Grenville Phillips II

Grenville Phillips II is the man behind the initiative to start the next political party in Barbados. The following was extracted from the Solutions Barbados โ€“ The Next Party.

We are a group of men and women who love Barbados, treasure our reputations, and plan to offer ourselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  While we have some potential candidates, we need more โ€“ hence, the following.

WANTED

Accomplished men and women of demonstrated integrity and leadership, who love Barbados, treasure their reputations, and are willing to present themselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  Prospective candidates must not view politics as a career, but as a brief time of exemplary national service.  Expect: long working hours, vicious personal criticisms, no pay, a slim chance of being elected, and an exciting journey.

Before you contact us, please do the following.

1. Read our Solutions on the Solutions page.
  2. Read Harold Hoyteโ€™s book: โ€œEyewitness to Order and Disorderโ€.
  3. Talk to your family and put your house in order.

We do not intend to be elected to simply wait around long enough to earn a pension.  Rather, we intend to govern responsibly.  A summary of our main solutions are described on our Solutions page.  They are designed to address the main problems hindering Barbadosโ€™, and therefore your development.  You are encouraged to comment, and we will happily engage you in discussions of how they may be improved.  The improved solutions will become our promises to you.

Our guiding principle is to provide an environment where all Barbadian citizens and residents can become healthy, wealthy and wise if they choose to.  Our Solutions are designed to accomplish this

Current Main Political Parties

Despite their failings, we should count ourselves very fortunate that we have been led by persons who seemed to genuinely care about Barbados.  Therefore, both political parties should be thanked for their past service.  However, we should be under no illusion that it takes any special competence to spend other peopleโ€™s money.  As a country, we are very deep in debt, and useful unsolicited advice appears to have been ignored as we plan to go further into debt.

One political leader recently revealed that that only those in the political trenches had the right to have their advice on national issues considered.  Since we do not plan to stop offering unsolicited advice, and we have no desire to engage in futile exercises, then we have no choice but to reluctantly enter the political trench.  If the Government or Opposition parties follow our advice, then we will leave the trench as quickly as we entered it โ€“ the choice is theirs.

Improving Barbados

The greatest obstacle to improvement lies within you, the reader โ€“ the voter.  This obstacle is the fear of change.  People would rather stay with what they know, regardless of how incompetent, than with what they do not know.  Hopefully, after reading our Solutions, you at least know what we support, and to what we object.

It has been said that good managers try to do their best with the resources available to them, while leaders change the environment to allow for better management.  We intend to lead.

We invite you to: share this web-site by including a link on your Facebook or other social media page, inform your friends, family and colleagues about Solutions Barbados, and follow us on this web-site in order to be notified of any updates.

Due to the charging of individuals for breaching the Computer Misuse Act (section 14) and the Defamation Act, we must reduce the risk of inconvenience by reviewing all comments for compliance.  You can help us by not speaking disparagingly about people.  Please note that all favourable and unfavourable comments will be posted, but any defamatory information will be redacted.  We apologise in advance for any delayed comments.

Thank you for visiting and best regards.

SOLUTIONS BARBADOS

Grenville Phillips II, Founder

387 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Launches the Next Political Party in Barbados”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ MoneyBrain July 4, 2015 at 11:17 AM
    โ€œIt is ALL Whiteys fault! How easy, how convenient like lil kids, immature adultsโ€”always blaming everyone but themselves!”

But the consistently opium-controlled fool called โ€œTogethernessโ€™ does have a point.

You guys have down a complete demolition job on the psyche of the black slave. Remaking the intellectually naรฏve innocent โ€˜childโ€™ in the spitting religious image of your white gods, angels, saints and saviours. What else can these spiritually dead people do but believe in demons?

Itโ€™s yours and your ancestorsโ€™ fault, MB. Just check what the brainwashed โ€œTogetherness has to say about you and your clan of brainwashers:

โ€œHe and his clannish ilk are fortunate the sons and daughters of slaves are God fearing (Marx described religion as the opiate of the masses) forgiving people. Over time its a miracle blacks have not retaliated for the barbaric crimes against humanity systematically carried out by Money brainโ€™s ancestors.โ€

You see what I mean about poor โ€˜Togethernessโ€ aka โ€œWaitingโ€? Still looking through your white โ€˜eyesโ€™ to see โ€œGodโ€ and miracles. The poor chap still wallows in a pit of darkness trying to find himself.
    Mr. MB, why donโ€™t you and your โ€˜peopleโ€™ tell the Truth and let those black people go into a land of spiritual and intellectual freedom? Why not be a modern-day Moses on BU and show those ignorant and simple blacks the way out of darkness in to the LIGHT of Truth?
    Tell them the white man God is MONEY not Jehovah.
    As has been said many times on BU, the black man will always be an asshole emitting other peopleโ€™s crap until he himself realizes he is the closest of the creatures to the ONE who has given him that skin.

