Submitted by Heather Cole
Caribbean Court of Justice

In the game of cricket, there is no victory without a challenge. In athletics no race is won without a challenge and in the court of law, no precedent can ever be set without a challenge.

Two recent occurrences prompted me to write this article. The first was a call from a lawyer in Barbados about two weeks ago informing me that a sixteen years old case was finally set to be heard. It was one of two cases and there is no light yet at the end of the tunnel for the second case. The second occurrence was the revelation of the court documents relating to the death of Marcelle Smith in an article on the Barbados Underground. The documents in my opinion pointed to a motive for her murder and the persons responsible.

At present the system for the delivery of justice in Barbados leaves a lot to be desired and that is putting it mildly. No one should have to wait 16 years for a case to be heard. There has been enough time for those responsible for the administration of the system to over haul it and come up with a creative and transparent process for cases to be heard. It leads one to question the management of the system from which justice for the entire population is to be delivered. Are there checks and balances to ensure that all cases are heard in a timely manner? Are there cases lying around in or on some desks catching dusk? Is there a prevailing corruption in the system that warrants the need for a regulator whose duty it is to ensure that all cases are heard in a timely manner? One can also question the effectiveness of the position of the Ombudsman. By now the Attorney General should have created an instrument to define the period within which a case must be heard. I am positive that this would help reduce the backlog in the system. Are there enough Judges, magistrates and cases managers and do they work 8 hours per day? The time has come for a person to be able to track the movement of their case on line that way they will be in a better position to seek a resolution to any bottlenecks that that are inherently in the system. They must be penalties, fines and disbarment to practice for anyone circumventing the process of justice regardless to who they are.

With regards to the emails sent by Mrs. Smith to her Attorney, I was shocked to read the contents and I queried why Vernon Smith and Hal Gollop had entered the deceased property and interrogating a man with dementia. It was a house not a court or a law office or a police station. They had no right being there to conduct legal matters uninvited and that it was most unconventional to bring the police to add credibility to their deed. Protocol should have dictated these learned lawyers to schedule a meeting with her attorney present since she had responsibility for her husband. This case in itself raises many issues highlighted above and it makes one wonder if it will ever be heard since two high profile member of the legal community are involved. However, one also wonders how the revelation of their meeting with Mrs. Smith will impact their credibility with the public of Barbados and if this case is not heard will it justify that some people are above the law or that there is in fact no law.

The above are just two examples but I am sure that there are many more cases out there. Every right thinking Barbadian and those who the judicial system has failed must come together to challenge the system. We are in an era to have a Class Action Suit against the Attorney General, the Chief Justice and the Ombudsman with regards to the administration of justice. Is there any attorney out there who is up to this task?

Paradoxically, two of the reasons set forth to end the jurisdiction of the British Privy Council over the former colonies of the British West Indies can now be put forth regarding the legal system in Barbados. There are the unpopularity of the decisions and the perception that the system has too much power. Can it be that the deeply entrenched partiality now makes the legal system inadequate? It sets forth an argument for the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) to expand its scope to become a local court of the jurisdiction.

One hopes that we the citizens of Barbados can petition to amend its constitution to allow local cases of Barbados or the region to be heard and be not only limited to CARICOM matters or act as an Appellate Court. The petition to the CCJ can also request that it includes the practice of law in its disadvantaged sector and amend that sector include lawyers. Or, by some other measure allow all lawyers to practice across its jurisdiction in any member state. This is intended to create one Bar Association within the jurisdiction that will allow a lawyer in Jamaica or Trinidad to accept a case in Barbados or vice versa without fear of victimization. Therefore one should seek to find out if this problem of Barbados is being experienced in Jamaica, Belize and Trinidad and Tobago.

Another outlook is that since the present judicial system is not serving the best interest of the masses, one wonders if the people of Barbados can by way of referendum be given an option to have their cases heard locally or by the CCJ by-passing the present court system.

The question that we must all ask ourselves is if Barbadians have to die awaiting justice or should they be assured of justice in Barbados or allowed to have their cases heard by the CCJ. In the final analysis, our problem can be resolved by competition and the establishment of a regional local court. To this end it is my intent to find out what is happening in the other islands for which the CCJ has jurisdiction. However, with or without the other territories, seek dialogue with the CCJ and petition them and the Government of Barbados from the Barbados Lobby to extend the scope and services of the CCJ to hear local cases of the people of Barbados. I hope that all who have been disadvantaged by the court system will join in this effort. Your comments and or assistance are welcomed.

