solutions_barbados

Hi David:

I noticed that only Hartley Henry’s clever and impressive redefinition of Solutions Barbados was carried in today’s nation, and not my rebuttal. I am asking you to allow us to respond.

Solutions Barbados is very concerned with all of the principal problems that hinder Barbados’ and therefore, every resident’s development. We have defined workable solutions to these problems and published them on 1st July 2016 on SolutionsBarbados.com for public discussion and improvement. They encompass: governance, regulations, criminal justice, procurement, education, transportation, health, welfare, business development, taxation, agriculture, and national infrastructure. All of these comprise Barbados’ economy.

With workable solutions in hand, we then invited the other political parties to implement them. Being aware that both parties have not implemented similar solutions despite 15 years of my active lobbying, we also invited persons to consider running in the next general elections in order to implement the necessary structural changes to the economy.

We recognize that in 1991, the NDP had a superior message and more accomplished candidates, and the time was ideal – since they were the formal opposition during a recession. Yet they could not convince the electorate that they were more capable then a party with less opposition members.

The Caribbean has been run by single professionals and former employees who have, by any reasonable measure, generally mismanaged the public services and their national economies. The problem appears to be one of individual preparation. They were simply not properly prepared to manage, and therefore, not capable of managing a national economy.

We are convinced that employers, who risk starting a business and employing others, is a good preparatory path. However, they need to demonstrate that they can improve their product and expand their business through increased employment. They also need to have survived an economic down-turn by choosing reduced profits in order to maintain their employees. Therefore, we set the standard at 10 employees for a decade, or thereabout.

Given that most people are employees, we understand that they would rightly feel uncomfortable if their only experience of an employer is someone who was more focused on increasing profit rather than on improving the product. Please note that an employer includes: engineers (like myself), doctors, lawyers, contractors, merchants, hair dressers, landscapers, barbers, and every other professional and non-professional who took the risk of starting their own business and employing others. We just happen to believe that such a path better prepares an individual to implement the published solutions.

If someone can identify a better preparation path, then please provide it.

Best regards,
Grenville Phillips II
Founder, Solutions Barbados

140 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Founder of Solutions Barbados Responds to Feedback”

1. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Grenville Junior, I empathize with you concerning the apparent deterioration in the standard of political and economic management of Barbados. On the face of it your solutions seem reasonable and logical. Unfortunately the real world is not rational nor logical. That is why there are implementation deficits. It is an imperfect and messy world from the perspective of some of us. But that is the reality. The NDP was not as brilliant as you want to portray. Many of the ideas were Utopian and unimplementable. However put your actions where your ideas are and join one of the two existing parties and try to change them from within. Yours truly ,

Bernard Codrington.

2. @ Bernard
    …and having joined, what should he do differently to Dr Agard?

@ Grenville
    As you should know, the only party REALLY worth joining is the BBE party… However if you insist on trying to raise the dead, then you should consider that there IS an alternative approach…a “better preparation path” as you call it.

Surely you know that while the brass bowls who traditionally comprised the political class have shown themselves to be clueless, incompetent and dishonest, the ‘professionals on whom you are relying are flawed in even more dangerous ways….
    Indeed the current political status quo is based on a model where the common masses were forced to overthrow the ‘business elite’ who previously ruled.
    You will quickly end up with plantations, serfdom, even slavery ….as the ruling business elite seek to maximise THEIR profits…..they can’t help…

The ‘solution’ is obvious….

Let the political class continue to play their games, talk their shiite, and share out their titles… but SEPARATE them from the management and administration of the country and restrict them to governance, policy and laws.

Like any serious business entity, the country should then advertise, head-hunt, interview, shortlist …and HIRE professional managers to do what the idiots currently called ‘Ministers’ are supposed to do.

The political class would need be paid only a stipend – proving less attractive for the present hand-to-mouth parasites and attracting others – who genuinely have something to contribute….

How do you change the rules to accomplish this…?

By actively selling the new vision to the country …and also articulating a political path to this new reality. You basically ask the electorate to vote in an unorthodox manner next election – SPECIFICALLY to empower you to make the change that restricts politicians from management…… Then you step back and let the new arrangement work – while you get back to whatever it is that you do….

