Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Sir Gary Sobers

It appears that everyone wants to condemn Sir Garfield Sobers for speaking the truth regarding the status of players and state of West Indies Cricket. Well, I endorse every word that he said, he is so right.

[…]

I have been saying the same thing for the past few years myself and have been scoffed at. Yes they are a few exceptions who are committed to West Indies cricket but the majority is not. I totally agree that the majority are there for the money and personal glory.

The other world cricketers who represent their countries play with honour and therefore that level of commitment and pride is to their individual countries and their people. We do not have that kind of commitment by the West Indies players to the West Indies Cricket team. However, when they are playing for their respective islands, you can see a different level of commitment and pride, one that is not seen when playing for the West Indies team.

Let’s face the facts, we are divided in the Caribbean as a people; politically and socially, and it has cascaded to the cricket team. When it suits us, we say that we are West Indians, but we are very much divided.  How can we expect that the players will unite and be committed to West Indies cricket!

Take Bravo senior for example, “IPL first. Trinidad second and then any number could play”. Then the Board brings him to captain the West Indies team, well, everyone knows the embarrassment, problems and debt that he created for the Board and West indies cricket. He should never have been selected as a West Indies captain after his statement regarding his loyalty to the IPL.

We have to stop sweeping everything under the rug and making excuses for our players. Given the mindset of the majority of our young cricketers today in relation to the players of yesteryear, our cricket will always languish at the bottom. It is only a matter of time before the West Indies team suffers the same fate as Zimbabwe.

Another major problem here in the West Indies, is that only those who played cricket feel that they are the only ones who have the right to comment on the game. The truth is, and everyone will hate me for making this factual statement, the education level among the players is very low with the exception of a few players.

154 responses to “Sir Garfield is Right!”

1. Typos abound, but I will not correct as you can get the gist…
    I like the diversity of opinions found on BU.
    Thank God for the button pushers

2. Cricket players in Bim have been disadvantaged by several factors over the years:

1 video games

2 Co-education has halved the male pool in HC and other schools therefore reducing the competition and standards.

3 Govt has stupidly encouraged Basketball Courts in many communities thereby reducing the time spent playing Cricket at that critical level. Silly, since even at US Uni level most Point Guards(typically the shortest player) are over 6ft 4 ins. The probability that any Bajan would ever play in the NBA is exceedingly low, but playing Professional/ international Cricket is a very significant probability.

4 general deterioration of Discipline/ Attitude among the youth eg Benn, Rhinds et al have behaved badly at times, such was not the case in prior periods.

Donna, does any of this thinking appear in your textbooks?

3. @David,,,”time heals”. True dat I absolutely love (aagh…Loll) to discourse with you and Bushie. Both of you have the indomitable skills of the best debaters of never conceding a point even when plainly contradictory or illogical. You simply look for a related kernel to build again a new point tying back to your original proposition/premise and away you go. Toucheee, David.

But I must disavow you: The time stamp of the video is NOT irrelevant. It speaks directly to the greed of which you accuse the IPL boys. It speaks even more to the passion of black W Indians and the heartfelt desire to wear that maroon cap.

Sir Garry going to Rhodesia is as painful as the players to SA. We can argue over the political merits and benefits they presaged and never reach an agreement. Suffice as you said, time heals.

I would also disavow you that how the SA players were treated cannot be properly located (to use one of your words) in a modern context to equate how the IPL players are being handled.

Completely different dynamics. The only common factor frankly is that the WI Board is as clueless and inept now as they were then.

4. Where did you see me claim to be a genius? It didn’t take much to see through the white man’s history book just as it doesn’t take much to see through your shiite. What are we in the West Indies doing to counteract? NOTHING! We, for the most part, sit at the table with you like Portia Simpson, eat your shiite and smile while offering you many thanks for your consideration. I am not bellyaching about the white man but our response to his shenanigans. But to say that the actions of the Europeans have nothing to do with our demise is wrong. There was a concerted effort to dethrone us and we had no plan to counter. Get together with Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan you say? Who says they want to get together with us? Is that entirely up to us then?

As for writing my own text book- where did you see me say that that is my forte? I am working to enlighten and change in my own corner in my own way. I am working at the core of the problem. I am opening the minds of the young people to enable them to effect change.

