Sir Garfield is Right!

Submitted by Wayne Cadogan
Sir Gary Sobers

It appears that everyone wants to condemn Sir Garfield Sobers for speaking the truth regarding the status of players and state of West Indies Cricket. Well, I endorse every word that he said, he is so right.

[…]

I have been saying the same thing for the past few years myself and have been scoffed at. Yes they are a few exceptions who are committed to West Indies cricket but the majority is not. I totally agree that the majority are there for the money and personal glory.

The other world cricketers who represent their countries play with honour and therefore that level of commitment and pride is to their individual countries and their people. We do not have that kind of commitment by the West Indies players to the West Indies Cricket team. However, when they are playing for their respective islands, you can see a different level of commitment and pride, one that is not seen when playing for the West Indies team.

Let’s face the facts, we are divided in the Caribbean as a people; politically and socially, and it has cascaded to the cricket team. When it suits us, we say that we are West Indians, but we are very much divided.  How can we expect that the players will unite and be committed to West Indies cricket!

Take Bravo senior for example, “IPL first. Trinidad second and then any number could play”. Then the Board brings him to captain the West Indies team, well, everyone knows the embarrassment, problems and debt that he created for the Board and West indies cricket. He should never have been selected as a West Indies captain after his statement regarding his loyalty to the IPL.

We have to stop sweeping everything under the rug and making excuses for our players. Given the mindset of the majority of our young cricketers today in relation to the players of yesteryear, our cricket will always languish at the bottom. It is only a matter of time before the West Indies team suffers the same fate as Zimbabwe.

Another major problem here in the West Indies, is that only those who played cricket feel that they are the only ones who have the right to comment on the game. The truth is, and everyone will hate me for making this factual statement, the education level among the players is very low with the exception of a few players.

154 comments

• @pieceuhderockyeahright re your 1:47 PM post, let me engage you here briefly in a lil civilized tic-for-tat. I was confused wid some of your reasoning.

I must agree wid GP’s comments re your ESPN stats remarks and too re Fidel Edwards. Now having said that I know only too well that even when amenable and reasonable he is still quite distressing wid his caps lock on and how quickly he can become condescending and trite in his responses.

The WI Board operational fellows will surely have all the stats they need. Come on now. The fellows track how many balls you hit re that in-the-know term David used above ‘muscle memory’; what areas most runs come and all of the other metrics as you touched on.

The fact that they do not post voluminous stats on their website cannot be linked to operational deficiencies. I would doubt and have not checked if those stats are on CA’s site or the TCCB site and if they were to what avail exactly???

That is definitively the providence of a commercial entity; as ESPSCricinfo has so ably shown us it can be monetized effectively.

You know only too well that Tony Cozier has a bunch a stats of WI cricket with his archive of WI Cricket mags and thus the real question is why TC did not along with his son and others monetize that trove with a slick website that just like the Cricinfo one!

And re the Fidel ting, exactly what is the point though?

He is not the first net bowler or emergency fielder to impress a captain to the extent that he gets a chance to parade on the big stage. That is a plus for Lara that he had that keen eye and conviction to move Edwards forward as he did. Wish he had shown similar nous in other areas.

I have never had any interaction with the 3Ws Center so I must ask why do you call it ‘play, play’? Was the one is St. Georges similarly a whimsical plaything of its creator?

I appreciate that we have still lagged our opponents despite these institutions but we did well before they were there so surely they were never expected to be the solution to all our problems but rather a new and important tool in the fast paced changing world of cricket.

I don’t get your dismissive context!

• david
    i have been following cricket on cricinfo daily since I migrated, so when I speak of it, I know what I am saying.

ESPN ONLY BOUGHT CRICINFO RCENTLY

WI VS BANGLA WHEN WE LAST WENT THERE WAS THE FIRST LIVE TELEVISED GAME THAT I SAW

you should note by now that I comment on very few things on bu–the things that I care deeply about Bible cricket and medicine

• @David, you see dat is why you and I does come wrong. Dem two posts at 2:00 and 2:40PM is the type of bright boy commentary that you does unfurl so well. Erudite, sharp, insightful.

