voicenoteheadmasterThe Voice Note of a Primary School headmaster making the rounds – in a raw use of language –  gives insight into the challenges confronting our society. When the family unit begins to disintegrate and basic standards are ignored, we know we have a problem. Many will be quick to condemn the headmaster, BU recommends we ignore the superficial argument if we want to grasp the enormity of the problem we face.

Parents must parent!

186 responses to “Voice Note of a Primary School Headmaster [RAW]”

1. Some people might hear raw; I hear the frustration of a man who wants to maintain some standards in this increasingly decadent country.

2. Catastrophic Hill Avatar

Caswell

Well said. Barbados is a society where slackness is not the in thing, the slacker the better.

3. Caswell Franklyn

I see a man who hasn’t been fully mindful of the sacred-text because had he been he would have known that in the last days perilous times were predicted to come, and that man was prescient to indulged in hedonistic pleasure, oblivious to the God who created him.

So this excerpt from the scripture speaks expressively to the moral-insensivity of the age, and the manner in which it envelops every aspect of the human life.

Now to concluded: the Christian religion which used be the chief cornerstone which held human society together and which is now repudiated by the majority, used to be the safeguard of the popular morality.

4. David do you have the time to transcribe the note for those who can’t hear well or can’t hear at all?

5. @ Dompey. ..the teacher saddled with the responsibility of exposing you to the subject called English comprehension should have been given a medal. …..even though he/she failed miserably. Man you is something else fa truth.

6. He is correct , I hear the little fellas talking.Parents indulging in this sort of behaviour believing its harmless.It’s not.It sets your children back.Stop it.

7. @ SuckaBubby
    Parents indulging in this sort of behaviour believing its harmless.Itโ€™s not.It sets your children back.Stop it.
    Parents?
    Most of the ones guilty of this sort of behaviour are totally unsuitable for parenthood.

Teachers will tell you that it is often MUCH more productive to deal with the children themselves…than the idiots who happen to have been responsible for their birth….even the VERY difficult children.

There should be a high quality national institution, properly staffed and equipped…. AND FUNDED BY DIRECT LEVIES PLACED ON SUCH PARENTS, to look after the development of such children.
    But of course that should be the intent of a ‘National Youth Service’ scheme …until jackass politicians get their hands on it – and appointed their lackies to run it as rewards for political favours done….

Just think what THESE youngsters will be like as ‘parents’ in 10 years…

8. Any parent attending their child’s school as described by the principal is really not fit to be a parent. That unfortunately is the predicament that we need to overcome: basically crass, classless, clueless men and women who ascribe the 5 minute ability to perform the sexual act with the 5, 10, eighteen year responsibility to be a parent.

I would have died a thousand deaths if my mother had attended a PTA meeting or otherwise visited the school to collect me or see the principal as described, But of course she would never have dreamed or done such a thing.

There is obviously a time and place for everything under the sun but displaying your sensual femininity at your child’s school fits neither time nor place.

It would be the proverbial straw of bad manners on the camel’s back…or is that toe. Oh good gracious…couldn’t resist!

9. It is obvious except to the politically partisan Jackasses we have a problem in Barbados. The reports of gun incidents yesterday reminds us of Louis L’mour at the OK Coral. Let is stop talking and take back our little country for heavensakes.

10. Wait Bushie, wha you gone and steal my thoughts…

You saw what I was writing…gotta watch your tech skills den. LOLLLL!

11. David, (all serious now) you remember that little discussion we had a few days ago re the death penalty and the impact of the gun culture vis a vis the US Constitution and ability to carry guns. I offered then that that right to arm oneself had really very little to do with any explosion of gun violence.

With your “…reports of gun incidents yesterday reminds us of Louis Lโ€™mour at the OK Coral” do you still feel little Barbados does no suffer from a too high incidence of gun violence and have a very grave problem well beyond the US issue even, despite no such right to carry arms?

Indeed, time to take back the country. But from whom though? The political and elite class who shoot us with words and corruption; the police and middle class who tacitly support that or the criminal class?

Which first and how do even start to clean and keep clean this corral of dirty poop where all our horses run amok?

12. @Dee Word

Two or three bad boys can tear up Barbados compared to the US you have to factor scale. Do not get sidetracked though. The NGOs, Church, Principal Association, PTAs et al. We need to get on the same page. Note politicians were excluded. We will have to tell these vote grabbers what to do. In fact isn’t the system designed to label them as servants?