By the way, I’m glad to hear that you acknowledge yourself as being part of the human race. Unfortunately many of your skin colour don’t see us that way but rather as apes. Barack Obama. his wife, Serena and Venus Williams have all been so described in hundreds of comments I have read recently by persons of your skin colour.

And the more you try to wriggle out of acknowledging the European’s role in our disadvantaged state the more your real colour is showing.

Eat your own, shiite! I have never eaten ANY!

5. GP,
    Good analysis especially your emphasis on Practice. Perfect practice makes perfect!
    I dont dispute the Chanders point but he is finished by whatever means. Interesting that we all know that Chanders used bowling machines to reach the top but how many WI players have purchased and used their own such machine???????????

Dem want the $$$$$ and glory BUT not the wuk!

6. David,

Most things in this world boil down to that David. How do you intend to get around that?

7. ac October 24, 2015 at 9:13 AM #
    Can’t understand the necessary focus and importance of I Q .especially when one reflects on those days when cricket greats like Sir Gary IQ in reference to scholastic advantage was minimal
    JACKASS! WHY DON’T YOU GO MEK SOM PUDDING AND SOUSE OR SUMTING?
    CRICKET IQ HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ACADEMICS!
    CRICKET IQ HAS TO DO WID PLAYIN NUFF NUFF CRICKET
    MoneyBrain October 24, 2015 at 10:17 AM #
    the colonist have not been in control of Cricket for years, India has taken over that role as 1 Billion + market is by far the largest in Cricket. True
    The WI team was indeed great for 15 yrs, true
    although the opposition at the time, especially Australia were in one of their weaker periods simultaneously. FALSE

re Of course if we just mekking sport on the BU rum-shop then your palaver is perfectly in order!!!
    GOOD STROKE SIR!
    Moneybrain, YOU ARE CORRECT! INDIA CONTROLS CRICKT TODAY
    Jeff Cumberbatch October 24, 2015 at 10:49 AM #
    @BushTea @9:16am
    So you are now going to ascribe blame to the selectors? Where is this abundant reservoir of batting or bowling talent from among whom we have chosen the wrong ones?
    CLEARLY TALENT IS WOEFULLY LACKING
    Jeff Cumberbatch October 24, 2015 at 10:53 AM #
    @David, what makes you think that “our players are talented”. Because they can play one or two shots and look good for an over or two?
    OUR PLAYRS LACK THE UNDRSTANDING THAT THEY MUST BAT FOR DAYS ………REMMBR HANIF OR BOYCOTT…….. OR GLeN TURNER . SOBERS & WORRELL VS ENGLAND in i960?
    David October 24, 2015 at 10:58 AM #
    @Jeff
    Respect your view but you and Dee Word et al cannot begin to factor what a mind swollen by pride (confidence)
    CONFIDENCE COMES FROM PRACTICE IN EVRY SPHRE OF ACTIVITY
    Re MoneyBrain October 24, 2015 at 11:10 AM #
    When Whitey recommended certain changes why didnt the WICB work with India, Pakistan, Bangla, SL etc to maintain the status quo? Why did’nt geniuses like yourself lead the WICB, with your OWN devised textbook thinking, to viable successful strategies?So whose chocolate coated shoite are you chewing and swallowing?
    Good stroke my friend

TheObserver October 24, 2015 at 11:15 AM #

A TON OF BOVINE EXCRMENT AND LACK OF LOGIC

with all their large population Indian crickt has only recently arrivd

8. MoneyBrain October 24, 2015 at 11:44 AM #
    Perfect practice makes perfect!
    THAT WAS THE MANTRA OF GREG CHAPELL

I dont dispute the Chanders point but he is finished by whatever means.

CHANDERS STILL BETTER THAN MOST IN THE TEAM
    YOUNIS KHAN AND UL HAQ STILL MEKING HUNDREDS AT AGE 41!

r e Interesting that we all know that Chanders used bowling machines to reach the top but how many WI players have purchased and used their own such machine???????????

Dem want the $$$$$ and glory BUT not the wuk!

