Hon Dr Esther Byer, Minister of Labour

At a time when our little country which has been slow to recover from the global recession of 2008 should be marshalling all of its resources to the benefit of all, Barbadians and the world have awakened to the news the country remains gripped in industrial action. As if the manmade problems were not enough sargassum seaweed continues to obliterate our coastline and in the process suffocate our tourism product.

The old people have a saying, โ€œwhat you sow, you does reapโ€, the political tinkering, corruption and downright wickedness in high and low places has eroded all trust and integrity from our society. Our inability, although educated at great expense, to resolve our problems with minimum dislocation is an indictment of us all, we should remove the description โ€˜an educated peopleโ€™ from our lexicon.

Barbadians knew last evening minister Esther Byer would not have been able to resolve the issue. However, custom and protocol required we have the meeting when commonsense dictated given the serious of the impasse between the unions led by the NUPW and government, a joint meeting with the Prime Minister and Minister of Labour should have been called.

We have become a nation of JAs!

BU leaves you with the following comment posted by BU commenter St. Georgeโ€™s Dragon:

The common theme in these labour disputes seems to be the employer seeking to lay off staff without declaring the real reason. We all know, not least because the BIDC told us, that they need to make savings, so staff have to go. Others more knowledgeable than me will be able to say what the legal position is but common sense says that in this situation, BIDC should be able to make people redundant and pay them what they are entitled to receive in accordance with the law. Why dress it up as early enforced retirement? If the post no longer exists because there is no money to pay for it, sadly, people have to be sent home.

108 responses to “Industrial Action Escalates in Barbados”

1. With the present shortage of experienced trade union leadership Caswell Franklyn is seen it seems as a guru and elder in the trade union movement. If this posit is accurate then industrial relations are in trouble that is guaranteed. The BIDC separated 10 employees. The warmongers at NUPW mimicked by the BLP yard fowls and rabble rousers swore to the country there were 13. The NUPW narrative falls short of conviction its riddled with half truths from the opinionated cabal that leads it. A national shutdown is uncalled for based on the bone of contention. The union could have enhanced their position and the pockets of the severed employees substantially through talks with practical give and take. That’s how the real world functions. Calling out the public servants, the SSA and more is like killing a mosquito with a sledge hammer. The orders from the beauties and the beasts at NUPW to SSA not to collect garbage is an affront to every right thinking citizen. This is the worst cut of all it will only achieve the spread of health problems, diseases ,rodents and the like. The entire country will suffer even the innocent tourists who help pay our bills. Is this national disaster justifiable? No it is not . The tight shirt young boy is being played by the older con men and women who have been playing these games for years. The workers must be protected we all agree. You cant though destroy the society in the process. If that happens then there will be no where for the workers to work. Franklyn and company are incapable of running a snow cone cart so who are the gullible folk giving them the power to manipulate thousands of key workers to the detriment of the nation state of Barbados? We are on a slippery slope

2. The people of Barbados just need to follow King Solomon’s wisdom, in the case of the baby, to determine who has the interest of Barbados at heart.

3. Has anyone realized the different motives being played out here?

A new NUPW executive that was financed and backed by a power hungry politician is doing exactly what Mottley wants them to do while hiding behind the guise of protecting BIDC workers. I openly question their motives as I am well aware of their political stripes and the reason they sought to be on the executive.
    A look at some of the signs in that march showed persons in there that did not give a damn about BIDC workers – straight out of Roebuck Street.

Earlier this week when Roslyn Smith suggested in her Barbados Today interview that there might be some toning down of action while negotiations were going on, Mottley spokesman Akanni Macdowall said NO,everything will remain the same on course to a National Shutdown.

There is a massive political game being played here with some masquerading as caring about workers but really with a straight political agenda. One trade union leader Caswell Franklyn has publicly declared his political preference while some chose not too.

Interestingly, the Barbados Employers Confederation and its president have remained silent when it is clear that the union’s response is not in the national economic interest but who would want to accuse the president of the BEC of being political?

4. David July 10, 2015 at 9:23 AM #

The immediate problem we cannot ignore is what now.

