Submitted by Heather Cole

The dictionary defines a squatter as an unlawful occupant of land or a building. Just this week in the Press there was a video of Mark Maloney refuting a suggestion that was made by Trevor Prescod that the persons who are squatting on Crown lands at the Belle should be allowed to occupy houses at the Villages of Coverley that are unoccupied. He made it clear that no squatter will be allowed at the Villages of Coverley. One can only assume that Mr. Prescod meant that since the houses are completed and listed as rent to own, that the government should purchase the houses for the people from the Belle.

One will recall that the DLP Government entered into a leasing agreement with Housing Concepts SRL – also owned and/or managed by the said Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham to build houses for Barbadians at the Coverley Development site. The terms of the lease agreement is $100.00 for 99 years. It was so low that it was labelled as pepper corn by another contributor to the Barbados Underground. In Thursday’s edition of Barbados Today, Mr. Maloney stated that prices of these houses range from $280,000.00 to $340,000.00.

Everyone is aware that it is unlawful to occupy land in the Belle since it is has implications for contaminating the water supply. Any agreement undertaken between the Government of Barbados and any entity is a legally binding document and therefore lawful. The agreement between the National Housing Corporation and Housing Concepts SRL was specifically for residential housing development. The Town and Country Planning department did not give permission for the construction of a gas station or the obstruction of the road reserve.

We are all aware of the fact that on two occasions Mr. Maloney has broken the agreement while occupying the land at the Villages of Coverley. In the first instance, it was the building of the Rubis gas station and the second was the obstruction of road reserve which resulted in the death of a young Barbadian student. The two infractions of the agreement are still in effect as government has been negligent in enforcing their removal. Since Mr. Maloney has broken the leasing agreement and to date no Auditor General’s Report has contained information about funds from Coverley, one cannot ensure that Mr. Maloney is making the payments per the lease agreement, we can all but wonder if he is lawfully occupying the 41 hectares of land while making super profits.

The property at Coverley does not belong to Mr. Maloney. It belongs to the Government and people of Barbados. No action has been taken against Mr. Maloney for building the Rubis gas station on public property. Cannot the same reasoning be applied that low income persons can occupy the houses which are on public property without action been taken against them? Can the people from the Belle occupy the houses and if the police are called to eject them, would a Minister call and prevent that action?

How wrong could Mr. Prescod have been to ask that the unoccupied houses be turned over to the squatters in the Belle? How right could Mr. Maloney have been to state that no squatters would be allowed at the Villages of Coverley? It make one wonder if there are inferior citizens in Barbados and that they can be prohibited from living in certain areas. Mr. Maloney seems to have forgotten that he signed a legally binding contract that allows government to purchase any houses that he is unable to sell. It makes one wonder why he even bothered to sign the contract when he had no intention of keeping it since he already broke it twice.

The bottom line is that Government must not enter into these adulterated sweetheart deals that are driven by corruption. It must also ensure that Barbadians are not disadvantaged and that they have access to housing in all developments. That is, that all developments must have a percentage of their housing stock set aside for low income earners even if at a price differential which is subsidized by government. We must discard the term low income housing as it perpetrates the stigma of classism and elitism in society. Mr. Maloney’s statements about not allowing persons from Belle to be relocated to the Villages of Coverley perpetrates the argument for two Barbados’ even though the people are brainwashed at election time into thinking that there is only one.

354 responses to “Who Maloney Think He Is?”

1. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Finally govt has gotten some money(60m Latin America&50m IADB) for road repairs and they are even going to do a study to see if concrete roads are suitable for the country….very laudable.

Now 30 odd years ago the GM of Arawak cement plant,Fred Broome-Webster not only did a study but put down one in St Phillip which is still good today…..so now we know what this new study will say,I wonder who will get the contract to lay the roads?

2. Caswell

The BWA has determined that the elevated levels of lead in the water is probably coming from SSA mangrove landfill and Williams SBRC facility.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

It is easy to tell when this set of politicians is lying; their lips move.

