Dr. Maria Agard, expelled from the BLP in the Ch Ch West constituency

The following was extracted  from the Facebook page of Christ Church West (BLP), posted by Lynette Eastmond, one of the lawyers representing Maria Agard in the unprecedented matter of a sitting MP expelled [โ€ฆ]from a political party.

WHICH ONE OF YOU DOES NOT WISH TO BE TREATED FAIRLY?

Every individual sojourning in this fair land of ours has the right to be treated fairly. This is a right born out of our natural sense of what is right and wrong and has been set down through case law. Natural Justice is a part of the Common Law inherited from the British. When you become an employee of a company or if you become a member of an unincorporated association the cloak of Natural Justice remains your right. You continue to be clothed by it. There is no carve out for associations or their leadership even in circumstances where they consider themselves special or above the law.

There are a number of principles which would seem obvious to individuals whether they are lawyers or not. We have heard it said time and time again that you can not be a judge in your own cause and this is one of the basic tenets of natural justice. Let us take a hypothetical case. A membership organisation appoints an Executive Committee to lead the organisation. The Executive Committee decides that it might wish to discipline a member. It sends one of its members out to investigate and lay the charges. The Executive Committee endorses these charges and then invites the member to a meeting to be heard or to be disciplined. This would seem to me to be in breach of the rules of natural justice where you can sit as prosecutor, judge and jury. The disciplinary panel must appear to be biased. And yet another point. Individuals who have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in the outcome should not sit on a disciplinary panel. For example if the person who chairs the disciplinary panel can determine the professional future of even one of those comprising the panel, then certainly there is a possibility that that panel will be biased. And that is all the law requires, a possibility of bias.

THE ONLY THING NECESSARY FOR THE TRIUMPH OF EVIL IS FOR GOOD MEN TO DO NOTHING.

413 responses to “Maria Agard Denied the Right to Natural Justice”

1. Maria Agard was charged with not attending the Annual Conference and some other BLP functions. Can anyone tell me how many times Mia attended Parliamentary Group meetings after Owen Arthur assumed the leadership of the Opposition? And if she attended none, when was she charged and brought before the National Council for missing these very important meetings?

2. @David:
    When I consider this entire episode, from the time it entered into the political lexicon of BLP character assassination against Maria, and based on what I had been hearing of what was taking place, I was filled with genuine sadness. I had heard that Maria was seriously ill. I heard, via the rumour mill, that she had been asked to move aside so that a more favourable person could get the seat. I also heard, via the rumour mill, that she had stubbornly refused to leave. I felt empathy for her. I knew what it was like to also enter the valley of death. I felt it was wrong for the party to want to replace her, and I admired her strength. It is only now that Caswell has revealed that person (s) were canvassing for her seat, while she was ill, and still functioning, This was the height of betrayal.
    When one enters the valley of death, they undergo profound introspection. The thought of imminent death has an effect on the person. When one is old, like me, the thought processes must be decidedly different from those of a young person such as Maria. Here she is, a young person, talented, highly educated, intelligent, at the beginning of a political career, and struck down by debilitating illness, from which there is the possibility and high probably that her life would be cut short. At that time one needs family and friends closest. At that time one needs friends from whom one can draw the strength necessary to undergo the treatments. It is at those times, when the effects of the treatments take such a toll on body and mind, that it takes superhuman effort to not succumb. And here, at this time, within the party to whom she had tied her political future, when she needed them most, that members of the party, obviously in collusion with the leader, were undermining her. I can imagine how her heart must have been hurting, when she discovered this. Could she then be expected to accept with docility, the imperious dictates from “on high”?.
    Contrary to what has been noised abroad here on BU, Maria is no lightweight. She has shown strength; in more than one way, she has shown character, she has maintained her dignity, and she has fought for her rights.
    I salute her. I wait impatiently, not salaciously, for her press
    conference, but because she has caused the real nastiness of that party to be brought further into the light; especially the nastiness of the yard ducks. Immense damage has been done to the party, and all right thinking persons will remember this episode.

3. tell tiefing dishonest Caswell to go and join the other political duppies and rest in peace

4. Maria Agard is now looking for sympathy, pretending to be this nice innocent lady; but has everybody forgotten the filthy abuse she placed on facebook about the same members who voted for her. It was never aboout Mia . Dale Marshall is a true Brutus , he sat next to Mia on Sunday and nodded his head when Mia said it was a unanimous decision to expel Maria,he agreed to it. I am sorry for that drunken old man i saw on my Tv, go back and curl up in whitehall, Durants Or St. Philip; opportunities loss can never be regained. How dare you blame Peter for losing an election you can’t get it we have had enough of you,common class Maria, Brutus Marshall, and the other two frustrated old dogs who would never get to be a Prime Minister all because they are insecure around strong women.

