An interesting and provocative editorial found in The BarbadosAdvocate 29.04.2016.

black-and-white“If you open that Pandora’s box, you never know what Trojan ‘orses will jump out…” –Ernest Bevin (1949)

While Barbados does not proclaim it as poetically as Trinidad & Tobago’s national anthem does, our constitutional ethos implies that here also “every creed and race finds an equal place”. However, there are many Barbadians who, for one reason or another, will justifiably question whether this tenet obtains in practice as opposed to subsisting merely in theory.

As witness recently when there were objections to the description of Barbados as the freest black nation on earth: where the voiced disagreement, surprisingly, was not over the comparative degree of freedom enjoyed locally, but rather over the shade ascribed to the nation. It has ever been thus. Local discussions pertaining to race and colour have always been fraught with tension; a reality owed as much to the sensitive nature of the issue as to the difficulty of determining, among our blackish and whitish citizens, who fits (or should fit) precisely where.

The Ambassador to CARICOM, His Excellency Robert “Bobby” Morris may therefore inadvertently have opened a hornet’s nest with his recent call for an apology by the “descendants of white Barbadian slave owners” to the local “descendants of slaves”’; a vicarious mea culpa that, he counsels, should be accepted by the offerees.

First, Mr Morris, who we have no doubt is well meaning and conciliatory in his call, may have miscalculated the degree of miscegenation that would have occurred in a small concentrated slave society, so that neither his categorization of blackish Barbadians as the descendants of slaves, nor, indeed that of whitish Barbadians as the descendants of white Barbadian slave owners is entirely accurate even at a superficial level.

And it would not be incorrect to assert that the blackish Barbadian, more so than his or her white counterpart, tends to regards this racial mixing as a badge of pride. One expects therefore that some of these individuals would take umbrage at being categorized simply as a member of one category merely by virtue of their current outward appearance. More over, there are many Barbadians, both blackish and whitish, who appear to be frankly bored with any discussion about slavery and who consider that it is high time that we move on with the current global arrangements.

This is not to say that the whitish individuals among us might not have benefited from being thus complected, although we also consider that this phenomenon might have been owed rather to overarching societal norms that place a higher value on the degree of absence of melanin and proceed to confer commercial and social benefits accordingly.

It may be for these reasons that Mr Morris’s call has failed to attract much popular support. Indeed, one prominent local blackish businessman in a letter to the Barbados Advocate earlier this week reminded, “nobody owes us a living. It’s a brave new world…”

They may also account for the similarly lukewarm reception that has greeted the call for reparations for slavery to be paid by European nations to regional countries and their inhabitants. It has always puzzled us how the individual beneficiaries of these reparations should be identified. Will there be a requirement to trace one’s lineage back to an identifiable slave? Or will entitlement be based simply on current phenotype, disregarding the happenstance of any historical irregularity in the bloodline?

The truth is that while there may be a substantial degree of moral justification for an apology and reparations, the years since the dark night of slavery have fundamentally altered the stark racial divisions that then prevailed. To base current events on this same division seems to us unjustified.

570 responses to “Of Apologies and Compensation”

1. I thought you had to ask for forgiveness in order to be forgiven. How does John know that the slave owners asked for forgiveness? So you just do whatever you like and God automatically forgives you? No! One must first repent of one’s sins. Don’t know which Bible John is reading.

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Perhaps they thought that forgiveness was given when they built the biggest Anglican churches in Barbados, on land of course, that was not good for the growing of canes, and supplying the biggest sugar canes, potatoes and yams to the church’s harvest. But they probably incurred the wrath of God , by demanding marked and reserved seats at the front of the church, and the taking of the sacrament first, before the horde of blacks who were pushed to the back of the church.
    Even if the slave owners and their descendants, had never asked for forgiveness, you can bet your reparation windfall, that the same very people who were being disenfranchised, prayed and asked God to dismiss the case against them.
    Are you aware that many “poor” black people who were very fortunate in those days to own a spot of land , died and bequeathed those pieces of land to the Mass-ta? Are you aware that when young radical Bajan clerics came out of Codrington College and into an Anglican church, which was previously under the control of an ex-patriot and the plantation,and tried to speak out against the injustices or racial segregation in the house of God, that they were cussed and rebuked by the very people they were trying to uplift?
    Visit an Anglican church any Sunday Morning and observe how we are still afraid to sit in the front pews.