And den you does come wid some of de other blarny that does just kerfuffle me.

Your AC like consortium does cause real problems, fah real! LOLLLLL.

Oh lawd. More power to you and the site.

• MB,

When you came out of the coal mine and came to Barbados and dusted yourselves off you “looka lika” white man (from in Living Colour). Wherever you go you still “looka lika” white man. Nobody knows your history and nobody can therefore judge you on that. You stride through this world as a WHITE MAN. In the USA that could be the difference between life and death. Recently I watched a video of a white man and a cop. The cop repeatedly asked the man to step away from the vehicle. He refused. That cop gave that man the chance to walk back to his vehicle and grab a gun which he then used to shoot and kill that officer. But I can’t tell you how many videos I have seen of unarmed black men being shot and KILLED by cops who give them no chance to even blink. We are still judged by our race and killed for our race by the SYSTEM. You don’t have to suffer that MR. Moneybrain, so you can afford to say like Cameron,” Move on!” What you fail to understand is that you have a great advantage which we blacks do not have. It is much harder for us to get ahead. Indeed it is much harder for us to stay alive. But I will NEVER give up.

I move onwards and upwards NEVER forgetting my past. My past does give me the impetus to do better. But I WILL NOT turn a blind eye to the injustices being perpetuated today. Don’t you tell me when to move on, MR. Moneybrain!

Liked by 1 person

• IF YOU READ IT CAREFULLY YOU WILL NOTE THAT CRICINFO IS STILL AN INDIAN SITE AND SO IS THE WILLOW CRICKET TV CHANNEL

• And while you are searching your soul for the remnants of racism, check it for sexism too. Bushie did not send a lady to do his work. No man sends me anywhere and I am a WOMAN not your pigeonholed damn lady!

Liked by 1 person

• mb
    IT IS WRITTEN IT IS BETTER TO LIVE ON THE HOUSE TOP …………………

• David wrote “Some of us take disagreements to the personal level”

That happens even at Kensington. Was watching a Test match in the 70s and 2 well known Engineers cuss each other like they were in a fish market.

Don’t remember what they were arguing about because I was distracted by a female who had a thing for cricketers and was confident enough to tell me so.

• The decline of West Indian cricket has been brought on by a multiplicity of factors. However, when we have distilled all of the arguments, we will have to concede that, yes, the game is “played” on the field, but we have very few “players”.

A lot goes into the definition of “player”.

Barbadians in my age group can identify with the “knit” ball, the “rubber strand” ball, the “rubber line” ball, the “sponge” ball, the “soft” ball, the “hard” ball, the Carnation or Dutch Baby “milk tot”, and later the “tape” ball. They can also identify with “kneeling down” cricket. Likewise, they will easily remember the “Coconut Branch” bat, and the “Clammy cherry” bat.
    Additionally, they will recall, that in every village, scores of youngsters were playing “hand after hand” cricket. Hitting the house full was an “out”. Being caught “first hop” sometimes was an “out”. Dropping a batsman sometimes meant that you will field for “crate”. That is, you may never get a chance to bat.

These ingredients might appear to be insignificant, but if we reflect upon them seriously enough, we will begin to discern the building blocks (the amino acids) of playing cricket successfully – players having a love and passion for the game, batsmen adjusting to the varying bounce of the different types of balls and trying to bat as long as possible, fielders strategizing to prise out a batsman who threatened to bat too long etc

With these scernarios being repeated daily, in Barbados and throughout the Caribbean region, talented players naturally emerged. Add some visionary leadership and imposed discipline into the mix, and an all conquering West Indian team became the natural outcome.

The impact of exposure to county cricket on the part of our talented players cannot be overestimated.

However, in all areas of life, first world countries detest the idea of developing countries excelling in, or dominating any area of human activity. Thus, as expected, rules were quickly drawn up to “outlaw” the massive global display of cricketing skill that was being put on show by the West Indies.

England, seeing its thinly-veiled feelings of racial superiority and colonial mastery being shattered, annihilated, and “blackwashed” by a West Indian cricket “army” on the rampage, reacted swiftly and maliciously by keeping West Indian players out of English county cricket.