5. OSAGPDMRTMAKSGCDS
    Apple cart upset. Spanner in the works. Spoke in somebody ‘s wheel.
    Money looking funny.

Wuh part de balls does get keep doa?

6. I found this video to be quite interesting. The presenter made some very thought provoking points.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sunita Lampitt

You are one of the few people who did what ALL Despots do, review vcrs, tapes, dvrs and videos, recordings on the media of the day to see who your supporters are based on the body language at specific moments.

Did they nod? Who smiled? Who clapped? Who pounded in unison with my other acolytes? Did they clap, but stop abruptly?

Owen is no saint, he too has a fixation on that prized seat but you cannot fault his love for Barbados nor the processes that he will utilize to get that PM seat.

@ Honourable Anunnaki

I have had many girlfriends, and 3 too many wives during the years choices which I now in hindsight can blame on emotion, passion and just being stupid.

In choosing Mia as his second on the political wicket of Bim, Owen felt that having a candidate with obvious talent to win and control her seat, seeming fluency in speech, charisma, political savvy etc., he had mouldable Prime Ministerial material. In short he did pick she as he girlfriend

All was going well until ** when de girlfriend do that which parlays into the (rumoured) incident that drove Gearbox mad, coming home and, not only finding a man in the bed with his woman, but “de position”

“De position” in this story de ole man relating is of such quantum/content that it fuels the ire in Owen s speech whenever he speaks of Mia.

Don’t fool your fact, Mottley s desire for that seat is grafted into her dna, and oblong head Kerrie, Dale smiley Teets, George Payne and the rest of those who see themselves as lisping Prime Ministers of a Bim under the BLP WILL BE CRUSHED, one way or the next.

Like any politician, one must be ambitious and therefore Owen understands what drives all these posturers like Donville, Lil Caesar and Stinkliar and Teets Marshall, Payne and de oblong head Kerrie, Owen accepts “the one way”

But it is the “other” way that he, and you would, fear if it is allowed to take root and lest it may, he seeks to prevent…

Can Mottley change? Based on ** which Owen knows, as does **, he does not think so…

Suppose you caught de ole man on my knees, holding a doggie in my hand and my mouth open, suppose when I size you up later and in my defence say “Anunnaki, you do realize that I had it in my left hand and not my right hand and holding it wif my left hand means that I was jes examining it…” Is you going to believe me?

Jes axing…

8. Dwayne Grazette's photo.

Dwayne Grazette

It appears the language used by Agard is being used against her by the BLP foot soldiers. Let us agree the language posted by her is in poor taste, does it merit expulsion of a sitting member? What provoked the good lady to resort to the use of colourful language anyway.

9. A picture some say is worth a thosand words.

Mariaโ€™s supporters?

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I found you post of 3.52 a.m. Chillingly interesting and somewhat propitious that we could be writing and posting the similar content at the same time!!

I am afraid that with the next 50 posts that McDonald Inniss’ words and critical insights so carefully delivered will be lost in the melee that BU will become in the hours when legion and the intellectual featherweights wake up.

I wonder how many understand what is happening right before our very eyes?

Prime Minister Owen Arthur you have no choice, IF YOU LOVE BARBADOS

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Blogmaster

Incredibly Alvin Cummins said something earlier that I had to begrudgingly agree with (forgive me my darling SSS)

He spoke of the mindset of a man or a woman who has stared, and may still be staring death in the face, they are not people to be toyed with.

She cussed on Facebook in circumstances that we don’t know off, like how Duguid said carry yuh badword and how Pornville has also cursed when peeple refer to his Naked News Commentator sessions.

We get short wid scvunts and tell them like it is and for this you would expel the woman Agard??