4. Actually somma dese Pols are Ventrilliquist liars!

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Willie’s

I am not surprised. Mount Stinkeroo has already polluted the aquifer at Molyneau where 12% of the daily supply came from. That well was abandoned and none of us alive in Barbados right now will ever be able to drink potable water from source again.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Willie said:

“elevated levels of lead in the water is probably coming from SSA mangrove landfill and Williams SBRC facility.”

No great surprise there, yet the elevated yardfowls Alvin and AC would want to come on here and blame everything on the squatters while government refuse to look for solutions to rid themselves of parasitic Bizzy and his scam plant.

If they had no tongues, the politicians could not lie, their tongues are their problem, little red muscle in their mouths…..Caswell.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell

If the lead is coming from the SSA Mangrove landfill and Williams SBRC facility, if true, does this not make you wonder if, besides lead, faecal coliforms and other heavy metals from the many domestic sewage wells could not be contaminating the Belle area too? The island is said to be composed primarily of limestone. The principle behind a sewage well is to find a suck (crack, crevice or opening) for sewage water to percolate out. This percolating allows the well to remain relative free of its watery liquid content leaving only the faeces to decompose too practically dirt like material. Now if any of the experts can tell me where all the sewage liquid from the thousands of household wells goes, I would be deeply impressed. Liquid travels, and though some would be absorbed into the surrounding rocky material, the remainder will travel the fill route of the suck. I would like to know where it ends up.

I am telling you that the Belle cannot never be classified as zone 1 and it could never be as serious as the authorities want you to believe that it is. I am telling you that the Belle is not any serious water zone area to be concern about because the authorities do not mind squatters or the fact that seepage from the two major operations is finding its drift towards the Belle area. This need to be studied by serious professionals so that it can be properly classified and restricted by a set boundary of X km to protect it from all forms of settlement and potential contaminations.

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Well Well

I know when they are lying because they make less noise when telling the truth.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….SSS..they need a wake up call, reality check reminding them that they can be held accountable, despite the 50 years of recklessness they got away with because people were more helpless than they are now.

10. And this is yet another wrong one for the Board at LIAT – little or no knowledge about aviation, but now he is a Board Member you can guarantee he is an instant Expert At Everything, just like Jackass Holder.

Guh long, nuh. Wunnuh just doing as you like, as always, but the word that the Bados gubmint BROKE BROKE BROKE is now international news, and dem lonside Antigua and St. Vincent, too.

But of course that is none of MY business.

Yet it should be all of YOUR business.

How wunnuh could elect a Party and then let them get away with ignoring wunnuh for four years? None uh wunnuh couldn’t go and wake up that Jackass Stuart, slap he cross he head, and tell he straighten up?

Once upon a time PM Bird – Old Man Vere – of Antigua used to have to spend Sundays at home, because Antiguans would go by him and make their concerns known standing with him out on his property. These days you can’t even talk to a politician between elections if you corner him (or her) outside Parliament, you would get arrested.

Dese people too damn big up pon demselves, and then go into Cabinet, spennoff all the people money – and then come back for more.

When wunnuh gine learn, doah?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…..they would gladly do a study, despite already having the Belle information, it’s a great excuse to steal some more taxpayer’s dollars, they have water studies, all types of studies sitting there for decades and dont use them, not after they have gotten their cuts….this lot pretend to be better than the bottomfeeders that exist in Africa, but they are no better, maybe even worse since they consider themselves bettter educated.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Only bajans can wake them up. Right now, they are noticing the 34% from the numbers eligible to vote. That number is going to get higher as these clowns come out firing their blank promises and a hold role of shite they told you they could not do all of sudden they can. Barbadians would prove how ignorant they really are if they vote for these putfed up shites again.

