BU notes the leader of the Opposition has lodged a private members resolution to debate Cahill when Parliament resumes from yet another break. We believe it is in the people’s interest to share whatever [โ€ฆ] obligations have been signed away by Ministers Sinckler, Boyce, Lowe and Kellman to Cahill Energy Ltd. Before the matter is debated in the House BU issues a request to the Prime Minister and ministers involved to address the three agreements signed:- 1. Memorandum of Understanding 2. Implementation Agreement and 3. Power Purchase Agreement.

Order Paper - Cahill Barbados
Order Paper – Cahill Barbados

We are not responsible for the quality of the documents posted.

393 responses to “Clock Ticking for Government to Disclose CAHILL ENERGY Barbados Agreements – More Leaks”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I beg to disagree. The problem is that we have law enforcement that is independent on paper only. With my untrained eye I can see a number of criminal acts. If those law enforcement agencies just did their job, we would have to find new politicians. Unfortunately, we have a handpicked Chief Justice; handpicked Commissioner of Police and handpicked top brass of the Police Force.

Even with so much white-collar crime circulating, the Police can’t deliver a file to the DPP for prosecution. The DPP does not investigate crime, he does not have investigators so he has to wait for the handpicked police to arrest the people who handpicked them. Therein lies the problem.

2. No David
    Getting there simply requires a coalition going to the polls with that SPECIFIC agenda offered to the voters. If they win a majority of the seats, instead of appoint mock ‘ministers’ to run government businesses (as rewards for their efforts) the coalition would undertake to establish the Ten Point plan ….

PROFESSIONAL managers would be hired to manage government business ..while the elected parliamentarians would constitute a National Supervisory Committee to oversea issues of GOVERNANCE and to establish the new model promised during the election process.

3. Exactly the problem Caswell – our GOVERNANCE systems are broken.
    We need a National Supervisory Committee with the power to review the work of such appointed officers…

4. We need quality like minded candidates.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

We’ve always had like-minded candidates; they all wanted to get rich. LOL!

6. FYI

Canada has 3 major national parties. Elections are on october 19th.

Current polls.

The Liberals 35 per cent support, 31 per cent for the Conservatives and 26 per cent for the NDP.

The NDP was founded in 1961 and is an effective “3rd party”.

7. @Caswell
    Your 8.48pm posting come from the Caswell I think I knew , you should also know that hand picking begin in school,we need to be just to fellowman, it can grow quality minded people

8. How can Barbados break the cycle of corn beef an biscuit politics and the comedy shows called political brass meetings ?

Will the maguffees ever stop “investing” in political parties?

Government generates a lot of “business” so it is a good capitalist strategy to “invest”.

9. @ David
    We need quality like minded candidates
    Why?

What we need is a genuine representation of the population. We NEED all the various DIFFERENCES represented ..and we need these people to transparently focus their attention on GOVERNANCE.
    Baffy is right that the various social groups could be a good starting point.

Management and technical skills can ALWAYS be hired,. paid….and retained strictly on merit.

The biggest problem with the present idiocy we have, is the appointment of ‘Ministers’ from among the 30 mediocre options in Parliament.

10. Hants,

A question of life and death for many.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

You must understand that both political parties operate criminal empires. To get elected both parties ignore the electoral laws on spending and declare obvious works of fiction as their election expenses. Nobody investigates the overspending that is an election offence that could cause an MP to lose his seat.

Bizzy disclosed that he contributed to both parties and I have never seen any such declarations from him as required by the Representation of the People Act.

There is absolutely no need for campaign finance reform. There is need for the enforcement of the laws that limit spending that are already on the books but ignored by both parties. Also, enforce the laws on bribery and treating and the system would eliminate the crooks and maybe just maybe good candidates who do not have access to large sums of money might emerge.

Candidates who were not bought and paid for, if elected, would then be able to govern without being beholden to the corrupting influences of the big money campaigns.