The BIDC has advised it will go to court next week, whither phase ”

Civil cases have been languishing in the courts for years; what guarantees do we have that this case wouldn’t suffer the same fate

5. Colonel Buggy July 10, 2015 at 2:18 PM #
    โ€œWhy is it that time after time, the workers at the SSA are used as cannon fodder,in any dispute in the public sector?โ€

Colonel Buggy I wholeheartedly endorse the comments of both you and Mr Blackman because classism in Barbados is alive and well but

โ€œWhy is it that time after time, the workers at the BRIDGETOWN PORT are used as cannon fodder by the BWU in any dispute in the private sector?โ€

Why? because it is STRATEGIC so to do

6. @James Lynch “Shut It Down”
    James, it not only “yardfowls” that will cry out , when we shut down our island, lower our productivity, run our tourists and worsen our garbage problem- every single person on this island will be negatively affected and impacted. They will be no winners – all losers.
    I know Mottley will try to capitalise politically by holding political meetings and encouraging protest action but we should not fool ourselves that we can try to force out a government and that all our problems will go away and be solved especially when the union is taking actions that will set Barbados back another 5 years.

Some BLP supporters are so eager to throw out the bathwater that they seem not to realize that the baby will come out too.
    A National shutdown is downright mypoic, selfish and unpatriotic.

7. “Erroll Barrow was 35 when he founded the DLP.”
    Errol Barrow did not form the DLP. He became the voice of the DLP.

8. “I recall EWB telling GHA in the Houseโ€sit down old man,sit downโ€.I think that was in the late 60โ€™s”

I recall Ms Billie Miller shouting out in the House of Assembly “Look Barrow fall down, Barrow fall Down” when Mr barrow in one of his senior moments fell out of the chair when sleeping while the House was in session.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Miller, 9:57 pm comment last night.

I agree wholeheartedly.

No one could be as inept a leader as FS and retain that leadership in the face of the consistent and serious errors made whenever he was forced to make a decision. The situation now reeks of either Divine Providence geared to bringing Barbados to its knees and/or a callousness and selfishness in his party which allows him to stay there as leader despite his obvious unsuitability for the job and his central role in bringing Barbados down to where we now are.

FS, inserting himself or being unwillingly inserted into this current industrial situation, will not help as he will have a reenergised and newly “independant of the DLP” Union Leadership to deal with and he is incapable of dealing intelligently with such entities. Ask Mary Redman or the Antigua PM. He will only come up with a non-solution as is his trade marked wont. MInister Byer, similarly cannot resolve this. Her track record in these matters say so.

To me, the obvious solution is for the Government side to allow itself to come down from is high horse and eat a small portion of crow. It should use its influence in the Courts to have a QUICK legal resolution of the disputed clauses and meanwhile reinstate the few workers who have not cashed their cheques until the legal decision is rendered in the courts, not just agree to pay them until the end of this year.

Both sides will have given something and gained something.

The Government will gain an illusion of caring for people other than its own, something that is clearly lacking in this Government that seems to relish in appearing to be anti-small people and especially those of us who have retired or are approaching that time. This might give them a tangible amount of political capital necessary for conducting future imminent battles.

The Union will gain an impression of having at last stood up to the Government and winning the main point of its argument, i.e. the clarification of how the ERA is paramount re. such matters in the future.

It ent rocket science.

10. well we shall see what we shall see. now the opposition is talking about health hazard to the public .Yeap also included in that hazard is a haphazard leader of the opposition Mia Mottley who took pride in joining and supporting the Unions efforts to dismantle barbados and discomfort the citizens ,Yes Mia if there is a fall out from the unnecessary and foolish decision by The Union leaders to put Barbadian public at a health risk from the filth and the stench of rotten garbage you mia would be guilty of being a participator of an unwise and foolish decision that brought sickness or death to the citizens. Mia’s your actions were a violation to the oath of which you sworn of being a member of parliament ,you have crossed a grave line from one of being the servant of the people to a deceiver .The safety of the people and protection of the country mia you have put last in order to obtain power MIA you have become a bold faced traitor to all that is civil an duty bound to be called an active servant and a vanguard for the people , but most importantly when the dust clear and the splinters are left flying in the air What would you tell the people how would you excuse and defend yourself from an inexcusable act of violence perpetrated to cause harm and mayhem to this country. MIA your interpretation of Reality became an unjustifiable act unworthy of one to be called a servant of the people lead by corrupt and useless soldiers,

