Open Letter to Sir Charles ‘COW’ Williams

Submitted by William Skinner
Sir Charles 'Cow" Williams

Sir Charles ‘Cow” Williams

In the eyes of many Barbadians, you are an example of hard work and tenacity. I am also aware that you have extended many acts of charity to the lesser fortunate.

[…]

Many of your employees have spoken very positively of your labour practices. In very simple terms, you have put food on the table for a large number of families. This food was not given; it was earned as it should be.

I met you once, when I was in the company of my cousin and dearest friend, David “Joey” Harper. I recall you telling us that the rather aged Mercedes was a bit heavy on gas. My first impression was that you were a very down to earth individual and that success had not made you lose the common touch. I am certain that since that meeting a few decades ago, your wealth has increased a thousand times.

However, as a Black Barbadian, that positive impression of you has now disappeared forever. Your recent outburst and the language used in describing your employees cannot be dismissed as a “hurt” do gooder who now feels betrayed. I am convinced that you said exactly what you intended. Your description of your employees as lazy and laggards was disrespectful and uncalled for. While many will understandably rush to pardon you, I am beyond certain, that there is a pervasive anti-worker movement gaining ground in our country. I am also beyond certain that attempts are being made to destroy the trade union movement and your verbal assault falls in line with such statements that have become increasingly popular amongst the powerful white business persons.

It is obvious to those who are unafraid to confront the powerful white moguls, that you seem to see yourself as doing your essentially black workers a favour. I remind you that you could not have achieved your wealth without their labour and loyalty to your companies. You want to remind them that they came to you “barely” with clothes on their backs and now they have cars. I hasten to remind you that you came to them with one second hand tractor. Today you now own, I am told, more land than any other citizen, you have marinas, horses for your leisure and is one of the most influential and powerful citizens in our country. Quite an achievement with the help of lazy laggards!

All I am left to ask you is : Who the hell do you think you are?

289 thoughts on “Open Letter to Sir Charles ‘COW’ Williams

1. @Zoe

Here is what I gleaned from those countries in Africa with significant Christian populations, I saw countries which were under the thumb of the European colonizers which further proves that a Bible in one hand and a gun in the other worked.

2. @ David, trust this, that was posted earlier, will suffice to answer your question!

The Explosion of Christianity in Africa

In the twentieth century, Christianity in Africa exploded from an estimated population of eight or nine million in 1900 (8 to 9%) to some 335 million in 2000 (45%), marking a shift in the “center of gravity of Christianity” from the West to Latin America, parts of Asia and Africa. We thank the Overseas Ministries Study Center (OMSC) for the information and material used in this issue. Statistical information provided by David Barrett.

At the turn of the 20th century, Christianity was virtually nonexistent in many parts of Africa but is now the faith of the majority, as the following figures demonstrate:

3. Sargeant December 19, 2015 at 11:35 AM #
    @Zoe

Here is what I gleaned from those countries in Africa with significant Christian populations, I saw countries which were under the thumb of the European colonizers which further proves that a Bible in one hand and a gun in the other worked.

The FACTS of recent times, and today, are not dealing with the European colonizers, and if those EC of the Slave trade era had guns in one hand and the Bible in the other, they were NOT true Christians, just MASQUERADING under the banner of Christianity.

One cannot have a GUN in one hand, claiming to be a Christians, as some of the colonizing did, NOT true Christians AT ALL!

4. Zoe

You’re wrong in your analysis of European Christianity because it is well documented that Christianized Europe objected to the Atlantic Slave Trade, but slave traders mind you, convinced Christianized Europe that African people were less than human; subhuman to be more exacted. And this erroneous pronouncement made it possible for the evil institution of slavery to flourish unimpeded for centuries in the Caribbean and the Americas.

Now for further exploration on this topic, you can read one of Sir Arthur Lewis books, of which he elaborated in detail as to the reasons the Atlantic- Slave-Trade was allowed flourished in the amidst Christianized Europe.

5. Dompey December 19, 2015 at 12:07 PM #
    Zoe

“You’re wrong in your analysis of European Christianity because it is well documented that Christianized Europe objected to the Atlantic Slave Trade, but slave traders mind you, convinced Christianized Europe that African people were less than human; subhuman…”

“Now for further exploration on this topic, you can read one of Sir Arthur Lewis books, of which he elaborated in detail as to the reasons the Atlantic- Slave-Trade was allowed flourished in the amidst Christianized Europe.”

BTW Dompey, who are you referring to as ‘European Christianity’? Please clarify?

6. @Zoe December 19, 2015 at 11:27 AM #

I find it passing strange that you can bring verifiable facts on historical events,for which I compliment you and yet lapse into to the realm of mumbo jumbo with visitations,revelations and time travel to justify some myth foisted on the western masses by the Romans 1800 odd years ago…..interesting.

7. Zoe
    What I am trying to say is the fact that Europe did not just accepted the enslavement of the African people at face-value, a convincing argument had to be made in support of this evil institution because as you well know: the notion of enslaving any human being collided with the European Christian ideal at the time.

8. The Art of Misdirection

“Misdirection is a form of deception in which the attention of an audience is focused on one thing in order to distract its attention from another. Managing the audience’s attention is the aim of all theater, it is the foremost requirement of theatrical magic.”

Whu dis article bout again?

Ohhhhhhh, open Letter to Sir Cow Williams a good friend of Zoe.

I will bet the remainder of de ole man days that if de Blogmaster open a Blog her ONLY FOR ZOE for all “the Lords Words”, Zoe wan not gine stand in dat pasture and eat the Word of God by heself.

“And Jesus answering said unto them, Render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s. And they marvelled at him…

Whu COW senile racist remarks about his employees having “nothing but the shirt pun dem back when they came to work for his massa donkey and peeple stating so here got to do with “the Explosion of Christianity in Africa?”

Wunna does tek de Word of the Lord and let people get reason to hate to hear it , jes like if it is ISIS or Ebola or HIV Aids, peeple does hate tuh see wunna or take comfort in the comfort of His Word and Promise!!

To put it crudely there is no mention in the New Testament of Jesus going to the toilet….it is not pertinent/germane to what is being presented in the Word of the Lord as is this being here.

It is of you dabblers in the word of GOD that Amos says “21 I hate, I despise your feast days, and I will not smell in your solemn assemblies. 22 Though ye offer me burnt offerings and your meat offerings, I will not accept them: neither will I regard the peace offerings of your fat beasts. 23 Take thou away from me the noise of thy songs; for I will not hear the melody of thy viols…”

You are like Legion (the real one rather the parent) when you continuously use The Word of the Lord to spew out His Word in defense of the reprehensible…

9. Vincent Haynes December 19, 2015 at 12:28 PM #
    @Zoe December 19, 2015 at 11:27 AM #

I find it passing strange that you can bring verifiable facts on historical events,for which I compliment you and yet lapse into to the realm of mumbo jumbo with visitations,revelations and time travel to justify some myth foisted on the western masses by the Romans 1800 odd years ago…..interesting.

VH, what you refer to as “…the realm of mumbo jumbo…” can be discerned very carefully and critically, separating the myth from the FACTS, verifiable by historical events…its just that you have chosen not to want to truly consider the TRUTH…also very interesting!!!

10. To the BU ‘Intelligensia’ those who are well qualified academically, be it Law, Economics, what ever, let it be known, that Intellectualism, does not grant an automatic path-way to an understanding of spiritual truth, specifically as it relates to God’s Word, the Bible.

Yes, God does not bypass the intellect, but, one must first come to God by Faith, then He allows the intellect which is first OPENED by Faith, to begin to grasp and understand the things of God, which otherwise remain as foolishness to the unregenerate mind!

Credo, ut Intelligam, ‘I believe in order that I might understand.’ Anselm’s statement of his premise concerning the relationship of faith and reason from Proslogion, 1; a conscious echo of Augustine’s Crede, ut Intelligas!