2. @Miller–

I would find it tres difficle to be a Black Moses, deception is not among my capabilities. lol

Dem doan want no Whitey “leading”, even to the Promised land of milk and $$$$$$$$$$$. lol

It is not that money is the only thing BUT it beats whatever is in second place. lol

The masses have always been conned by certain aspects of religion, that too is NOT racist, it is about keeping the sheeple down, regardless of shade.

3. Miller

It is unwise if not unintelligable, to look the man of European -extraction (MB) square in the face, and announced unequivocally, that his ancestors brainwashed our ancestors into believing in this metaphysical Jewish God. Who sits high in the sky holding in his hand a candle which illuminates the world. Because it makes me wonder where was the black man’s sense of human inquiry, which ought to have producted more than enough doubt within him regarding this Jewish God who holds high a candle in the mist of the darkness of the world. Where was the black man’s free-thinking -spirit? Was his mind so imprisoned in a blind alley of superstitution and primitive ritualism that he accepted without critical analysis, what was told to him at face-value of this Jewish God who sat high above and dispensed His moral judgment? Come on now Miller, can we really accept your hypothesis as biblical scripture? You know my years of reading has led me to concluded that there is anti-religious-fanaticism which is almost if not more than dangerous than the religious-fanaticism you ascribed to.

4. Moneybrain, please check your facts because I am more than certain that Hamilton was born in Nevis.

5. Let us bear in mind that this is the same Donville Inniss who rejected a 10% pay cut for Parliamentarians because “I have bills to pay too”

@ac July 4, 2015 at 6:08 AM “Inniss explained that the employees have received…all vacation paid accrued to them”

[Tell Inniss that Vacation pay is an ENTITLEMENT so to say that I will be paid MY vacation money ain’t saying a pang]

@ac July 4, 2015 at 6:08 AM “they should start receiving their pensions in keeping with the Pensions Act ”

[Pensions ain’t the same as salary]

Let us say that I am 62 this year and am being sent home by BIDC, and let us say that my BIDC gross pay was $100,000 per year. My pension this year would be $380.49 per week or $19,783.40 per year instead of $517.68 per week or $26,919 per year if I voluntarily retired at 67. This is not the same as a salary at all at all, especially if I still have a mortgage and a child at secondary school and one at university.

And let us say that I am compelled to come home on this reduced income and let us say that I live until I am 77. It would mean that I will lose $137.19 per week in pension for 15 years (or 780 weeks)

It would mean that I would lose $7,133.88 per year x 15 years = $107,008.20 that is over one hundred thousand dollars in my old age just when I need the money most to take care of the illnesses and disabilities of my old age.

In addition I would have lost $80,000 per year in salary for five years, that is a loss of$400,000 over the five year period until I am 67.

So in all a loss of just over ($500,000) half a million dollars if I live to be 77.

The Don think that he is the only one who went to Harrison College?

Some of us went to Harrison College too and were ahead of him all the way.

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!

The people are right to withdraw their labour.

The only thing most of us own is our labour. It is the only negotiating tool that we have.

Unless we choose to follow the Ronald Jones prescription to “crack some heads and shoot some people”

6. @ Money Brain,

You may find this link interesting.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/abolition/scramble_for_africa_article_01.shtml#two

7. Moneybrain, where have gotten the notion from that Hamilton was born in the Bahamas? That my friend, according to Churchill is a terminological inexactitude.

8. @Togetherness July 4, 2015 at 9:20 AM “Are there plans to bring down the government? Will there be violence…Barbados is headed for dangerous waters. The people voted two years ago to install the DLP. The opportunity to change government comes around in 2018. ”

A Simple Resonse: [Governments in Barbados have changed before, before constitutionally due electionsy…it happened when the DLP under Sandie lost the government, because the DLP had lost the confidence of the people, and lost the confidence of some of its own MP’s]

@Togetherness July 4, 2015 at 9:20 AM “The unions unwittingly for the most part are being tricked into an attempt to bring down the government before constitutionally due elections.”

A Simple Response: [So who is TRICKING the unions?Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!]

@Togetherness July 4, 2015 at 9:20 AM “The silent majority wishes common sense with an eye on the future of Barbados would be uppermost in the minds of the happy strikers.

A Simple Response: So who polled this so called silent majority? You? And who appointed you as their leader? You again?