3. @ Colonel Buggy May 4, 2016 at 11:10 PM

It is good to hear your views as they are always rooted in an historical context. Something that many of us tend to overlook.

I remain puzzled as to why so many of you bloggers engage the Johns and Money Brains of this world. It is an exercise in futility.

Race in the US: Know your history

“And then you might understand how the death of Michael Brown became a tipping point in the US.”

http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/features/2015/08/race-history-ferguson-150814082921736.html

4. Donna May 4, 2016 at 10:22 PM #

I thought you had to ask for forgiveness in order to be forgiven. How does John know that the slave owners asked for forgiveness? So you just do whatever you like and God automatically forgives you? No! One must first repent of one’s sins. Don’t know which Bible John is reading.

That’s about it!!!

God’s forgiveness is free, you repent, accept Christ as your saviour and you get it.

How do I know the slave owners asked for forgiveness from their sins???

That’s a good question, shows you are thinking.

Simplicity itself!!

I just read their last wills and testaments!!!

You should try it … just go to the archives and ask to see any will from the 17th and 18th centuries and hey presto …. you get the answer.

It is completely free, you don’t have to pay a cent.

I would have thought the folk who support reparations would have engaged in the exercise!!

5. Colonel Buggy May 4, 2016 at 11:10 PM #

Perhaps they thought that forgiveness was given when they built the biggest Anglican churches in Barbados

You are out to lunch, completely unaware of your own past.

The Barbadians who built the sugar industry through their efforts and those of their slaves were not even Anglicans!!

They were directed by the light of God.

They actually believed a church to be no more than a “house with a steeple”!!

Their worship was conducted in houses and in the open in fields.

Some fields still have names that locate the various places of worship, including one at Mount Wilton which you claim to know so well!!

The worship was open to all, slave and free.

At emancipation there were 11 parish churches and All Saints Church, 12 Anglican churches in all.

If memory serves me right the Moravians had built Sharon by then but as far as Anglican churches go, there were 12.

I think the Methodists started church building in the 1800’s but would have to check my copy of Historic Churches of Barbados.

The first Anglican Bishop of Barbados, Coleridge, embarked on a church and school building program.

That’s why you will see beside most churches in Barbados a school.

The “church” educated us.

Now Government claims that role and has produced such luminaries in education as Ronald Jones, Jeff Broomes, Erskine Sandiford, Mia Mottley etc., etc., etc.!!

I guess one of them will soon become a national hero and we will raise another graven image to their memory!!

If you feel like being educated you can look at the book on Historic Churches of Barbados and see the facts for yourself!!

You can fill in the simple blanks I have left as to year of construction for Moravian, Methodist and Anglican churches.

For Heaven’s sake, go read a book!!!

You do not know 1/4 of what you think you know!!

6. Well Well & Consequences May 4, 2016 at 8:44 PM #

John….sorry, you got a real long wait if you think I will waste my precious time with dumb shit like that…lol

I can read you like a book!!

7. … I guess by now you will have figured out that I don’t think education is everything it has been made out to be!!

It is important but if you don’t know why you are getting it, leave it out and stay simple.

8. It is possible to be educated and simple!!!

9. Exclaimer

Correct that White Supremacy is wrong.

How come African Americans have so much confidence in Sports, Singing, Comedy etc? How come Bajans/ WI believe that black people are the greatest in many sectors. When I was a youth in Bim who were our heroes Ali, Pele, Sir Gary—while I largely agreed there was no room for discussion like the time when I mentioned that Graham Pollock was a good competitor to Sir Gary in batting and although his batting average was indeed higher, one would have thought that I was comparing the maestro to Lance Gibbs as a batsman.

Self Belief is what we all must have. This is what must be the Focus.

Interesting question who were the majority of the leaders and soldiers that FOUGHT and DIED to end Slavery in the USA??????????????????????????????????

It is interesting that black people in Toronto demanded and received their own school. That seems to be Segregation to me. Why was it necessary? Surely makes more sense to fight the system from inside, many senior educators in Toronto have been and are black. Why were they not demanding a more black user friendly approach by rooting out the racists and problems in the system?

