Metal Craft Works Accused of BAD Workmanship
The following message was received from someone who appears to be an abused consumer. Another helpless Barbadian consumer. BU sent a message to the mentioned company, however, we have not been able to elicit a response from Metal Craft Works.
[…]
[Redaction applied by BU]
I paid Bruce Boucaud of Metalcraft Works over $8 000 to fabricate and install a gate for me. The gate was installed in April 2014 and by Feb 2015 it was rusting. There was no zinc coating as promised and no rust proofing Several telephone calls were made to Bruce and written complaints but he has refused to rectify the problem. With the legal system in Barbados in such disarray XXXX XXXXX XXXXXX XXXXXX. I am yet to receive competent and satisfactory service from any small business in Barbados.
Relevant document: Copy of invoice

I am ashamed of BU today. You should NOT have published this story unless the accuser was willing to have their name published as well. Why have you not put all the facts on BU, or is it you received the invoice redacted so the name of the customer/consumer/accuser is protected?
Or is it the customer/consumer/accuser is afraid to alert the tax man as to the value of a house which has a entrance gate worth $8,000.00?
LikeLike
I see Metal Craft being given the perfect opportunity to defend themselves, they too have a copy of the invoice with the customer’s name, and set the record straight. I too would redact for that same very reason.
LikeLike
@David,
I find this thing very suspicious. Living in a place like Barbados, the first question to ask is, where is this gate located? Is it possible that sea spray might have affected the paint work? I notice that the coast of labour is only $375.00. For this type of gate it should be more than that. There was no charge for transportation. Unless the workman carried it on his head it would have had to be transported by some vehicle. What was the extent of the paint stripping? Where is a picture of that. It occurred over a year after the job was finished. Did the customer contact Metal Works during this period, when the paintwork started to go? There are many questions to be asked. BU should not be aSKED TO BE judge and jury without adequate information.
LikeLike
” There was no zinc coating as promised and no rust proofing ”
if true get a good lawyer.
LikeLike
I agree 100% with Cummins, that installed price was suspiciously low. The hardware alone to support something of that size and weight isn’t cheap. What competitive quotes did the homeowner get?
LikeLike
A couple of points from BU:
We asked the company to respond to the complaint, it has not to date.
The image of the gate was taken from Metal Craft’s website and was not meant to show type of gate ordered.
BU took the decision to redact the customer’s name.
LikeLike
Alvin Cummins November 20, 2015 at 9:27 AM #
@David,
I find this thing very suspicious.
But you didn’t find anything suspicious about Cahill……LOL.
LikeLike
Lately it would appear like if the ole man rising to represent the underdog pun every ting
Wunna unnerstan whu de state of affairs is regarding de Office uh Consumer Affairs, de Office uh de Public Prosecutor or de Fear and Unfair Dealing Commission?
BU is not here to cuddle tuh wunna respective likes or dislikes, it has tried to be the voice through which the underdog can speak out and all uh wunna cyberspace polices and the new voices of the conscience of de sheeple coming head and telling he whu to do.
Effing wunna doan like whu he publishing go an start wunna own blog and do wunna ting nuh!!
Bruce, and he wife, are borderline tieves who, depending on who you is getting he services, does pull a ting or two pun people.
I would send wunna de same exact incident regarding me son gate dat Bruce ef up de same way and I would not be de least surprised if bruce ent practicing In-built obsolescence pun he gates tuh get ongoing business!!
He gates does look impressive when you first put dem up but in a few months time dem does start tuh rust like if instead uh inc Coating Bruce spray painted de Ihe Cast Iron with a solution of Hydrocloric Acid with some copper dissolved in it.
If i was the home owner I would brek off a piece of de gate and carry it to the Guvment place pun Culloden Road and get dem to do an analysis uh de gate.
Alvin you are really a stupid man.
When you speak to bruce and ask him for a quote, bruce of he wife, does send you dat quote and den, when you call he pun de phone, tell you, in the Trinidadian twang, “dah is all de costs including delivery”
Dis is why de ole man like BU causing it does expose wunna scvunt fuh every body tuh see.
He ent gine do dat wid Sandy Lane cause dem got big lawyers but he gine do it to po black scvunts like we bajans BECAUSE DERE ENT NUHBODY TO PROTECT WE BACKSIDES!!
LikeLike
you know better?
To picture a “big ass rusty gate” with nuff metal, both sheet and ornamental is a dis-service.
“”There was no zinc coating as promised and no rust proofing “” surely this was evident the day the gate was installed?
LikeLike
Dis Ipad getting me tired doah. It correcting all me words!!
