Kensington Oval Barbados

There is a situation which is brewing at Kensington Oval involving craft vendors. Today, an ICC lawyer before he could get a tan made all the craft vendors dismantle their stalls on the grounds that they were not permitted to sell craft items. This is after the Craft Vendors paid a contract fee to ICC some months ago, in order to secure a space to sell their craft and the money was taken, knowing that these people were going to sell craft. The vendors were allocated space by Kensington Oval but this morning as soon as they set up, the ICC lawyer came and ordered them to remove their craft and leave.

Apparently, the craft vendors were given the same contract as the food vendors. This is what happened at CWC 2007 as well, except that a separate negotiation went on for the craft; even though the contracts were the same. All that happened is that the criteria for the craft were inserted into the vendors contract… but all this happened long before the matches started.

This time around, ICC (through their legal representative) waited until the first day to tell the vendors they can’t sell craft. Douglas Trotman, Attorney-at-law, has taken up the case for the vendors. Up to late this evening, the vendors were still awaiting word of negotiations between their lawyer, ICC and Kensington.

BU will update as events unfold with the help of the indefatigable BANGO Head Roosevelt King. We suspect that the vendors will pursue damages since they spent money apart from the contract fee and went to great trouble to get ready for today; only to find that they were kicked out.

One question though, are we going to continue to allow these things to happen to us?

Are we going to allow ourselves to be the victims of these people who think they are superior to us?

We have not spoken about the 2007 World Cup because the tales are heart rending; the organisers went about making sure that the vendors did not make any money, including telling outright lies to the vendors, purporting to have control over areas where they had none.

BU agrees with some who are convinced that these mean things are done to us because they have no respect for us at all.

48 responses to “International Cricket Council (ICC) Boots Barbados Craft Vendors Out Of Kensington Oval At T20 2010”

1. The Kensington Oval project seems to be blighted.

2. One vendor told me that she went home and laid on her floor trying to overcome the thought of the work she put in, the money she spent and the fact that cricket was playing and she was not there. Of course, the floor had no carpet, the rug being pulled.

It is time that small business people get some encouragement rather than all these disappointments. After 2007, the same thing is still happening. We have learned no lessons? Maybe it is that our voices are of no significance.

To say that ICC did not know the vendors were selling craft, is to say that the craft vendors did not fill out a form and applied to sell craft. Also it would be to say that there were not several meetings where vendors expressed their interests. After the applications were processed, those chosen were summoned to a meeting to be told that they were chosen; these included craft vendors. Having selected the vendors and encouraging them by saying words to the effect that craft is needed during the games, they accepted the sum of $1200.00 for each kiosk space from the craft vendors, even prior to giving them the written contract.

Another piece of damning evidence is that the craft vendors were charged far less than the food vendors and ICC took their amount for a Kiosk and not a food stall which is outfitted with running water and other facilities. One of the craft vendors who applied to sell drinks was told that she was selling craft and could not sell drinks. There is, therefore, a clear distinction.

This would suggest that there was a meeting of minds between the vendors and Kensington and the ICC, since the application forms apparently went through Kensington up to ICC and the vendors paid by going to the bank to make a deposit on an ICC account and received a receipt to that effect. ICC cannot even at this time claim that they did not know, because de facto they should have known, since they received a different payment for craft on the one hand and having received it proceeded to forward the contract to Barbados. A mis-communication between ICC and its representatives at Kensington Oval cannot be the fault of the vendors but the organisers individually and severally.

The act of throwing out the vendors is simply unfair. If a mistake was made, to correct it at that time by throwing out the vendors seems to be a serious breach of contract.

3. Well if the craft vendors can’t go into Kensington then I am not going in either.

4. @J

If only Barbadians had your spunk these people would think twice about treating our people like dirt.

5. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

We TALK so much about COMMUNITY tourism and ensuring that people at all levels are included, but when
    the ‘small’ person tries hard, every possible obstacle is put up to defeat and discourage them.

It has to change!

6. The same thing happened for 2007, but the difference between then and now is that the vendors had representation on site. So what happened is that the vendors were asked to remove the items that clashed with the ICC Souvenir Shop, which were not too many. At that time it was said that ICC sold the rights to all craft to an Australian man.

This time around they made the vendors leave and it is my understanding that the souvenir shop has a vast variety of stock which clashed with everything the vendors had… so the vendors had to go.