With no visionary or intelligent planners at the apex of decision-making, West Indian cricket fatally suffered from catastrophic opportunity costs. Similar to Barbadian politics today, a moribund West Indian cricket structure smiled wryly to itself as it watched its administrators feasting on knighthoods and other forms of egocentric aggrandizement.

During my stint at Combermere, we played school-prescribed cricket during the first and third terms. We played on mornings before the bell rang, at break time, lunch time, and after school. At village level, we played on evenings and all through Saturday and Sunday. Despite this heavy concentration of cricketing activity, my mind can quickly come up with only two of our cricketing schoolmates who were able to burst onto the national stage – Winslow Ashby and George Reifer. Out of many, two. The national talent pool created by the scenarios I outlined above was broad and deep. Competition was keen.

If you were to visit Combermere any day at lunchtime, chances are you will see girls sitting in the fellas lap, and giggling with anticipation as false promises and sweet nothings are whispered into their ears. Pass through the villages and you will most likely see the youngsters liming, enjoying their “height”, gambling, or hidden away inside enjoying their ipad, smartphone, or laptop. Or polishing their gun.

Most of those who venture on the cricket field today lack the passion and love for the game, do not understand the strategies, tactics, and nuances of the game, and worst of all, do not know that cricket is a business. They all love their fancy shades and stylish looks, though.

There is a lot of blame to go around. We can even blame the changing times. However, there is one thing of which we are all certain: We are not producing “players”, we are producing loiterers on the cricket field. The hurtful thing is that they cannot even loiter for a long period.

Liked by 1 person

• RE with only two of our cricketing schoolmates who were able to burst onto the national stage – Winslow Ashby and George Reifer. Out of many, two.

YOU FORGOT RICARDO RICHARDS (CRAIG after he stated meking runs for Cawmere)
    He was off course the opening partner of Winslow Ashby who made a competent 50 vs the 74 english team–and then quit somhow

Ricky migrated to the USA and played for the US team and bcame President of USACA.
    He was a great lad

• The following is to highlight where we are compared to the rest of the world. This is how other countries have bridged the gap.

Cricket South Africa – Centre of Excellence

Cricket Australia – Centre of Excellence

Cricket Academy India and there are several others!

http://cricketindiaacademy.com/index.aspx

http://cricketindiaacademy.blogspot.in/2015/10/how-to-develop-mental-strength-of.html

• Donna,
    I am not telling you when to move on, you are free to spend your whole life how you please. Stay in yourself imposed quagmire if that is what you want, your own psychological prison,if that is right for you.

I also recently saw a video of a white guy sitting in his car not wanting to listen to a policeman’s instructions, giving the policeman plenty of lip which resulted in this fool trying to wrestle the policeman on the ground and receiving a bullet for his utter stupidity. However, I do agree that some White Police do make the mistake of being biased in favour of whites. I dont dispute that there are many instances of DWB and walking/ running WB. The shooting of the kid in Cleveland and the gent in Baltimore?? were ridiculous.

Donna, what goes on in the USA in terms of race should not be critical to success in Bim, should it? I dont live there and most Bajans live in Bim. You live in the US? Bim is a Black run country, black Police, black Pols so that is not as significant a variable as in the USA.

In mother Africa many black people are running to Europe through wild animal infested jungle, the Sahara desert and then taking decrepit,overcrowded boats across the Med certainly risking life and limb. Why are they leaving? Some pun here consider anything white to be terrible so why is this happening?

Donna, what I am stating is that black people would better off by studying what the Jews have accomplished, how, why etc. they were enslaved, they were hated, they were killed unjustly but how did they become successful in spite of all the negatives? I am sincerely thinking of solutions but then again, being White is a major disadvantage in dispensing advice in this context.

Sexism–nah, just pissing off Bushie, he likes to spar occasionally.

• Well Well & Consequences

Moneybrain….it took cricket to bring you out and I see you have a new lady to spar with. I am jealous…lol

• Well Well,
    Where have you been? We aint had sport pun here for a long time.

