Submitted by Caswell Franklyn
 Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

The Barbados Today reported in the June 3rd edition that the Barbados Opposition Leader, Mia Mottley’s recent visit to St. Lucia has become the subject of regional political debate. There is some speculation that her presence there was in support of the United Workers Party (UWP), the current Opposition in the St. Lucia Parliament.

However, she was quick to point out that her visit was strictly to provide legal representation for a client, but while there she had attended meetings of both political parties.

Coincidentally, two of her personal advisors, Debbie Hughes and Lucille Moe, were also in St. Lucia at that time. When Barbados Today queried their presence, Ms Mottley is reported to respond by saying:

“What is this? Am I being followed by the Gestapo?”

However, today’s (June 3rd) Weekend Nation reported that St. Lucia Prime Minister, Kenny Anthony, expressed concern that an “unprecedented” number of Barbadian “political operatives” were involved in the UWP’s campaign.

In a telephone link-up from Castries P.M. Anthony identified a number of people connected to the BLP as being in the forefront of the UWP’s campaign. He also stated that Ms Mottley was in St. Lucia but had given him the assurance that she was merely on holiday and not getting involved in local (St. Lucian) politics.

If I am to put the stories from both the Nation and Barbados Today together; it would appear that Ms. Mottley was in St. Lucia strictly to provide legal representation for a client, while being merely on holiday and; she felt it necessary to have her close political advisors tag along.

Somebody is lying here; either the Nation, Barbados Today, Kenny Anthony or Mia Mottley. I leave you to decide. Be that as it may, I have some advice for the Barbados Labour Party if it is determined that it is Ms Mottley that is being untruthful. No-confidence motion or a visit to the Governor-General – You decide!

179 responses to “No-Confidence Motion in Mia Mottley Anybody?”

1. @balance

Have a read or listen to the St.Lucia media to determine who has been making Mottley’s visit an issue.

2. a spectacle and a jaw dropping moment is what was seen and felt as mottley decided it was apparantley in the best interest of herself and her party to make her presence be part and parcel in the theatre of political influence in ST Lucia under the pretense she was their on legal business/vacation Ha! ha!
    Now if any one wants to buy that Mia excuse /explanation there is some swamp land for sale outside of barbados which can come in for good use at cheap prices

3. Pieceuhderock wrote, ” tek you vacation someplace else””As the leader of the opposition or the leader of the party in power your ass should not go in another manโ€™s cuntry as you are experimenting with political strategies.”

There is no compelling reason why MIA had to be in St.Lucia.

4. @David,

St.Lucians are pissed about this.

The idiocy of these Bajans is that they should know that they are offending one of the political parties and its supporters by supporting the other.

I learned about this on a Caribbean cricket blog and St.Lucia online media.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

Saudi Arabia operates under Islamic laws and thus it is a no no for me or any foreign female to show any part of the female body for that matter.

This is where we diverge, Mottley in St. Lucia has no effect whatsoever on the outcome of that elections even if she was invited to speak on a political platform of either party.

Unless there is a law that forbids outside political interference, Mia Mottley at a St. Lucia political party is just Mia Mottley at a St. Lucia political party. Mia Mottley could not influence the outcome of the election there even if she were allowed to speak on either side of the political party platforms.

My Sweet Piece, you know my position on Mottley Bs and Stuart Ds, but this article is bare shite.

When the woman is in the wrong, let the evidence support that it is so. All I am reading is a bunch of speculative nonsense just because she was in St. Lucia with some of her loyalists.

I see no wrong in what some are trying to make out to be a swarm of Bees in a St. Lucia campaign party meeting.

However, because Mia Mottley has always been rogue, it is so darn easy to believe that everything she does is tainted with a hidden agenda.

It is that dark, secretive, skeletons in the closet side of her that make her a very suspicious and cynical individual with a nasty character.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

This blog is about a non issue if we take the facts at face value that our leader of the opposition pays a visit to St Lucia a few days before an election there. From the media reports two former “assistants” of hers are working there as consultants. From media reports she tells the St Lucia PM that she is on vacation (which he apparently accepts as reasonable) while she tells the Daily Nation that she was there for conducting some legal business and took some time off to attend political meetings of the two contesting St Lucian political parties. It appears to be true that she did not speak on the platform of either of the contesting parties.

Unless one has other undivulged information this is a contrived debate that reflects the ridiculously sublime nature of some of the arguments tendered by a few of our top posters.

Hear Bro. Caswell;
    a no-confidence-motion should be brought against her, presumably for being reported as being in St Lucia for 2 mutually exclusive purposes and therefore lying. He doubled down on this stance even while recognizing that it is of no merit. Why?

