solutions_barbados

Hi David:

I noticed that only Hartley Henry’s clever and impressive redefinition of Solutions Barbados was carried in todayโ€™s nation, and not my rebuttal. I am asking you to allow us to respond.

Solutions Barbados is very concerned with all of the principal problems that hinder Barbados’ and therefore, every resident’s development. We have defined workable solutions to these problems and published them on 1st July 2016 on SolutionsBarbados.com for public discussion and improvement. They encompass: governance, regulations, criminal justice, procurement, education, transportation, health, welfare, business development, taxation, agriculture, and national infrastructure. All of these comprise Barbados’ economy.

With workable solutions in hand, we then invited the other political parties to implement them. Being aware that both parties have not implemented similar solutions despite 15 years of my active lobbying, we also invited persons to consider running in the next general elections in order to implement the necessary structural changes to the economy.

We recognize that in 1991, the NDP had a superior message and more accomplished candidates, and the time was ideal – since they were the formal opposition during a recession. Yet they could not convince the electorate that they were more capable then a party with less opposition members.

The Caribbean has been run by single professionals and former employees who have, by any reasonable measure, generally mismanaged the public services and their national economies. The problem appears to be one of individual preparation. They were simply not properly prepared to manage, and therefore, not capable of managing a national economy.

We are convinced that employers, who risk starting a business and employing others, is a good preparatory path. However, they need to demonstrate that they can improve their product and expand their business through increased employment. They also need to have survived an economic down-turn by choosing reduced profits in order to maintain their employees. Therefore, we set the standard at 10 employees for a decade, or thereabout.

Given that most people are employees, we understand that they would rightly feel uncomfortable if their only experience of an employer is someone who was more focused on increasing profit rather than on improving the product. Please note that an employer includes: engineers (like myself), doctors, lawyers, contractors, merchants, hair dressers, landscapers, barbers, and every other professional and non-professional who took the risk of starting their own business and employing others. We just happen to believe that such a path better prepares an individual to implement the published solutions.

If someone can identify a better preparation path, then please provide it.

Best regards,
Grenville Phillips II
Founder, Solutions Barbados

140 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Founder of Solutions Barbados Responds to Feedback”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ready done March 1, 2016 at 9:07 AM #
    “Dear Grenville
    A sure way to win is to stop locking up good people for weed. That is the only point you have to argue nothing else matters.”

Smart man Ready done, why have you gone and thrown the practical cat among the idealistic pigeons living in a political coop of insulation from the real Barbados?
    That is one bald pooch cat that poor Grenville wouldnโ€™t want sitting in him lap.

That’s a real ‘burning’ issue confronting Barbados and to which the youth would like to hear Grenville.

Don’t expect a reply from Solutions Inc. He has none other than to lock up the people who used marijuana.
    Neither should you expect a solution or even a proposal as to what Solutions Inc intends to do with the thousands of acres of once arable plantation lands across Barbados now overgrown with bush and inhabited by vermin and pest.

Does Solutions Inc intend to manage Barbados on a one-cylinder economy called tourism? Everything comes from the land and the sea. What are the Solutionโ€™s plans for the only two natural resources the country has?

But Ready, doesnโ€™t he rhetoric of Solutions Inc sound so much like David Thompson and his 100 day solutions for the Barbados ailing society and economy as it was then prior to 2008?
    I will never lie , cheat or steal, right Grenville?

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins March 1, 2016 at 7:30 PM #
    “And donโ€™t forget, ignorer to make constitutional changes a two thirds majority of the elected members is required. I have to keep hammering this point.”

Keep on hammering Alvin -like Sam Cooke or Peter, Paul and Mary- you have the hammer, so hammer from dawn right through the night.

And as sure as night follows day you and the DP will get the two-thirds to take Barbados into Republican statehood with or without the BLP support. But you already know many of them were on the take during the last administration so a little sweetener could seal the deal before November.
    But a worker bee does not change its hive unless the queen dies even without the Drone OSA. Just offer him a knighthood before his coming birthday and he will sell his soul to the President of Dante Land.

