Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union
OVER THE LAST TWO WEEKS, I was under almost constant attack from kidney stones. If you have ever suffered from that condition, you would know that those attacks are not a Sunday evening walk in the park. However, whenever there was a lull in hostilities, I would take out my iPad, check email and generally keep up with the news.
The kidney stones were bad enough but it was most disconcerting to receive an average of two or three unsolicited emails per day advertising burial insurance. If there isn’t, they ought to be a law against that. Luckily, I do not put much stock in omens. Nonetheless, I thought it prudent to confess my sins, which didn’t take long since they weren’t many, and got back to my reading as there was little else that I could have done.
The ads did not cause me as much concern as the reports and comments that were generated by the amendments to the Domestic Violence (Protection Orders) Act.
As a result, I was forced to log on to Parliament’s website to read the bill. Mind you, my concern is not out of personal fear. I am worried about the devastating effects that misuse of its provisions can have on this country.
After reading the reports of the debate, the views of commenters and the bill itself, I tend to believe that most of those persons who commented in support of the amendments, did not even suffer from cursory knowledge of the original 1992 legislation. The amendments seem to be an unnecessary overreaction to some extreme cases of domestic violence, where law enforcement agencies failed to utilise the existing law to protect victims. Rather than study the causes that led perpetrators (men) to take the law into their own hands, Government has allowed itself to be stampeded by well-intentioned do-gooders to throw draconian legislation at the problem.
Neither the Government nor I have done research into the causes of the escalation of these extreme cases of domestic violence, but from anecdotal information, I believe that the manner of the enforcement of the legislation is a major contributing factor into the surge of retributive attacks against women, leading to deaths in some cases.
The original 1992 Domestic Violence (Protection Orders) Act was designed as a shield to protect victims of domestic violence. Instead, victims, pretend victims, police and the magistrates’ courts have been using or allowing the law to be used as a sword to belittle and otherwise disadvantage men. I firmly believe that the rise in extreme cases of domestic violence has resulted from men who believe, rightly or wrongly, that they were hard done by the outcome of their cases, and believe they have no recourse available to them.
These amendments suggest that Government does not know how to tackle the problems associated with domestic violence and has brought these amendments to make it appear as though they are doing something. One example would suffice to show that they are just pretending to be doing something. In the definition section of the 1992 act, it states: “child” includes an adopted child, a stepchild or a child who is a member of the household of the complainant and is treated as such by the complainant and the complainant’s spouse.
That definition was more than adequate but it was replaced by: “child” means a person under 18 years of age who is not married and is considered to be in a domestic relationship by virtue of continued residence or a relationship of consanguinity or affinity with the perpetrator or victim of domestic violence and includes an adopted child, a stepchild and a ward.
Gobbledygook if you ask me.
Caswell….before I finish read your article….re kidney stones, these work well.
Steep Rosemary and drink the tea, you can get fresh Rosemary from Angela in the market near the Post Office or from Massy supermarket.
White Apple Juice
I think the name of this is Stuarts Apple Cider. Will have to wait for my daughter to wake up to confirm, she was the one suffered the kidney stone, no joke is an understatement.
Cranberry Juice.
When she used those combined, the stone dissolved….you will need to drink lots of water going forward, as am sure your doctor advised….
Thanks Well Well. At this point I will try anything.
To sum it up, though products of domestic life, none of the ministers understand the root causes of domestic violence, neither do they care to investigate or communicate the root causes.
Communication or lack of and education.
Forget the ministers and other political actors for a minute, what about the technocrats? What about the CCB?
It’s Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar….Massy’s Supermarket got it….use those combined, they are all healthy, kidney stones are frightening.
David….do the technocrats act on their own, are they allowed.
Caswell is better positioned to explain but the technocrat in a well functioning public service should be protected while performing their jobs.
