Submitted by William Skinner
Sir Charles 'Cow" Williams
Sir Charles ‘Cow” Williams

In the eyes of many Barbadians, you are an example of hard work and tenacity. I am also aware that you have extended many acts of charity to the lesser fortunate.

[…]

Many of your employees have spoken very positively of your labour practices. In very simple terms, you have put food on the table for a large number of families. This food was not given; it was earned as it should be.

I met you once, when I was in the company of my cousin and dearest friend, David “Joey” Harper. I recall you telling us that the rather aged Mercedes was a bit heavy on gas. My first impression was that you were a very down to earth individual and that success had not made you lose the common touch. I am certain that since that meeting a few decades ago, your wealth has increased a thousand times.

However, as a Black Barbadian, that positive impression of you has now disappeared forever. Your recent outburst and the language used in describing your employees cannot be dismissed as a “hurt” do gooder who now feels betrayed. I am convinced that you said exactly what you intended. Your description of your employees as lazy and laggards was disrespectful and uncalled for. While many will understandably rush to pardon you, I am beyond certain, that there is a pervasive anti-worker movement gaining ground in our country. I am also beyond certain that attempts are being made to destroy the trade union movement and your verbal assault falls in line with such statements that have become increasingly popular amongst the powerful white business persons.

It is obvious to those who are unafraid to confront the powerful white moguls, that you seem to see yourself as doing your essentially black workers a favour. I remind you that you could not have achieved your wealth without their labour and loyalty to your companies. You want to remind them that they came to you “barely” with clothes on their backs and now they have cars. I hasten to remind you that you came to them with one second hand tractor. Today you now own, I am told, more land than any other citizen, you have marinas, horses for your leisure and is one of the most influential and powerful citizens in our country. Quite an achievement with the help of lazy laggards!

All I am left to ask you is : Who the hell do you think you are?

289 responses to “Open Letter to Sir Charles ‘COW’ Williams”

1. Only a day after two ISIS-inspired Muslims slaughtered 14 people at a Christmas party in San Bernardino, California, Attorney General Loretta Lynch went before a Muslim advocacy group and urged Muslim parents to contact the Justice Department and the Department of Education if their children are bullied at school.

Jesse Lee Peterson, a radio host and founder of the civil rights nonprofit BOND, believes Lynch and the Obama administration have their priorities backward if they worry more about an anti-Muslim backlash than about Islamic terror at a moment like this.

“No looking out for the Americans, no looking out for the concerned citizens, but take care of the Muslims,” Peterson, author of “The Antidote,” said recently on his radio show. “Had this attack been carried out by Christians, it would be a different story.

“Obama refused to call the slaying Islamic terror. Does anybody know why? Do you need more proof of where Obama is coming from, which side of the fence he’s on?”

Peterson was echoing his WND column from last Sunday, in which he wrote the San Bernardino shooting “shows Obama, many fellow Democrats and the media clearly side with our enemies, and they refuse to stand with the American people.”

Not only did Lynch urge Muslim parents to report bullying, but in her Dec. 3 remarks before the group Muslim Advocates, she promised to “take action” against those who engage in anti-Muslim speech that “edges toward violence.”

After much backlash, Lynch assured Americans that the Justice Department prosecutes deeds, not words.

Jack Cashill, a WND columnist and author of “Scarlet Letters: The Ever-Increasing Intolerance of the Cult of Liberalism Exposed,” believes the Obama administration shares a larger goal with Muslim activists, which explains why the administration is eager to protect Muslims.

“The left has far less interest in celebrating the many colors of its ‘inclusive’ rainbow than they do in condemning those who resist the celebration,” Cashill told WND. “The White House and Muslim activists share few values, but they do share an enemy – traditional Judeo-Christian civilization. Anything they can do to undermine that civilization – making common sense a hate crime, for instance – they will do.”

Peterson, for his part, scoffed at the notion there’s going to be a wave of anti-Muslim violence because of the San Bernardino attack.

Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2015/12/black-leader-accuses-obama-of-siding-with-muslims/#dPPcxGkd4ytV9tA1.99

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It was heard on a Caribbean news feed ths morning that the date given by government for Barbados to upgrade to Republic status is Nov 2016, it’s a step in the right direction to cut ties with an archaic political system that has resulted in the strangulation of citizen’s rights.