Btw the video posted by Artaxerxes with McDonald Inniss and its sterling content makes for an interesting angle as it relates to what many are erroneously calling Owen s angst

Maybe a blog so devoted…

12. The behavior of the piss poor leader of the opposition should not surprise anyone. Mottley and her crew are symbolic of the behavior exhibited in the book Animal Farm. She is a DESPOT and Bajans need to realize that we need to humble this self serving , power hungry megalomaniac and keep her as far away from Bay Street as we can.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright November 25, 2015 at 4:39 AM #… the intellectual featherweights wake up…

… and listen to others,
    even the dull and the ignorant;
    they too have their story…
    … for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself…
    … You are a child of the universe,
    no less than the trees and the stars;
    you have a right to be here.
    And whether or not it is clear to you,
    no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.
    Therefore be at peace with God,
    whatever you conceive Him to be,
    and whatever your labors and aspirations,
    in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.
    With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
    it is still a beautiful world.
    Be cheerful.
    Strive to be happy.
    Max Ehrmann, Desiderata, Copyright 1952.

14. “nce he knew prior to 2013 that Ms Mottley is a wicked tyrant of megalomaniac proportions why did he run away from protecting both the BLP and the people of Barbados from that political siren and succubus with dubious sexual preferences?

Why did he give up the leadership of the party in its greatest hour of need of protection from the dangerous witch of St. Michael North East thereby maximizing the risks of having the Mottley spirit of evil unleashed on the people of Barbados including his children and grand-children who can now afford to pay for their University education thanks to Old Papa Owen and his wealth accumulated from the time he demanded to be the Leader of the Opposition in order to feed himself and his dear wife.”

Good comment

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Balance

OSA made a mistake based on his assessment that the moving train that was the BLP that he was driving would have derailed.

Befo de Licensing Authority dis was tek way de ole man license since me doctor din prepared tuh tell nuh lies bout how far de ole man cud see, I did used to drive a dream car an Austin Cambridge.

Betsie dah is whu I did used to call she only die out 3 times in de umpteen years I did had she.

Once when I did gi she tuh de first boy and he drive she dry uh gasoline wid 12 uh he friends one ole years night at de marine.

A next time when me mechanic emigrate and I follow de pastor stupid advice and went to he mechanic an dat man who was more a carpenter Dan a mechanic nearly kilt Betsie

And a day when I did was teaching me third wife, Lilith number one tuh drive. We was did jes driving along and Whaplax de car jes stop!!

Dah is whu happen wid de BLP aftah Owen lef de train jes stop, so it ent had de kinetic energy tuh derail.

Owen miscalculated the physics of the train he had been driving and that is what has resulted in all your political assessment, echolalia of my respected Anunnaki.

A mistake which he only has but one choice to rectify I will add

16. Refocusing barbados is for the better ,Societies eyes ears and minds are focused on differing points of views giving more choices to behave and react with independent thought,
    forming conclusion which penetrates the mind with thought provoking manner , this is the wake call barbados needed and has been waiting for a long time in coming
    this is a moment in time when barbados stood still and voices bemoaned yet was given the political relief that it yearned for .
    Only time will tell how Barbados use this sad but yet bountiful occasion to make change for the better

17. Make no mistake folks OSA knows the road back to leadership of the BLP and the Opposition is giving way beneath his very feet. Agard’s expulsion has weakened his chances of return to the point where he knows he MUST act now. He wants to do that which he orchestrated in 2010 when he knew death was in air. A lazy political opportunist who thinks himself as the ROYAL WE.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Errata – 2 no wife – Lillith number one, de 3rd wife is Lillith number Two and den de Madam is de 4th wife, a real angel, currently traveling in Murica, leffing me to bile eggs fuh 10 mo’ days and deal wid constipation

19. It is a sad time in Barbados where allegedly the best educated population is located. We allow the political class to force the country deeper into a cesspool of nothingness. We have the social landscape being degraded by the day and an economy in stall for thew late 7 years. Who has noticed how vocal the DLP members of parliament have become when compared to their loud silence on the Cahill matter for example.

JAs

20. The BLP can take a rest for Independence and Xmas and in the new year re-commence the purge by removing having the branches of St.Andrew and St.Joseph nominate candidates other than those MP’s.
    I didn’t see Simmonds in the non-sense yesterday with OSA, Dale, Maria and George Pain-in-the ass

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Atrue Freeman

You see whu de ole man mean bout when dese featherweights wake up?

You see dat rambling remark dat legion mek bout Inniss insights?

Whuloss…!!!