242 responses to “Justice Must Be Served”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“We are in an era to have a Class Action Suit against the Attorney General, the Chief Justice and the Ombudsman with regards to the administration of justice. Is there any attorney out there who is up to this task?”

Your suggestion re one regional bar association and opening cross border justice systems in the region, is real open minded thinking which should be taken seriously…that will involve the CCJs monitoring of activities by those who tend to believe that the laws are to be bent to serve their every whim.

People have died over the decades and are dying awaiting justice in Barbados, they are expected to die so they can get no justice, compensation, their own properties, just to name a few injustices that people are expected to accept from the system and those who have helped in it’s decay.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Heather…maybe that is where the integration should begin, the justice system, then maybe all the other long drawn out 60 year old talk about integration, will become a reality, if the Caribbean passports can all say….Caribbean Community…..why cant the justice system.

3. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Ms. Cole
    I empathize with you over the state of the administration of justice in Barbados. However the suggestions that you are making are unlikely to bear much fruit. The problem is not one of justice but of professional ethics and morality. These cannot be solved by a legal system. You may recall that the Right Excellent Errol Barrow once said if you want justice you do not go to the law court. And he was an officer of the court. Some of the cases that reach the law courts should not be there and this compounds the problem of efficiency and effectiveness of the justice system. Again my deepest sympathies.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The CCJ hearing cases at first instance is fraught with another set of problems. Let’s say that you don’t like the decision of the CCJ sitting at first instance, where would you go from there.

The answer is not changing the law to create another set of problems. Judges who refuse to do their jobs adequately should be subject to dismissal like any other worker who plays the donkey. The problem is that the law is already in place to deal with judges who fail to do their duty for whatever reason. Unfortunately, you don’t become a judge in Barbados unless you are somebody’s friend. That relationship is the reason for the inefficiencies in our courts.

You should recall that the Government changed the law to install their choice as Chief Justice. Even then the amendment was not crafted with enough precision to achieve their goal. Even with the amendment, Marston Gibson still did not qualify but the Government ignored the law that they had passed and appoint him anyway. Now if he turns out to be inefficient, who would take steps to remove him. The task to initiate proceedings against a chief justice must start with the Prime Minister. Now you see the problem.

Inefficient courts in Barbados is something we have to live with as long as politicians are responsible for staffing the courts.

5. @ Caswell, the CCJ Appellate must remain distinct from the CCJ court that hears local cases in the first instance. If politicians, judges, lawyers and whoever else prevents the system from functioning as it is should in Barbados, why are perpetrating this cycle? It is time to go beyond it for solutions.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is the problem….no one seems to be able to see beyond the problems and wind their way to a solution…like hamsters on a treadmill, just continue running on the same course without deviation until it all grinds to a halt from mechanical failure.

Should things remain as they are, it will be interesting to see the court system in the next 2 decades, what will be amazing and poetic will be the fact that the same people refusing to fix the problem in this eras, if still alive, will witness their children and grandchildren being negatively affected because of their failure to act, now they are in these political and othrr positions to do so.

Makes you feel that they have the attention span of goldfish.

As Inniss said, it seems that the more university degrees etc they get, the less they are able to comprehend.

7. So the solution to everything that does not work is to get get foreigners to do it,,,?
    We must be damn children…or bowls…
    BNB
    BARTEL
    BS&T
    LIGHT & POWER
    ALMOND

As Caswell says, this is what you get when jobs must go to family, friends and bed-mates.. instead of to those who can AND DO perform.

Why not bypass Froon and his collection of monkeys too,,,?
    Why the hell don’t we get Granger from Guyana to take control of Barbados ..in his spare time?
    Damn little shiite place that could fit into one of the Guyana rivers without a ripple …and a whole set of brass bowls cannot get ANY SHIITE to work….

Got Bushie SHAME as shiite….