Hear PUDRYR;
    “It is in poor effing taste, tek you vacation someplace else, get your operatives to stream the action on the ground to you by iPad, get the client in STL to fly to you in Barbados on enter the country AFTER THE GENERAL ELECTION but anything else is poor judgement or the judgement of a despot who say โ€œcoming in your house and putting my foot up on your middle table and there is not one ef you can do bout it” “

PUDRYR, Mia is a politician. Why, could not her reason for going to St Lucia be to kill 2 birds with one stone and take the opportunity of being there and observe certain aspects of the campaign in a sister country in preparation for our next general election? Why, even in this really inconsequential matter, should she be looking over her shoulder at DLP propagandists who are in the habit of twisting everything she says, anyhow?

David’s posts on this matter were essentially an excoriation of Mia for seemingly providing fodder for the DLP propaganda machine without recognizing that whatever Mia does or does not do is fodder for that machine and to follow that advice leads us nowhere.

I totally agree with SSS. Posts by Caswell and PUDRYR are generally top of the line, especially by Bro. Caswell who is typically always on the ball. Their contribution to this blog has fallen significantly from their high standard. I wonder why?

7. Mia continues to expose crooked MPs…! They (MPs) would love to see the back of her! Long may she reign..!!

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

OK

From just reading David’s and Hant’s earlier posts on the reaction of the St Lucian facebook crowd to this matter, it appears that the main firestorm was set by Anthony and is now being fanned here by some of our people on BU, the DLP propaganda machine and our media.

Anthony is on the cusp of a close election and will use any ammunition he has to gain a victory. That doesn’t mean that we have to slavishly follow that propaganda.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

SSS;

I didn’t see your 7:14 post when I wrote mine.
    fwiw, I totally agree with that post.

10. Even if we agree that Mottley displayed poor judgement it is nothing compared with the serial raping of the Barbados taxpayers and other shite going on bout here.

Time to refocus on our real problems.

11. When Hartley Henry was advisor to David Thompson, both as Opposition Leader and PM, which other Caribbean leaders/parties he was advising? Henry has been advising the UWP in St.Lucia and Skerritt in Dominica long time. The grandstanding and hypocrisy is astounding and frightening. As for Dr.Anthony:
    http://www.ipsnews.net/1997/05/st-lucia-politics-british-mp-remarks-spark-controversy/

12. are-we-there-yet June 4, 2016 at 7:42 AM #
    OK

From just reading Davidโ€™s and Hantโ€™s earlier posts on the reaction of ” the St Lucian facebook crowd” to this matter,”

They are St.Lucians and have every right to object to “interference in their political campaign” by Bajan politicians.

There is no logical reason why MIA the leader of the BLP and a sitting MP in the Barbados parliament had to be in St.Lucia during their election campaign.

13. @ AWTY
    You mean that you SERIOUSLY see no problem with a potential leader of Barbados getting involved on one side of the political divide in St Lucia in a close election?

Shiite man …. we may be in even deeper potter than the bushman has concluded…

Boss, what if Anthony wins…?
    What would you expect of Barbados / St Lucia relations?
    Even if he loses, why would we want half of St Lucia thinking that Bajans played a role in their party losing power?

The woman has NO class.
    Her claim to fame is that she derives from an entitled albino-centric family, and just like Maloney, can do whatever the donkey she feels like…

Basic diplomacy says that our leaders and potential leaders should keep their noses out of such contentious neighbouring issues and be in position to CONGRATULATE and RESPECT whatever decision the St Lucians (IN THEIR WISDOM) take….

Bushie tell wunna, that Arthur is 100% right about Mia. But wunna Bajans love wunna albinos and wunna ‘albino-centrics’ ……so carry on smartly…

Like the annual Auditor General’s reports, this too will come back to bite wunna brass bowl bajan donkeys…

14. @Are-we-there-yet

The point here and one which we suspect Mia understands is that life is about about making choices/decisions and having to deal with the consequences, case in point she being in St. Lucia on the eve of a general election.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Mia’s downfall will come because she believes that no boundaries are set for her. She has too many people around her that are only prepared to tell her what they believe she wants to hear. If nothing else her behaviour in this matter is in extremely poor taste but she is now flavour of the month.

I hold no brief for Freundel Stuart but if he had behaved similarly, he would have been roundly criticised. Mia needs people around her that are prepared to let her know when she is wrong and not support her in her foolishness. But those around her have seen what has happened to Maria Agard and they are not prepared to be honest.

16. “There is no logical reason why MIA the leader of the BLP and a sitting MP in the Barbados parliament had to be in St.Lucia during their election campaign.”
    There is no logical reason why MIA the leader of the BLP and a sitting MP in the Barbados parliament should not be in St Lucia during their election campaign.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The St.Lucia Star newspaper is a true hero and can show the newspapers inBarbados what treu journalism is all about…it doe not require selling out to corrupt business people or pandering and pimping for bribetaking politicians. ..kudos to t. Lucia Star Newspaper.

Great articles Enuff….

In saying that, let me expand on something I said earlier…the zeros for political leaders in the Caribbean are a waste of oxygen.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The politicians are supporting in each other in encoursging mindless yardfowlism of Caribbean people…the people gotta open their eyes…the trainwreck that is the yardfowl called AC…should be incentive alone to scare people from having anything to do with politicians.