It’s also a first step to releasing the stranglehold business people have managed to aquire on government ministers via their bribery funded intents.

3. Zoe@8.40am
    In the words of Philip Greaves,then minister of Housing,………Hogwash.Every sentence you wrote is Hogwash.

4. @Gabriel

What are you saying? That a man who has a hogette foe a pet cannot be kind? That he must see Blacks as lazy and laggards?

5. @Well Well & Consequences

Perfect! Republican status means: no more QC, PC, Sir, Madam and other titles. No more “Right Honourable” or anything like that. No more Nelson statute, British tourists and anything like that.

Frundle will be from 2017 on only “Mister Stuart”, since in a Republic everybody is equal (at least in theory). No QC, knighhood and other badges for him anymore.

Any by the way: Stopp copying the government and court system of the UK. A microstate cannot afford so many ministries and judges.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Tron….you got that right, most of the idiots, pretentious ness and pretentious titles wil be eliminated they will have no choice, under many conventions, but to legislate integrity legislation, anti-corruption laws etc etc, to put an end to the business people’s corrupt practices and the politicians who aid them.

Now if Fruendel is smart, he would rise above all the useless trappings and go down in history as the first PM to ever put the rights of the people and the country first, finally making Barbados a real player on the world stage.

It’s countdown time.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I would be more than happy to see the end of those shitty pimphood titles, sir this and dame that walking around Barbados with their heads filled with air like their shit don’t stink and can’t flush. All corrupt and all should be in prison. It is a shame that blighted legacy was unleashed on Caribbean people.

8. I am dumbfounded as to why Skinner would object to Balance terminology “cowtowing” by which he references skinners personnal interaction with Cow
    A reading of the article gives the impression that Skinner was genuine in his assesment of Cow
    Now as if wanting to distance himself from his own words he coups out with language to indicate ignorance
    Either Skinner first impression was genuine or as Balance suggest he was “cowtowing”
    In either case Skinner can’t have it both ways

9. In fact, Tron is wrong. QC would be changed to SC, and the Sir and Dame are our very own. What will not be available anymore will be MBEs, OBEs CBEs and knighthoods in those orders.

10. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Republic my ass.

The only person in our entire Westminster system trained for the job is Queen Elizabeth.

We should be replacing Parliament, not the queen. We have filled it with lying, teefin’ scum. Chase the freeloaders out of the building and turn it into a museum to yet another failed independence from colonial rule.

Another ridiculous distraction from the chaos that is gov’t mismanagement and corruption of this country. The further we get from 1966 the worst it will get.

11. @Bustopher Jones

Interesting point on “Sir” and “Dame”. If you are right on that, the usage of “Sir” and “Dame” should be forbidden, since it reflects the current political system. And “SC” does nout sound as impressive as “QC” – at least.

However, I agree with @Frustrated Businessman

that the case for this blog (racism) and the latest news (move towards republic) are only another distraction from the main problem: the Chavez/Kirchner/IMF – style economic policies which drive this island and its people into the abyss. Given the CreditSuisse loan, the lack of tax revenue, no relabelling, no celebration next year will move the economy one mm. The name of the enemy is neither COW nor Union, but those who use this island as a laboratory for their half-cooked ideas they grasped in pre-school.

12. @Frustrated 11.22a
    You have my vote on this Republic crap.Total bullshoite

13. @ ac,

What i said I meant that was my first impression of the man. Secondly, I have heard repeatedly over the years about his employment practices and to speak the truth, they were mostly positive. I don’t know what you find so difficult to understand. If I have now had to change that impression I have said so. I dont have to play semantics here. You are trying to tell me that you have never had to change your first impression of anybody. Quite frankly, I am only here to write my truth. You will note that there are people in this blog who say they know me but I dont have the priviledge of saying I know them because they choose to write under cover.

14. We need our leaders to enoucniate a vision. At the moment we are trying to chase our tails like black cats in a dark room at a minute to midnight.

15. I thought gaining ” Independence ” was the first step to Republican status ?

Wha tekkin wunna suh long ?