@ Caswell
    “Inefficient courts in Barbados is something we have to live with as long as politicians are responsible for staffing the courts”
    Steupsss!! …you could REALLY hush…!!!
    Depends on the damn politicians..ent it? ..and if people like YOU, Jeff and GP – who have what it takes, keep on sitting on wunna asses doing squat…what can you expect ordinary brass bowls to do…?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I will tell you again, I have no political ambitions. I don’t work well with idiots,

9. @Bushie
    a part of the workable solution, can be the rotation of judges of the local CCJ Court through out the jurisdiction and not practising in their home territories. Along with lawyers being able to practise in any part of the jurisdiction, our problems will be halfed regarding access to justice and we can concentrate on the process to get justice and then the laws.

10. @ Caswell
    You still don’t get it do you…?
    It is often not a matter of what YOU would prefer; who you feel comfortable working with; or even if you feel competent to do the needed job…
    You may not have political anbitions …but you have the REQUIRED talents. Your life has been a literal training program for the needed role.

Have you ever heard of “not what the country can do for me BUT what I can do for my country…?’

Time to cut out this modesty shiite and man up…!!

Who do you want to do the job? ‘donkey-lickers’ who have political ambitions and like to work with brass bowl idiots?

@ Heather
    You are making the same mistake that Owen made….
    Yours is a workable solution to what problem exactly…?

You (and Owen -and most of us) assume that the ‘problem’ here is that the justice system is broken.
    THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM …it is merely one of the many symptoms. when you ignore the bowls and fix THAT ‘problem’, ten more symptoms will appear…

The REAL problem is the proliferation of brass bowlery, where thousands upon thousands of us have been led to believe that by addressing our material needs, we will live happily ever afterwards. …which is ALOTTA SHIITE….. It is the albino-centric philosophy of materialism and is deceptive, misleading and suicidal.

The REAL challenge we face is to convert our hoards of brass bowls into golden vessels …that appreciate their intrinsic VALUE; that takes pride in self, family, community and country; and that UNDERSTANDS their place in God’s plan.
    Get THIS right and everything else will work like a dream….

Seek ye FIRST the kingdom of God….and ever shiite else will be easy….

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The lawyers can already practice in any jurisdiction, which is a plus, rotating the judges, another plus, none of this is rocket science, why do people like to create problems where there should be none. The simplest solution is always the best and only solution.

Now we have the idiot Holness talking about leaving Caricom and joining Venezuela and get this…the SS Panama Leaks. Is it something in the water that the leaders are not real leaders.

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Ms Cole, I understand your desperation and I applaud your attempts at finding a solution. Let me assure you, the situation is equally dire in most of the regional jurisdictions with sizeable populations. I was in Antigua earlier last month where they are considering accession to the appellate jurisdiction of the CCJ, and a/the “major argument” against was that the local court system itself needed fixing. Your suggestion that the CCJ, in any form, should replace the local High Court is constitutionally inelegant and impracticable, given the nature of the CCJ, one argument for which,ironically, was that we, rather than someone else, should manage our own judicial affairs!

Moreover, the AG has no jurisdiction over the local judiciary so as to set timelines for their decisions.

The problem is not, as we in the region are so prone to think, the personalities… but in the systems we employ or, as Bushie would have it, our own “brassbowlery”.

i am at one with you, however, that we must continue the search for an effective solution.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Jeff Cumberbatch April 9, 2016 at 12:09 AM…I continually applaud your appearance on this blog and deep within my bosom I am very hopeful that men like you with a desire to get our nation’s legal problems corrected will indeed succeed… That sir is my earnest wish and my politically correct palaver.

But …. beyond that it is absolutely disgusting, distressing and disgraceful that this state of affairs has continued for so long.

How is it possible that the men and women who from secondary school adolescence to tertiary education adulthood have always excelled at or near the top of their classes as the best of the best in this island and are now cobbled together in our courts and legal system as seeming incompetents…

…cases taking 16 years to be heard; Justices of the CCJ Appellate Court calling our judges to account for other examples of that sloth – and they seemingly do nothing to redress those admonishments.

How can these ‘scholars’ who always found the right answers be now so absolutely clueless year after year in effecting meaningful change to these vexing issues…unless they WANT it so.

That sir is the only logical conclusion available; this is absolutely not a group who are interested in searching for an effective solution.

I do appreciate your diplomatic candor, however, and may you one day soon be a part of a true shake-up of improvement.

14. “Following his lecture entitled, The Economic of Leadership: Keys for 21st Century Leaders, the former Permanent Secretary in Grenada’s Ministry of Finance told reporters there were many lessons from the CLICO/BAICO debacle.

