Submitted by William Skinner
Sir Charles 'Cow" Williams
Sir Charles ‘Cow” Williams

In the eyes of many Barbadians, you are an example of hard work and tenacity. I am also aware that you have extended many acts of charity to the lesser fortunate.

[…]

Many of your employees have spoken very positively of your labour practices. In very simple terms, you have put food on the table for a large number of families. This food was not given; it was earned as it should be.

I met you once, when I was in the company of my cousin and dearest friend, David “Joey” Harper. I recall you telling us that the rather aged Mercedes was a bit heavy on gas. My first impression was that you were a very down to earth individual and that success had not made you lose the common touch. I am certain that since that meeting a few decades ago, your wealth has increased a thousand times.

However, as a Black Barbadian, that positive impression of you has now disappeared forever. Your recent outburst and the language used in describing your employees cannot be dismissed as a “hurt” do gooder who now feels betrayed. I am convinced that you said exactly what you intended. Your description of your employees as lazy and laggards was disrespectful and uncalled for. While many will understandably rush to pardon you, I am beyond certain, that there is a pervasive anti-worker movement gaining ground in our country. I am also beyond certain that attempts are being made to destroy the trade union movement and your verbal assault falls in line with such statements that have become increasingly popular amongst the powerful white business persons.

It is obvious to those who are unafraid to confront the powerful white moguls, that you seem to see yourself as doing your essentially black workers a favour. I remind you that you could not have achieved your wealth without their labour and loyalty to your companies. You want to remind them that they came to you “barely” with clothes on their backs and now they have cars. I hasten to remind you that you came to them with one second hand tractor. Today you now own, I am told, more land than any other citizen, you have marinas, horses for your leisure and is one of the most influential and powerful citizens in our country. Quite an achievement with the help of lazy laggards!

All I am left to ask you is : Who the hell do you think you are?

289 responses to “Open Letter to Sir Charles ‘COW’ Williams”

1. Why doesn’t Bizzy tell Sir Cow to apologize and allow the country to eat piece a ham and drink a rum for the holidays in peace?

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

That is too easy. This man made himself rich on the backs of same people he now abuses. He knows how to distribute the crumbs to buy the loyalty of a few hand-to-mouth black employees but little do they know how very little they are paid in comparison to the white employees that are doing the same job. He hasn’t done any service to this country, he is a taker. Sir Cow my a—-.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A little humilty goes a long way, no one would have had to remind this dude cow about his poor background and where he came from, if he had only remembered it himself, too much land, too much money, a pretentious degree, a useless title that’s not worth anything but to fool those already easily fooled and to attempt to buy respectibility, guess it all went to the head.

People easily forgive as long as they sense that it’s genuine.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

Cow is as genuine as a $3 bill.

5. HOW IS COW WORSE THAN SOME OF OUR BLACKS, WHO OWN NOTHING, HAVE NOTHING OF THEIR OWN TO GIVE, BUT WHO HAVING A LITTLE POSITION MAKE THEIR OWN SHITE IN THE WORKPLACE?

HOW IS COW WORSE THAN SOME OF OUR BLACKS, WHO HAVE SCARCELY WORKED, BUT HAVE LAID DOWN TO GET UP BUT WHO HAVING A LITTLE POSITION MAKE THEIR OWN SHITE IN THE WORKPLACE?

WHY WUNNAH DONT DEAL WID THE NIGGERS IN CHARGE IN POSITIONS AND THOSE WHO ROB THEIR VERY OWN WHEN YOU AS A POOR MAN GIVE THEM LIKKLE WUK IN YOUR BACK YARD

I DONT KNOW COW, NOR HAVE I MET HIM

6. @GP

We have to root out bigotry where it raises it head.

7. David wrote “Why doesn’t Bizzy tell Sir Cow to apologize ”

COW should not apologize for saying how he feels about his black employees at Apes Hill.

8. Emboldened to speak such things so candidly. Facilitated for an eternity by indentured servitude of a political nature. Why is anyone surprised? Merchandani is all I have to say.