11. HOW ironic . When the govt Layoff workers with good cause THE BLP LEADER and the antagonist calls it PAIN
    When the govt asked people to be proactive by giving back in support for the well being of the coiuntry The BLP Leader SHOUTS more
    PAIN

How Ironic THAT THE BLP LEADER MIa Mottley seems content and justified that INSTANT and SWIFT PAIN to the people is justifiable to correct labor problems .

12. We can discuss but even the Minister of Labour and the BIDC have admitted there is a continuous piece of legislation at the bottom of it. The solution is for the BIDC to stay revert to status quo until the court rules. Although the Chairman of the BIDC confirmed it applied for the matter to be heard urgently, the judge will need a week or two surely to research and write the decision.

13. @ David
    The Union should ALSO seek a court injunction for the ‘retired’ workers to be reinstated until the matter is properly resolved. Why should the Union revert to normal operations while the BIDC goes ahead with their questionable actions?

Even the minister of Labour must by now realise that she is an embarrassment…and to think that she was a half-decent doctor…..

14. @Bush Tea

The unions have been emasculated post 2013, is it unreasonable to expect IR not to have broken-down given government’s broken promise an retrenchment in the public service?

15. @bushie
    But the “retired” workers tek de money already. What reinstate what?

This climate is even worse than 1991. At least there was a clear, tangible, consensus based reason for action back then.

Methinks the NUPW should be careful not overplay their hand based on politically or agenda laden advice. They have adopted the position that the clause used by the BIDC is illegal and that’s the basis for the ultimatum. They should check other legislation with similar language that has been used elsewhere recently before holding such a rigid view.

The issue isn’t the BIDC’s action, it’s the process, lack of consultation and subsequent result. Jeff’s legal argument (though not tested) is the closest that NUPW could get to being on sound legal footing.

Just observing

16. @ Observing
    What take what money what….!!!
    Lotta shiite…

Your employer calls you at ZERO notice and tells you that they have the legal right to send you on retirement….and that you need to sign ‘here’ and “here” if you want to collect your moneys due to you…
    what the hell would you expect a low level employee to do – in the current environment where NCC workers are reduced to BEGGING for their legal due after over a YEAR….???

Steupsss…
    sometimes you amaze the bushman hear…

Unless these workers were given notice of pending actions, and invited to seek legal advice and to have representation at the subsequent meeting/ signing with management…. the passing of those cheques mean not one shiite hear….?

…and if they had done that….then the Unions would have gotten involved BEFORE the dirty deed and we would NOT have the problems we now have…
    Wunna talk about ‘LEGAL GROUNDS’ as if these “laws” were not written by a bunch of (what we now know to be) crooked, deceitful, low-life, bribe-taking, retards…

Boss …the ONLY real and BINDING LAWS are spiritual…..and ANY shiite that contravenes such REAL laws is just that…. to be flushed….

17. @ ac
    your have a sickness, your whole mind is damage beyond repair for the rest of your life

18. Balance
    Once again you have change your shirt –The Red has moved the Front and the Blue to the Back, i guess the two Great Traitors(W alter Maloney and Dennis Clarke )maybe feeling betrayed by you Balance ,seeing how you have now been attacking what they did in the selling out by the workers .but please we are not surprise for you sing for your suppe,r-how old are you,you receives a pension from Government ,N I S,a salary from NUPW and allowances from a few Boards plus allowances from CTUSAB–THE point is that you was one Dennis and Walter Maloney advisors but now you are advising the present President -but please remember the present President ,nurse on the on WalterMaloney nipples,both areTeam players for they Parties –Balance you like them only and has always been interested in your self and no the interest of the UNION,Country nor workers.
    The Nupw did what they have been accussing BIDC of .
    IF this goes to court the Union shall LOST

19. I hope that the union is going to pay my trash collectors. I’m sure that they are itching to collect my trash. My guys are always on about how good I treat them. These handsome young men tell me that people scorn them and don’t even want to give them a glass of water. I will have to suffer along with the rest of people but they are being used because their services will be sorely missed by all. I wonder if when they come back around people will have learnt enough to give them a glass of water. By the way, if you treat them well they will do an even better job of collecting your trash, I assure you. Even though I didn’t expect it they go above and beyond the call of duty for me.