Jes in case wunna doan know whu Hydrochloric Acid and Copper does do, it does precipitate rust in specific “irons”, and is not a rust inhibitor like Zinc, and consequently should not be applied to the “third leg”
LikeLike
@ Northern Observer
You said and I quote ”There was no zinc coating as promised and no rust proofing “” surely this was evident the day the gate was installed?…”
YOu like you is related to Clark Kent or Superman who according to his list of powers “possesses the powers of flight, superhuman strength, X-RAY VISION, heat vision, cold breath, super-speed, enhanced hearing, and nigh-invulnerability…”
Which body you know dat could see de undercoat pun a car or pun a painted gate??
You mussee does have alot uh fun when you go tuh de Accra beach and tuh dem big up functions wid all dem wummens dem
Frideys is like it is de day dat de madmens does get release boasie…but you normally is a reasonable fellow doah whu happening??
LikeLike
@piece
all you have to do is take a small nail on the underside or concealed areas and scratch it. Unless the pigmentation of all layers is the same, you will see exactly what is there.
Maybe I spent too many years in coatings and construction and I don’t trust anybody, so checking such things if I didn’t see their application is second nature to me.
LikeLike
@NortherObserver
These kinds of things happen when the owner is an absentee and has to work through others.
LikeLike
@ David,
What recourse does the customer have when sold a defective product ?
LikeLike
@ Hants
What recourse?
You ent see how it tek BU to fight tuh get de Speaker uh de House tuh pay back de $250,000 dat he tief!!!
Udder dan dat you is jes suck salt!!
LikeLike
I am amazed at the ignorant comments made by readers.
What I did not mention is that I had to pay another company $411.25 to cut and reweld the gate hinge as the gate was in danger of falling off
. Also the Gate Motor bracket had
to be replaced and welded onto the gate at a further cost of $470. That remedial work was
necessary within two months of the installation by Metal Craft
The standard of workmanship by Metal Craft was extremely poor and that company
despite repeated requests has refused to rectify the rust problem.
The matter has been referred to my attorneys but I have no faith in the legal system
in Barbados. In Bermuda where i live this matter would be tried and judgment given
within six months .
I have no problem disclosing my name and my land tax has been paid every year since
I owned the property
LikeLike
Dary Lord
Credit to you for coming here to share with and prove to the BU family your name. Given this development I have not further concerns regarding the matter being put in the public domain. If you don’t get a suitable resolution from Metal Craft may I suggest you affix a sign to the gate, viewable to passers by, notify them of the fabricator of the gate and indicating your experience. Here is an example:-
THIS IS A METALCRAFT WORKS GATE.
WE HAVE HAD/ARE HAVING SERIOUS ISSUES WITH THIS GATE.
METALCRAFT WORKS HAVE REFUSED TO ADDRESS THE ISSUES.
WE DO NOT RECOMMEND METALCRAFT WORKS FOR GATES.
LikeLike
Darcy Lorde
No faith in our legal system?!!!! What utter cheek! But seriously, by the time you got it through our injustice system you would be before the Pearly Gates. Six months in Bermuda, you say? Wow!
Willie,
That is a good one! I would not have thought of that. What do you recommend for a doctor who wished to do unnecessary surgery for nonexistent cancer?
LikeLike
Donna…..I guess there will be a lot of signs going up across the length and breadth of Barbados’ 21×14…..lol
LikeLike
It would be interesting to know if you tried getting a daily to print your warning to would be customers of this outfit.We need laws to deal with these consumer issues like what obtains in more enlightened jurisdictions.
LikeLike
I am happy to advise we have received a response from a lawyer acting on behalf of Metal Craft, they have promised to investigate the matter. BU will be quite willing to remove the blog when the matter is resolved to satisfaction.
LikeLike
No agency monitoring best practices, even if there were, they would be corrupt. The dude cannot trust the court system in it’s present state, what a mess. Bermuda does not profess to be independent and proud, but they have a working court system, am sure they updated their laws to benefit the people on the island, no one stopped them..
LikeLike
@Darcy Lord
to conclude comments as ignorant, when the facts of this case were only partially given, and somewhat misleading…ie the gate pictured was not the actual gate [which the blogmaster apologised for]…and your additional information add significant relevance to the overall situation.
While I can appreciate your lack of faith in the legal system, that doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. Many of the bloggers here actually live beyond Barbadian shores as you do. I can assure you that contractors failure to respond to issues relating to their workmanship is a widespread issue. If they figure they can get away with something, many will try to.
Permit me to ask two questions, which are universal
1) How many quotations did you get?
2) How many references did you ask for, and follow up on?
LikeLike
Does it matter at this stage? Questioning relevance .
LikeLike
Agreed,David.