11. Credo, ut Intelligam, ‘I believe in order that I might understand.’

wow! UT WITH THE SUBJUNCTIVE! LOL MURDAH

12. ZOE TALK YA TALK MAN
    DONT LET DAT BIBLE ILLITERATE STOP YOU FROM POSTING
    AT LAST YOU ARE COHERENT AND INTELLIGENT IN WHAT YOU SAY AND ONE DOES NOT HAVE TO WADE THROUGH A LOAD OF WAFFLE AND IRRELEVANCE TO TRY TO UNDERSTAND THE BOVINE EXCREMENT HE EFFLUXES AND EXUDES HERE

13. @ Georgie Porgie

I expected you to come to the rescue of the damsel in distress, I bet you would have come and swear upon the Soul of The Living GOD it was in my fingers as I wrote to Zoe.

I stay away from medicine, other than Bush Tea, or subject where I have had personal experience, like appendicitis, goadies, things like that, Cricket, because it seems to epitomize in living colour the repetitive and oftimes clearly incompetent levels of decision making that besieges Caribbean efforts to say to the World, “we are here”

A past wife called all this regional posturing among we island people “a clear reflection of how small dicked men attempt to make up for our physical inadequacies and seek to show “our” prowess (observe the use of the plural pronoun) in things global, Cricket LIAT etc.

You are a bitter man who holds a grudge long but I understand you and your comfort zones,

You are a bright bajan, by your own lengthy submission, scorned in Barbados, going to distant climes, achieving financial independence, but little social/political acumen in that clime, a fate that attends many who leave the Rock, we go north to “fortune and fame”, and find ourselves victims of “wraith-like existences”, neither Canadian, Brit, American because we are true, yet displaced patriots, but still not accepted in the place of our birth.

We are like babies born on planes or on board a liner at see in international waters.

Couple that with the fact that we are dying, aware of that death when each day as we rise and sit on the skeleton, no longer covered in muscles and fat (do your doctor thing bout lipides and ting) irrelevant ants.

So like you I come and give a little encouragement to cybernet causes cause de form cant take the harshness of physical encounter no more.

As a prerequisite for your medical studies you would have had at least 4 years at secondary school in Bim to regurgitate the nomative, vocative, accusative, genitive dative and ablative for the first 2 years and, by virtue of your immediate recognition of the native sentence, 2 more to have mastered the topic.

My point older (yet not wiser man) than Zoe is that “thou understandeth what thou readeth” unlike this pretend Christian who (i) copies and pastes from other tomes and (ii) rises to defend at occasions where he should be silent.

@ Zoe

Again I will say this to you hopeful that your defender the disillusioned doctor will keep his clap trap shut

2 Samuel 12

“Wherefore hast thou despised the commandment of the Lord, to do evil in his sight? thou hast killed Uriah the Hittite with the sword, and hast taken his wife to be thy wife, and hast slain him with the sword of the children of Ammon.”

What Sir Cow did was wrong and you are defending and alternatively running interference on behalf of this man for what is unpardonable act, WITH THE WORD OF THE LORD !!!

14. Whuloss from the Fraudulent Bible Thumper sorry Saint, he who would defend COW with the Bible, through Servant and self appointed saviour (purposed lower case) he who can can more than likely read the Bible in Latin and, based on the year that he attended a specific Bajan school, possibly even speak Greek to simpleton of the group Stupid, Stupider and Stupidest, the very being in the Bible of whom this tale speaks – One Legion AC!!

We have come full circle all we need now is the Rapture to complete this unholy triune of Zoe, GP and AC..whuloss.

• @PUDRYR

What Sir COW et al are reacting badly to is those uppity Blacks who are able to vent their spleen at will via social media and there is not one thing they can do about it.

15. David December 19, 2015 at 3:55 PM #
    @PUDRYR

What Sir COW et al are reacting badly to is those uppity Blacks who are able to vent their spleen at will via social media and there is not one thing they can do about it.

YEAH the uppity Blacks are able to vent their spleen at will via social media but there is not one thing they can do about ANYTHING HAPPENING IN BIM. aH LIE?

everything continues thE same, MORE OR LESS. IN FACT THINGS ARE WORSE aH LIE?

zoe
    CONTINUE TO RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH
    CUT AND PASTE TO YOUR HEARTS CONTENT
    ENJOY YOUR SELF

SIGNED the disillusioned doctor

16. iT SEEMS THAT ZOE IS WILLING TO DIE TRYING TOO aH LIE?

AT LEAST HE CHOSES RELEVANT SCRIPTURES IN HIS ARGUEMENTS

AND THINGS ARE DFINITELY CHANGING IN BARBADOS-AND ELSEWHERE- FOR THE WORSE!

17. GP…some things re thiefing speaker of the house Michael Carrington being shamed through social media for stealing the disabled man’s money, he paid it back only through being shamed island wide, across the region and in North America where many people read these posts.

Quite recently, empty headed Sandiford-Garner quickly made sure the folks of St. Andrew got temporary relief after sitting on her ass for over a year blaming DBLP who was in for 14 years and did nothing and forgetting DBLP who have been in for 7 years and had to be shamed into doing something to alleviate the people of St. Andrew’s misery. Check out today’s unline news to see the clowns posing in photo op in St. Andrew. Those two are just a couple of positive changes that have occured, there are more.. Certain things in the Supreme Court are also taking a turn for the better, because of the exposure on social media. Nothing will change if we don’t speak out.

Shaming the pokiticians into doing their jobs did not change their petty ways however, they are still assigning blame jn their slimy, petty political ways. Social mefia is working change is alwsys slow, but sure. Many of the viciously evil, do not want their friends and family in North America, Europe etc reading of their wicked acts in Barbados and the Caribbean.

18. @David December 19, 2015 at 4:24 PM #

Even if nothing changes in Barbados we will die trying.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….

Trying to do What?

What is the cause that needs dying for……who/what needs defending?

This time both Zoe and GP are making sense…..except for the Biblical claptrap.

19. Well Well & Consequences December 19, 2015 at 4:36 PM #

ALTHOUGH WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS TRUE, THINGS CONTINUE TO CHANGE FOR THE WORSE STILL

• @Vincent

Surely you appreciate the ideal to attain wholesome living does not occur by accident. We are all small particles of a living organism and what we do at the local level will affect the system as a whole. If you want to do nothing that is your prerogative.You are free to adopt the role of onlooker.

On 19 December 2015 at 20:53, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. Yeah GP….you spray 2 roaches and a few thousand more appear, just like German roaches, you have to keep spraying.

21. @ PUDRYR

“What Sir Cow did was wrong and you are defending and alternatively running interference on behalf of this man for what is unpardonable act, WITH THE WORD OF THE LORD !!!”

I say to you Sir, as an obviously well educated man, that your are IGNORANT, or at best a FOOL, re the contextual linkage of my recent posts, to the COW Williams incident, and the racists remarks by blacks, blaming the white man for their sorry plight. Because the antecedent cause, historically, in Africa was crass Idolatry, and it WAS Blacks in Africa who;

Historians estimate that ten million of these abducted Africans “never even made it to the slave ships. Most died on the march to the sea”—still CHAINED, YOKED, and SHACKLED by their African captors—before they ever laid eyes on a white slave trader.

The survivors were either purchased by European slave dealers or “INSTANTLY BEHEADED” by the African traders “in sight of the [slave ship] captain” if they could not be sold. Of course, the even more horrific and inhuman middle passage—the voyage of a European (and later American) slave ship from Africa to the Western Hemisphere—still lay before those who had survived the forced trek to the coast.
    – See more at: http://historynewsnetwork.org

Therefore, oh learned one, you who profess to the WISE, became a FOOL!

And as the Word of God declares on those of your ilk:

“But if anyone (like you PUDRYR) is IGNORANT, let him be IGNORANT.” ( 1 Cor. 14: 38) Emphasis added.