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Caswell Franklyn March 1, 2016 at 9:38 AM #
    Lead in the Belle may not be coming from a current industrial plant, but from one in operation years ago. In the Newton Industrial Estate, trees known for their longevity, are dying out. A large Woman Tongue , just off the ABC Highway, Silk Cotton and African Tulips.
    I wonder if the Health/ Environmental Departments conduct any post operation assessments of these industrial areas after the mostly US companies have packed up and legged it to places where the labour is cheaper.
    Over the years I’ve seen some containers in the Newton industrial area, one was label place of manufacture ,Bhopal , India. And just where some of these trees are now drying up, were some containers for years leaking into the drains. Some of these container, carried the following notice. ” If you come across this container ,please call the Environmental Protection Authority.” (1-800 phone number given)
    There was also plans to used one of these condemn factories in Newton, alleged to be cancer ridden, as a buyers shop for some organisation.

14. @Simple Simon
    “There is no evidence that human intelligence has increased in the past several hundred, or even the past several thousand years. So what are you talking about? Do you really believe that you are more intelligent than your great grand parents?”

WW&C thought that you were in the past. You have now convinced me that it is not the past, but a cave :-).
    Surely, television, cell phone, radio, atomic energy are all indication that science (intelligence) is on the increase. Don’t personalize it. On the whole, the intelligence of man is on the increase.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheGazer March 1, 2016 at 6:35 PM
    “Surely, television, cell phone, radio, atomic energy are all indication that science (intelligence) is on the increase. Don’t personalize it. On the whole, the intelligence of man is on the increase.”

A very intellectually interesting comment.
    But the first question to be posed as a rebuttal is what do you mean by intelligence (science)? If you mean in the form of technological ‘advancement’ then you might be a bit pedestrian in your philosophical outlook.

Just name one thing the modern intelligentsia has ‘invented’ that has not been around in some basic form or fashion for a while in your lifetime. Technological advances are more of a cyclical continuum that anything else.
    Would you say that any modern ‘person’ is more intelligent than Leonardo da Vinci or Michael Faraday or Thomas Edison or George Washington Carver?

Intelligence is certainly not a common attribute like good looks or the ability to be a bull-shitter par excellence. It is more of a rare find like a large gold nugget or diamond.

There is a ‘rarely’ well known adage: ‘When free book-learning walks through the front door, Commonsense normally flies through the window’.

There is nothing new under the Sun. What is today has been in the past.
    Mankind has passed ‘this modern technological way’ before only to be confronted with similar disappointment as modern man will soon face. What goes around, must come around as the ages like the hands of TIME.

Life is a zero-sum game. When one problem is solved another is created by the same solution for the next generation. Let us see how modern mankind deals with climate change before attributing too much “intelligence” to him.

BTW, why has so technologically advanced mankind not returned to the Moon in recent years, given all the modern technological resources he has ‘invented’ since 1969?
    Maybe the van Allen’s belt is his Pareto’s optimality.

Que sera, sera!

16. @miller
    So as to keep it brief, I will tackle three of your statements.

“Leonardo da Vinci or Michael Faraday or Thomas Edison or George Washington Carver” are giants; and that is how sciences advances; science is neither a circuitous path nor a reinvention of the wheel, but rather it is steadily placing build block upon building block; a new generation learning from a prior generation ; a new generation of scientists, standing on the shoulders of giants like Einstein and Newton . You have selected the cream of the crop to make your point, little realizing that it is these giants who are responsible for the progress of man. Giants will be found in every generation. Comparing giants of different generations serves no real purpose.

“Just name one thing the modern intelligentsia has ‘invented’ that has not been around in some basic form or fashion for a while in your lifetime. Technological advances are more of a cyclical continuum that anything else.” Your second sentence is a refutation of the first sentence. You mention “no advancement in your lifetime” but then you mention that advance is more of a “continuum more than anything else”. Note that I intentionally omitted mention of the word ‘cyclical’, because our science is not on a cyclical or a circuitous path but is steadily moving forward. As to your first sentence, we should not measure the progress of man by the span of a single life. If we do so, then we would miss the emergence of man from a cave with a club in his hand to sit on a sofa in an air-conditioned/heated room in front of a big screen television.