12. @Bush Tea

Like minded defined as willing to lay it down for the public.

13. David,

Or like minded in that they are smart enough to see that their short-term gain and long-term ruin of the country would ultimately be their own long-term loss. They don’t have to be sacrificial heroes, just ordinary selfish people far-sighted enough to recognise that their fortunes and those of their family members are ultimately tied up in that of the country in which they live.

14. Back to when Parliament reconvenes they will be questions to ask, many of which Mia mottley would have to answer .Not for once will there be the possibility of Mia escaping any questions surrounding unsolicited documents whether authentic or not but carry government seal in the public domain.
    To those who have been gleeful. the day parliament reconvenes might be a day of reckoning to those whom we least expect,
    The Clico fight the one which Mia had brought to the public is over and now she has embarked on a larger than life fight allowing her foot soldiers to do some dirty work
    Yet the damage done if any might be the damage to herself which can cause further friction and damage to her party,

15. Yea David,Bushie,Caswell we need Owen Seymour to take back the hellum.

16. Tick tock tick tock …

17. @ Gabriel
    If Owen was to done with CSME fuh GOOD; acknowledge that he erred BADLY with that cheque from Mariano…(and would NEVER repeat such idiocy); and undertake to work as PM to create a meritocracy, then Bushie would support you.

Bajans are mostly selfish, as Caswell says. Few are willing to make sacrifices ‘for public good’
    The solution is for politicians to focus on GOVERNANCE issues and to hire PROFESSIONAL managers to do what our ‘ministers’ now do…

18. David,

It seems as if you have the biggest bombshell to drop yet!

Tick, tock???

19. What i’m seeing is all the emails from Cahill to cabinet minister’s personal email. The bombshell could be a reply or the package which the Cowan lady sent.

In any case or not of the above, Tick, Tock…

20. Walter Blackman Avatar

Kammie Holder October 8, 2015 at 3:55 PM #

“Those who are suspected of malfeasance, nonfeasance and misfeaseance in the court of public opinion, must be investigated. If found guilty by a criminal court they must be tried for crimes against citizens of Barbados.”

Kammie,
    I get the point you are trying to make here and I am in general agreement with you, although I am sure you recognize that “they must be tried for crimes” first before they are found guilty.

Given the way politicians have been operating in Barbados, I have become slightly cynical and am very reluctant to give any of them a free pass.

I firmly believe that, when it comes to having an understanding of how the Barbadian economy works, or how it should work, Owen Arthur can put Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler, and Mia Mottley “in his pocket” any day (Problem is, he has shown an instinctive proclivity to put the wrong thing in his pocket. LOL). As the Bajans would say, Owen “can buy the three of them and sell them back.”However, I also believe that all calls for an investigation into the actions and activities of Barbadian politicians should include Owen Arthur.

That is my position, and I really don’t care if I am the only Barbadian clinging to it.

21. Walter Blackman Avatar

Gabriel October 8, 2015 at 7:22 PM #
    “Walter,the DLP,the Mia brigade and those whose bandwagons are hitched to graft and corruption will strongly condemn the return of Owen Seymour Arthur.”

Gabriel,
    Did I encourage you to wake up?
    I am going to be a big man and admit that I made a mistake in doing so.

You can take a Rip Van Winkle pill and go back to sleep now. Nighty night…

LOL.

22. Walter Blackman Avatar

David October 8, 2015 at 10:35 AM #
    “@Walter

What is your opinion on how traditional media is responding to Cahill revelations?

Yes a rhetorical question but many need to understand a passive media us a big part of the problem here.”

I will have to tackle this issue after October 15. Right now, I have to focus exclusively on meeting my obligations to “my” clients (sponsors of pension pension plans in the USA).

Based on your ominous “tick tocks”, I am beginning to wonder if Cahill will last until the 15th. LOL.

