There is the saying, ‘if yuh start wrong, yuh gine end wrong’.

A lot has been written and said about MAM (Mark Maloney) and his latest Town Planning Department (TPD) breach (controversy) Hard Rock Cement. His name was mentioned by Governor Delisle Worrell when he delivered one of his closed door Economic Reviews. In the recent No Confidence Motion brought against the government by MAM (Mia Mottley) Maloney’s name was again mentioned several times. In the same way she catapulted the Cahill Energy Scam to wide national attention, she has apparently done the same to Mark Maloney and his company Hard Rock Cement.

The BU household has joined many who have become enthralled by the reported exploits of Maloney. The current debate over his refusal to respond to an enforcement order issued by the Town Planning department (TPD),  who then flipped it to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Charles Leacock, who has since requested additional information from Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins to clarify the order is the stuff Hollywood is built.

Photo credit: Barbados Today

Although Barbadians have been labelled creatures who have a short attention span, surely we have not forgotten it was in January of last year Mark Maloney announced that a top of the line cement plant would be constructed next to the flour mill on Barbados Port Authority lands. The verbal indiscretion and insight into how decisions are made in Barbados have now come into the light. His announcement then forced a hurried response by Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins to the effect no building construction application had been made. The Business Development and Operations Consultant Dwight Sutherland was given the job to explain away Maloney’s ‘faux pas’ of sorts which he attributed to overexcitement.

During the No Confidence debate Mia Mottley was relentless in her prosecution of Maloney and the authorities who have not been able to respond to what she labelled TPD breaches. While on her feet government member using sotto voce were quick to ask about Dwight Sutherland’s role in the Hard Rock Rock Hard affair. She responded that it would be INVIDIOUS of her to deal with the Sutherland involvement during the motion.The meaning of the word – likely to arouse or incur resentment or anger in others. Members of the BU household immediately discussed what she meant and concluded she did not want to upset her junior colleague.

BU is of the view given the aggressive public position the leader of the Opposition and Barbados Labour Party Mia Mottley has taken – and rightly so – makes it easy for Sutherland to resign his job as a Consultant with Maloney’s Hard Rock Cement company. Given Sutherland’s role and his public mouthings as a representative of Hard Rock Cement, it is obvious that he was involved in TPD discussions. It is obvious he was privy to the direction the company was about to take last year. Even if he was not aware the time has come to select one master. There is another saying – you can’t serve two masters.

It is a matter of principle Mr. Dwight Sutherland M.P. and Business Development Manager and Consultant. All are watching you as you construct a career in public service.

238 responses to “Dwight Sutherland Serving Two MAMs, Mottley and Maloney”

1. No Cynthia
    No Edmund
    No Trevor
    No Santia
    No Gline
    No MAM

6/14×100 = wunna really want change, or wunna just mekking sport?

2. @Raw Bake

We can only goon the newspaper report. If it is accurate one has to admit there is a time and place to play politics.

3. Ah its Sunday morning and the purists are screaming for blood, was today’s sermon about throwing the money changers out of the Temple?

Perhaps Dwight didn’t know that Maloney would be part of the debate otherwise he would have absented himself from the proceedings by claiming he slipped in the shower and wrenched his knee and was unable to walk or that he walked into the business end of a cuckoo stick and was rendered an amnesiac.

Has to eat? What does feeding one’s family have to do with politics? Someone brought up Mia’s office doing business with the failed Paradise project and I thought of another sermon “let him who is without sin cast the first stone”.

This politics business is not for the faint of heart, smile at the wrong person and you can be in deep doodoo, but yuh know only 10% of an iceberg is visible and we are seeing Dwight’s 10 % but what about the other 90% that we are not seeing as it pertains to the other honourable members of the House?

4. And the list also indicated that there was:

No Freundel Stuart
    No Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford
    No Stella St. John
    No Mara Thompson
    No Elliott Belgrave
    No Donville
    No Sealy
    No Jones
    No former and present prime ministers of other Caribbean islands…..

If the newspaper report is accurate, then one has to admit by Stuart’s absence, is he playing politics as well?