@Togetherness July 4, 2015 at 9:20 AM “The final act of national embarrassment is the nonsense unfolds under the gaze of our guests the Caricom heads of government and UN Sec Gen Ban Ke Moon.”

A Simple Reponse: [So who tell you that the nation is embarrassed? I am certainly not embarrassed. You don’t think that the Caricom heads and UN Sec Gen Ban Ke Moon have faced strikes in their own countries? You don’t think that they understand and support the rights of workers to labour or not to labour. You don’t think that they understand and support the right to associate or not to associate

You remind me of a man who does beat his wife and when one day she finally run out of the house bloody and with her clothes tear up the husband’s principal worry is that “you have embarrassed me in front of the nieghbours”

Well we are tired of the government threatening to crack our heads and shoot us, and we are tired of being beaten up by layoffs and more and more taxes. We are just tired of the government beating us up and we have finally run out into the road.

Come again when you have something reasonable to say.]

9. Simple Simon, is 67 old age? I have been told repeatedly that 50 is now the new 40 and 40 is the new 30 etc. And this all has to do with our advancement in Science and Technology. So in chronology that makes you a youthful 57 sir. Then there is another narrative which says that we age: socially, psychologically, emotionally and chronologically.

10. Dear Dompey and moneybrain:

Alexander Hamilton was born in Nevis sometime between 1755 and 1757. He was raised in Nevis and St. Croix (St. Croix was then, not American, but a Danish colony). Hamilton arrived in the United States for the first time for his university education in late 1772 when he was between 15 and 17 years old. A hard backed man by 18th century standards.

So yes Hamilton was as West Indian as Dompey or moneybrian.

Don’t thank me, thank our friend Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander_Hamilton

11. MoneyBrain July 4, 2015 at 12:25 PM ” Please be sure that I live in TO with white idiots running the City, Prov and Country!”

What you tellin’ me tho’

But, but, but…I thought everything in the great white north, was great and white.

12. @Dompey July 4, 2015 at 2:55 PM “Simple Simon, is 67 old age? I have been told repeatedly that 50 is now the new 40”

Dear Dompey: They fooling you. The life expectancy for a Bajan man is 72.64 years, so start enjoying yourself now. Don’t ask for whom the [funeral] bell tolls, because it tolls for thee [and me]

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13. @Simple—

That is why U call yourself Simple????????

Do you think lose so all the time?

Please confirm that U did NOT attend HC!

My contention has NEVER been that Whites are perfect, my point has always been that it is not a matter of race BUT problems are caused because we are HUMANS.

Everything in the Great White North is great because ALL races have a higher probability of performing to a much higher level financially than in Bim. Especially the bottom half of the income spectrum.

14. Thanks Simon. I somehow knew that Moneybrain was far afield which his facile assertion that Hamilton was born in the Bahamas. Where is Moneybrain ascertain his information? If I was to hazard a guess: I would have probably said from the Museum of Antiquities beside the Speeding-Wheel and the Golden-Ax.

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Dompey July 4, 2015 at 2:55 PM #

Simple Simon, is 67 old age? I have been told repeatedly that 50 is now the new 40 and 40 is the new 30 etc.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Bro you have got the bull by the horn. In Barbados under your government 60 years of age is now the new 67 . Ask BIDC and EMERA ,who are giving 60 year olds their walking tickets. And with many 18 year old young people just graduating from secondary school without hope of ever holding down a job in this country, the new 18 looks more like 60 or 67, having join the ranks of the retirees.

16. @http://solutionsbarbados.com/solutions/
    “After persons are charged, but before they are formally tried, the offenders will be allowed to consult with their lawyers and pay a pre-trial fine of 3 times the replacement value of the offence, where one part will go to the victim, and two parts to fund the justice system. Otherwise, the fine on conviction will be 10 times the value of the offence if found guilty, where 2 parts will go to the victim and 8 parts to fund the justice system. The minimum pre-trial sentence will be $500, and the minimum trial sentence will be $5,000.”

I am asking Grenville to explain what the above statement will do to the presumption of innocence. There is no such thing as “formally tried” A TRIAL IS NOT A MERE FORMALITY. The accused IS NOT AN OFFENDER. An accused is innocent unless found guilty at trial. So why should an innocent person pay a pre-trial fine of 3 times the replacement value of the offence. On long established principle INNOCENT ACCUSED SHOULD NEVER, EVER BE FINED.