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Donville and Duguid

Ammm, just in case wunna was concerned about it, BBC published that “Phuc Dat Bich admits hoax in Facebook name battle” so all name calling anticipated in the Barbados House of Parliament today will have to be cancelled

23. Not withstanding Mr. Gallop brilliant masterstroke of “refocusing and reshaping the Barbadian intellect on the Agard issue. He must now be admired for taking this issue to a higher level of intellectual thought sufficient enough for the average citizen of this society to react with unbelievable concerns,
    Yet sufficient enough for all those sitting at the table to walk away and be more equipped in the knoweldge of understanding how important and necessary society civic duties (are) in the performance and regulation of good governance.

24. OSA lecturers the media

25. David. This is a blessing in disguise to mask the questionable things that are happening in this country. Not only the Cahill episode we should watch, but the final expense with BWA Headquarters, the new headquarters for the Sanitation, the various funding going on that when total, our repayments will kill this country. What we are doing, getting into a bassa, bassa about individuals. Come on Barbados, start refocusing and move on.

26. Toll for a Troll Avatar

ac, you cannot put Mr. Gollop and brilliant in the same sentence. Unless you are talking about the tens millions of dollars in fees charged since 2010…………………………………. when his partner became the big boy in Barbados

27. @Tell Me Why

Sensible Barbadians must stay vigilant.

28. Amm Osa language and his intrepretations of sstatements and comments which politicians gives to media is slightly yet obvious disgused as another waving of the finger at Mottley taking ones memories back in days of barbados worse economic years .
    How often did Mia used the media to lambast barbados misfortune on economic woes using the political misfortune to leverage political opportunity for herself to barbados economic disadvantage in the global financial community
    I hasten to agree with Osa every word but can,t helpbut do so as he reinforced the ghastly way in which barbados was beaten and battered at the mouths of Mia and her followers labelling barbados economy Doom and Gloom
    When one listen to his message its resonate a truthfulness of sort that politicians must be mindful of the fact that there words if use in the inappropriate manner can boomerang and cause unproductive and destructive consequences to a nation
    Mia in her most offensive approach spare no words in her definition of barbados /words that might have now come back to haunt her in the ass

29. It appears the language used by Agard is being used against her by the BLP foot soldiers

++++++++++
    These โ€œfoot soldiersโ€ never heard politicians using salty language? Dat is de only language some of dem use albeit not on a public forum like Facebook. Dem โ€œfoot soldiersโ€ should be sent back to boot camp. I am getting a little enamoured of the lady she has some spunk despite the demure appearances before the Press, ah wonder if she has any use for a lightly used expat from the cold.

On the subject of cussing a female I know was once overheard telling an acquaintance โ€œyuh gotta stop cussing so fking rhole badโ€.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright November 25, 2015 at 4:39 AM #

โ€œPrime Minister Owen Arthur you have no choice, IF YOU LOVE BARBADOSโ€ฆ.โ€

Arthur launched a stinging attack on Mottley to the delight of the โ€œlegion and the intellectual featherweights.โ€ However, what I found rather interesting (and enigmatic) was the fact he mentioned the circumstances surrounding Mottley and the distribution of condoms in prison.

This matter of condoms in prison was highlighted in October 2003 when Mottley was Deputy Prime Minister, Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs in the then Owen Arthur administration. She spoke to the issue on Friday, October 10, 2003, at the โ€œSecond National Consultation on HIV/AIDS held at the Sherbourne Conference Centre which was attended throughout by Prime Minister Owen Arthur.โ€

Additionally, on Sunday, April 10, 2011, while addressing a BLP meeting held at St. George Secondary School, Arthur told the crowd: โ€œthat the worst of the impasse between him and his predecessor Mia Mottley was now behind them. Arthur said the last six months had been the most difficult of his 27 years in politics. He said he had to deal with a BLP that faced its greatest crisis in its 73 years and there might have even been the danger the party could have been split asunder.โ€

โ€œWhatever divisions that we might have had, the worst is now behind us. We will heal our wounds and we will bind up ourselves to go forward united towards victory,โ€ he said. [Source: Nationnews.com. April 11, 2011]

If Arthur โ€œheld all these things in mindโ€ against Mottley, why did he appoint her to key positions in his cabinet? If he felt she is a โ€œdespotโ€ and โ€œmegalomaniac,โ€ why did he make way for her to take over the leadership of the BLP after the 2008 and 2013 general elections respectively?

PUDRYR, beware of strangers bearing gifts.

31. @ pieceuhderockyeahright Nov 25, at 6:32 AM, so if I understand your remarks clearly the BLP, like you and your beloved Betsie will stall and idle-up just so, because one man ain’t in charge.