Ex, why is it an exercise in futility engaging with me? Maybe U appreciate that I am not just going to join your bandwagon as it goes nowhere?

Michael brown is a poor example to stand behind it would be much better to focus on the clearer cut situations like the SC racist, the racist Police in Ferguson (not a criminal fool like Mike)

You have missed my major point which is DONT wallow in the terrible past , FOCUS on succeeding now and in the future. Understand the brutal reality of the past, internalise it and utilise that as FUEL to push forward. Please explain how what is written here in this paragraph is bad advice. Certainly many successful black people take that approach.

10. Mistakes and Misunderstanding!

An Alabama pastor said to his congregation, “Someone in this congregation has spread a rumor that I belong to the Ku Klux Klan.

This is a horrible lie and one which a Christian community cannot tolerate. I am embarrassed and do not intend to accept this.

Now, I want the party who said this to stand and ask forgiveness from God and this Christian family.”

No one moved. The preacher continued, “Do you have the nerve to face me and admit this is a falsehood? Remember,
    you will be forgiven and in your heart you will feel glory. Now stand and confess your transgression.”

Again, all was quiet. Then, slowly, a drop-dead gorgeous blonde with a body that would stop a runaway train rose from the third pew.
    Her head was bowed and her voice quivered as she spoke, “Reverend there has been a terrible misunderstanding. I never said you
    were a member of the Ku Klux Klan. I simply told a couple of my friends that you were a wizard under the sheets.”

The preacher fell to his knees, his wife fainted, and the congregation roared.

Life is Short. Smile while you still have Teeth.

11. Colonal Buggy,

Unlike many people I am VERY aware of all those things of which you speak. I suggest you read a few books written by Anglicans on Christian Ethics and you will perhaps understand why I have no problem with sitting on an Anglican pew and I have never given a thought to where I sit. I have sat at the back and I have sat in the middle. I have sat in the body and in both wings. I have sat in the balcony AND I HAVE SAT IN THE FRONT.

John,

ANY WILL? Or the few that you read? Did they ALL leave ALL the proceeds of their CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY to the freed slaves. That is the only way they could have truly shown their repentance. I do know that some of them did as you say and I also know that some mentally enslaved persons handed it back to their former massa’s children. The thing with being in jail for most of your life is that one often does not know how to live on the outside once one has been set free. Also, there is something called Stockholm’s syndrome that often makes one enamored of one’s captor. This would explain the way in which we blacks have responded to our new state over the years. It’s called MENTAL SLAVERY and is well documented. However, I am free enough to sit on the front pews of their Anglican Church, free enough to embrace my heritage both European and African and forge a new identity as a Barbadian and free enough not to give my inheritance back to the former massa’s descendants.

But they are not yet free enough to hand it over!

And please note I am not waiting for any handout for myself. What I want is a revolution in the social order that can only be accomplished by violence or the co-operation of the former massa’s descendants (they must stop manipulating our mentally enslaved leaders) or the mental freeing of our leaders who remain tied to that “albino philosophy of materialism” which makes them hand over what little we have wrest from the massa’s children back from whence it came in exchange for pretty trinkets for themselves and their cronies. They exchange their own empowerment for a servant master relationship which sees them dancing like puppets at the end of a string. Poor souls do not realize they because of it their own families will always be dependent on the next dirty deal.

As for Massa’s descendants, they do not realize that they will never truly be free until they let go of the proceeds of the crimes their ancestors bequeathed them. They inherited the proceeds so they have inherited the crimes. One cannot be erased without the other.

12. Donna

Please tell me WHERE my inheritance of wealth is as I would like to pick it up today, thanks.

13. Hey Gazer, just saw your post.

In my scene the Huckleberry only had a bamboo stick. I snatched it away and he came back with an olive branch. I graciously accepted the olive branch. Then I morphed into a gadfly. But before I flew off to bite another horse’s ass I warned him to behave or “I’ll be back.”

Sorry Pieces,

I told you I am a story teller.

Now it’s back to regular scheduled and NON ME programming.

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle…….I love this discussion with John in the forefront ably assisted by MB and some sensible commentary by dpD…….despite being a non subscriber to any belief system.

