The Cahill Energy Waste to Energy project continues to feature in the news. The Facebook page Waste To Energy Plant has attracted 6157 members to date and is a source of valuable information for Bajans to educate themselves about plasma gasification technology and related matters. All should become members of the page to show solidarity with the cause.

If you do not stand for something you will fall for anything!

Cahill Energy

952 responses to “cahill energy Barbados WtE Project – Confidential Information Memorandum March 2015”

1. LOL @ Hants et al
    Professional site bushie’s donkey…!!

Wunna ever heard about WIX?
    shiite man, those EXACT ‘web sites’ can be purchased for US $100 – and only for that amount in order to get the domain name and to remove the WIX ads… and Bushie could complete one in two hours….
    David could probably create the ‘Barbadosgec’ shiite in 45 minutes…. ha ha ha

Check out WIX.com if in doubt….

These Cahill people are hilarious though… these shiite tricks would have been quite impressive back in the 3S /VECO days ..but cuh dear man…. not in 2015…!!!

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

I take your point that nowadays almost anyone can create a professional looking website in short order.

BUt WIX?

3. @Hants August 4, 2015 at 6:10 PM #

sixth was this.
    http://www.ridleyenergygroupinc.ca/

Thanks Hants for reminding about the REGI website that I commented on some months ago

The Welcome page includes

โ€œOur Assets
    Our assets are our people, our partners and our Consultants and Agents in the Caribbean, Barbados and Canada that have been working with David and Kevin Ridley since 2011 to bring to fruition the potential to build and operate our first WTE facility in Barbados, W.I. David and Kevin Ridley have worked with those Consultants and Agents in Barbados who have completed the preliminary steps to site and build/operate the WTE facility at Vaucluse, St. Thomas, Barbados. As well as our Consultants and Agents our assets include our partnership with BioConversion Solutions LLC (BCS) of Exton, Pa., our technology provider and our relationship with The State Group Inc. of Mississauga, Ontario, Canada which will build and operate our WTE facilities within the Caribbean.โ€

Below that is a link to a โ€œGreen Energyโ€ crowd-funding site for REGI

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/green-energy–8#/story

โ€œThe Ridleys need your help to finance the approval process to allow for the WTE facility to be built/operated in Barbados. Your valued contribution will be used to support the approval process in Barbados that involves the hiring of planning and environmental experts and finalizing the contracts to secure waste feedstock and a power purchase agreement.ย ย Once approvals are obtained and the facility is built, the intention is to build other WTE facilities within the Caribbean to process organic waste to create electricity and fertilizer. Your financial contribution will help clean up Barbados and later the other islands in the Caribbean. The magnitude of your valued contribution will help within the approval process and eventually help in cleaning up the Caribbean islands to keep them pristine and beautiful for future generations to enjoy.โ€

So, the Ridleys have some people, and partners and ideas, but have no money; and had a crowd-funding campaign to raise CDN$750,000, to finance the approval process to allow for the WTE facility to be built/operated in Barbados.

The campaign was closed in October 2014 after receiving pledges totaling CDN$2,951.

You really could not make this stuff up.

4. Bush Tea August 4, 2015 at 9:19 PM #
    LOL @ Hants et al
    Professional site bushieโ€™s donkeyโ€ฆ!

Where did I write that the site was “professional”?

All I did was put a link to the site on BU.

5. One last kick at this can.

These Canadian WTE “Developers” (Clare Cowan’s word) have no money

Cahill apparently can’t find investors.

Ridley tried to crowd fund CDN$750,000. and raised pledges for less than CDN$3,000.

Why are they not require to demonstrate financial capacity before announcing they are going to build a WTE plant?

6. All good questions due diligence!!!
    No sensible company in the world would contract with a contractor or supplier of any sort without performing a comprehensive DD and search on the contracted entity.
    Financial stability and ability to pay is a key factor in any contractor
    Indemnifying of an owner is also key in any contract.
    I wonder if the gob is indemnified against the failure of Cahill and if Cahill actually provided any bonds to the government to hold in security.