Why are we veering from Caswell’s point? He clearly stated the amendment to the legislation is a reaction to extreme cases of abuse. And that the issue is about:
Here is another form of abuse, abuse by authority. The CCB gave abused children to the father and…
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77556/dad-makes-appeal-help
I firmly believe that the rise in extreme cases of domestic violence has resulted from men who believe, rightly or wrongly, that they were hard done by the outcome of their cases, and believe they have no recourse available to them.
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Dammning and strange but makes the legislation of more importance for the protection of all woman those who have experienced domestic violence and those who have not,
Or AC……the culprits can be educated to understand that communication and being able to articulate their concerns and control their emotions acts better than beating and killing women and would also cost less in human life, damage to the family structure left behind and court expenses for trials, in the long run….prevention is always better.
On another note, how flexible is our system?
A transgender woman has made history after becoming a leading judge in the High Court, The Mail on Sunday reveals
Caswell…..here is the complete list…
Rosemary…..steep and drink
White Apple Juice
Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar
Cranberry Juice
Pomegranate Juice
I had forgotten the pomgranate.
Child abuse is not being taken seriously enough, those children could have lost their lives…I will not be surprised if the father is forced to request asylum for these children because they were victims of abuse.
I spoke of a case on here last week, the person called Blackett’s office, he was not in and his office claimed they could do nothing to help the child involved…..to call the childcare board. Child care board still say they can do nothing.
The buck stops with the minister running to legislate laws that he refuses to implement, trying to deceive the world that they are doing something to help victims, when they know they don’t care about victims.
I don’t see how personal sexual orientation or preference can affect anyone’s job performance.
There are no draconian measures firstly the law has stipulations which also protect the perpetrator this ongong willy niilly belief that police can go on a witch hunt like approach to apprehend a perpetrator of domestic violence is nonsense
http://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/bill_resolution/907d022cc76d0c58b3353e80836ba3e6.pdf
Caswell, my sincere sympathies on your ailment. Fortunately, I have never been a victim, but I saw the torture my old man endured when he suffered some years ago. If it is any consolation, he is still alive today and over 90…so you have some way to go yet, although I am certain that GP and Zoe might disagree!
I do not agree that the change in the section of the amendment you quoted was unnecessary. The amendment, for whatever reason, has narrowed the category of those who are to be considered “a child” -by restricting that class to a minor (remember that a child could be over 18… I am still my father’s child in my 50s) who is unmarried, living at home, and also is, or considered to be, a child of the family.
I suppose that an assault on an adult child who does not live at home would not now be considered “domestic violence” under the amendment.
Thanks Jeff and I hope that you will never experience this problem. I would not wish them on anyone, not even Sinckler.
I do not agree that the restricting the age of a child to 18 was a necessary amendment. That was done in 1974. The Minors Act has set the age of majority as 18 unless otherwise stated in a particular act. So when legislation says “child” it means that the person is under 18.
Caswell,my compassion to you on the kidney stones. Continue to drink 8 glasses of water per day. Make sure it is filtered. Invest in a skipping rope . Skipping aids gravity in expelling the stones. Please filter the water.
I agree with you that the new legislation is a knee jerk reaction to the public response to the unimaginative ” do not care” attitude of the law enforcers. The usual implementation deficit in the public service.
Commiserations Caswell!
Bernard
I tried the skipping rope thing already but when the stones started to move, I abandoned that idea and was walking like Easy Boy so that they would keep quiet.
The legislation is like everything this government does, haphazard.
David….something is off with your links to the comments, they are not aligning properly when you click on BU.
@Well Well
Support is probably investigating a request from BU, let us give it a bit to settle.
Bajan says law of free speech on her side
Extracted from the Facebook:
@NorthernObserver
There is always a method to what seems like madness.
Ahhhhh!!!….she who many are afraid of…..she would have nothing to post if checks and balances were in place, legislated laws actually implemented..there would be no ammunition to use.
The personal posts about ordinary people…frightening.