“Mankind has passed ‘this modern technological way’ before only to be confronted with similar disappointment as modern man will soon face.” Surely, you jest. What do you mean we have been this way before? Atomic energy? Radio? Television? Supersonic aircraft? Before?

My dear Watson, I can see from this submission that the gentleman is “well educated, some knowledge of science or perhaps economics, but a believer in reincarnation, UFOs, and men from outer space”

17. @miller
    So now we have three camps; the Zoe camp, the Miller camp and a camp that disagree with both you and Zoe.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah SSS….Donville is getting antsy, they are only now realizing that the lies and promises that worked so very well for the last 50 years, have run out of steam, so he states the obvious…that opposition leader is his very good friend.?Maybe the people will see that they have the power within themselves to make sure the politicians know that the people are the boss.

19. @Well Well and sss.

Bowmanston pumping station is located in the Belle. If you doubt me enter from the ABC highway onto the Belle road and keep straIGHT AHEAD YOU WILL REACH IT. YOU CAN’T SEE IT FROM THE ABC HIGHWAY. BOWMANSTON IS ONE OF The largest aquifers in the island, and pumps water to most of St. Michael.. The Belle was designated a Zone 1. area; (there are other Zone 1. areas, maybe BWA can give you or show you a map of the island that shows the Zonal areas of the island,) many many years ago, and it was designated Zone 1 because it is most vulnerable to contamination from seepage from the surface. Squatters occupied the land at the Belle ( in the vicinity of Blenheim pasture) less than thirty years ago. In the absence of septic tanks the waste matter; sewage, wash water filled with detergents that contain all manner of chemicals, as well as water run off, sink through the soil and go into the aquifer.Water at all the pumping stations are tested every week. There is a unit at the Winston Scott Polyclinic that tests this water for bacterial contaminants. A unit at the BWA tests the water on a regular basis for chemical contaminants etc. You people get on like if the persons in authority are idiots and that you, who do not know, HAVE to tell them how to act. People do not go to study just for the sake of studying and then don’t put the results of their studying to any useful purpose. We have a standards institute that tests almost everything in the island; food, fruit, cement blocks etc to ensure that they adhere to the required standards. What happen is that we are an indisciplined bunch of people who do not like at adhere to rules and regulations, whatever they are, and do not care about other people. It is always self!

Colonel Buggy, A building cannot be “cancer ridden” as you stated in your post. It may contain material that causes cancer, but a “Building” cannot be cancer ridden. Be specific.
    Miller is an idiot for what he says, Zoe is a nut; of course I am already designated as the resident idiot, and Prodigal is, well…..Nuf said.

20. It looks as though Barbados is not the only place struggling with people who are homeless or inadequately housed.

Even a successful capitalist society like the United States struggles.

And a society like the U.S. with zero political corruption (As Well, Well and others would like us to believe) struggles just as we do.

So where do we find equitable solutions?

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/02/us/seattle-homeless-jungle-camp.html?_r=0
    Seattle Underbelly Exposed as Homeless Camp Violence Flares
    SEATTLE — So dangerous is this city’s biggest homeless camp, called the Jungle — three ragged miles stitched along the underbelly of Interstate 5 — that if a fire broke out there today, firefighters would not be allowed in without an armed police escort. State lawmakers are considering closing the camp by erecting a razor-wire fence around it, at a cost of $1 million. Seattle is booming with tech-driven economic growth, an envy of the nation…The police and Fire Department crews have responded to trouble in the camp more than 820 times in the last five years, including 70 violent incidents, 500 emergency medical calls and 250 fires…“You step in there, and it’s like you’re not even in the United States anymore…Most big cities have a Jungle… lawmakers supporting construction of an 8,000-foot-long border fence…“What does that say about us as a society?”…Chief Scoggins and his team… described hearing tales from residents of heroin addiction and trafficking, depravity and sexual violence…“The human waste, the solid waste, the drugs, …even when you have areas of poverty around the world, you don’t see it all in one place,”…More than 10,000 people live without permanent shelter here in King County, which has a total population of just over two million… the boom in technology jobs is transforming Seattle and its economy, pushing up rents and home prices, drawing in

So Solutioons Barbados how would your prevent this from happening?