3. Mr phillips what policies would you implement that would secure that the QEH is managed effectively and would you consider building a new hospital ?

4. @Grenville. You published them on July 2016 or 2015?

5. The party that promises to legalise marijuana will win the next elections.

Legalise it.

6. @Solutions Barbados March 1, 2016 at 11:54 AM “A multiple-choice analogy may suffice. Who do you want to drive a bus full of people (the national economy)?
    A โ€“ A person who has experience walking for 10 years (the youth/senior students)?
    B โ€“ A person who has ridden a bicycle for 10 years (experienced employees)?
    C โ€“ A person who has driven a car for 10 years (experienced employers)?
    D โ€“ A person who has been chauffeured in a bus for 10 years (experienced politicians)?
    E โ€“ A person who has read about how a bus is manufactured (academics)?

Actually the correct answer is none of the above.

I would choose an experienced bus driver to drive the bus.

And if no experienced bus driver was available I would choose any of the men who drive ZR vans on my route. They spend up to 40 hours a week driving and so are typically better more experienced drivers than car drivers who typically drive only about 12 hours per week. They know how to avoid accidents with idiotic car drivers who stop suddenly, forget to turn off their turn signals, text while driving, don’t wear seat belts etc. etc. etc.

If car drivers were as rigidly policed as car drivers the courts would be full of stupid, incompetent, and just plain old bad car drivers.

So again my answer is “is none of the above’

7. Don’t ever make the mistake of thinking that because you can drive a car with 2 or 3 people that you can drive a bus with 100 or a train with 1,000.

8. It is like those silly women who raise a child or two with a good spouse, two professional salaries, and a full time nanny and a 3 times a week housekeeper , and then dare to write nonsensical books about being tiger mommies.

Let them try to raise 6 good children with no spouse and irregular income and see how their children turn out.

9. Barbados is not like a well maintained car in the hands of an experienced driver.

It is more like a full bus.

Full of noisy children, elderly people, the disabled, the aggressive, the impatient, too many boxes and bags, people running late, going down the road on bald tires in a tropical rain storm.

10. It is more like a full bus….. with a brass bowl in every seat… ๐Ÿ™‚

11. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Simple, you have stripped the analogy of its body and brought it down to a simple perspective…showing exactly how ‘nonsensical’ theorizing can be in the political realm.

That continues to be my great disappointment with Solutions Barbados.

How can Phillips come before us with this level of theoretical blather when the very experience that he touts so much should have guided him to more practical actions if he was seriously contemplating entering a team to the hurly burly of electoral politics.

This is absurdity.

12. @ De Ingrunt Word

Boss…
    Why don’t you ease up nuh?
    What have YOU done that trumps Phillips’ effort?

Every journey begins with a first step, and to his credit, Phillips has started a LONG NEEDED journey of defiance to the political class. His initial step may not be in the direction that YOU prefer (as if that in itself is meaningful – cause you are mostly wrong anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ ) but IT IS A STEP….
    IT IS MOVEMENT – somebody ACTUALLY doing something – instead of just talking shiite.

The man has CONSTANTLY been asking for improvements…… where are your inputs….?

You know full well that anyone can stand on the sidelines and criticise …. but it is NOT helpful to be picking at his direction, progress and strategic intent after STEP 1 – not when the man has been SEEKING inputs….

So offer your suggestions or ……

13. Agree with you Bush Tea. We are seeing editorials, talk show discussions about the third party. This is what is required. Constructive engagement and we have to thank Grenville et al for leading the conversation.

