NO ‘re-parse’ a daughter’s allegorical prose of her dad as ‘a fighter’ at his last breath I SAID THAT SHE WAS INACCURATELY EFFLUXING BOVINE PATTIES
    WHAT I SAID CAN NOT BE REFUTED WHAT EVER YOU CHOSE TO SAY

THE FACT THAT that man happened to be the acclaimed greater fighter in a boxing ring in our life time DOES NOT MEAN THAT SHE OR YOU SHOULD ENGAGE IN INACCURACIES

RE then sir I leave you to your scholarship, medical accuracy and superior intellect. YOU SHOULD HAVE DONE THAT FROM THE BEGINNING.

If YOU WANT TO enjoy the simple pleasure oF wishing our loved ones good bye DO SO ACCURATELY WITHOUT THE BOVINE PATTIES.
    GIVE ME THE PLEASURE OF READING ACCURACY
    THERE IS TOO MUCH OF IT ON TV IN NEWSPAPERS AND FOLK GET PAID FOR IT

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE This thread is in honour a GREAT MAN with a GREAT MIND and a GREAT HEART who once walked amongst us
    SO DO IT ACCURATELY
    DONT SAY HE DIDNT HAVE PARKINSONS WHEN HE CLEARLY DID

22. Colonel Buggy Avatar

My favourite

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Colonel Buggy
    Did these men fight twice? was it 63 or 66?

24. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Henry Cooper Vs Ali -1966 (first fight was in 1963)

25. @Georgie Porgie June 5, 2016 at 5:33 PM “WHAT A LOAD OF COW’S WALLOP BY THIS MEDICAL ILLITERATE… TO THIS STUPID WOMAN.”

I think that your are being a bit harsh.

The woman is a lay person, not a medical professional.

Her father has just died so perhaps she is being a bit emotional.

Maybe she is not so good at science (some of us are not) but perhaps she is excellent at other things.

Give her a break.

And a little Christian love.

26. @Sargeant June 5, 2016 at 6:04 PM “Draft dodgers”

Muhammad Ali was no George Bush nor Dick Cheney.

Muhammad Ali was NOT a draft dodger. He was a conscientious objector. He did not dodge anything. He openly and rationally refused to fight in what he believed to be unjust war. He lost work because of his conscientious objection to the Vietnam War. He lost money because of his conscientious objection to the Vietnam War He had to spend a whole lot of money on legal fees v. He was willing to go to jail as a matter of conscience.

He was a real, real man.

Hw was no draft dodger.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

He sure was…Ali was no pretender, bribetaker, crook or thief, he was a genuine black man.

28. Ali’s greatness was rooted in his fearlessness standing up for what he believed in even if it went against public opinion. And he used his popularity in the sport of boxing to give currency to his position. People like Tiger and Jordan will never be able to compare.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Tiger and Jordan are saga boys….Ali paved the way for them, instead of showing their gratefulness and appreciation by continuing his legacy, they just enjoy their millions…a waste of oxygen…..they will all now go to his funeral decked out in hypocrisy…very few modern US blacks are that conscious, most are frightening.

30. @Simple Simon

Don’t be the poster boy/girl for your sobriquet, I wasn’t saying that Ali was a “Draft Dodger”, I was reporting on the sentiment at the time and how he was perceived by many in the American public arena.

I also wrote that a number of Black athletes questioned Ali and they were convinced that he was sincere in his beliefs…….

Cheeze on Bread yuh gotta spell out everything for some people…….

31. @ Well Well & Consequences,

You can praise Ali without demeaning Tiger and Jordan. Yes they enjoy their millions.

http://www.tigerwoodsfoundation.org/programs/tiger-woods-learning-center/home

The world did not only recognize Jordan as the greatest basketball player, he was also known as a great humanitarian.

Michael Jordan charities have touched the lives of many people across this country and beyond.