• Moneybrain,

My man, what is giving you the impression that I am stuck in a prison or quagmire? I am analyzing what went wrong and attempting to address the issue. You on the other hand take offence when the analysis shows that Whitey is guilty of malfeasance. I don’t spend my days blaming or hating the white man. As a matter of fact a little white one is in my front yard right now playing with my son.

Now, I used the USA as an example of the attitude that faces the black man. This is the attitude he is faced with WORLDWIDE. Here we do not face a white policeman with a gun but the attitude of the white man who pulls the strings even if not the trigger is the same. “Black lives don’t matter.”

You have the gall to ask me about the African people fleeing to Europe? It is Europe that is responsible for the mess Africa is in today. Are you serious? And after they have raped and pillaged and divided beyond repair they are talking about Africans invading their country? The nerve of those people.

Save your “advice” for those who need it. My family and I have long been mentally free and advancing steadily. And doing our best to empower our black people.

Liked by 1 person

Moneyb……Was busy for some time trying to find ways to enlighten our peeps to make some positive change on the island and by extension the Caribbean, it’s a work in progress, truly hard work, but doable.

How are the newly installed liberals treating you, know for a fact Trudeau is popular with the ladies, he is cute…lol

• Walter,

Our juvenile experiences were similar. One learnt to handle unexpected bounce with the sponge and rubber lined balls; pace with beach cricket and to play forward with the tennis ball. If it was first hop, you tried to play along the ground;kneeling down cricket forced to play to the onside. The natural academy, alas. is no more

• @ Money Brain,

How does a white boy become a spokesman for the black community?

Perhaps in my capacity as a male maybe I could become a spokesman for women. Oh, I almost forgot, I have no idea what it is like to be pregnant or what it is like to give birth to children; I do not have a clue what it is like to have a period; and I have little understanding of what it is like to be sexually harassed or patronised. On reflection I guess it would make sense if I were to leave this role to a woman.

Take a leaf out of my book – dear boy. Stick to what you know best: business and sport! You are hopelessly out of your depth.

• Exclaimer,

Thank you. He wants us to study the Jews. They who had a religion and an identity as “God’s Chosen People” to bind them together. We on the other hand were taken from many places in Africa with no identity as one people. Our heritage our very name was beaten out of us and we still don’t really know who we are. He would dare to give us advice because his family were poor coal miners and were sent here by the British.

Really!

• Georgie Porgie October 24, 2015 at 4:09 PM #

“YOU FORGOT RICARDO RICHARDS (CRAIG after he stated meking runs for Cawmere)
    He was off course the opening partner of Winslow Ashby who made a competent 50 vs the 74 english team–and then quit somhow”

Georgie Porgie,
    Ricky Craig entered my mind, but I just could not remember whether he actually played for Barbados. He and Winslow Ashby loved to bat, and I know that the two of them had set an opening record stand (291, I think) in Barbados 1st Division cricket.

Thanks for the correction.

• @ Donna, October 24, 2015 at 6:33 PM #

Money Brain means no harm. A psychologist would say that he lacks empathy and is devoid of emotional intelligence. Should we be surprised? No. It is his upbringing and his sense of privilege of being affiliated to a powerful and an all-conquering tribe of people called the Anglo-Saxons that gives him the confidence to speak freely.

Your reference to our heritage is poignant. We have surnames like Smith, Jones, Drinkwater, Thomas, Dixon, etc. How ridiculous! According to MB we should not concern ourselves with such petty details. Using his words we should just move on.

My advice to you would be to steer a wide berth around this character.

• Jeff Cumberbatch October 24, 2015 at 6:05 PM #
    “Walter,

Our juvenile experiences were similar. One learnt to handle unexpected bounce with the sponge and rubber lined balls; pace with beach cricket and to play forward with the tennis ball. If it was first hop, you tried to play along the ground;kneeling down cricket forced to play to the onside. The natural academy, alas. is no more”

Jeff,
    I almost said that those days, and “the natural academy” are gone, never to come again. But then I remembered that I also thought that the “standpipe” days were also gone. Something (the water tank) worse than the standpipe is now being visited upon us. In the standpipe days, after all of the cussing, the fighting, and some women performing the coup de grace by holding up their skirts or dresses to reveal “holesome” underwear, one was sure that the “pipe” water would still continue to flow so that the buckets and skillets would return home filled. Now, after all of the cussing, these tanks, for sure, will run dry. No guarantee of returning home with water.