14. @Bushie,
    The full bus with the Bald tyres, is going down Horse Hill with failing brakes. Result, disaster, as it fails to negotiate the corner by Joes River factory. The crosses bear it out.But really Bushie, are you serious when you say:Phillips has started a LONG NEEDED journey of defiance to the political class? Isn’t he joining the “political class” by his action? Is his party going to be “a political”? Isn’t he entering politics, fighting the same battles, working with the same Civil Service (unless he is going to fire all the Civil Servants) the people who do the work? Isn’t he going to have Ministers? Unless he plans to run the country with Managers, who will carry out the instructions?
    If he had to run the BWA, now, what are some of his suggestions for fixing the problems? Has he prioritized his objectives? What in his view is the most pressing problem, and just as an exercise, pick one and let us have a short synopsis of his way of solving that problem. It is alright to talk about the fire and how to extinguish it, until you face the fire and discover that it was not the type of fire you thought it was and that it requires other solutions. An electrical fire requires a different approach to extinguishing it than a petrol fire, but they are both fires.

15. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Gentlemen, Bushie & David I would also agree that critiques such as yours is exactly why we are where we are today. I have specifically (and directly to Mr Phillips’ blog and email) noted why – in my opinion – his foray cannot generate the necessary and needed popular impetus to achieve the desired results.

Yet @Bushie and to a lesser extent David you come with ad hominem attacks rather than the basic issues raised.

It is absurd for anyone to come to any meeting -particularly of a diverse national group – unprepared or under-prepared and when questioned fall back on the tired comments you guys have presented.

If Grenville places himself forward as a leader then lead he must…we all seek improvements. We all have CONSTANTLY done that.

This is not leading his familiar audience arrayed before his altar. Not leading his like minded architectural or engineering colleagues. This is real life and real issues like that called a CONSTITUTION. Theory of position papers CANNOT achieve the goals.

Bushie, I take you seriously WHEN you are serious. You have labelled the man’s Solutions ‘SIMPLISTIC’ and yet pronounce “it is NOT helpful to be picking at his direction, progress and strategic intent after STEP 1”. When then should one ‘pick’ and comment? If Step 1 is so simplistic what confidence is there in Step 2 or Step 3????

When you get serious let’s discourse again, fah real.

I come at this strongly because like many others I really really want a new direction for my little country. People like Grenville CAN- repeat CAN- be that direction but NOT with this LEVEL of CLASS THREE nonsense.

Because he is very educated and a friend of you guys we are giving him props and other groups (Deeds and others) offered their own theoretical rhetoric and were dismissed …

Please guys don’t get tangled up in the same mess of friends and old-school ties or whatever.

Call a SPADE a SPADE!!!!!

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Every attempt must be made to discourage the forming of a third party. The two deceitful rats can feel the wind of resistance blowing in their direction. That 34% and the no confidence the public have in the two party leaders is wrecking their nerves. Solutions Party has an opportunity to speak the truth about what is happening in Barbados and why Barbados need a new set of representatives that are not interested in what they can get for themselves. We have a Prime Minister that is afraid to call a crook a friend. We had a former Prime Minister who showed the world how he became rich. We have a minister of the environment who is nothing but a nasty wet rag. We have a finance minister that is a bold face liar. We have a minister of transport who loves money so no problem taking gifts. We have a bunch of deceivers running the island. Solutions Party is providing an alternative and at this stage, anything is better than the DLP or BLP lying parties.

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

that should be a Prime Minister not afraid to call a crook friend

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DIW;

Yes! We need a new direction or party or whatever. But Solutions Barbados has not so far impressed that it is fit to be that entity. Hopefully they can pivot and revise their strategies and PR and come again. But imho, the portents are not encouraging.

19. @ DIW
    Unless you are in a position to offer an alternative plan of action, it would be much more helpful to suggest improvements, changes… even diametrically opposite approaches to those put forward by SB …than to be harping along your now usual line of ‘it can’t work’ …. it does not work this way in Canada …. it is no use …etc
    Shiite man … leave that for Vincent.

There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG with a man leading off a movement with what seems to him as a workable plan – PROVIDED THAT HE IS OPEN TO POSITIVE INPUTS.