LikeLike
One has to take into account that a lot of the steel now coming into Barbados, is recycled steel from China, with corrosion built in. If galvanise or the rust inhibitors are not properly applied,rust will find its way through. Brushing on these solutions may not be the most adequate.
I’ve dealt with machinery from North America,which were pocket marked with rust when it got here, even though the equipment was shipped below deck.
LikeLike
Perhaps anyone contemplating building a gate ,or metal fence ,should consider using already galvanised material instead of plain mild steel.
I observed some overseas contractors dismantling an antennae tower,here in Barbados,which was in place, near the ocean for some 50 + years. The galvanised coated bolts and nuts, were undone, as if they were fitted only a few days ago. No rust. No WD-40 required.
LikeLike
Here is a straight copy and paste from the internet “…The FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection stops unfair, deceptive and fraudulent business practices by collecting complaints and conducting investigations, suing companies and people that break the law, developing rules to maintain a fair marketplace, and educating consumers and businesses about their rights and…”
When you go through 25% of the topics on Barbados Underground over its years of existence what comes to the front is a self-appointed? role where the average consumer, when they find that all other efforts have failed, is able to come and air their concerns.
Sometimes they are successful and have the matter resolved favourably, insofar as their rights that previously were not being observed, are acknowledged and retribution is secured.
Other times it is like spitting in the wind when they come up against behemoths like Digicel, LIME, FLOW, the Government of Barbados, Ms. One Door at her Conflagration Ram (still defiant of the regulations of Town and Cuntry Department and Mark Cummins)
It becomes obvious that NorthernObserver is not so “northerly” as his name would seek to infer but is very much a local and one whose industry is very much related to a specific industry ergo his parting shots regarding how many quotes and how many references.
When Grady Clarke first started his Credit Check service he got real licks and was told Bajans “din gine like the service and it was not gine work”, now everybody offering de same service.
It is time for a Consumer Affairs service where a body can go pun line and for a fee find out de reputation of a Doctor, a Lawyer, a metal works supplier, a construction company and everything where a professional service is being rendered to the common man.
Certainly, as is evidenced with the Cahill deal, you NorthernObserver, and your faction, would appreciate that, if there had been a similar “credentials checking” practice, and the GoB had used these services, we would not be in this predicament.
Until as such time as we get a Consumer Affairs entity, one which does a proper job according to its charter, unlike the FTC etc., Barbados Underground is the best that we going get.
You never know, the Blogmaster may decide to start up a regular Consumer Affairs facility here real soon cause you do realise that everybody in Barbados has been sending him their “challenges”
LikeLike
@ Nostradamus:
You are an ass.!!
My first question was in regard to the closeness to the sea. Doesn’t the sea salt have an effect on metals (especially iron in Barbados?
Next thing, did he take his complaint to the Public
council? This is a service offered by Government, staffeed by legal persons, whose heads a lawyer.
Did he take his complaint to the Fair Trading commission?
Did he consult legal counsel here? Did he get his legal counsel in Bermuda to write the company and refer it to a lawyer in Barbados?
If he has not done any of those things how can he be so certain that the legal system has failed? Just by going on the blogs on BU?
@Piece…’ what gives youth right to cast aspersions at the FTC? Were it not for the FTC Barbadians would have been paying out many millions of dollars annually to C&W for the past ten or more years. All you people can do is to make negative and disparaging remarks without knowing what you are talking about.
LikeLike
PUDRYR
Right On
Surely GoB should have, but does not have, or did not employ, or did not heed, its own “credentials checking” department, to check the credentials of MECC/Cahill before signing those contracts which have put it in the predicament it now finds itself.
I am sure that if asked before the deal was done, the BU family would have gladly done the “credentials checking” it has done after the cat was out of the bag, and saved GoB many millions of dollars and helped prevent the tarnishing of Barbados reputation in the international business community the sordid Cahill affair is/will cause.
LikeLike
@ Alvin
I am going to ask you to represent your comment “All you people can do is to make negative and disparaging remarks without knowing what you are talking about…”
My first question to you is
1) what do you mean when you say “staffed by legal persons??..” “in your comment “This is a service offered by Government, staffeed by legal persons, whose heads a lawyer…?’ What is a legal person? Do you know what you are talking about?
My second is
You have a list of actions and agencies and suggestions to the aggrieved party in Bermuda.
Why should that party use any of those procedures when, having paid $8,000 to MetalCraft Works, and another $1,000 to rectify shoddy workmanship regarding the hinges and the actuator arm, why does Mr. Darcy Lord have to do any single action that you prescribe…? But then again I forgot, you are singing for your supper aren’t you?
Have you ever gone to the Fear Trading Commission or the Office of Public Prosecution?