These are the sorts of conversations that are important to bring understanding to those Bimmers who are still caught with the foolishness of pigment,whilst ignoring the greater situation of the need for humans to control/own each other from time immemorial.In order to change this,we first have to acknowledge its existence and then move to next step of levelling the playing field.

15. Moneybrain,

Stop taking it personally. We have already established that we are not referring to you. This is addressed “TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN.”

Chill out, brother!

16. Donna May 5, 2016 at 9:26 AM #

ANY WILL? Or the few that you read?

Go and see for yourself … it is free!!!

I’ve seen wills that were pages and pages long, some that took no more than 1/2 page, some that left a cow or a bed, some that left hundreds of acres …..

They invariably begin with a profession of faith!!!

I was recently trying to remember any I had seen without that profession ….. I just can’t.

I realize now that I usually skip over the first couple of paragraphs of most of the wills I have read since I began in 1994.

Like most people I want to get to the meat of the will but I now realize that those first paragraphs are the meat!!

I suspect the practice ended at a certain moment in time and I think that moment is an important moment for Barbados.

I just went through 103 wills of a family I was interested in and I can’t remember if I saw any without the profession.

The period was up to 1800.

I lent out a book I had which referred to the practice and probably could have been able to give you percentages.

I’ll see if Amazon will let me see the relevant pages so I can give you the percentages an Historian actually came up with for wills that begun with the profession of faith.

17. Miller,

If God rushed in and corrected everything man would be nothing but robots. You really must stop taking the Bible literally re Damascene experiences etc. My experience has been that we learn as we go along once we remain open-minded and allow our eyes to see even what makes us uncomfortable. For me it is the acceptance of homosexuals into the mainstream. Very uncomfortable but necessary for true social justice to be served. There was no Damascene experience. Just a gradual building up of scientific facts which became impossible to ignore especially since supported by the evidence of my own eyes, once I stopped averting my gaze.

As I have said before a literal interpretation of the Bible will always run one into trouble. It causes some people to throw away the baby with the bathwater.

We live, we suffer, we hopefully LEARN. Those who learn suffer less in the long run. The oppressors may not appear to be suffering but suffering must not be viewed as narrowly as you are doing. How many men die in torment of the soul? Do you know?

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…you keep reading me and i will keep showing up your madness, as it relates to justifying criminal activities against others for self-enrichment through the centuries, where you, through your god, know personally that the criminals have been forgiven for rape, murder, enslavement and theft, while the victims and their descendants get more of the same, without a single word from your god, spoken through you…lol

See how simple that is, I do not need your god to tell me that, only simple commonsense.

19. Here are two examples from 1661 and 1710 from notes I made over time

RB6/15//9

In the name of God Amen I Edmund Burke of the island of Barbados being sick and weak in body but of sound and perfect memory thanks be to God do make and ordain this my last will and testament in manner and form following:- Imprimis: I give and bequeath my soul to Almighty God my maker and my body to ye earth from which it came …..

RB6/5/383

In the name of God amen. I Edward Burke of the Parish of Christ Church, in the island of Barbados abovesaid being indisposed in body but of sound and perfect mind and memory praise be rendered unto almighty God …… Imprimis:- I recommend my soul unto the hands of Almighty God that gave it and my body to the earth from whence it was taken to be decently interred at the discretion of my executor hereinafter named.

20. Well Well & Consequences May 5, 2016 at 10:20 AM #

John…you keep reading me and i will keep showing up your madness, as it relates to justifying criminal activities

Slavery was perfectly legal up to 1833.

There was nothing criminal about it before 1833.

Simple fact of life.

You don’t even have to read a book to find that out … you just know it.

You only now accept it to be criminal because a few people decided to make it so and gave the world over time, the capacity to think of it as criminal.

Were it not for these remarkable individuals and the guidance they received you might be a slave owner, confident in your legal right to own slaves …. or …. perhaps ….. a slave with no redress in law.

So, count your blessings and praise God!!