7. 16 months into this so called contract and considering the terms and conditions infered in the CIM
    The following should be wellin hand and the government should be processing /approving the following applications
    Exchange control
    CPO of land
    N3/N4 submissions for the land
    Water extraction permits
    Town and country planning submissions
    Excise /customs control exemptions
    Licence to generate/ export power to the grid
    The Cowan woman has gone on record saying she has spent $5million . with that kind of spend there should be applications for most if not all of the above standard applications

Am I wrong ???????

8. Exchange Control?

What exchange control?

It is all FDI IN. Nothing going out.

Clare Clown is arranging offshore investors to fund the $700 million.
    There is no cost to GOB (Taxpayers)

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants / David / DD;

Have any of you tried to access the BarbadosGEC link today? http://barbadosgec.com/

Looks like it has been shut down.

Perhaps it was only on a trial run yesterday and Hants was lucky to find it.

Anyhow, we know what to expect when it is really up and running.

10. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

I forgot to mention just now.

Looks like it was a WordPress effort.

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DD;

You asked earlier

“Why are they (i.e Cahill and the Ridley Group) not require(d) to demonstrate financial capacity before announcing they are going to build a WTE plant?”

RastaR followed up by writing:

“No sensible company in the world would contract with a contractor or supplier of any sort without performing a comprehensive DD and search on the contracted entity.

Financial stability and ability to pay is a key factor in any contract.

Indemnifying of an owner is also key in any contract. I wonder if the gob is indemnified against the failure of Cahill and if Cahill actually provided any bonds to the government to hold in security.”

Good points all!

However, the lack of clarity in the Barbadosgec webpage in relation to the costs of the WtE component etc. suggests that the whole thing is essentially a “work in progress” and that all of the actors might be in over their heads

12. http://www.centralbank.org.bb/foreign-exchange/forms/exchange-controls-forms/tr-form-original-and-duplicates

Which entity paid the $5million.
    CEL or CEB ????
    There’s a big difference to the tax man and the central bank of Barbados

13. @Are-we-there-yet

Thanks, it is hosted by WordPress. BU posted a comment last night asking when minister Lowe planned to schedule a press conference, it went to moderation.

What is interesting about the site is that the most current information was up to 31 March 2015.

14. I checked the Canadian Company Capabilities database at Industry Canada last week. There was nothing listed for Cahill Energy. I used the Holiday Inn address and I also searched by services offered………NOTHING.

15. There is nothing to find
    She is a shell company of 1 now that she has been abandoned by the people she has hoodwinked

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Is it too much to hope that we are today witnessing the disintegration of the Cahill-GOB collaboration?

Hope that someone had the presence of mind to copy the barbadosgec website. It might be useful later on.

17. That’s probably to much to ask for at this stage
    The ministers no doubt love to extricate themselves from this but paying the exit fee is as damming as hoping she can sell it on to some un suspecting investor
    The hope is that when the potential investors do a proper DD on this message they tell her to take a hike

18. The question that boggles my mind is:- how can she say that Canada will take the toxic waste, when the powers that be are not even aware of the company?

If she is not registered with IC, she surely is not with the Export Development Corp. an agency under IC which helps Canadians build export markets. How come she did not go there for help to build the WTE plant? Ah, but she would have to submit the company profile, financial statements, bank statements, etc. The company would have to be a going-concern.

19. She is not a stupid woman…..
    She is an accomplished fraudster..
    And much more clever than the idiots who signed the agreements on our behalf….

20. @Pat

Do you know what is Canada’s policy concerning accepting hazardous waste?