22. “…and the racists remarks by blacks, blaming the white man for their sorry plight.”
    Shiite…
    Zoe is still at it?

What the hell are ‘racists remarks’? comments about racists?
    …and who exactly are ‘blaming’ whites for the plight of Blacks?
    …and what ‘Whites’ what? …
    ‘Whites’ are cricket colours….Did you mean albinos ..as in ‘Blacks’ minus melanin ?

BLACKS are to blame for every shiite that is wrong on this earth because, as typified by Vincent, being the ORIGINAL HUMAN prototype created by God to ‘subdue and manage this Earth’, we have adopted an attitude of brass bowlery ..and looked around to copy all other kinds of shiite philosophies …most recently that of the albino clans – a philosophy BUILT upon greed, selfishness and materialism.

What some of us here have been doing is highlighting the ROLES that wunna albinos have played in taking advantage of, and facilitating that Black brass bowlery. However you are probably correct that wunna should not be BLAMED… After all THAT is wunna natural nature.

Imagine a man starts a business 50 years ago …broke, and with one old tractor. In the interim, he amasses a huge fortune – while his employees -who are the ACTUAL ones that ‘moved the earth to please’, barely manages to get by from payday to payday. Meanwhile, his various related albino families are all millionaires; all endowed with the finest luxuries that life offers; to the extent that he is on BBC bragging about how rich he has become…
    …and here he is ..pissing vex because the workers have decided to join a union…?

No one is BLAMING COW …or even you….
    Just pointing out the NATURE of wunna types…

As you were advised, you would do well to drop this particular topic and stick with quoting scriptures …even those that you do not understand.

23. @ BT, Master Brassbowler,

“BLACKS are to blame for every shiite that is wrong on this earth because, as typified by Vincent, being the ORIGINAL HUMAN prototype created by God to ‘subdue and manage this Earth’, we have adopted an attitude of brass bowlery ..and looked around to copy all other kinds of shiite philosophies …most recently that of the albino clans – a philosophy BUILT upon greed, selfishness and materialism.”

“….and looked around to copy all other kinds of shiite philosophies … ”

Yes, BT- Master Brassbowler, this IS* exactly what you have done…after all, anyone who could declare right here on BU, as you Brasbowler DID, “I WILL BE GOD…” would have to be copying all other KINDS of SHIITE philosophies,

“I WILL BE GOD” Now that is BRASSBOWLERY Shiite philosophy!!! BIG TIME!!!!

BTW, did you get that Shiite philosophy from your ancient ancestors? I’m sure, that not even in their crass Idolatry, did they believe that they would be “I WILL BE GOD”

They would be ashamed of you!!! 🙂

24. Zoe needs to imagine all the land Cow stole from poor black people, armed with a bible and low class, lowlife lawyers in Barbados, forget all the drivel about slavery, Cow is thief.

25. @Well Well & Consequences December 19, 2015 at 8:24 PM #

Cuddear….chuckle……muh gal….tieffing land been gine on long time bout here…..and nuff ah dem pigment was we wun.

The same way you purport to know the skulldogery in Bim,I also know the ins and outs of stealing land in Bim by our own complexion and one of these days I may post them.

26. @Bush Tea December 19, 2015 at 7:08 PM #

Skippah….wuh yuh callin muh name fuh…..Brassness is not the sole perogative of the melanin poor(stop calling them albinos,because they are not and you are being disrespectfull)….facts are facts.

27. @ Zoe
    Why does it piss you off so much that a BLACK yard-boy – like Bushie, will be born again into BBE’s glorious family? Is that even worse than COW’s employees joining a union?

Yuh mean you actually believed that shiite about ‘White’ superiority….?
    …SURELY a man of your reading and intellect would have seen that to be nothing but empty, racist propaganda…

Wuh compared to wunna albinos …Bushie is ALREADY a god of a sort…. being of the ORIGINAL specimen from which wunna albinos evolved by defective genealogy…
    So what is hard to believe about what Jesus SPECIFICALLY promised about going to prepare a place – a MANSION in his father’s house…for the BBE boys?

What happen? … your ‘Trinity’ says otherwise?

You issues seem to extend well beyond the lack of melanin yuh… 🙂

28. @ Vincent
    Wait bozie …only one dog name ‘Bob’? 🙂
    … but if a cap fits… feel free to put um on…
    LOL LOL
    ha ha
    What is disrespectful Boss?
    What the hell is an albino?

The truth would set EVEN YOU free….
    You see pure, clean WHITE… to be respected, loved, kowtowed to, and modelled..
    Bushie sees defective melanin condition… with a selfish, defective materialistic predisposition to be rejected.

Guess what the science says….

29. @Vincent, the point is that COW is the chief scallywag and rogue. And to boot, he is white, flaunts his great wealth and at 80+ apparently still has the vim sans viagra or not to enjoy a lovely, younger wife. He leff most of in the dust even at the most basic level!!!

Now tell me, wha stories bout some local Bajan with dark pigment or lots of melanin, to use your phraseology, can you produce that can compete wid that COW story-line?
    Unless de fella or peoples real ‘sexy’ – in the public loves information type of way – you gen lost to WW@C.

That’s just life…we are really interested in those who are bigger than life itself (COWs, Trumps) or those who pretend they are (Kardashians, all entertainment types).

COW is an easy target too.

Despite the upside he brings to the table he also does some real shiirte though. This Apes Hill ting (unnecessarily contentious work conditions/disputes) is one of the real shiirte types.

30. @Bush Tea December 19, 2015 at 9:01 PM #

Lordy,lordy….misoganyst par exelance….yuh bouy when yuh gine larn or unstan….Albinism is a defect,lepfrosy is a defect,cancer is a defect….the defect lies in the genes…..sorry to say that your BBE does not always get it right.

You,Zoe&GP are all from the same pod.

31. @ Vincent
    That will always be your ondoing seeing everything as black&white.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    black&white?
    …do you mean “black and various levels of genetic alterations”?
    Skippa…
    Bushie is ONLY going by the VERY LATEST scientific research. If you are still reading the KKK literature on race you may need to get off this topic too yuh…

Listen.
    Bushie has a whacker…..which is not a respecter of shiite.
    Bushie cares NOT who is offended by the TRUTH….. a whacker whacks every shiite…good and bad, …the good grass is resilient and comes back even better….
    …the thorns and weeds die….

As to the bushman’s ‘ondoing’…
    IF IT WERE POSSIBLE, then any shiite could ‘ondo’ Bushie
    IF IT WERE POSSIBLE, the ‘enemy’ would mash up the whacker long ago….
    IF IT WERE POSSIBLE….even the very elect of God would be deceived in these times…

32. I have just stumbled across a term which I have never heard of: Grand corruption.

How many of you guys and gals can honestly say that you have encountered this term before? I can guarantee that those who govern us and those organisations who do business in Barbados are familiar with this term as they have being practising grand corruption over a very long period.

So let us drop from our lexicon “greasing of the palm” or using the simple word “corruption” to describe events in Barbados. We are now living in an era of “Grand corruption”.

David you use to have a site entitled “Rogue’s gallery”. You may be interested in the method used by the organisation below to unmask the corrupt. Could you do something similar on your site?

https://unmaskthecorrupt.org/#section-contest

@ David,

I am surprised that you have given a platform to a journalist who writes for The Barbados Advocate and is a Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies. You have produced a blog which is controversial, revelatory and a thorn in the side of your government and an unsavoury Barbadian elite.

So why having built such a platform do you risk undermining it with the inclusion of a man who has two plumb posts? A person who is highly unlikely to undermine his social standing by writing anything that is critical of the state or the ruling classes.

I am at a lost.

33. @de Ingrunt Word December 19, 2015 at 9:04 PM #

This entire situation has been misrepresented and taken out of context…..listen to the original tape…..I grew up in the plantation/factory structure and found nothing he said out of the bajan norm.