Of course, you know that Kensington staff behaving like whimps. They were the people who assured the vendors all the time… yesterday, they were in the forefront of having the vendors removed. Sickening. It seems that Barbados gives up its rights to these people when they come here… nobody in authority is willing to challenge them.

If I was there I would have advised the vendors not to move. Furthermore if they touched the stalls I would have called the police to show the police my receipts that they paid with the understanding that they would be allowed to sell craft. They cannot wait until the vendors setting up to remove them. This is big… but of course, “One Law For The Medes And Another For The Persians.”

7. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

This is blasted crap and I hope the fourth estate takes up the case of these local vendors.

These international organisations like the ICC view people in these island nations as pliable walk overs and this is endorsed by the inaction and therefore tacit support of this region governments.Then these organisations wonder why local and invariably black and brown local population have such dislike and suspicion of them.

Crazy,these people need to get back to work.Thompson you are advocating for small busineeses to start up,well speak out against this .

8. The local cadre of people contracted by ICC should not go unscathed in this matter. There would have been a build up to this point which many local officials would/should have been involved. This is highly disrespectful.

9. I just read this and I will not be going anywhere near T20 or Kensington Oval ! stupse…progress ?

10. What really pisses me of is that the vendors just packed up and moved.
    If I had a receipt for my stall and bought stock, they would have to lock my a$$ up because I wasn’t moving an inch.
    They should be back down there with placards marching for all the world to see. Now they cant even make back the money they paid for the stall they cant use in these hard economic times.
    @ Kiki…..pull up a tune for me selector!….’Draw bad card’ by Bob Marley comes to mind….dem ah go tired fi see mi face…caan get me outta de race…….

11. @Tech

The vendors protested but were overpowered. They called me after fighting with ICC for over 2 hours, but I was not in a position to go to their aid, so all I could do was help them get representation.

The lawyer turned up pronto, by that time it was after 12 noon, nearer to 1 p.m..

12. Hopefully the lawyer will get to the bottom of this today. It will be interesting to see what he comes up with in their defense. Meanwhile I will be out until after lunch. I will check on it then and give an update.

13. In 29 years I’ve never missed an important match at Kengsington. The ICC can’t get one red cent otta me this time.

Money talks people.

Mek ya money talk.

And mek the bullshit ICC walk.

14. This is truly disgusting and should be brought to the attention of the TV commentators as well. As one who had first hand dealings with the ICC over licenses in 2007, I can truly say that they just do not get it when it comes to dealing with “small” people. The contract that we were offered was truly punitive in its breach and if we had accepted it, given the piss-poor organisation of the event, my company would be long gone by now. Where is our our government in this matter? The Minister of Industry and Commerce should be on the front line against this. The vendors should go back and stand their ground. Will the ICC like to be seen on international TV throwing out these people from Kensington? Jeez am I pissed-off!

15. Exactly Peltdownman….

All now these vendors should be up there with placards protesting. We have the English, Australians especially, the biggest crowds follow them.
    ICC would not like to see this broadcast all over the world. God only knows where else in the Caribbean this shit has happened.

16. Tech
    you know that we’re of a docile nature too. Nuff long talk n no action. It is bad to speak when you should be silent and be silent when you should speak. A lot of us are guilty of this for fear of being labelled as ‘trouble-mekkers’. Even we own does be looking at we stink if we gotta stand up fa we rights.Dah nevva happen ta you? I don’t give a shoite, if I right, Gaw blumma, ya got ta kill me.

17. Bonny….if you really knew me you would know I aint cake and I dont stand for shite!!
    If I cant sell, there would be no cricket, there are many ways and means to put a stop or seriously disrupt the games….trust me on that, have done similar before.

18. Tech,
    I want you ta be cake doe, dat I could ‘eat’ you.
    But seriously though, I can’t say much on the situ. because I don’t know all the facts. But my people got a lotta mout and nutton moe. Unity is strength man.

19. Well, my understanding is that some progress was made today in negotiations between the vendors and Kensington and ICC. I am not privy to the details but vendors are reporting some success which is to be finalised tomorrow.

One vendor said that even if they were allowed back in, she is so distraught that she don’t think she will be able to work. Even now, going back to her daily spot before the 20/20 ends is not an option for her. According to her, the most daunting fact was when they were setting up on the morning of the first day all psyched up for a week’s work, to be told pack up and go home, killed the spirit.