19. Maybe Are We There Yet, maybe My Suzanne I too like you would believe in these beauteous externalities and like you, would be kindly disposed to these fair and reasonably formulated thoughts of both of you and others.

But again I do not speak those things of which I know not nor have seen nor have felt.

You know what is the most unkindest cut of all in this short life we live?

It is betrayal of that thing that we believe in.

It is when you are committed to a thing or a person AND you see for yourself who or what they are/ it is.

It tell you it rips you like no 7.62mm anti personnel bullet can.

Someone who I used to love at one time revealed a truth to me that remains like the scars of childhood measles on your skin (some of us)

She said “after all you do for these people they are going to use you, and abandon you, and as bright as you are, you can’t see that”

I kept the spreadsheet and gave 2 copies to two people whose trust was forged in blood, they will die for me as I almost did for them.

The Labour Party will win because the perception of STLs today is that Chastanet is (a) not the common man (b) running STL (c) has owned Stl forever (d) can’t speak patois and (e) is not one of the common peeple can identify with. Ooops I said that twice didn’t I?

Anyways that be their problem ours is that we have no men and women to deal with our mess, Anthony will be there For one more term

20. @ Caswell

You should really focus on building a much needed Union , your hypocrisy is not astounding to any person that know you , that stake loathing, you have for Mia , turn you into an ACs

21. Debbie Hughes and Lucille Moe are Mia’s political advisors? LMAO

22. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea:

You mean that you SERIOUSLY see a problem with a potential leader of Barbados visiting a neighbouring country during an election campaign and attending mass meetings of the opposing political parties?

Yuh can’ see dat all the brouhaha is normal political shiiite and of no serious consequence?

Boss, what if Anthony winsโ€ฆ? What would you expect of Barbados / St Lucia relations? wouldn’t the par for that course be that all the hype would die down and such relations would continue as normal?

Yuh tink dat Anthony would sic his army on us. Yuh tink he would ask Mara to send home to St Lucia some more of the DT- CLICO millions in an asymetric act of economic warfare?

If, on the other hand the other side wins, primarily fuelled by Mia’s minions advice and help, yuh tink dat dey would help us identify where some of de Mara-DT-Clico millions are now hidden in St Lucia perhaps with the help of current and past incumbent Governments since 2008 and thereby save us from the economic morass built largely from the acts of our current Government?

Bushie, What basic diplomacy what? Whatever they think of a Government in Power, our leaders and potential leaders will be in position to CONGRATULATE and RESPECT whatever decision the St Lucians (IN THEIR WISDOM) takeโ€ฆ. It is part and parcel of the game of politics.

Bushie; Looks like yuh still don’ unnerstan dat all politicians, everywhere, even OSA, speak with forked tongues and that we believe all they say at our peril. The OSA narrative re. Mia is a case in point.

Stuuuuuuupse!

23. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea June 4, 2016 at 8:34 AM #

You mean potential leader of the Caribbean,which is what we need now more than ever a person with a vision of our destiny.

24. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR;

Just saw your 9:12 am post and am very impressed.

I suspect both you and Caswell have had personal experiences with Mia that have stung deeply and remain etched in your memories and inform all your comments about her. I would really like to know what kind of actions could have caused such deep negative impressions as I myself have had no such personal, or indeed any personal, relations with the woman and tend to take her at face value.

However, I think I can understand your pain as I have been personally negatively impacted by actions of Errol Barrow and David Thompson and those actions have circumscribed my impressions of those men. However, they have not been as deep as to consider that everything that they did was wrong or bad……. just many things.

25. Jean-Jacques Rousseau Avatar
    Jean-Jacques Rousseau

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/05/ive-walked-in-mias-shoes-chastanet/

It was at this meeting in Barbados that this whole plan was conceived between Wickham, Mia and the UWP……and it is fact so there is no need for lies

26. @SSS
    “Mia Mottley at a St. Lucia political party is just Mia Mottley at a St. Lucia political party”.

I think if an election was being held today and Barack Obama appeared in Barbados, all of Barbados would be looking at his every action to divine the message that is being sent. I doubt he would have timed his visit during an election.

Whilst ‘Mia” is not in the same league as the President, she is a known political entity from a neighboring island. Her presence may influence others.

Now if you said ” TheGazer at a St. Lucia political party is just TheGazer at a St. Lucia political party and no one cares” I would have agreed with you.

27. Lol

Caribbean politics too sweet. Never a dull moment.

The Barbadian electorate will decide who they have confidence in shortly. Let Mia enjoy her “vacay”

Just observing

28. Mottley’s’ apologists are in denial the rush of condemnation and excuses from different sides of the divide highlights the dilemma. Mia’s judgement call brings scrutiny because she aspires to be PM of Barbados. Froon would never make a similar error. Its is a serious blunder by Mia it maybe the tipping point for her to lose the leadership of the BLP again or lead the BLP into a third successive defeat . She acted like a school girl. Caswell the amoeba is right on this one.