3. Montezuma's Revenge Avatar
    Montezuma’s Revenge

@ Solutions Barbados

If it was only as easy as that. You don’t stand a chance.

4. Bushie, will you be at his side for this wondrous altar call to the Bajan electorate, to help him infuse their consciousness with this awesome new model?

Would you have made this recommendation when you were young and spritely like Phillips or is this the wisdom of your many years that reflects this path to new governance…a path as desirable and practical as a day fishing in the Constitution River!!

You are a very happy and contented fella just waxing sweetly! Gotta love it.

5. Wait DIW…. you is some kinda shrink?
    Why don’t you let Bushie and Grenville talk in peace nuh… 🙂

6. Now Granville Phillips do you understand that the average person living in the ghetto cannot relate to what you have stated in this submission. To them it comes across as intellectual hogwash .there is nothing which you have said that would want a person of lesser intellectual connect to your party especially those of a younger age bracket
    First of all you need to get your head out of the clouds and much closer to earth and join and listened to the differencing voices that form a society
    You still have a lot of learning to do before jumping head on into the political arena as a third party
    As your first impression might be your last.

7. @ David BU,

Does Solutions Barbados only blog on BU after they have been rejected by Nationnews ?

Or did I miss something?

8. @Bush Tea
    Your comment “Let the political class continue to play their games, talk their shiite, and share out their titles… but SEPARATE them from the management and administration of the country and restrict them to governance, policy and laws” speaks to a true separation of powers.

In our bastardized West Minister system this not achievable.

9. Hi Bernard: I do not see how joining one of the two dominant parties can cause them th change course.

Hi Bush T: What you are proposing requires a constitutional change, which would require an election landslide.

Hi AC: It is not about intellect. It is about being prepared by having experience in being responsible for others in a local economy. Please be advised that I listen to everyone.

Best regards,
    Grenville

10. Why is it that every time the DLP is the government that we always hear a lot of talk about third and fourth parties?

I know a lot of these professional people who followed the dead king, believed his lying, deceitful rhetoric and are now so disappointed and disillusioned that they want nothing to do with the DLP. I feel your pain.

Don’t lose heart, help is on the way.

For what it is worth, I did not really have a problem with Hartley’s analysis of the new party. Take the advice for what it is worth. He is not a favorite of some people but you have to give it to him………..he knows his stuff……..he is the ultimate political animal!

11. @Grenville Phillips “We recognize that in 1991, the NDP had a superior message and more accomplished candidates, and the time was ideal – since they were the formal opposition during a recession. Yet they could not convince the electorate that they were more capable then a party with less opposition members.”

Truthfully I wondered about the integrity of some of the cadidates put forward by the NDP, so I did not vote for them.

I think that it would be better if you found candidates who are as clean as a whistle****. Even if you can only find 2 or 3 such people it would be better to put those forward and have them elected, rather than trying to put forward 30 candidates some of whom are not clean. Barbados is a small place and if you you put forward “our third cousin” or “our friend’s friend” whom we know to be dishonest we will not vote for him/her nor for you,

****And to tell the truth I don’t know where you will find such angels.

12. @Prodigal Son March 1, 2016 at 12:05 A “I know a lot of these professional people who followed the dead king, believed his lying, deceitful rhetoric…”

I went to that meeting at Haggatt Hall where David Thompson and the DLP showed that $75,000 cheque, and although it was supposed to convince the audience that the BLP was dishonest and so vote for the DLP it had the opposite effect on me. I came away convinced that I must not vote for the DLP.

My first question was “where did he get that cheque?”

And my second question was “if he obtained the cheque in an unorthodox way, what else is he doing in an unorthodox way?”

I don’t like tricky people. I know, I know, then that means that I don’ like most politicians (and most men)

I wondered as well who was funding the DLP campaign?

I wondered about “Families First” I wondered whose family, since there did not appear to be any organization, or any real, real work going on, but only a slogan.

And after the election I wondered about Hartley Henry’s “appointment?” as David Thompson’s principal political adviser. I wondered was he being paid by David Thompson? by the DLP? or by we the taxpayers?

And when CLICO offered David Thompson a lift on their corporate jet to an official conference in Trinidad I wondered about that as well (I wondered why he could not take LIAT just like the other Prime Ministers. And when Hartley Henry sought to justify it by saying that David Thompson was accustomed to “living large” I wondered some more. I wondered on whose money had David Thompson learned to live large, after all his mother was only a secretary, and he himself was only one of way too many lawyers in Barbados, so how was it and with whose money he had become accustomed to living large.

