Submitted by Beresford

BLPIn dire times, while the society rallies in national survival mode, driven by personal crises, there is always that element that crassly exploits the desperate times for solely their own good.

As Barbados struggles and becomes daily weighed down under the onslaught […]of exploitation,punishment and inhumane treatment, its most unfortunate position is that those who should be the rescuers and protectors are its pillagers.

The DLP Government is presiding over the massacre of all that has held Barbados together, made it shine beyond compare and forged a country that was singled out universally as a beacon of excellence.

What has Barbados come to now? Forget the wiping out of the strongest economy in the region for years. Except that the ever decaying productive sectors have spawned massive unemployment, declining government revenues, never mind the increased VAT which is now manifesting itself in the collapse of our social sector and infrastructure.

As roads fall apart, there is bedlam in bus terminals as workers and parents are left stranded. All kinds of critical drugs are now suddenly disappearing from pharmacies. The least said about the QEH, the better.

Barbadians are now made to shed tears and to submit themselves to the shame, humiliation, of begging the DLP Government for their rightful due – payouts, severance.

The heart-rending spectacle of cut off Transport Board workers begging for money they should have received long ago – this is what Barbados has come to.

Government workers locked out of a building by Al Barrack, a man at his wit’s end, forced to padlock his building because the DLP resolutely refused to honour the Court – the Court judgment – and pay up.

Hoteliers still waiting for concessions. They are coming and coming, but never come.

As predicted, registrations at UWI tumbling directly as a result of the DLP’s cutting off of tuition fees for Barbadians. With the evidence mounting, the hearts of the DLP only hardening.

The cold hearted, calculated, cruel approach of the DLP is most vivid in the constant tissue of lies in which they have shrouded their wickedness.

There is just no way to believe the utterances of the DLP, starting from the Prime Minister.

He of no public servants going home. He of free education will not be touched. He of free health care to be maintained.

In every instance, Freundel Stuart has lied to Barbadians.

How does a country progress when no one can believe the leader of the country?

The heart of Barbados, the middle class, has been cut out by the policies and deception of the DLP.

The DLP has destroyed this group that has been the glue in Barbados, those that moved from poor to middle class, through sheer hard work and the programmes, mainly free education, and aspired to go further.

The nearly 30 increased and new taxes have been a straight punch to the face of the middle class. This wide swath of Barbados has been waylaid by the DLP as most so categorised have been the ones less able to withstand changes in economic or national circumstances.

And the loss hope of a majority of Barbadians is wrapped up in the waste basket of the DLP in which has been thrown the support that has transformed thousands of lives through university education.

The desolation and wiping out of the middle class is one of the more sordid outcomes of a DLP Government that has boxed itself into nothing else but surviving at all costs.

It is telling that people who a decade and two ago were themselves aspiring have crushed the dreams and mobility of people just like them.

Imagine Stuart is a Prime Minister! Could not have happened without his passage through free university education. Could not have happened without the social supports that aided his mother and allowed him to dabble in histrionics and whatever else without worrying about how he would eat, go school or even sleep.

Look at Dem! Not one can remove himself from this equation.

Pompous and Falstaffian as they now are, not a single member of the DLP Government could contemplate their outsize good fortune, which they are exploiting to the fullest, without the economic and social structures that have underpinned Barbados’ progress.

It is the worse patronage and height of deceit for Stuart and DLP Ministers to be fully engorged with their luck and plea empathy even as they, as the Trinis say, mammigua – lie to the public.

Many things in Barbados need an end putting to them or correcting. The court system. Economy. QEH. Transport Board. Water Authority. Tourism. Look anywhere, and there is a looming crisis or threat to Barbados as we know it, as we wish it.

Few are as excruciating and in need of reform now as the DLP penchant for spinning and lying.

A society without the example of good governance from the top is one that will descend into anarchy.

And one with no hope shared by thousands, drop outs, inertia, an underclass, a society stymied.

This is what Freundel Stuart and the DLP have wrought and are breeding.

In such an outcome, they will be no saviours and all losers.

237 responses to “Killing Hope, Middle Class”

1. @Sarge

Shirley C, I did not recollect, was the Seale family white?

So Sarge, Black people that run for the Democrats are totally equal to the Whites BUT Blacks that run for the Republicans are token??? Pleeeeeeez! Until the advent of BO maybe they were token in both parties??? How some people CON themselves into believing propaganda.

Colin P did not want to run for Office as his wife had Psyche problems as far as I remember. My belief is that Colin P could have been the first darker gent to become Pres. I was disappointed when he made his decision.

Was not Michael Steele Pres of the Republicans? So that party receives nothing for placing him in that lofty position in the first place?

I learnt to “put” around by watching the formerly great Tiger.

2. @Hants

How come a self confessed “poor” guy like U reading the G&M???????