29. Stephanie wrote: "Good Morning #realdreamchasers! Here is your daily newscap.

REMOVE MIA – She recently tabled a no confidence motion in the Freundel Stuart administration โ€“ her third against members of the Government since 2008.Now, outspoken trade unionist Caswell Franklyn is seeking to get Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Members of Parliament to turn the tables on their leader, Mia Mottley, after her latest attempt to topple the ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was unsuccessful last month. At issue is Mottleyโ€™s involvement in the ongoing general election campaign in St Lucia.Franklyn is upset over a recent visit to Castries by the BLP leader, which Mottley said Thursday night was solely for the purpose of attending a meeting with a legal client. While on the ground in Castries, the BLP leader said she attended political meetings held by both the incumbent St Lucia Labour Party (SLP) and the Opposition United Workers Party (UWP).However, Franklyn is not buying Mottleyโ€™s explanation and has called on the Opposition Leader to come clean on the purpose of her recent St Lucia trip, or face removal by Governor General Sir Elliott Belgrave on the advice of her parliamentary party (sitting Opposition MPs) as the Queenโ€™s Loyal Leader of the Opposition. Franklyn noted that: โ€œCo-incidentally, two of her [Mottleyโ€™s] personal advisors, Debbie Hughes and Lucille Moe, were also in St Lucia at that time.โ€The outspoken trade unionist and former personal assistant to Mottley who subsequently fell out of favour with her, also took issue with Mottleyโ€™s suggestion that she was โ€œbeing followed by the Gestapoโ€. Franklyn went on to note that in a telephone link up from Castries, Anthony had identified a number of people connected to the BLP as being in the forefront of the UWP campaign.During that link up, Anthony also revealed that Mottley had given him the assurance that she was merely โ€œon holidayโ€ in St Lucia and was not getting involved in St Lucian politics. Franklyn argued that someone was not telling the truth โ€“ โ€œEither the Nation, Barbados TODAY, Anthony or Mottleyโ€, he suggested, adding that it was left to the Barbadian public to decide.

MARK MY WORD – Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has taken a hard line against Barbadians, who appear bent on flouting the orders of the Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins, warning that his Government is prepared to go as far as to enact laws to ensure they comply.A stern talking Stuart told journalists at a media luncheon at Ilaro Court that he was not prepared to โ€œsacrifice the rule of lawโ€ to permit Barbadians who willfully took matters into their own hands.โ€œThe Chief Town Planner is a serious public official and what decision he makes, what instructions he gives, have to be complied with.โ€Adamant that the countryโ€™s development must be โ€œorderedโ€, Stuart was resolute that the law had to be followed.โ€œThis is a country that subscribes to the rule of law, not to the rule of fancy and personal preference and so on.โ€œI think the message has to go out, not with any intention of making anybody a target, but the message has to go out that the Chief Town Planner is not somebody not clothed in his right mind and the people in the Town Planning Department are not people preoccupied with making peopleโ€™s lives miserable. โ€œThe development of Barbados has to be ordered development and we can only have ordered development if people comply with instructions of the Chief Town Planner,โ€ he insisted.His comments came against the backdrop of a public feud that has developed between the Mark Maloney-led Rock Hard Cement Company and Town & Country Planning Department.Maloneyโ€™s company was recently served with an enforcement notice to take down a concrete structure being erected to store cement at Spring Garden, St Michael, but to date the businessman has been refusing to budge.

VENDORS SENT PACKING – A CLEAN SWEEP of the Fairchild Street bus stand yesterday afternoon by police forced dozens of vendors to pack up their produce and go, forthwith. The vendors, some of who complained they had families to feed, while others bemoaned the fact they had to throw away good produce, had to remove all their fruits and vegetables from their trays and pack them into bags and cart them away.Officers from the Royal Barbados Police Force swooped down around midday, ordering that all vendors who did not have permits had to remove themselves and their stalls from the area.Despite the many pleas, they all had to go.

JUST BUY THE TRUCKS -GET THE MONEY and buy the garbage collection trucks, is the word from shadow minister of the environment Senator Wilfred Abrahams to Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe. Abrahams said 18 months ago there was a major garbage crisis in the island and it was indicated that trucks would be sourced, but he bemoaned the fact that it had not happened.Speaking yesterday from the back of the old Fairchild Street Market, where garbage has piled up and blocked a canal, Abrahams said the country could not be serviced with the current fleet of trucks available to the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA).

5 TO MOVE – THE RELIEF beleaguered White Hill, St Andrew residents have been seeking is apparently in the offing. In the wake of outcries from residents after their temporary road disappeared into a gully after a night of heavy rains recently, at least five more households are to be resited to Farmerโ€™s Terrace, St Thomas.Word of this has come from Minister of Transport and Works Michael Lashley.