Methinks rather that just as you -even without Betsie- will live to be driven and fight many other days on this earth and afterwards when you move on to the greater good, then so too the BLP will continue stronger and greater without OSA or indeed without MAM.

Two other interesting remarks. In the blurb showing Dr. Agard’s FB post, Wendell Callender said: “I am sorry we did not have this medium when I was under attack by insiders…” So right he is.

Callender was in the minds of many a very capable and hardworking politician and was he not basically kicked to the curb by his party too. Surely Agard’s situation resonates so loudly because of the modern advent of immediate and widespread public discourse. In every other perspective it is no more related to any greater nefarious or ‘despotic’ behaviour of the political directorate!

Secondly, the videographer Inniss in the blurb posted by Artax asserts that the Mottley brand is stong and in that regard he sees her inability to manage strong political personalities under her leadership as a sign of insecurity. Quite possible, I imagine.

But the fact still remains that all of our other political leaders have tussled with and displaced/dismissed some of those with whom they were unable to co-exist. They also marginalized others or used the other practical ploy of keeping their enemies in relative positions of power but far enough away from the real levers of power (Arthur/Payne being the most recent and best example of that).

So maybe Mottley does show insecurity or a lack of situational alertness in her inability to effect a less boisterous political outcome in dealing with this issue but to label her ‘despotic’ is to be either really political ignorant or the likely scenario of creating a self-serving political narrative.

Either way its just nonsense talk otherwise the national hero Errol Walton Barrow would be de most despotic political leader ever…or it is that the great man actually was such!

32. @Artaxerxes at 10:11 AM, you sir should apply for and be appointed as the Auditor-General, Inspector-General or whatever post is legislated when the ITAL and other transparency legislation is enacted. The man to ferret out misdeeds without favor or bias and indict wrong doers.

Your remarks are a mouthful: “If Arthur โ€œheld all these things in mindโ€ against Mottley, why did he appoint her to key positions in his cabinet? If he felt she is a โ€œdespotโ€ and โ€œmegalomaniac,โ€ why did he make way for her to take over the leadership of the BLP after the 2008 and 2013 general elections respectively?”

That captures the fundamental interplay and true nefarious dynamics of our political life and for those who can actually READ and OVERstand tells us why we are here today.

It is obvious that Mr Arthur caught one of his trusted lieutenants in an avaricious, illegal act where a political position was directly and insidiously converted to commercial gain. It was not the first time such malfeasance was alleged but likely the first time where he had incontrovertible evidence on hand.

The reason that he did not direct the DPP on the matter is also obvious. His hands were literally tied. Move forward strongly and he would be decimated personally. Not politically BUT personally. Thus he had to enact the next best available option that allowed him to retain some semblance of ‘sanity’.

And that can be asserted unequivocally because you do NOT play the games he has played UNLESS your adversary though weakened thus allowing you to demean and demote them
    also has one hand in the box grabbing one of your two red ‘cricket- balls’.

At some point you have to make the decision on whether you can continue life with one cricket-ball.

Do you love your country more than you love your prowess at cricket…too old for games now…he needs to end this charade!

33. Axe anybody dat wuh at de QEH back wen Gayrome did wukkin dey.He stir up moe strife at de QEH than the odder trouble meka Waterworks fixa uppa.Gaymore used to cuss evabody in the QEH blak is wite.So is only one language he onner stan.OSA will deal wideeass.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DIW

I doan care what my buddy say bout you sometimes you does bring out some GEMS

You said ” …It is obvious that Mr Arthur caught one of his trusted lieutenants in an avaricious, illegal act where a political position was *** and insidiously *** to *** gain.

It was the first time such malfeasance was *** and the first time where he had incontrovertible evidence in hand.

The reason that he did not direct the DPP on the matter is also obvious.

His hands were literally tied. Move forward strongly and he would be decimated ***

Thus he had to enact the next best available option that allowed him and his government to retain ***…”

You is a boss.

Doan leh dem find out who you is.