If Granville has not had the benefit of a liberal education he should educate himself before he starts proposing dangerous nonsense. I for one if I am accused will not be paying any fine before trial. And if Granville and his pals want to crack the heads or shoot those of us who refuse I can arrange to meet them in Independence Squarre at 6 tomorrow morning, and they can start with me. I as an innocent person is prepared to die before accepting a fine on somebody’s accusation. Maybe Granville was born yesterday, but I was not. I have been around long enough to know that false accusations are made, and will increase if “the victim” stands to be rewarded for making an accusation “where one part will go to the victim”. but I have been around too long not to understand that false and malicious accusations are made.

A look at the work of the innocence project may hel,
    Innocence Project: http://www.innocenceproject.org/

17. Colonel Buggy Avatar

When it rains it pours. It was reported recently that the Whistling Duck, was seen in the Bahamas for the first time in over 100 years.
    For the past 3 days we have had a bevy of Whistling Ducks nesting right here in Barbados at the Hilton Hotel.

18. Simple Simon u intelluctual ole far since u so smart how come your intellect of governance have only allowed you to be a back seat (driver) of whimsical escapades typing jobby over the internet//////// for one to be in possession with pearls of wisdom(NOT) you are wasting your superior talent on things that does not matter ,

19. Moneybrain

The dehumanization of the black race has been caused by the doings of white race of men.Throughout the epic of human history, we have read of many European philosophers who have held certain racial- propositions regarding the black race, which continues to be perpetuated to this day. The Germany philosopher Emanuel Kant, “Geographical Racist Treatise” is one of many racial ideologies erected to by the hands of the European to dehumanized the intellect of the black man.

20. Simple Simon, my mother as well as my father are now 82 year of age. And they intellectual-perspicuity and recall are sharper than my own.

21. Let me give you an example.

I decide that I want some money.

So I accuse Granville of stealing my Lamborghini which is worth $300,000.

Using his proposed system of justice he pays a pre-trial fine of $900,000 or 3 times the replacement value of the offence, where $300,000 will go to the me, and $600,000 to the state. Even if he is found not guilty at trial he will be out of pocket $900,000 for days, or weeks, or months or years or whenever the trial takes place. And there is no guarantee that by the time of trial I won’t have licked up the $300,000 and have no way of paying him back. Maybe I spent it on my drug habit, or my gambling habit, or my wild men or wild women habit, but the truth is the money gone…because that was my intention when I made the false accusation.

That is why Granville we have a long established presumption of innocence, and a long established tradition of trials in public courts before a jury of our peers [Because Granville dear boy human beings are deceitful/dishonest/lying etc.]

Or maybe not a Lamborghini, but my $1,500 flat screen TV was stolen and I accuse my sister’s boyfriend who visits our home regularly, and who has a previous conviction for stealing. On my accusation my sister’s boyfriend has to pay me $1,500 and pay the state $3,000.

Where is the justice in this?

And how is this better than what we have now?

I withdraw my previous best wishes to Granville or Grenville or whatever his name is and advise him strongly to stick to engineering because it is clear that he has zero understanding of human behaviour.

The man is a dangerous joker.

22. In the scenarios above niether Granville nor my sister’s thieving boyfriend were the thieves.

I forgot where I left the high end car because I am in the beginning stages of dementia…

And my sister’s boyfriend did not steal the TV. It was my mother’s new man who stole the thing. But unknown to me I did not know that he was a deportee and had a rap sheet as long as my arm in the States, but no convictions in Barbados.

Ooopppsss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

23. Simple Simon, at 82 I am more than amazed by my mother’s short term as well as her long term menory. She tells me that she still memorizes telephone numbers. And I am here saying to myself that there ought be a divine providence in halo fashion over my mother’s life. Because I am less than haft of a century and here I am can’t even remember what I had for dinner yesterday.

24. I had a colleague once a lovely man and only in his late 50’s, a childless widower who began to accuse colleagues of stealing his stuff. This went on sporadically for several months until one evening he went home…except he was not home…he was at somebody else’s door and trying to use his key to get in…and not understanding why he could not get in. He was admitted to a nursing home then.

Fortunately I lived in a democracy where people were not fined 3 times the value of the article based on an accusation. Fortunately my employer did not fire anyone, nor attempt to fire anyone. Fortunately I worked in a place with a strong trade union, where the union chief was prepared to go to jail for HER members.

The Barbados being proposed by Granville or Grenville or whatever his name is will not be a democracy, and it will not be a just society.