But then again my once favourite ex had long complained that I think too much.

But i have to think. I cannot live in the same house as anyone who expects me not think.

And so I thought let me not vote for the DLP this time.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Dear Sir:
    People vote with their emotions. Your platform may go down well in a boardroom, where your two loud mouth opponents, may have no such talents. But in the field, on the microphone in some open pasture, they will eat you alive. The majority of voters are simple people, it becomes a matter of you and your candidates establishing ‘likeability’ and ‘trust’.
    Don’t assume just because Barbados has been treated to a plethora of unsavory persons over at least the past 2 administrations, that the voters are needing a choice. Half of them are committed B’s or D’s whether you like it or not; this is years of training.
    If you are serious it takes money and people. Get your candidates together and begin the meetings. Pare down that ‘to do’ list to top 3, and harp on them. Only after doing this for 6 months will you have any idea what the response will be. Good luck.

14. What is wrong with our political system can be gleaned from the following article.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/01/dont-panic-7/.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the CUNT AC

Your Piss Poor Prime Minister when he talks, talk so much intellectual big word shite that his rhetoric just goes over many heads and straight into the toilet to settle with all the other shite he tends to talk from time to time. Granville Phillips ignore the ugly ass detractor(s). I still think your call for the business community to get into politics might be heeded by a lower few, but those at the higher end, who knows it is far more profitable to align self and business with politics, will not jeopardize that current relationship for the stresses of campaigns and speeches. Be that as it may, nothing beats a failure than a try. Remember, it is the establish systems that benefit the pockets of politicians and their friends that are responsible for the massive haemorrhaging of public funds into certain pockets. If you can clearly provide the type of accountabilities that will now completely stop the calls from civil servants and ministers to put in their share without showing clear justification for the dubious estimations and pricing fees, I think you will get more of the vote than you might imagine. This is because all bajans believe and know in their hearts that politicians and civil servants are well off base on their very profitable relationships with the business community. They want proofs, other than ‘a politicians’ say so, and they want that when endeavouring on large projects that they voices be heard as voices that are now part of the decision-making process. You will, however, have to get past those who are loyal to either party base on how much that constituency representative has done for this and that body. You will not convince that lot with just mere words. So I hope you can come up with an Abraham Lincoln type of campaign. Anything less than humble and sensible will cost you dearly.

16. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Can one change a system playing by the very rules of that system? How else does one gain the reins of government in Barbados except by convincing the electorate in more that 15 constituencies that your group id their best bet? It is not secured by means of a commissioned poll….or theorizing!

17. Dear David,
    I am glad that Grenville has taken up this issue. Barbadian journalism, maybe because it is largely untrained or individuals have done some dubious courses in the US and UK, do not fully understand the concept of balance, which is at the heart of journalism theory.
    This means that other viewpoints must be given an opportunity to oppose the dominant ideas of the main protagonist in the story.
    Instead editors often use their power to deny oppositional views. As an editor I always went out of my way to entertain opposing ideas, even if I object strongly to them. Our duty as editors is to the reader, allowing them to make up heir own minds, not to satisfy our own ego.

18. @ Grenville
    Hi Bush T: What you are proposing requires a constitutional change, which would require an election landslide.
    Duh!!!!
    You thought that our problems could be solved by listing a bunch of simplistic “solutions”?

Boss… what Bushie is proposing requires a visionary leader with impeccable character, the ability to communicate radical new ideas for mass consumption, and who can actually get things done…
    …and even so, there is no guarantee that brass bowls will take the polish and shine as they can…. brass bowls are funny vessels.

@ Jeff C
    You were obviously born to be a teacher.
    Teachers speak volumes by asking a few probing questions.
    As in judo, the ability to use the strength of an opponent to achieve your desired ends is wise strategy. …while going full strength against a much bigger, well established foe is …..well bowlery ….

What Bushie is proposing even goes BEYOND ‘gaining the reins of government’ and needing 15 seats – the vision is to REVOLUTIONISE the system of GOVERNANCE in the interest of the general citizens, ….this requires 20 seats.

