Submitted by Kammie Holder, Advocacy Director, Future Centre Trust
Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy

Tuesday October 27th 2015 will forever be etched in my memory for two reasons. One, it was the day members of the DLP who gained the government on a ticket of transparency and integrity squandered the mandate earned.

[โ€ฆ]

The second, was the failure of the prime minister as head of cabinet and leader of country to invite alternatives to Cahill Plasma Gasification in treating to waste reduction.

I am extremely shocked that my friend Mr James Paul is quoted as saying “Bajans must welcome new technology.” Never knew Bajans feared technology, perhaps Mr Paul never took time to read the Cahill MOU, Implementation Agreement or Power Purchase Agreement or for that matter researched Plasma Gasification. Let me state for the record, environmental justice does not exist in Barbados if we consider Pegwell Boggs and the dust complaints of Checker Hall residents are considered.

I will take the time to present some pros and cons for the benefit of members of parliament who have followed four blind men to wreak havoc on Barbados financially, environmentally and socially.

• Cahill Energy Barbados seems to be a pot of gold despite no plant exist of the proposed 1000 tons daily for this new technology.
  • Why all the operational Plasma Gasification Plants which are in operation are but demonstration plants?
  • Why if this technology is so great and is a Harvard invention why no commercial plasma gasification plants exist.
  • Mr Chris Sinckler is true that Cahill will be guaranteed $120M per year as free cash flow thanks to deleveraging for the first 5 years despite capital expenditure of $180M yearly, thus can you explain the maths?
  • Donville Inniss  as Minister of Commerce, are you aware From May 15th, 2014 – the start of โ€œPower Purchase Agreementโ€, price charged to consumers for electricity will increase every 3 years to reflect the increasing operational cost?
  • Why would Cahill burn GOB waste for $30 when hazardous watch can fetch $250 per ton?
  • Who monitors air quality and who will in the future?
  • What are the specific protocols for monitoring nanoparticles and PM2.5?
  • Is it true the PM2.5 and nanoparticles cannot be filtered by lungs are linked to blood cancer and scarring of lungs.
  • How will the 9 tons of Caustic Soda be treated to eliminate contamination of ground water and marine life?
  • Will the residents of Sandy Lane serviced by the Molyneaux Aquifer experience greater water outage due to Cahill Water wells?
  • Who builds a factory upwind of residents that will have to flare at times?
  • Dioxins, Carbon Monoxide, NOx, acids, chlorides, fluorides, sulphates, phosphates, sodium and calcium?
  • Which GOB department possess the protocols to benchmark Cahill?
  • Name a plasma gasification plant that has met stipulated emission control limits?
  • Can the Minister of Finance tell Barbadians if itโ€™s true no commercial Plasma Gasification Plants exist in the US due to stringent environmental requirements?
  • Can any person involve in the Cahill negotiations tell Barbadians if finderโ€™s fees will be paid and to whom?
  • Are there any laws that require all ministers to conduct government business using only assigned work emails?
  • Can the Cahill Plasma Gasification, Doddโ€™s Prison, Hardwood, Pierhead Project and 3S stand up to international scrutiny of good governance?
  • Where will the bottom ash be landfilled and who will monitor chemical composition?
  • Will Cahill Energy Barbados provide cheaper electricity that the current provider BL&P?
  • Who will maintain baseload during the Cahill 35 days off grid maintenance period?
  • Can the Minister of Energy or Commerce tell Barbadians if Cahill will be regulated by the FCT in lieu of its guaranteed 2.5%
  • Dr Denis Lowe, can you tell Barbadians if the waste falls below (12- 14MJ/kg) who will pay the 5 to 14% increased processing fees.
  • Is it true if the GOB is unable to supply waste and biomass in accordance to the contract, it has to compensate CEB for its losses, including losses in revenue as per the โ€œPower Purchase Agreement?
  • Will the facility be a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP)?
  • Does the Implementation Agreement include the process for adopting a new waste separation plan with public participation?
  • What are allowable excess emissions from malfunctions?
  • Is not Barbados part of international treaties which prohibit transportation of port waste outside ports?
  • Can the self appointed Czar of  Ship Waste Hon Denis Kellman who will monitor the ships lining up to provide Cahill with garbage?

Sad that the proponents of a questionable $700M Plasma Gasification Plant believe the garbage they spoke in parliament.