Newly-appointed Governor of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU) Dr Timothy Antoine says even though the CLICO/BAICO chapter will go down as one of the most “painful” in the sub-region’s history, most heartbreaking of all has been the fact that no one has been held criminally or financially accountable.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/09/clico-pain/

15. There must be some point at which a young lad/lass determined to fight for justice is seduced and lured over to the other side. There must be a point where a young man/woman seeking to become the people’s representative abandons this noble cause and act mainly in his/her own interest.

We have reached the point where we are all aware that our systems are not functioning as they should.

Grenville would solve the political problem by introducing a third political party; but there are some, not liking Grenville’s flavor of Kool-Aid prefer to call for a different mix.

Heather provides what she sees as a solution to the problem with our justice system. It seems as if the legal eagles have determined that this solution will not work. I, not being an eagle, but more closely related to the yard-fowl wonders if Heather is proposing is akin to Newtonian mathematics and what we are observing is the mathematicians who were trained and nurtured in the old ways being unable to accept the new(tonian) mathematics.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Heather Cole

One of the best suggestions I have heard so far on fixing our judicial one-sidedness. However, are you not concern that the transfer of one crooked practice to another would simply end up in the same?

17. @Heather

While your suggestion maybe regarded as impractical you are to be commended for adding to the public debate how we can improve our judicial system. Not many Barbadians – intelligent and educated though we are suppose to be – are aware of the implications of a dysfunctional judicial system. Besides the fact that justice delayed is justice denied there is the fact Barbados is an international business (IB) jurisdiction and the implication for existing companies AND the growing belief that prospective IB companies should look elsewhere. What we have here is tantamount to someone continuously shooting himself in the foot.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

de pedantic Dribbler April 9, 2016 at 1:20 AM #

On point squire…..I will further proffer that they honestly do not know what to do……we have never lived a system,we have only ever learnt a system thanks to our colonial past and present educational efforts……once a situation arises that is not in the text books,the learned ones are at a loss and refuse to take direction from ones with common sense.

Common sense by virtue of not being taught is eschewed…….

19. What good is our education if we have to run back and forth in other peoples back yards asking others to fix our problems

here is an excerpt that give viable solutions to relieving overloaded court dockets sometimes borrowing from other countries ideas can be a step in the right direction

Court caseloads can be reduced in several ways. By removing certain types of cases from the court dockets, caseloads can be made more manageable. Diverting public drunkenness cases, traffic violations, and drug possession cases from major trial courts to special courts can shrink caseloads. Drug courts are a good example. In searching for alternatives for the traditional handling of drug possession cases, a county attorney in Florida invented a way to reduce the strain on Florida’s trial courts while providing treatment to persons with drug‐dependency problems. Janet Reno, who later served as U.S. Attorney General in the Clinton administration, established drug courts to cope with a growing number of drug cases. Following Reno’s lead, many other states have created similar courts. Most drug courts use court‐monitored drug treatment for first‐time drug offenders instead of prison or probation. The main goals of drug courts are to

Reduce drug use and recidivism (return‐to‐crime) rates.
    Alleviate pressure on nondrug caseloads.

The overworked lower courts can be aided by removing private civil disputes to mediation. Private disagreements between spouses, friends, neighbors, and associates clog the courts. Mediation programs involving divorce, consumer affairs, and landlord‐tenant disputes exist throughout the United States and are intended to promote the goals of efficiency and effectiveness. Supporters claim that mediation centers not only alleviate the heavy caseloads of lower courts but also provide more lasting solutions to the underlying causes of civil disputes.

20. @ Vincent
    Where the Dribbler errs, is in thinking that we have indeed put the ‘best of the best’ in place to solve our problems. If indeed we had done so, these ‘problems’ would disappear overnight like the minutia that they really represent.
    We have placed in our leadership positions, those who happen to be able to remember shiite that they have read from others. SO-CALLED academic aces, but really shiite-hounds whose talent is to read and regurgitate stuff.

Have a look at the questions (and the concept) of the 11-plus exam which is scheduled for next month…. Shiite papers DESIGNED for those with good memories to excel. So children spend YEARS drilling themselves to get these questions right, whether they understand the principles, appreciate the concepts, or can come up with creative alternative solutions means NOTHING.