21. Canada will not take this toxic mix of heavy metals without a detailed analysis
    And application
    For this woman to say Canada will take it is another nonsence
    She has no idea what it takes to dispose of a toxic soup
    The garbage chute on the 43rd floor is as close as she gets to dealing with waste
    And that probably just Chinese take out containers and shredded contract documents post cutting dodgy deals

22. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Mockingbird; You said:

Thatโ€™s probably to much to ask for at this stage. The ministers no doubt (would) love to extricate themselves from this but paying the exit fee is as damming as hoping she can sell it on to some un suspecting investor. The hope is that when the potential investors do a proper DD on this message they tell her to take a hike.

I would suspect that the Ministers and the Government (unlike their typical modus operandi ) are not sitting still on this one and just hoping that a, b, or c happens on its own as inaction in this case is fraught with personal peril.

Rumour suggests that they paid a lawyer $700,000 to vet the agreement. Presumably he at least would have insisted on exit clauses being included. If so, there might be no exit fee for the Government to pay per se except horrendous loss of political capital. If the lawyer didn’t, he and they would deserve the inevitable fallout.

However, as you hinted above CC’s hoping to sell the project to an unsuspecting investor is not in the Government’s best interest and is in fact highly unlikely given the negative and widespread publicity on the project and therefore my suggestion at 4:32 pm was that perhaps she is now realizing that fact, fortified by the abysmal performance of her team at LESC a couple weeks ago. In which case she will have to cut her losses and slink away from the project.

The horse has bolted and perhaps the initial signs might be what we are now seeing played out on the Internet.

But I’ve been known to have been wrong.

23. @David, anything can be done…..for a price.

Hazardous wastes are sometimes shipped to or from other countries for treatment, disposal, or recycling. For the United States, the vast majority of this waste trade occurs with Canada and Mexico, but the U.S. also engages in hazardous waste trade with other countries.

http://www.bordercenter.org/chem/hazardouswaste.htm

24. Interesting link Hants.

25. Hants

Does Canada pay for the waste it accepts; or does the shipper pay Canada to take it off their hands?

26. I would hope that Canada charges for processing hazardous waste. However I do not know if it is so.

27. Here is the Google cache of the site hurriedly taken down after being found out by Snoop Hants.

https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:od4mrIm2x1EJ:barbadosgec.com/+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

De granson tell me dat you shoulda use an application call SiteSucker or WebCopier.

When he call dem names I did ask he whey he know AC and Donkey from fuh de first one (Site Sucker) and den I did was ask he if he did friends with David Ellis or Sankey Price dat he calling dem by de latter name (BU WebCopier)

He say dat even if dem tek down de sites you can put dem back up jes like dem was pun de day dat de body tek dat snap shot.

Dat boy know nuff tings bout de cuntputer David

Between me and you I did axe he if dere was a virus or hack dat we cudda use pun AC cuntputer en bring down she system fuh about a week,

He tell me bout a stick en i axe he if he mean a USB stick and how we was gine get it in she cuntputer USB port

He say not dat sort uh stick, he meaning one uh dynamite en i tell he we ent want to “Guy Fawkes she snozet”, jes silence she fuh a short while…

29. Too many lies are being spread about mrs cowan and by some jealous mischievous vengeful people who are using this website to get revenge.

this woman is well known to people in the investment world she has been called (on) several occasions to give her for opinions on varying topics dealing with megers and Acquisitions and other related topics dealing with investments where she have sat among some of the world leading investors as a panelist.
    If what has been said here is true by now her profile which is not a secret would have been shunned in the investment world and big companies like Westinghouse would not have or want the bad publicity attached to her name if what is being said her is true,
    it is a pity that some people would go to the lowest of lows and drag certain websites within their reach as a battering ram to do their mischief and when all is said and done these websites would be tagged as malicious and slanderous gossip magazine .

30. Excerpts from the 8/4 TV20 news report:

‘GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Gainesville Regional Utilities is now asking to renegotiate the agreement to purchase power from the biomass plant.

GRU’s new general manager Ed Bielarksi requested, in a letter last week, for both parties to come back to the table.