Be careful trying to deceive another Kolij man! hahaha

3. @ Hants

Dont come back telling us that U picked up at Tim’s while eating day old donuts! hahaha

4. GP/ Hants

WI getting some serious lashes from SL, RR 10/over, 67 without loss.
    Lord havest mercy!

5. West Indies can still win this baseball match.lol

6. @Moneybrain

The Seale family is black, a friend of mine who was a family member died in Montreal a few years ago, I didn’t know his siblings very well.

Steele was selected to his position to show how inclusive they were in response to Obama, after Obama was elected Steele was subject to all sorts of criticism and they jettisoned him very quickly. Its 2015 why do you persist in describing people as “darker”? Powell would never describe himself as “darker”, he would probably say he is African American with Jamaican antecedents.

Alan Keys? The less said the better and Cain of “777” vintage? Did they ever make it to the convention? Surely you jest.

I know Dr. C is religious and that’s why he has the votes of some and one can respect him as a surgeon but “Obama care is the worst thing to happen to the US since slavery”? I am following his reaction to the media criticism that any candidate will get and note that the longer the campaign goes on the more that people will see that he is not up to the task.

7. SARGE
    “Obama care is the worst thing to happen to the US since slavery”?

Most certainly. IT DOES NOT ADDRESS HEALTH CARE AND IT HAS CARRIED UP THE COST OF HEALTH INSURANCE

JUST VISIT A FEW DRS OFFICES IN THE US AND YOU WILL SEE HOW EMPTY THEY ARE

ALSO DRS ARE DOING MORE PAPER WORK AND LESS ATTENDING TO PATIENTS

Americans need to undrstand that HEALTH INSURANCE AND HEALTH CARE ARE NOT THE SAME THING. Obama care IS ABOUT INSURANCE

RE he longer the campaign goes on the more that people will see that he is not up to the task. HAS BO BEN UP TO THE TASK EVEN AFTER 8YEARS . REALLY

8. Georgie Porgie

At last we see eye to eye on the issue of Obama Care, which has proven to be hard on the pockets of working people. There is a mandate in Obama Care which forced employees and they families to have these designated annul medical checks, and failing to do so at the end of the year can results in stiff financial penalties. Which in my view, and in the views of many Americans, is contrary to the American ideal of freedom of choice. I never thought I would have lived to see the day where the American government would force any of its citizens, to do anything even if it benefited them in the long run.This mandate is just contrary to the American way of doing things, plain and simple.

9. Georgie Porgie

As liberal as I am, I have to agree with the next Republicans President on the issue of dismantling Obama Care in the first one- hundred days in office.

10. I wonder which USA President has ever been up to the task and I wonder how many people know what the task of a USA President is?

What is an African American in this day and age?

Humanoids are either melanin rich or melanin poor.

11. @Sarge wrote:

African American with Jamaican antecedents.

I was excellent at Precis and Summary and have become rather confused over the last 40 years as to how to describe peeps since the self descriptions have changed quickly over the years. Darker should not be offensive as it is true and certainly I have absolutely no negative insinuation. Sometimes I wish I was Darker too!

I was called “red boy” and “pinky” where there was in some cases negative overtones and I have used it as a positive as in “Ms—- lil red boy”, surely it is what is / was intended.Why unna likes to cum down pun Herman so doh? lol

Dr Ben is showing up how some African descendants dislike any of their number being Conservative or even honest— soon will be called Uncle Tom???? The media are joining in wasting time on his adolescent errors, which he has already revealed in writing.

U know how some hate anybody to attack BO no matter how factually correct, be careful. HC in the US needed redesigning but there are massive holes in Obamacare. Notice how the name changed from Obamacare when the heat was turned up. BO certainly was correct to act but the “how” is very debatable.

12. MB
    A YOUNG 33 YEAR OLD BAJAN DR IN I985 DESIGNED A HC SYSTEM THAT CAN WORK FOR THE POOR IN THE US

ALL YOU NEED TO DO IS IMPLEMENT SLOWLY STARTING WITH THE SMALLEST OR LEAST POPULATED STATES

13. @GP

A Bajan Dr born in 1952?

Sounds like GP to me.

14. mb
    you r 2 smart 4 gp sah

15. Herman was the 999 man,not 777.He was a ladies’ man too,but not a la Huckstable.That was his undoing in his run for the nomination to the Republican presidency.The dolls came out on Herman,the man with the trickster smile.

16. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@MB, “The media are joining in wasting time on his adolescent errors, which he has already revealed in writing.” And he gloriously embellished and modified those ‘adolescent errors’ as a grown adult and profited handsomely from them in those writings..

His adolescent errors as you call them were brought to the fore-front by him. There were not conjured by the media nor did they the media go into some dark corner of his past life to find trivial details. They are integral parts of Ben Carson’s life, ACCORDING to Ben Carson.