Do you know what is the limit at which the Public Prosecution Office CANNOT engage in a matter? Do you know what that limit is?
Do you know what the mandate of the Fear Trading is? Do you know hat their powers of enforcement are? Do you know what you are talking about?
Let me tell you something as one ole man to another. Loose canon syndrome is something that, even when you are canvassing for someone unofficially, the prospective employer is very quick to recognise.
You remember Denderson Bovell? the self appointed BLP spokesman here on BU? you realise that he no longer comments here under his real real name? Why is that? because Mia and her faction perceived him to be doing more harm against the public image of the Barbados Labour Party than good and he was told to desist.
Unfortunately, the DLP does not have the understanding not the balls to tell you that, you are doing their image even more harm than all of the other badword that is circulating AND THAT YOU NEED TO CEASE & DESIST!!
LikeLike
Darcy Lord paid to have a gate built as per the invoice.
There is no excuse for the failure of the materials.
Darcy Lord had a reasonable expectation that the finish on his gate would last a few years.
I am truly interested to hear from the manufacturer why he did not remove the gate, sand blast it again, galvanise it again, apply a genuine metal primer and apply the finish paint.
Happy customers bring more happy customers.
LikeLike
@Nostradamus:
;
For your Information. First; Copied and pasted from the web page of the Public Counsel:
Consumers Claim Tribunal
THE Consumer Claims Tribunal was established by section 41(1) of the Consumer Guarantees Act 2002-21 which was enacted on January 15, 2003. At present the Tribunal is made up of a Chairman, a Deputy Chairman and three other members as follows:
Mr. Jefferson Cumberbatch
Attorney-at-Law – Chairman
Mr. Milton Pierce
Attorney-at-Law – Deputy Chairman
Ms. Nicole Roachford
Attorney-at-Law – Member
Mrs. Ophelia Stephenson-Odle
Audit – Member
Ms. Janel Mc Collin
Accounts Officer – Member
The function of the Tribunal is to enforce the rights conferred on consumers by the Consumer Guarantees Act. The Tribunal may determine complaints made to it where the value of the subject matter of the complaint does not exceed $10 000.00
Any person who has a right of redress against another person under the Consumer Guarantees Act, may enforce that right by making a complaint to the Consumer Claims Tribunal. Where a consumer believes that a right that he has under the Act has been breached he may refer the matter to the Office of Public Counsel who may, mediate on his behalf with the person whom he believes has breached those rights. If no settlement has been reached the matter may be referred to the Consumer Claims Tribunal and Public Counsel may also represent the consumer before the Tribunal.
Before submitting a case for hearing by the Tribunal, consumers should make all reasonable efforts to obtain redress for the complaint with the supplier of the good or service. If there is no resolution through the Office of Public Counsel, then the complaint can be submitted in writing to:
Ministry of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development
Reef Road
Fontabelle
ST. MICHAEL
Telephone #: (246) 427-5270.
This should answer your questions regarding Public Counsel.
Seek and you shall find.
Mr. Jefferson Cumberbatch is now Chairman of the Fair Trading Commission. Before Jeff the previous Public Counsel was reputable so was Jeff. I am not sure who has taken his place as Public Counsel, but I am sure he is also a reputable counsel.
With regard to your question about my knowledge of the Fair Trading Commission. Some years ago Cable &Wireless sought to increase telephone rates. As required by law persons were invited to appear as intervenors at the hearing before the Fair Trading Commission.. I was one of the intervenors. We fought against Cable and Wireless for over forty days; even appearing before the Supreme on a specific legal challenge; which we won and for which costs were awarded to those who presented to the court. I was one of those making my own presentation, who won. The Intervenors won,against Cable and Wireless, the increase in rates was refused, and we saved the people of Barbados millions of dollars. Those are my bone fides with regard to the FTC.
I am NOT Henderson Bovell. He had to sing for his supper. I Said already, I don’t rice at nobody. I am my own man. Independent and free.
LikeLike
@Piece…
In case you, and others, think Mrs Ram is untouchable, The Public Counsel has won cases against her, and the Chief Environmental Officer has made her close her stores more than once because of infringements.under the Public Health Act.
LikeLike
@ Northern O
to conclude comments as ignorant, when the facts of this case were only partially given, and somewhat misleading…
…is that not almost the definition of ignorant…?
LikeLike
@ Piece
Boss… give it up nuh!!!
What sing for what supper what?!??
…dat is AC…
…de man Alvin is just an idjut…. Plain and simple.
LikeLike
And yet Ram is still in existence with her nasty little stores, still breaking the laws, still endangering the lives of Bajans, still defying every agency, as long as those cash filled envelopes keeps flowing, Ram knows those are supposed to do due diligence are not serious. How well does FTC work, how well does FSC work, how well does anything on the island work as it pertains to best practices and due diligence..