That Grenville sees this as a bridge too far speaks for itself…

19. In Barbados it is a very difficult environment for competing ideas to contend, not because of any intellectual or dispassionate rigour they have to undergo but because of bias perspectives analogous to Rock Hard cement.

20. @Bushie

Be a country that is a model exponent of GOVERNANCE. Punch above our weight, AGAIN!

21. @ David
    If only Arthur had adopted that motto rather that the economic first world GDP – based measure of development….
    The thing is that he had the vision AND the balls to succeed….

22. A couple of observations.

Many of the talking heads including David Ellis is throwing cold water on Solutions Barbados. Their measurement is a definition steeped in an old paradigm. Jeff and others have labeled the Wesminster system EXPORTED from the UK. Why can’t we agree the time is now to transform a borrowed system of government?

What is wrong with inviting more businessmen who are driven to public service?

23. @ Greenville Phillips what i gleamed from the article is a person whose thoughts and ideas might only resonate with a few . My point being that there is a larger audience that must be address those who believes that politicians have convenient memories and which only serves themselves well at election time.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Given that most people are employees, we understand that they would rightly feel uncomfortable if their only experience of an employer is someone who was more focused on increasing profit rather than on improving the product. Please note that an employer includes: engineers (like myself), doctors, lawyers, contractors, merchants, hair dressers, landscapers, barbers, and every other professional and non-professional who took the risk of starting their own business and employing others. We just happen to believe that such a path better prepares an individual to implement the published solutions.

in lay men terms what does the above statement mean ……….and how would you go about making such changes

24. LOL @ David
    David Ellis!!??
    …Peter Wickhan too… ? …and Hartley Henry…?
    All shiite hounds…. who are like weather cocks – blowing in the political wind.

What level of thinking can you expect from second rate jokers who have never excelled at anything besides political pimping?

There should be some kinda law or something that bars second rate jokers from influencing public opinion – especially such a gullible public as ours…

LOL…
    Perhaps there should be a disclaimer required ever time these morons opine….
    As in…
    My name is Peter (“Two-poll”)W and I am a single, unmarried, male?, scrunting, pollster who make a living by pandering to thieving politicians. I have been a Bee, a Dee and in-between and so far I have achieved nothing but a reputation for ‘double-polling’…
    I think that……

or
    I am David Ellis. All I ever did was slave for VOB under selfish Vic F. I have never excelled in anything myself, but I managed to get myself seen as a ‘journalist’ – and I occasionally do “Six-Thirty” interviews with single mothers who are having issues raising their children from several men.
    I think that…..

One GOOD point that Granville makes Is that a BASIC criterion for qualification to run the country’s business should be a HISTORY of success in running SOME SHIITE….
    …his error is the same as Owen’s, in that he thinks that economic performance equates to life success – or even drives it, when in fact it is THE OTHER WAY AROUND.

25. @David and Grenville.
    There is one constant in all attempts to change a government and governance. The electorate. Our system depends on the electorate. They have to be convinced; in numbers that are significant, that there is need to do so. unless unconstitutional methods are chosen, any changes require a winning party to have a two thirds majority to support a bill for constitutional change. To enter the political fray, at this time, in the expectation that the electorate is so dissatisfied that they will vote for your party in enough numbers to give you that two thirds majority, contending against two long established parties, is pie in the sky. Your dissatisfaction with the way YOU see the government functioning is not enough to attain this objective, especially since we only have a couple of years until the next election.Plan long term. Establish your party and test the waters over time, otherwise a lot of your candidates will jump in and be over whelmed. Be realistic and fully understand the system and how it works.

26. Dear Grenville

A sure way to win is to stop locking up good people for weed. That is the only point you have to argue nothing else matters.

27. When the BLP said that “jobs is job one” that was very appealing to the masses, because contrary to what some believe the masses DO WANT TO work. They want decent work for decent wages. They want to be able to raise their children. They want their children to be a bit better off than they were.

And we just as the masses are self interested “we want decent work” the self interest of the business community is opposed to the interest of the masses. The employers want to pay the lowest possible wages and offer the least job security. Can Can Solutions Barbados resolve this inherent conflict?

Any party which can create a sustainable job creating environment will succeed. But as usual the devil is in the details.

What does Solutions Barbados plan to do about job creation?