34. @Vincent, please tell me that after all of this time that you do understand that Bushie loves to be antagonistic on the blog. Was it you or another blogger who accurately described the Bush Man as ‘neologistic’.

Don’t get tie up on a good drink of Bush Tea…it’s suppose to be a cleanser not so.

Bushie is fixated on purging us of our current models/paradigms…or whacking, as he puts it.

You gotta love his still keen eye into his elder years and his conviction on his innovative words and concepts. Imagine what he might have done if he started his BBE and Bowl fervor soon after he left you up in Waterford.

Oh my lawd…generations of brass upended. LOLLL.

35. misoganyst par exelance
    What the hell!!! did you mean “misogynist”
    So what gives you the idea now that Bushie hates women? 🙂
    …and of course these things are defects…. duhh!! what don’t you get?

• @Exclaimer

How can BU claim to be a paragon of free speech and proceed to stymie the views of others? Do you think there is merit in the expectation that for change to occur one must have a voice at the table?

36. @Vincent at 9:16 PM. That I will have to do, but realistically I suspect that the narrative here is less focused on that specifically as it is centered on COW in general. This was just the match that provided the brief spark to ignite an explosion already well built.

It’s impossible to have a rational discourse about COW or Bizzy for some people in BIM. You know that well I am sure.

As I said he has great upsides but for many like WW&C his original downsides are so egregious that even if he gave away every cent (save some retirement $$) to Black bajans he would still be a scalywag and rogue.

We know he ain’t doing that. So…dog dead, not so!

37. Vincent…………, no one is disputing that ‘we color” as you said steal land, but they did not steal ALL the damn land and go up to England on BBC lying about being “the richest” man in Barbados, failing to mention to the BBC presenter that he is known in Barbados as the biggest land thief. At least the black land thieves and many of us know who they are, are smart enough to keep their mouth shut and don’t boast. So now you need to tell me which of the black land thieves you know, you said you have names, go on TV, boasting.

See Vincent…that’s how you always get into trouble…lol

38. @David at 9:29 PM, seems to me that @Exclaimer’s narrative can be perfectly located in the ‘political correctness’ blog.

Just as there is no more place in the minds of the ‘advant gard’ students for discussion about historical figures who were benefactors of higher learning (ironic of course) but men of ‘ill repute’; there is no room here for anyone with a view supposedly different from the activists of change.

Re the other blog: should Rhodes scholars feel ashamed that they gained an education on the backs of Black Africans from the bequeath of Cecil Rhodes. I never did one iota of research on the man but surely every 8,000+ applicant for that scholarship did.

As venomous as this man must have been – to have his statute removed – surely then these scholars MUST be establishing monetary funds to repay those scholarship monies to African students from whom the original monies were stolen eons ago.

Surely Excaimer can appreciate the Grand Irony of that situation.

…The more things change…the more they remain the same!

39. @ WW&C
    Vincent gave himself away when he admitted that ” I grew up in the plantation/factory structure and found nothing he said out of the bajan norm.”

In other words, he spent his whole life being treated as a yardboy, and it has become the norm to him. He is now accustomed to being cussed and reminded how lucky he is that he can no longer be tarred and feathered…. and he is REALLY appreciative.

…but NOT stinking Bushie 🙂

40. De Word…All Cow has to do, if he wants, to is show some respect to the people of Barbados, without whom, he would still be a poor bajan, he could not do it by himself. Fanatics like Zoe are always on here talking on and on about this stuff….”for all have sinned and come short of the glory of God”………..according to them having all the paper money in the world don’t matter, but I am yet to here one of them say that Cow needs to can the arrogance, admit and accept his shortcomings.

I could care less if he keeps all his wealth or gave it all away, I have seen too many of them come and go, some would give away all their wealth if they could just draw one last breath, or stop the cancer from eating them alive, or stop the pain. Cow is nowhere near that class of people or have their wealth and there was nothing they could do but accept their fate. Wealth is over-rated.

41. The Bushman……Vincent blows hot and cold, it would be interesting to hear his experiences, from a human interest view point.

42. @Bush Tea at 9:45 PM, no, I dun cussing you. Did that as you recall back many blog moons ago.

So we fight when there is disagreement and we dance when we agree. Makes for lively and fun blogging.

If I too ‘old’ to go out carousing I must find enjoyment some place, yes!

Besides, the Zoes and Dr GPs et al already cuss you relentlessly. You handle that with aplomb so what more can I cuss yah wid!

43. LOL @ DIW
    Besides, the Zoes and Dr GPs et al already cuss you relentlessly….
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Especially the Zoes…..
    You done know that Bushie’s second action …after becoming GOD… will be to find Zoe and make him come on BU and apologise….

Of course action ‘numero uno’ will be to check out the new digs…. 🙂

@ WW&C
    Who wants to hear Vincent’s experiences?
    Shiite man!! enough of those damn slave tales
    …especially the Uncle Tom stories …

44. @ David,

Let’s hope that the man (Cumberbatch) is here on this blog for the right reasons. I’m reminded of those middle class dudes who venture into the rougher parts of a town ( Brixton or The Bronx) in order to experience some excitement. I hope that I am wrong.

@ Dee Word,

Let’s see what contribution Cumerbatch makes to BU. I am not expecting a great deal of fire from the man.

45. The Bushman…..lol

Exclaimer….Jeff is pretty good. He specializes in an area of law that laymen and some lawyers are not aware of, certain laws, procedures, rules etc are unknown to the population in general, he would be capable to articulate and share the relevant information. Caswell does a great job as well.

I gathered that from reading their articles.

46. Cuh dear Exclaimer, Jeff is a ‘UWI official’; a ‘teacher’; a ‘lawyer’; and a ‘political appointee’..
    Any one of these positions could easily get a fellow crucified on BU ….and yet he has managed, not only to avoid the cross, but to win the admiration on many BU critics…

Wuh even the whacker keeps on breaking string ..despite his ‘leanings’ on corporal punishment, the gay agenda and some other issues…

Boss, either this man good as shiite, …or he smart as shiite…. one o’ the two…
    In either case, the ‘Fear Trading’ Chairmanship will tell us all.

Bushie has been checking to see when he will be added to the free FLOW package deal for staff and Board….. 🙂

47. @Exclaimer, please remember that a lot of middle class dudes were first and foremost every-day positive activist dudes.

In many regards for some of them it’s possible to take the man away from the every-day regular but well nigh impossible to take the positive action out of the man.

Applaud where the bro has risen too and indeed expect his contribution to be positive.

For every Malcolm X outside on the front lines we MUST have the Thurgood Marshalls working diligently on the INSIDE!

Peace!

48. @ Brother Bush Tea,

One should always question the motivation of people. I seem to in a minority of one.

I look forward to reading Jeff’s next contribution.

Good night.

49. Meaning of the color
    Black in the Bibl

Black is, of course, the darkest color in the Bible. It lacks brightness or a hue, and although it absorbs light, it does not reflect any back.

Scripture states that God is light (Psalm 104:2, 1John 1:5) and that the meaning of the devil’s name before he became God’s adversary was ‘light bringer’ (Isaiah 14:12).

The universe God initially created was filled with his light, both literally and figuratively (see Revelation 21:23 – 24, 22:5).

When Lucifer chose to sin the light both in himself and that which he brought became darkness (which God determined beforehand would be a consequence of disobedience – see Isaiah 45:7).

He became the first dark or black ‘thing’ that had ever existed (John 8:44) when he committed spiritual suicide.

In the physical universe, a black hole is a celestial object whose massive gravity pulls in all matter, including light, yet itself remains dark. Lucifer became a spiritual black hole when he took all the light God gave him and turning it into darkness.

In Western cultures today, this color symbolizes death and mourning. People sometimes wear dark clothes when they are mourning the death of someone they love.