Shiite………What’s the big deal concerning who attended the funeral or not?

David, you and Raw Bake are really “grabbing at straws” on this one.

5. @Artax

You support BU’s point.

6. It is possible to make bricks from straw. Just saying.

There is no such thing as coincidence in politics as you very well know.

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant;

I’ve noted that several commenters on this topic have individually taken a very nuanced and indeed internally contradictory stand on this Sutherland-Hard Rock matter.

I think it shows, with little doubt, that we have generally not understood that this matter stands at the very heart of the ease with which matters of corruption can be excused in Barbados by most of the population and thereby suggests that corruption has a significant buy-in from the community at large.

Long live corruption! We like it so!

8. @Are-we-there-yet

You are most perceptive. We will not advance in Barbados unless we are prepared to treat with issues devoid of political poppycock and tit for tat arguments.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David and Raw Bake;

Fwliw, All that the lists (of attendees vs non-attendees) suggests to me is that OSA is now firmly in no man’s land politically and is, to some extent, a resultant of his importance or lack thereof in the current realities of politics here.

Nothing of real importance to see here!

10. Show me where this first-time MP has the wherewithal to positively influence Maloney’s interactions with the public service and the public’s purse, and I will revise my kite flying assertion.

Yuh mean Immigration, Customs, Police and now BU too? I doan noh bout wunna but I am tired of small frys. Especially when duh got big fish out deh.

11. @Rawe Bake

Read the comment responded to Heather earlier. Dwight is small fry BUT there is still a governance issue we have an obligation to address where it raises its head. Dwight is an MP who has a responsibility to deal with all issues in an unbridled way. How can Dwight deal with this matter in a satisfactory manner in his role as an elected member of parliament?

12. AWTY

Look for pictures of the recent march for justice. Who among the opposition camp chose to wear red when everyone was asked to wear white?

It is always about perception so I beg to differ. Despite all the spin, the same faces keep lining up behind the same faces. To me this suggests that 2018 will not be the cakewalk others are suggesting.

13. @Rawe Bake

Do you mean like when David Estwick wore red on the morning a replacement to David Thompson was done? Did Estwick line up behind Stuart when the bell rung?

14. Okay David, missed that one.

Still the headlineof this post screams that he is serving two masters. You then go on to state quite emphatically Even if he was not aware the time has come to select one master. There is another saying – you can’t serve two masters. According to you; It is a matter of principle

Given that you agree that there are bigger fish out there, why are you suggesting that he choose MIA or Mark?
    Should you not be asking him to serve the people of Barbados instead?

“She responded that it would be INVIDIOUS of her to deal with the Sutherland involvement during the motion.”

Where is your condemation for this self-serving dereliction of duty to the people?

15. @Raw Bake

Why have you interpreted figurative and symbolic language in a literal sense?

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Raw Bake;

Its the optics and being in the right place to be aware of developments in the day to day running of the public sector that might be in any way used to develop a project or stop a project or mitigate losses from a project, etc.

The Government benches and the opposition benches are not two different monolithic structures where only the Government MP’s are in the know. There are distinct informal informational linkages between the two. Why do you think that, almost from time immemorial, Opposition leaders have been able to provide sound information on secret deals taking place in Government. DT was a past master at finding reports dropped off of various trucks when he was in Opposition. MaM has also been adept at getting such reports.

The opposition is very much aware of a lot of deals that are going on that involve their opposite numbers and usually tend to keep such information inside the House or provide limited circulation of such.

If you accept the above you should be able to see why having a member of the Opposition on one’s payroll might be a strategic move that could pay off in getting or keeping projects worth hundred of millions of dollars.

Lets take an absolutely total hypothetical using a mythical country, Barbudos, similar in many respects to ours:

In that country an engineer XX is on a modest retainer to a huge Private Sector Company (PSC) with interests in several Government funded projects. The engineer is an opposition MP officially charged with keeping his eyes and ears open on everything having to do with current or potential projects that have some significant connection with Engineering.