Thanks to a stupid education system that rewards ‘crammers’, those with this ability always get ‘top’ marks…. but generally have ZERO creativity, very little innovative skills, few interpersonal skills, and they practically ALWAYS have to wait for someone ELSE to create and document something before they can copy the idea.

These are the people Dribbles call ‘bright’
    Bright shiite!!

Such persons (as we see now in every area) could not organize a pissing contest at Banks (even if we still had a Banks)…. unless they copied the rules from some overseas brewery….
    …AND brought in an ‘expert’ to run the competition.

How can they now fix a legal system (or anything else) unless someone comes from over and away to do so…?
    Especially when they (we all) RESENT, and look down their(our) noses at the REALLY brilliant and innovative citizens like David Weekes, Caswell, Walter, Lowdown Hoad, Nassar, etc…

21. @ Jeff,
    I am not desperate.
    Who else is seeking a solution to problem?
    We have to stop seeing regional unity only in terms of cricket and expand it to all sectors in Caricom. Thanks for the information regarding Antigua.

@ David, I do not believe that it is impractical, perhaps unconventional. There has to be a way to effect change in the system and this can be a start. The very fact that I have conceived it is a start to effect change. The idea needs to be researched because there is a real problem and I am positive that if undertaken as a project that a workable solution can be sought.

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea April 9, at 7:00 AM…all that you said re “These are the people Dribbles call ‘bright’” is correct. And as you know it is not a ‘bright standard’ that I created.

As a mathematician, which is how you described yourself, you are quite ofay with modelling and formulae, standards and the lot.

That the same ‘bright model’ that produced the Adams, Barrows, Haynes and others of our leadership and legal coterie of times past.

So if you are telling me that we should no longer use that type modelling of the same input variables, slide them into the formulae and get to acceptable standards then OK i get you!

There are other models which one can use to ‘predict’ bright peeps so although I am no mathematician it seems to me that if you completely diss one form of modelling which has shown solid results in the past then the others would have to be flawed too!

@Vincent…. you said “I will further proffer that they honestly do not know what to do……”

That seems absolutely correct as well.

But I will use again a quote I came across recently: It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his salary depends upon his not understanding it.
    Upton Sinclair 1878-1968

Absolutely indicative of every aspect of modern endeavor.

23. @Heather

Agree with your mindset necessary to move change. However, the CCJ was established and funded to receive matters in its original jurisdiction and as an appeal court for Caricom members who see value in jettisoning the Privy Council. Before we reach the point of abandoning our judicial system at first instance understand the message we as a once proud nation having sunk billions in education would send.

24. @SSS my present thought is that rotation of the Judges throughout the jurisdiction will have a positive effect on the delivery of justice. 3-5 years in one location.

Since we have a deeply entrenched problem relating to land and property, one can also include a land court into the system. Too many non national have been affected.

25. @ac
    What other people’s backyard are you talking about? All ah we is only one when it comes to cricket? There is no reason why a single market and economy can be extended to include a single legal system. The West Indian Federation if it had lived may have resulted in one judicial system long ago.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Heather April 9, 2016 at 8:47 AM
    “@SSS my present thought is that rotation of the Judges throughout the jurisdiction will have a positive effect on the delivery of justice. 3-5 years in one location”

The same way there is a strong call to put top civil servants (e.g. Permanent Secretaries) on contract to improve performance and bring about more effective decision-making and policy implementation in the Bureaucracy why not put judges also on contract say 5-7 years to see a similar positive effect would come about?

But should such a sea change take place politicians would have no one to blame for their failures; except of course the lack of money.

27. @Miller

The judges are hired ostensibly as under the public service arrangement not so?

@Heather

The analogy to cricket is not a good one, WI cricket is a legacy arrangement which still exist with the blessing of the ICC.

28. @ David, I am only one person with 16 years of no resolution in 2 court cases one of which will soon be heard. I do not have the statistics to do the math for the population at this time but based on my senario 10 people would spend a total of plus or minus 160 years waiting for justice and it is total nonsense. The barriers to justice must be removed.

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Ms Cole, I hate to sound like a broken record, but a single judge cannot change an endemic problem merely by his or her personality. Rotation of the judges will simply mean that we have others to blame for the same old problem.

I iterate, it is the SYSTEM that is broken, not the individuals that are in it!