Dem already know who I is but de ole man ent got too long heah …

35. If Owen really cared about Barbados rather than being consumed with a return to the leadership of the BLP and Barbados, would/should he not tell Barbados and Barbadians why Ms Mottley is ineligible to be Prime Minister of Barbados or Leader of the Opposition? The man is playing silly little childish games designed to promote his stock, stay relevant all the while devaluing the stock and reputation of Ms. Mottley.
    CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL OWEN THAT HIS GAMES AND OUTBURSTS ARE GETTING BORING, THE MAN HAS LEFT THE BLP AND HIS IS ON HIS OWN AND YET HE IS STILL FROZEN IN THE SEA OF BITTERNESS.
    OWEN THE BLP HAS MOVED ON, YOU HAD YOUR TIME, YOU WON 3 ELECTIONS AND LOST 2, TAKE A HINT BUDDY THE PEOPLE DON’T WANT YOU ANYMORE.

36. @ Piece
    You may be on to something.

Arthur is clearly the only horse anywhere near the starting gate with ANY kind of potential to run a meaningful race as PM. Perhaps this is his REAL time to lead …now with the experience of 15 years of plenty wasted in trying to build a CSME phantom…. and with the wisdom of being tempted by white shadows.

What the hell is wrong with his strong language…? Have to agree with Sargeant… ๐Ÿ™‚

His strong language re Mia speaks CLEARLY to Bushie of a man who truly cares about Barbados….. It is amazing what a cute grandchild can do to a man. Those who are talking shiite about the language he used (and that also used by Ms Agard) are nothing but brass bowl shiites…. This is &%$*# Barbados… It is the only language that 75% of the damn population understands….and the other 25% needs to be cussed….

Perhaps Arthur is just what Barbados needs ..now that we are BROKE; have no money to waste with CSME /CARICOM/ CXC; AND NEED SOMEONE WITH BALLS – AND AT LEAST SOME BASIC COMMON SENSE…to try to avoid complete disaster.

37. Bush Tea

A man ought be careful when he invokes the future of his children and grandchildren as motivation for disrespect and hatred, especially considering that children learn more from seeing than from hearing.

38. Was it Eric Williams who said “two boar rats can’t live in one hole.”

39. This is MIA time to show the Barbadian public that she is the leader and has control of the BLP.

She has to show that she has a team and slate of candidates to contest and win the next election.

An opposition party should always be prepared for a snap election.

40. OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR… who you calling a despot doah? I call upon a man from CBC call Reudon to enter the fray when talking about a TYRANT. YOU of all people should shut YOUR (three letter word). Why the whole of Bubbadoes knows you have a grouse against Mottley and just cannot get ova it yet. You of all people should be shame for this behavior of trying to destroy the BLP party….do you remember the St. Peter by-election YOU LOST and Tom Adams has to save your lil boy nobody ass? How dare u be so ungrateful. OWEN read my lips WE DON”T WANT YOUR BULLYING ASS BACK. While U at it Grow up Mr.sick diabetic and drunkard a.k.a woman beater

Hard Core TOM ADAMS BLP Supporter

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Willie’s November 25, 2015 at 11:22 AM #
    “If Owen really cared about Barbados rather than being consumed with a return to the leadership of the BLP and Barbados, would/should he not tell Barbados and Barbadians why Ms Mottley is ineligible to be Prime Minister of Barbados or Leader of the Opposition?”

Maybe it is the fear of what will be revealed about him in those Pegasus Hotel tapes the DLP held over his head before the last elections. Right, ac & co?

It certainly canโ€™t about her love/hate relationship with labia and clitoridis. Bajans and people abroad have already been overburdened with such rumours. But OSA would know; having suffered firsthand as a result of such predilection of persons he knows well.

42. Miller
    If they lovers crossed, one way or another, directly or indirectly, is that motivation for his disrespect and hatred of Ms. Mottley? His conduct still has no place in the publicity of politics whatsoever. That is between them.

43. de Ingrunt Word November 25, 2015 at 10:56 AM #

โ€œDo you love your country more than you love your prowess at cricketโ€ฆtoo old for games nowโ€ฆhe needs to end this charade!โ€

It seems as though politicians speak for the moment. They express one view when they are confronted with an issue. However, when the โ€œshoe is on the other foot,โ€ they comment accordingly, purposely forgetting they previously expressed a perspective on the issue in an attempt to justify their actions at that particular time.

This reminds me of other โ€œperiods of turmoilโ€ that prevailed in the BLP under Owen Arthurโ€™s tenure.

RECALL, for example, three BLP candidates, namely Kerry Symmonds, Jessica Odle and Willian Duguid, were seeking to be nominated for Christ Church West constituency, in an effort to replace Henry Forde as the representative.