How does XX, who is demonstrably an honourable man, separate his official duties from the things he might be expected to do to justify his retainer? Especially if, as not being a Minister, he might not have been sworn to secrecy re. such matters.

I would suggest, cut his ties to that company when the optics suggest that he might be placing himself in an untenable situation.

17. Dwight Sutherland must know if you lie with dogs you most certainly might get fleas too.Richie put it succinctly………to many,perception is more important than the truth.
    Sutherland,take advice and see the folly of your decision both in the short and in the long term if you are serious about representing people in parliament.On the other hand you might make a decision to carry Mahoney’s baggage full time and leave the political arena for good.

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Raw Bake;

Re. your 12:02 pm post. I think you are right re. the wearing of some colours other than white by some members of the BLP at the March against the 10%.

It does suggest some measure of independence or defiance of the wishes of the Leader. But I think the more important metric to take away from that march was that they all walked. Not one stayed away. Even the reportedly very ill Trevor Prescod was present, at least at the beginning of the March

I also agree with you that 2018 (or before) will not be a cakewalk. But I tend more to see the stats there as being likely to be closer to a “PUDRYR not uh effing seat” than to being a close thing.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s now up to Mia to allow this tp continue…As an engineer Sutherland can grt work anywhere across the Caribbean. ..or he can give up the MP position and keep the Maloney position. Let’s see how long he lasts at Hard Rock when he is of no further political use to Maloney and hos masters.

MoneyB. ..what might have started as “extortion” of money by politians 3 decades ago, is now fullblown bribery to retain control of the island….decades later, it’s competitive corruption by the new fronting for the old business people to see who could attain the most wealth, who could pay the biggest bribes to politicians and civil servants they have in place at various taxpayer funded entities, eg Port Inc…read….suck the island dry.

None of them are inventors or creators, for decades now that’s the only knowledge or intelligence they possess to get wealthy, I speak of both politicians and business people….and it’s all at taxpayer’s expense…that’s all any of them excel at….

Trust me this is no longer 1984…there are new and very greedy business people playing this same nasty game….new ways of taking bribes….

20. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Gabriel; Re your 12:53 post

You said; “On the other hand you might make a decision to carry Mahoney’s baggage full time and leave the political arena for good.”

I suspect his main value to Mahoney might be related to his position as an MP and a full time baggage carrier post might not be extended to him.

That option might not be a real one.

21. are-we-there-yet,

I hear what you are saying and give you your jacket. If it looks bad that is all that matters.

However what you an David are not saying, by only aiming the blow torch at DS’s feet; is that no MP, opposition or otherwise and certainly no Businessman or private company, can get anything from the public’s purse unless some “lowly” public servant is prepared to look the other way. We have been changing MPs for years now and still the graft continues.

Perhaps we need to focus elsewhere to find this elusive good governance and transparency.

22. @Raw Bake

However what you an David are not saying, by only aiming the blow torch at DS’s feet; is that no MP, opposition or otherwise and certainly no Businessman or private company, can get anything from the public’s purse unless some “lowly” public servant is prepared to look the other way. We have been changing MPs for years now and still the graft continues.

If we can get the PAC to work for example it breeds the right ethos in the public sector. Given that the public sector does its business with the private sector this is a good place to start.

23. I am not joining wunna in dis “not one effing seat” business. Too many variables and money in pocket aids short memories.

But the younger business people/scamsters have much bigger ambitions, in their minds what occurred beoire bribery/extortion/corruption was small time…let me explain in case some are misunderstanding. ….the new business people are not just satisfied with having all the government contracts and controlling the government ministers and civil servants…oh no, that’s no longer satisfying….

Peter Parris decides he will put his own government and prime minister in place…the Grenville Phillips business model that went nowhere…that way Harris could be Barbados’ silent dictator…no one can tell him no..lol

To up the game because he believes he is big enough and he has way more patience than Harris, learned at the knees of his old masters over the yesrs…..Maloney has his own MP in place just in case Mia gets kicked to the curb by her own party and unsesaed…. and just in case DLP gets kicked to the curb, Maloney and masters will have at least one brand new very young government minister to do their every vile bidding….at taxpayers expense…that is what decades of corrupt government ministers and civil servants have brought to the island….they must be proud.