The wise doctor wove lovely tales with truth and a little poetic license. No more than we all do about our school boy/college life. But none of us are running to be a President.

Now if you, wid all your talk of ‘brown sugar’ and the like were one of those candidates up in Canada then better believe then that you too would be dealing wid your sweet ‘adolescent errors’ with the media. LOLL.

Remember the former Senator who thought he could dangle his sweet mistress in front the media and yet be a serious contender for President without consequences?

The consolation for Dr. Carson is that his ‘taunts’ are old and basically rather mild…at least, to date. Don’t blame the media…that’s what they supposed to do. Investigate….well, other than Barbados of course!

17. Vincent Haynes November 9, 2015 at 2:17 PM #

…………………………………………………………………..
    Native American, African American. And what do we call those whose ancestors came from Europe? Full Blooded Americans. Someday political correctness will place the ‘AA’ words in the same pigeon hole as the ‘N’ word.

18. @Word

Americans are totally fed up with Washington DC and the biased, crooked ass media and that is why they want an outsider lik Dr Ben or Trump. If Hilary gets elected it will be because stupid women are willing to settle for any female, as Hil is a nasty sow regarding Benghazi, dealings in Arkansas, Vince Foster who committed “suicide” (heavily assisted???) lies about being “poor/ broke” when leaving the WH and plenty nuff more. I cant wait for Trump to debate her on this. Bernie was pitching big fat softballs at her in the last debate. I agree wid some pun here some a dese Whitey Pols dirty bad.

Skippa if I wa so stupid as to waste my life in Politics, I would deserve much scrutiny BUT to NO AVAIL on the media’s or oppositions part. In Bim they would mek a big deal that my mer was racial and my answer would be simple, “that is very true, but what is that to do with me?” I spent my adolescence debating her on that very topic, should I know be chastised for my effort? Trust me it would be very difficult for anyone to honestly show that I am racist or have committed any significant transgression. Naturally, in Bim some Pol would “manufacture” some racist incident to which I would answer with at least 5-10 testimonials from HC friends of high position.

Anyway the only way I would get into Politics would be as a Benevolent Dictator in the mold of Mr Lee KY of Singapore. If such ever happened Bajans would cry like babes/ Singaporeans did when the great man passed earlier this year.

Dr Ben is probably gaining more from the media attention than he otherwise would have.

Have to go and call my Brown Sugar. ( I loves de chocolate and coffee, most Bajans do! ah lie?)

19. Now, right now, the time is right for Grenville Phillips and his new initiative to act.

Time for a first public meeting / town hall with the people.

Both parties are struggling, DLP with management and reputation and now begging for Owen to join them to assist and the BLP, with in fighting and egos (allegedly, per the news reports, a representative refusing to work with a constituency council, how arrogant is that?).

Now, is the time to act. Grab the attention of the public while both are flailing.

Good luck.

20. @ Colonel Buggy
    And what do we call those whose ancestors came from Europe?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Albino Americans.

21. @ Money B
    If such ever happened Bajans would cry like babes/ Singaporeans did when the great man passed earlier this year
    Singaporeans cried when he died.
    We would cry when you arrived…. 🙂

22. Moneybrain

You’re yet again ignorant of American history because there are in fact African Americans who speaks with a strong Jamaican accent.

There is a group of African Americans living of the coast of South Carolina and nearby islands who speak the Creole language of the Gullah of West Africa, but sounds identical to Jamaican.

During my army days at Fort Lee Virginia, I met a Gullah soldier who spoke with a lucid Jamaican accent, and when I asked him where in Jamaica he was from, to my surprised, he said to me that he was Gullah or (geechee) from South Carolina.

This group of African Americans retained much of there African linguistics and cultural ethos because of they isolation, and are often mistaken for West Indians.

23. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@MB, that’s an interesting move you made there re your adolescent arguments with your ‘mer’…you went right to the core of what you seem to perceive to be your ‘political’ Achilles problem. However as you suggested I am sure you could in fact take your chats about your mum’s deep seated hatred and turn it into a very compelling positive…if you ever waste some of your life in Politics.

So you don’t like Hilary…but Trump as an ‘outsider’ for President.

I may agree that Carson would make a very wonderful President but Trump not. He is a showman and frankly although his presidency would be vigorous and full of show it would likely also be riddled with scandals and subterfuge.

The wonderful thing about a Pres Carson for me goes away from the politics per se and relates to the image of the Presidency. Back-to-back Black men in the White House, wow!!!

So different and yet so similar with their intelligence and ambition… What that would do for the psyche of Black folks in US for the next few generations is enormous.