PM CONCERNED – The granting of bail to murder accused in Barbados is causing Prime Minister Freundel Stuart grave concern.โ€œI have to confess to you that that one hit me for six,โ€ Stuart told a group of media managers and senior journalists this afternoon at his official residence.The Barbadian leader was a bit hesitant to delve into the topic saying, โ€œI have to be very careful from where I sit as Prime Minister commenting on these things because I do not want it said that as Prime Minister I am trying to interfere with the administration of justice or the independence of the judiciary.โ€However, he acknowledged that in recent times several people, who were accused of murder, had been released on bail.Stuart did not refer to any specific cases. However, among the most high profile cases in which bail was recently granted were those of Sean Watson, who is charged with the 2012 murder of his estranged wife Nicole Harrison-Watson and Andre โ€œLord Evilโ€ Jackman, who was officially released from lawful custody last month.

GETTING IN IS A PAIN – THIS IS not a burglar breaking into a house. Nigel Austin now has to climb through this space where a window once was in order to get into his home at Hill Road, Bank Hall, St Michael.The 60-year-old man found himself in the predicament after he came home on Thursday evening to find the doors and windows to the house removed and galvanised sheets nailed in the spaces where the front door and side door use to be. In addition, a padlock was placed on the water meter and all the components to the electrical meter removed.Austin said he had been renting the house for a year and was given notice by the landlord, Noel Pinder, who is also his uncle, to vacate the premises last year because of non-payment of rent.

BLACKMAILED FOR BAIL – A St Thomas man, currently on remand for a number of offences, had his hopes for bail dashed yesterday.Rommel Antonio Laron Daniel, 33, of Airy Lot, was banking on the testimony of virtual complainant Faith Gibbs for his release.On Wednesday, defence lawyer Andrew Pilgrim, QC, had put forward a case for Daniel to be granted bail on charges that he stole six boxers and seven shirts worth $465 on July 10, 2013; entered Gibbsโ€™ dwelling as a trespasser on November 1, 2015 and inflicted grievous bodily harm with a weapon; and escaped lawful custody without the use of force on December 5, 2015.Pilgrim had argued that Daniel, who had been on remand for approximately three months, had time โ€œto reflectโ€ on his actions.โ€œHe works as a painter, has four children . . . has sole responsibility for two [children] and his family is struggling to take care of them,โ€ Pilgrim told the court.However, Magistrate Douglas Frederick, presiding in the District โ€˜Aโ€™ Court, said the success of Danielโ€™s bail application hinged on Gibbsโ€™ testimony.However when Gibbs took to the stand yesterday, she said she was still fearful of Daniel. โ€œ[He] unfair me, he used to beat me,โ€ she told the court.When asked whether she and the accused were still in a relationship, she said: โ€œI am in no relationship with him. He made my life a living hell.โ€An emotional Gibbs also revealed she was still interested in pursuing her case against Daniel.โ€œAnd I want his family to stop harassing me,โ€ she added.Frederick then chastised Daniel for wasting the courtโ€™s time.โ€œI did not waste the courtโ€™s time . . . me and the complainant โ€˜gree back . . . I got four children Sir . . . the complainant bitter, Sir. She trying to keep me in here because she doesnโ€™t want me to release some pictures and videos of her,โ€ he said.That comment earned him a warning from the magistrate who told him to ensure that the said pictures and videos did not get on social media as it was an offence.โ€œThis is sad. I got my children to deal with, Sir, the complainant has children but they donโ€™t live with her Sir,โ€ Daniel pleaded, stressing, โ€œThis is sadโ€ as he walked out the dock. He remains on remand until June 30.

WOMAN ORDERED TO STOP GAMBLING – Worried about the life she is living, Magistrate Douglas Frederick yesterday imposed a curfew on a 22-year-old woman.Tiffany Karima Wharton, who appeared in the District โ€œAโ€ Magistratesโ€™ Court on a charge of possession of cannabis, was granted $3,000 bail with one surety after she pleaded guilty. She was in possession of 12.1 grammes of the drug.The illegal substance, which has a street value of $60.90, was found wrapped in 35 greaseproof wrappings in a clear plastic bag. That bag was inside another black plastic bag that was stuffed in a bottle.The court heard that Wharton was โ€œamong a group of people gamblingโ€.According to the facts read by the prosecutor, she took up the bottle and started walking away when police approached the area on Wednesday.She was intercepted. When asked to give an account of the parcel she was carrying after police conducted a search, which she agreed to, she said: โ€œ[I] was given the bottle to hold for a friend.โ€Asked by the magistrate why she was gambling, she responded: โ€œI was not gambling, I was just there.โ€โ€œDo you work?โ€ the magistrate asked, โ€œNo Sir,โ€ she answered. โ€œHave you ever worked before?โ€ he went on. โ€œOnly once before,โ€ Wharton replied. โ€œYou need to put a little structure in your life . . . I am placing you on a curfew from 7 p.m. to 6 a.m. . . . and stay away from the gambling block.โ€The magistrate then ordered the young woman to report to the Probation Department in order to get a pre-sentencing report. โ€œI need to know what is going on in your life, because it is not clear,โ€ he remarked.The Odessa McClean Avenue, My Lordโ€™s Hill, St Michael resident is scheduled to return to court on July 29, 2016.