171 responses to “Questions for Clair Cowan of Cahill Energy and Government of Barbados”

1. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Killhill will kill us all,Clearing the land for the whiteman as greed and sell out kill us all.
    So many suckers on Barbados for the World of trash, How did these white niggers of the DBLP lived as a child to grow up with the Nasty ways of this kind of new sell-out , greedy, stupid men . They have to be paid spies for another country, Government well bought and paid for,Election NOW,

2. yuh know Kammie! if you did not bring in the high powered foreign political environmentalist yardfowls to fight we govt you might have had a chance to convince the govt, although it might have been a long shot
    But the the acts of deceptions and the misleading PM letter where content was omitted and posted as Factual on social media including yours truly BU was the undoing for You and masked masqueraders of Doom and Gloom
    Your failure was one of not understanding that bajans like to fight their own battles on home turf and among themselves and hate when outsiders stick their dirty noses in we battles,

3. What You should have done was to rally a team of experts with no financial or political strings attached to do an environmental Fact finding analysis on the proposed site
    Request an official meeting by way of letter with the minister of the environment as an advocate for /and on behalf the people of barbados as a concern to the proposed site and WTE project
    Also for the record the letter sent to the Minister should be published in the media
    Furthermore upon receiving your analysis a secondary letter detailing your findings would have been sent to the Minister
    In as much as i applauded your efforts i also must say that the approach and its execution and with all due respect was tacky and tasteless,
    There are ways by which one can achieved what they believe is sufficient cause to sound the warning bell but bullying and deception is not one of them
    i implore you to go back to the drawing board and be citeful of those who you choose to fight your battles making sure that their self interest might not be of cause to worry along with the damaging effects they would bring to the “cause”
    Have a nice day,

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

Ain’t you a real honourable clown; walking tall and proud amongst a bunch of circus actors; providing up front jokes and entertainment all designed at keeping the audience entertained and distracted from the hidden agenda of this particular circus that is intended to stay hidden and operate stealth. The writing is on the wall that both the DLP and the BLP do not listen to the view points or ideas of local opinion. History has also shown that both political parties has an outside fascination for over and away inputs, influences and expertise because this ensures that all interests can be settled in discreet and without accountability thus excluding any potential adversity or uprising from public fanfare. Since shitey you trying to drop that same logic that is responsible for the DLP being branded liars and sycophants, the same type of shite that the BLP also used during their reign of plunder, you would do well to note that your refutation which you developed all on your own are substantiated by several contradictions coming from the mouths of a bunch joke politicians and a PM that shows he is not afraid to tow the unethical or immoral lines. Imagine, you have given due consideration and consent to a technology base on a set of promises and projections proposed from a woman who depicts the profile of a finkler (again over and away) to one of painting a picture of Kammie Holder and the future centre trust, who are the real heroes and lovers of country, as those who sought to bring in over and away yard fowls to press the issue of Cahill in a negative way. Which type of backward shite could you be because you certainly ain’t an upfront one? You bring in or allow over and away people for a WtE project in the form of Cahill Cowan to come in and convince you. The future centre trust sought expert overseas advice on a technology that these experts have researched and know a few things about, yet your administration allowed over and away Cahill Cowan, without any consideration to opening the bid for other players, without any proper studies, without an considerations for how this- yet to be proven technology- will affect us all and according to you, Cahill Cowan is right and these professional men and women from over and away are mere yard fowls and wrong! You really are a shitey puppet serving a real ignorant set of misguided puppet principles and master clowns. We really swimming up stream fuh trute.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ antichrist

You can’t be serious when you say “…i also must say that the approach and its execution and with all due respect was tacky and tasteless…”

You have an MOU whose contents are not available to the representatives and by extension the people of Barbados you have an untried untested and apparently unsafe technology being foisted down the throats of our citizens under the most suspicious of circumstances and you upbraid a citizen for his “tact”?

Mao Tse and the Pol Pot believed that the “Enemy of the people” deserved one reward delivered to the Base of the Skull and not $700 million and $1 billion dollars (intentional repetition) every 10 years.

Clare’s deal is netting someone $250 million for starters and those criminals have started expanding the circle of ministers who will benefit to additional ministers for who $20 million now and $5 million per year every year going forward is enough for them to sell out other bajans

And Chris Stinkliar will sell out he muddah far less a nex Bajan, axe Derrick Alleyne current director of Urban Affairs!!!

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Told y’all, those who present themselves as leaders are the descendants of those who sold out their own through the centuries, they cannot even see themselves doing it, it’s so inbred it has become second naturem they do it on automatic.

Look at the state of AC, her brain function is that of a drone, they just wind her up and turn her loose.

7. Ac is not of the expectation that my comments would sit well on the stomaches here.
    However I am more than convince giving the lack of overwhelmed support to the Future Trust concerns by Barbadians
    The need to bring the majority of Barbadians on board was thwarted and diminished by a selfish interest who got side tracked with salacious intentions rather than intentionally and strategically remained focus on those issues categorized as unfriendly to the environment
    With out sufficient legally to present any wrong doing on all parties involved with the project ,the call for a legitimate and worthy cause by the Future Trust and its band of supporters was doomed for failure

8. @ Well Well
    SURELY you don’t think that there is ANYONE, ANYWHERE who can possibly be as stupid as AC….. This AC business is a paid position …where the DLP is attempting to copy what the crooked Guyana Parliament did before being kicked out of office….

Recall they actually had a team of persons on staff, PAID SPECIFICALLY to frustrate the social media – which they could not control by the courts, the police, or by their armed thugs?