25. @MoneyBrain July 4, 2015 at 3:38 PM “Simpleโ€”That is why U call yourself Simple???????? Please confirm that U did NOT attend HC! My contention has NEVER been that Whites are perfect, my point has always been that it is not a matter of race BUT problems are caused because we are HUMANS…Everything in the Great White North is great because…

I call myself Simple because I ask simple questions…and lef’ it up to bright fellas like you to provide the perhaps very complex answers…Wha’ happen man..you don’t recognize sarcasm when you meet it on the internet? I won’t confirm that I did not attend HC…I lef’ dat fah you to find out. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

26. Simple Simon, I don’t if you’re aware of this fact, but new medical reseach has shown that alzheimer’s ( I hope that I spell the word correctly) and certain forms of demantia are caused by a deficit of oxygen to the brain, and it all has to do with the advancement in chronology. Where is Doctor GP at a time as critical as this?

27. If cricket is on then maybe Dr. GP is engaged with cricket and disengaged from BU.

28. Okay Simon… I gine and watch some American TV which kill your brain-neurons quicker than that good Jamaican ganja them young boys in Barbados and down here in de states, smoke like it is a new cure for work . Later!

29. SS–
    I apologise for forgetting to use lol after my points above.

30. @Domps

CONGRATS for finally getting something correct—Alex was born in the WI, Nevis.

31. “Bushie, you are allowing esoteric philosophical -concepts to get in the way of reality”

De Ingrunt, firstly, let us establish something amiss your comment yesterday, Bush Tea hasn’t the slightest idea what the word Esoteric even conveys within the context of your statement. So you should have broken it down to the kindergartener level for this intellectual-wizard that we are so honoured to have amongst the BU readership. Could you imagine Bushie being the homesome little boy with the dimpled rosy cheeks running around Barbados bare feet and patchy pants or perhaps the elusive Yeti traversing the deep back woods of the American south do its thing in incognito?

32. Moneybrain, from a boy of ten, I had aways founded my thirst for knowledge much more desirable than the Glory-Hole.

Moneybrain, thanks for your capitulation because we don’t too often see that amongst the ego driven testosterone fueled individuals of your sort. And by the way, I am hardly incorrect whenever I put something out there for public inducement.

33. @ Dompey
    “Bush Tea hasnโ€™t the slightest idea what the word Esoteric even conveys within the context of your statement..”
    shiite man Dompey … You looking to put some serious licks in the bushman’s tail, …but you right yuh… LOL
    …cause Dee Word was talking pure shiite ‘in the context of that statement” ha ha ha

Wuh you ain’t see that Simple Simon going to town on the ‘solutions’?
    Everybody knows that the VERY LAST order of political business is the operational details and that the first requirement is the vision and policy concepts…

LOL …that is why Miller and Owen regret talking about ‘privatisation’ before the last elections…. ๐Ÿ™‚

34. Dear Simple:

Thank you for your critique. Our response follows.

The concept of fining people before they are convicted in court is common with minor offences. For example, certain traffic offences like speeding attract a fine based on the charge. If the accused person challenges the charge, then they have their challenge adjudicated by a magistrate in court.

Most accused persons who know that they are guilty simply pay the fine. Those who believe that they are innocent typically challenge the charge in court.

We are expanding this concept by allowing persons who know that they are guilty to first consult with their lawyer(s) and then choose to pay the fine. In this manner, the offender can pay a lesser fine (3 x the market value of the item) for not unnecessarily expensing the justice system.

Having read SolutionsBarbados.com, you are aware that the draft solutions have been published for rigorous scrutiny. While we are grateful for the scrutiny, we believe that you are too hasty with youe conclusive statements. Let me ask you the following, quoting your remarks.

Simple Simon (SS): โ€œIf Granville has not had the benefit of a liberal education he should educate himself before he starts proposing dangerous nonsense.โ€

Solutions Barbados (SB): Are you calling the current traffic fines โ€œdangerous nonsenseโ€ also? If not, then why not.

SS: โ€œThe accused IS NOT AN OFFENDER. An accused is innocent unless found guilty at trial. So why should an innocent person pay a pre-trial fine of 3 times the replacement value of the offence. On long established principle INNOCENT ACCUSED SHOULD NEVER, EVER BE FINED.โ€

SB: Dear Simple, the 3 x fines are an opportunity for the guilty (offenders) to avoid wasting the courtโ€™s time. Fines are not for the innocent.

SS: โ€œI for one if I am accused will not be paying any fine before trial. And if Granville and his pals want to crack the heads or shoot those of us who refuse I can arrange to meet them in Independence Squarre at 6 tomorrow morning, and they can start with me. I as an innocent person is prepared to die before accepting a fine on somebodyโ€™s accusation.โ€

SB: Are we to understand that you have never paid a traffic fine? Are you saying that if you are guilty, and the police have incontrovertible evidence that you are guilty, and that your lawyer has examined this evidence and advises you to pay the fine, that you would prefer to be tried, convicted and fined 10 x the market value of the offence? If you are that principled, then our solutions does not restrict you in any way. You can still go to court.