6 MONTHS FOR TRESPASSING – David Dacosta Miller will spend the next six months behind bars at HMP Dodds for trespassing.The 35-year-old unemployed man, of no fixed place of abode, was caught in the act of trying to enter the unoccupied house of Denys Wood.Wood, 94, is currently residing in a nursing home.The prosecutor in the District โ€˜Aโ€™ Magistratesโ€™ Court revealed that police received a report around 11:15 p.m. on May 31 from Veril Rouse who โ€œkeeps the houseโ€, that a man was seen trying to enter one of the windows.โ€œYou were trying to steal from a 94-year-old man? Why?โ€ Magistrate Douglas Frederick asked.โ€œI have a little drinking and smoking problem,โ€ Miller responded.โ€œBut thatโ€™s an old man,โ€ Frederick said.โ€œI didnโ€™t know, sir,โ€ the accused explained.The District โ€œAโ€ magistrate went on to advise Miller that it was a serious crime.After the warning, the accused asked the court โ€œto put him on a programme like alcohol anonymous Sirโ€.

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL – FALLING CONFETTI and loud cheers ushered in the unbridled celebrations of Real Madrid fans at the Concorde Experience after the team won their 11th UEFA Champions League title last Saturday afternoon. Sixteen-hundred Barbadians had the opportunity to witness the game at the Heineken-sponsored inaugural event.Though not witnessing Real Madrid face Atletico Madrid for the second time in the final live at San Siro Stadium in Milan, Italy, the three large screens and unlimited Heineken helped to create that experience for fans.

CROP OVER IN THE CITY – REIGNING PARTY MONARCH Peter Ram is a champion in more ways than one. Miss Wigginsโ€™ last son committed what has to be the biggest musical felony in these parts since 1835, and apparently got away with it. In the presence of several uniformed and plainclothes officers in Independence Square on Thursday night, Peter Ram dared to go where none other backed by the Band of the Royal Barbados Police Force has gone before โ€“ he pulled up the band on more than one occasion!Musical director Senior Superintendent Keith Ellis seemed a bit shocked at first, but the well trained band fell quickly in line and followed the man on the microphone.

TURTLE DIS IN HIT & RUN – THE 2016 turtle nesting season has started on a sour noted. One of the islandโ€™s Hawksbill turtles was killed when a 4×4 driver drove over it as it wandered into the road by the Fish Pot Restaurant, in Speightstown, St Peter. The driver did not stop.The turtle was almost crushed; its shell was cracked until one of the eggs she was carrying oozed out. She struggled to breathe for a least half-hour but eventually succumbed to her injuries. Mohammed Ali is Dead – Former world heavyweight champion Muhammad Ali, whose record-setting boxing career, unprecedented flair for showmanship, and controversial stands made him one of the best-known figures of the 20th century, died on Friday aged 74, media reports said. Family spokesman Bob Gunnell told NBC News that Ali died in a Phoenix-area hospital. Reuters could not immediately confirm the report.โ€œMy heart is deeply saddened yet both appreciative and relieved that the greatest is now resting in the greatest place,โ€ boxer Roy Jones Jr. said on Twitter.Ali was hospitalised this week for a respiratory ailment. The former prize fighter had long been suffering from Parkinsonโ€™s syndrome, which impaired his speech and made the once-graceful athlete almost a prisoner in his own body. Well thatโ€™s all for today folks! Have a great day. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Shalom <3 Steph."

30. are-we-there-yet Avatar

THe Gazer;

Sorry to be belabouring this situation. But you said above: I think if an election was being held today and Barack Obama appeared in Barbados, all of Barbados would be looking at his every action to divine the message that is being sent. I doubt he would have timed his visit during an election. Whilst โ€˜Miaโ€ is not in the same league as the President, she is a known political entity from a neighboring island. Her presence may influence others.

I think yuh got it wrong! Replace Barack Obama in your allegory above with Donald Trump and the analogy might be more relevant, but in fact, yuh really tink dat Mia (or even Freundel) could sway the St Lucian voting public by merely attending a political meeting and not even talking at one? Yuh tink dat an opposition leader from one of our neighbours attending a political meeting in Barbados would really affect the outcome of our elections?

Yuh really know how the typical St Lucian (or even Grenadian or Vincentian) regard Bajans, especially nowadays? I suspect it is with pity more than anything else.

31. In and Out aka waiting Avatar
    In and Out aka waiting

Islands with 30% unemployment and run away crime regard Barbados with pity small wonder you are a Mia lackey. You sound like Tony Webster a liar and a jackass.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright June 4, 2016 at 5:58 AM #
    David Thompson and Hartley Henry being up front at a convention observing a process is not the same as The BLP operatives Peter, Lucille and Debbie working on the ground with the opposition that is seeking election.