16. Skinner i do not find nothing difficult to understand. the difficulty however lies in principle where by u were quick to toss out the positives and rely on two words to cast a damming judgement on Cow which some what smacks of hypocrisy

17. @ ac,

What i said I meant that was my first impression of the man. Secondly, I have heard repeatedly over the years about his employment practices and to speak the truth, they were mostly positive. I don’t know what you find so difficult to understand. If I
    have now had to change that impression I have said so. I dont have to play semantics here. You are trying to tell me that you have never had to change your first impression of anybody. Quite frankly, I am only here to write my truth. You will note that there are people in this blog who say they know me but I dont have the priviledge of saying I know them because they choose to write under cover.

18. @William

You have stated your view more than once, ignore the nitpickers and agree to disagree.

What BU would ask Sir Cow is why he exacts a heavy price on his employees to purchase his land. Many of his employees from all reports have mortgaged this and the next generation to pay for land bought from him. Are these the same employees who he has described as lazy and laggards?

19. In my humble opinion,Barbados needs to scrap the Westminster System and replace it with an incorporated body to manage our financial and human resources.It will function like any other registered company and its personnel will be selected from the citizenry pool.Key officers in Finance,Accounting,Management,etc will be hired by contract and subject to a review performance appraisal.All checks and balances as found in any well organized company will be a sine qua non.Rules of engagement and disengagement will be adhered to and non compliance will be appropriately dealt with.No more of the bull that passes for the Westminster system will be tolerated.It can be done with some serious thinking.Structures and institutions as currently exist will remain where necessary to the good governance of the country.Private enterprise will be encouraged like never before.

20. David instead of trying to extract and impose your thoughts on others comments.it would be best to understand that in a democracy everyone has a right and a privilege to give differing views critical or complimentary
    Also on the issue of how Cow transacs his businesses with the employees .The purpose of a captalist system is to encourage a profit margin while on the other hand gives the customer a fair advantage of making alternative choices well within there “means” or financial status

21. Mr. Skinner changing one minds incorporates a discipline that demands a through investigation of all facts
    Not a cow towing of what is popular

22. @ the Blogmaster

You stated/asked? a pertinent observation/question…”What BU would ask Sir Cow is why he exacts a heavy price on his employees to purchase his land…?”

The answer lies in what de ole man calls “De Many Faces of Slavery” reminiscent of the “The Many Faces of Eve”.

Contrary to popular opinion “slavery” does not need manacles and a whip and the type of treatment enforced by whites as described by Olaudah Equiano in The Interesting Narrative and Other Writings.

Contrary to what Lawson and others here may want to accept, let de ole man give you slavery.

Michael ** accomplished organist, writer of music, speechologist (dat is a feller who is very articulate) and employee of ** Funeral Home in St Michael.

An accomplished man with one vice – Alleyne Arthur.

Employed for maybe *x years with Ole Man ** and due to retire so many years has a swig too many one night, writes off one of the insured taxis that he is driving AND, during his inebriated state, is made to sign a document stating that he will pay x hundred dollars a month out of his already depressed salary (euphemish for slave waves) for the rest of his days AND THAT HE WILL GIVE UP HIS ENTITLEMENTS TO OLE MAN ** to pay for the car!!

Wunna unnerstan de ole man?

In one act of illegality, much like the so called kindnesses of Sir Cow de Emancipator of de labourers wid one shirt pun dem back, jes slightly removed from he brudda dat give 2 million shares to he set uh niggers, Ole man Bryan, ooops i din mean to expose he name, enslaved that black man of so many accomplishments AND, doah de ole man is dead NEIL inherit de bill of goods ovah de chattel

SO wunna see whu really going on in Bulbados?? Which politician wid $5,000,000 smackeroos in he mudda account give a shy.te bout Michael **

Looka unna gots to be glad dat de ole man ent bout 50 years younger and din no explosives and ordinance man yuh causing Guy Fawkes may hah had competition WHEN DE RIOTS DEM start.

It may not be slavery causing de physical violence ent deah (unlessing you counting de fella who pop shot in Highgate at a nex nigga) but it real close to Indentured servitude, whu you tink??

23. Some time ago I suggested that Barbados has a system of voluntary apartheid (an Afrikaans word meaning “apartness”, or “the state of being apart”.