While AC is no angel, she (they) are just earning a dollar so that she can pay her FLOW bill and maintain her facebook account – with the funny profile pic ๐Ÿ™‚

The only mistake we makehere on BU is in entertaining AC, Waiting and the other suspects … who are just ordinary brass bowl parasites – looking to mek a dollar – without regard to what happens to the rest of Barbados…

9. @AC, perhaps I need to remind you of the polite actions of the FCT to engage the GOB. Stop finding excuses for ignorance of a government which is not interested the concerns of the citizens. Those who voted for change never expected such deceit of governance from the Freundel Stuart led administration.

AC, Carson, Cummins and Peter read the submission and answer the questions and be honest enough to tell readers if the concerns are not legitimate.
    I sat in parliament and was shocked at the justification of the DLP and BLP on poor governance citing Greenland and Cahill

10. @ac, thanks for saying the Future Centre Trust does not have widespread support in opposing Cahill. Let me share a secret, we have resisted the calls of those with deep pockets and vested interest to take an aggressive posture which was communicated to GOB.

Do you think full page ads in the New York Times, UK Mail and Toronto Star by the monied will do Barbados tourist industry any good? How much more can the FCT beg the monied to give us a chance to work with the government on alternatives solutions to Cahill?

11. Mr Holder firstly u have misrepresented my language .I did however state that your concerns were valid..However derailed by mischevious actions formulated by self serving interest
    Another point of interest that you should pay close attention for further reference is “approach”a proven and reliable method which captures and demands all to pay close attention
    Needless to say the cause for which you fought some where got lost in the politics of denegration

12. @Kammie,
    Quite some time ago I asked about the Bone fides of the goodly professor who was supposed to advise the Future Centre Trust. No answer. I asked who was funding the Future Centre Trust. No answer.
    The alternative to the Plasma gasification plant, has not been forthcoming from you, because waste separation does not provide a suitable alternative.
    One must be able to look many years into the future. If Bill Gates did not have a vision of what “the road ahead” would look like we would not have the internet today. We must be forward looking, bold, and ready to seize the initiative, even when people cannot share your vision. If they had your vision they would be able to support you.
    My advice to the government is to press ahead with their vision. The detractors will always try to derail your ideas. All the good inventors and innovators had detractors and persons who tried to destroy their ideas and derail their attempts to press ahead.

13. “The plant proposed for the waterfront will be the first commercial scale operation of the technology in the world”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/hamilton/news/community-group-will-protest-gasification-plant-thursday-1.2944693,

In a democracy there is nothing wrong with asking questions and protesting.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Kammie Holder October 29, 2015 at 8:55 AM #

Do you think full page ads in the New York Times, UK Mail and Toronto Star by the monied will do Barbados tourist industry any good? How much more can the FCT beg the monied to give us a chance to work with the government on alternatives solutions to Cahill?

If putting out there is the only way to stop this corrupt project from happening but it to shite out there. We cannot affect tourism no more than the Cuba tourist explosion will affect us anyway. This AC political puppet is not interested in the welfare of people or to answer the set of concerns put forward by you. This project has the potential to set the image of the DEMONcrattic Lying Party into the halls of immortality and ensure that when they are out of government, flying to the destination where the money will be waiting ensures that they are able to buy a whole set of comforts that are not affected by taxes or concerns related to those struggles the population will face because their wicked decisions. Jesus Christ talk about wicked…gawwwwd

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Kammie Holder

” …full page ads in the New York Times, UK Mail and Toronto Star …” by anyone will make people all over the world aware of the travesty.

It will cost a lot of money but at the end of the day you have to ask yourself if an advertisement in a newspaper confirming what is the collective stance of a country with a ticking atomic bomb on its doorstep is worth the lives of these bajan swine who will leave when it become toxic to go to the same places you propose to print the ads.

If said factions are serious they will be prepared to shoot a canon ball across the bow.

Show them you are not playing by sending a full page ad from the FCT with one question mark

If the plasma gasification plant is as dangerous as you have shown it to be, stopping tourists from coming here, is worth the adverse publicity cause when the tourists are gone, we are here in the poison shores of Bim

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sexy Suzanne

You and I must be conversing before we post, almost like the antichrist and Alvin from Eglinton are

We gotta be careful lol

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin……I can’t remember Bill Gates being the inventor of the internet, I thought his forte was Microsoft Windows, software programs, correct me if am wrong. Why are you trying to equate politicians to investors, they are not one and the same.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The bigger countries should monitor these small island politicians so that when they wreak havoc on the people they just cannot automatically run off to North America or Europe leaving destruction behind.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt Alvin Cummins

Until the rising of the sun, until the going down of the same, the name of the Lord is to be praise aiissse aissse. Praiseeee in the Lord orddd rdddd. Repeat twice Alvi. I hope you have made your calling and election sure. Because you are one persons who will have a lot of sins to answer for. And the greatest of these will be fraud and pretense.