21. Alvin Cummins March 1, 2016 at 11:18 PM
    We have a standards institute that tests almost everything in the island; food, fruit, cement blocks etc to ensure that they adhere to the required standards.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And still we get can off the shelf, insecticides and pesticides which are banned especially , in the USA. Some carry a warning that they are Carcinogenic, and may not be used in some States in the USA. Some National Standard ,Bro!

22. And a building cannot be Sick either.

23. @Sunshine Sunny Shine March 1, 2016 at 9:14 AM “Then there is no way in the world the Belle could be a classified zone 1 area! ”

I don’t know where you are living or have lived but the Belle was first classified as a zone 1 water protection area in 1962.

24. @TheGazer March 1, 2016 at 6:35 PM ” On the whole, the intelligence of man is on the increase.”

So you think that the people who created tens of thousands of spoken languages, who created all the world’s religions, who invented the wheel, who created mathematics, who created written languages that we cannot yet decipher were a bunch of dummies?

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@TheGazer March 1, 2016 at 9:56 PM

Dear Gazer,
    I am glad you took the time to respond to my ‘controversial’ view. It provides much needed stimulation as a kind of massage to the intellect.

Don’t you find it strange that despite all of the so-called advancement in intelligence (scientific knowledge) modern man is still a steadfast practitioner of religion and an unshakeable believer in some being in the sky determining his destiny and monitoring his every act?

So for every intelligent human there must be 1 million ‘ordinary’ intellectually barren souls. It was always like that and it will always be so.

I would overlook your glib remark about UFO’s and all that. You are no different in your earth-centric view of our galaxy or even the Universe than those who brought Galileo before the Court of Inquisition.

There are certainly not “men from outer space” but beings that exist just like how the genetically modified monkey man does on this blue tiny orb.
    Maybe a reading of the Bhagavad Gita, Sumerian history or even your own Judeo-Christian book of myths and legend would shed some light on the same UFO’s and men from outer space you would wish to dis.
    Who do you think the God of the Book of Genesis and his angels are? Evolved beings from Father & Mother Ape?
    As a man, yourself with a sharp scientific min
    d, you should be aware of what J. Robert Oppenheimer the father of the atomic bomb (Manhattan Project rings a bell?) had to say about nuclear weapons and what is encrypted in Mahabharata.

26. @Alvin Cummins March 1, 2016 at 11:18 PM “Bowmanston pumping station is located in the Belle.”

Bowmanston pumping station is located in St. John, NOT at the Belle, St. Michael

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheGazer March 1, 2016 at 9:56 PM
    “You have selected the cream of the crop to make your point, little realizing that it is these giants who are responsible for the progress of man. Giants will be found in every generation. Comparing giants of different generations serves no real purpose.”

Yea, it’s like comparing cricketers of yesteryear with those of today.

So geyser, who are these modern giants of ‘intelligence’? Remember you are the one who is arguing that people today are more “intelligent” than men of yesteryear.
    If you say there are modern giants of innovation as opposed to invention I could see your point.

Would you consider Bill Gates or Steve Jobs to be more of a giant of invention than Charles Babbage or Alexander Bell (or should that be Meucci?) Certainly of innovation but not invention.

28. http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/606
    Serra da Capivara National Park

“The area houses one of the most important archaeological sites in the Americas containing evidence and artefacts that have forced a sweeping re-evaluation of the fundamental traditional theories underpinning the origins of human settlement in the Americas.

Over 300 archaeological sites have been found within the park, the majority consisting of rock and wall paintings dating from 50,000-30,000 years Before Present.