Bielarski says the reason why his customers are paying the highest utility rates in the state is the 30 year contract to buy power from Gainesville Renewable Energy Center’s plant.

"The biggest reason our costs are high is the GREC contract," he explained Tuesday, "so we’re looking to mitigate those."

Resident Jim Jonish, who lost a suit against GRU for over taxation, says it’s not that easy.

"Unless the validity of the contract is challenged or the validity of the invoices in the amount of $8-9 million every month that they submit is challenged," he expalins, "I don’t see them offering anything that will be of use to the Gainesville rate payer."

"I think stopping to buy power immediately would bring them to the negotiating table."

"We can’t afford not to find a way out of this," Konish shared.’

GRU’s GM asks for biomass renegotiations | WCJB TV-20

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Gainesville Regional Utilities is now asking to renegotiate the agreement to purchase power from the biomass plant.

wcjb.com

31. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

do not google “bajan tube photos”.

It would make you forget bout all de “problems” in Barbados so doan guh dey. lol

32. piece uh de e Rock.

ole man tell yuh gran son he would not like it in Dodds bcause he would be pooched,

33. @David,

Barbados government ministers must be aware that people will use the internet to find examples of the good the bad and the dangerous.

The citizens in a democratic country have the “right to know” what the government is doing. Plain and simple.

34. @Hants

They don’t care or are too dumb. Take your pick.

35. @ David

All three levels of government play a role in hazardous waste disposal. Municipalities, the Provinces and the Feds. It all depends on how and for whom the waste was generated. For instance, if Canada sells a nuclear reactor to Mexico, it will agree to take some of the waste/by-products and process it, or bury it three miles down in the Canadian shield up Sudbury way.

If the Cahills were buying their WTE plant from a Canadian firm, the manufacturer could ask for processing of the waste for a fee. The request would be analysed by several departments including Environment Canada, Industry Canada, Natural Resources and even Oceans and Fisheries. In most cases, they would have to show that they are creating jobs for Canadians and the processing would be on a cost recovery basis.

http://www.ec.gc.ca/lcpe-cepa/default.asp?lang=En&n=211AFAEC-1
    the above link is for Environment Canada policies.

36. Thinking about Cahill’s statements re Canada taking the toxic hazardous waste from her WTE plant !!!!
    She has sent us on another wild (Canadian) goose chase.

As she is actively trying to off load this mess she will say anything to anyone regardless of its validity
    She won’t be around to comply with the regulations governing the storage and transport of pcb’s and hazardous waste so she can be as liberal as she wants with the lies she spits out.

37. Liz Spencer declined to comment as she is Pershing legal action against Clare Cowan and Cahill .

Watch this space I guess!!!!!!!

38. Steupsss
    This damn woman is a dumb blonde….
    shiite man…. she thinks that ‘potable water’ is water from the damn toilet…
    This woman is just like the Indian man Persaud that milked Four Seasons…
    “professor” some shiite or the other…

The people we REALLY want are hiding behind the shadows and currently under this dumb blonde’s skirt… these people are the REAL crooks.
    It is these shadow figures that have been perfecting this scam of introducing big-ass projects bout here; milking MILLIONS off the top; and then making the ‘project’ disappear from sight after incurring large debts to the NATIONAL TREASURY.

GEMS
    St Peter Hospital
    Hardwood
    Four Seasons
    Bridgetown Marina
    Sam Lords
    Almond Beach
    Japanese Wave energy project
    New Sugar Factory (to grind wild tamarind)
    New Hospital at Wotton
    New Mini bus terminal

…and MANY MORE SCAMS.
    We HAVE to be real brass bowl jokers to be chasing after this idiot woman instead of the COMMON factors in the above scams.