20. @bushie
    Accepting a check and cashing a check are two different things.

Also, NOBODY can force you to sign ANYTHING without affording you the right to call your union if you are unionised or your legal representative if you are not. If they don’t give you that right then the REAL fight would begin.

These were not “low level” employees. For heaven’s sake, the HR manager was one.

We agree that legally right does not mean morally or procedurally right.

My point remains, those that are happy with the money and cashed it can go. Those that didn’t should be reinstated or paid until the legal decision is reached once court action is filed.

It’s the BIDC’s right to require workers to retire at 60 (for now) but, requiring and forcing are two different verbs. In the latter case they are wrong.

It’s like saying that it’s your right to sex the bushwoman once wunna married, but it’s clearly not your right to force yourself on her any and every time you want.

The NUPW (like almost all unions nowadays) have an unclear argument, an entrenched position with an unrealistic ultimatum. I wonder if Mary or Mia advising them.

By the way, has the Minister of Labour ever solved any dispute? At all?

Just observing

21. @Observing

The minister of labour can be accused of not solving any major dispute during her tenure, what you cannot say is that she must be excluded from custom and protocol.

On 11 July 2015 at 14:05, Barbados Underground wrote:

22. GENERAL (secretary) of the BWU Ms Toni Moore has warned that “in war the big guns are not brought out first, ” or words to that effect. I do hope that the various workers unions, realise that one of the most formidable weapons in their arsenal , is Public Support. Furthermore , if the turrets on these big guns which allow them to swivel 360 degrees,is not locked before firing, the recoil may cause the gun barrel to turn 180 degree, with the result that the Gunner may do more that shoot himself in the foot, but blow his head off.
    And this may be the effect of the ongoing industrial action,which is effect appear to be mainly affecting the same public whose support the unions badly needed. Who are the people mainly affected by the non- pick up of garbage? The same waste haulers who were on strike a few weeks ago,are raking it in now, removing garbage from those better off ,including the politicians. And the same goes for the burial of the dead. For Coral Ridge Cemetery and its counterpart in St Peter,its business as usual.

23. Observing July 11, 2015 at 8:35 AM #

@bushie
    But the โ€œretiredโ€ workers tek de money already. What reinstate what?
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    I recall an instance when the BWU had real teeth,that a certain company paid workers a productivity bonus. The workers accepted the payment, but the union challenged the company, successfully, to pay the workers a higher percentage. When the company sought to “top up” what was already paid out, the union demanded that a fresh total payment of the new amount be paid to the workers. So the workers got x, as well as , x+y.

24. The economists say cut spending, reform and restructure the statutory corporations. Guess what the BIDC and hard working minister Donville Inniss have started the process.

The reform and restructuring of these statutory corporations MUST Happen.

25. @Bajanfuhlife

Why don’t you use your bully-pulpit to also encourage the government to appoint competent directors to the boards of statutory corporations and jettison the yardfowls? Then the thrust to make state-own entities more efficient would appear more credible.

26. Will those SSA workers who are striking and from the pictures on Barbados Today drinking some “drinks” while the NUPW encourages garbage pile ups in a tourism dependent country please report to NUPW headquarters to collect you salary.

You seriously could not expect our taxpayers dollars to pay you ?

27. Could some one please tell minister Donville Inniss his website is in suspended status?

http://donvilleinniss.com/cgi-sys/suspendedpage.cgi

28. @Colonel
    “I recall an instance when the BWU had real teeth

Oh for the good old days.

What’s the point of a social partnership that doesn’t meet, a coalition of trade unions that excludes the major one, a Minister of Labour that can’t solve labour related issues and educated leaders, directors and CEO’s that can’t interpret 2 sentences in a law??

We barely wasting bare time.

Just observing

29. @Observing

You have to hold the members of the social partnership and CTUSAB accountable, they continue business as usual.