Grenville repeatedly stresses that he is…. (Bushie is yet to see where or how such inputs have been considered in charting SB’s path). However, in a situation where the DLP died with Barrow; the BLP belongs to a narrow group of lawyers; Adamson’s PDC seems to have given up on his no-taxes movement; and ‘Come-and-sing-along’ has been in limbo since Obama has ‘cozied’ up to Cuba…. Grenville provides the most viable starting point.

At the VERY least he will make it easier for another political movement to step forward – and to benefit from his mistakes. There is no need for your cold water…

Bushie recalls inviting you to join with Caswell some time ago to BUP…and you ran off like a chicken… causing Caswell to have second thoughts – so you could REALLY hush… ๐Ÿ™‚

20. @Bushie

Are you listening to the talk show?

Hal Gollop shared at a public discussion yesterday that he is part of a team rewriting the Constitution to support move to a Republican system?

21. Barbadians will find any excuse to throw cold water on a third party. We like it so. All I can say to Mr. Phillips is to press on and ignore the detractors. Quite frankly, in my opinion, I believe that anything is BETTER than the: bankrupt , non-productive, corrupt, polarised crap we have masquerading as government/oppostion. In other words we will be better off with anybody else than Stuart , Mottley and their sychophants in the BLP and DLP. There is no future for our country under the Barbados Labour Party or the Democratic Labour Party. The shelf life on both expired almost forty years ago.

22. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

David March 2, 2016 at 12:12 PM #
    @Bushie

Hal Gollop shared at a public discussion yesterday that he is part of a team rewriting the Constitution to support move to a Republican system?

Hal Gollop is Fumble’s lap dog, he will do as commanded. He is also an incompetent lawyer and knowingly complicit.

23. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

de Ingrunt Word March 2, 2016 at 10:12 AM #

You have to learn when to ignore BT especially when he is conversing with BBE in the burning bushes like Moses.

A Party is made up of individuals,who have to sell themselves to the electorate,irregardless of whatever ideas one comes up with the proof of the pudding is convincing the many john&jane public to vote for you.

No amount of prolixing in the media with ideas will do it….only hard graft will succeed,knocking on doors,kissing babies,attending funerals&rum shops,giving out some blenza…..these are the harsh realities.

24. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@are-we-there-yet at 10:34 AM, well at least I am not the only Bajan here on BU who feels that Solutions Barbados “portents are not encouraging”… embarrassingly so.

@Bushie, are you serious yet. “There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG with a man leading off a movement with what seems to him as a workable plan โ€“ PROVIDED THAT HE IS OPEN TO POSITIVE INPUTS….Grenville repeatedly stresses that he isโ€ฆ. (Bushie is yet to see where or how such inputs have been considered in charting SBโ€™s path)” I too am yet to see!

Didn’t @Holder say he was removed from a discussion group because he made stern critical positive remarks. Are those the actions of a serious political change maker

As I often say, you talk real sweet. You dis the man, after your loud praise. With friends like you….who needs benign, well-meaning critics like me.

@SSS and Skinner. If as educated and perceptive as both of you have shown with your posts here and you can actually look at what Mr Phillips presented and HONESTLY say that they are practical and that the remarks that many (certainly not only me) have made are simply ‘COLD’ water then you shock me.

I interrogate the issue because I earnestly would like the man to get his act together and be a serious alternative.

I am way past de ole talk that a third party CAN’t work. Of course it can with the right people (like the Grenvilles of Barbados) but with well presented focused political action.

But if both of you, others and Bushie and David support what he has done so far as realistic or even political feasible as a challenge to the incumbents then we are obviously doomed.

Oh me miserum!!!

25. @William

Might you share in a few bullets why the NDP failed in your opinion? The time has not yet come?

26. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Indeed Vincent, but when he and the blog-master tag-team it gets a bit much… LOLL.

When two obviously sensible people twist themselves into impossible positions with gross contradictions its ..absolutely not copacetic!

Anyhow, I dun wid this.