Biblical meaning of the color black

In the Bible, the word ‘black’ occurs eighteen times, three of which are in the New Testament. The words translated as this color and its very similar references such as “dark,” “darkness,” etc. come from a variety of original language sources (Strong’s Concordance #H380, #H2821, #H3648, #H5508, #H6937, #H7835, #H7838, #H7840, etc.). The use of this color in Scripture lends itself to the following symbolic meanings.

It can mean famine in general (Jeremiah 14:1 – 2, Lamentations 5:10), famine because of war (Revelation 6:5), mourning and sorrow (Job 30:28, 30, Jeremiah 8:21, 14:2), or a period of time when no revelation (spiritual light) comes from God (Micah 3:6). It can signify the location of the dead (Job 3:5, 10:21 – 22) or where some evil spirits will spend eternity as punishment for their rebellion (Jude 13).

Colors in the Bible
    Black Purple White
    Blue Red Yellow
    Crimson Scarlet

Black can also represent the deceitful treatment of Job’s friends (Job 6:16), God’s judgment (Zechariah 6:2, 6) or affliction, calamity, adversity or suffering for one’s sins (Lamentations 4:8, Job 3:5, 30:26, Psalm 107:10, 143:3, Isaiah 5:30, 8:22, Joel 2:6, Zephaniah 1:14 – 15, Revelation 16:10).

It can signify punishment that is eternal for disobeying God (Matthew 8:12, 22:13, 25:30), a place of temporary restraint for disobedient angels (2Peter 2:4) or Satan, his ways and the power of evil (Acts 26:18, 1Thessalonians 5:5).

Natural objects referenced as black include hair, marble, skin, the sky, the sun and the sun and moon together (Matthew 5:36, Leviticus 13:31, Esther 1:6, Job 30:30, 1Kings 18:45, Proverbs 7:9, Revelation 6:12, Joel 2:10).

An indirect reference to the color

The Bible is clear in its condemnation of occult practices such as witchcraft, fortune telling (soothsaying), consulting the dead through mediums (channeling), sorcery, astrology and alike (Deuteronomy 18, Leviticus 19:31, 20, Acts 19:18 – 19 and so on). These practices are known as the black arts (magic). http://www.biblestudy.org

NOTE: The immediate above, condemnation of Occult practices, I.e., Witchcraft, consulting the dead through mediums, sorcery, etc, were ALL and more the religious practices of ancient Africa and ALL other ancient civilizations, who came to terrible ruination, bar none!

50. why make issue of the color as defined in the bible to give credence to understanding the religious dogma of the original meaning of the colour black
    No one is stupid enough not to believe given the history of the black race that black,s skin pigmentation has not been a source from which whites believe! polished! and promoted themselves an ordained right to be superior

51. WHAT COLOR WAS ADAM?

Eve was made from Adam’s rib and was thus a clone of Adam [Genesis 2:21-22]. They would therefore have had identical genes for melanin production. If they were both AABB, they would have been Negroid and produced children of only the darkest of Negroid coloration. If this were the case, the world’s population today would be entirely Negro. In fact, only about 10% of the world’s population is Negro, so we can be certain that our first parents were not of the AABB combination. By the same argument, if Adam and Eve had both been aabb, all their children would have been aabb meaning that all their descendants would be the lightest Caucasoid possible – there would be no other colors. Clearly, this is not the case, so by a process of deduction we can conclude that Adam and Eve were heterozygous, each having two dominant and two recessive genes, AaBb. They would thus have been middle-brown in color and from them, in one generation, the various shades of brown would have been produced.

These color differences were likely amplified following the business at the Tower of Babel [Genesis 11:1-9] when the human gene pool was divided. Loss of genetic information in an isolated population is well known and a problem to breeders of pure-bred dogs, horses and other animals. It seems that one population group that migrated from the Tower of Babel suffered a greater loss of the genetic information required to produce the melanin and became the Caucasians. The bottom line is that Adam was not white or black but a good middle brown. http://www.creationmoments.com

52. Zoe..
    Give it up.
    To come up with a biblical interpretation of the spectrum is ridiculous.
    We have come a long way of dispelling the notion that being black is wicked to accept you pushing it out again..
    This post is reflecting your true color.

53. @Exclaimer
    I am suspicious of anyone who would remove a man of intelligence and ideas from any discussion. It is not the head count in “two heads are better than one” but rather it is the number of independent ideas.

I hate naming names for there are many that I enjoy reading here, but the Jeffs and Caswell s make a significant contribution to BU.

I am thankful that David has the good sense to maintains this diversity of contributors and ideas.

54. Just when we were beginning to think that Zoe may have been intelligent enough to engage in an adult conversation …he presses ‘send’ @ 7.07 am.

Shiite!!

55. TheGazer December 20, 2015 at 7:46 AM #
    Zoe..
    Give it up.

To come up with a biblical interpretation of the spectrum is ridiculous.
    We have come a long way of dispelling the notion that being black is wicked to accept you pushing it out again..

This post is reflecting your true color.

Gazer, I do not defend Colour, but truth, regardless of what colour it maybe.

Therefore, truth by definition is absolute. And facts become credible facts, when they are warranted to the relevant degree of certainty!

56. WW et al

What info or evidence do you or anyone have that COW stole land?

I am looking for specific case histories with detail, hearsay and rumour wont cut it.

Regarding Jeff C, great brain and writer. Admittedly, I may be biased as we went to HC in the same year, although never in the same classroom.

• Jeff,

I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and Happy , Healthy and Wealthy 2016.

57. @Zoe

COW Williams was wrong; end of story. His was not the behaviour of a leader with the emotional intelligence to resolve conflict. It was a petulant outburst of ill temper from someone who has come to believe that he cannot be challenged or questioned. He should have apologized, and I am sure some advised him to do this.
    Genesis is what is known as a “creation myth” — the Jewish creation myth. There are many others. Cultures all over the world had them, and some had them before the Jews. The Aborigines of Australia have theirs, and they have been in Australia for 30,000 years.
    It is how primitive societies explained their existence — how they came into being. You cannot take them literally. Anyone who reads the Old Testament with an open mind understands that it was not literally dictated by God to a bunch of Jewish scribes. It represents the Jewish world view, and it puts Jews at the beginning of history ahead of everyone else. Look at the evidence of inconsistency. According to Genesis, everything began with Adam and Eve, who had Cain and Abel. That makes four people in the world.
    Cain kills Abel and is banished. He goes to the land of Nod and takes a wife and has a son called Enoch. From where did these people suddenly appear? And then we get into the “begats”, with Methuselah living 900 years and his son living several hundred more and so on and so on. But let’s skip ahead a few generations to Abraham, from whose loins “Israel” sprang. The old boy is about 100 (a boy by comparison to Methuselah), and his wife, Sarah, is barren. Now this doesn’t suit Jehovah’s purpose, because he needs population growth so that the Jews can eventually displace the Canaanites in the Promised Land. so Jehovah, ever the pragmatist, tells the old boy go foop your maid, Hagar. And so he does. Later on, of course, when the Jews need to have some proper rules to live by, God gives Moses the Ten Commandments, one of which is thou shalt not commit adultery. Now let’s move forward to New Testament and the birth — the immaculate conception — of Jesus, the mythologized one, that is, not the historical one. The Holy Spirit basically horns poor old Joseph and rapes his wife. Christianity have no problem with this.
    You are obviously a fundamentalist, someone I call a “thoughtless Christian; and that is, a Christian who does not think. Now go and read — really read — the Bible, and stop regurgitating it chapter and verse like a trained parrot.

58. yes Those whom the gods would destroy, they first make mad”
    does this also include the so called learned?
    what is mad about the scholars who researched the info posted @7.07am from his Strong’s
    is Longfellow (1875) god?