A better business bureau would help but since the government itself refuses to screen, do background checks on whom they choose to perpetrate million dollar scams on the taxpayers, how is anything expected to work.
LikeLike
@BU Family
BU earlier advised we have received communication from a lawyer acting on behalf of Metal Craft Limited. Always in the interest of transparency BU shares the communication.
Here is the letter: Letter from Metal Craft’s lawyer
Here is BU’s response:
LikeLiked by 1 person
Even the lawyers always forget the part about meeting international standards, observinginternational human rights etc, and need to be reminded from time to time, if not for these international bodies, just imagine the chaos, unfairness and criminal acts that would be consistently practiced on people/consumers in Barbados….you go David….
LikeLike
Barbadian consumers have a right to satisfactory service and concomitantly when satisfactory service is not forthcoming,a right to complain and in some cases agitate for a higher standard from those who provide those services to the public.Making threats does not replace making good what is unacceptable service in the eyes of the consumer.In hindsight the matter should have been addressed in a more humane manner.The customer is always right is still a maxim to be pursued in the interest of mutual satisfactory interactions.BU has provided a forum to air the complaint and the resolution.
LikeLike
@Gabriel
On BU we debate all topics but none gives the BU household greatest pleasure than assisting to resolve citizen concerns. The kernel of wholesome living is humankind’s willingness to help their fellow man.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Nostradamus November 20, 2015 at 11:35 AM #
Alvin Cummins November 20, 2015 at 9:27 AM #
@David,I find this thing very suspicious.
But you didn’t find anything suspicious about Cahill……LOL.
Alvin the Cunt Cummins would only find suspicion in this but not Cahill because the Cahill matter has nothing to be suspicious about when it comes to supporting his beloved DLP. Alvin the Cunt Cummins is cut from the same type of cloth that makes the DLP a wicked bunch of so in so’s
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Bush Tea November 20, 2015 at 11:00 PM …”…to conclude comments as ignorant, when the facts of this case were only partially given, and somewhat misleading+++++++…is that not almost the definition of ignorant…?”
Indeed correct, and isn’t that what we do in the modern quick-draw world of the internet…jump into a fray without having enough knowledge/details to opine sensibly. That’s defined as ignorant in Webster.
The blogger @Northern is always quite astute with his posts but his initial remarks on this issue which David describes in his letter as fitting standard consumer affairs parameters were lacking his usual perspicacity. His and others remarks offered uninformed assumptions assaulting Lord’s commonsense (to put it bluntly) and thus Lord’s dismissive post suggesting their ‘ignorance’ was understandable.
But nothing really strange about that behaviour as it’s done daily where serious people jump to conclusions …like this Syrian refugee crisis and US stopping intake. Ignorance.
It currently takes between 438 – 730 days (more than ONE & HALF years) before a refugee from Syria could gain entry into the US. Yet based on apparent limited info and the in your face terrorist acts in Paris, legislators are demanding that more stringent processes be implemented or the program be stopped completely. Ignorance.
Can the refugee vetting system be improved? Maybe, although one presumes it’s as tight as can be.
Could Mr Lord have done more re his problem? Maybe, although it’s difficult to see what that could be.
And is it considered ‘ignorant’ to proffer an opinion without careful assessment of the facts – scant or otherwise? Yes.
We all get trapped at some time, don’t we Bushie! LOLLL.
LikeLike
Anything to do with disadvantaging, victimizing, disenfranchising another bajan/black person like himself, is right up Alvin’s alley SSS, that is no joke.
LikeLike
Greeting to the BU family.
When Darcy Lord posted to BU, it made many of the previous comments seem silly and irrelevant.
BU is doing a public service. Acting like a canary in the coal mine in the Cahill matter, and seeking justice for all.
Living the motto
For the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can do
LikeLiked by 1 person
Well really! I love your response, David. Instead of paying a lawyer it is often better to make the customer happy. When I’m happy with a service I always advertise it for free. And if I’m unhappy with a service I make sure I lose the culprits some business. The doctor who wanted to relieve me of a non-cancerous organ has no idea that she has lost a few potential patients who were considering her. Similarly the doctor who saved me from the scalpel even this week received a recommendation from me. My total recommendations this week include two doctors and an attorney. An appointment has been set up with the attorney while the doctors have been moved to the shortlist. These people don’t seem to realize that shoddy service will come back to haunt you. Penny wise and pound foolish is what they are.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Donna….if there is no litigation currently involved, could you let us know the name of that doctor, only because she will not stop trying to relieve unsuspecting and vulnerable Bajans of their organs, until she succeeds. Too many people on the island trust doctors.