23. “Prodigal Son October 8, 2015 at 9:38 AM #

I found the following excerpt from Clare Cowanโ€™s letter to the Stinkliar interestingโ€ฆโ€ฆ..it is like a letter from a scorned lover.”
    Perhaps I am naรฏve but what purpose does the above serve. When all is said and done no criminality can be attached to those signing the letters because I was made to understand that the $700 milions costs would not be coming from the taxpayers.

24. “What have you done to help or promote the BU cause?”

๏ˆ
    Sing its praises by encouraging others as far away as St Vincent, St Lucia and Canada to read BU.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Alvin Cummins sweet like a pumpkin

Alvi pop pop where have you been. What is your take on all these leak documents showing clearly that the DLP you love are a bunch of two face liars, pretensive and fraudy like you. I do not want to hear your ridiculous spin about Barbados is not as bad as other countries. We dealing with Barbados. Show us you have some patriotism going for you. Condemn the actions of your pissy lying party as wrong and deceitful.

26. “A simplified Bush Tea plan is having the seats in Cabinet designated to be filled by representatives from a number of different NGOโ€™s .. That is the only way forward.”

Really? How many? Which “NGO”? Who or how would an NGO be selected? Will BGLAAD be welcomed? What NGOs take precedence given budget constraints and competing interests? BHTA vs BAS?

Cabinet requires people that think critically and are able to conceptualise policies that exhibit vertical and horizontal integration not group interests. In any case who says NGOs are paragons of virtue? They share the same eatahfood mentality prevalent in Barbados and that’s part of the reason for their irrelevance to inluencing government policy.

I find it laughable yet sad, that we have this flawed belief that our current politicians are unlike the wider Barbadian society; therefore a new political party or NGO making up Cabinet would lead to improved governance. Some of the same NGOs encourage government in shiite.

I repeat, one of the more pragmatic ways forward is to change what exists from within…..but then again once one decides to run for office one is instantly worse than Barabas. Just ask Ryan Straughn. Changing our perception of what a politician, politics and government are would also go a long way in addressing the issue–yuh can’t buy votes if there aren’t sellers!

27. Captain Usurper Winston James Othelmo Brathwaite Avatar
    Captain Usurper Winston James Othelmo Brathwaite

tick tock, tick tock………..Mia getting ready to drop the bomb. Tick tock, tick tock……………GROUND ZERO IS PARLIAMENT

28. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

A third party in the next election might win 3 or 4 seats which might force a coalition government which would might encourage a fourth party.

As stated several times, we can’t keep going the way we are.

OSA at the head of a RECONSTRUCTION party or some young talent at the head of a REFORMATION party might send a few shock waves through Parliament.

Someone needs to throw us a lifesaver.

29. @enuff

Your view makes sense in theory. How do we get the shift in thinking, how do we move ideas and conversations to projects. This is what the growing public debate is about. We can’t stay married to what are man made constructs.

30. @ Enuff
    You always panic when you hear an idea that makes sense and threaten your BLP parasites who are now confidently awaiting their turn to continue their VECO /3S scams.

It does NOT matter really which groups are chosen…..you can draw a straw …. or take turns…If BGLAAD is Bajan, then they would be eligible too …and the white people too…

“Cabinet requires people that think critically” ….ha ha ha Like who? Kellman? Lowe? Stinkliar? ..even your much vaunted Arthur now admits that the CSME shiite that HE perpetrated on Barbados was a case of UNCRITICAL thinking that ended in abject failure.

FINALLY… the CRUX of the proposal is that these elected officials will be responsible for GOVERNANCE and transparency….while
    The Management of the country will be done by PROFESSIONALS who will be RECRUITED and hired with clear strategic objectives outlined, and retained, paid and promoted based strictly on performance /merit.