9. Here is a man who have four blacks on the board of directors. Now all must belive that the words laggards and lazy is meant to describe all of his black employees or for that matter the black populace of barbados.
    The first couple of paragraphs in article gives a positive input coming from first hand knoweledge of having occasions to interact with Cow
    The last couple paragraphs of the article is second hand knoweldge obtain either by news peridicols or second hand information .information when tossed out in the public arena can be twisted and turned from its originality
    The proof of racism lies deeper than in two words it is a continual process of hatred and bigotry demonstrated continually and openly against one race or another
    An unfortunate choice of words by Cow does not pass the litmus test of racism
    His actions towards his employees have been credited to many of their successes.
    It is indeed sad that there are many saddled with petty jealousy carrying a placard loaded with hatred and divisive attitudes would seize an unfortunate curcumstance to plunge the nation into a racial divide at Xmas time
    Yes i agree Cow should apologize to heal the wound

10. Can we get some feedback about the picketer who was struck.

11. I would like an answer as to the lawful rights of a striker engaing in strike action/picketing on the residence or property of the business the owner

12. @Caswell

The point in the article does not make sense. Isn’t it the Labour department’s job to do a poll to confirm if the union has the numbers?

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/08/apes-hill-conciliation-talks-set-for-thursday/

13. David December 13, 2015 at 4:53 PM #

We have to root out bigotry where it raises it head.

WUNNAH WILL RANT AND RAVE BOUT COW AND WHAT HE SAID FOR TH NEXT TWO WEEKS, AND THINGS WILL GO ON AS THY HAVE BEEN

IN ADDITION SOME OF OUR BLACKS, WHO HAVE SCARCELY WORKED, BUT HAVE LAID DOWN TO GET UP BUT WHO HAVING A LITTLE POSITION WILL CONTINUE TO MAKE THEIR OWN SHITE IN THE WORKPLACE.

IN ADDITION SOME OF OUR BLACKS, IN CHARGE IN POSITIONS AND THOSE WHO ROB THEIR VERY OWN WHEN YOU AS A POOR MAN GIVE THEM LIKKLE WUK IN YOUR BACK YARD

CARRY ON SMARTLY

14. @GP

Yours s a generalization. Because we have some lazy Blacks it does not mean we (Blacks) should turn the other cheek if we witness tasteless,insensitive,bigoted and feckless behaviour if exhibited by ‘others’.

15. GENERALIZATIONS EVOLVE FROM MYRIADS OF SPECIFIC SCENARIOS ah lie?
    IF WUNNAH WANNA CUSS COW, CUSS
    BUT WHAT BOUT DE DAY TO DAY PAIN SUFFERED BY MANY BAJANS DAILY, PERENNIALLY that is ocasioned by fellow blacks wid a likkle position,
    such tasteless,insensitive,bigoted and feckless behaviour is usually not fodder for the press

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hands David a mirror……
    I am also beyond certain that attempts are being made to destroy the trade union movement and your verbal assault falls in line with such statements that have become increasingly popular amongst the powerful white business persons.

Do you think this is a generalization?

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswell…….I bet he would now think he is too important to apologize, that is what those shithound titles do for them, fill their heads with air.

GP……….it would take a month of blogging just to deal with the new niggahs, did you not see the carib export and Coke-Hamilton blog, that went on for 2 weeks. Those are in a special class by themselves, but cow needs to be reminded where he came from, he’s too disrespectful. If nothing is said he would believe he has license to do even worse.

Cow needs to know that not everyone is complacent and docile, at least he would have recognized the change in eras before he closes his eyes. Let his friends and his bribed politicians read and gossip…lol

18. The bottomline is this: there is a process to establish if a union has the numbers to claim the right to represent. The right to associate with a union is an inalienable right enshrined in the constitution. Sir Cow needs to respect the rights of the worker. If he has laggards and employees who do not work in his view, there is a way any good manager should be equipped to deal with it.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The parties to a dispute can ask the Chief Labour Officer to verify the membership if they are interested in a settlement. The Chief Labour Officer cannot intervene unless he is asked.