30. @ Bajanfuhlife July 11, 2015 at 8:08 PM #

“You seriously could not expect our taxpayers dollars to pay you” ?

………………………….

Why not?

Why……. you all have been taking the taxpayers monies under false pretense since 2008 and look what a mess you have this country in. Not only at home but we are now the laughing stock of the Caribbean!

At least we can see that the SSA does do their job, we cannot say the say about you all!

31. @David – I know of many competent persons serving on the boards of these statutory corporations. The key is in the implementation. I heard the CEO of the BIDC – a woman of integrity from all who have worked with her and the sister of person who once sought a BLP constituency nomination outline a plan to make the corporation more efficient and sanctioned by the minister and the Board.
    The plan is met by a union power play and political opportunists who can only see the next vote and not the long term.

Newsflash David – God Forbid and tieffing Mottley was given the keys of power – who yo think she gine be lining up for seats on boards- her crew and those close to her and her family.

I know one thing – Mottley cannot be any saviour for Barbados or any beacon of reform despite her political spindoctors like Peter working overtime on her current now 3 year non stop campaign for power. Well actually 4 years if you count in the attempts according to George Payne to undermine fellow BLP candidates in the last election.

32. @Prodigal – no one can ever accuse you of drawing taxpayers money under false pretences. You earn every cent of the portion of Mottley’s public salary that she gives you for being the chief BLP yardfowl on the blog.

33. For your information I am a private citizen and depend on no one…….so get loss, yardfowl!

34. Bajanfuhlife,

If you spend half as much time as you do on BU doing what taxpayers pay you to do………..Barbados would be a better place!

My heart weeps for what we have passing off as a government.

35. When is the garbage strike expected to end ?

Wanna tryin to fatten de mice, mongoose an rats or wuh ?

36. Bajanfuhlife July 11, 2015 at 7:52 PM #

The reform and restructuring of these statutory corporations MUST Happen.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    EMERA has launched a reform and restructuring programme at the Barbados Light & Power Company, and the first people to be retrenched were the big-salaried,big-allowances top executives.

37. Hants July 11, 2015 at 9:11 PM #

When is the garbage strike expected to end ?

………………………………………………………….
    It would be prudent for the union to call off the strike,and have the SSA back to work first thing on Monday morning. Call out another departments ,if necessary to take its place. Ya know what they say about a Bajan, feed him six days a week, and when ya tell him on the 7 th day that you have nothing, he will in the words of the old people, unmeck ya arse. Calling on the lord to take away your eye sight and to lay with you in bed.
    Bajans are not a patient lot.

38. David,

They’re not all yard fowls on the boards. There are some competent people. There are even some who survived the transition from BLP to DLP government.

39. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

In today’s BLP Sunday Sun, Sanka Price was quoting Mia Mottley trying to deny the fact that this is a politically motivated strike.
    Sanka identified the leadership of BARP, ICAB, Barbados Employers Confederation and SBA as those currently headed by BLP operatives.
    He of course forgot the BHTA which Colin Jordan used to promote his political campaign and take cheap shots at the government and those in the Chamber of Commerce still hurting that the money they spent in the 2013 election did not buy their preferred outcome.

However, it would have been nice if Sanka turned to the largest media conglomerate in Barbados and the highest circulated national newspaper. There he would find BLP spokesman Clyde Mascoll, Former BLP MP Ezra Alleyne and BLP supporters Albeert Brandford, Tennyson Joseph, Harry Russell and Mottley political advisor Peter Wickham all writing “INDEPENDENT” columns telling Barbadians who they should vote for.

Of course, Sanka himself should take a look in the mirror when he was looking at partisan persons in organizations.
    When I read a story with the initials SP or AB on any story in the Nation I can already see what slant they will take. I have not been proven wrong as yet.

40. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Caswell Franklyn said on this blog that the Nation told him before his first column that he should not write on political issues. That is funny given Caswell’s columns since he made that statement.
    Caswell is now on record as supporting one political party over the other for government and is using his weekly columns to try to achieve this goal.

Mark my words, if Caswell Franklyn ever attacks Mia Mottley or the BLP in that Sunday column, he will need a job and lose his Sunday Sun platform.
    Caswell must fall in line like a good BLP yardboy at the Nation. A journalistic mouse.

41. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The columnists employed by the Nation newspaper all have a similar political slant – pro BLP. That is undeniable and the facts and the names are there to prove it. If I can see it , I am sure that the management of the Nation newspaper can see it too.
    Columnists give comment and if depending on the columnists a newspaper chooses, the paper will have a particular slant.
    It does not take a rocket scientist to see the political side taken by the Nation newspaper. If you doubt me , look at the coverage given to BLP public meetings.

42. Shiite man…you are beginning to sound like Dompey now.
    Who the hell do you expect people to attack? opposition members who have about as much clout as Old Onions?
    Why would Caswell waste time attacking Mia…?
    What impact has she had on the lives of ordinary Bajans in the last 8 years since we kicked her from power?

Who is protecting their esteemed friend from prosecution for thieving poor people’s money?
    Who is supporting thieving speakers of the house?
    Who is behind retiring 60-year-olds while retaining 70+ morons?
    Who is behind the Paradise pisser?
    Who is behind the stupid Sugar factory scam?
    Who is behind Cahill?

Who ELSE should be attacked…?
    You can be serious?

Rest assured that when (not IF) wunna asses are expelled from parliament (…and hopefully incarcerated,) Caswell, the Nation, Advocate, BU David, Bushie, Artax and everyone else (except AC – whose ass will be at Dodds) will attack whosoever else comes into a position of authority…and choose to do shiite.

43. @NationBLP

The government through its ministers and prime minister need to unlock their mouths and speak to the people. They were elected to serve the people and not the reverse. Forget the columnists and address the issues directly through the several fora available. So far the legacy in the making is not very flattering for this government.

44. Talk about PPD (priority deficit disorder). They sending home maids & messengers, meanwhile the high paid “Big Maguffies” sucking up the taxpayer’s dollars. They need to cut from the top, that is the best way to clean up this top heavy bureaucracy.

45. What the government need to do us fully exhaust the consultative process and forget the lazy way out.

46. The govt has already told the people what measures it will take , speckled fowl have you been asleep, did not the minister of labour (govt) state that she will seek resolution through the court,
    What more do you want the govt to say ,the only thing govt needs to do is seek manpower to remove the garbage, btw come next pay day these strikers will be a day short and a pound foolish.
    Once the govt gets control of the garbage the strikers can strike all they want. The govt does not have to say anything all the govt needs to do is take the necessary action that would not compromise the health of barbadians, any thing else left to be said is by the court,
    In the meanwhile the strikers are under the management and control of the NUPW ,
    The govt does not need to say a damn thing.just take necessary action

47. “What the government need to do us fully exhaust the consultative process and forget the lazy way out.”
    Definitely; there is nothing to be ashamed about. They should have been advised that if you start wrong, you end wrong. Trying to make the NUPW look like the big bad wolf in the eyes of public wouldn’t work this time.

Bite the bullet and re-instate the workers and start fresh.

48. NationBLPnewspaper July 12, 2015 at 3:29 PM #

You never cease to amaze me and thine ignorance harrows me with fear and wonder.

If, on more than one occasion, you visited a fast food outlet where the service was poor and the food tasteless, would you keep returning to that establishment, wasting your money just to complain about the food and service?

Or would you, like any rational thinking person, find another fast food outlet where both the food and service are excellent?

Shiite, man, there are other publications and media in Barbados. You have other choices available to you to choose from:

1) The Advocate in which the articles are always pro DLP. You can also read Guyson Mayers.
    2) CBC 100.7fm where you have a full diet of DLP stew, cooked by Maureen Holder and John Lovell. The callers and guest are also pro DLP
    3) CBC Evening News
    4) Government Information Service
    5) DLP official web-site
    6) Denis Kellmanโ€™s face book page

49. Colonel Buggy Avatar

David July 12, 2015 at 10:55 PM #

Here is tomorrowโ€™s Nation newspaper front page
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    Dr Dennis Lowe, Minister of the Environs of Silver Sands .
    Frig you other lot. I am looking after my people in the same fashion which I did in sending home people from NCC.