And what happens when a judge who is quick with his or her written judgments have to leave a jurisdiction on rotation? Can we insist on keeping him or her?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 9, 2016 at 9:09 AM

Do you know how Permanent Secretaries are appointed?

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ David April 9, at 8:43 AM ” Before we reach the point of abandoning our judicial system at first instance understand the message we as a once proud nation having sunk billions in education would send.”

Based on the current state of affairs the operative word is ‘SUNK’. Same principles and context of sunk costs in accounting MUST apply!

Caswell’s remarks are vitally important re “The answer is not changing the law to create another set of problems…The problem is that the law is already in place to deal with judges who fail to do their duty for whatever reason.”

And also SSS’s: “However, are you not concern that the transfer of one crooked practice to another would simply end up in the same?”

So yes it seems prudent to tinker with the system so I hope Ms Cole appreciates the true context of the issue…

And back to education…don’t really think that all that cost is sunk of course but simply that the investments are being misused. They need to be reapportioned and re-purposed to get a better return for the solid underlying value!

32. @ David, the people of the English speaking Caribbean are the same. The vast majority arrived on slave ship. They were physically and psychologically oppressed because of the judicial system and that has never changed. Present day it is just inflicting a new kind of pain on the population.

33. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Ms Cole, re your problem. Have you considered alternative dispute resolution? I am aware that adjudication may be costly. Mediation, negotiation and even arbitration by a learned professional may be much cheaper, quicker and just as effective. But do you and the other party want a solution to your dispute or purely a judicial solution?

34. @Jeff, I will decide after this hearing. More worrysome is the implications of the second matter. How can one get a case to court? I had to change lawyers several times. No one was doing anything. Even complaints to the bar association have not been responded to till this day.
    Something is definitely wrong with the system if persons only only me cannot find a lawyer to take their case. If lawyers do nothing and pass on the case to someone else. If lawyers lie and accept funds unknown to you and never pass them on. If the Bar Association is serving no purpose. Where is justice being served?

35. @ jeff how can one get a case to the high court if it has not found its way yet to the local court?
    How can one get a matter to court if no lawyer can be found to accept it?

36. Heather your solutions good on the surface as they appear in theory would not be able to withstand the cracks and overlaod of back log and the laws indicative to the many differing cases in finding solutions that are across the carribbean islands Your approach is a band aid approach that does not take into account the many differing laws and policies that dictates each island justice system that might have to be undone in order for a unified system to work
    Just take a look at the on going immigration issues between jamaica and trindad differing laws and policies meet at cross roads and having struggles of understsnding although Caricom laws dictates and directs a unified path.
    Suffice it to say the same road block of division would be an inherited and Herculean task to over come if or when all nations pursue a path of justice through integration.

37. @ the Intelligent AC, all the more reason to try Judicial integration. There will be similarities and differences. It is not always easy to find a cure, but the scientist start somewhere and they make improvements until it works. I am not asking for rocket science.

38. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Ms Cole, this is interesting. Have you had an honest and learned legal opinion from an attorney that you have no case? Else, why “no lawyer can be found to accept it?”

But note that my suggestion had nothing to do with the court system, Of course I do not know the details of your dispute, but have you tried to settle it in any way other than court action?

39. @Heather

What your suggestion exposes is a broken system as Jeff indicated AND reputable stakeholders/officers of the court support. Let us hope it does not lead to desperation i.e. a frustrated participant in the system taking matters in hand. Imagine the government and Attorney General, all lawyers (DLP and BLP), are key players responsible for the broken system. This is one of the key measures we need to use when holding our politicians accountable.

40. @Jeff

What is the status of the initiative the CJ proposed to throw out cases of a certain age once an agreed criteria was met?

41. @ Jeff the Attorney whom I complained to the Bar Association for should have been disbarred. Yet he recently was on the receiving end for thousands of dollar for an interpretation from the PM.

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Everything in Barbados is like a movie set; everything looks good up front for the audience to see, but behind the scenes there’s nothing.

All the laws are in place to ensure that elections for the House of Assembly are free and fair. All the systems are legislated and officials are in place in name, but thereafter, nothing works. Nobody really checks to see if candidates overspend. Advertising material is set up contrary to the law and nothing happens to the perpetrators.