20. @Caswell

It boggles the mind the BWU and Sir Cow would allow this matter to escalate if there is an obvious procedure to establish bona fides.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It does not boggle my mind. BWU might not have the numbers so they might be trying a thing.

Either side to the dispute can ask the Chief Labour Officer to conduct a poll. It is then up to the other side to say aye or nay.

22. The point is that this whole brouhaha could have been avoided.

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If I were asked to choose a title for this episode I would call it: “When Idiots Fight”.

24. Well Well & Consequences December 13, 2015 at 6:26 PM #
    he does not need to apologize
    there are NUFF unemployed folk ready to wuk for he tomorrow
    and the ones who cussing he here pun BU CANT HIRE COW
    EVERYTHING CONTINUES IN BIM [ AND OTHER PLACES ] JUST AS THEY ALWAYS HAVE AND THEY WILL NO DOUBT CONTINUE SO TO DO WITH OR WITHOUT THE NOISE

25. @Caswell

The BWU needs a win, badly.

Sandy Lane, Royal Shop, BL&P …

26. this issue isn/t even worth commenting on any more the same two words lazy and laggard blacks in barbados used ever so often to call some of their own which i have overheard many times

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BWU could have scored a victory with the Customs and BRA issue but that was allowed to fade away.

Oh by the way, and not to be connected with anything that I said above; Toni Moore is now driving a brand new duty free Mercedes, I am told.

28. There is too much of the blacks allowing whites to rub shoite in their faces for too long.It has to stop now.No more of this disrespect for each other.Whether its Cow,Maloney,Bjerkhamm,Freundel,Lowe,Boyce….it has to stop or you all will see 1937 in a worse light.Stop second citizening black people.It is stupid and ignorant so to do.

29. @ David
    Interesting that Caswell is hesitant to answer your very direct and pertinent question about the PROCESS through which a unions becomes ‘recognised’ in Barbados…. or perhaps his hesitance is more subtile…

You would think that, with all the lotta shiite laws various governments have passed – up to the recent employment rights act, there is a clear, LEGAL methodology that definitively determine the status of a union….
    One however gets the impression that this ‘recognition’ is achieved vi et armis, and that the unions like it so …because they have traditionally been the big bad boys. Unfortunately, whenever they encounter employers who control the strings attached to our politicians, they get this pushback that ends in stalemate….

There are no rules in this place.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bush Tea

I am not hesitant to answer. Were you asleep? The answer is that the Chief Labour Officer cannot impose himself. He has to be asked by one of the parties and the other must consent before the CLO does anything.

31. A lot of minds are going to get boggle ,when a day/night the real owners show up to take control of what we thought were owned by these Barbadian Redlegs

32. That is all the fault of Frundle and Sickler. An indication how deep the cracks got in this society. Whenever a country gets sick, the race issue and other nasty stories resurface. Look at the US.

Since the overall wealth has drastically decreased since 2008 in Bim, employers and unions fight like dogs. The one part wants to maintain profits, the other higher wages. Both sides are victims of the ruling regime.

More unrest like this will come next year, since Sickler announced higher taxes and other torture for the population. So the pressure will be even higher for business and unions to get the best deal for their sides – whatever the social cost will be.

33. @ Caswell
    Wait… you don’t think that Bushie just come to town …like Vincent… 🙂

You think THAT is an answer? …that IF the Employer PLUS the union ask, THEN the CLO can ‘impose’ himself?
    Boss, it is OBVIOUS that if the workers want to join the union, then the EMPLOYER will NEVER ask.
    …and if there is no clear majority wanting to join, then the UNION will never ask….
    So your CORRECT answer should have been that the general rule is a lotta SHIITE.

ANY rational country would specify that if EITHER the employer, OR a Union with more than 20% of the employees as paid-up members asked, ..then the CLO SHALL conduct a poll to make a determination.
    If wunna union people like um so…then say so…. but Bushie was not asleep – not is the Bushman easily sidetracked with bull shit…. ha ha ha

34. visit the racial slur data base

http://www.rsdb.org/race/blacks

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

How does anything ever get done with all that ra-ra between union, employer, this chief, that indian, just to make a 5 minute decision. How can anything make sense, no wonder the employers just bypass everything and pay the bribe nuntil everything blows up in their faces. Now they all look like clowns who are unable to make coherent or cohesive decisions.