FYI…any and everybody can’t attend the conventions of the Democratic and Republican parties. You can better your bottom dollar a ticket to attend such an event is not be granted to anyone who is not a member, contributor or supporter of the party. My hope and pray was for the Democrats to win in 2008 after I saw the photo in the Nation Newspaper, since I know the Republicans can get very petty. Many folks are still of the belief the Intel plant in Barbados was closed due to political pressure from the Republicans after P.M. Barrow publicly referred to Pres. Reagan as “The Cowboy in Washington”.

In my view the potential for negative fallout for attending a party convention in the USA was greater than that for attending political meetings in St. Lucia. I could be wrong.

33. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Correct is correct Heather. David, People will talk regardless! DLP or BLP, we have to get this country on track and by doing that we have to concentrate on getting the thiefing idiots out of Parliament.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheGazer June 4, 2016 at 9:44 AM
    โ€œWhilst โ€˜Miaโ€ is not in the same league as the President, she is a known political entity from a neighboring island. Her presence may influence others.โ€

How could Mia’s presence influence others? Why are you implying St. Lucians are so easily swayed? Are you suggesting she has the ability to influence St. Lucian voters but not the 40% or so of Bajans who refuse to participate in the electoral process?

If you were a St. Lucian voter would you be so inclined to be influenced by an Opposition leader from Brass-hole Barbados?
    Do you think St. Lucians are similar to Bajan brass bowls to stupidly accept a joker like Stuart as their PM?
    Should Donald trump visit Barbados would you be taken in by his politics? So why should St. Lucians be taken in by a so-called sexual deviant whom the BU anti-MAM brigade likes to gossip about?

Thatโ€™s just like saying that although you are strongly against the use of marijuana and have never used it before you would start to smoke should it be decriminalized in Barbados next week.

35. Balance
    your political bias has you unbalanced.

36. @watchman. “Caswell turn into a ac”hee hee

Better than turning into a Mia. Hee. Hee get my drift

37. @ Miller
    Oh shut up with your nonsensical dribble…

Wuh you CANNOT influence Bushie either, but that does not mean that it is OK for you to be turning up at the Bush hut at dawn with your fat self…

….yuh may get a blessing yuh did not expect.

Some things are just about GOOD MANNERS….. and just because thieving Thompson ALSO displayed bad manners some time ago means NOTHING…. BU was just starting to kick back then….

Leaders MUST be role models …whose public manners, and whose public WORD – must be beyond question. How you can be supporting such low class behaviour is beyond words…

….Oh WAIT!!! You would have done the same shiite in your time too..ent it?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea June 4, 2016 at 12:27 PM

Bushie, I am not supporting any lower class behavior. If you think I would support lower class behavior then I would be one of the biggest fans of Fumble and his goons.

I agree Mia’s presence was tactically and diplomatically out of place.
    However, I don’t see how her presence could indeed sway St. Lucian voters to vote against any government.
    That’s just like saying your presence in St. John would make people vote against Mara.
    St. Lucians have already made up their minds as to the way they are going to vote next week. The same way Bajans are pissed off with the current DLP administration and just wait to see the back of them even if it means Tweedlebee instead of the disappointing, deceitful lying Tweedledem. But then again, Bushie, you see the Bajans as brass bowls and might just reinforce you perfect assessment of the food and fรชte loving piss pots.

39. @Miller

Then you agree the issue is one of judgement by Mia. Of course she cannot sway the election, if she intended to offer herself as the future PM of Barbados then we have a right to question her judgement. When the bell is rung the public will have to decide whether MAM or Freundel.

40. @ Enuff June 4, 2016 at 4:34 AM #

The article says Mottley attended political meetings of both parties. Nowhere was it reported that she was at the โ€œforefront of the campaignโ€. This blog presupposes that Moe and Hughes were acting on Mottleyโ€™s behalf. Does either Moe or Hughes (or both) have a personal/business relationship with Chastanet who was once a senior manager at Air Jamaica? The bdostoday article also highlights the weakness (or agenda) of our journalism, as it only bothers to refer to Tony Astaphan as a โ€œprominent Dominican attorneyโ€ when the man is associated with many OECS PMs including St.Lucia hence has a political agenda.
    ……………………………………….

Enuff,

Every one has their own agenda………….dont forget that the editor of Barbados Today sings in OSA’s choir.

Hence the deliberate expansion on Tony Astaphan’s reason for being in St Lucia.

41. @ Enuff

Should read…….

……….deliberate omision to expand on Tony Astaphan’s reason to being in St Lucia.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David June 4, 2016 at 12:50 PM
    โ€œWhen the bell is rung the public will have to decide whether MAM or Freundel.โ€

But isn’t that a type of Hobson’s choice?