25. WW
    It stands to reason that after years of Extortion business people would adjust to the conditions, adaptation/ evolution. If U cant beat dem or change dem then U might have to join dem. SAD, but the only answer is some form of revolution with a no nonsense Benevolent Dictator to impose change and what is the correct course for the Nation as a whole.

DISCIPLINE is a major problem in many nations excepting places like Singapore where those in control dont mess around with transgressors, miscreants etc.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB. ..of course the business people would eagerly adapt to the bribery/extortion/corruption conditons they helped create, they too lack any moral compass or ethics…they too, like every polician, never exposed the extortion or the bribery, but allowed it to flourish, because it was self-enriching to all parties involved….except the people.

Ya nearly had a benevolent dictor in the form of Peter Harris, but Grenville is a wuss…lol

27. No that BU purposes to stand as keeper of the gate .i for one would watch dilligently how the lady dress in white the Florence Nightingale of purity deals with Sutherland alleged conflict of interest laid against him in the BU courtroom
    After all it is all about transparency . how funny at times when one tries to cut another legs it may indeed having and end result if hsving to cut their own
    For what it is worth a maloney issue to splinter the dlp party might have a boomerang effect resulting in another splinter in the blp party.

Very interesting times ahead as the old folks say those who help to buy the big foot horse not going to help ride it. All the tell tale signs of a blp who has lost its way.in the end Maloney would survive the ruthless tide of political vengeance but the question can the blp survive having such inept leadership at the helm.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC..give it up…let Adriel Brathwaite do his job that he said he would over a year ago, investigate Mia and if she is a fraud lawyer practicing without documents, ya sound like a stuck record.

Your political masters only found out the plans, by one of their business masters, to overthrow them after the fact…..had Grenville Phillips not flamed out…your days on BU would be numbered…lol

29. Better yet Mottley give it up and stop the pretentious charade in mean while helping to drag her members name in the mud in her continous efforts to commit politicialsuicide of herself and the blp party

30. ac

What is an LEC and who requires one to prctice law in Barbados? lol

31. Colonel Buggy Avatar

By now we should realize that most serving and aspiring politicians do not attend funerals out of respect for the deceased,and especially outside of their constituency,but as part of their ongoing canvassing exercise. Ask Dale or Cinty.

32. @enuff,
    All lawyers who practice before the Bar, are required to possess one. It is the legal certification from the UWI, and is obtained after a person who has obtained the LLB, studies for a further two years either at the Law faculties in
    Trinidad or Jamaica. It is no laughing matter.Jeff can give further details if required.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…no one is doubting it’s a very important certificate and integral to attorney practicing their craft..we know it legitimizes their practice.

Again, the question is, why is the attorney general Adriel Brathwaite not doing his job, investigating if Mia has one and letting the public know the outcome of the investigation, as thry have a right to know, as some are saying, it’s been over a year sine he said he would do so…what’s the holdup….a telephone call would tell him if she has been practicing law illegally in Barbados.

To date no one can say why Brathwaite refuses to do his job, but yall continue to accuse Mia…bring the proof.

34. Alvin are you sure about ALL? lol

35. Why are these DLP yardfowls on about a LEC? Including Denis Lowe? Was it not established 3 lawyers in Barbados were given a waiver of the LEC? If there is a problem with Mia’s qualification is it not the AG and the Chief Justice to deal with it? In fact didn’t Adriel Brathwaite promise to investigate the matter? Further did he not also promise, along with the Prime Minister, to investigate electoral irregularities they admitted to witnessing during the last election?