And remember there are only a few business people, but lots of ordinary people who want steady decently paid work.

28. We are not all as bright nor as rich as Bushie.

Most of us may indeed be brass bowls.

But we know enough that to understand that we have to eat everyday.

And we know enough to know that we need work in order to do that.

And we know enough to understand that we do not want to be enslaved as our ancestors were, nuff, nuff work for no money (for us)

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hahahaha Alvi the Pelvi felt the need to educated the idiots that in order to win an election you got to win the electorate. Hahaha this man does not cease to amaze me. Good discourse Alvi, I learn something new today. Thanks pal hmmmmmmm smack.

30. @ Grenville

A third party cannot win an election in Barbados. Your only hope is to get a group of well meaning business people to offer an incentive (say $3 million) to a political leader who passes specific laws such as integrity legislation, a freedom-of-information act and major changes to the tendering and bidding rules. Of course, if you’re bribing them to do it that bribe would have to be overlooked.

31. @ David

Off Topic

Smith vs the CJ was supposed to be heard last Friday. What happened?

32. @ David

When I read the Barbados Today’s news item relative to Michael Lashley assuring the DLP faithful that “he expected the DLP’s STANDING among the ELECTORATE to IMPROVE after the administration rolls out a number of major projects,” I was convinced that his speech “at a St Michael West branch meeting” were “damage control” responses to the recent opinion poll.

However, as Lashley continued to speak, the more he displayed his idiocy.

Lashley CONCEDED that MANY ROADS ACROSS BARBADOS were in NEED of REPAIR, but defended his tenure, insisting, “You CANNOT EXPECT US AS THE GOVERNMENT to FIX EVERY ROAD in Barbados in FIVE YEARS.”

But he said: “[So] when I hear some of the Bees [Barbados Labour Party members] walking about smiling, I say to myself, ‘you would think that elections is tomorrow or next two weeks’. WE HAVE TWO YEARS, and OUR PLANS ARE NOW ROLLING OUT. So don’t panic.”

Having said “WE HAVE TWO YEARS,” he also stated: that there would be jobs aplenty in the coming months with the approval of a US$10 million loan for road works” and “another US$20 million injection for similar works was due in August,” which SUGGESTS the government will ATTEMPT to FIX all those roads in need of repair WITHIN TWO YEARS.

It seems as though if confronted by “politically neutral” individuals about the condition of the roads in this island, Lashley’s response would be “You cannot expect us as the government to fix every road in Barbados in FIVE YEARS.

Yet when he addressed the DLP faithful, he told them not to panic, government is about to receive US$30 and since they HAVE TWO YEARS, these FUNDS will be used to FIX ROADS, while creating “jobs aplenty” as a result.

Shiite…….. and we like to defend these ignorant politicians.

33. @ Old Baje,
    Based on Philip Nicholls book, Smith probably sought an adjournment. Will wait and see.

34. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@David, as Blogmaster you are the editor/arbiter so I use your remarks as the reference signposts:

“Many of the talking heads including David Ellis is throwing cold water on Solutions Barbados. Their measurement is a definition steeped in an old paradigm.”

It seems clear to me that their ‘cold water’ need not be based on any old model. Many of Mr Phillips Solutions are as @Alvin said ‘pie in the sky’.

Be serious and sanguine David. let’s interrogate Granville’s bonafides based on his OWN words. He said to Bushie: “What you are proposing requires a constitutional change, which would require an election landslide.”

Bushie responded “DUH”. Most insightful and telling frankly, because Mr Phillips himself proposed “…civil servants will not be allowed to join political parties, and any proven case of political victimization, by any civil servant, will result in the offender’s immediate dismissal, and forfeiture of their pension. …” ‘Duh, indeed’.

How do you NOT throw cold water when sensible, experienced men come before a skeptical populace and so glibly offer such grand ideas that require COMPLETE constitutional change! How does that work David.

How do you not throw cold water on a businessman who offers his experience as a key aspect of his ability to lead and then offers a business plan that cannot ‘break-even’ and is doomed to perpetual lost.

Seriously David, HOW. Steeupse.

35. @Baje

The case was stalled, we wait.

36. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Furthermore David…re, “Jeff and others have labeled the Wesminster system … Why can’t we agree the time is now to transform a borrowed system of government?”…

Transform with or to what specifically? None of the Solutions or 10 Point plans or other schemes offered here have undergone the rigorous legal, constitutional and practical operational reviews needed to weed out issues. Offering inconclusive or ill-defined schemes does not move us forward.

Jeff said it succinctly best, when (to paraphrase) he suggested that new plans in of themselves do not make things better.

And to your last point that ” What is wrong with inviting more businessmen who are driven to public service?” Is this the same businessmen class that is bashed here on BU for their corrupt links to the politicians? Is there some type of bi-polar mental dysfunction guiding this rhetoric.

The frameworks for GOOD governance are already in place. For example managers skilled or trained in the relevant disciplines are generally the ones who manage and run the reins of government..nothing new there.

And businessmen and experts are always co-opted by governing officials as required to guide and direct trade initiatives, technical programs etc. ABSOLUTELY nothing new there.

The issue is and will always remain the ability to flush out and control malfeasance, conflict of interest and all manner of wrong-doing.

New schemes and frameworks are debate worthy issues for blogs or intellectual political punditry.

But getting down to basics and getting government working requires honest forceful actions based on POWERFUL, REAL checks and balances and continued improvement of processes!

37. @Dee Word

Let us revisit wholesale rebuffs and seek more to offer constructive engagement.

38. Hi All:

The Caribbean has been run by single professionals and former employees who have, by any reasonable measure, generally mismanaged the public services and their national economies with popular, but unworkable ideas. The main problem appears to be one of individual preparation. The successful candidates were simply not properly prepared to manage, and therefore, not capable of managing a national economy.

Who then are the most prepared and capable persons to manage a national economy. We believe that a good preparatory path is for those who were once employees themselves, to risk starting a business to develop a product. As the product is continuously improved and they are able to attract more customers, they are able to make a profit and employ others. A national economic recession is an opportunity for employers to demonstrate their priorities, whether in maintaining profits of maintaining employees. For this reason, we set the ideal standard at an employer who had employed 10 employees for a decade.

What special skills do employers have to prepare them to manage a national economy?

Caribbean countries are in dire economic trouble because of popular, but unworkable ideas that have sabotaged their economies. Given the real and dire consequences of testing unworkable ideas on the national economy, it would appear that main qualification needed to manage a national economy is to understand, by experience, how the national economy works.

Starting and growing a business appears to be the ideal training ground for managing a national economy. This is because employers are ably positioned to test their ideas in the market place, and learn, by trial and error, what works under specific conditions, and what does not work under any conditions in the Barbados, Caribbean and international regulatory environments.

A multiple-choice analogy may suffice. Who do you want to drive a bus full of people (the national economy)?
    A – A person who has experience walking for 10 years (the youth/senior students)?
    B – A person who has ridden a bicycle for 10 years (experienced employees)?
    C – A person who has driven a car for 10 years (experienced employers)?
    D – A person who has been chauffeured in a bus for 10 years (experienced politicians)?
    E – A person who has read about how a bus is manufactured (academics)?

If you selected the person who drove a car, then well done; there is hope for Barbados. If the majority choose any of the others, then prepare to such the proverbial salt.

Best regards,
    Grenville

39. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Hi David, re 11:50 AM …”Let us revisit wholesale rebuffs and seek …constructive engagement” I actually thought I had given quite a specific constructive critique. Here and on his blog since last year I spoke to specific concerns of his solutions.

His entire logical premiss of looking to experienced persons to run a national government is absolutely valid but it’s also impeachable…by his own actions he makes a fallacy of his own logic.

***As an experienced businessman he offers a plan for review. Yet. months later still the same stuff sans updates on how his plans would overcome the ‘small’ issue of contravening the constitution, for example. Why was it placed for comment then in the first place?

One cant’s just speak sweetly…and certainly can’t adopt all ‘business planning’ constructs in national political policy management. There is a very tight window of four or eight year to achieve goals so his ‘business plan’ has to reflect that thinking in a SERIOUS way.

@Grenville, at 11:54 AM …interesting multi-choice. Why is the person driving that car for 10 years the best option? When likely, for every oil change or mechanical repair he took it to a garage. Likely, he never organized a car-pool with neighbors to manage in his own small way traffic and road congestion. Why was he the experienced employer?