To me, these sentiments convey a sense of frustration and uncertainty, whereby a person does all that is required of them but still becomes disqualified. We live at the whim and fancy of others; in the name of profit; for them!

20. Barbados is not the only place the matches were or are being played; what happened in Guyana, Jamaica St.Lucia and St Kitts? I’m almost sure I saw vendors selling at the venues in these countries.

21. Johnny Postle Avatar
    Johnny Postle

Vendors in the eyes of the ICC constitutes that group of poor rakey persons whose place is suited for streets of Bridgetown or the Baygarden fish fry. But wuh lawds I gine tell ya now, without the craft vendors in Oistins up dey would be boring is ass. Dem people does really bring an alternative attraction to the boring same o same o nonsense that goes on up there every Friday night, .i.e. music and a couple of characters dancing that does make me laugh to ma belly hurt. So the ICC doan waun poor rakey, but “sohisticatey”

22. Sorry, off topic a bit.

Is anyone else having trouble with the sound on CBC TV. There is nothing wrong with my tv – all other chanels are sounding good, but the volume on CBC for cricket is extremely low and even when up to all I can barely hear. I have tried phoning CBC several time but no response at any of the numbers. I guess they are all at Kensington.

23. ok, folks. Got thru to a human at CBC. They are experiencing problems with the sound and technicians are working on it as we speak.

I suppose it would have been too much to ask for them to bring a little script at the bottom of the screen informing customers of the problem. I was starting to get real cruel.

24. @Workout: “ok, folks. Got thru to a human at CBC. They are experiencing problems with the sound and technicians are working on it as we speak.

And you believe this, do you?

“Technicians are working on it as we speak” are what customer support personal are trained to say to all customer complaints. Almost always — even if it isn’t true.

Are they also working on fixing the programming schedule? Press “Info” on your remote right now — you won’t see anything about Cricket. Rather, you’ll be told you’re currently watching their currently programmed schedule.

Hmmmm….

25. Whoops… Mistake in my above.

Change “Rather, you’ll be told you’re currently watching their currently programmed schedule.

…to “Rather, you’ll be told you’re currently watching their nominally programmed schedule.

The “set top box” was saying “Days of our Lives” a while ago. It is now saying “The Tyra Show”.

As an aside, you all might be interested to know that even when your CBC “set top box” is turned off, it still consumes a great deal of electricity.

Test this by turning it off (using the remote) for several hours, and then place your hand on it. Is it still *really* warm? If so, it is consuming lots of energy.

How much is this “feature” costing you (and the country) in electrical costs?

To stop this, unplug your CBC Multichoice box from the wall when not in use.

26. Thanks for the tip, Chris.

I’m still keeping my fingers crossed. I’d really like to be able to hear the damn commentary.

27. @ Hi-Teknology
    Sorry man I missed your request for Bob… (I must have been having a doob or chilling)

Bob Marley – Bad Card – W: I Threes – Take 1

Bad Card DubPlate

28. @All… If I may… Off topic…

I’m rolling on the floor laughing (ROTFL)…

Britain just had an election.

Britain have a “hung parliament”. (Read: no party will be able to decide anything without negotiation and agreement with at least one other party.)

The British, and some others, are freaking out. They’re not used to negotiation, you see.

I, personally, think this situation is a good thing.

29. @ Workout….

Count your blessings, Ian Bishop …..the greatest house negro there is , is on……stupse!!

@ Kiki….

Late but the message still remains the same….thanks.

30. Johnny Postle
    you got talk fa me ‘waltzing’ cross de floor at Oistins pun a Fridee nite? You must come n join meh. Hold ma close too.

31. we in Barbados are still living in a slave plantation society. so anything to make the vendor prosperous at the expense of the rich will be stop on all kinds of legal jargon

32. It’s Owen Arthur’s fault … oh wait … he isn’t in office anymore! Who then is responsible?!!

33. Notice that the only media to report this besides BU is Barbados Today. We should give them some credit. They went after the story. Kudos to S. Cumberbatch of BT.

34. BTW, Barbados Today must be growing rapidly. I had feedback today from Europe on that story in BT.

35. @ROK

BU posted the link to this story on both the Nation and Barbados Today’s FB pages, BT ran with it. BT is definitely more people centric and if it can convert online popularity to paper base, it will definitely give the Nation licks.