#actheBUyardfowls

36. Here is a woman who took a 10percent reimbursement of ministers wages and stands up in the house of Parliament and bodly declares that the money to be reimbursed was a raise of ministers pay.then on top of it all declares that she does not want to be party of such high crimes (lol) as if she had in the first place had any participation in the wage cut. Now that is the kind of tenacity that defies logic. Furthermore she instructs her members to follow her lead knowing full well that those who was not in the favour of the wage cut had nothing to be reimbursed.
    But in all of this it can not escape any one mind that Mottley has used every loophole to avoid answering the real issues of good goverance and the economy and has taken flight along with loyal her supporters on a roller coaster ride to yardfowl heaven

37. It seems as if and when the issue of Mia LEC is brought to table it rubs the blp yardfowls including speckled fowl David the wrong way. If indeed Mia has such legal instrument she should be proud to show it to the public in the same way she bellows and exhibits govt documents in parliament for the world to see.
    The question is what does she has to hide.most notably her refusal to show proof would continue to haunt her making her the butt of jokes in an outside parliament
    The lame excuse of AG having to bring evidence by the blp brigade only agitate the issue in their attempt to do a cover of spin

38. @ac

You are the BU jackass. It is one thing to debate issues with those who can give cogent responses. It is another to debate someone with a pea brain whose arguments must ALWAYS be steeped in party rhetoric. You may have the last word.

#JA

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

What is all this nonsense about Mia’s LEC; it is not an issue. What the Government and its yardfowls should explain is why they appointed a chief justice who was not qualified for the job. When they discovered that Gibson was not qualified, they changed the law to accommodate him. The amendments were not crafted with enough precision and even after that, he still was not qualified but they appointed him anyway.

40. And to boot, Gibson was not even a judge (by our own standards) in New York.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

In NY, administrative judges tend to deal with immigration matters, family matters etc…I believe Gibson was alternative dispute resolution…I dont know what the standards are supposed to be in Barbados, but judging from the deceitful and dispicable actions of former chief justice David Simmons, they seem to be rather very low, nothing to be proud of….

In saying that CJ Gibson is moving too slow in overhauling the judiciary, I know he is only one person fighting a den of beasts, but I thought he had gotten help from outside.

AC keeps stupidly harping on and on about an LEC…did it not occur to her that there may be hundreds of lawyers, many in parliament, who are practicing without the cert and not only does AG Adriel Brathwaite know this, but Mia knows that he knows…..dumbass AC.

AC…what you should be telling us is what the DLP government plan to do about Mark Maloney and Peter Harris, 2 poxes on the island who are both blatantly ignoring the countries’ laws, show disrespect and scorn for the leaders, with the sole intent of controlling the country themselves…I think that is more important than some stupid LEC…. what those 2 are doing is tantamount to treason and a threat to the island’s security… others are imprisoned for blatantly ignoring the island’s laws and for even less…why dont you rant about that.

42. David,

I dont know what Raw Bake was referring to …….OSA’s father’s funeral, perhaps……..For the record, Hinkson is away.

43. Well well,

Mia lives rent free in ac’s head!

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

Mia is a single woman and does not require that much empty space.

45. @ David
    Bushie is marking the date – 28 May 2016……when you have finally given in to your unnatural optimism, and formally declared AC to be the BU jackass.

You err only in thinking that her asininity is confined to BU…..
    In fact, the woman is an equus africanus asinus of biblical dimensions….

46. HEll YES kunckle head the LEC is an issue it goes to transparency and ethics isnt the sutherland story about ethics and transparency, so why is Mia given a pass in her avoidance of the LEC issue
    Now seeing that she has again refused to show proof after saying in parliament that she will the evidence is one her to produce

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..Prodigal….very obviously…lol

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It has not yet occurred to AC that Adriel Brathwaite might not have an LEC to practice law and neither does Fruendel Stuart and Mia also knows this and they both know that Mia knows this.. lol only the retarded yardfowl is pushing for Mia’s LEC.

49. bush shite it takes a jacka,ss to know a jack a,ss especially one of your ilk who has no shame to piss all over the blog master a few days ago challenging his editorial content on articles that displeased you as if he needs your permission .. negro go find something pleasurable to do with the time left on this god giving earth jack a,ss and by the way pay attention to that Blog which you could not as much as have ten readers bush shite you are very large indeed lol

50. Love you too AC. 🙂