36. In a society with an overabundance of resources racial slur CANNOT gain the upper hand. In a perfect world everybody would laugh about such statements, since everybody would own a villa, private plane, Ferrari etc. pp. as means of self-assurance. Ref: compare USA as holy grail of excessive capitalism and inequality on one hand (Ferguson et. al.) and Sweden (world capital of refugees) on the other hand. The ruling classes always use racism and other evil tools of division (eg along party-lines, religion) to distract from the true problems. The Southern states of the US are the best example for this policy in history: The ruling planters made the lower-class male whites believe they are far better off than slaves.

Therefore I predict for Barbados: Provided the great Thompsian depression since 2008 goes after 2017, we will see much more misery like that on this island. Distraction. Distraction. Distraction.

37. Scroll to the bottom of the website.

2013,2014,2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of excellence each year.

http://apeshillclub.com/

Seems like the workers are simply amazing.

38. When people suck up to you, tell you what you want to hear, and lick your ass 24/7, you become a legend in your own mind.

39. Call a spade a spade. He is not a legend in his own mind; he is a silly old racist with too much money. Follow the link below:

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/12/12/face-up-to-racism-says-trade-unionist/

40. “Stop second citizening black people.It is stupid and ignorant so to do.”

Black people continue to second citizen themselves by yearning for attention from the oppressor. You think the oppressor would moan and groan about having been denied entry to a black club and all that crap?

41. “My first impression was that you were a very down to earth individual and that success had not made you lose the common touch”

There we go again inadvertently cowtowing to the likes of Sir Cow in the hope that hobnobbing with his kind would inculcate in our Martin Luther King utopian type minds that they would in their warped minds bless us with equality. But Skins, Leopards are not designed to change their spots.

42. Cow has black genes but will never admit to that. It is now confirmed how he truly feels about Black Barbadians. What he never understood is that he didn’t become wealthy off white people. We black people are his wealth, without us he has nothing. He can’t use the whip anymore so he is using words.

43. Many of us close to how transactions are done with government understand how Sir Cow and his ilk have been able to procure/secure business from government. Yes he worked hard but … did he do it alone?

44. @ balance’
    I dont know how you can call saying that my first impression of the man that he was down to earth and appeared not to lose the common touch as “inadvertently cowtowing to the likes of Sir Cow”. You should read things in the context of how or why it is written. You should gather , that on that occasion, I knew nothing about him other than he was already a very rich man by our standards. I simply drew that opinion from the manner in which he conversed with Joey and me. You, who apparently actually know me , should by now be absolutely certain that I do not “cowtow” to anybody. As a matter of fact, I was told by a few black people that I should not put my real name( I only have one) under this letter. You really need to revisit what you think “cowtowing” means.However, as always I appreciate your taking time out to engage me , on this and other topics. I believe your contributions are of great import to the BU. Now is that inadvertently cowtowing? I dont think so ! Peace.

45. Poor Cowsey, he head ain’t what it used to be. The man is no longer playing with a full deck of cards. The lights are on but no one’s home. The elevator does not go all the way to the top floor.