It was rumored that Arthur, FAVOURED Symmonds and wanted to โ€œIMPOSEโ€ him on the constituents of Christ Church West. However, Odle and Duguid โ€œstood their ground,โ€ refused to โ€œsuccumbโ€ to Arthurโ€™s intimidation, and as such, Symmonds had no alternative but to withdraw.

If the above scenario was true, then surely we must agree there isnโ€™t any different to the allegation that Mottley wants to โ€œimposeโ€ Jerome Walcott on the constituents of Christ Church West for the next elections.

ANOTHER EXAMPLE that comes to mind is the situation with the former St. James North representative, Rawle Eastmond. It was alleged that Eastmond was experiencing health challenges and since Arthur saw this unfortunate event as an opportunity to replace him with Clyde Mascoll. Obviously, Arthur viewed St. James North as a โ€œsafe seatโ€ and an โ€œentrance-wayโ€ for Mascoll to be elected to parliament.

According to some BLP yard-fowls, it was customary for incumbent candidates to indicate their willingness to contest an upcoming general election and they would be automatically nominated.
    However, Arthur โ€œmade it clear that there were no perpetual candidatesโ€ and decided, to his advantage, that the party should follow the guidelines as outlined in the BLPโ€™s constitution, whereby: โ€œevery politician hopingโ€ˆto run on a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) ticket in the next general election will have to go through the partyโ€™s constitutional process of being nominated and winning an election at the branch level.โ€

โ€œWe will show the public that to take charge of the country as a party, we will first take care of our business according to this partyโ€™s constitution,โ€ he said. [Source, Nationnews.com: January 24, 2012]

These activities undertaken by Arthur, can be interpreted as him wanting to surround himself with people who supported him; something he accused Mottley of doing.

Is Owen also calling himself a despot as well?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Willie’s November 25, 2015 at 12:26 PM

Agree.
    Just taking the โ€˜mickโ€™ out of the fool whom power has destroyed leaving him bereft of his humanity with just a frail impotent body racked with diabetes.

OSA had two opportunities to slay the young despot called Mia the Biting Dragon. Why didnโ€™t he stop her instead of โ€œhaving work for herโ€. What work would that have been? Emulating you in a retaliatory scheme of despotic hate and tyrannical revenge should you have been returned as P M in 2013?

45. Miller
    It is eating him up inside that he can’t find a way back to leadership of the BLP and ultimately Barbados. Why is it so hard to come to terms with the fact that Barbados and Barbadians have moved beyond him and are now look for/hoping for a truly transformational leader to move Barbados into a new sphere?

46. Truthfully and objectively, Payne, Toppin and Marshall have nothing left, if they ever did in the firs tplace, to move Barbados forward as is our overwhelming desire. Mia can’t have sustained warfare with these guys but she has to have them picked-off as possible candidates for 2018 or whenever. They are relics of a time passed but not missed.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes November 25, 2015 at 12:35 PM
    โ€œHowever, Arthur โ€œmade it clear that there were no perpetual candidatesโ€ and decided, to his advantage, that the party should follow the guidelines as outlined in the BLPโ€™s constitution, whereby: โ€œevery politician hopingโ€ˆto run on a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) ticket in the next general election will have to go through the partyโ€™s constitutional process of being nominated and winning an election at the branch level.โ€

โ€œWe will show the public that to take charge of the country as a party, we will first take care of our business according to this partyโ€™s constitution,โ€ he said. [Source, Nationnews.com: January 24, 2012]โ€

OSA the perfect political weathercock spoke with a forked-tongued yesterday.
    But as you have shown above “The faintest ink is more powerful than the strongest memoryโ€.

One is left to wonder why did OSA dismissed ministers from his Cabinet during his 14 years of P M. Because it was his Constitutionally-empowered right to do so without giving reasons for his actions. Why didnโ€™t he entertain dissent and any blatant refusal to follow policy or instructions?
    Maria Agard was dismissed from the BLP by its constitutionally-empowered National Council; not Dictator Mia.

48. @de Ingrunt Word November 25, 2015 at 10:56 AM #

Politics is no sunday school quoting George and to the victor the spoils.

Any real political leader has to rid themselves of threats or potential threats to their leadership…..thats the name of the game.

In the current situation I expect to see 4 more go.

49. Scientists suggest that outstanding men leaders are driven by high levels of testosterone.They did not pronounce upon levels of estrogen in females.Sometimes the natural process is compromised and nature nurtures a barnabas as sung by the merrymen.