21. @MB
    It is interesting that black people in Toronto demanded and received their own school. That seems to be Segregation to me. Why was it necessary? Surely makes more sense to fight the system from inside, many senior educators in Toronto have been and are black. Why were they not demanding a more black user friendly approach by rooting out the racists and problems in the system?
    +++++++
    There are Catholic schools, Islamic schools, Jewish schools etc. why not a school that focuses on a Black perspective? How can one fight the system from the inside when the Mayor removed the only Black Police Board Commissioner from the Police Board and orchestrated the appointment of a Black Police Chief in opposition to another black who was certainly more qualified in order to maintain the status quo. If you want more info on that subject read Royson’s James article in the Toronto Star in which he liberally quoted Keith Forde (Black Bajan) who was the first Black Deputy Chief in the Toronto Police Force.

How can one fight the system when as soon as the US Supreme Court delivered a verdict that US Federal Gov’t oversight over voting was no longer necessary these few years after the passage of the Voting Rights Law> this ruling effectively jumped started some States into passing laws that would further restrict minorities (read black) from voting?

How can one fight the system when the Governor of Mississippi declared April 2016 Confederate History month? You remember those Confederates who fought for the continuation of Slavery?. Incidentally Confederate History is celebrated in several Southern States in which Jefferson Davis day is a public holiday yuh know that is the same Jefferson Davis who was President of the Confederate States.

How does one fight the system when the same Mississippi only formally outlawed Slavery in 2013 by ratifying the 13th Amendment? (they forgot to sign it for over 148 years)

I can go on but the statement not to “wallow in the past” is just a guise that folks use while they are busy taking us back to that same past, voting reform in 2015/2016 is another name for Jim Crow “Poll tax” of the 19th Century.

22. yuh know that is the same Jefferson Davis who was President of the Confederate States

Wasn’t he democrat?

23. … like Hilary and Bernie!!

John…who made slavery morally and ethically legal, was that your god’s doing, ya see, I dont believe in man’s bullshit either, so who made slavery legal.

No John…some people have morals and understanding to differentiate right from wrong…good from evil, etc, so the only blessings I count daily, is that I am one of those people.

I dont have to be a slave owner or victim of slavery to count blessings for either.

That’s how easy it is to expose madness, there are many avenues to do right and good, without being a slave owner, you see them as genuises, i see them as evil scum, self-absorbed, arrogant, lazy and greedy…..your god should have told slave owners that, but obviously, did not.

25. John,

Sorry, not enough! My great grandfather was born in the 1800s. Most blacks lived in squalor. He and his family did not. I believe he was one of the beneficiaries of whom you speak because after occupying a privileged position at the plantation he sure had a lot of land. However, the evidence does not suggest that there was wholesale restitution. In 1937 the squalor that blacks endured while the planter class thrived is documented with pictures. Blacks were still tied to the plantation with little hope of progress. Are you suggesting that in scarcely one hundred years after freedom with benefits they managed to reverse their good fortune to a life of total squalor? Did they not work hard enough? Did they gamble away their money? What happened to all the inheritance? Don’t even know why I am responding to you because we KNOW this isn’t the case. The planter class continued to rule and to exclude the majority blacks from even a political voice.

Please John, insult our intelligence no further!

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“How does one fight the system when the same Mississippi only formally outlawed Slavery in 2013 by ratifying the 13th Amendment? (they forgot to sign it for over 148 years)”

That’s why I am wondering if the british really made slavery illegal, or only said they did and “forgot” to sign the abolition papers…why end a good thing when you can restart it 100-500 years into the future, when there are still blacks who keep themselves stupid and unknowledgable. ..had it not been for that indian dude digging into those records, no one would know that slavery was still very legal in the dirty southern part of the US, where today, the most illiterate, greedy and lazy white racists, still call for the reinstitution of slavery…while sounding like John, calling for both slave master wannabes and those blacks dumb enough to believe that scam, to count their blessings.

One has to be very careful of the bible converted crazies, they will lead the weak, right back into slavery and tell them with a straight face, to count their blessings, the harder they work for nothing, the quicker they will get to heaven, just like before.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant May 5, 2016 at 10:39 AM
    “I can go on but the statement not to “wallow in the past” is just a guise that folks use while they are busy taking us back to that same past, voting reform in 2015/2016 is another name for Jim Crow “Poll tax” of the 19th Century”

‘There’s none so blind as those who deliberately refuses see’.