Who knows, they may even hire Owen as PM …given his experience and balls, but EVERYTHING he does will be open to public review….
    …You know – just like how our Credit Unions work…. LOL

31. @ Enuff
    The Devil ALWAYS invites observers to join him in promoting change. Remember that he even took Jesus to a mountain and offered to facilitate Jesus’s mission on earth if only JC joined with him…?
    Get thee behind us Enuff ๐Ÿ™‚
    You want to give us some “Maria Agard medicine” now too …?

32. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Enuff, your perspective re NGO’s is supported by the evidence. They have their own infighting as members aspire to the top and in any environment where those groups are given the type of political power offered in this debate would simply exacerbate that infighting and shift the lobbying funds from the cornbeef and biscuits on the corner to fishcakes and hors d’oeuvres in their board rooms.

I too am at a lost to understand how that moves transparency or process forward to better governance.

As said above ‘getting there’ is the problem. The path Caswell enunciated of proper law enforcement is the hard road to hoe to really achieve more transparent governance.

I understand that is not as simple as it sounds but it certainly is no less complicated to achieve as suggesting that electing representatives via our NGOs will improve the caliber or transparency of our current elected politicians.

Incidentally, I was of the opinion that the PS, Dir of Economics, Cen Bank Gov, Com of Police, NIS CEO and the entire cadre of government ministerial and operational leaders were professionally, trained and educated managers and that they were tasked with running the show.

Why are we seeking change for change sake which appears to be effectively ‘old wine in brass skins’ maybe!

If we are so disenchanted that we do not believe it;s more practical to demand our politicians give the CoP and DPP’s positions more independence so that they can act forcibly when required why do we realistically believe that an official elected via the SBA or Teacher’s Union will be able to be anymore steadfast or resolute than any other bajan.

That is the real problem as highlighted above and getting there is real hard but we still need to be realistic.

33. ..here come Mr lukewarm with his usual “it can’t work”…. “this happens every where else” … “It will never work”…

Steupsss.
    Look Thomas, if you knew anything about what happens in Barbados you would be aware that Credit Unions operate on a very similar basis…with unprecedented success over the past 30 years.
    There is ALWAYS bickering and infighting – no place more than on BU, BUT THAT IS ACTUALLY AN ASSET in the right environment.

Ordinary credit union members take positions on supervisory committees and while many are just as corrupt and dishonest as most of us are, it only takes a few Caswells and a robust SYSTEM of transparency to keep governance in check….and it works.

A look at some of the current ‘successful’ politicians who were CHASED from the Credit Union movement is itself testimony that the system of supervisory transparency works…
    …although of late it seems that the crooks got together and chased Caswell out…

34. I observed a well poised PM in his address at the Hilton.in actuality seem more concern about the affairs of Barbados andthe hurdles aand challenges to be tackled than engaging with foot soldiers media
    If any one should be concerned with what has transpired on foot soldiers media it should Mia
    Her now last minute approach to take away from herself what has transpired by social media is very telling with another one of her self serving acts of transparency an act which she did nit see fit to apply to her and the blp fourteen year of governance

35. @ Dee Word
    Incidentally, I was of the opinion that the PS, Dir of Economics, Cen Bank Gov, Com of Police, NIS CEO and the entire cadre of government ministerial and operational leaders were professionally, trained and educated managers and that they were tasked with running the show.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Typical NCO thinking.

You probably think that a Sargeant is tasked with running the army too….
    These people are mostly ‘ACTING’ … That alone should inform your ‘opinion’…
    Most READILY tell you that they are there to execute the minister’s bidding… and those that won’t say it show it anyway. One has only to look at the many SCAMS perpetrated on the public of Barbados.

… how many of our top rank public servants would earn an appointment to run a top private sector business?

Steupsss.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Girl these AC are real pure bred bunch of bitches yeah. All ducks look poised and relax on the service string puppets, but what happens underneath is something totally different. We shall see how long he can pretend and spread his STD.