Are you using classism or elitism as your reference sign posts, for this dude who was always wrapped nicely in his air-conditioned comfort and gave not a thought of his trip or surroundings as he used his phone to do his deals or calling his daughter’s mother about getting her to school.

What of the cyclist…in your Bajan construct she would have to be a ‘worker’ obviously.

But couldn’t she be an enlightened first world thinker who determined that she was going to ride (or walk/bus) the three or four short miles to her office daily – where she managed an office employing 40 people?

On those rides could she not have engaged regularly with others on the road – better prepared for her role in government, perhaps?

My point sir, is that we can draft the thinking as expansively as we desire.

You are a very bright guy but some of your Solution premisses (as your multi-choice) are very, very flawed.

40. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Oh @ Grenville, to keep your analogy flowing I forgot to mention that the cyclist is an experience driver of many years and does have her ride at home for the family outings and visits to the many soiree she attends…can’t ride a bike to those now can we!

So she is can drive that bus!!

41. @ Grenville

Please respond to my proposal at 9:37 AM of bribing a political leader to drastically reform the system of government (short of constitutional amendments). If you accept the premise that the B’s and D’s like the current system how else are you going to break the cycle? Forget your dream about Solutions Barbados winning an election.

42. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

I, like Grenville, do not accept the ‘better the devil you know’ thinking that Bajans have perfected over aeons.

My previous points stand: Parliament must be populated by successful people as Grenville suggests.

Further, the senate law-making ‘fuse’ can only trip if it is de-politicised and no longer a PIP rubber-stamper.

I think the more interesting question is: whose votes will the SB party take away?

43. Using the analogy of the bus driver does not work well in the area of goverance.it is simplistic at best and incohesive in regulating strong policy
    After all his energy was that of doing that which he only knew best how to do but outside of that area how does his 10 year tenure help in the overall management of the company

44. Bustopher Jones Avatar
    Bustopher Jones

Is the car driver too fat and unfit to walk? Can he drive a bus? Can he ride a motorcycle? Is driving all that he can do?

45. Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

ac March 1, 2016 at 2:00 PM #
    Using the analogy of the bus driver does not work well in the area of goverance.it is simplistic at best and incohesive in regulating strong policy
    After all his energy was that of doing that which he only knew best how to do but outside of that area how does his 10 year tenure help in the overall management of the company

That is a perfect analogy, especially since the current aspiring, elected bus drivers have all proven to be plumbers, shop-keepers, paros, comedians, pimps, philosophers and other useless sorts while our bus barrels down the road out of control.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And thieves…no one should forget, they also steal land from the vulnerable, they should be treated as you would treat any thief….with the utmost distrust.

47. pieter pieper Avatar

Businessmen in public service ? Sounds like “Trumpism” to me ! Every aspect of life being viewed from the standpoint of profit ? Won’t such individuals be more inclined to see their involvement in government from the point of view of “what’s in it for me?” Wouldn’t there be a greater likelihood of increased bribery,corruption,nepotism, thievery etc. ? Would they ever agree to INTEGRITY,TRANSPARENCY,ACCOUNTABILITY AND FREEDOM OF INFORMATION LEGISLATION ? Would they be able to work with THE PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE ? How would they be any different from what exists now ? God help us !

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Parliament must be populated by successful people as Grenville suggests.

NOT ONLY SHOULD Parliament must be populated by successful people BUT IT SHOULD BE POPULATED BY HUNGRY FOLK WHO ARE ONLY THERE TO SEE WHAT THEY CAN GET…………MEN LIKE BREE ST JOHN WHO WAS WILLING TO STAND FIRM AND LOOSE THE ELECTION WHEN RICHIE HAYNES BACK RAISED HIM.

49. Wouldn’t it be unconstitutional to prevent ANYBODY from contesting a seat in Parliament? After all we contest seats as individuals not as members of any political party; even though we may bw affiliated with a party.
    And don’t forget, ignorer to make constitutional changes a two thirds majority of the elected members is required. I have to keep hammering this point.

50. The same persons we pulverise here on BU, we now want to elevate to statesmanship. David Thompson redux. It would be interesting to know Consulting Engineers Partnership Limited (CEP) dealings with government now and in the past.
    On that note I shall exit stage left.