Sarge, just have a read of what the BU slave-owning apologist and staunch defender of the legal and biblical right to keep slaves have to say to people like you.

From the pen of John @ May 5, 2016 at 10:34 AM
    “You only now accept it to be criminal because a few people decided to make it so and gave the world over time, the capacity to think of it as criminal.
    Were it not for these remarkable individuals and the guidance they received you might be a slave owner, confident in your legal right to own slaves …. or …. perhaps ….. a slave with no redress in law.
    So, count your blessings and praise God!!”

Yes Sarge, just heed the admonition of God’s mouthpiece called John of BU.
    Count your blessings, read your Bible and accept your lot as an African descendant of Ham and eternally cursed with the ‘blackened’ mark of servitude and shame.

28. By the way, John – “a cow or a bed?” That is in the same category as “the soft breadfruit.” But I leave that to the one with the whacker.

29. Miller,

Just so you know, I am as appalled by what John just said as you are.

30. Well Well & Consequences May 5, 2016 at 10:46 AM #

John…who made slavery morally and ethically legal

It was around for millennia, long before I was born, you too I guess so it was an accepted way of life.

Moses and the abolition of slavery in 1833 are the only twice I can think of that it was seriously challenged and defeated and both times I say the hand of God was involved.

All of you should learn to deal with the truth.

It is of so much more interest than the superstitious mumbo jumbo in which many here are steeped perhaps even enslaved.

The truth sets you free!!!

Bobby tells me he reckons even the descendants of the African chiefs who sold their people into slavery should apologise.

I keep saying the debt was paid long before transatlantic slavery came into being.

There are billions in this world who can understand what I am saying.

The few here on BU who persist in their own enslavement do so because God gave them the freedom to choose.

Who am I to question the will of God.

It is perfectly moral and legal for people to choose to be enslaved because God gave them that right.

… but he also provided an alternative.

31. @Sarge,
    It does not matter to me that there is a black school once it instills positive thinking and works.(hopefully crazies wont control the school because at the end of the schooling the kids will still have to live with others in TO) My kids went to Chinese language school on a Saturday. Are there black Schools operating on Sats especially in areas of the GTA where black folks are concentrated?

Sarge, I dont read the Star but know of Royston and of course the successful Fordes of the Bajan clan that went to Lodge School and dominated athletics in the early 60s. Please send the link or tell me more of what Keith is stating. I hoped he would have been Chief. Was there not a Mr Hope that was Commish of the OPP or other major force?

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya want truth John, here is truth, the common class, lazy thieves you revere as geniuses are just that, low class common class thieves, thieving has been a crime for millenia, so they are criminals, their ancestors were and so too are their descendants, murder was also a crime, rape also a crime, the buckingham palace crowd are still parasites sucking the blood of the population, just like their ancestors the Henrys et al,….

John they are and were criminals, some were deported and Barbadosed for being criminals…no one has to be evil to be a genius….you can talk bible till you drop, you cannot use the bible to justify criminality, maybe to stupid people, but not today.

Fast forward to present day Barbados and you have the minorities, descendants of the criminals who were Barbadosed from UK….stealing, making fraudulent schemes and scams, bribing politicians, trying their fraudulent pretense of being slave masters to the majority black population…..all common class, low class thieves and criminals, just like their ancestors, nothing to revere, admire, emulate or follow, just common class, low class, lowest of the low….and that’s the truth.

The majority now have to put a stop to the common class thieves who are still lazy, still want to live off other people’s labor, still steal, because they are thieves, runs through their blood…tell that to your god.

You still want people to count their blessing while the thieves count their illgotten money, good luck.

33. @Donna,
    You seem to have a deep religious belief that is not often associated with Anglicans (those that I know). At least when I was living in the north of the island, I do not recall any sort of outreach by the Anglican church.

Does this deep belief signals a more active church? An awakening?

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@John May 5, 2016 at 11:39 AM
    “Moses and the abolition of slavery in 1833 are the only twice I can think of that it was seriously challenged and defeated and both times I say the hand of God was involved.
    All of you should learn to deal with the truth…”

“I keep saying the debt was paid long before transatlantic slavery came into being.
    There are billions in this world who can understand what I am saying.”