CHANDERS EXCELLED BECAUSE HE PRACTICED

9. @GP

Of course practice is most important (in diverse conditions) to correct shortcomings in technique, build muscle memory, fitness etc but do you deny the posit by Sir Gary that cricket success is also 90% mental?

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch

Regarding your post of 10.53 a.m.

I am half way in agreement with your statement BUT THE BIGGER HALF (lol) disagrees!!

I agree with you with regard to the issue of what the harvested statistics show but then I would ask you what statistics are you talking about?

Forgive de ole man I am going to do “a Donkey” Yes it had to happen some time we find ourselves reverting to the habits of the BU village idiots to promote a point

So, as Donkey always does, I am going to advance practices and institutions of the United States of Amurica de place donkey does always be chanting about and for this example I am going to ESPN.

To advance?? my point go to http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/site/cricket_squads_teams/index.html

The irony of it all ESPN!! and there you find the records of all the major cricket players in the world. ESPN!! Having done that I encourage you to go to our West Indies Cricket Board website and see if we have any such “statistics”, and examination and comparison of the site against ESPN, and American Based entity, leaves you stupefied, doesn’t it?

Now “Stayyyyy with me” (Sam Hill)

Hawk-Eye Innovations Limited rather its product Hawk-Eye is used primarily to track the trajectory of cricket balls in flight and in 2009 the ICC trialled Hawk-Eye for referring decisions to the third umpire for suspect LBW decisions.

For any and all players electronic profiles of major cricket players are kept that show what their major weaknesses are and how they traditionally get dismissed.

You still wid me Mr Cumberbatch??

Now finally, how does a fellow get selected for county cricket in the UK??

Because they have “statistics” video and 3D analysis of action of each potential national/international playerfrom the time he was in diapers and batting pun a team in the outbacks of Australia!!

You getting de ole man Mr. Cumberbatch?

Doan go nowhere yet Mr. Cumberbatch Please…stay with me…

Whu we do heah in the region? with regard to mining pertinent statistics Jeff? TO see if we really gots great cricketers in de making, instead uh pelters like Fidel Edwards who pelt out some fellers one evening when Lara did deah tuh see he and WHAPLAX he pun de West Indies team!!

Well whu one uh we lukewarm cricket lovers and revolutionaries? Sir Hilary do is dat he open the 3 W’s Pavillion, put up the heads uh 3 cricketers fwid em name beginning wid a W urder up de road, (which some vagrants brek down, and them was had to be put up again,) and den in de true sense of how we West Indians really “love cricket” he den open a play play Cricket Research facility at the mouth uh de University at Cave Hill.

Charles Carroll in that infamous book says ” “The Negro a beast, but created with articulate speech / and hands, that he may be of service to his master / —the White man”

We isnt ready yet!!

11. The West Indies team was indeed great 15 yrs, although the opposition at the time, especially Australia were in one of their weaker periods.

The words of Moneybrain proving my point that Massa never really accepted his buss tail. His true colours are showing.

12. @Dee Word

Both of you have the indomitable skills of the best debaters of never conceding a point even when plainly contradictory or illogical. You simply look for a related kernel to build again a new point tying back to your original proposition/premise and away you go.

Delivered with authority but merely a subjective view, yours!

Some players went to S. Africa out of greed but a lot of it was about possessing skills equal to those in the established WI team but knew they would NEVER get a chance to showcase their skill. Some in the team, like Tiger Woods, probably felt they had a right to peddle their skills as they pleaseth without being tied to the politics. It was not a legal issue, it was a personal issue built on an ethical code. As the video showed, many of the best players of that era were unable to earn to satisfy a decent living, it therefore was more a case of survival and not pure greed hitched to conspicuous consumption for some of them. We can agree to disagree that is for sure.

13. HANTS
    JASON LADING THE TEAM LIKE A GIANT EVEN WITH HIS TENDER YEARS

BRATH GOT 6 WICKETS LAST NIGHT

NOW ITS FOR JASON TO GET A CENTURY AND WIN DE GAME LIKE SOBERS

14. David wrote ” the posit by Sir Gary that cricket success is also 90% mental?”

Drinking nuff rum and partying late at night can also contribute to amazing performances if you are exceptionally talented.