SS: โ€œThat is why Granville we have a long established presumption of innocence, and a long established tradition of trials in public courts before a jury of our peersโ€, and โ€œWhere is the justice in this? And how is this better than what we have now?โ€

SB: Simple, you seem to have misread the solution. Our solution does not hinder any accused person from going to trial. It simply gives those who know that they are guilty to pay a lesser fine, rather than expensing the court system. What specifically do you find so objectionable?

SS: โ€œI withdraw my previous best wishes to Granville or Grenville or whatever his name is and advise him strongly to stick to engineering because it is clear that he has zero understanding of human behaviour. The man is a dangerous joker. The Barbados being proposed by Granville or Grenville or whatever his name is will not be a democracy, and it will not be a just society.โ€

SB: Why are you making such damning conclusive statements before allowing any discussion?

Best regards,
    Grenville

35. In terms of the queried items listed re criminal justice, I agree that prison should be reserved for violent offenders. Pointless sending non violent persons to prison, where they cannot earn and thus become a greater burden.

Re Solutions answer re fines pre and post trial, unfortunately that is pie-in-the-sky, will likely be challenged in the Court as unfair and unreasonable and in any case, simply will not be paid by potential offenders.

Do you really think some who steal cellphones and smartphones have $10,000 ($1,000 x 10)?? Only the rare one who steals such can repay. How do you expect some of the offenders to get hold of such money? Rob a bank?

This will not work.

The better answer, is to institute and much more regulated and well structured Community Service program.

And for those who neglect to attend and fulfill their obligations, jail follows instead.

Also, electronically tagged bracelets and house arrest should suffice for some offences, together with community service.

While amending programs, one needs to keep them realistic and achievable, pointless implementing a program that is not achievable, as the Solutions one is not.

On traffic offences, yes, those can be placed to the ticket and payment system, so that traffic fines can be paid at post offices and the district Police Stations.

For crimes such as non payment of debt, those should be dealt with by a payment program administered by the Court, where the offender pays back the money over a rescheduled time period, supervised by the Court. There is no other reasonable answer.

There are no quick fixes, only reasonable ways to implement changes.

36. the truth is that laws on the Books cannot be haphazardly change to satisfy any particular “disagreement ” simply putting a number of initiatives together and placing them in the public domain as Solutions without first studying or reviewing the laws of governance is political suicide,.
    Presenting one self as a person for CHANGE although a noble and definitive gesture on ones part does not in any way exclude or void one from doing diligence
    The apparatus which is the long arm of the Law directs and dispense how much should be and can be done in a democracy,

37. About car offenses you can have three or four different road tax fees which can be applied based on severity of traffic offense.

38. Barbados Solution

I agree with Simple Simon to some extent because it is common practice here in the states for one ticketed by a police for a minor traffic violation to challenge it in court because more often than not the judge usually reduces the fees and points which are applied to one’s driver’s license. I recall on more than one occasions when I knew that I was very guilty of breaking the traffic ordinance, and have prior knowledge of how the court system operate here in America when one challenge the traffic ticket issued by a cop. I went ahead and took my chances in court because more often not you come away with a lesser fee and fewer points on your driver’s license. Because let’s face it: haft of the time the cop don’t even show up in court which works in your favour all of the time. So the best bet is to challenge the ticket even if you think that you’re in violation of the traffic ordinance, as far as I am concern.

39. Crusoe

I do agree with your concept of the Community Service Program to alleviate some of the stress placed upon the penal-system today, but only for the first time offender. And also, within the framework of that Community Service Program, there ought to be some efforts made to rehabilitating this first time offender, or else we are sending the wrong message sir.

40. @ Grenville
    Fundamental mistake to get bogged down with petty operational details when you have not yet laid out a clear philosophical construct for your purpose as a political force.

What are you seeking to achieve? (this will then drive day to day operational policy)
    What will your party stand for…? (this will drive methodology)
    Who are you representing? – Business {growth} / Enfranchisement {masses} /ISIS ????/ All??
    What is your timetable? What level of urgency?

AFTER you have established such ground rules, some people will be on board, …and some others will hate your ass…
    If the former numbers are greater, THEY will then support your petty operational details as loyal yardfowls…and the others will hate you for life.

That is how the system works.