Whose “truth” are you recommending?
    The Judeo-Christian concoction of a fictional character of a hero alleged to have led a large group of pale skin blue-eyes people from 400 years of enslavement in the hot boiling sun by a group of ‘brown’ skin Africans?
    Or does the truth belong to the same Egyptians whose archaeological ‘history’ disproves the fairy-tales of your early biblical storytellers?
    Believing in Moses and Yahweh is like believing in King Arthur and his round table with his twelve knights being watched over by a euhemerized Odin.

Why don’t you stop with your religious propaganda aka biblical bullshit? Don’t you think you and your kind have done enough damage to the psyche of a very intellectually vulnerable people?
    Is it the same white man’s god that gave black people their black skin to work in the hot sun for your ‘blessed’ slave masters?
    It’s time you tell black people the truth and stop the game. You have been at it since 1833, the ‘official’ end of physical enslavement in the English-speaking Caribbean.

Go peddle your propaganda elsewhere and try to play with the minds of the other billions in India and China. Anglicanism is dying why not reincarnate it where it all started?

35. Many, perhaps most, people who were Barbadosed were Barbadosed because they were religious dissenters, prisoners of war or just war weary.

Barbados was built by remarkable people who believed there was a better way, no geniuses, just remarkable simple straightforward people who put their trust in God.

Barbados became a retreat from religious persecution in England.

The similarities between here and America are striking.

Indeed, most early families had relatives in both countries, and England/Ireland/Scotland and Wales too.

It would have been nice if slavery was outlawed from the beginning and there was no need to resort to Africa for labour, but that is not how it was.

Then we would not be having this conversation.

Slavery was legal, moral and well accepted.

Like it or not, we are all products of a miscegenation of blood and cultures unlike any other.

Our problem is that in less than two generations the labours of the ten previous ones has been destroyed by people who do not have a clue about their own history nor do they care.

They will all claim that Barbados is a Christian society without understanding what they are saying.

We do not have to look any further back than those two generations.

They are the ones who need to be called to account and can apologise because many of the criminals are still alive.

The empty, hollow feelings you express exist in you because you won’t read and find out about your real past and can’t understand that there is a better way.

You only know what superstition and mumbo jumbo is put infront of you by the same criminals you claim to abhor.

You are too lazy to ferret out the other real and fascinating story of Barbados and those previous generations so you are left with those empty hollow feelings of futility.

I have spent time looking at our history back to the 17th century and have found absolutely nothing for which I can say I need to apologise.

In any case, I wasn’t alive back then so an apology would be completely ridiculous!!

I leave apologies to the institutions that were around back then and could/should have done more to improve the lot of people, both slave and free.

36. @ MoneyBrain who wrote, ” Are there black Schools operating on Sats especially in areas of the GTA?

Yes there was.

CABE Vaughan Road Collegiate Institute’s Saturday Morning Tutorial Program.

Suffice to say there are Black Educators who helped a lot of students in the GTA.

37. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

The dedicated plaques on the interior and the floors of many an Anglican Church and the vaults outside in the adjacent grave yards tell a whole story, more than any book.

38. Colonel

Go and look at the vaults again and you will find there are many with absolutely no inscription, no name …. nothing.

One or two have initials only.

What story do you think this complete absence of inscription tells?

The fact you don’t seem to know this suggests you probably have not looked with a critical eye at the vaults you recommend to us to look at.

Go to St. James Parish Church and look for the inscription in memory of William and Susannah Holder.

It is on the North wall at the top.

Tell me what story you think it tells.

You are missing a whole part of Barbadian History by not noticing what is not there!!

39. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

@John ,Perhaps ,sir ,the history behind the naming of that alley which runs between Marhill Street and Spry Street, according to your account, is a figment of someone’s imagination. Amen
    I do not get tired of quoting the American General Eisenhower, who on a visit to Bergen -Belsen Concentration camp after its liberation, rounded up all the Germans in the surrounding communities, and forced them to observe what had been happening right under their noses, because as he so rightly put it , ” Some bastard will one day say that this never happened.”