37. @ SSS
    AC must have seen a different picture to everyone else…

The poor man was fixed on the paper he was reading; looking most uncomfortable; sounding as if he wished he could disappear; glancing up nervously and NO interaction with his audience……shiite man, Bushie felt sorry for him… Cuhdear …

Can you imagine how it must be to have to go out in PUBLIC every damn day …and face these people who MUST ALL KNOW that you are a shameless friend of non-lepers and a harborer of CAHILL schemers…. perhaps even one of them – based on your letter..?

YOU THINK UM EASY…?

…don’t talk bout Darcey ….. ๐Ÿ™

38. @ac October 9, 2015 at 8:04 AM #
    โ€œI observed a well poised PM in his address at the Hilton.in actuality seem more concern about the affairs of Barbados andthe hurdles aand challengesโ€

Yes something like Nero “fiddled while Rome burnedโ€ or shades of โ€œThe Emperor’s New Clothes”.

39. Bush Tea takes the time to answer nay sayers and defeatists … That takes a special kind of patience. Nuff respect.

No system can be so perfect that it can completely avoid the short comings of individual men, but having conflicting interests compete around the table at the policy level is a better representation of the atmosphere in the wider community than having some broad promise on policy represented by a group of like minded people (who you damned well know are liars and thieves anyway) .

Political Parties are really the first of Barbados’ NGOs btw. They were initially designed to see after the needs of labour. (This agenda of course has long since been abandoned). The difference between them and the newer NGOs is that Political Parties still refuse to be registered as going concerns (whether as Charities or Clubs or Ltds or Firms or PLCs or anything) and so they cannot be forced to provide publicly audited documents or effectively challenged in a court of law. Political Parties are really nothing more than Gangs by definition.

Newer NGOs (eg in Health, Education, Small Business, Environment, Labour, Defence and Security, Finance, Sport etc) can all be expected to be registered and provide publicly audited statements for eligibility to maintain the seat in Cabinet. BTW proceeds from both the public’s purse and members subscriptions (only paid up members will be allowed to vote for their representative) will keep these NGOa afloat.

This really is the only way forward. Politicking will still take place within the separate grouping, but corroborations across the Board of Cabinet will no longer be along a Party line. Of course replacing the ineffective public servant heads with decent managers will be better seen to.

40. Today’s BarbadosAdvocate editorial better known as the government’s mouthpiece. It is interesting to note this member of the traditional media is not even remotely curious about the authenticity of documents posted in social media but would defend those who pay for ads. Here is a question for Anthony Bryan – how many invitations have you received to functions hosed by government ministers.

The new journalism

10/9/2015

ยกยฐI contend that it [the new journalism] has already proven itself more accurate than traditional journalismยกยญยกยฑ Tom Wolfe
    ยจC New York Magazine (February 21, 1972)

A combination of technological development and the increase in social media has served to create a phenomenon whereby anyone possessed of a camera-equipped mobile phone, admittedly par for the course these days, and/or Internet access may, if he or she so chooses, immediately become a journalist, columnist or reporter of news. Quite a few have not resisted such an alluring possibility, especially when it may be further enhanced and secured by the adoption of an anonymous profile.

One consequence of this has been the provision to the public of news and other material that would be unlikely to have been revealed by the established news media, whether for reasons of fear of lawsuits or criminal charges for defamation; that of running the risk of being sanctioned for the publication of untoward content; or that of recklessly causing personal annoyance or discomfort to innocent individuals.

The avoidance of these repercussions is clearly not the primary concern of this new breed of amateur journalist, who appear not to feel the slightest compunction at displaying on social media gory pictures of the incident, corpse and all, for intimate viewing of the family or friends of one who has met his or her demise in a public fatality. Or to upload on the same medium a video of some school fight that, in days past, would have scarcely merited more than the immediate interest and been forgotten with its end. Or to publish seemingly authentic documents that some would prefer not to be in the public domain and invite public comment on them.