LikeLike
@TheObserver
Thanks!
Sometimes BU will post a blog with an objective in mind. Apologies to the BU family we misled by being a little unclear in the first posting.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@WW&C, at the risk of being luke-warmingly, trivializingingly contrarian to the BU intelligentsia, isn’t that call for the Doctor’s name bordering on libelous and inappropriate at this juncture?
Although as you suggest, too many people on the island trust doctors, I believe it’s also true that those same people know that it’s important and VITAL to get a second opinion and many of the cynical ones also know that many doctors have left their sacred oath to treat the sick to the best of their ability at the alter of wealth and churning the insurance cash cow with unwarranted procedures.
Is it fair to the doctor to attempt to name and shame based on Donna’s situation and in the absence of specifics and lengthy details- which we do not need as it’s a personal matter.
Didn’t Donna handle it as it should have been by getting that second opinion?
Aren’t we as consumers also bond by the very, very old caveat of ‘buyer beware’?
The internet is a good thing and the BU team and this site are absolutely, fantastically great but we need to be careful and cautious in apportioning fault and blame.
On the evidence clearly the doctor was wrong but was it an honest mistake or something else? Can we tell?
Anyhow, the construct of a middle ground is not desired by many here so I’ll leave that to Donna and David’s team.
LikeLike
Exactly…the Igrunt, it’s left to Donna to decide if this doctor warrants exposing, that is why I asked. Case in point, I too have a couple names to drop, who deserve it because of their malicious and greedy actions and if allowed, more bajans who are not able to fight back, will be victimized because of the amounts of money involved, but, the timing has to be right when revealing names.
As I said previously, the Bajan public have a right to know with whom they are dealing. I am not here to protect the greedy, unconscionable professionals who deliberately set out to injure or harm others, if they cared about having a good name, they would cease and desist. I care nothing about nasty people and have already called quite a few names on here. If they don’t like it, they know what to do.
LikeLike
8000 bajan seems like a cheap price for a motorized iron door ,one question I would ask is are there big dogs behind that big door for protection because once a dog pisses on an area it has the habit of doing it again and again. (Urine will certainly break down the metal ) Or maybe a neighbors pet. Only saying this because you didn’t say if it was upper or lower hinge and placement of motor.
LikeLike
@ Lawson
Were it not for de fack that if i were to take pictures of the son’s gate and post them here on BU Amilcar Branch de lawyer would find which is my son house and den publish me son name and me name fuh libel
Archimedes once famously said “Give me a place to stand, and I shall move the Earth with it”
Bruce Baccu only know how to weld nice gates.
He, nor his staff, do not know nor understand the principle of how to build hinges NOR DO THEY UNNERSTAN that for a hinge to work, it has to be properly affixed in a wall or column
When you tek you ingrunt self and build a 500 pound gate and put it pun a piano hinge that cannot hold up the door pun me larder it blish to pull off and mek you gots tuh pay a nex man $500
Additionally, Bruce does only mek de gates de man at motomac does install de motors etc., and does got yo fight wid de shyte installations dat bruce does left, wid de impossible angles where leverage principles CANNOT WUK
Wunna does only talk causing wunna got a mouf right!! Wunna does go bout Barbados doah, and interact wid de peeple? all uh wunna hoighty toighty peeples frighten from societing wid de common man and woman doah so i doan expect dat and dat one Alvin who up in Eglinton Avenue, he is jes de furthurest of wunna and does talk de most pup…
LikeLike
Lawson….Amilcar Branche the Jamaican lawyer….he is thisclose to having has ass knee-deep in shit, because he is dishonest, sells out his clients to the highest bidder, lies to his clients, withholds evidence from the judges and the court. A real nasty piece of work that should be removed from Barbados.
LikeLike
That post was meant for Piece, bajans have to be warned about Amilcar Branche, I was just shown some information about what he does to his clients, unfortunately, the head of the Disciplinary committee is also Jamaican and also withholds evidence from the court so no one can complain to her about a fellow Jamaica, that is why he feels he can do whatever he likes but their are other ways to deal with that dishonesty.
Piece….don’t worry, you need not fear Amilcar, he is swimming with the right sharks now.
LikeLike
That looks like a gate I pass in molyneaux looks nice
LikeLike
Piece….I also forgot to mention the two Bajan lawyers in the same office who coach Amilcar Branche, he’s been working with them since leaving UWI, they are Floyd Phillips and Dennis Chandler, therefore he really believes he is untouchable. It is beyond me why lawyers believe they have to treat clients like that to survive. Those three, Branche Phillips and Chandler their reputations now precede them, but Amilcar is particularly nasty and resentful of Bajans, I have personally witnessed his attitude.