Since we are going backwards, the natural cricket academy (which taught some of us technique and control), the guttaperk, the trolley, the scooter, the roller, the topsy, the “smut” lamp, and the seed gun might be waiting, like long lost friends, to greet us with welcoming arms again.

• Walter Blackman October 24, 2015 at 7:16 PM #
    I think that th record stand by Ashby and Craig still stands in Barbados 1st Division cricket.
    Ricky got 3 centuries that season
    Don’t think he played for Barbados, but he played against the 73 Australians

We were best friends from 58-68. Never once had a fight

• @WW
    Trudeau is a handsome chap but I have little belief in his ability since by his own mouth he has indicted himself as in:

1 Budgets balance themselves

2 We will Tax the Rich 1% to give to the middle class? The problem is that the middle class in Canada is about 70%, so it is tough to figure out that Math. Never mind that the Rich 1% have the very best Tax Lawyers and Accountants.

Your project is indeed complicated but necessary.

• the game is shown here for Combined Youth XI v Australians
    at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown on 6th, 7th March 1973

http://cricketarchive.com/Archive/Scorecards/139/139524.html

• Back to cricket! I believe it was Dee Word or GP who mentioned something about our cricketers lacking the basic intelligence to play the game of cricket.

Here is a marvellous documentary featuring the most intelligent and sadly missed bowler that the West Indies ever had.

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=malcolm%20marshall%20espn%20legends%201-4&qs=n&form=QBVR&pq=malcolm%20marshall%20espn%20legends%201-4&sc=0-0&sp=-1&sk=

• Exclaimer,
    Your Psychoanalysis is somewhat fraudulent since I care for people very much and have a very high EQ. Of course you never mentioned that you are an amateur Psyche guy. People without empathy are potentially dangerous which conflicts with your point that I am not.

Exclaimer and Donna I regret your inability to comprehend why I used Jews as an example, it has nothing at all to with religion. It is about implementing the right strategies for success. All of your excuses for avoidance of my concepts are invalid.The principles of Success are certainly duplicatable as proven by many Bajans. Exclaimer , where did I use the words “move on”?
    Really, I do feel secure in sharing concepts with you both but am fully aware that you are not interested because you know I am White! Really, yes really that should have nothing to do with it.

• Georgie Porgie,
    Out of that 1973 combined Youth XI, I noticed that Bacchus, Ali, and Holding flowed through to the WI test team. Can’t remember if Lockhart Sebastian and Ranji Nanan made it past Shell Shield level though. I don’t believe that the Baugh who played in that match is the one who played for the WI.
    Ricky emigrated and the other youngsters faded. Was that Hugh Gore from Lodge?

• Walter

Lockhart Sebastian only played Shell Shield
    Nanan played at least i test on a tour to Pakistan
    Hugh Gore from Lodge played for the Leewards for a while
    The Baugh who played in that match is the FATHER of the one who played for the WI as wicket keeper a few times.

Exclaimer October 24, 2015 at 9:12 PM #
    neither Dee Word or GP mentioned something about our cricketers lacking the basic intelligence to play the game of cricket.

• The Baugh is actually young Carlton Baugh’s dad. And it is The Antiguan Hugh Gore who attended Lodge School. I think that Nanan did play for The WI but not Sebastien.

• It took me about three hurs to read this blog.First things first.I opined that Peter Short
    destroyed West Indies cricket.GP and Ingrunt wanted more and better particulars.
    @GP..Alas since ’95 it has all been downhill
    @GP..things would have been better if not perfect(Haynes,player and captain)
    @David..missing one game should have been handled a lot better….this was yet another misstep by the Board.
    I rest my case.
    @Walter..while I have ’nuff respect for Sir Garry, I would posit that the main ingredient should be first and foremost a love and a PASSION for the game.That thing called PASSION is what is translated into the superlatives we invoke whenever anybody excels in their field of endeavour,not only cricket…anything.
    In respect of the poor showing of available talent,might emigration be a factor in places like Guyana,Trinidad and Barbados?
    @Donna
    You are spot on in your views and comments on Moneybrain’s prejudices.Jews?That’s a red flag MB.Europe?Where you think they got the wealth to build such magnificent structures,boulevards,highways.They stole it from Africa,Asia,the Americas.Jews?They own read stole)the money supply of the Western world and now China,Russia,Japan,India and use the World Bank and the IMF as their henchmen…get with it MB.I teaching the grands that massa day done,done,done.