39. If we don’t keep chasin this fraudster we will be paying for the millions she is meant to make off the backs of people here on the island for the next 30 years…..
    All roads lead to Rome but in this case to northyork Toronto
    It will all fall out in the end

40. Can we have an explanation why the website was taken down?

41. Thanks again to Hants for posting the link to Ridley Energy Group Inc. (REGI) website on August 4, 2015 at 6:10pm.
    http://www.ridleyenergygroupinc.ca/

According to the REGI website, Ridley Energy Group Inc. is a Start Up Canadian Company incorporated in January 2011 to pursue the construction and operation of a full scale production waste-to-energy (WTE) facility in Barbados, W. I. and other island nations within the Caribbean Basin.

Given that there is no info in REGIโ€™s website about existing REGI WTE projects, it is reasonable to assume that, like Cahill, the Barbados facility will be this Start-Upโ€™s first facility.

See June 15 Ridley Energy Group Inc. story in Barbados Today. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/13/another-firm-looking-to-set-up-a-waste-to-energy-plant/ which includes:

โ€œSince 2011, REGI has had as consultants Mr. Peter Mann and Trevor Straker in Barbados and, through them, we have established a working relationship with the Government of Barbados that supports our waste to energy project,โ€ said Ridley, disclosing that relationships with potential organic waste providers have already been established as well.

Also Loopnews story http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/canadian-company-wants-build-100m-waste-energy-facility-barbados which has a bit of other detail.

So, REGI has been in discussions/negotiations with GOB since 2011 for the facility announced June 2015.

I do not recall seeing anything from Denis Lowe or anyone else from Government about the REGI facility, before or after the REGI media conference.

RGEIโ€™s crowd funding effort to raise CDN$750,000 generated less than CDN$3,000.

DD wonders who is going to own and/or pay for this one.

DD wonders if the $100 million REGI WTE facility is the The Waste to Energy Facility mentioned in the aborted Barbados Green Energy Complex website.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright August 5, 2015 at 7:20 PM #

Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!

PUDRYR, you is de best.

43. Creating a web site and putting it on the internet means you are giving access to everyone to see and read what is on it and to share the link to that site with whom ever you choose.

44. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

So what does taking down that website mean?

45. Sir, your perceptions of reality is seriously distorted, if you think for a brief moment that your presence here on BU warrants some sort of veneration? May I kindly inform you that your haft-baked opinion doesn’t cut across the political-spectrum, and exercise any influence upon the mindset of the Barbadian masses that traverse this medium? What seems to register with me regarding your thought-process is the fact that youโ€™re hearing impaired, or perhaps, you’re indifferent to the advice I had afforded you last week? I distinctly told you in clear and coherent terms that: โ€œYour time would have been better spent instructing Bajan kids on the proper techniques of frying pancakes rather than endeavoring to inform myself or anyone else in any area of academics.โ€ Artar, your self-proclaimed role as the BU savant is in my mind and I quite sure in the minds of others here, a subject of considerable laughter. Who appointed you foremost celebrated scholar in this part of the woods that others are compelled to entertain your unqualified-opinion?

46. Artar, I hope you have heard me correctly? No one cares or wishes to entertain your unqualified-opinion.

47. @ are-we-there-yet,

It means that, in the words of the great Shilling….somebody “decide to decide de decision”…… to tek it down as is their right to do. lol

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

Yuh noh yuh write!

But I like mysteries and puzzles and Conspiracy theories and my bet is on a collaboration between the two beleaguered people who appear to be the star acts of the vanished webpage based on the frequency of the appearance of their pictures there.

By the way. Is that Shilling song, and any others, on the web (eg. My dog loves your dog)?

49. @ are-we-there-yet,

It was not a song. He was having a session at a restaurant in town and he was chatting in between songs.

I was not there but a friend recorded the session and gave me a copy of the recording on a cassete tape. This was back in the day circa 1970.

50. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

My Dog love your Dog, and Your Dog Love my Dog, and iffffff our doggies love each other, why cant we??

Hants man you chirping good man doan sen me no mo’ uh dem pictures doah…up to now I still dreaming bout dem Krave damsels…

I gots to be careful cause Donna gine tell my wife….