The public reaction to this modern phenomenon has been mixed. While there are few who would condone the publication of the mangled corpse resulting from a recent fatality, especially in a circumstance where the immediate family is not yet aware of the death or still in a state of shock, the authorities apparently have not been averse to using uploaded videos of criminal behaviour as the basis of deeper investigation and, sometimes, prosecution.

The publication of previously secret documents presents a thornier problem. Here, the party that is adversely implicated in this circumstance is at once faced with the conundrum of whether it is preferable to ignore the matter, hoping that it will eventually die a natural death after its wonder has had its hour upon the stage; or whether the opportunity should be taken flatly to refute the innuendo in the place where it was made or whether to avail oneself of the legal remedies that exist to protect the individual reputation.

In our view, all three of these options are fraught with further reputational risk and, for the political hopeful, electoral disadvantage. The hope that the matter will eventually lose its prurient appeal may equally be dashed ultimately as it may indeed materialise and the vindication of his or her reputation is notoriously complex when dealing with certain entities. This apart, the suit for defamation by a public figure is likely to be extensively reported, thus adding significantly to public awareness of the sting of the imputation.

While there may be fewer reasons to gainsay the second option above of refutation of the charge in the same forum, this is however likely to betray an admission that the individual either has read or has been informed of the content of the publication and felt sufficiently bothered by it to offer a response.

The jury is still out as to the social and political utility of this ยกยฎnew journalismยกยฏ as we call it. The term may not be new, but locally its societal effects certainly are.

41. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Bushie, it is amazing that a person with your apparent level of acuity can be so simplistically linear when you are locked into an untenable position.

The conversation is not about whether excellent managers must be employed at the top of our operations. That is obvious and happens in well run government or corporate offices. It is about ensuring that the process is done with transparency to ensure that shareholders (the electorate or equity owners) are treated fairly and actions taken forcibly when problems are identified.

Let’s see if we can have a grown-up conversation here.

What makes any governance system work is the most effective enforcement of legal sanctions when malfeasance is evidenced (as Caswell said) . If we can find a way to get that enforcement on track coupled with any modality – whether of NGO or otherwise – to channel our electoral process then we actually stand a chance of success.

The natural symmetry between power and corruption and the related natural tension between politicians and citizens cannot be wished away with simple changes; particularly when examples abound of the exact process being even more prone to ‘influence peddling and corrupt’ practices.

You said, “if you knew anything about what happens in Barbados you would be aware that Credit Unions operate on a very similar basisโ€ฆwith unprecedented success over the past 30 years.” (So to be clear I was a member of one of the first CUs on island and know well the success from the days of Doyle and just prior to that cadre all the way forward…)

Yes the CU has had success but what does that presage that can realistically be extended to the chaos of politics? We all understand management that is NOT the issue.

The CU has also failed in key areas or better stated they have not extended their reach as successfully and purposefully as one would have expected based on their well entrenched positions over the 30+ years. The recent debate here re local companies and external threats is one clear example where the funds and collective power of the CU was not properly employed. That was either stymied due to lack of consensus or lack of foresight. Because surely funding could have been coordinated.

I completely agree that society is all about changing dynamics and modulating our thinking to embrace different ways of doing things; Ideally however different and new innovative ways. It is also clear that as societies we have often made many changes which do nothing to fix the real problems.

“You probably think that a Sargeant is tasked with running the army tooโ€ฆ.” was a retort to the point that there are trained managers in Government. You then went on to ask “how many of our top rank public servants would earn an appointment to run a top private sector business?” Simplistic and linear as I said previously. How can we cite folly or mere ‘headline news’ if we are trying to be serious!

It is correct that many civil servants are constrained because of this acting status. But as much as that is overly prevalent now and has been used as a ‘stick of submission’ over the years, it is also true that very competent civil servants operated with that sword over their heads and performed well over these last 30 – 50 years.

We have also seen very competent civil servants leave and go into senior jobs locally and internationally (Steve Emtage, Blackman and other former CB Governors, former CoP at Regional HQ to name just three).