The analyses and dating of the evidence and artefacts found in the Serra da Capivara National Park serve to confirm the millennial presence of human beings on the American continent and the importance of the heritage.

The ensemble of archaeological sites contains dating evidence that has thoroughly revolutionized classical theories regarding the entry route into the Americas by human populations along the Bering Strait.

According to studies, the area encompassing the Serra da Capivara National Park was occupied by hunters and gatherers, followed by ceramic-farming societies.

Discoveries at the Boqueirão da Pedra Furada archaeological site suggest that human beings may have settled the region as far back as 50,000 years ago.”

So long before the the Europeans existed, and long long before the Asians existed, long before Judaism, or Christianity or Islam existed, these African people settled the Americas. And no they were not extra terrestrials, nor influenced by extra terrestrials as miller etc. supposes. That would be to discount human intelligence, and specifically African intelligence.

Talk about human intelligence. Whew!!!

29. So when Columbus set foot in this region he was only about 49,500 years late.

People had been living here for ever and forever. Amd no they were not miller’s little green men from space.

They were African men and women and children, just like us but perhaps MORE intelligent.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon March 2, 2016 at 12:08 AM
    “And no they were not extra terrestrials, nor influenced by extra terrestrials as miller etc. supposes. That would be to discount human intelligence, and specifically African intelligence.”

It is not a supposition. It is written in the history pages of mankind existence. There are also carvings and paintings by the same ‘early man” as you alluded to.
    Why not check out the Dogon people from the around the Niger river (Mali) or have a good read of the book of Ezekiel or even the story of Elijah.
    S S, use your African intelligence to think and stop letting the white man or European tell you what he wants you to believe.

31. The white man said that they were ET’s because they did not want to believe that they were Africans.

The Chinese and Japanese are still struggling to come to terms with the undisputed fact that the whole world was settled by Africans. The well educated white man has mostly come around to accepting the TRUTH that Africa is the mother of us all.

Methinks you got it wrong.

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

Babes, I am going to be nice to you. No one is doubting the authorities ability, well probably only the SSS (all capitals next time hun), however, what authority allows an illegal domestic settlement in an important water zone area to continue for decades? I will tell which type, the type that is controlled and dictated to by a colluding directorate. The mere fact that they are testing every day and knowing that all forms of contaminants are flushed into domestic wells that have the potential to seep towards the Belle is evidence enough to prove that the Belle zone 1 classification is not taken seriously. You think after years of progress Barbados should still be digging holes to collect their sewage? The amount of education we have on the island would start thinking sewage plants and connection to a sewage grid. Now more multimillion dollar buildings and asinine projects.

Alvi Pelvi, you too love to talk about qualifications. I tell ya now if the number of qualifications was the yardstick used to determine integrity we would have an island filled with good upright standing professional citizens, now would we. We would not have these well train daughters and sons being accused daily of procrastination and laissez-faire activity. I am sure Alvi Pelvi that we would have a better judiciary, better health care, better sanitation system, growing industry, the continuation of a well-managed economy. structured systems followed systems and a more productive sector all run by well-trained people, functioning the way that they should. But unfortunately. Alvi, training do not mean squat if you sell your soul in the name of the mighty dollar? Take a look at your Party Alvi, all well-trained professionals. Or take a look at the Opposition, all well-trained professionals. Look at you Alvi, a well trained professional. You see the common denominator yet?

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon March 2, 2016 at 12:32 AM
    “The white man said that they were ET’s because they did not want to believe that they were Africans.”

So what are you saying that the carvings and paintings by Africans were of Africans and not extraterrestrials?

“The Chinese and Japanese are still struggling to come to terms with the undisputed fact that the whole world was settled by Africans.”

So why should Chinese et al accept they are Africans? What is so ‘African” about Chinese or Japanese?

How did an African become a Chinese or white man? Explain.

PS: It’s not a trap or an invitation to Zoe. Just a reading of your intellectual depth that could find you lost at sea.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin apparently big-up the National Standards people and the unit at the Winston Scott Polyclinic without understanding that there is a difference between setting an organisation to do something and actually doing the thing.