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ my cunty Alvi

Here are the inventors of the internet

http://science.howstuffworks.com/innovation/inventions/who-invented-the-internet.htm

21. Down right nasty and dirty .How can anyone support a proposal which targets tourist the life blood of the economy which would harm and main the national interest?
    A proposal which would attack the root and heart of the economy
    These type of adventures can be describe as despicable acts akin to terrorist activity

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So there you go Alvin, not even Al Gore can put claim to inventing the internet, he only helped those dudes, scientists and technological experts, with the legislation and certain legalities that arise in such huge inventions..lol

23. @AC, whose self interest am I serving other than the protect of the environment from money grabbers who are not interested in the health or safety of Bajans. Stop support ignorance just for Kudos from your party for you are doing what BLP partisans did for the ill conceived Greenland. Our conversations on Facebook years ago allowed me know you understand right from wrong and the need to draw the partisan line when welfare of country is under threat

Chris, Darcy, David, Denis and Lowe all know the plant has its merit but the risk and cost as well as the potential environmental concerns are beyond Barbados capacity to cope on the projected scale. The aforementioned ministers know the sustainable alternatives exist that cost less and only need GOB legislative support.

@Alvin Cummins, you know the Future Centre Trust is funded by no other than international donors who provide funds for specific projects such as CoreNetwork aka Community Recycling. Mr Cummins, to ask what are the alternatives shows you are ill informed of the alternatives presented to the GOB. Perhaps,you have never heard about the Zero Waste Barbados Movement, Upcycling or the Circular Economy and how what would have been once perceived as waste destined for a landfilled was Redesigned and Repurposed. Alvin in your myopic partisan rush to support a waste of a project at the peril of Barbados you need to read the questions for enlightenment. The citizenry cannot depend on your party or the BLP to prosecute poor governance for it will not happen in the DBLP club.

Cahill Energy Barbados at some point in time, irrespective of books no matter how cooked or boiled will show if fees were paid and to whom thanks to FATCA!

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@my sweet piece

What you expect from two peas in a pod. After I am finished with you I will leave wriggle room for your madam.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin.,……..that should read, equating politicians to inventors, they are not one and the same.

26. @AC, are you aware that the plant is on a hill overlooking Sandy Lane?

Let the residence of Sandy Lane tell you about the whisky fungus as a bug bear for years when Haynesville factory in in operations.

Do you think when the Cahill Plasma Gasification Plant have to flare or a scrubber problem exist do you think the plant will go off line when its generating 30Mw baseload of electricity to the grid? Let me explain what I just wrote PM2.5 particulate matter as well as nanoparticles will be blowing downwind.

Oh think of Arawak Cement Plant and what the trial judge said to the residents when they sought redress thru the high court against the daily bombardment of the fugitive dust.
    ” ARAWAK CEMENT PLANT IS A PUBLIC GOOD AND RESIDENTS MUST LEARN TO LIVE WITH IT” excerpt from judgement handed down by the now senile former High Court Judge Sir Clifford Husbands.

Adrian Clarke, so what are you trying to tell Tom Selleck and the other multimillion property owners of Sandy Lane who are concerned? You are unbelievable, heartless and without empathy.

27. How can Kammie justify actions that undermines ,hurt and to destroy in good faith when he has launced a campaign to protect the well being if citizen
    How does the fall out from a negative ad serves for the correction of his environmental “causes “?

28. @AC, I have begged enough and reached out to the GOB so its your turn to send an emissary to the residents of the west coast. Tell them that the plant will surpass all emission standards despite non ever ever met such or exist on this scale to be benched marked. Tell them not to worry about the daily use 9 tons of Caustic Soda and ground water contamination cannot not happen.

Off to a funeral and thanks for the civil discourse.

29. First and foremost and without having give excuses in your part please refrain from calling or referencing my moniker to anyonev
    Secondly having relevant facts to support “the cause against” as I said in previous comment.Your responsibility lies within several Democratic formed out of good governance which are correct and resolute
    However if you persist to commit yourself to vindictive and self serving methods your efforts would be in vain

30. @ac
    U are a freak an idiot and a waste of gods clay.
    Go find another blog where they tolerate white noise and circular rhetoric from idiots

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hmm should I be civil or should launch my bitch into the AC brigade Ok Civil it is

@ AC

There is no denying that Barbados needs a solution to the problem of waste disposal. There is no denying that Barbados needs its elected government to pursue solutions, not a solution, to Barbados waste disposal problems. What Barbados does not need is a government that is undertaking a venture into the unknown and operating contrary to public outcry on a development that his created uneasiness and fear in its wake. If the government has chosen to remain in situ of its position to go forward with this plant; has chosen to disclose very little details on the conceptualization of this project and gravitate towards a set of promises made by a CEO of a company who functions like an Avon sales clerk seeking to sell and capitalize on her big interest by selling the 700 million dollar price tag that will accumulate into nice little retirement over the next several years for several persons, then you are telling me that this selling out of the country does not warrant an extreme act of retaliation to protect from going into harms way? We can barely maintain the few public buildings under government control far less seek to maintain and keep environmentally sound a technology that has given other pursuing countries a nightmare on their various streets. I really do not think you are that AC to whom i was planning to rub nookcies with. You sound like an imposter posing as an AC but really might be government spin doctor or minister under AC disguise.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Not surprised that idiot Clifford Husbands would say something that stupid when it concerns the health of his own people, it’s a good thing for him he cannot now remember what he did as a sitting Judge.