• Gabby,
    Dont bother to learn from the Jews?
    Why learn success principles? Makes sense if you dont want to be successful.
    After all, the Jews are very highly Educated why would Bajans want to go there?
    The Jews set out to focus on being more than equal to others, who would be so stupid to adopt such a mantra?

• Exclaimer wrote,
    Perhaps in my capacity as a male maybe I could become a spokesman for women. Oh, I almost forgot, I have no idea what it is like to be pregnant or what it is like to give birth to children; I do not have a clue what it is like to have a period; and I have little understanding of what it is like to be sexually harassed or patronised. On reflection I guess it would make sense if I were to leave this role to a woman.

Next you will contend that all OBGY should be female to!

• GP,
    I seem to remember Hugh Gore playing for WI in a few games versus Counties in England? I think it was a situation where he was in England and WI required assistance immediately.

• Moneybrain,

Your analogy is off. A gynecologist treats diseases which he doesn’t need to experience. The science is there for him. Do doctors experience every disease they treat? What I said was that the Jews are more unified because of the identity their religion affords them. They get this from remembering their history every chance they get. What we do in this regard is no different from what they do. We remember our history but even that you don’t want to allow us to do. Problem with us though is that we aren’t sure exactly where we came from before slavery and so unity is problematic. The Jews are Jewish. What are we – blackish? Notwithstanding that my family got out from under Massa early and charted their own destiny. Don’t be superior with ME . You know NOTHING about my successes.

Anyway, I have better things to do than to continue to butt heads with your hard head. I have to go empower some young people.

Wait who won the match?

Money…..I also heard 1 or 2 others express that sentiment re Trudeau, we cannot expect perfection in any human, but just ask that they do their best. Canadians are very aware and watchful, so am sure he will reaarrange his philosophies as he proceeds.

• @Donna

The rain winning the match today and saving the WI from another beating.

Focusing on the word Jew is missing the point, it is the Principles of Success which they have employed that is relevant.

You say my analogy re OBGY is off yet you did not read that sentence correctly as I said Exclaimer would soon be saying that—not me.

I certainly support your empowerment of the youth.

• @ Money B
    Skippa, why don’t you leave Donna alone…?
    Did she not say you can have the last word?
    Shiite man…. are you going let her kill yuh now?
    You ain’t tek enough blows already?

Mess not with Bushie’s anointed 🙂

You said “Focusing on the word Jew is missing the point, it is the Principles of Success which they have employed that is relevant.”

Pray tell us what are these ‘principles of success’ of which you speak …and which you ascribe to the ‘Jews’
    …cause since you keep picking on Donna …that MUST mean that you donkey tough enough to take some whacking…. ent it??!!

Money knows that the jews are fradulent in some aspects but are so determined to right a wrong done to them by Germany, by getting even, by hunting down all the old Nazis responsible for the holocaust, that their determination to succeed using education as a successful tool, has rendered them successful in every other area.

The operative words here are – getting even and determination.

The jews not only hunted down nazis but murdered them brutally for their crimes.

• @Bushie,
    I asked you yesterday to bring your meagre forces with wackers and scissors and now you wait to the battle of Manchester is commencing on TV. Timing is everything and my time will be spent watching.

Wha blows you talking bout doh? She who “lambasted” Richie B on Twitter,—-who ever said Richie minding her??????????

• pieceuhderockyeahright

I comment here not in support of the principles of the Jews aforementioned but the fallacious construct of “murdered them brutally” which is presented above.