He was involved in several charity organizations such as the Boys and Girls Club of America, Special Olympics, UNCF/College Fund, Buoniconti Fund to Cure Paralysis, Cats Care, CharitaBulls, James R Jordan Foundation, Kids Wish Network, LIVESTRONG. Others include Make a Wish Foundation, Nevada Cancer Institute, Opportunity Village, The Miami Organization.

While he founded some of these organizations, he has donated funds for many others

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants…anyone with money can create charities….it’s quite another animal to give the establishment a jolt and be remembered by the establishment and every living soul on earth for that jolt, just remember Ali sacrificed a lot so they establishment can learn the power of the conscious black mind………soooo….I make no apologies.

In case you are not aware heads of charities enjoy emense tax breaks in the US for giving awsy millions…I am not impressed, you can be impressed for both of us…lol

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya think uncle sam wont break Jordan, if he did not fund charities and seek a way out from massive taxation….and I got a bridge to sell ya….fully loaded.

34. A STATUE FOR MUHAMMED ALI IN BARBADOS:
    A STATUE FOR MUHAMMED ALI IN BARBADOS:

Remove queen Elizardbeth’s hit man Nelson the murderer from Barbados. Having Nelson’s statue lording over Barbados has the minds on the nationals still enslaved. That statue is a bad omen, remove it and replace it with MUHAMMED ALI’S.

Even in Muhammed Ali’s debilitated condition he still travelled the world. He was not haughty and he related to everyone. This GREAT SOUL belongs on a Pedestal. Michael Jordan, Tiger Woods and the rest of them should be relegated to the Sports Corner exactly where they belong. They are cowards. They can’t tie the laces of this GREAT MAN’s shoes. They stand for nothing and chase after pale-skin women. What did Mohammed Ali say “I want my BLACK American Woman.” They give to charities simply for tax write offs.

Let’s replace Nelson with MUHAMMED ALI

35. @Hants

I loved Jordan the basketball player, the superlative skill, the killer instinct and the will to win, but Jordan the humanitarian? If he exists he shouldn’t hide his light under a bushel, Jordan Inc. is simply about the brand that is why so many years after his retirement the products he endorsed still represent a huge percentage of NIKE sales. Jordan Inc. when given the opportunity to endorse Harvey Gant a black man running for the US Senate in North Carolina against old time racist Jesse Helms declined, reportedly saying “Republicans buy sneakers too”. Jordan Inc. has been silent about reported incidents of black youth killing each other over a pair of “Jordans”, and Jordan Inc. was late to the party when it was disclosed that Donald Sterling a fellow NBA owner had made racists statements against blacks including his peer Irvin ‘Magic” Johnson.

Jordan Inc. has parlayed his playing career into an economic behemoth, but on issues of race, socioeconomic or political advancement for black people Jordan Inc. has been in the distant back ground.

36. @ Sargeant, is this not humanitarian even if he gets tax breaks like everybody else?

http://www.businessinsider.com/michael-jordan-donation-childrens-charities-2015-12

Michael Jordan has supported the following charities listed on this site:

Boys & Girls Clubs of America
    Buoniconti Fund To Cure Paralysis
    Cats Care
    CharitaBulls
    Jackie Robinson Foundation
    James R. Jordan Foundation
    Kids Wish Network
    LIVESTRONG
    Make-A-Wish Foundation
    Nevada Cancer Institute
    Opportunity Village
    Special Olympics
    St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
    The Miami Project

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hopi….you are right the british do know how to leave their blights in place to continue to play with the black mind.

That’s it….give Jordan his due for basketball. ..give Jordan’s ex-wife her due for parlaying their business into a multi-billion dollar industry…ya hear that Chad9x5, BUs resident woman hater.

But… that is all Jordan and maybe Tiger, cause he is iffy at best, are good for, we are yet to find more than one or 2 black celebrities from that era coming forward to present, that can stand head and shoulders with Ali….or stand for much more than strutting around modeling themselves.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Forgot to add that the hater Nelson should indeed be tossed in the careenage, at least make him useless to the coral reef and fish, if he still, as a statue, cannot be useful to the black population.