13. @David,

Barbados has a serious guns and drugs problem. It will only get worse if the authorities do not act swiftly.

Did you read page 3 of BarbadosToday? $10,000 per pound weed. $625 an ounce? Must be supplying the upper class users.

14. Hants

Don’t worry, if you heard Steve Blackett on the news this morning you would realise that Government has a strategy to combat crime among the youth – organise a football tournament.

15. @Caswell

Let us be fair to the minister, he said sport and culture will be used as key approaches to tackle social issues among the youth.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Tell it like it is. That is what I am hearing. The principle told it like it is. I am a woman, and though I am somewhat radical, if least to say a bitch, there must be boundaries set for decency, well in some instances LOL. Where the kids are concern, the example must be set. Ladies, you need to hide them there mumps looking pokies and the ugly drooping breast. The boys are talking about you.

17. There is nothing wrong with what the headmaster is saying. He is perfectly right. Don’t know if it would do any good, hearing all of the laughter in the background. Sad when you have a bunch of women in society who fail to respect themselves and their children when they go out dressed like they are about to pick a fare.

18. The Headmaster’s way of putting it to those who need to hear the TRUTH, I honestly have no problem with it at all. Some parents need to learn how to RESPECT themselves to the fullest, at all times. When going to any school, or anywhere for that matter to address any situation regarding your children. Being dress appropriately is a MUST. This kind of behaviour isn’t helping your child, or children. And you are placing your child, or children in a position to have to defend your actions. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE , and the Headmaster is letting you know that enough is enough, and YOU need to care more for your children than to just dress them up and send them for others to do the jobs you need to be doing with yourselves first. MY HAT OFF TO THE HEADMASTER.
    The parents behaviour can also create the same behaviour from their child, or children. Dressing inappropriately, or addressing situations in less than a RESPECTFUL MANNER is placing a burden on the young ones that you claim to love and care for.
    RESPECTING SELF IS A MUST. GIVE RESPECT TO GAIN RESPECT.

19. Well the headmaster made his point .However thank God for those parents who gave of their time clothed or unclothed to attend their children’s. school business while absentee father’s roam the streets with empty pockets pants hanging off their backside looking to make more babies

20. @ David,

Sport and culture can be” used as key approaches to tackle social issues among the youth.”

That is not a solution to the immediate problem of 1 a day shootings and drug dealing and using.

The police must find the criminals who are importing and selling guns and drugs.

The police must find the Hydroponic weed farm which was reported on page 3 of BarbadosToday.

21. David

I will be as fair as possible. Two years ago, I went on radio and disclosed Government’s plans to lay off thousands of workers. That information came out of a meeting that was held the same day that I went on the radio. Also, at that meeting, they were making plans for an upsurge in crime resulting from those lay offs.

The plans have taken more than two years and all they can come up with is football.

22. Last night.

“Police reports confirmed that the Rubis gas attendant was robbed around 8:55 by the men โ€“ one carrying a gun and the other a cutlass.”

Like one a day vitamins.

23. @Mr Whapax September 22, 2015 at 12:13 PM ” Sad when you have a bunch of women in society who fail to respect themselves and their children when they go out dressed like they are about to pick a fare.”

Women only [un]dress to pick a fare because they KNOW that men want to buy sex. Have you ever know a Bajan woman to leave her home at night and go by the Garrison to buy sex?

24. Women dress scantily for 2 reasons.

Reason 1: It is very hot and very, very humid in Barbados especially in September.

Right now for example the weather in Helsinki is 58 degrees Farenheit. I bet the Finnish mommies are not scantily clad, not because they are better or more moral mommies than ours but because the bloody place is so cold most of the time.

We live in the TROPICS people.

Reason 2: Women know that being scantily dressed they will attract men’s attention.

Please note that the scantily dressed women has attracted even the headmaster’s attention. We all know that sometimes male school teachers, yea even headmaster’s acquire outside women.

Does any real-real Bajan man, yea even a headmaster want a woman who dresses like a nun?

Stupssseee!!!!!!!!!!!!

Women with little education and few options know that being the outside woman of a Teacher or better still headmaster is a good pick. Better that selling ya body to every Johnnie at the Garrison.

Wunna should really learn to think and then to speak the truth.

25. Even the most moral married man the first thing he do after he put a ring on a woman finger is to tek off all she clothes.