How does one gas 6million of another race, or murder 75 million by famine of a third nation or in the case of us niggers, kill rape and dislocate so many millions of my people, yet, when retribution is enacted, have the word brutally appended to that act?

Am wondering

• Gabriel October 24, 2015 at 10:39 PM #
    “@Walter..
    In respect of the poor showing of available talent,might emigration be a factor in places like Guyana,Trinidad and Barbados?”

Gabriel,
    Probably not. High unemployment and emigration have been chronic features of post-slavery Caribbean societies. Tangential to your point, and a possible contributor to the demise of our cricket, is the persistent presence of low birth rates and the aging of Caribbean populations.
    That leads us to another question: Could it be that our cricket mastery was a temporary phenomenon produced by Caribbean Baby Boomers in their youthful phase?

• I try not to comment on other races, but since it seems as if we are about to meander down a different path, allow me to make one comment.

Over time, many of us have adopted phrases and slogans to motivate us e.g. “We shall overcome”, “Forward ever, backward never” but to me the most powerful and beautiful of phrases are the words “Never again”.

Let us have no sympathy for Nazis, regardless of their age. Were they 6 million blacks in Germany, we too would have fed the furnaces and be the denizen of concentration camps.

Let us abandon this path.

Piece…just showing that the ‘get over it’ attributed to Cameron, meaning slavery murder, stealing of and from blacks by slave masters is viewed quite dfferently from what was experienced by the jewih bloodline.

Just imagine the descendants of slaves instituting a Mossad like secret service to get even, bear in mind the jews who instituted the retaliation are the descendants of those who were gassed and were not born yet in Hitler’s Germany, or anywhere else.at that time, do you really think it, the getting even by the descendans of black slaves, would be called anything BUT brutal murder all I gotta to you is, don’t try it. Bear in mind that brutal though he Hitler experience was, it did not last for centuries.

• @Walter

Interesting intervention, the problem though is we have a population who feel comfortable forming opinions based on a feeling and forget the cry to pressure the establishment to mine available data. Where can a better experiment be found than to look at the cricket data set?

Observer….as a matter of fact, there were Blacks in Hitler’s Germany, they have always been blacks in Europe, whether they too or their descendants were compensated is another matter, we know who the retaliation was for……the hardest thing is to know.

• MB,

So your colours are showing again. Is Benaud too BIG to mind insignificant little me? Like you can’t read either because I said that RICHIE BENAUD ANSWERED ME and admitted that Healy, S. Waugh and Ponting were “bloody cheats.” He answered me TWICE. He along with some other “Europeans” were having a conversation lambasting Denesh Ramdin for claiming a catch which video shows he NEVER actually claimed. My tweet was by way of asking him if Ramdin was the first “cheat” he had ever seen. I named names and because the video is on You tube he had to agree. He didn’t reply though when I asked him if his moral outrage developed only after HE had given up playing. He stopped his Ramdin tweeting AND MOVED ON! HA! He knew when he was licked.

And finally, you were referring to Exclaimer saying that it takes a black man to explain a black man’s experience and taking it further to state that he would soon be saying that it takes a woman to be a gynecologist. I am saying that the analogy is defective and so Exclaimer, being a more intelligent person than you obviously are, would not be “soon saying” anything of the kind. The analogy came out of your brain such as it is.

Enough of you now! You may this time actually have the last word. You seem to enjoy the taste of your foot.

• David October 25, 2015 at 10:37 AM #
    “@Walter

Interesting intervention, the problem though is we have a population who feel comfortable forming opinions based on a feeling and forget the cry to pressure the establishment to mine available data. Where can a better experiment be found than to look at the cricket data set”

With all due respect to the disabled, I feel the need to pass on to you what my sister passed on to me years ago: “Feeling is for the blind”.
    Too many members of our population are “blind”. That explains why one-eyed men are kings in Barbados.
    The educated and enlightened ones know the value of using statistical data, distributions and their means and variances, along with hypothesis testing, as tools to assist with national planning and to achieve national objectives.