39. @WW&C…..we must find some way to RAISE this man’s statue in Barbados and bring down Nelson. Can’t expect the polieticians to do it. We have to find a sculptor.

40. Wait, Hantsman wha yah trying to do? Yah can’t talk bout Ali and current sportsman in the same breath boozie. That is like fish and fowl. Ali was one of these once-in-a-life-time niggas that you can’t place into nice comparative slots. Man, history is strange like that and his unique actions at the time have been completely forgiven by all a we…some others have not enjoyed that a-tall.

Rememeber that the greatest cuss another black brother with some nasty venom which in was to promote a fight but still was quite uncouth for a man wid he silver tongue. We forgive for that.

The brother badly dissed Malcolm when he unraveled the nastiness that was Elijah Mohammad. We forgive him for that.

So you on solid ground when you say that brothers like Tiger and Jordan and lots of other blacks stars and athletes have done things in a different way to voice their concerns about society. Different strokes for different folks.

Look at the brothers who like Ali made a strong statement at the ’68 Olympics of the racist ass-foolery that was the USofA. They get squeezed really effing hard …but they did not have Ali’s fame and thus their forgiveness was long in coming. One of the brothers went on to be a professor …Tommie Smith. And John Carlos after suffering great personal lost eventually was rehabilitated and became once again a leader in US athletics. And don’t forget the white Aussie who supported their ‘protest’. Dem Australians kick his rass to the curb real fast and real harsh.

Modern athletes dem ain’t idiots they know that wha good for the goose ain’t good for the gander. Lots of dem do really awesome stuff behind the scenes in order to keep their endorsements and earn a living while they still got they skills.

And lots more of dem is just a bunch of scamps, too.

But Ali was special and I agrees wid you that it’s mighty possible to hail the greatest without dissing some of dem good other fellas.

Oh and don’t leh we forget that ‘irrelevant’ though it be…the brother was clearly descended from white folks outta England most likely. So we could call he, as we can call most a we-self: mixed up racially.

But the brother was the real deal on black matters, no doubt. So leh we get that statue!

Remember brothers like LeBron have that level of tenacity but in this modern era at the prime of his career he makes his statements in a subdued – but forceful – way. Different strokes for different folks.

Proper call there Hantsman.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hopi…they do have great sculptors in Barbados,,, I hope the dude or dudette who did Barrow’ statue is Bajan…..very, very detailed.

I do not know if it was Broodhagen did that excellent piece of sculpting..on Barrow’s statue.

And Brathwaite saidd it well, no one is trying to take away from Jordan and those who contribute to charities, but Ali was in a class by himself.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Getty News summed up Ali..in one statement.

“There’s been no shortage of reflection and celebration when it comes to the remarkable life of Muhammad Ali. That’s essentially the deal when you’re one of the most beloved figures in American sport and American culture in general. He was the champ, he stood for his beliefs and ranks as a true one-off.”

They had no choice because that fraud Trump had forgotten what he said months ago to denigrate athletes and muslims in the same breath.

43. WWC……..Who is Broodhagen?

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A bajan sculptor, if memory serves me, his Dad Carl Broodhagen did the Bussa statue, not sure who did Barrow’s….you will have to ask one of the BU alumini….lol

45. in all the pomp and glory dedicated to Mohammed Ali there is a rising star which will emerge in the Muslim religion as the power of the christian church and its influence falters and remains of life support , The Muslim religion would become a viable option for many blacks who felt there were left out in the cold by the christian faith and any blacks longing for a sacred home would take direction and a closer look in the fact that ALi was a devout Muslim

46. @Well Well & Consequences June 6, 2016 at 4:06 PM “not sure who did Barrow’s….you will have to ask one of the BU alumini.”

Some guy last named George, from St. Lucia.

47. Hopi June 6, 2016 at 3:53 PM “Who is Broodhagen?”

Karl Broodhagen
    https://www.totallybarbados.com/barbados/About_Barbados/Local_Information/People/Meet_a_Bajan/Karl_Broodhagen/