And if she has to send her children at her mother so that her husband can have more sex and freer sex then the children have to go.

Why do you think that we have so many children being raised by their grandmothers.

Yes ever the children of male teachers.

Even the children of headmasters.

26. And for those people who worry about how the children see their mother’s?

Now how do you think the mothers dress at home?

Pants suit down to she knee and coat down to she wrists?

I think this thing is more about the headmaster’s discomfort than about the best interest of the children.

27. Even the children of Cabinet Members.

Even the children of Prime Ministers.

28. A lotta, lotta Bajan men ain’t very good fathers. Black Bajan men, white Bajan men, upper class Bajan men, middle class Bajan men, working class Bajan men. The best some of them do is to help a little with their inside children. Some of then don’t even see their outside children once a year, once a decade, once a generation.

So if a scantily clad woman takes the children to school at least the children are being walked safely to school.

How many Bajan men got in their cars this morning and drove to work and din’t even know if their child (who of course is living with grannie) had breakfast or bath.

And some of these men are in high, high places.

Were it not for maternal grandmothers a lot of children of poor great poppet Bajan men woulda d’ed long time.

A lot of Bajan are in no position to talk and I mean a lotta wunna old men too.

These women who are now being castigated will in 25 year time be the honoured grandmothers.

The mothers and grandmothers who have always raised Bajan children, black children, white children, upper class children, middle class children, working class children.

Wunna want me to call the names of some big shot Bajan white men who have never spent five minutes with their own children.

29. Here again we have Simple minded Simon displaying the kind of logic that condemns us to remain as low minded brass bowls.

If after 60 years of free universal education to tertiary level, ..we can have large numbers of women whose best options are to expose camel toes in the hope of attracting a headmaster or teacher …”which is better than being a Ho”……or to turn up at a school dressed like the Bush hill workers ‘because it is hot…’
    …then we have truly thrown our education resources into Maxwell pond.

There is NO JUSTIFICATION in anyone being so low-minded.

Wuh our grandparents were poor as shiite; had the most basic of education; and were just as hot if not hotter…. shiite then…they did not even have ice routinely.
    What they HAD …was PRIDE in themselves, better moral values, and a dream of a future for their offspring….

This is the most nonsense thus far from Simple Simon…. by FAR…

30. And nobody castigates them.

Just like nobody castigates those of the economic/political/religious class who when they have an inconvenient outside child calls the Child Care Board Chairman quick, quick to have a CCB social worker pick up the little bastard and put it in care to save thier sorry marriages and thiei reputations. Why do we think that the CCB Chairman is always party hack?

And why do you think that nobody at the Child Care Board will be disciplined? Nobody can discipline the CCB because the CCB knows where the bodies are buried. [not literally] but they know in which children’s home the bastard children of the economic/political/religious class were raised.

31. @Bush Tea September 22, 2015 at 3:37 PM “If after 60 years of free universal education to tertiary level…”

Dear Bushie:

Education has never been free. My parents and grandparents, and great grand parents worked long and hard. I’ve worked long and hard, my children are working hard. I’ve never yet let a politician fool me that he is giving me anything free.

ALL OF US HAVE ALWAYS PAID FOR ALL OF THE TAX-FUNDED SERVICES WHICH WE RECEIVE.

We do not owe our political class anything. Especially we do not owe them our silence.

They owe us.

32. What paid for what education what??!!
    …on your bus fare wages?
    That is a damn red herring ….just like your talking shiite about how ‘bad’ men are….

It is NOT THE POINT…. which is that those women are doing SHIITE….although you are correct that men do shiite too.

Education is FREE to the individual accessing it. Somebody ELSE pays….all like Bushie so who pay FORTUNES in taxes….
    So there is NO excuse for these ‘ordinary’ women (or men) to have such low VALUES, standards and self-image….
    NONE!!

33. @Bush Tea September 22, 2015 at 4:07 PM What paid for what education what??!!
    โ€ฆon your bus fare wages?”

Bushie you do understand don’t you that people who take public transportation have considerably more money left to spend on other nice things, including Lolll!!! taxes and higher education, as there are no car payments, no road tax, no driver’s licence, no insurance, no wear and tear to repair.

You do understand that don’t you?

34. @Bushie et al,

“The Royal Palms Are Dying!!”

35. @Simple Simon,
    The word “bastard” in reference to children is no longer part of the Barbadian vernacular.