We have over 50 years of primary, secondary, and tertiary education data. Let us say that there is a global need for 1/2 billion doctors over the next 10 years. What is the probability that Barbados can produce 20,000 of the world’s requirement for doctors in the next decade?
    How much of the world’s actuaries, engineers, accountants, investments managers are we aiming to produce in the next 8 years?
    Have you ever heard a Minister of Education in Barbados bringing this sort of thinking to the table for discussion? How does the threat of cracking heads and shooting people fit into effective national human resource planning, one of the most basic and fundamental responsibilities of the Minister of Education?

We have over 50 years of political data on the performance of candidates from two major political parties in Barbados. Based on this history, what statistical distribution has been used to predict the performance of the major political parties in Barbados? What is the standard error of this distribution? What is the probability that neither one of the political parties will muster 35% of the eligible vote in the next general election in Barbados?
    Have you ever heard Peter Wickham raising such issues? Instead, Peter has used pseudo science (making unscientific pronouncements and projections based on first differences (a “swing”)) to persuade and guide voters into producing an electoral result that HE wants. Attempts made in the last election to create polling results to suit HIS agenda confirm this.
    For reasons known only to himself, Peter Wickham wanted the political leadership of Barbados to be controlled by Chris Sinckler and Mia Mottley. Small, and biased polls could have been easily used to start the ball rolling.

Furthermore, the first English settlers (all males) collected some African slaves (all males) and headed for Barbados. Therefore, Barbados has been experiencing homosexuality for almost 500 years. What statistical distribution should we use to predict the incidence of homosexuality in Barbados? What is the mean and variance of this distribution? What is the probability that at least 20% of Barbadians today are homosexuals? Why is Peter Wickham using the airwaves of Barbados to advance the cause and benefits of homosexuality? Did the majority of Barbadians clamour for this discussion? Again, similar to political polling, the discussion on homosexuality is aimed at producing a result that Peter wants.

And now to cricket and its dynamics. We have compiled almost 100 years of data on the West Indies cricket team. Based on the team that we are playing, we have to find the best statistical distribution, and its mean and variance, to assist us with our decision making.
    For example, let us say that we know, on average, our individual fast bowlers over the past 100 years had to bowl 80 balls before they were able to break our opponents’ opening partnership. Today, we have six fast bowlers who are competing for a place on the team, and the average amount of balls each had to bowl to break an opening partnership are: 120, 78, 160, 140, 72, 200. Which two should we select? Should we be satisfied with the current batch? Or should we let everyone in the Caribbean know that we are desperately searching for fast bowlers and set up invitational clinics and training venues to attract and develop talented prospects?

Assume that we are playing against Australia. Historically, Australia has applied immense pressure on our batsmen in the 2nd innings when we are chasing runs to win. Our statistical distribution tells us that one batsman, with a higher test batting average, has a 20% chance of making 50 runs in the 2nd innings of a match. Another batsman has a 55% chance of making at least 50 runs in his 2nd innings. Only one of them can play. Which one should be selected?

• Jesus Walter, is that yo?

Deserves its own blog space.

• Donna,

How did your empowering of youth go?

Thanks for explaining what went on with Richie, I had no info on that prior.

I clearly was being a tad sarcastic positioning the OBGY comment from Exclaimer but you are trying to twist it into my making a lame analogy which I was attributing to Exclaimer, good try but it certainly does not imbue either of you with any superior IQ. Indeed, by your own admission here, it was a step too far for you to thoroughly grasp!

You already said a final goodbye so why should I believe you this time?

I was making sport with Bushie regarding your boast of “lambasting”, he has to be needled from time to time.

The taste I have in my mouth is one of smoked salmon.

• Walter excellent piece.

• MoneyBrain October 25, 2015 at 3:17 PM #
    “Walter excellent piece.”

MoneyBrain,

Thanks.

• When THIS is the mentality demonstrated by one of the recent West Indies team members, what do you expect?

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/10/26/trinidad-simmons-to-pay-150000-for-revenge-porn/

Scum. Could not even polish Richard’s, Greenidge’s, Sir Gary’s boots, let alone represent a country in any like fashion.

We are a LONG way away from the likes of Sir Gary, Champions in every respect.

Sir Gary, you and your contemporaries are / were the Greatest. We salute you!

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s