15. There were also those who preferred whiskey. lol

16. Donna, your comment on Serena being thought of as a man was also applied to Martina. Sure there is always someone that intends to make racial comment and innuendo but it is certainly not a one way street. You seem eager to be somewhat virulent in that respect. I do agree that there are many Whites that look down on other racial groups but it is not their exclusive territory.

Donna you recount about “sitting at the table with you”, this implies that I am the same as ALL white people which appears rather Racist. If whites were permitted to change the rules to dethrone the WI team then why did’nt the “Braintrust” develop a strategy to counteract. Why many years later since WI were marginalised regarding County Cricket have the WICB not yet appreciated that players must have at least 25 FC games pa to gain the required basic experience?

Bottomline Donna, did God ask you what colour you wanted to be when you passed through his paint shop? I certainly was not consulted.

There is no perfect race, on Earth anyway, we are all humans with the same frailties. We love to blame others, like to fragment by class, creed and race. It is how most cope with the numerous variables in life. Sad really.

17. @Hants

Do you deny the best players require a command of their mental/cognitive state that allows them to engage in a intense level of mental concentration under the most challenging of conditions for long periods?

@Doona

Your point about race has some merit is best explained by the following link. The establishment still is infected by racial biaise. Do not give up the struggle, it continues.

http://ftw.usatoday.com/2015/09/serena-williams-addresses-why-maria-sharapova-earns-10-million-more-in-endorsements

18. @GP WROTE “NOW ITS FOR JASON TO GET A CENTURY AND WIN DE GAME LIKE SOBERS”

HOPE SPRINGS ETERNAL. LOL

19. @ David wrote “the best players require a command of their mental/cognitive state”

I concur.

20. The West Indies team was indeed great 15 yrs, although the opposition at the time, especially Australia were in one of their weaker periods.

Donna responded,
    The words of Moneybrain proving my point that Massa never really accepted his buss tail. His true colours are showing.

Are you suggesting that Australia had one of their better teams simultaneously? I am not saying that even the one of best Australian teams would have beaten this great WI team but the fact is that Australia was relatively weak during that period. If you have reasoning to dispute this please present it. (who were the great Aussie players then? Border lol lol)

Remember that Australia had dominated the WI for the vast majority of the periods from 1930-1986 and 2000-present. Even the tour of 1960-61, enjoyed by most on both sides, fans included, ended in a 3-1 loss. Forgive me if you find these facts somewhat inconvenient to your rants)

21. @GP

Just accept West Indies at that time, a BLACK team, had one of the best teams in the history of the game. Give the team its due for crissakes.

22. David October 24, 2015 at 11:57 AM #

Of course practice is most important (in diverse conditions) to correct shortcomings in technique, build muscle memory, fitness etc but do you deny the posit by Sir Gary that cricket success is also 90% mental?

NO I DONT, BUT PART OF THE “MENTAL” COMES FROM HAVING SEEN IT BEFORE………….ITS LIKE DIAGNOSING A HARD CASE……………….VERY EASY IF YOU HAVE SEEN THE PRESENTATION BEFORE

THE PLAYERS OF OLD WERE VERY COMPETITIVE FROM PLAYING LOTS OF CRICKET => LEADS TO IMPROVED SKILL AND MENTAL TOUGHNESS.

YOUR COMMENTS @ David October 24, 2015 at 12:06 PM # are spot on!
    tHESE MEN WERE VERY BADLY HANDLED AND IT HAS COST US DEARLY

HAYNES WAS ALSO POORLY TREATD
    1 SHOULD HAVE BEEN MADE CAPTAIN
    2 SHOULD HAVE BEN ACCOMODATED IN 95

23. @GP

Agree with your last comment.

24. In the near future some observer of the game will generate a tome titled “The Rise and Fall of WI Cricket”. There will be chapters devoted to the diminishing skill of the players and segments chronicling the politics, intra-regional rivalry, the soap opera, petty disagreements and the melodrama associated with those tasked with the administration of the game. Not to be overlooked will be the changing face of society and cricket’s irrelevancy to the inheritors of the dream.

To repeat a popular phrase “Stick a fork in it its done”.