33. @SSS, my thoughts exactly! This is a very different ac. Kammie, it was obvious that charges of “treason” would be levelled once you mention tourism. The fact that a malfunctioning WtE plant will have the same effect is apparently lost on them.

34. Nothing of the sort in reference to the day to mechanism of the WTE plant has been lost ,But what i find insane is how quick those who oppose the plant can predict or can preview disaster when there is no evidence to form such a conclusion.

SSS what proof or hardened Facts do You have that Barbados is /has been “sold” out just my belief that you are a victim of too many spy movies,

@ Mr. Holder ! No problem
    however be careful that you might create more harm than good in a moment of despair to be overly adventurous in order to appease
    i however belief that your love for barbados would guide you in a direction where all your issues would be resolve and critical and pending questions on behalf of those who oppose the plant would be answered without your having to injure or harm the economy

thanks for your input,

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman…maybe that’s all the GOB got going for it right now, using taxpayers money to pay the ACs to haunt the blogs.?…lol

36. Typical ac
    Clearly u know nothing about engineering
    Anyone who knows anything about HAZID and HAZOP will tell u that that this monster is unproven and on an island like Barbados runs the highest risk profile possible
    All the political BS going on will pale into insignificance if people don’t address these risks and stop this project before its to late

37. What considerations would inform ministers to make a decision on a $700M Plasma Gasification Plant to generate electricity more expensive than BL&P?

AC stop hide behind the moniker be bold as the comments you make. I am certain you can identify with all the questions I have asked?

I daresay these minister led by Denis Lowe deliberately signed the MOU, PPA and IA committing country before TCP spproval or EIAS as a means of binding country.

Denis Lowe think he is the smartest crusader but time is longer than time. The Cahill deal is now the hottest conversation piece at cocktail reception in diplomatic circles.
    @AC, why do you think?

38. @Ac. ou know up to now you have not identified on question among the many that has merit?

@Alvin Cummin, have you taken time to see the pros I have posted on Plasma GGadificatio and the alternatives to Cahill.

Do you know that each 40 feet container exported from B’s Recycling holds 16 sacks containing 16000 sixteen ounce pep bottles weighing 2000lbs?

O, the pep have an extremely high calorific value which fits the ideal diet for the Cahill Energy Plasma Beast.

The Minister Of Environment is aware of the FCT research which shows as much as 90 % of municipal waste can be recycled and diverted from landfill.

39. has BLP saved the govt or taxpayers any money either in the area of waste disposal or energy cost
    the govt has dared to venture out of the political correctness to have a green energy policy with a high possibly to include a WTE plant .but is certainly convinced that along with looking into the future that there is an urgency that calls for govt to make those steps necessary to institute energy policies that are beneficial to the country.
    i know that the Future Trust is forward in their thinking when it comes to environmental issues, Yes i have seen them at work,
    However what govt is working against is a long term unsustainable garbage disposal problem with limited land space and resources to contained plus high unsustainable energy cost
    Therfore when one look at the long term financial effects and limited foreign reserves coming inward .it is too high a risk to take leaving to chance that oil prices would continue to become lower and a society would be cautious in the way they dispose of garbage the stakes are most likely than not that all of the mentioned would ever happen
    Govt therefore is committed to be resolute in controlling theses issue that affect the overall national interest of barbados/ians,along with bearing in mind that the noisemakers those who are a citizens of this country should be protected too

Mr Holder those questions that you have tabled should be given to both sides which can be passionately discussed at parliament settings by members of parliament when the green energy program is discussed ,and for which you are entitled to copies of the discussion as an advocate for the people be it one two or three ,Please do not tell me you try, that is a sign of weakness
    i do understand your passion but politics can be a directive that takes all along on a roller coaster ride

40. Corection BLP meant BL&P

41. By Mariel Vilella

“As its name implies, the Green Climate Fund was created to help transform developing country economies by supporting high quality investments in clean energy and climate resilience.

Exactly what the fund would pay for in order to meet this lofty goal is still not clear.

When members of the fundโ€™s board meet in Korea to hammer out guidelines for deciding which projects to finance, they will be considering, in large part, how to prioritize investments with the greatest potential to reduce greenhouse gas pollution.

A draft of the investment framework now publicly available includes โ€œlow-carbon strategiesโ€ for improving the way governments and companies manage waste.

That could be a good thing as long as those strategies are recycling, composting and waste prevention, not dumping and burning.