Bajans would do well to avoid taking their land/property matters and personal injury cases to any of those 3 lawyers.
LikeLike
@Well Well
So far,as usual, you have not put anything substantive to discuss about the lawyer. Please do or leave it alone. We all know your beef with lawyers, any lawyer.
LikeLike
No David….not any lawyer, there are lawyers near and dear to my heart. That matter is something shown to me, I do have copies, but it’s in process, I told you as soon as I can I will send it to you and I will, but I have to respect certain processes, I know you know what I am speaking about.
LikeLike
Sand blast , galvanise , apply a genuine metal primer and apply the finish paint.
If that was done correctly there would be no rust problem.
LikeLike
De Ingrunt Word,
No it was not a mistake. The second doctor was appalled that she should have even recommended me for an ultrasound. He was even more appalled that after reading the results from that ultrasound she should suggest that she “could not rule out cancer.” Something about the care she took with her words alerted me to her duplicity and hence the second opinion. Before I did this I asked my hairdresser if she had ever heard of that doctor. (Women are notoriously garrulous at salons on Saturday mornings.) She informed me of the scalpel happy nature of the doctor.
Well Well,
I have no intention of sticking my neck out here as I am tired of sacrificing myself for others who are quick to desert you when the fat hits the fire. I am still in possession of the doctor’s correspondence but I do not have her recommendations in writing and hence I can prove nothing. Sooooo…. all I will say is that her office has a habit of expounding on God in one of our local newspapers. Do the research and you will know soon enough.
LikeLike
Donna….quite understanable, you have to be careful, how and when you expose and yes, some doctors can be quite scalpel happy when it involves insurance money. These days people are learning to make both lawyers and doctors put everything they say in writing, which they of course avoid at all cost. This is the second instancevi heard of a predicament such as yours.
If something is not done about those who believe themselves untouchable in their viciousness, it’s just a matter of time before some angry person, unfortunately ends up in prison for one of them, which would be a travesty, in and of itself. The situation is very bad.
LikeLike
Well Well,
You go to a doctor for a check up, a simple check up, not for any health problem. You come away with a possible diagnosis of cancer. Several years later there is still NOTHING wrong with the organ she wanted to remove! NOTHING! She thought herself so superior that she didn’t even recognize that she was up against a person of intelligence. She actually thought she had me fooled! Her story wasn’t adding up and I picked up on it.
But seriously, if you want to know who she is do the simple search for the God spot.
LikeLike
Lawyers in Barbados are absolutely amazing. One of my peeps on the rock told me that he was brought up on defamation charges because the woman of a popular food business vendor felt that she was denied the proper cordial due to her because of her new found status. Apparently, the woman came to him bombastically demanding that items stored on her behave be removed immediately. She was respectfully informed that items in store carried a different name and unless she provide proof or bring the person on the documents to verify the ownership they will not be able to dispatch her. The woman went to the boss, who storm his office shouting loudly that she cannot deal with jackass small people. The boss summons my peep, and asked what happen. My peep told the boss nothing of importance. The boss asked him if he was sure. He said absolutely sure. The boss asked him if he had an encounter with the woman standing before him because she accuse of poor treatment and stated that because of that treatment she cannot deal with jackass small people. My peep told the boss that he could not have dealt with a pig who do not deal with a jackass. And if he wants to be label a jackass by the pig he would send the pig out to handle the matter in a civil way
LikeLike
I apologisefor my late entry to this discussion. I am scarcely available to comment on BU during the week. This is a matter for the Office of Public Counsel, an entity established in 2003 to provide a quick, effective and cheap means of redress for local consumers of goods and services. I myself was never Public Counsel but, as stated above, I am the current Charman of the Consumer Claims Tribunal. The Office of Public Counsel will attempt to conciliate the matter between the parties and, if there is no resolution, the matter is then referrred to the Conssssumer Claims Tribunal for a trial and decision. There is no cost to the complainant consumer and the subject matter of the claim is below $10 000, which is the limit of the Tribunal’s jurisdiction.
LikeLike
Donna….therein lies the rub. Professionals these days and I use the word very loosely, believe that having a degree or a few, somehow gives them a higher level of intelligence than their patients or clients, hence the reason so many of them are in trouble right now.
Barbados being yea big, their nasty attitudes makes the rounds of the island at the speed of light, their current patients/clients become wary of them, potential clients avoid them, then they cry out they are not making money, so much for their version of being intelligent and above it all, right.
Then they try to relocate to another country when the shit hits the fan but, unlike years ago, other countries are now pursuing vigorous due diligence when they do a background checks and on the ground investigations, all the nastiness these professionals have done to patients/clients comes to light ergo, no one wants them tainting their countries. That is the end result of they believing themselves the most intelligent and looking down on their patients/clients who ensure their livelihood.