Who would you choose? A woman who has shown weakness in judgment that can be corrected by experience and listening to advice from those who genuinely support her? Or a well established liar, corrupted and arrogant incompetent misfit who happens to be just a lucky political bastard?
    The Bajans made a massively deleterious mistake in 2013 by choosing over OSA a man who pretended to be a person of integrity but turned out to be the worst evil to visit them.

43. @ The Sage Annunaki

You see why I will always defer to men like you Sage?

You said “I agree Miaโ€™s presence was tactically and diplomatically out of place.”

That is my point, a while she cannot influence the vote significantly, it was the “couth” of the matter that disturbed me.

She is P.M. in the offing, the ole Mia liming pun de block with the fellers smoking a splif, in this time of men and women with smartphones to record that innocent communion, is not the right thing to do.

Imagine this Sage One.

It is your birthday and me and the fellers decide to give you a night out where we pay for everything and I decide that we going congregate at Rehab on Fontabelle.

You, are a feller of impeccable decorum, let us say that you are a Granville Phillips and, not to be considered a panty man, you acquiesce to this lark and end up at Rehab.

Me and the fellers them proceed to pay one of the girls to give you a lap dance and I record that dance.

Now tell me what will be the fallout for you when your wife,, your children, your pastor, the church members, and the Nation sees the “lark”

You know full well that that is not the place for you to go EVEN THOUGH IT IS IN YOUR RIGHTS TO GO WHEREVER YOU WANT TO GO PUN DE ISLAND.

Mottley is no idiot, this was a stoopid power play that was not thought out properly especially when your people working for Chastanet.

The point is taken that Debbie and Lucille DO NOT RUN MIA’s campaign, nobody but Mia runs Mia’s campaigns they like the members of the BLP, just do Mia’s biddings.

“What is this air that this Mottley breathes that makes her greater than you or I Annunaki? What is this privilege of birth that makes this action of insult to the sitting government now to be a non issue because Mottley did it?

As you have said, and as I have emphatically concurred, “I agree Miaโ€™s presence was tactically and diplomatically out of place.”

But i went a few steps further to speak to why it was done, the impunity of the action, and to strongly suggest that with each passing moment as the Hands and Bottom get closer to “The Prize” we can expect these actions and tactical moves that are distasteful.

I going bet you $100 BU dollars, (that is a fictitious currency) that since it seemed to have offended some STLs, no apology will be offered.

44. before it starts.

Let me clarify “the ole Mia, liming on the block, with the fellers smoking a spliff”, those smoking the spliff are the fellers, NOT MIA.

I know that someone going jump to say that I suggest that Mia is the subject of that “smoking action”, she was not.

45. Quote if the day Mia. “What is this” “am i being followed by the Gestapo”

Dam woman you are in the peoples terriority at a time when you have been known to be alligned with the opposition party of S.Luica dam woman cant you get it.it is all about transparency and the people of St.lucia right to know who are the artful dodgers in the makings of their election.
    Mark my word if Anthony loses the election retribution would rear its ugly head directed towards Mia and PW

46. @ Miller

Your pleadings about how the presence of MAM in St. Lucian could, or not, influence locals deliberately misses the point.

You’re displaying the type of ignorance that normally gets a pass in the country. Anything to support ones party leader.

In international politics such an intervention is very nearly akin to an act of war. It borders on subterfuge, it represents interference in the internal affairs of a sovereign and friendly state, and more.

When the stakes are as high as war and peace, if parties are so inclined, MAM’s presence in St. Lucian with an entourage of political forces, purportedly supporting opposition forces to the government can easily be the caucus belli for war. It is at least bad diplomacy.

Should such recklessness, in any measure, be even partially condone?

47. @miller
    Good points until “Thatโ€™s just like saying that although you are strongly against the use of marijuana and have never used it before you would start to smoke should it be decriminalized in Barbados next week.”

Decriminalize marijuana and David will be here all by himself next week.

Seriously: In a close election all you want is a trick to drag the yourself just past the finish line. Being associated with a powerful political ally from a nex island could be that trick.

@AWTY
    I used the President only to illustrate that having ‘powerful political animals ‘ drop by in an election could be interpreted as a sign of their alliance to one of the parties. I could have chosen a republican leader if I wanted to draw a paralell in terms of office. But point taken.

48. *parallel

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

50. Taking a little time out of my day to comment on Miaโ€™s Great St. Lucian Adventure which depending on what side of the political fence one sits was either a vacation; business meeting or some kind of political skullduggery. I am elated that Miaโ€™s visit to a fellow CARICOM Nation has only resulted in a political storm in a teacup, it could have been so much more. Perhaps Mia is at the stage where she believes that except for the formality of affixing oneโ€™s โ€˜Xโ€ on the ballot her work is done and it is time to shore up the political fortunes of her fellow travelers.

One of the things that OSA always points out in his frequent harangues against Mia is that she lacks judgement and OSA in his dotage seems to be on the ball, Mia is a seasoned political operative and the word of the day is โ€œOpticsโ€.