Garbage in, garbage out

In an attempt to capitalize on the increasing demand for sources of energy that emit less carbon than fossil fuel combustion, the incineration, plastic, and cement industries are working hard to paint โ€œwaste-to-energyโ€ as green as wind, solar, and other renewable technologies.

But dressing up the name doesnโ€™t change the fact that burning trash is amongst the most polluting, expensive, and inefficient forms of energy production available today.

Incinerator companies like Covanta, Plasco, and Veolia claim they can safely, cost-effectively and sustainably turn waste into electricity and fuels. Some companies go so far as to claim that the technology is โ€œzero emissionsโ€ or โ€œpollution-freeโ€ and not incineration at all.

The industry uses all kinds of terms: gasification, pyrolysis, plasma arc, waste-to-energy.

But all of these ways of burning trash โ€” even if theyโ€™re called something else โ€” release dioxins and a panoply of other toxic pollutants into the air, soil and water; emit unsustainable amounts of carbon; and are, in fact, treated as incineration by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the European Union.

Risk

Simply put, incinerators are a bad investment. Burning waste remains the most expensive form of electricity generation. In the U.S., the capital costs more than 2 times that of coal, and operating costs nearly 10 times as high.

Because of the exorbitant price of building burn facilities, most private financiers are reluctant to take on such a risky investment alone. To make incineration viable, the cash-strapped public sector has to step in with taxpayer subsidies.

In addition, city governments are generally required to sign multi-decade contracts that lock them into burning trash for decades. This discourages recycling, composting and other waste- and cost-reducing measures.

In some places, notably Europe, local governments have actually been forced to import trash from other towns to meet their quota. Cities in the U.S., like Harrisburg and Detroit, have even gone bankrupt trying to make good on their contracts with incinerator companies.

Despite being such a massive investment, incinerators produce very little energy and a lot of pollution. To make the same amount of electricity as a coal plant, the average trash incinerator in the U.S. releases 28 times as much dioxin and 2.5 times as much carbon.

Experimental technologies that once looked promising to the industry, such as gasification pyrolysis and plasma arc, have failed to prove capable of commercial-scale operation.

In Europe, cities are increasingly decommissioning incinerators and moving instead toward zero waste. And in places where pollution rules are not enforced, like in the Indian community of Okhla, residents are shutting down facilities in protest.

To top it all off, incinerators feed climate change. The average trash incinerator in the U.S. directly emits an average of 2.5 tonnes of carbon dioxide per MWh and 2.8 tonnes of nitrous oxide per MWhโ€”both greenhouse gases that contribute to global warming.

That means incinerators emit more CO2 per megawatt-hour than any fossil fuel-based power source, including coal-fired power plants.

Meanwhile, removing material from the waste stream through cheap, low-tech measures like composting and applying it to the soil could increase forage production by 50% and pull a ton of carbon out of the atmosphere per hectare.

Role for waste

The waste sector does have a significant role to play in reducing carbon emissions and protecting the climate, and should be prioritized by the Green Climate Fund.

In cities around the world, local recycling workers, visionary community leaders, and innovative practitioners are showing that zero waste solutions โ€”including composting, biogas, recycling, and, production and consumption shiftsโ€”could be implemented today, using existing technologies, with immediate results.

Recycling and composting alone save 3 to 5 times as much energy as incinerators can recover.

Biogas plants that run on organic waste are used for energy generation at the residential level in Mumbai where informal recyclers run their own biogas plants. Much larger facilities in the UK, Flanders, and Germany are generating heat, power or both.

Today, nearly 1 million people are employed in the recycling sector in the United States, and studies show that an aggressive pursuit of recycling could produce a total of 2.3 million jobs while reducing pollution and mitigating climate change.

Recycling generates millions of dollars in economic activity annually and shows great promise of growth.

Some cities, like San Francisco, have even shown that zero waste can be achieved through cooperation with unions, community groups and employee-owned companies.

These are the kinds of economic, employment and environmental gains that developing countries deserve to benefit from, and the Green Climate Fund could help make happen.”

Given the urgency of the climate crisis, the shrinking pool of public money, the health risks of incineration, and the availability of sound alternatives, waste-to-energy would be a bad investment for the Green Climate Fund.

When it comes to considering incineration, members of the fundโ€™s board would be wise to remember the adage โ€œgarbage in, garbage outโ€.

Mariel Vilella is the Associate Director and Climate Policy Specialist at Zero Waste Europe, the regional branch of the Global Alliance for Incinerator Alternatives. Follow her on twitter @marielvilella

Related posts:

Waste could provide UK with unlimited energy resource
    Bloomberg tells New York residents to โ€œrecycle everythingโ€
    PODCAST: Turning waste to energy in South Africa
    Green Climate Fund urged to ban coal funding
    Read more on: Comment & Analysis | Energy | Green Climate Fund | Waste

ยฉ 2015 Climate Home. All rights reserved.

42. Two wrongs equal poor governance leading to massive corruption. The B&LP jucjk out our eyes as a monopoly but we were also privided wuth excellent service.