Wait a minute….a dude stole 10 years worth of water from the BWA, took a huge amount in bribe money from residents in an area of St. James, those residents did not pay a water bill for 10 long years, had free water, theft.
The culprit a former employee of BWA fled to England, am sure if I researched a little, I too can find his location….take note that no one in government, the DPP or anyone in his office or the offices of police are interested in finding the thief or extraditing him, yet DPP and lawyers are going out of their way way to chase down libel, defamation, slander.
I really did not see the post about Trotman, however.
The below comment caught my eye, the new generation is definitely not like the older scared generation….this generation is fueled by anger and ready to go to the wire for what they believe, the politicians, DPP, police need to take note, do their jobs and stop protecting and defending each other and all the other known culprits…..stop this before it goes any further.
BELOW COMMENT COPIED FROM ND:
“Excellent point David P, they want to suppress Sheri and shut down the one thing that dwarfs the Nation Newspaper and the Advocate News combined.We are prepared to take the government of Barbados and its minnions to court and seek redress on account of civil rights and human rights violations in Barbados. Also, a group of us will offer to the United States Congress, proof that Barbados is unfit for tourist consumption.”
Caswell
Bushie warned you not to follow Jonah’s example and run away when he was called to save the people of Nineveh, a whale swallowed his tail…
You playing you running from BUP? …. it look like you swallow a big rock yuh…. 🙂
Get well soon…
Thanks Bushie.
Caswell
I am very sorry to hear of your malady, and wish you a most favorable prognosis.
In honor of your contributions here and nationally I have “russled up” a power point on the issue, and will ask my assistant to send it for posting, so that you may be further informed—–even though “all of this stuff is freely available on Wickiepedia”
I suggest that you look at the causes and predisposing factors and try to eliminate them as much as possible
Thanks Georgie Porgie.
I would be most grateful if your assistant could send it directly to me at caswellf@hotmail.com.
Sorry to hear Bro Cas but I thought that the stones were behind you. In other words had been passed out compliments of the goodly Doc or is it a repeat?
Thanks balance. This is a repeat.
Caswell @9:36 am, you will accept, of course, that there is a difference between “child” meaning the offspring of someone, and “minor” referring to someone under 18.
You and I the children of our parents still…but neither of us is a minor any longer…
Compliments of Doc GP.
[caption id="attachment_50027" align="aligncenter" width="610"]
Click image to follow presentation on Renal Stones[/caption]
Jeff
My position is that the amendment was unnecessary. If you look at section 3 of the 1992 act, you will see that the act applied to everyone in a household. If someone was taking away their grandmother’s pension cheque, the old lady could have sought protection using that act.
Oh, by the way, I like the way you split hairs.
My sincere sympathy Caswell.
Back in the 80s I was rushed to hospital with a kidney stone “attack.” I was given pain killers and nitrous oxide.
They also made me drink 2 cans of ginger ale and 2 bottles of beer.
I passed the stone after a few hours. It was the size of a common pin head. I was extremely lucky.
Thanks Hants. I would take the ginger beer, but so far in my life I haven’t taken a beer and I am not going to start not even to get rid of this stone.
Caswell
The email address you have posted did not work
That’s my correct email address. Thanks anyway, I was able to save it from BU.
Hants
I am sure that you enjoyed your treatment even if not the renal colic
NB renal stones involve the kidneys………….gall stones involve the gall bladder
Caswell
Perhaps you may increase your fluids and citrous intake and reduce your calcium and dairy intake
lets hope that its just the increased temperatures these days, and thus dehydration that caused your tipping point and you will be better with lots of water and lemonade
Thanks for the direction GP, will have it changed.
@Caswell,
If you passed any stones you should have them checked to determine their mineral type. Anyhow GP will advise you. Empathy though, kidney stones don’t men sport, where pain is concerned.
Thanks Alvin. I have passed a few but have never been able to capture one since each time I was sitting doing something else, and I was not in the mood for fishing.