Similarly, everything is in place on paper to guarantee that we have an adequately functioning justice system but despite the laws nothing happens to judicial officers who are lazy and negligent.

In both examples that I have given politicians are behind the scenes making decisions on who would be appointed to the posts that are required to regulate the systems. Do you feel that the minions who the politicians put in place would ever bring the people, who ensured their appointments, to justice.

When are you going to face it, everything in this country is a parody.

43. Ms. Cole has a rose-eyed view of the CCJ. Of recent memory are the newspaper articles about sale of tickets to carnival and the number of lawsuits the CCJ is facing (presumably in the Trinidad courts) from disgruntled/ousted former employees. So yes, I agree with Bush Tea that it is a total lack of confidence in ourselves that limits the administration of Justice here and the development of Barbados jurisprudential value in the opinions written by our judges. On the admistration side the rules should say what they mean and apply to all. A court of Appeal waiting on counsel to park a car is laughable and calls the dignity of the court into question. A deadline not met should be resolved administratively and automatically below the level of the judicial officer. Let erring counsel seek court assistance in restoring such matters. The CCJ has an obviously low threshold in an attempt to attract matters that should be disposed of by lower courts and it is inevitable that over time decisions will take longer and longer to come out of the CCJ in the current model unless it changes course when a sufficient caseload is met.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Heather

I wrote a nice little piece defending you with respect to comments made by Jeff Cumberbatch. However, I think it got lost when I closed 10 windows I needed to close. What I was saying to that person, who suggested the continuation of a search for more solutions, was that the problems identified are showing clearly the solutions for them to be rectified. I said, Identifying the complexities and nature to which the problems will cause your suggestions to be ineffective is simply to take the same darn position that prevents us from making any lead way in anything. Identifying complexities do not mean that an immediate suggestion would prove fool hearty or become null and void. If we understand complexities there is always a point at which they can be unravelled and understood. The type of complexities that exist in the judicial system of Barbados are not complexities proving advantageous or disadvantageous to one and all, but complexities proving advantages to a specific few and disadvantageous to all others because it is base on rank, status, class, financial standing and Lodge relations.

If the CCJ suggestion cannot work then it makes sense to have an open jurisdiction for lawyers without borders to adjudicate legal matters in any ”Caricom” island. That makes a whole lot of sense to me, Heather, I ain’t no bout na body else. In fact, if the CCJ intervention a court matter should not and cannot be decided at their level for whatever conflict may arise than provide and interim Caribbean Court system to review the practices that are unfairing citizens in the respective island territories with powers to hold the local court system accountable with stiff penalties to follow. This means all courts in the land of the Caribbean who are not following corrected judicial practices will now have their asses under the fire because their behaviours and actions are not being observed the Caribbean Court of Accountability and Jurisdictional Practice for the Enforcement of Righted Law.

If the process of selecting your local Chief Justice is steeped in the nastiness of politics, and the propensity for a Chief Justice to be influenced in his decisions is due to his long-standing affiliation with a political party, then the logical thing to do is remove those powers by an act of constitutional reform base on the overwhelming evidence that supports the compromises a CJ has shown to make in support of the party that put him the power seat. I am sure that enough noise made in online or physical protest could start the ball rolling to remove this complexity. If not, a Supreme Oversight Committee made up of clergy, prominent people,leading educators and one or two good judges to decide on behalf of the people could be another solution to explore in removing this ”complexity,”

So, Heather, I will stop short for now, got me a function to attend, but will comment further on your excellent points. The SSS is in your corner ma girl, as long as you remain neutral to the cause and not yardy to a party.

45. BMcDonald, I do not have a rose-eyed view of the CCJ. At present there is no other alternative. The rules do not apply to all in the administration of Justice in Barbados. Some people are above the law, some people are harrassed by the law, some cannot get their matters into the court of law. It makes one wonder if there is any law.

46. The problem as you/we see is a broken judicial system, the endemic has no solution, yet you are advocating ADR for quicker effective solution to disputes , who will be the mediators? will they be the same UWI product that made a broken judicial system worse , your action and writing don’t gel

47. @SSS, Thank you. I agree with your statements. Look forward to seeing the rest of it.