59. @ The Blogmaster

Nothing like some jumping round a church and hugging peeple in “brotherly and sisterly hugs” to mek a man feel dat de cuss words he used before going deah, is all resolved.

If i was a Catholic I would say a few Hail Mary’s and be absolved.

I have a bone to pick with Flo on the All Blogmaster.

He wait til I was at church and come heah and mek sport at de ole man

To the with and whichin (said becausing after speaking after Jeff Cumberbatch, one gots to use legal type language ipso facto)

One Fly on the wall verily said, and the goodly counsel may confirm “…The old boy is about 100 (a boy by comparison to Methuselah), and his wife, Sarah, is barren….”

Now tell me he ent talking bout me!!

About 100….

Methuselah (de ole man nickname at de Church ***)…

he wife barren…. (well dat may not be entirely she fault since de ole man firing blanks, if I firing at all)

Do I gots legal recourse Mr. Cumberbatch? Oh bout me dangling question in de other blog, I know that you cant answer directly but one ting dat I do know is dat dem going gots to collaborate tuh get you fired!!!

Yes sireeee causing you see all dem ballsless fellers who had was in you seat udder dan Frank King?? you gine mek dem axe de Prime Minister, to rescind you appointment to de FTC.

I hear from a fellah dat you doan play.

Anyway Merry Xmas to all uh wunna and save sum jug jug fuh me.

I ent want no ackee and salt fish causing if you doan know how to prepare Ackee it cud poison yuh whichin had wud tek de thorn outta nuff peeple side

and since Mr. Cumberbatch left we heah wid a plagiarized quotation I shall follow suit jes to mek meself feel like if i ent an ignoramus as Georgie Porgie and Zoe cuss me and say. (Doan mind Legion, she doan count)

“(In life) I had not achieved a success; but I provoked an uproar; and the sensation was so agreeable that I resolved to try again…” Plays: Pleasant and Unpleasant, Vol. I, preface Shaw

60. Moneybrain. ….you will get all your proof and evidence about Cow’s thievery when Cow, the lawyers and politicians who been enabling him and his brother for the last 40 years are on their death beds, I don’t need to show you anything, plenty of their victims are still alive.

Enough people have been robbed of their land andc have no recourse but those slimy crooks have to die, don’t you see Cow already talking, he cannot hide behind a blind of lawyers and legalities forever. Even the NRA is being exposed, Cow is a small island nobody and if the people on the island would treat him as what he really is, he would know his goddam place.

61. flyonthewall December 20, 2015 at 11:37 AM #
    @Zoe

FOTW, Your ignorant, unlearned, twisted, convoluted view of God’s Word, is simply like that of the brains of a FLYONTHEWALL!!

Genesis is what is known as a “creation myth” — the Jewish creation myth. NONSENSE!!!

**First, the Fossil record from the time of Darwin’s Evolutionary nonsense, emphatically confirm the Genesis account of Creation, exactly as God’s Word describes it. Each and every times fossils are discovered, be it sea, or land anywhere, they ALL appear abruptly, that is, FULLY formed; as they were Created. Not one single transitional fossil, that would lend some support to the theory of Evolution, has ever been found!

There are many others. Cultures all over the world had them, and some had them before the Jews. The Aborigines of Australia have theirs, and they have been in Australia for 30,000 years. It is how primitive societies explained their existence — how they came into being. You cannot take them literally. Anyone who reads the Old Testament with an open mind understands that it was not literally dictated by God to a bunch of Jewish scribes. More NONSENSE!!!

**History: The Cambridge Ancient History, ( Vol.1, p.222) says: “The Israelites certainly manifest a genius for historical construction, and the Old Testament embodies the oldest history writing extant.”

The distinguished archaeologist, Professor Albright, begins his classic essay, The Biblical Period:

**”Hebrew national tradition excels ALL others in its clear picture of tribal and family origins. He goes on to stress, “The Table of Nations” in Genesis 10 is an ASTONISHINGLY accurate historical account. According to Albright: “It stand absolutely ALONE in ancient literature WITHOUT a remote parallel even among the Greeks…’The Table of Nations’ remains an astonishingly accurate document…(It) shows such remarkable ‘modern’ understanding of the ethnic and linguistic situation in the modern world, in spite of all its complexity, that scholars never fail to be impressed with the author’s knowledge of the subject.” Emphasis added.

It represents the Jewish world view, and it puts Jews at the beginning of history ahead of everyone else.

**That is NOT true, the first 6 chapters of Genesis covers a period of about 2,500 years. Also, the Jews do NOT appear at the beginning of history, that is NOT the Biblical account at all. They only come into the picture from the time of Abraham,

Look at the evidence of inconsistency. According to Genesis, everything began with Adam and Eve, who had Cain and Abel. That makes four people in the world.

Cain kills Abel and is banished. He goes to the land of Nod and takes a wife and has a son called Enoch. From where did these people suddenly appear?

** Clearly because of the perfect gene pool, marriage between brother and sister was permitted by God initially, plus there would have been THOUSAND of relatives by the time Cain goes to the land of Nod.

And then we get into the “begats”, with Methuselah living 900 years and his son living several hundred more and so on and so on.

But let’s skip ahead a few generations to Abraham, from whose loins “Israel” sprang. The old boy is about 100 (a boy by comparison to Methuselah), and his wife, Sarah, is barren. Now this doesn’t suit Jehovah’s purpose, because he needs population growth so that the Jews can eventually displace the Canaanites in the Promised Land. so Jehovah, ever the pragmatist, tells the old boy go foop your maid, Hagar. And so he does.

** Your convoluted, perverted NONSENSE, is NOT what the inspired account in God’s Word says. Sarah, because she could not understand how she could conceive a Son for Abraham, in her barren condition, told Abraham to go and lay with Hagar, NOT God!. And, because of her doubting God to give them a Son, the promised Son, Sarah and Abraham made a terrible mistake, which had, and still does have consequence until this very day!!!

Later on, of course, when the Jews need to have some proper rules to live by, God gives Moses the Ten Commandments, one of which is thou shalt not commit adultery. Now let’s move forward to New Testament and the birth — the immaculate conception — of Jesus, the mythologized one, that is, not the historical one. The Holy Spirit basically horns poor old Joseph and rapes his wife. Christianity have no problem with this.

** I will NOT dignify your FILTHY mindset with any answer to this utterly un-scriptural HOGWASH!!

You are obviously a fundamentalist, someone I call a “thoughtless Christian; and that is, a Christian who does not think. Now go and read — really read — the Bible, and stop regurgitating it chapter and verse like a trained parrot.

Not one single archaeological discovery has EVER contradicted the Bible narrative account, it FACT every archaeological find, has CONFIRMED the Bible, as true and accurate.

The Bible stand utterly ALONE, with NOT even a remote religious worldview, coming close to its 1) Logical consistency, 2) Empirical adequacy, 3) Experiential relevance.

Its you FOTW, that’s regurgitating bovine excrement from the pseudo-scholars you have obviously consulted, HATERS of God and His Word, the Bible.

• @WW
      I was trying to ascertain details because I dont know about the supposed errant land deals.
      WW have a fantastic holiday season.

62. Interesting that at Colony Club buffet lunch yesterday, Sunday 20th, there were many locals of African origin, indeed, more than half, 3 Asians out of 43 buffet guests. Some peeps are obviously making $$$$$$$$$.

• @Moneybrain

Barbados has a large so called middle-class, are you suggesting they are not to eat out? Colony Club does a good jo. promoting its Sunday buffet.

63. @Zoe:
    You are a nut!!
    @Everyone. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. @016 will be a fantastic year for our country.The world will still continue in confusion, Barbadians will still complain about everything, regardless to what is done, but peace will rein in Bim. Be good folks.

• David

My point is exactly as you state, Bdos does have a successful and large Afrocentric middle class. How some get on pun hey one would be inclined to believe that the only people with $$$$$$ are lighter shade of pale. None were Pols as best I could tell.