The way you have chosen, every petty policy has the potential to become a major sticking point – because everyone is viewing the ‘solutions’ from THEIR OWN (very different) perspectives…and you will get nowhere fast…

When we can have Dompey offering advice on how to deal with traffic tickets based on his USA experience …you KNOW you are on the wrong track skippa…

Call Caswell nuh….

41. are-we-there-yet July 4, 2015 at 11:47 AM #

โ€œLooks like the new NUPW stance has indeed got the yardfowl rattled. MInister Innissโ€™, ACโ€™s and Togethernessโ€™ contributions says so.โ€

AWTY, it is about time the NUPW did something for its members.

I was reliably informed of the following:

In 1986 when the DLP regained the reins government, the National Assistance Board, under the chairmanship of Dr. Farley Brathwaite, terminated a number of employees under the guise they had no degrees and hired DEMS to replace them.

Those terminated employees sought the help of Dennis Clarke and Joseph Goddard to no avail.

In 1993, the NABโ€™s board, which included Farley Brathwaite as chairman (yes, the same Farley Brathwaite this DLP administration honoured a few months ago), Derek Alleyne director of UDC), Rev. Errington Massiah and Richard Sealy (tourism minister) APPOINTED all those DEMS that were employed after 1986, leaving those employees who were at NAB prior to 1986, unappointed.
    To make matters worse, they made the appointment retroactive to 1990, which meant that the appointees were entitled to a refund of the excess national insurance contributions they would have paid between 1990 and 1993. At that time unappointed officers would have paid 8% NIS, while appointed officer would pay 6.65%.

The unappointed employees also sought the help of the NUPW through Dennis Clarke and Joseph Goddard to no avail.

I was also brought to my attention that the DLP formed an entity called โ€œTask Force on the Youthโ€ of which Farley Brathwaite was also chairman. The then opposition asked about the performance of this โ€œtask forceโ€ and Brathwaite hurriedly compiled a report and took it to a former NAB secretary to be typed.

She questioned the reason behind her typing the report, since she was not employed by the โ€œtask forceโ€ and the only โ€œcommon denominatorโ€ between that entity and NAB was the chairman. She went to NUPW for representation and was told by Dennis Clarke she should type the report. Unfortunately, the then director, Errol Best and Brathwaite made work unpleasant for her and she was unfairly terminated. The reason the board gave for terminating her services was insubordination.

Again, she sought representation from Goddard and Clarke. They made a half hearted attempt by contracting the services of a lawyer on her behalf, who did such a poor job, she lost the case. However, when she used the services of another lawyer, she won the case and the board had to pay her for wrongful dismissal.

Some clowns who contribute to BU want us to believe that the stance the NUPW is now taking has been influenced by the BLP.

However, based on what occurred, as I outlined above, with Joseph E. Goddard (a known DEM) as general secretary, and the position the NUPW took under then president Walter Maloney (who is a known DEM) and his side-kick, then general secretary, Dennis Clarke (another known DEM), it can also be concluded that the NUPW operated under the influence of the DLP.

42. Crusoe

I have noticed quite recently that there is a proclivity here on BU and amongst certain elements of the readership to play with WORDS. The kind of persuasive eloquence which at the end of the day serves no better purpose than to aggrandize one sense of recognition. When all that is needed when we endeavour to grapple with some of the more difficult questions here, are practical and proven solutions to real life situations. And to hell with all of the gobblegygook intellectualism bullshit! Sorry. I had to get that off my chest in case some are wondering what has gotten into Dompey this morning. Please excuse my choice of words at the latter part of my statement; that is in case anyone devoid of the necessary balls take affront.

43. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

@Simple Simon and @Crusoe.

Crusoe, well stated that “While amending programs, one needs to keep them realistic and achievable, pointless implementing a program that is not achievable…” That was the most shocking aspect of Phillips’ Solution that confounded me, the abject lack of reality of some of them. So I had to step back and see them for what they really were.

The explanation above of the fines re simple driving infractions being extrapolated to more serious types of crimes makes one shake your head in wonder that an experienced, intelligent thinker could contemplate such plans working in a modern day society.

The Solution re public servants ability to associate to political parties was another glaring non-starter. How can one practically legislate, “…and any proven case of political victimization, by any civil servant, will result in the offenderโ€™s immediate dismissal, and forfeiture of their pension”.

So realistically, these are ‘Talking Points”. He asks us to provide “rigorous scrutiny” of our own thoughts to this list . These Solutions are broad concepts from which practical policies have to be developed after that scrutiny.

A policy is a deliberate system of principles to guide decisions and achieve rational outcomes so these talking points need the ‘rigorous scrutiny’ of people like you and Simple Simon to get to policies and rational outcomes.