27. @ David,
    * The popular belief that Sir Richard Haynes was very wealthy and only power hungry* Failure to effectively organise proper constituency branches *Inexperienced candidates(myself included when it came to canvassing) *Very successful BLP/DLP propaganda that the NDP was financed by rich, mainly white , business persons *Very weak financial strength of many candidates(myself included) *Too many “ex” Dems joined the NDP to get back at Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford *An abundance of opportunists who wanted to be “secret” supporters just in case we won *Ignoring rural constituencies *Failure to seek support from groups such as : very small farmers, fisherfolk, very small contractors, beach vendors etc *Underestimating the political might of a combined BLP/DLP assualt *Failure to properly analyse the results of 1991 *The split in the party after 1991( I personally like many others became fed up with the so-called “maximum leader” nonsense) *All in all extremely poor political planning especially after the1991 elections.
    These are some of the reasons I think we failed. However there were many positives on which we collectively failed to exploit and maximise. I hope this sheds a bit of light on how third parties can fail and those seeking to come should avoid them.
    Quite frankly, from my experience, I am convinced that a well organised third party with a vision for the next twenty five years and one prepared to work hard, the prospects are better now than there were twenty five years ago. However, the party must have a clear philosophy and at least two hundred members committed on an almost daily basis to work very hard. A blind man can see that both the BLP and DLP are crumbling and their collective fall is near.

28. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

de Ingrunt Word March 2, 2016 at 1:27 PM #

Chuckle……untill I saw the pic ah thought it was BT but then again……could it be???

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=963266137096443&set=a.650006885089038.1073741826.100002391983756&type=3

29. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@ William, even if “A blind man can see that both the BLP and DLP are crumbling and their collective fall is near…” it will still take a man with pluperfect vision to shift the political will along a different path.

Your final analysis is obviously accurate and frankly has been noted here by @Alvin no less but it is fundamental and a basic truism for ANY sensible student of politics and LIFE.

Thus how in name of anything sensible can Mr Grenville Phillips’ freshman antics be even considered a reasonable first step in that process.

To your commentary, we are 25 years on from the best opportunity at a third party that we ever had and rather than moving forward with that historical reference this group has in fact regressed. There is even more evidence of lack of foresight and preparedness.

These types of remarks were made – by many – months ago. Why are we even back at this same stage again.

Frustratingly ridiculous.

30. A good breakdown of the do/s and dont/s of forming a third party. Hopefully GP would read and gain insight.

31. @ Vincent
    Bushie takes exception to being called spoiled……

32. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@AC, you enjoyed that little sarcasm @ 4:00PM didn’t you. Let’s hope someone who really understands the political theater heeds the advice.

Cause I would love to hear your tone 10 – 15 years from now when your backside and those of your scallywag dishonest cohorts are finally having their cases wrapped up in the courts…

It would make for wonderful golden years for many seeing you guys getting your comeuppance!

So do be careful what you wish for…you might get your wish!!

33. @Dee Word

Be patient. Note yardfowls will not be attracted by a 3rd party. It is up to Grenville to rollout an effective communication plan. We also wait to critique his candidates.

34. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Bush Tea March 2, 2016 at 4:01 PM #

OK…Sorry Skippah….ah was pondering dah one too,causing yuh is all duh rest bu yuh ain spoilt….we cud change um tuh hardears doh…..wuh yuh sey?

35. Sorry but Granville is just another talking head rollout of the blogosphere and talk radio who just like others believes they have all the answers to societies problems some how he reminds of bush tea nuff bark but no substance

36. It seems that many posted comments have not addressed any of our published solutions. Instead, they are focused on having employers as candidates. Political operatives have dismissed this idea as a fatal flaw and they do not expect us to garner much support. However, employers, employees, the unemployed and the unemployable all have a right to offer themselves for consideration. Whether they are chosen or not is exclusively and entirely up to the voters to decide.

Starting and growing a business appears to be the ideal training ground for managing a national economy. This is because employers are ably positioned to test their ideas in the market place, and learn, by trial and error, what works under specific conditions, and what does not work under any conditions in the Barbados, Caribbean and international regulatory environments.