Just making a reality observation.

64. You be good too Alvin…….even if you can’t be truthful and acknowledging…….enjoy your holidays.

Moneybrain, don’t worry, it all has to come out in the wash. All the details you need will be ascertained.

65. I wonder how many of you will donate time or money to this effort?

Sandra Eaddy‎
    to
    Barbados Genealogy
    2 hrs · Hartford, CT, United States ·

What if we decided to do a little more. What if we started a go fund me or other site to raise money to clean up an Afro-Bajan historic site in Barbados. One that traditional funders may overlook. How about the historic St. Mary’s School house in Bridgetown. This was one of the first in Barbados to educate children of Colour. One of our ancestors may have been schooled there, we don’t know. ‪#‎BajanAncestry‬ ‪#‎GreatForefathers‬

66. @David December 21, 2015 at 7:41 AM #

Barbados has a large so called middle-class, are you suggesting they are not to eat out? Colony Club does a good jo. promoting its Sunday buffet.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Why do you term them as “so called middle-class”?

67. @Zoe
    “** Clearly because of the perfect gene pool, marriage between brother and sister was permitted by God initially, plus there would have been THOUSAND of relatives by the time Cain goes to the land of Nod.”

What sisters are you talking about? There is only Adam and Eve and two sons. That’s four people. And your God approves of incest, it seems.

You are a sorry case of arrested development. The others on this site find your fanatical bullshit amusing. I don’t because it is precisely the same kind of blinkered fundamentalism that is driving ISIL.

Here’s another tit-bit of history that you will consider heretical: Jesus’s divinity — that is, his identity as the “Son of God”, was determined by a VOTE at the Council of Nicea in 327AD.

68. I found myself unable to contribute to this post.
    I left Barbados about 30 years ago and it seems as if we are still having the same suggestion.
    The only that has change (like in the rest of the world) is the rich got richer.
    In 2045 will Barbadian be discussing WOW Williams?

69. suggestion = discussion
    I know it is near Christmas, but let me assure you that I have not touched a drink…. Not yet.

70. Money Brain December 21, 2015 at 9:23 AM #

“David: My point is exactly as you state, Bdos does have a successful and large Afrocentric middle class. How some get on pun hey one would be inclined to believe that the only people with $$$$$$ are lighter shade of pale.”

People eating Sunday lunch at Colony Club Hotel cannot be used as a “population” to statistically determine if the so called Barbadians “Afrocentric middle class” are “washed in” money.

I realized that many Barbadians who have what we may call “white collar jobs” (and even those who are employed in positions that many would consider as being ordinary), do those types of things just to “show off” and for the same reason they are ready to break down the door trying to get into the Harbour Lights or attend polo matches. Many of them display a false sense of prestige and are suffering from a disease called “debt.”

Reminds me of that British comedy “Keeping up Appearances” where Mrs. Bucket pronounces her name as “Boo-kay.”

Sometimes I lime with a small group of entrepreneurs whose businesses range from electrician to custom broker. We are looked down upon by the “show offs” because, unlike them who prefer to get an “expensive” drunk at the Boat Yard or that expensive place in Holetown (which we can afford to do), we prefer to drink an AmBev beer (um en Banks nuh mo) in the shop selling at 4 for $10.

• @Arty
      Your statistical point is surely correct, but then I never stated that it was by any means a proper statistical survey. 50 yrs ago the ratios would have been very different. BTW i did not pay for Lunch , we were invited there and although we could easily afford to eat there would never do so, unless it was for business purposes and Tax deductible. That is the real old Bajan way, conservative expenditure.

71. http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/attorney-created-harvard-affirmative-action-dies-aged-86-article-1.2472513

You are right Gazer…the above shows the people who really matter. The people who actually contributed to the upliftment of societies evil side and contrbuted to positive change. They are the ones who command and garner earned respect hundreds of years after their deaths, they did not need ill-gotten gains to try to buy pretentious respect, these are the true genuine citizens of the world. Kudos to the gentleman in the article.

• David

There are plenty whites et al in Bim and Nth Am living the high life way beyond their means. It is like a virus. Personally, I am a fishcake/ roti/ flying fish fella. Always loved a bread and 2, mauby and sugarcake.

72. Don’t care how wealthy I am, you will never find me eating at colony club sandy lane, yacht club etc, for the simple reason, I don’t want these pretentious crooks spending my money, don’t care what they are selling. When I think of them spending my money, it creeps me out.

I know many people who think the same way. Pretentious people who can ill afford to, or those with the means who are pretentious, will want to be seen patronizing these establishments.

73. MoneyB….the above article shows how Affirnative Action came about 40 years ago allowing minorities in the US access to ivy league universities. I got familiar with it because a 12 year old relative of mine qualified for the program through Columbia University, so when you hear blacks, hispanics etc enter universities through affirmative action, it is no fluke, they are the best the US has to offer, like the brilliant Mr. Leonard who developed the program.. That is why whites are so jealous and want it to end….just like that numb a-hole, Scalia.

• There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking the family out for the occasional lunch and dinner. It is part of life’s experience. The BU household respects the views of others on the subject.

74. @fotw,

What about Cain’s wife, inbreeding, and modern human diversity?
    Three of the many objections to Biblical creation are where did Cain get his wife, inbreeding causing deformities, and the human diversity we see today.

The answer for inbreeding is easily answered. The most important factor for the negative effects of inbreeding is the number of genetic defects in the population. Deformities occur when both parents have the same defective gene. If organisms do not have any genetic defects, there is no problem with inbreeding.

Since Adam and Eve were created with perfect genomes with no genetic defects, their offspring would not have suffered from the ill effects of inbreeding like we would today, due to our very imperfect genetics we’ve inherited from generations of mutations. The same case would have been for the created animals and plants. Also, at the time of Noah’s Flood, human genomes were obviously less perfect, but at 4,500 years ago, much less mutated than they are today. Also, Noah’s sons’ three wives would have helped with genetic diversity.

Does this excuse incest? No. Initially, God permitted intermarriage between close relatives in order to commence humanity. Then, after about 2,500 years (after the Flood, and in the time of Moses) degenerative mutations in our DNA would have accumulated to a dangerous level so God brought in the laws forbidding close relative marriage (Leviticus 18-20).

Who was Cain’s wife? Even though only Cain, Abel and Seth are mentioned by name, the Bible clearly states that Adam and Eve had more sons and daughters: Genesis 5:4 “After Seth was born, Adam lived 800 years and had other sons and daughters.” So Cain’s wife was most likely his sister, and as mentioned above, this was okay both biologically and morally (and we are not talking about now). http://www.astirinch.com

Regarding Jesus Divinity, as the Son of God; at the Council of Nicea 325 AD, as a brief formal creedal summary of Christian doctrine, it was already explicitly implied in the New Testament documents, all of which have the greatest textural attestation of any document of antiquity. Both by Internal and External evidence.

Confirmation by Historical Text.

Scholar F. E. Peters points out that “on the basis of manuscript tradition alone, the works that made up the Christian New Testament were the most frequently copied and widely circulated of antiquity.”

Manuscript Evidence of The New Testament.

There are now more than 5,300 known Greek manuscripts of the New Testament. Add over 10,000 Latin Vulgate and at least 9,300 other early versions (MSS) and we have more than 24,000 manuscripts copies of portions of the NT in existence today.

No other document of antiquity even begins to approach such numbers of attestation.

John Warwick Montgomery says that “to be skeptical of the resultant yest of the New Testament books is to allow ALL of classical antiquity to slip into obscurity, for NO documents of the ancient period are as well attested bibliographically as the New Testament.”

F.J.A. Hort rightfully adds that “in variety and fullness of the evidence on which it rest, the text of the New Testament stands absolutely and unapproachably ALONE among ancient prose writings.”