The linear economy of birth to death is nothing more than greenwashing. A process that creates toxic waste such as dioxin cannot be considered green.

In the circular economy the 4 R”s are engaged and nothing goes to the landfill other the hazardous waste.. Reduce, Reuse, Recycle and Repurpose/Redesign is where we beed to go.

Even that old shoe is used for commercial insulation that coconut shell is used as filller and as microbeads. That old clothing is used to make new fibres. Wet waste can be use in Waste To Energy as Richard Hoad has done for years at Morgan Lewis.

So tell the ministers Waste To Energy is not new to Barbados but 1000 tons a day Plasma Gasification is., compounded by poor environmental justice, lax regulations and zeto protocols as well as enforcement.
    @Ac, this is one fight the GOB aint gine win.

The Sandy Lane backlash is sonething we can ill afford at this time as the multimillionaires seek to protect their multi million properties.

Tell Denis Lowe its best he continue to ignore Clare Cowan calls for the coming injunction will catspraddle Cahill. Thus the investors obviously will be contacted by Sandy Lane residents. This is bigger that those seeking wealth and fame while sustainable alternatives are completely ignored. Richard Sealy should soon get his letter of concern as Minister of Tourism.

43. @ Kammie
    Let Bushie break it down for you …cause you like you slow or something….

Skippa, you have the Government pissing themselves with FEAR at your threat to carry your concerns to the international press.
    Don’t mind the ‘tourism’ shiite talk…. it is the ingrunt-ass International PRESS who would jump ALL over their thieving asses – like flies on shiite ….that have them shitting themselves…. Not like Stetson …who is too busy getting audio from the mother of a young thug out on bail for illegal guns (HUH?) about what a good boy he is… or was…

You think BBC easy….?
    You recall how they HOUNDED Jack Warner until he was eventually indicted?

You think that the US Justice department does mek sport with big-up BLACK people who get uppity and play that they breaking laws like money laundering and wire fraud …. or even driving while black….?

They are so frightened that they kicked the JACkass ‘AC’ off shift ..and send in the sweet-talking people who worked on the young Union jokers to get them to back down from the BIDC retirement scam…..They will now promise you all kinda shiite, and boost up your ego by admitting that you ‘have a good case’ … but need to discuss the matter first – and, should agreement not be possible… to use the Courts…
    ha ha ha LOL… GOOD LUCK with dat!!!

Oh shiite…. Let’s see if you are another Akanni….

44. @Bush Tea, I have reached out thru ministers of government to get engagement on the sustainable alternatives as expected of the Future Centre Trust. The monied on the West Coast are not pleased about this proposed plant and will do what they have to do. Unfortunately, their patience have ran out. My desire is always conversation over confrontation but I think the movement is unhappy with my intolerable patience.

Residents of Checker Hall have been ignored by the Arawak Cement on the fugitive dust concerns and PM2.5 particulate matter concerns. Not for one day we’re they given relief as production quota had to be met and millions spent on scrubbers without relief.

Will any Court order the power plant to cease and desist when it is supposed to generate 30MW base load of electricity because of some environmental nuisance?

The US EPA strict emission requirements is one of the main reasons no commercial plasma gasification plants exist so my source at the the agency has said. None of the demonstration plants have ever met the emission standards set.

Thus, the persons on the West Coast will do what it takes to protect their health and investments as any property owner would do. In my concern I have communicated this to GoB via an emissary who was also invited to meet some of the worried residents.

@AC, I am not responsible for any actions of others when GOB fails to answer correspondence to discuss solution on alternatives.

The Prime Minister as head of cabinet needs to investigate who took Cahill to Capital Finance Corp and share the findings with cabinet That triggered US State Department involvements who called Barbados to find out why a GOB minister would be doing such on behalf of a private firm seeking to raise such large sums. To say it raised a red flag is putting it mild for that is the norm in Africa but not common to Barbados. Thus who can have confidence in this project?

How many of you are away that Clair attempted two similar projects in 2010 that fell thru then asked 7th Heaven to seek a buyer of technology within Caricom.

45. Kammie Holder October 29, 2015 at 9:32 PM #

Well said Sir.

But, what I am surprised about, is that so many are still treating to Cahill normally, after the extensive discussions on this blog site, of the documented evidence of what the company is or is not.

Honestly, in good business, the discussion stops there. Right there.

No one deals with a company that, in the absence of other evidence, has no assets and apparent little expertise in the area to be delivered.

What is wrong with people?

It STOPS there.

But yet we are still having discussions re the relevance, or not re Plasma gasification and this company.

Mind-boggling.

Missing the wood for the trees.

Yes, a discussion re plasma gasification is relevant, but NOT in relation to this company, whatever it is.

We STILL do not know who its principals are.

Are you all serious, is Barbados serious? Is the Government serious?

I am stunned and disappointed.

We are going down a terrible road.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea

You, in your real real life, outside of the BU world, must be something else.