25. MB
    Remember that Australia had dominated the WI for the vast majority of the periods from 1930-1986 and 2000-present. Even the tour of 1960-61, enjoyed by most on both sides, fans included, ended in a 3-1 loss. Forgive me if you find these facts somewhat inconvenient to your rants)

Australia DID NOT DOMINATE US IN 65 NOR FROM 78-95

CERTAINLY THEIR BEST TEAM TO THE ISLANDS WAS PERHAPS THE 54-55 TEAM WITH OUT DOUBT

David October 24, 2015 at 12:35 PM #

Just accept West Indies at that time had one of the best teams in the history of the game.
    YOU ARE MISQUOTING ME- NEVER SAID OTHRWISE

26. GP,

Good stroke, ya idiot! What do you know about what I’ve been up to? We work in our own way with our own talents. That does not mean we don’t get to have a view on somebody else’s work. Grow up and stop carrying grudges from a previous blog!

27. That comment was directed at MB.

28. GP wrote
    Australia DID NOT DOMINATE US IN 65 NOR FROM 78-95.
    True but I did say most of the time. Over the last 85 years Aus has by far the better Win /Loss record. I wish that was not the case.

29. NICE TO SEE YOU SARGE

pieceuhderockyeahright October 24, 2015 at 12:03 PM #
    You always seem to engage in verbal diarrhea

RE To advance?? my point go tohttp://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/site/cricket_squads_teams/index.html
    The irony of it all ESPN!! and there you find the records of all the major cricket players in the world. ESPN!! Having done that I encourage you to go to our West Indies Cricket Board website and see if we have any such “statistics”, and examination and comparison of the site against ESPN, and American Based entity, leaves you stupefied, doesn’t it?

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT CRICINFO WAS DEVELOPED BY AN INDIAN LIVING IN THE USA WHO COULD NOT GET SCORES OF INDIAN AND OTHER CRICKET REGULARLY OR IN A TIMELY FASHION
    ESPN ONLY BOUGHT CRICINFO VERY RECENTLY- LESS THAN TWO YEARS

FOR MORE DETAILED ARCHIVES OF WEST INDIES CRICKET PLEASE KINDLY GO TO
    TOURNAMENTS IN WEST INDIES
    http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Events/WI.html

RE Now finally, how does a fellow get selected for county cricket in the UK??
    Because they have “statistics” video and 3D analysis of action of each potential national/international playerfrom the time he was in diapers and batting pun a team in the outbacks of Australia!!
    WE HAVE STATISTICS TOO SIR

RE Fidel Edwards who pelt out some fellers one evening when Lara did deah tuh see he and WHAPLAX he pun de West Indies team!!
    PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT IMRAN KHAN DID THE SAME WHEN HE WAS PAKISTAN CAPTAIN

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT A variety of conditions, such as Parkinson’s disease, Pick’s disease, Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, vascular dementia, Huntington’s disease, strokes, Down syndrome, head trauma, dementia with Lewy bodies, and AIDS can alL cause senility.

PLEASE KINDLY TELL US WITH WHICH ONE OF THESE ARE YOU AFFLICTED
    I THINK I WILL GO WITH dementia with Lewy bodies…….LOOK IT UP FOR ITS CAUSE

30. MoneyBrain October 24, 2015 at 1:07 PM #
    GP wrote
    Australia DID NOT DOMINATE US IN 65 NOR FROM 78-95.
    True but I did say most of the time. Over the last 85 years Aus has by far the better Win /Loss record. I wish that was not the case.

MB WE HAD ACTUALLY CAUGHT UP WITH THEM IN THE GLORY DAYS WHEN THY WON FEW GAMES AGAINST US
    ALAS…….SINCE 95 IT HAS BEEN ALL DOWN HILL

31. DAVID
    IF HAYNES HAD BEEN MADE CAPTAIN H WOULD HAVE STOOD UP TO THE SHIT THAT LARA DID TO DISPLACE RICHARDSON AND WALSH AS CAPTAIN

HAYNES WOULD HAVE PUT HIM IN HIS PLACE

IF HAYNES HAD BEEN ACCOMMODATED IN 95 THINGS WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER….IF NOT PRFECT

32. David,
    In my comment @12.55pm I made it abundantly clear that WI team was great over the famous 15 years.
    To clarify my point regarding Australia, all I was saying is true that the Aussie teams were not an excellent team at the time. Who would not want to see a battle between that great Windies and a great Aussie team???????