40. Would it have been criminal back in those days for Europeans to enslave Europeans? Was it not a crime against humanity because the Europeans did not consider us quite human? Human enough for the slave masters to lick the stuffing outta the slave girls at night and breed children a-plenty. How many of them had sex every night with a monkey? Do you really think they did not know we were human? Because Europeans did not deem it criminal does that mean that it was not criminal? Totally Eurocentric view. Kinda like saying that Columbus discovered the Americas. Or like calling the west the NEW World when there were ancient civilizations there more advanced than their own. Really, John! There were and are other world views and other perspectives. Mine mind was born free.

41. My mind

42. Gazer,

I have been begging my church members to reach out to the community for many a year and was ridiculed and even brought to tears on one occasion. The group dynamics of which I spoke was in effect even then and so all my ideas were quashed. That is why I am acutely aware and upset by it. The group dynamics that keeps us from moving forward unless the idea comes from the leader of the group has kept us from our mission to the people. The meeting at Codrington College was to introduce the new strategic plan of the Anglican church which our bishop has finally awakened from a slumber and commissioned. Finally our mission of caring for the community is going to be our main focus and on the diocesan scale rather than just the little local church scale that I was promoting. I am excited that we shall be attempting to empower our people to rise even from slavery to fulfill our purpose and take our place in the society. And you would indeed be surprised that we embrace our African cultural influences more than many of the other denominations. We have always been progressive rather than static in our thinking and that is why we are accused of changing our beliefs to suit ourselves contrary to God’s commands. But our constant studies by scholars enlighten us as to our faulty thinking and we have no choice but to change as our understanding of God grows.

Hope that helps.

43. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

Donna May 5, 2016 at 9:26 AM #
    As for Massa’s descendants, they do not realize that they will never truly be free until they let go of the proceeds of the crimes their ancestors bequeathed them. They inherited the proceeds so they have inherited the crimes. One cannot be erased without the other
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps some have already been forgiven, like my grandfather who left the great house and came down and married a woman in the village. He was immediately disinherited. You would not find his name on a plaque alongside of his father’s in one parish church, nor on the large family vault , not far way.

44. Indeed many have been forgiven.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna….John wont mind black people enslaving whites, according to John, god says it ok, whether whites say no or not but particularly if they say yes.

John…am surprised you did not come back at me with… “and god said, it’s ok to be a slave cause ya black”..”turn the other cheek and let the descendants of slave masters do it again, cause they still lazy, greedy and racist, but it’s ok, be a christian and count ya blessings you can be a slave”..lol

John, be careful what you ask for the next millenia might not go accordingly.

46. Hants, it is pleasing to learn that some black educators have stepped up. U indicated”was” at VRA? Are they not several Sat schools.

My understanding is that formerly good schools in Bim, like Lodge, have gone to the dogs.

Educators have to be paid properly and should be monitored correctly. In Toronto, if black kids are not being treated fairly then that needs to be dealt with.

The system in Toronto is by no means perfect in a multitude of areas. Example, how can a youth receive the Pres Schol into a good Uni ie 98% avg, try hard at Uni and take his work seriously, BUT try to take his own life because he performed relatively poorly in mid terms only getting 65-70% when he should have been averaging at least 80-85%. This happened to a Chinese Guyanese kid from a jokey Scarborough HS.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Many uni students are committing suicide at an alarming rate MoneyB, everywhere, too much stress and pressure, the universities are just money hounds, it’s all covered up…..and to top it off, there are no or very little jobs after graduation…..that problem reaching the high schools is the trickle down effect.

48. Donna May 5, 2016 at 1:45 PM #

Would it have been criminal back in those days for Europeans to enslave Europeans?

Africans routinely enslaved Europeans so of course Europeans could enslave Europeans.

The Mamelukes were European slaves taken to Egypt for their military prowess.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mamluk

…. and then there were the Barbary Pirates and the Moors ….. etc.

So yup, Europeans could be and were enslaved for the simple reason that slavery was a natural state of mankind!!

We are blessed that slavery was made illegal but I repeat, there are more slaves in the world today than there have ever been indicating that it is pretty easy for Mankind to revert to its natural state.

49. … no criminality involved at the time because no laws were there to break

50. Colonel, next time you are down by the Cathedral step inside and walk around.

It has to be densest populated graveyard in Barbados.

Then go to other churches and you will realize there are not many tombstones from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Instead of fighting me just go and look ….. and learn!!