46. @ David, islandgal,
    I was recently told that when the economy was better, and COW was getting “nough” work some crumbs will fall down to the little man(black). That is the pathetic thinking of many of our people. It comes from the religious thinking of our people. You will recall that the late and very great Joseph Niles , had a very popular song which included words : “i’ll be happy …for a few crumbs from the table….” Then we were taught that : ” the rich man in his castle, the poor man at his gate…dont complain because god ordained his estate…” then we were told that it is easier for a camel to get through a needle’s eye than for the rich man to enter heaven. Having been fed such , we have concluded that in our country the economic order was or is blessed by god himself and we are to be forever grateful to those white people who control the wealth. We some how decided that our labour was inconsequential to their wealth and that they possessed some superior grasp of commerce and so on. Unfortunately, the black managerial class has aided and abetted the white corporate elites. Hence, we have The Minister of Trade, Mr. Donville Innis trying to make Williams feel good by asking for “cooler heads to prevail”. This is after Williams called Inniss’ brothers and sisters : lazy and laggards, who came to him , (the white man) without clothes. The same white man threatens to close down his business that employs four hundred and is now regretting that he did not leave it as a dairy farm that only employed eight. That in itself is a serious unpatriotic threat to sabotage the economy. But rather than tell Williams that Massa day done Inniss has to try his best to tell Williams ease it dont lick up the economy cause we in quick sand already. That is the pathetic position in which the black political management class finds itself fifty years after independence. But those of us who know the truth know why Errol Barrow brought the Public Order Act. It was to make sure that progressive Black militants and thinkers were effectively silenced. So we have an extremely long history of the black political class defending and appeasing the powerful white corporate elites.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

WILLIAM…… Goes directly to the heart of the matter. Corruption and greed by politicians have brought the island to it’s knees to the extent that has rendered the politicians helpless to chastise the paper gods for their bigoted behaviors. Their jobs now lie in loosening the grip the paper gods like cow et all have on them, so they can effectively govern. The business people are now effectively using blackmail against the government because of those ministers who took their bribes in the form of campaign financing, bribes for government contracts, bribes to sabotage the unions, bribes to change parliamentary laws so as to discriminate against employees for 4 decades.

All of that has weakened government’s position over the last 4 decades. To the business people and I have already heard this first hand, politicians on the island have been viewed by the same business people and paper gods, as mere yard boys, who now exist on the island for the sole purpose of doing these paper gods bidding. That has effectively made politicians on the island totally useless to the people/taxpayers/electorate whom they need more than the business people, before, during and after elections.

Now if we can only get that through the thick goddam skulls of the politicians, they may can find a way to reverse all the damage and project a new image, one of real government ministers who have the capacity, morals and integrity to govern and not mere opportunistic yard boys and girls.

48. @William Skinner
    My conclusion after reading your opening remarks is similar to Balance’s.I conclude it to be an example of the psychological influence of the plantation system.You wrote it,I read it and I say you continue to show the kowtowing effect of your thinking.
    Cow is far more stupid than we think.Apes Hill belong to his first wife’s family.Cow got his hands on it through marriage to old money.He’s knee deep in debt to her forever never mind the Hoggie he now hitch his wagon to,another source o money this time black gold.

49. David December 13, 2015 at 5:39 PM #
    Can we get some feedback about the picketer who was struck.

David, why don’t you ask CF if it is true, as told to me by an eyewitness, who SAW the vehicle driving slowly, and that it did NOT hit the picketer, but, that the picketer purposely PUT himself onto the bumper of the vehicle. to create a Stink!

Also CBC was filming the event, ask them to confirm by footage, one way or the other!

CF sound like a bigoted, brassbound, racist himself!!

BTW, Cow’s remarks about lazy laggards, have to be understood in its proper context!

Why did he make such remarks? Did he ever make such remarks over the Decades of his Construction teams of Black employees, where there was never one strike on record.

There is a lot of jealousy, inverted bigotry, and hatred for Cow and even Blacks who have succeeded.

Bizzy’s Black wife, is constantly being put down by other Blacks, who HATE her and do not want any of her business ventures to succeed!

JEALOUSY!!!

50. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Unionisation is not a threat to Bajan business, there is not a Bajan alive who can ‘work to rule’.

Any time there is employer/employee strife that escalates in this manner there is a deeper problem.

I’ve never encountered a happy, productive, enfranchised workforce in this country that opted to join a union. Just like our civil services, when the time comes to ‘cut out the cancer’ is usually when union bosses show up. Mass representation is the best hiding place for any bad employee.

The problem we have is that new union bosses are going to pick any fight in the yard to re-establish their bully status. After the piss-poor representation they have provided in the face of gov’t layoffs, credibility is a major issue for Bajan unions.