Caswell
Have you seen an Xray of some sort to indicate the location and extent of the stone(s)?
Are you in to lots of fresh milk or lots of meat or have you just been so busy as not to drink lots of fluid in our increasingly hot climate?
Alvin is right about trying to ascertain what kind of stones you have—-I man the ones causing you pain.LOL
Georgie
The ultrasound that was done on Tuesday shows that the stone is now in the ureter, just outside the bladder. It moved within the last two weeks but seems to like me and don’t want to make that final plunge.
@ Caswell Franklyn February 7, 2016 at 1:56 PM
Sorry to hear of your plight, especially the pain. Men generally cannot take pain except in one area which you clearly and vehemently oppose to. (LOL!!! They say laughter is the best medicine).
But you are somewhat ‘misinformed’ about beer. Beer is healthier for you rather than the BWA juice loaded with lime and other mineral deposits.
There is nothing scarily wrong with Bajan water; just occasionally balance its intake with the purified variety in the form of a good old cold beer especially in the middle of the day. A bit of alcohol has great medicinal qualities. Used in moderation if can not only lift your spirits but also act as a dissolver of harmful substances in the body. Ask GP; he does not suffer from arteriosclerosis.
This discussion is beginning to rival a a Steve Harvey script!
Note that I was given beer at Sunnybrook Hospital in 1984.
The doctor who was treating me said the xrays showed a single tiny stone and ginger ale and then beer would likely work and it did.
I enjoyed a very nice “high” from the beer and nitrous oxide as GP hinted.
Ouch…I have mucho respect for kidney stones.
One of the great values of blogging on BU.
Laymen share their personal experiences and Dr. Georgie Porgie gives us professional advice.
Thanks GP.
After torsion of the testis, renal stones is probably the most painful condition for males.
I know of a lady who got it through just taking calcium tabs in the quest to avoid the ravages of osteoporosis.
I know of a man who used calcium supplements and ended up dying of the complications cited in the powerpoint
Hants can you think of what in your life style in 1984 that brought on your attack? What have you done since to prevent another attack
I dont want to hijack the blog, but as you can see the possible complications of stones are very serious and painful.
Its very hot everywhere these days. The subtle cooling breezes that we experience on a small island might not make us think that we can be dehydrated.
Thanks for being a fan Hants LOL
Yes Well Well I respect it too. Cost a dear friend US3000 in the ER here in FL
Thank GOD NO ONE PAYS THAT SORT OF MONEY FOR A CASUALTY POLYCLINIC OR DRS VISIT IN BIM.
@ Georgie Porgie,
In 1984 I was spending a lot of time outdoors and not drinking enough water.
I also drank 3 or four litres of cold milk daily.
After the attack I stopped drinking milk and drank a lot more water instead.
Caswell
As a fellow stone sufferer, some in the current location as yours, the pulverization technique I underwent is called lithotripsy. It shocks the stones to powder.
After the last one some years back, the army sergeant recovery room nurse told me I wouldn’t find it in any of the reading material provided, but that 2+ lites of water daily heavily infused with lemon would help. [Touching wood] some years later I have had none, or if I have, they have been passed without discomfort.
3-4L/day [+ whatever other liquid you consume] has you urinating all day long? No wonder you like fishing so much!! You are likely a prime cause of ‘acid rain’ in our lakes and rivers…LOL
people all
we can learn from the experience of Hants and the experience of NorthernObserver
very instructive
GP,
I must take issue with one of your comments above ‘After torsion of the testis, renal stones is probably the most painful condition for males.{
Where do you rank gout? I guess women experience it also, but it can bring a grown man to teare…
and the reason for this statement under Mr Franklyn’s opinion of new anti violence legislation?
or the general legal liability of blogs and blogmasters like yourself?