36. Johnny Postle Avatar
    Johnny Postle

@ Bonny Peppa

Girlie, if ya want to meet the Postle (not the Johnny who pretending to be me), I would love to whine and dine until we both engage in a grine. Would you be mine you gaw darn sexy piece of so fine?

37. Johnny Postle
    ya got ma cryinnnnnnnn.
    guten morgan. (sp)

38. Johnny Postle Avatar

Guten Tag, meine Bonny Peppa. Wie gehts ist ihnen? Lemma know if ya waun ma

39. Is the West Indies team still the third best team in the world? Can you guess why the question has been asked?

Barbados cannot complain about the publicity is is getting from the T20 coverage. Beautiful weather, close finishes to the matches and the happy faces of tourists frolicking while drinking lots of beer. Maybe this is the legacy 3 years later the planners anticipated.

40. Johnny Postle
    guten nacht meine schutz.wir sind gut.und diene. (sp)
    Uh-huh, a waun ya, ya swoite-devil.

41. Johnny Postle Avatar
    Johnny Postle

Sprechen sie deutchsland oder English translator? Should be ‘a’ schatz and not ‘u’. Instead of wir sind gut. Simply sehr gut oder ganz gut oder mir geht es gut, danke. Ich hoffe verstehe du. Bis bald mein schon

42. Johnny Postle Avatar
    Johnny Postle

Tell ma where ya act Hot Peppa and lemma come home to get some heat and a bit of sweets.

43. Johnny Postle Avatar
    Johnny Postle

Ich hoffe du kannst heute gut schlafen. hahahaah.

44. Johnny Postle
    why you doan stop mekkin sport at my german doe? it is awful, i know, ya devil. I stayed in Seigen,Meiswinkle, hope the name is correct, and i tell people all the time, that Germans are the friendliest persons on this planet. from the oldest to the youngest, they don’t pass you unless they say ‘tag’. hope that is how it’s spelt. doan laff at my deutch. what i found amazing is that they don’t accept U.S currency. it has to be exchanged for the demark.
    When you reddy fa me lemma kno. I in frighten fa ya.Ya got a lotta tawk. 🙂

45. The plight of vendors are the concern of every Barbadian. Where are Michael Sealy’s lips now. The issue of what happened is open purely to speculation , but the ICC is not confused or ambivalent about their rules. So somebody on the B’dos team screwed up. It is a shame that people lost money and their time in preparing only to be chased away. gov’t shoud be speaking or responding to this.

This speaks to walk the walk and not talk the talk. We hear talk about a caring gov’t, building a society and helping the poor. That is the talk. What has been the walk so far. Small shopkeepers have to pay $1500 a year raised from 350, the same as Super Centre. Now tell me how can that be fair. They cannot pay it. Land tax raised back on poor people. 400 small contractors chased away from UDC and RDC said the Nation; Michael Lashley cursing small contractors. Some small contractors have been complaining about it. They claim that majority of gov’t construction went to large firms – Jada – Bjerkham; Cow Williams, and two others, I think one is Preconco . Only recently after two years Lashley is now saying how small contractors will be included in gov’t work.Too late, most would have closed after 6 months. Fish vendors chased inside Cheapside market, license will be revoked if they come out; minbus people had no ease yet.

Bajan public shut their eyes and received free bus fares and camps instead. Now it is the vendors at ICC. Where is the gov’t? Estwick is needed here, perhaps he could brandish a gun at these ICC people, much better use of his time.

On another note where is Thompson, there is some rumor that he is ill. While I am annoyed about a number of things he has let me down on, I really hope it is nothing serious.

46. @Bajan Truth

What has the hosting of the ICC T20 to do with government?

47. I’m glad to have found a forum where opinions are freely given without censor especially on these matters that are swept under the carpet for lack of representation by the offended parties. Many things have happened within the last few years that beckon sincere thought and action in a direction where by the small business community is not kicked down or tucked away for selfish motives. I sincerely believe a healthy open market can make for creative differentiation and there is enough business for everyone to eat, let service and innovation and fair standards be the foundation for nuturing businesses to grow.

48. in court this matter should be settled. a contract was signed, it has to be completed. or sue their rear end for all their international $$