Would we not want to see Ali vs Tyson, at their respective peaks?

33. Moneybrain,

I was raised in an all white household in Essex and treated like a princess. I don’t judge all white people, just the racist ones. As for you I judge you by the fact that here on BU you are like Peter Wickham, fixated on one agenda. That agenda is to deny the lingering effects of slavery on the black man and the racist system which still works against us. Now bear in mind that I do not deny our culpability in working against ourselves or not working for ourselves but that does not negate the fact that we are coming up against a world system determined to keep us in what the white man perceives as our place. So we have our part to play in moving forward and so should the powers that be.

You may not be an all- out racist but the remnants of it are still buried within you. Search yourself and kill them once and for all.

Now if the Australian team and all the other opposition was a not of the best you claim that does not in any way take away from the greatness of the WI team at the time because we beat them so soundly most of the time that they were made to look like school boys. We beat them despite their having thirteen men on their team. Often we had to get them out three times before the umpire relented. So don’t bring your bullshit to me. I have always been watching. So that WI team was the GREATEST OF ALL TIME. PERIOD!

And don’t try to dismiss this as a rave. That is a juvenile tactic. I am angry but still logical that does not count as a rave.

34. Oh, and isn’t Martina a lesbian? That would account for her being called a man. Never heard that about Serena. Why is SHE being called a man?

35. As David would say, you may have the last word.

36. Shiite Donna…
    Yuh kicking some serious tail woman… 🙂

Can’t believe Bushie missed all these licks….

LOL .talk bout BU sweet…!!!

37. MB
    IN YOUR TIME AT HC DID YOU EVER HEAR FANNY SAY THIS ?

A WISE OLD OWL SAT ON AN OAK
    THE MORE HE HEARD THE LESS HE SPOKE
    THE LESS H SPOKE THE MORE HE HEARD
    SO YOU JUST TRY TO BE LIKE THAT WISE OLD OWL

now you pick some sense outa dat

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You are a silly man with too much time on your hands

The pint oh erudite on is that the WICB, PURPOSELY CAPITALIZED, doe not have statistical information, after ALL OF THESE YEARS, while a site, with the appended Abbreviation of a renown American Sports entity does.

Even in my old age thou are still a moment of unguarded flatulence and unlike others who may be afraid of you words/pen/hand I have no such fear because barring your so called medical expertise you are an attempted bully WITH THE UNDERSTANDING OF THE EFFECT OF CAPS on the internet.

BUT A BULLY NONETHELESS!!

Even if tomorrow I were to agree with some inane point that YOU ZOE OR ANYONE YOU DEIGN TO AGREE WITH, THE THING ABOUT YOU IS THAT YOU OPERATE WIKE HELL HATH NOT FURY LIKE A WOMAN SCORNED and are constant in your hatred.

As Donna who is so recent to this website observed, you will carry the grudge from this and previous BLOGS UNTIL THE DAY THAT YOU DIE!!

I am not in the least bit interested in what Imran Khan did, I am only interested in WI cricket and have commented that we do not have statistics and will never have statistics during my short expectancy of life and your Eosic challenge, I understand your state of mind, becaue like Elizabeth Keller I have been there.

Eosic? I know that you will be lost in that remark (as will others) so let me explain it to you

It is a part of Greek mythology and refers to Eos who asked Zeus to grant her mortal lover, Tithonus, eternal life but forgot to ask for eternal youth so the lover does live forever but like me, and you, grows old and frail, and begs for death.

You old fool would do well to read and learn from Lt. Gen. Harold G. Moore and w Joseph L. Galloway “We Were Soldiers Once … and Young”

And I shall go and read of your Lewy bodies lol mindful that there is no fool like an old fool….

Georgie porgie BU blogger and shyte,
    often cussed BU bloggers and tried to make them cry,
    But when some old men had their say,
    Georgie Porgie ran away..