Let us not dismiss him Simple Simon he is on solid ground for demanding change.

We give these politicians chance after chance and they betray us time after time, surely Phillips deserves multiple opportunities to get his ideas properly on track.

He has been honest and open to present his schemes -warts and all – to the public and he said be rigorous in your criticism. Pray tell which politician does that?

See his Solutions in the right perspective and give ‘Change a Chance’.

44. Very interesting information /Be that as it may or maybe, what does one issue have to do with the present issue/ industrial action/ which if carried out to its fullest intent can wreck havoc on the economy of barbados, do you understand the catastrophic effects and other implications impacted before comparing some under hand back room dealings being done and which in no way disrupt the economy of barbados although if true should have been dealt with in appropriate manner.
    Truthfully my stance on this strike ‘Let it go head” and let the exposure become exposed because unlike milk Truth never sours,
    This govt has underwent strike action before under BSTU and it survived for the better,
    So if flexing of the muscles is one to be an exercise of one political might one would have to bear and be the burden bearer of consequences when the goals one were fighting for become unbearable.,

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Solutions Barbados July 5, 2015 at 1:42 AM

Dear Grenville,
    I wish you would indulge me if I raise a ‘macro’ matter with you.
    I might have missed it but I can’t remember you proffering ideas on sustaining and increasing the foreign exchange earning capacity of Barbados. Forex earnings are the lifeblood of Barbados. Without that continuous in and out flow the modern cushy lifestyle of โ€˜soft-skinโ€™ Bajans will soon be unsustainable and heading for a serious stroke caused by a lack of suffcient forex oxygen to its economic circulatory system.

With King Sugar dead and tourism reeling from regional competition with Cuba moving up on the tourism highflyer list how is Barbados going to protect its Mickey mouse currency and maintain its โ€˜false senseโ€™ of high standard of living based on conspicuous over consumption?

What are your plans for the growing tract of lands no longer serving King Sugar?

What are your views about turning them into hemp growing plantations?

It might save tourism and the economy. Selling international financial services can employ only a few โ€˜professionalsโ€™.

46. if Ac/s called to the BLP misfits to bring Evidence or proof of all allegations pisses u off so be it. The first RULE of justice is for allegations to be back up/provided/ by proof of Facts a critical and necessary procedure for good governance for outstanding and correct justice to prevail. Mia Mottley a candidate for the highest office of the land and if it should become so, has a fundamental duty to be honest when in vocal contact with the public as it reigns in on integrity and subjects her to be objective and pure with her political mouthing . in the meanwhile she is caught up in the whirlwind of closet dealings one of the many having to do with her LEC and which she has not responded but rather rely on one who had their hands in the procedure and would do justice for self and mottley being an interested partner by attempting to sanitize the matter and putting a lid on public interest

47. @Miller

Question Miller: since when has a prime minister the unilateral authority to do as he wish with planations properities which I thought were owned and operated by the white establishment in Barbados? Help understanding the question that you’re inquiring of Mr. phillips Miller. I distnctively remember traversing many if not all of those plantations in Barbados in searched of hay in times of scarcity, as a impressionable young lad during my association with police mounted branch. And I do recall seeing many white owners of those plantations; the only black people I saw during those trying times were the help. Who were baked black to a crisp, while the white men sat comfortable in their domiciliary residence aloof the blazing sun.

48. De Ingrunt, has anyone inquire as to the nature of Mr. Grenville Phillips’ academic-credentials and his battle tested experience for such an undertaking? Or are we to rely upon his idealistic wishes as though we are devoid of the common knowledge to know the difference? Nevertheless, as the say goes: you can prove anything by Theory or way of Statistics, so therefore, by affording this man the opportunity to run for the highest office in the land based solely on political-idealism. Doesn’t it not betray our better judgment as an enlightened forward thinking people who ought to be circumspect with respect to our impetuosity regarding our persnickety for Mr. Phillips’ idealistic goals?
    And this a man who I gather hasn’t been in the public eye much; a man we know little of, and care to know more of.

49. Hasn’t anyone inquire as to this man’s moral and intellectual standing, which I gather ought to be the perquisites for political office in Barbados?

50. The problem in most societies today is a LACK of DISCIPLINE!

Explain what behaviour is not acceptable and then re-introduce the Tamarind rod for those who think they are badasses (if this is not enough consider the Cat).

Offer education/ training and consider placing the boys pun de block types into the Military for proper Discipline. (dont teach them how to shoot, just training and education) Youth should not spend 5-10 yrs lying around taking advantage of Mom and Granny $$$. The peeps must be told why such action is being taken and how it benefits the Nation.