George C. Brathwaite

I begin by wishing all Barbadians and the Caribbean family, a hearty and improved 2014. I write hopeful that the political and civic leaders would be resolute in creating growth opportunities and access to decent work. Starting with those two societal expectations the possibility exists that the government may bring an end to the socioeconomic turbulence which has negatively impacted on Barbadians.

Even as everyday life appears tougher for Barbadians, I trust that our political executive would not to be fettered by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) nor employ the backwardness of worker retrenchment. Prime Minister Stuart can no longer refuse to exhibit political will. The prime minister cannot lay any special inclination towards resting hope on Morpheus. The current inertia that has gripped economic governance in Barbados must be overcome by indigenous efforts and meaningful political actions and national programmes.

That Barbados is a small and vulnerable economy is factual. Nonetheless, and barring the past four years, history demonstrates that, for the most part, Barbados’ post-colonial leaders have displayed immense resilience and chivalry of purpose in the pursuit of national development.

Read full article

70 responses to “Fool, It Is Not the Undervalued and Exploited Worker to Sacrifice Again: Seek the Political and Capitalist Classes”

1. No.
    When subliterate hate-mongering gobshites brandish their handguns and pronounce that a tourist beaten to death on a Barbados beach is “white trash”, that’s when it begins,

2. Hi Chris, happy new year.

3. I guess the silent discontent has found released.

4. Quoting millertheanunnaki
    “How can the Minister of Finance announced in the highest Court of the Land …”

If you’re correcting someone’s grammar, it’s always a good idea not to look like a dick. What “announced” what? What random use of upper case what?

Where the fuck were you cocksuckers educated? All the billions of foreign taxpayers’ money poured into the Barbados education system, and you still don’t know where to put the “d” at the end of verbs?

Prodigal Son: it’s “tangled”, with a “d”. If you’re going to quote people much brighter than you, at least make an effort to get it right.

5. And Dave, the little pussy wid he likkle gun (smoooch!) and a tragically poor grasp of his mother tongue … If you ever brandish a gun in my presence, little pussy, I’ll shove it so far up your ass you’ll be shitting bullets for a month.

Ya wid we on dat????? Heah!!!!!!!!

6. Education is the progressive discovery of our own ignorance.

7. You think education is expensive…… you ought to try ignorance.

8. The Ignorance of the educated takes no scrutiny to established.

9. Your choice if you want to contribute to BU in 2014 Jack. Your call.

10. My My some bloggers are hurting and lashing out at people grammar. The example of a dying man clutching at a straw.Forget the grammar thing.That fella kin hole ‘e own. Deal with the retard who spoke on public radio and I had to translate what ‘im say.Effing stinking Dems can go to hell.Wunna ‘can run nutten,wunna braindead impostors.Deal wid de fax man!

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jack Bowman | 02/01/2014 at 3:30 pm

Unlike you I do not correct blogger’s grammar only focus on the validity or utility of their contributions to important issues raised on this blog.

Sorry Sir, for not joining your grammar class to be well schooled in that fine art of Grammar.
    Its (or is it “It’s”) the modern word-processing technology that made me do it and which sometimes, like the printer’s devil, prompts you write bad things.
    Is this a reasonably convincing alibi for you Sir?
    I should have written (or is it wrote) “How could the Minister of Finance have announced”, right Mr. Perfect Grammarian? Is there another way of referring to an act that occurred many weeks ago?

Now that you have corrected us (both Prodigal and “myself” or is it “I” or ‘Me”) is there anything else you would like to contribute to the debate other than being the editor-in-chief?
    If not, why don’t you get your RIP Van Winkle ‘cocksure sucking’ asshole off the blog and go back under the rock where you were sleeping, you bleeding prick!

What the hell grammar has to do ideas? Ask Einstein when next you see him and he will tell you.

PS: we would much prefer you NOT to read our contributions, please.

12. Where the fuck were you cocksuckers educated? All the billions of foreign taxpayers’ money poured into the Barbados education system, and you still don’t know where to put the “d” at the end of verbs?
    ………………………………………………………………….
    Looks like you did not benefit either? Resorting to vile gutter language to make your point.

13. Miller I said it a few times the other day I thought the govt was saying there will be x number of layoffs some through attrition yet on the jan. 1 2014 they increased the day you can collect your pension to 66 1/2 years. Am I the only one that thinks this is odd?

14. Bowmann…….are you trying to distract from the topic again??

15. Forget the Bowmann since he don’t have anything to contribute to the blog. People suffering and he talking bout grammar. Can we pay for goods from the supermarket with grammar? Damn joker.

16. Has a buyer been determined for the "Four Seasons" project? Avatar
    Has a buyer been determined for the “Four Seasons” project?

Has a buyer been determined for the “Four Seasons” project and, if not, why the delay?

17. 4 Seasons
    Have a heart man.The fellas can’t even get the St John polyclinic done and you talking about 4 Seasons?If you are one of the several bajans like the foolish virgins,believe in this poor rakey,dumbass government that the foolish virgins elected,my advice to you is to bide your time. 2014 promises to be a year to remember that the DLP self destruct.Its not a mission impossible.The shaving cream will hit the fan by the next Estimates of Expenditure due to be passed before March 31st 2014.The IMF will be the overseers,mark my word.You will see many more public sector workers on the breadline and the ripple efect will be felt in the private sector.There is hope however.All is not lost.Its just that this present team will have to be fired and an alternate team,one in which there is confidence,will move into Bay Street.The blinkered folk of sen lucy and sen john would not have learnt their lessons well enough to remove their
    shades.This time around we must demand Constitutional Change to the way government business is done.

18. Jack Bowman is a Cunt
    How is that for Grammar ?
    Imbecile !!!

19. Boring Bowmann..LOL

20. Just Saying:

Barbados yet to pay Shanique Myrie Friday, January 03, 2014

JAMAICAN Shanique Myrie is yet to receive the nearly J$4 million in damages from the Barbadian Government, but she remains upbeat. Myrie was last year awarded US$38,620 in pecuniary and non-pecuniary damages by the Caribbean Court of Justice. The court ruled that evidence Myrie presented about an illegal cavity search and detention in a filthy cell at Barbados’ Grantley Adams International Airport and subsequent deportation was powerful enough for a panel of judges to award her the money. But almost two months after the ruling Myrie has not yet collected a cent. “It was never about money. It was more about proving that they treated me wrong, and I am not going to make it look like I am desperate for money. The moral victory is very satisfying,” Myrie told the Jamaica Observer yesterday. As a party to the Treaty of Chaguaramas, Barbados has an obligation to comply with all the judgements of the court promptly. “I have to get on with my life. The money will come when it comes. That was never my motivation,” insisted Myrie. Myrie’s lawyer Michelle Brown confirmed that her client had not yet been paid. “These things take time, especially with governments. However, we are working on the issue of payment,” said Brown, whose legal fees must also be paid by the Barbadian Government.