48. @ Jeff
    Any system that can fall into non-function without the benefit of controls to arrest that fall and deal with the rot …is fundamentally flawed.
    What level of intelligence does it take in the 21st century, to identify the bottlenecks in a little elementary system such as ours, and to identify and eliminate the root problems?
    The problem is that everyone wants to continue in their comfort zone and blame others for the rot.

Take yourself and your institution as a case in point.
    Bushie recommended an innovative approach where your institution commence an ongoing system of rating the performance of all legal systems in Barbados (and eventually -with much potential profit to be had- beyond these little shores)

All it requires is that as a part of the undergraduate teaching research, current students compile performance matrices on such legal systems.

The performance results are published publicly on a searchable database, with simple ratings from 1-star to 5-star in the various categories.

Shiite man…. this requires no brain surgery skills.
    EVERY ONLINE RETAILER has this facility for EVERY DAMN PRODUCT that they sell….. along with customer comments….

AT THE VERY LEAST, this would allow potential customers to do some research and to know what to expect from whom… and who to avoid like the plague…
    It also provides GREAT incentives for players to produce RESULTS…
    It also identifies the waste foops among the sheep …AND THE STARS…
    it also provides incentives for students to focus more on their ethics

….and it cost almost NOTHING….

Pray tell why something like this is not done?
    Shiite man, David (BU) could easily extend his ‘Lawyers in the News’ to Bajan Law Review’ if he had access to the technical know-how that you (and apparently Caswell) have at wunna fingertips….

Obviously if we had formal leadership in the legal system of any worth or quality, even more effective controls could be easily applied to improve the system…

Only high level brass bowlery can explain our current morass

49. @Heather

BU agrees with Caswell, the issues which affect out judiciary are systemic in nature. As a people we need to take pride in improving how we manage the judiciary and all the other governance issues affecting our small country. Transferring the problem is not the answer. However being provocative is useful to shine a light at the underbelly of our justice system.

50. To Mrs Heather Cole

Case 190 of 2007 David Weekes versus Carom and IBM

I put this here to indicate that I have a “nexus in this matter” and not to just talk

Many here come from the perspective and school of thought which rightfully believes that trying that “same old thing over and over again, and failing, is madness”

I used to train at the IDB 20 years ago, managed Change Management for their CO and migrated them from Corel Suite to Office way back when and would like to suggest something that remains with me all these years.

=If (B3=>5),then fillcolor “red”.

Looks like spanish? no it is just a simple Excel conditional statement which proposes that, if the contents of a cell is greater than 5, then the cell colour is to be red.

If you extrapolate on this spanish statement then and used a formula that subtracted date of submission of a case from @ today then, if the value exceeded specific years THEN court matters would become prioritised by date/days in system.

Whistleblowers have their place in all societies and, if someone were to have the Supreme Courts Database of Cases drop off a truck to David King here at BU, then every single case could be put through the litmus test of length of time in system.

We can’t keep doing this, people need to see the true state of affairs and our equivalent to the Panama Papers has to be broadcast.

And to those that state they don’t want their affairs aired in the public eye that is pure stupidness because, barring protecting minors in matters of abuse/rape and similar sensitive matters, the case, as well as the judgement become “public” info anyways

Your proposal as per the expansion rather inclusion of the CCJ has its theoretical merits, and its operational demerits.

Devolving specific court matters to Alternative Mediation and Resolution Centres makes sense as well but some would have some difficulty with that solely based on the incestuous relationships between AMR colleagues and the respondents in the matter due to seeming loyalties.

The IDB.

A few years ago a company that I had was the subject of an Intellectual property Due Diligence Exercise conducted by IDB Compete Caribbean which unlike Caribbean Export intimately knows about the workings of Intellectual property.

No Bajan company was engaged to do our evaluation, they CC effected the due diligence on said firm BEFORE they introduced them to us. The bank’s rationale was that they did not want anyone who knew us to evaluate our technology.

While it can be said that the members of the judiciary in the Caribbean are possibly a part of a “fraternity” of sorts, with many having gone to Hugh Wooding together etc, and possibly knowing each other, piloting the construction of a matrix, under the aegis of the IDB, an organisation with the obvious capacities necessary to something like this to work, an AMR system which purposely sought to devolve less contentious or HR intensive matters to AMR professionals, might ultimately address what is a very congested legal system @today no pun intended.

Have you gone any further with this?

Or is it only in the perpetual ideas phase that we Bajans, myself included, love to delight in?