36. Bajan men are in no position to condemn woman in any way shape or form.,To them i say Those without sin cast the first stone, No body understand especially men the economic pressures women go through to salvage a meal and put clothes on those children back and these mothers having to put themselves last which might inlude wearing what they have available ,
    Yes all should be mindful and respectful of their surroundings however to castigate a group of female which the Head master referred to as “woman” instead of mothers is indeed a lower blow coming from his mouth and total disrespect for mothers of would take time to see to it that the children are being returned home in safety. I wonder how many fathers he ever see picking up children,
    Everybody likes to tear down walls but have no solutions to make better. The headmaster sounds like a conservative whore picking on poor working mothers who are most likely to be black and poor .Fk off headmaster and mind yuh own business and do the job of teaching you were hired to do and stay to f out of peoples personnal life,
    For your information it would have been better to post a sign outside the school informing presentation of proper dress code is required. instead of sounding like a fking bully picking on poor mothers,

37. @Bush Tea

Do you see the problem? We have a frustrated headmaster commenting on how women carry them themselves, his criticism does not absolve men from their wrongs but how quickly the conversation descends to blaming men too too. Woman play a very special role in the life of the offspring. No wonder we are where we find ourselves.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Hold yah horses Simple Simon

You like you getting besides youself here of late since Donna is missing in action

Besides tekking to writing pun de blog each one of your thoughts like if the site is for you alone and the last person to post list has your name 15 time PUN DE SAME SUBJECT, let me see if de ole man unnerstan you correctly…

1) de wummens are is cummin into de school showing what them had for breakfast through dem pokerts

2) de headmaster who is running a school of education, is wrong to tell them sluts to hide dem breakfast becausing and leh de ole man see if he getting you correctly BECAUSING de economy bad and Fumble AND DE FADDERS is not supporting dem chilrun and de Headmastah who is a man, ent got no right to comment becausing some man or de udder left you or some nex woman and and you/she chilrun to suffer.

So let me see de headmaster is was de man who did deah to open you/she legs and leh dat whusless man dat is you chile fadder inpregnate unna so he is not entitle to talk bout you or no nex wuman exposing wunna pokerts wherever wunna like causing wunna gots to do it in order to support one uh he or some nex man outside “chilrun is are learning well”.

My mother was a “poor working mothers who was black and poor” and she nevah had was to expose she pokert fuh tuh tek my donkey up or set me down at nuh school.

De problem is dat some uh wunna got an itch in wunna crutch dat a good peppering might heal, or based upon whu you jes write heah, t might not.

Accept responsibility fuh getting pregnant in a day where the CCB does give out condoms free and stop cussing de headmaster fuh doing he job and not being a whoremonger

Whu sorta ingrunce i seeing doah!!

Oh beauty thou hast fled to BRUTISH BEASTS and men/women have last their reason

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry Simple 1/2 uh dat comment was not fuh you de ole man ent look tuh see dat it was “Irene” so I tek back half uh dem

You kin choose whu fuh you

40. @ Simple
    “…. no car payments, no road tax, no driverโ€™s licence, no insurance, no wear and tear to repair.”
    Exactly… while..
    car taxes 120%
    Road tax — increasing like the pot holes..
    Licenses — high as dog
    Parts — ridiculous
    …and now Stinkliar kicking down the couple tax deductible areas…

While you coming out licking..
    Bus fares …. a couple damn cents ..and Lashley won’t even let the ZR men break even…

Steupsss….
    wunna right to walk bout with wunna breakfast hanging out…
    de place mash up!!

de dog dead skippa…
    As Bob said…It ain’t no use …no one can stop them now…

41. now this ole dope call these mothers sluts, what a johnnie clot. wuh god dam if wearing a tight fighting pants makes a person a slut then the world got to be full of sluts you ole dog. why don/t you have a petition drive banning all sluts from wearing tights yuh ole boar, between you and the headmaster leave it to shit heads like you woman would be in jail just for being women/ both you and the ole fart headmaster need taking to a wood shed and f //ping .leave the poor black mother alone who already struggling to make the best of a bad situation and got to listen to retard like you. s.hit i could agree with the headmaster, but his so called shaming of poor mothers publicly is ridiculous and his dead a.ss needs to be told,
    Tell him when he next try to exposed mothers who are performing the duty as both parents his first and foremost assignment would be shame and name the fathers of these children who never find time to go as close to the school gate trying to show some kind of interest in their off spring. He needs to be a little more compassionate
    And wunna men got some fking nerve to talk about woman attire ,hell no comparison when the men duties are not even on the school register