This has prevented a violent revolution /uprising and an acceptance of the inequitable distribution of wealth and power.

Cattlewash……River Bay. Doan worry….be happy

Bòttomline….Cow uses his questionably obtained land, in others words….land that am sure other people hold TITLE DEEDS FOR, that is if most of the old black people the land was stolen from are not all dead and gone, and then Cow turns right around and sells this acquired land at inflated prices to his employees, who would never make enough money to finish pay for ‘Cows’ land. This dude has a lot more talking to do before satan knocks on his door.

The politicians who enabled this for decades are the worst type of beasts.

25. @Hants

Remind us what Owen Arthur asked Sir COW to stop doing again?

26. Republicanism is not a matter of life or death if the people endorse it great if the don’t then hey that’s great. Frustrated Businessmen is either Bizzy a Cow family member or Cow’s pimp. Cow was out of order and is lucky he lives in an incredibly tolerant society. We are so tolerant that in the 21st century Cow’s minority ethnic tribe still maintains a vice lock on the economy.

The finance stranglehold by a handful of Caucasian bigots in a majority black country is immoral on every count. The Uncle Toms and successive governments who are cowed and afraid to bell the cat are partly to blame. The powerful outside players in North America and Europe also share blame. Were we to take steps to put Cow and his racist klan in their place the white developed capitalist states would come down on us like a hydrogen bomb.

Make no mistake about it. Tourism would disappear before you could say Yankee go Home. In other words we are caught in a bind and the Cows of this world may not be book bright but they were raised on the notion of divide and rule and know where the real world power rests. Cow should be roundly cursed by Bajans who subscribe to fair play and universal human rights for all. Government must gradually cut back on the contracts that have made he, Bizzy and their mates wealthy and disrespectful. People and government must give more business and patronage to black enterprises. Everything should done lawfully no compulsory acquisition of Apes Hill or Williams Industries. The white world is watching. Trust me on that

27. Yes there are crooks thieves and scalliwags thriving within the captalist system .However there are checks and balances that affords all to reject or accept
    The fact that a consumer would opt to choose acceptance of a price that is out of their financial reach has nothing to do with slavery but a consumer who fails to take the necesssry precautions to protect and secure their financial security

28. @wating aka In and Out

How will cutting back on contracts to Bizzy and Cow be possible if ministers Inniss and Kellman are in the media this week lavishing high praise.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Did I not say on here that Frustrated Businessman was sounding off key, someone already said a few times it was bizzy, he could not stop himself when he heard about a date for republic status fof Barbados, all he has to do is try and stop it, since it frightens him to his core.

Does he really think that Elizabeth Windsor of buckingham palace cares about his inbred ass, they did not care for his ancestors and Barbadosed them, because they have become petty thieves like their ancestors, why should she care now. All Windsor cares about right now is getting rid of parasites, since they are parasites themselves, pretending to do what is politically correct, since they are civil servants and come up smelling like a rose while trying to hold on their delusional superiority. Cow and bizzy will have to scratch their asses once the politicians stop enabling their nasty behaviors.

30. @ David it seems that no one on BU saw the “relevance” of a Prime Minister” asking a white citizen to stop buying up land because it was “causing problems among the population.

31. The timing of Bizzy’s gift of shares to his employees is brilliant.

The future looks good for desalination plants.

32. Bizzy’s white hardware store manager “washed a BLACK CUSTOMER in LICKS,” and what was Bizzy’s response to this situation? The manager maintained his job, with Bizzy stating the manager was a bit frustrated on that day.

What was the response of black people to this issue?

Only ONE man turned up on “protest day” to protest in front of the hardware store and black people CONTINUE to PATRONIZE the business to this day.

33. Remember, a few years ago, Bizzy said after he married the black, beautiful and voluptuous Shelly, he was alienated by his white friends and was no longer invited to their parties.

34. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@David,

I sent yesterday’S column by email this morning.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Art……black people can be treacherous asses and both bizzy and cow et al, know this very well.

36. Thanks Jeff, will put it up shortly.

37. @Well Well & Consequences December 14, 2015 at 6:26 PM #

Chuckle……..the best weathercock post I have seen,she has got to be the greatest spinner from both directions……wuhloss…….take a bow.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vince boy….you are not equipped to even swing in one direction. Is De Word still pouting.