I must say that I neither understand Kammie Holder or the White People with deep pockets that he is speaking about on the West Coast!!

Suppose one on these west coast peeple is Sandy Lane. Do you know the amount of money Sandy Lane has invested in its property to secure US $10,000 per night for some of its rooms?

So imagine this scenario, they and others of this deep pockets crew, have placed hundreds of millions of dollars into their respective hotel plants with the express purpose of deriving current and future profits from such investment and an inept five year government, that amongst themselves do not have $250,000 to bail out the tiefing Speaker of the House Michael Carry Away a Ton of he clients money, said government has them afraid to post an ad?

@ Kammie Holder

If Certain People promise that They are going to kill you Kammie, you do know dat you dun dead!

You or these people need to stop playing around with paper threats and, if you are serious place the adverts

They continue to rely on the bajan sheeple mentality of nuff talk, Sandy Lane et party do not have any such compunction

Here is the outcome

Adverts placed prior to establishment of plant coverage scuttles ongoing efforts to secure funding in international financing markets. This is your major objective it is a moot point to tourists re the advert “running way tourists, THE PLANT DOES NOT EXIST YET.

They can make all the land available they like, that is a bluff that when we used to play toonk we understood what asking a fellow outside the main game to play high card spade at that critical moment meant to the fellows in de hand, bluster…

This is not a done deal for the Demonaic Lying Party as my girlfriend SSS calls them.

Keep your eyes on the prize, the potential investors, doan get tie up with the Kellman blusters ok, the financing which they do not have must continue to be your objective.

The bluff regarding sending a message that the political will is there means nothing if the $$$ to finance it is not there and the points that you have enumerated here in this article will be enough to make any investor pause regarding killing a nation or muddying their investment record by setting up a plant in Barbados that poisoned the ground water of 260k people in 2021

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Crusoe

Your comments correspond to discourse with people in first wold countries and not sheeple from this backwoods cvntry called Barbados.

You would think that the Fear Trading Commission would grow a pair of balls and regulate the telecommunications sector as per its mandate as opposed to selling out for some S6 galaxies.

You would think that the chief fire officer would, as sister by the Town and Planning department insist that the one door conflagration called Kirpirlanis would have to enforce building code rules and install adequate exits for a building of that size

You would think that a government could not just fire staff and hire dem friends at BIDC

No you are talking about civilized places not Barbados

48. Mr. Holder You seem to be fighting a two fold battle “yours and them” the govt is not sure and without full clarity as to whose or which battle takes precedent in your thought process
    Therefore govt is at lost in the manner with which you speak and have proceeded to cast negativity yet have no problem doing the bidding of a privilege class whose fears are mounted and generated from a financial microscope
    Govt cannot be worried or bother about what levels of intolerance or pressure is being burden on you in order to implement meaningful policies
    The govt has signed international treaties that govt must answer and give accountability in regards to all issues environmental
    Included is the proficiency and specification with the detailing of processes before proceeding and procedures are fully placed while taking into consideration that goals required must be quicken in order to save cost
    The govt is satisfied that most of the questions which you are asking have met and passed the necessary standards required by the WHO and International EPA rules and guidelines
    Some of the other questions i believe if you have concrete evidence concerning the parties involved in the green energy program i hasten to say that those for whom you are engaged to fight their battles against the WTE project (All) can use a legitimate democratic course of action to clear the air
    However do not except govt to be so inclined to be a participant with you on such battle field on that score the ball is in your hand,
    In the mean while govt would press forward and do what is best for the interest of Barbados and barbadians which is two fold one to save high energy cost and contain a potential and dangerously environmental issue pertaining to garbage which at present is being addresses

49. Many of us believed the CLICO Issue was the bane of this government, it appears that it has shifted to Cahill. The country is literally seething about this matter.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ AC

Hmmm you sound civil. I hope you are not Irene because I like her. We both took interest to Junior ”make muscles” Cumberbatch before his fateful death on his beloved bike. I would love to rub nookcies with Irene, such a hottie. Oops, sorry where we oh yeah.

ac October 29, 2015 at 6:48 PM #

SSS what proof or hardened Facts do You have that Barbados is /has been โ€œsoldโ€ out just my belief that you are a victim of too many spy movies

Columbus or Dahhh!!! What proof or evidence can you bring to refute my claim that Barbados is not being sold out or has already been sold out? Sold out for me, minus the spy movies, gosh I love Mission Impossible, is when you choose to ignore alternative methods to waste reduction for a monster with a big price tag and elephant appetite that we might not be able to satisfy. Sold out for me is when ministers can affirm Cahill is a done deal and back peddle fast is shite to having impact studies done, when Cahill Claire affirmed that work will commence on such and such a date on the Cahill Cowan WtE project. I think all of this happened when certain things were reveal by the opposition leader in the form of Mia no good Mottley and awareness became greater. That is sold out according to the SSS definition. What is your definition AC? Note I am being peaceful and polite with you because you are not that other AC that I a tormented.