42. @Bush Tea
    The BU household prefers:

She love to party, have a good time
    She looks so hearty, feeling fine
    She loves to smoke, sometime shifting coke
    She’ll be laughing when there ain’t no joke

A pimpers paradise, tha’s all she was now
    A pimpers paradise, that’s all she was
    Every need got an ego to feed

She loves to model, up in the latest fashion
    She’s in the scramble and she moves with passion
    She’s getting high, trying to fly the sky
    Now she is bluesing when there ain’t no blues
    A pimpers paradise, that’s all she was now

A pimpers paradise, I’m sorry for the victim now
    A pimpers paradise, soon their heads, soon their
    Soon their very heads will bow
    Pimpers paradise, don’t loose track
    Don’t loose track of yourself oh no!
    Pimpers paradise, don’t be just a stock, a stock on the shelf
    Stock on the shelf, Pimpers paradise that’s all she was

43. This is the kind of crass behaviour the headmaster pointed to.

44. @ Pieceuhderock an Bushie,

The Headmaster is obviously intelligent enough to see the harm those provocatively dressed women could cause.

He did the right thing. Plain and simple.

45. look these children see worse on the internet who the headmaster trying to fool with that kind of hypocrisy , the tv /social media is a cesspool of denigration. headmaster might not be living in the real world everything is overly exposed not only working mothers fuh christ sake stop being knee jerk hypocrites,l

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Let de ole man repeat the context and appropriateness of the Headmaster’s response

“Negligee – a long piece of clothing made of a thin material (such as silk) that is worn in bed in one’s boudoir, by women”

There is nothing that is as beautiful as a woman’s body!

So do not misconstrue de ole man s indignation regarding crude advertisement for a dislike of the pulchritudinous expanse of the mons veneris

In the similar vein that one does not wear a negligee to church one s camel s toe is not to be displayed in the school yard or on the street unless we are at Bush Hill.

47. Good point AC!

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Once donkey weighs in on your side Assey you know you know that you are wrong furthermore as to that last here haw remark.

“look these children see worse on the internet …”

Because the chilrun have seen worse on the internet does not make it desirable nor right!!

We see men raping women every night on the tv and the Internet and those acts do not make it right.

Little chilrun should be seen and not heard has its place regarding the inappropriateness of exposing them to depravity and age inappropriate material.

Because said children see ole menses flashing their flaccid penises on the subway in Murica every night on the Internet does not give the ole man the right to go down at Lawrence T Gay school tomorrow and shake my cuss word parts in front of your grand daughter!!

Try as one may to tell donkey to keep out of big peeple conversation he still does push he mouf in tings

49. ac September 22, 2015 at 5:43 PM #

โ€œNo body understand especially men the economic pressures women go through to salvage a meal and put clothes on those children back and these mothers having to put themselves last which might inlude wearing what they have availableโ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Are you suggesting that because โ€œthe economic pressures women go through to salvage a meal and put clothes on those children back,โ€ is justification for mothers to enter a schoolโ€™s premises DRESSED INAPPROPRIATELY while taking their children there?

Would you use a similar line of argument if a Judge or Magistrate admonish and refuse entry to a woman who entered Court dressed inappropriately?

Let me put a scenario to you in terms which you will obviously understand:

Supposed a few women were to attend the DLPโ€™s annual conference dressed in attire that their under garments or breasts can be clearly seen by all and sundry, and Freundel, in his usual condescending style used similar language as this headmaster to tell these women that such attire is not welcomed in George Street. (Well, we all know since these women would be โ€œhalf naked,โ€ Chris would suggest that they run down Broad Street).

Would you repeat your above comments to Froon, or tell him he โ€œsounds like a conservative whore picking on poor working mothers who are most likely to be black and poorโ€?

AC, on this issue you only โ€œopposing for opposing sakeโ€. Your arguments are flawed.

50. @pieceuhderockyeahright September 22, 2015 at 6:28 PM let me see if de ole man unnerstan you correctlyโ€ฆ

No Piece you got it entirely wrong.

The majority of our children are raised in houses without fathers, and a good number are raised in houses with corrupt stepfathers and we are worrying about the length of women’s skirts?

It is as if there are termites all over the house and we are worrying about a sweetie paper which has blown into the yard.

We need to get our priorities right.