Best regards,
    Grenville

37. @Frustrated Businessman,
    If as you say both the DLP and BLP useful dat passed about forty years ago; which would be after 10 years of independence, why have you business people done something before instead of becoming a “frustrated businessman.” Specifically what is it about this country that makes you a “frustrated businessman”? Not enough business? What have you done to make it better? Are you like Trump; want to make U.S. “whole” again> Of course Trump just wants to ensure that a black man,again, or even a white woman, does not become head of the government.
    And frustrated, whether it is before the end of the fiftieth anniversary of independence or whether it is 10 years hence; I probably won’t be around to see it, but Barbados WILL attain Republican status. It is inevitable. Hope that does not make you more frustrated. Or you can do like those at the attainment of Independence, leave the country and go to Alaska, Australia, or New Zealand like so many did at that time, and then come back like loopy dogs, when you realize the island did not sink into the sea.

38. Good luck Granville and now BU has gotten your attention please let the public hear you on topical isues. A third party has a real chance now more than ever please don`t squander.

39. @Granville Phillips, what are your views on Safe Sex Marriages, Marijuana Decriminalization, ITAL, FOIA etc. Give people hope by meeting their social and financial concerns,

40. @Granville Phillips, what are your views on Same Sex Marriages, Marijuana Decriminalization, ITAL, FOIA etc. Give people hope by meeting their social and financial concerns,

41. Granville Phillips what are your views on renewable energy and what solutions would you forward to combat Barbados high energy be specific

42. @ Solutions Barbados who wrote, “Starting and growing a business appears to be the ideal training ground for managing a national economy.”

You still need a Political party with candidates that can effectively communicate with the voters who are NOT educated intellectuals.

43. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Hants March 2, 2016 at 11:32 PM #

You still need a Political party with candidates that can effectively communicate with the voters who are NOT educated intellectuals.
    ………………………………………………………….

…… but that is what the funders of Partys have been doing for eons to achieve their goals…….no need to buy milk if you own the cow.

44. seems like Greenville Phillips has exercised discretionary action in his avoidance of answering those questions that are implicit in the running of govt.

45. @ de Ingrunt Word,
    I may not support Granville’s approach but sometimes we have to think oustside the box and get out of our comfort level. He should be credited for making us think. I still believe that we are best served by real community politics rather than believing that because somebody has a public profile or is a successful business person they will automatically solve our problems. And that is where I humbly think Granville is trying to change the system by recruiting those who are the architects of our problems. However I maintain that he is giving us food for thought that will not be consumed by the thoughtless or those who remain loyal to the BLP and DLP

46. @William

Is it not fair to say that the demographic of the electorate ha changed in recent years, we now have a large chunk of renters and others of a transient type who bear no loyalty to the area to which he/she resides.

47. Colonel Buggy Avatar

As reported on CBC news today, the Prime Minister has once again entertained and addressed frequent visitors to Barbados at Illaro Court. This appears to be a monthly thing. Am I missing something here?

48. @ David,
    Of course much has changed since 1991. Generations change every twenty five years. However our country is very small and we can still try a more sophisticated form of constituency based government, which will be a hybrid of what we have now and local government.

49. Hi Kammie:

We identified the main problems hindering Barbadosโ€™ development, and published effective and economical solutions. We will not pursue any new contentious issue that is not published on our web-site (SolutionsBarbados.com) without getting a new mandate from the electorate.

On marijuana, we noted that it would not attract imprisonment, but it would attract a fine. On Integrity legislation, we considered that whistle-blower legislation was more effective at addressing corruption. We can discuss this. Do you think that whistle-blower legislation, where the whistle-blower collects a reward equal to the value of the bribe, is more effective than the typical integrity legislation?

On Freedom of Information, we can propose that all public reports and public contracts be made publically accessible. We already proposed giving the Auditor General enforcement and prosecutorial support. What else do you want exposed.

Best regards,
    Grenville