But your stupid women ting may win the deal…and be careful, you may rid yourself of the racist tag but with words like ‘sow’ and ‘stupid women’ you would be eviscerated as a misogynist on that political platform ! Oh lawd.

As you know in Politics you can never win them all.

24. Surely Ben Carson reveals a certain naivete which says he can make public a sordid episode in his past that explains an epiphany of sorts an not expect the media to validate give his quest for high office.

25. @Bushie

Albinos—you are so cruel! Once U dont kill them for obeah reasons like Africans do!

I know U like me nuff but Bushie U dont have to cry when de Saviour of Bim arrives–U becoming an old lady already?

26. @Dompey

Please read properly, you getting on lika fella who went to school at the Pipe during Saturday nights in August! U name Bromley or wha?

NOwhere did I say that they were not AA that speak with Jamaican accents, legitimate Jammies or S Carolinians!

Domps the discussion was about my use of darker.

27. @ Money B
    Since when is honesty ‘cruel’?
    …and are you sure it is for ‘obeah’ reasons?
    …or do they know something that we don’t….? 🙂

28. Word,
    I never said anything about Trump being Pres. I just would pay to see Trump and Hil going at each other that is all. I have no prob with Dr Ben but dont know how good he would be against Hil in a debate but have a feeling that at the very least Trump VS Hil would be great sport. Dr Ben would bring a calm, professional bearing to the WH and it would be interesting to have B2B Pres, one from each party.

Trump behaves too much like a lil spoilt, schoolyard bully! He needs someone like me to stand up to him and tell him stop certain behaviors but maybe he surrounds himself with Yes men? However, he could be an asset in negotiations and management and like he says, “Making America Great Again.”

U really think I am stupid enough to talk about any female in such terms in public or private? No matter how true! Hil should certainly not be the next Pres but a clever far more honest woman would be welcome. Servers? Emails? Benghazi? She should be in Prison! But not in a sty!

29. @Bushie

Those Africans think they getting a white meat? Maybe Bajans know that a white meat is better? Witch Drs must be consulted.

30. @Moneybrain

“Sow”? I think you better get with it who describes women this way in 2015? Benghazi? Even the Repubs have put that puppy to bed, guess you didn’t get the memo. McCarthy was tipped to be Speaker until he admitted it was all a “pappyshow” to get Hillary bad publicity and drive up her negatives and he paid the price, then the jokers summoned her to appear before the Committee and grilled her for 8 hours and couldn’t lay a glove on her. I’m not necessarily a big fan of hers but if she comes up against Trump in any debate they will have to apply the mercy rule, shouting “looser” and “I’m the best” does not a strategy make.

31. @Vincent

People will refer to themselves racially in whatever category that they believe represents them and their heritage, here is some food for thought.

BTW the full article is much more expansive

http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2013/10/changing-faces/funderburg-text

32. @Sarge

Anyone that trusts Hil is not too clever in my book, plain so! She could run but not hide her crookedness from me. That EVIL lil laugh she has is as FAKE as can be! Arranging to send her packing with ONT Lezzie Loser asap! WE need decent women and men in true leadership positions. This PC nonsense has to go also. I call it like I see it!

U mean to tell me that all these Liberal types got U conned. Who trusts any Pol?

Grilled her for 8 hours??? That was a love in half the time, with certain guys lobbing the ball like light breadfruits even Kraig B woulda hit for 6! De Doris gin pick she up!

I am sure the best people to debate Hil would be Ted Cruz or Trump. That match up would be real theatre that I certainly would not avoid. DR B may not have the fire necessary, too gentle.

Who said Hil is a woman??? U did’nt know that they told her not to bend over in the WH as she was exposing her nuts?lol

She should be jailed over Benghazi! She FAILED to offer adequate security when it was asked for, needed and was available out of Italy or Germany in a few lousy hours. The joker had more security in Paris!

33. @Moneybrain

Trump is not a debater he is a Carnival barker who should debate Cruz, will he ask for Cruz’s birth certificate? Funny how the birth certificate business has disappeared now that the Rethugs have an honest to goodness foreign born Tea Partier running for something. Harper should have asked Cruz to campaign for him in his birthplace. Funny how the cries for experience have receded now they have two tenderfoots in the Repub race who are on top of the polls.

Hypocrisy thy name is politician.

34. @MoneyBrain November 9, 2015 at 2:29 PM “The media are joining in wasting time on his adolescent errors,”

The thing is it appears as though there were NO adolescent errors…and the good Dr. Steve Urkel feels the need to pretend that as a youth he was a bad ass ni99@.

The question is:

WHY???

35. @Simpy

Good point!
    Maybe he feels he needs to attract certain types and dispel that he was always a calm, thinker that those certain types hate? Repositioning is a Marketing concept that can work. Any media exposure is good for Dr Ben at this stage, as his weakness is that he is not as well known as Trump.