J. Harold Greenlee states, “…the number of available MSS of the New Testament is overwhelmingly greater than those of any other work of ancient literature. In the third place, the earliest extant MSS of the N.T. were written much closer to the date of the original writings than is the case in almost any other piece of ancient literature.”
    (EVIDENCE THAT DEMANDS A VERDICT, Historical Evidence For The christian Faith, Vol. 1. pp. 40,41) Emphasis added.

75. Zoe

The hardest illiterates to educate are Bible illiterates and scoffers
    if they dont know or understand….why dont they just shut up

76. Georgie Porgie December 21, 2015 at 11:27 AM #
    Zoe

The hardest illiterates to educate are Bible illiterates and scoffers
    if they dont know or understand….why dont they just shut up.

GP, this is so typical of the BU ‘Intelligensia’ they are grossly IGNORANT of the facts, evidence, and historicity of the Bible; yet they pontificate in their blinded FOLLY!

Opinions are like ANUS’S, everybody has ONE, as we see here on BU!

77. @Zoe

I could have so much fun with you, but I’m not a bully by nature. Happy Passover.

Be careful about putting a puppy in this fight, old man. I know you perceive yourself to be the “grey eminence” on BU, an intellectual “cut above” the rest, but know that pompous egotists are a favourite dish of mine. And Happy Passover to you too.

78. When you said “the missionary position”, I said “Oh No! Not Mother Theresa” 🙂
    Forgive my poor attempt at humor, but that is how seriously I take many of the comments” about Mother T.

It doesn’t matter if she was/is called a saint. What matters is the good that she did during her lifetime. I suspect that those in whose lives she played a part would not care what you call her but would be glad she was there.

That is what I will remember,

May God bless her soul.

79. @ Zoe December 21, 2015 at 11:17 AM

Why don’t you just STFU when it comes to that old Adam & Eve crap?

Where is the biblical evidence to substantiate your argument that Cain married and impregnated his sister? Not only is your fabricated story laced with lies about the first case of incest but also of pedophilia; all approved by your stupid vindictive narrow-minded god called Yahweh who favoured a meat-eater over a vegetarian. What the hell did Cain do wrong to be so treated other than offering fruits and vegetables instead of slaughtered animals? Why couldn’t you damned stupid god accept both offerings?

Cain, a tiller of the land, was a big hardback man when he killed his brother Abel who kept flocks (of animals) presumably. So Cain had sex with his little sister who was born after Seth? Yet the story goes that after Cain killed his then only brother Abel, he went to the land of Nod and married.
    Seth was born after that chronological confusion.

Cain and Abel
    4 Adam[a] made love to his wife Eve, and she became pregnant and gave birth to Cain.[b] She said, ‘With the help of the LORD I have brought forth[c] a man.’ 2 Later she gave birth to his brother Abel.
    Now Abel kept flocks, and Cain worked the soil. 3 In the course of time Cain brought some of the fruits of the soil as an offering to the LORD. 4 But Abel also brought an offering – fat portions from some of the firstborn of his flock. The LORD looked with favour on Abel and his offering, 5 but on Cain and his offering he did not look with favour. So Cain was very angry, and his face was downcast.
    6 Then the LORD said to Cain, ‘Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? 7 If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.’
    8 Now Cain said to his brother Abel, ‘Let’s go out to the field.’[d] While they were in the field, Cain attacked his brother Abel and killed him.
    9 Then the LORD said to Cain, ‘Where is your brother Abel?’
    ‘I don’t know,’ he replied. ‘Am I my brother’s keeper?’
    10 The LORD said, ‘What have you done? Listen! Your brother’s blood cries out to me from the ground. 11 Now you are under a curse and driven from the ground, which opened its mouth to receive your brother’s blood from your hand. 12 When you work the ground, it will no longer yield its crops for you. You will be a restless wanderer on the earth.’
    13 Cain said to the LORD, ‘My punishment is more than I can bear. 14 Today you are driving me from the land, and I will be hidden from your presence; I will be a restless wanderer on the earth, and whoever finds me will kill me.’
    15 But the LORD said to him, ‘Not so;[e] anyone who kills Cain will suffer vengeance seven times over.’ Then the LORD put a mark on Cain so that no one who found him would kill him. 16 So Cain went out from the LORD’s presence and lived in the land of Nod,[f] east of Eden.
    17 Cain made love to his wife, and she became pregnant and gave birth to Enoch. Cain was then building a city, and he named it after his son Enoch. 18 To Enoch was born Irad, and Irad was the father of Mehujael, and Mehujael was the father of Methushael, and Methushael was the father of Lamech.
    19 Lamech married two women, one named Adah and the other Zillah. 20 Adah gave birth to Jabal; he was the father of those who live in tents and raise livestock. 21 His brother’s name was Jubal; he was the father of all who play stringed instruments and pipes. 22 Zillah also had a son, Tubal-Cain, who forged all kinds of tools out of[g] bronze and iron. Tubal-Cain’s sister was Naamah.
    23 Lamech said to his wives,
    ‘Adah and Zillah, listen to me;
    wives of Lamech, hear my words.
    I have killed a man for wounding me,
    a young man for injuring me.
    24 If Cain is avenged seven times,
    then Lamech seventy-seven times.’
    25 Adam made love to his wife again, and she gave birth to a son and named him Seth,[h] saying, ‘God has granted me another child in place of Abel, since Cain killed him.’ 26 Seth also had a son, and he named him Enosh.
    At that time people began to call on[i] the name of the LORD.

Where in the above myth does it say anything about Cain marrying his little sister?
    But then again any one with an imagination which believes the Sun, Earth and Moon are just 6,000 years old and that 2 polar bears, 2 penguins and 2 kangaroo were in Noah’s Ark along with a Australian Aborigines being the son and daughter of Noah and his sister aka wife must be totally bonkers and in need of serious assistance, chemical and otherwise.

80. David December 21, 2015 at 11:45 AM #
    If people don’t know let them ask. Those who know show welcome the opportunity to elucidate or shut up.

THE PEOPLE WHO DONT KNOW ARE NOT ASKING THEY ARE TALKING NONSENSE AND SCOFFING AND MOCKING

THOSE WHO KNOW HAVE STOPPED TALKING BECAUSE IT IS A WASTE OF TIME

WHY DONT YOU ASK THE OBVIOUS BULL SHITTERS TO SHUT UP TOO

I HAVE WRITTEN WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN AND I STAND BY IT

DO YOU SEE ME WRITING SHIT BOUT POLITICS AND ECONOMICS AND GUVMENT

81. flyonthewall December 21, 2015 at 11:52 AM #
    @Zoe
    I know you perceive yourself to be the “grey eminence” on BU, an intellectual “cut above” the rest, but know that pompous egotists are a favourite dish of mine. And Happy Passover to you too.

I DONT PERCIEVE MYSELF TO BE NUTTIN. i know who i am and I KNOW WHAT I KNOW AND COMMENT ON WHAT I KNOW AND HAVE STUDIED
    THE REST I LEAVE OUT

82. Georgie Porgie December 21, 2015 at 1:08 PM #
    David December 21, 2015 at 11:45 AM #
    If people don’t know let them ask. Those who know show welcome the opportunity to elucidate or shut up.

those who know welcome the opportunity to TEACH WHERE PEOPLE GeNUINELY WANT TO LEARN
    wist thou not that I say little here any more

83. @Miller-Naki-Chimpanzee,

Continue to wallow in your IGNORANCE, as your CHIMP brain develops… or is it… evolves into a full grown APE!

@FOTW, Are you intellectually honest enough, in your heart, to accept that you CANNOT refute the coherent facts and evidence…or you just want to hide behind, having fun with me? 🙂

84. Well Well & Consequences2 December 21, 2015 at 1:58 PM #
    Happy Holidays to you and yours GP, all the best for the coming new year…

THANKS WELL WELL
    THE SAME TO YOU

Leave a comment, join the discussion.