Barbados law is similar to section 230(c) of the US Communications Decency Act =see section 23 of the Electronic Transactions Act Cap.308B
Liability of intermediaries
23.(1) An intermediary is not subject to any civil or criminal liability in respect of any information contained in an electronic record in respect of which the intermediary provides services where the intermediary
(a) was not the originator of that electronic record;
(b) has no actual knowledge that the information gives rise to civil or
criminal liability;
(c) is not aware of any facts or circumstances from which the likelihood of civil or criminal liability in respect of the information ought reasonably to have been known; or
(d) follows the procedure set out in section 24, if the intermediary
(i) acquires knowledge that the information gives rise to civil or
criminal liability, or
(ii) becomes aware of facts or circumstances from which the likelihood of civil or criminal liability in respect of the information ought reasonably to have been known.
An intermediary is not required to monitor any information contained in an electronic record in respect of which the intermediary provides services in order to establish knowledge of, or to become aware of, facts or circumstances to determine whether or not the information gives rise to civil or criminal liability.
Thanks Jeff, it. A strange world after all.
where the intermediary
(a) was not the originator of that electronic record;
all you know for sure at that ‘other blog’ is the english is so bad, and so consistently so, and the style so consistent, that whomever created one entry likely created many. And the focus so repetitive, it has to be fabricated. A fictional blog?
@NorthernObserver
Are you or anyone willing to test your theory in court?
Lol…..I suspect it’s the government and business people who collude with them who will ultimately be destroyed in all of this, because too many people have proof of what they do and it’s all criminal. The lawyers, so inclined, are already being made an example of re the book.
I know insurance regulators, worldwide have already been contacted for CGI……too many victims with evidence…..not many will escape businesses will escape scrutiny.
My advice, from government, up and down the judiciary, office of the DPP, they all need to change their modus operandi. No more ammunition for others to use.
*not many businesses will escape scrutiny.
@BU…Why waste the time or money?
I suspect even if one could find substantive proof, the defense could always plead mental instability and be within range of being successful.
The public officials commit crimes and all types of wicked wrongdoings against the taxpayers and then would have the nerve use a mental defect defense, that’s just great….I guess they will have to continue swallowing their very bitter pills of exposure and the business people who can be reported to and investigated by international agencies will just have to be more covert when conducting criminal activities while looking around to see who is watching…..I bet not one of them are comfortable now since the politicians, DPP, lawyers are all running around as though they are on fire screaming, libel, defamation, slander,…… but they have already been exposed.
It’s just a matter of time for them all.
WW&C…thread? My comments were in ref to another blogmaster/mistress and suspicions [mine] about the author[s] of blog entries. The mental capacity related to that situation.
Ok Northern…..however, my post still applies to those to whom it’s aimed.
Re ND….I don’t see Jones, the DPP, lawyers or business people getting very far pursuing the female, she would be more successfull having all of them investigated for money laundering, drug trafficking, human rights violations, human trafficking etc not to mention the abuse of children, that none of them seem to know how to handle or contain…..she appears to be in a position to really go to town on them.
A few months ago I understand she referred the name of one business man who called and threatened her from Barbados, to the FBI….lol
With or without a mental defect defense from her, the spotlight will remain on the ones in Barbados because they are now shining it on themselves..
It is sad to see after 50 years of independence and a bunch of years of dlp stuartship sorry stewardship , that Barbados has given up its title of little England to be little baltimore
@lawson
What is interesting is the observation by PM Harris that Barbados is no longer regarded as the economic model.
Not just the economic model David, In my lifetime when people talked of Barbados it was more than just money and weather, it was stability it was where a highly educated people knew right from wrong were quick to act for perceived injustices and held people accountable. Today it seems like it is all over the map. every man for himself
Reading this amended protection act pdf download now! I’m excited! Lookin good! Maybe all my shouting, crying, posting and petitioning was heard by someone somewhere! Yaaaaaay! I took some time away from reading anything related to Barbados! But this is really good news!