One example would suffice. The water meters that were recently approved for use in Barbados have not been tested by this country. No one in this country knows how. They were approved based on a certificate from some body in Germany. No one in this country knows if they are working correctly and if they aren’t, how to fix them.

If you set up two of them in series and run water through them, each one would give a different result.

This entire country was knowingly ripped off with these water meters but a company that was set up specifically to change meters got very rich.

35. miller every time u open yuh ras mout u always talking bout legalising mah juana guvts cant even control alchol wid all de igrunt drunkerds all ova the place and u and other pot head want mahjuana legalize. just fuh de record u own a mahjuana farm cuz it as if yuh got some kinda investment in the pot buziness and need customers

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 2, 2016 at 7:06 AM

Ac, (the ace cretin one) no one is asking for the “legalising” of marijuana. The mere fact that it exists as a plant means it is already ‘Legal’ in the intent of Mother Nature and certainly in the eyes of your god who made everything under the SUN including you, of course.

It were to become legal you, ac, would have to obey the law and use it in order to stay legally ‘kosher’.

What we are calling for is the decriminalization of it use. Why not put it on the same “legal” footing as alcohol? Why are you not calling for the banning or criminalization of the use of alcohol? As you quite rightly pointed out alcohol is a major contributor to social ills and its abuse associated with serious health issues.

The reason is simple. The production and consumption of marijuana is an extremely difficult activity to control and tax. There is no easy tax money in it for bureaucrats and politicians. No corruption of bribes unless kept “illegal” and underground.

The only easy source of revenue from marijuana is through fines on ordinary people imposed by the court system and to keep certain public sector workers employed because of the criminality the current illicit trade attracts.

If you want to contribute to the reduction of crime just remove the high profit element associated with the business. How come people like you are not into the legal selling of alcohol? Because there is no money in it. Besides, marijuana is old hat, passé.
    And just like smoking would soon be seen as socially obnoxious.

37. Caswell
    You are correct when you said “If you set up two of them in series and run water through them, each one would give a different result” and the reason is simple, the old rotary mechanical meters become more and more inaccurate as they get older. The new meter are ultrasonic and are deadly accurate for their full lives of 15+ years. Do you know that in most countries, the rotary mechanical meters MUST be removed once they reach 5 years old, this is because after 5 years the meters are completely inaccurate as a measuring device, they under and over measure with equal inaccuracy. Some of the meters changed in Barbados in the last year were installed in 1998. Prior to the change out to new ultrasonic meters BWA has 25,000 meters on their network which were stuck and reading/measuring nothing at all.
    The meters installed in Barbados are the most advanced and rigorously tested ultrasonic meters in the world, without exception. These meters have been installed in Germany, France, England, Ireland, Spain, Italy, USA, Brazil, Argentina, Columbia, Jamaica, UAE, South Africa, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Norway and Denmark.
    Germany has the lowest non-revenue water losses in the entire world, around 4%, while Barbados and most of the Caribbean have between 50 – 70% of non-revenue water loses. In simply terms this means that for all the water pumped from the wells into the mains network BWA does not get any revenue for 60% of the volume and the largest segment of those loses were occurring because of stuck meters and inaccurate metering.

Caswell know you fact before coming on here spouting nonsense.

38. The same discussion being had today about weed mirrors tg alcohol debate not too long ago.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswell…they knew those digital water meters were crap and inaccurate well before paying over 50 million dollars for them, people complained in Canada years ago….someone saw a way to pad their bank accounts, same thing they do when purchasing supplies for QEH…steal taxpayers money no one is being held accountable for those thefts, so they continue and has been so since the days of Branford Taitt..

See Alvin….we have to act as though the politicians dont know what they are doing, someone has to tell them, since in 8 short years, the island is teetering on the edge of bankruptcy, that is caused by deliberate and malicious mismanagement, just ask Donald Trump, he does it in his companies all the time.