Yeah, so much for thinking they are more intelligent than everyone one else because of a piece of parchment paper. Humility wins everytime, but I guess some are overwhelmed by greed and false status. I hope they eventually come down to earth and realize what they are up against, people have had enough.
There new found status is always their downfall.
LikeLike
Bushie Doctor is one of the most professional, friendly and approachable persons that the bushman knows. He is also a personal friend.
BOTH OF THEM.
Annual checkups are alternated, and so are visits for any issues.
This way, Bushie gets to compare results, diagnoses and suggestions on an ongoing basis.
Of course such feedback is also compared with the millions of others freely available on the internet…
When dealing with persons who stand to make their fortune off the bushman’s misfortune, Bushie is loathed to be trusting…. next thing you know someone diagnose the whacker to be in need of major overhaul – requiring that bushie sell the hut ….. when all that is really needed is a little oil change …and to stop wasting string on AC hard donkey…..
LikeLiked by 1 person
one time I thought I had walked into bait shop…leeches..suckers..maggots…and night crawlers but it was a meeting of the bar association
LikeLike
@ Lawson
Most of your illusions could be addressed if you would just stop drinking.
No wonder you thought you were going into a ‘bait’ shop – when in fact it was a Bar…
You were probably ALREADY laced … having just stumbled from another bar…
LikeLike
Bushman and Lawson….there are some really conscientious doctors and lawyers, too few lawyers in my opinion, but lately it has become a free for all, although someone told me on Friday that I only think it’s lately because I have only started in the last few years paying attention to what is happening to people affected on the island. And it is only now in the last 8-9 years being highlighted jn a public forum.
Regardless, things cannot continue as they are, injured and other people who seek redress or treatment are being targeted and seen only as a way to steal their money to buy beemers, mercedes and benz, some will have the nervè to gush that the politicians and everyone is doing it.
It’s like the laws in Barbados was designèd to brutally and with extreme prejudice discriminate against these groups of pèople. Some of us discussed that the laws are maybe being twisted using the variouß available interpretations and misinterpretations available to attorneys; whichever it is, even the CCJ has recognizedd the laws on the island are being are being misused and àbused, aloowing professionals to lay siege to the island and in their lack of vision totally destroying any process that gives relief. Not to mention they themselves ending up with bad reputations, which they certainly deserve.
LikeLiked by 1 person
BT you are right, I should have stopped drinking 50 yrs ago can you imagine most of those years was 10 grand a year minimum…I could have bought a house.. but I am going to start going to church. I find it calming and soothing no trauma in there because God doesn’t think he is a doctor or lawyer.
LikeLike
Lol!!!
LikeLike
why is this a topic the main topic should be the closing of natures produce (tim)
the now lack of fresh lettuce etc that was being grown here in bim. this a travesty BB should make good , bring tim back, pay for him to set up again barbados really does need his operation, especially with most people crying over the cost of imported foods (current gov) SHAME ON ALL INVOLVED
LikeLike
Why should we have to suppress this issue at the expense of the other? Why don’t you submit something.
On 22 November 2015 at 22:12, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
[video src="http://www.caribbeancourtofjustice.org/audio/bbcv2013-001-3/20151015/bbcv2013-001-3_151015am.mp4" /]
LikeLike
For those interested in the Walsh vs /Ward berjerkham case can view the video on the CCJ website,
For some reason the link does not work here ,unless the blogmaster use his technical skills to retrieve
http://www.caribbeancourtofjustice.org/
LikeLike
ac November 22, 2015 at 7:53 PM #
For those interested in the Walsh vs /Ward berjerkham case can view the video on the CCJ website
…………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Also noticed under Member States that the CCJ does not appear to recognise the British Knighthood of the Governor-General of Barbados. He is listed as The Honourable Elliot Belgrave , CHB. No Sir , no KCMG . Is this an oversight or is it intentional?
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy
Dat is an ovah sight, look sharp and you gine notice dat dem ent change de name uh de last Chief Justice heheheheh
LikeLike
I wouldn’t trust MCW /Bruce Boucaud with a 10′ pole. Back in 2011 my company provided powder coating services for gates and railings he brought to me – just over $20,000 worth of work – had to spend about 10k suing him for lack of payment. 2022 and i’ve literally just received my last payment from him. My lawyers executed their due diligence and at the time, he owes truck loads of money in unpaid VAT & NIS. Also owed back then several months of rent to his landlord. The list goes on with this guy. Total trickster. I have 20 years in the metal finishing and fabrication business and know that a properly galvanized gate should generally give 10yrs of rust free performance.
LikeLike