39. What really matters:

Barbados is now no. 57 on the Human Development Index 2015 (report released on 14th Dec.), behind countries like Saudi Arabia. Some years before Barbados was amongst the top 30.

People in this forum should not forget that it was neither COW nor the unions to start a full-scale attack in Chavez-style on Barbadian economy, a redistribution of wealth from the middle-class to the bureaucracy, but the lawyer from London, his disciple and their tubby economist.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Back to the lawyers again. Too many of them can be blamed for the current state of the island, because too many of them are politicians without any soul. When Satan is ready to collect Cow’s et al soul, I hope they know that they too will pay the piper in some form, these are demons who go to church regularly, read their bibles and sing lustily.

41. “Hants December 13, 2015 at 5:10 PM #

David wrote “Why doesn’t Bizzy tell Sir Cow to apologize ”

COW should not apologize for saying how he feels about his black employees at Apes Hill.”

Has the Honourable Speaker of the highest court in the land ever apologised to Nation and his client for bringing the office of the Speakership into disrepute for withholding the funds of the client he was hired to represent.

SIr Cow got the opportunity to express what was within and now he is pilloried for his honesty. Those of us who cowtow to the likes of Sir Cow should be grateful to Sir Cow for letting us know how his true feelings about us despite the false impression of a very down to earth individual whose success had not made him lose the common touch.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah…..it’s true Balance, had Cow not open his ugly trap, black Bajans would continue to pretend they don’t know how he feels about them.

Now Cow………tell us how you really feel about black people.

43. @WW&C

Your fifteen minutes of gibberish has expired on this subject you need to shut your trap

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…….have you no shame, everything I say, you wait for 6 hours and then repeat it like the true parrot that you are. Do you not have an originl opinion to offer the BU folk? Although I am flattered that even you see sense in my posts and have no choice put to regurgitate, I will not even label you a thief or plagiarist. ..lol

Be careful of what you repeat next from my posts or there just may be grounds for Adriel Brathwaite to get rid of you as one of DBLP’S insipid yardfowls..lol

45. @Ww&C

No way did you make such a correlation.In the midst of the subject you unloaded a truck load of gibberish without having facts or evidence
    Still waiting for facts or law that would verify where Employers must show benelovence to their employees .
    Another truck load of shit which u dumped on BU

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC………from now on every time you copy from my posts, I will highlight it. I will be watching you going forward.

47. Violet C Beckles Avatar

He , COW got rich by way of Fraud , not paid for the land he used sold from Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles, no more free land now he crying broke as Bajans paid VAT 15% for over 18years that went in to his pockets, NOTHING BUT A WHITE NIGGER ON HIS WAY OUT, ANOTHER CROOK , LIAR AND SCUMBAG, ,,,, DO YOUR OWN WORK YOU CROOK,LETS SEE THE PLANTATION DEEDS OF CLEAR TITLE YOU ARE TO OWN ,
    YOU NAME NOT ON THEM,

48. What is in a person has to come out at some time, Cow is behaving true to form, typical white fraud who thinks he can treat black people as he likes because he has a dollar, pretending to like them or thinks he can buy them. I have no uses for these white DOGS; I am only sorry that the workers didn’t burst his son’s ass for hitting that worker with the car.
    Workers stick to what you believe in; don’t mind how much clothes he put on your backs.

49. I bet you whenever Cow dead,more black people will be present at the funeral than ‘red’ people never mind none of them were ever invited to his home or to his parties.The reds will wear simple clothes the blacks will wear 4 piece suits.Black people just won’t remove their blinkers and see the facts of life which stare them in the face.Go and observe for yourselves the type of weddings’ or funerals’ paraphernalia which obtain generally involving the ethnic groups in Barbados.Blacks are buried in ‘houses’ when a shroud can do it for the disposal of all bodies whether by cremation,which is recommended as the more hygienic,or interment.I see some of our more enlightened simply carry on with the disposal ceremony privately and then publish a notice in the newspaper.The way to go.Tremendous savings all around.A family affair really.One day bajans will grow up.Meanwhile a funeral home own nearly all of Belleville