Our electoral system is broken. There is no doubt about that. But it is beyond fantasy to suggest that shifting to representation from groups of NGO can be a solid solution in itself.

A simple analysis of other political systems will show that is exactly what is done in the US (for example) and results are no measurably better… Appreciate that the actions of of those ‘interest groups’ who lobby relentlessly on the politicians is a real world twist of your NGO representation just dressed-up in $300 suits!

Despite the real evidence in the conversation one can expect a tired personal retort from you that really belies the whole point of engaging here on BU. Alas!

42. The cloak of “confidentiality” cannot be an excuse for malfeasance .

Some in Barbados are fortunate that there are no pitbull investigative reporters like the ones in mainstream media in Canada. Rob Ford, Mulroney, senators Duffy and Wallin.

If Bajan politicians and Media moguls want “confidentiality” all they have to do is be honest and squeaky clean.

No corruption, No Law breaking. NO PROBLEM.

43. Note these persons felt the bite of the pitbulls ” Rob Ford, Mulroney, senators Duffy and Wallin”

44. Well said Hants
    It is THAT simple.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Tea Bush

I do not want to see anything with him or read or hear anything that he got to say. He is a whole pretender and a nasty lying rat. I am starting to think that when it come to these people professing to be God fearing that they really mean the Devil like them. I bet you a two dollars (cuz he ain’t worth my million) stinking dirty Lowe will get sick for an unknown period with lippusblackutitis.

46. @Hants
    And that’s exactly the way these London lawyers tie these things up in Knott’s
    NDA’s confidentiality agreements threats of lawsuit consequential damages and on and in I bet the contracts jurisdiction is the England and whales and I bet we were stupid enough to accept all the above .
    I bet the only thing that’s missing is ” Time is of the essence” as here we are 18++ months into this thing and nothing has been done on it except bullshit and rhetoric.

47. Maybe this crazy lady cowan should consult with a psychic and get some advise on how to dig herself outta this hole she’s in. Maybe download the song by The Raplacements- I’m In Trouble for a little inspiration.

48. Hants October 9, 2015 at 10:55 AM #

โ€œThe cloak of โ€œconfidentialityโ€ cannot be an excuse for malfeasance.โ€

โ€œSome in Barbados are fortunate that there are no pitbull investigative reporters like the ones in mainstream media in Canada. Rob Ford, Mulroney, senators Duffy and Wallin. If Bajan politicians and Media moguls want โ€œconfidentialityโ€ all they have to do is be honest and squeaky clean.โ€

โ€œNo corruption, No Law breaking. NO PROBLEM.โ€

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well stated, Hants.

But is โ€œinvestigative journalismโ€ restricted to extra-regional countries only? B

Because other than the Jamaican news program: โ€œ18 degrees North,โ€ (which is a โ€œCaribbean TV news magazine that uncovers unreported or under-reported storiesโ€), I do know of any other media houses in this region that undertakes the type of reporting you are suggesting.

Rather than have the Advocateโ€™s reporters, as a matter of urgency, investigate the CAHILL issue, the writer of that paperโ€™s editorial is seeking describe blogs such as BU as being unprofessional, while insisting on protecting the โ€œpolitical class.โ€

I wonโ€™t be surprised if Guyson Mayerโ€™s Sunday article deals with the legal implications of publishing certain documents on social media and how people could be charged under the โ€œComputer Misuse Act.โ€

After all, it seems as though Mayers uses his articles to present โ€œdamage control from a lawyerโ€™s perspectiveโ€ on certain issues in defense of the DLP.

49. @Mockingbird

Why would the government’s legal counsel (Michael Yearwood) have allowed the agreement to be signed under non Barbados jurisdiction?

50. @david

I’ll bet you $US100 they are under UK law
    Taylor Wessing big London law firm Cahill Guernsey based yearwood out of his depth
    The only thing that would put my bet at risk is the review the solicitor generals
    a