40. Negro ac was not around when alchol became legal cuz if so i would be in opposite side of the fence and would have been right now seeing all the negative fall out from alcohol…so why now run the risk of exposing society and newer generations to similar potential hazards and dangerous health problems associated by the addictive use of marijuana. Why keep digging bigger holes from which society can not dig itself out of

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Societe

I wish you would read and understand what I said and please don’t deliberately misinterpret me. I said if you connect two of those new meters in series, each one will give a different result. I also said that there is no one in BARBADOS who can guarantee, from their own knowledge that the NEW meters are accurate.

In addition, I said that the authority that is authorised by the Laws of Barbados to calibrate measuring devices is unable to say with certainty that these meters are accurate. They relied on a certificate from Germany to approve the usage of those meters.

I make bold to say that the people of Barbados have been ripped off in this whole meter project. Stop hiding behind your pseudonym and provide proof that I am misleading anybody. The meter project is one of the corrupt transactions that needs to be investigated.

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

At least those politicians who were teetering on the edge of bankruptcy at the beginning of 2008 are now living in the lap of luxury, so at least there was improvement somewhere.

43. Caswell,
    Who’s fault it is the National Standards department can’t certify these meters? Have you ever been to that department? It looks like something from 1970’s, also you have no proof whatsoever that the meters are anything other than accurate. Why do you think that every water utility in the world is changing to ultrasonic metering, to rob their customers?
    What is your point about connecting two meters in a line?
    Was the water meter contract not tendered locally, regionally and globally by IADB?
    Did BWA’s own experts not recommend the German made ultra-sonic meters?

44. Simpy wrote;
    So long before the the Europeans existed, and long long before the Asians existed, long before Judaism, or Christianity or Islam existed, these African people settled the Americas. And no they were not extra terrestrials, nor influenced by extra terrestrials as miller etc. supposes. That would be to discount human intelligence, and specifically African intelligence.

I thought we ALL came outta Africa???????????????

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Societe

At far as the Laws of Barbados are concerned, the meters should not be in use in this country if they can’t be certified BNSI. Your question therefore should be whose fault it is that these meters are installed in Barbados when they don’t comply with our laws.

46. Crusoe wrote:
    Any idiot can be successful when handed money by the truckload as a youngster, and receiving contracts with Mafia links.

Firstly, NO ONE in the Construction business or needing construction etc can possibly operate in NY/ NJ without dealing with The Mafia! In the 1940s-1960s my uncle by marriage had a Crane business in that area and was given the Godfather option the NON refusal type! He died in his early 50s and many a Friday night Tony passed by with a manila envelope from which large Notes spilled while Auntie went shopping on Saturday!!!! When my Dad was in NJ on business in 1955 he went with this uncle to a bar and met a well dressed group of gents. Their leader eventually mentioned to my Dad that he could provide any amount of CASH he may need, which my Dad said thanks but no thanks.

Secondly, many people that inherit money loose it, become alcoholics like Trump’s brother, druggies etc. How come so many Entertainers, Sportsmen and Actors PISS $ Millions away???????????

I eagerly await your answer!

47. Caswell
    Provide the proof that BNSI must certify as contained in the Laws of Barbados and provide proof that BNSI has not so certified. Without proof you are just another Johnny walking about making baseless arguments.

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Caswell;

I think your posts above make sense except for the bit on connecting two of the new meters in series?

49. Caswell
    Let me save you some time, please contact the below for confirmation that BNSI certified the water meters:-
    Hadyn Rhynd
    Deputy Director (Ag)
    Barbados National Standards Institution
    “Flodden” Culloden Road
    St. Michael
    Barbados
    BB14001
    Tel: (246) 426-3870
    Fax: (246) 436-1495
    e-mail: hrhynd@bnsi.com.bb

50. Miller

Ask them what the descriptions of the “chariot” seems like in Ezeikel? What about Elijah?