BOO HOO, like I have said before you and Donkey are of similar cloth but he is dangerous because of his asinine genes, you, WELL, YOU ARE THE ASS INTERMINGLED WITH COMMONSENSE, INCARNATE,

We shall dance anon, de madam is calling….

39. GP…. Are You a Kolijian?
    I am getting so old I am forgetting when I was there…
    But I knew I was there in 1974….
    You?
    Donna… You go girl…

40. Donna wrote,
    That agenda is to deny the lingering effects of slavery on the black man and the racist system which still works against us. Now bear in mind that I do not deny our culpability in working against ourselves.

Assuming that you have truly read and comprehended what I have written here over time, then you should know that my major point here has been to recommend that Black peeps spend more energy and time focused on getting even rather focusing on slavery/ history. Not that I would say to forget about slavery or racism but indeed to use that to fuel the determination to succeed. Purely focusing on the past does not get one where you should be headed. Some of my family were Barbadosed for their part in the Monmouth Rebellion, which was probably the correct course of action for oppressed English people. Some of my family at the tender age of 8 yrs were sent down in coal mines and died of lung disease by age 25. However, I have never focused on those negatives but bare them in mind.

Donna, frequently on here there are those who display their racial angle and I undertake to play Devil’s advocate. Other times I feel free to ask very annoying questions as against joining the mutual admiration club. One truth is that because I am White there are those who would like to use that fact to “see” racial intent because it suits their agenda. Some want to attempt to “beat me up” as some type of revenge. Humans are so predictable.

41. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@GP” said “.IF HAYNES HAD BEEN MADE CAPTAIN … STOOD UP TO THE SHIT THAT LARA DID…HAYNES WOULD HAVE PUT HIM IN HIS PLACE…THINGS WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER….IF NOT P[e]RFECT”

As scientifically trained as you are I am tempted to ask you to validate that empirically…LOLLLL

But relax, I too agree that Cap Des might have made a difference but I don’t know that I can be as assertive as you are re the Lloyd like discipline over Lara.

But then again you knew the man well from St. James so surely you are making your claim on more than just subjective Bajan pride. Haynes clearly showed a more seasoned ‘head’ than Richardson I would agree but I look at it from these two different perspectives.

1—- Was Desmond as widely successfully as Middlesex coach or otherwise in his other roles as a coach as one would have expected given his pedigree, skills, decorum etc.? So using that yardstick would he have been a great captain and properly corralled the new youth mentality that was Brian Lara…. who knows?

2—- That Lara generation came into the public spotlight with a different swagger and mentality that the players before them. It can be considered a generational thing perhaps because even in US sports (in NBA particularly) you had the advent of young Turks coming into teams from high school who were barely wet behind their ears and adopting the stance and power positions that was once the domain of the seasoned, veteran players.

They (new WI players) deigned dismissively to accept the guidance and professional tutelage of the older pros and basically started the trend of placing the cart before the horse.

So I am really not so sure that Desmond would have been able to push that back…but we will never know now will we.

So your argument is as solid as can be surmised absent your empirical details.

42. @GP
    I know a lil of Fanny but was taught Chem by Capt Clarke. Excellent recitation by a wise owl to be sure! But I likes to give peeps the opportunity to abuse me!

Bushie, you send a lady to attempt to conduct the job for you? Why you didnt attempt to deal wid bizness yourself?

Observer, you was only at HC in 1974?

43. @GP

IF HAYNES HAD BEEN MADE CAPTAIN H WOULD HAVE STOOD UP TO THE SHIT THAT LARA DID TO DISPLACE RICHARDSON AND WALSH AS CAPTAIN

HAYNES WOULD HAVE PUT HIM IN HIS PLACE

IF HAYNES HAD BEEN ACCOMMODATED IN 95 THINGS WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER….IF NOT PRFECT

You must agree that to conclude Haynes would have made a better captain is hypothetical at this stage of the game? What we know is that he was schooled/coached in the Lloyd way of things and his success as a player in one of the most enduring and successful opening partnerships of all time given his average skills speaks to his good attitude/discipline. He should have been elevated ahead of Richardson given his pedigree, missing one game should have been handled a hell of lot better and not ended his career but this was yet another misstep by the Board located in its dysfunctional design.

44. 6th form
    did the lower form to 6th form thing
    Jeff was a year younger…

45. @ Money B
    Bushie, you send a lady to attempt to conduct the job for you? Why you didnt attempt to deal wid bizness yourself?
    One never uses a four-stroke whacker to do a job that can be done so gracefully with a scissors…. especially such a cute sharp one as Donna … 🙂

46. Observer, I was at HC in 1962-70

de Ingrunt Word October 24, 2015 at 1:50 PM
    unfortunatly, as you well know the value of empirical stuff must often be ascessd by scientific observations

remember it was Haynes- not the captain- who led the team around the oval in the victory laps in 92 but a you correctly opine, we will never know

pieceuhderockyeahright October 24, 2015 at 1:47 PM #
    You are a silly man with too much time on your hands
    YES THEY CALL THAT RETIREMENT…. I HATE IT!

Re The pint oh erudite on is that the WICB, PURPOSELY CAPITALIZED, doe not have statistical information, after ALL OF THESE YEARS,
    You are WRONG

while a site, with the appended Abbreviation of a renown American Sports entity does.
    AGAIN ESPN BOUGHT CRICINFO IT DID NOT DEVELOP IT CRICINFO’s ARCHIVES HAS BEEN AROUND FOR YEARS. espn acquired cricinfo rathr rcently

Even in my old age thou are still a moment of unguarded flatulence
    ITS NOT FLATULENCE SIR ITS CHRONIC DIARRHOEA

Re and unlike others who may be afraid of you words/pen/hand I have no such fear because barring your so called medical expertise you are an attempted bully WITH THE UNDERSTANDING OF THE EFFECT OF CAPS on the internet.

NO I AM NO BULLY I AM A VERY QUIET SOFT SPOKEN PERSON

RE Even if tomorrow I were to agree with some inane point that YOU ZOE OR ANYONE YOU DEIGN TO AGREE WITH, THE THING ABOUT YOU IS THAT YOU OPERATE WIKE HELL HATH NOT FURY LIKE A WOMAN SCORNED and are constant in your hatred.

i dont care if you agree with me ever

I DON’T HATE A SOUL ON BU—- I JUST MOCK DUMMIES AND THE ILLITERATTI

Re I am not in the least bit interested in what Imran Khan did, I am only interested in WI cricket
    THAT IS BEING STUPID BECAUSE IMRAN”S PLOY SHOWD THAT THE NONE POINT YOU ARE MAKING IS CONCENTRATD BOVINE EXCREMENT

OBSERVATION OF TALENT IS NOT STATISTICS

RE and have commented that we do not have statistics and will never have statistics during my short expectancy of life WE DO HAVE STATISTICS

STATISTICS ARE COMPILED OVER TIME
    WHAT STAISTICS DID THE GREATS HAVE BEFORE THEY BECAME GREAT?
    THIER GREATNESS LED TO THEIR STATISTICS!

and your Eosic challenge, I understand your state of mind, becaue like Elizabeth Keller I have been there.
    Eosic? I know that you will be lost in that remark (as will others) so let me explain it to you
    It is a part of Greek mythology and refers to Eos who asked Zeus to grant her mortal lover, Tithonus, eternal life but forgot to ask for eternal youth so the lover does live forever but like me, and you, grows old and frail, and begs for death.
    You old fool would do well to read and learn from Lt. Gen. Harold G. Moore and w Joseph L. Galloway “We Were Soldiers Once … and Young”
    ALL THE ABOVE VERBAL DIARRHOEA IS IRRELEVANT SAH .. YOU ARE BRIMBLING and bull shitting and using nuff words to do so

47. David October 24, 2015 at 2:00 PM #
    agreed off course

48. @Bushie
    Where de scissors or whacker???? Bring dem all two both. lol

U gin need nplenty nuff help!

49. Have to say folks one member of the BU household is enjoying the debate …

Some of us take disagreements to the personal level because of how we are made up but but for the most part this is what defines the BU ethos and we move on. It is one of the few places the dullard and the intelligent collide on an equal basis to share views/licks. In the view of BU it accurately reflects the imperfect society in which we live.