A Pop Kite Cabinet, PRECONCO JADA and more

Dr. Justin Robinson, Chairman, National Insurance Scheme
The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) continues to pressure the government on the lack of transparency surrounding the Cahill Waste to Energy project proposed to be located at Vacluse, St. Thomas. The political meeting held by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at Tyrol Cot on the weekend reinforced concerns raised by the Opposition Barbados Labour Party during the recent budget debate.
Two non-Cahill issues were raised by Mia Mottley which have not caught the public’s interest to the same degree as the Cahill project. Mottley accused minister Michael Lashley of instructing the Board of the National Housing Corporation the Cabinet of Barbados had revoked a contract awarded to Rotherley Construction to build units at Exmouth a few days before the last general election. Instead, he advised the contract to be awarded to BJ Investments. However, the minutes of the Cabinet meeting contradicts Lashley’s instruction to the Board. Is this not a serious matter as well, one of poor governance? Where is the outrage? Why do we have a government blindly committed to giving most of the government projects to JADA PRECONCO – Mark Maloney Bjorn Bjerkhamn companies? We know the answer! What about the accountably and credibility of the Cabinet associated with collective responsibility?
The other issue BU would urge the local media to pursue is the decision by the government to pay a 25 million dollar dividend from the revolving Housing Credit Fund (HCF). The proceeds of the dividend was used to pay Preconco (there is that name again) for the GROTTO project (still unoccupied). Why the unholy haste to pay Bjerhamn and co while ordinary Bajans continue to wait for years to receive Income tax and Vat refunds? There is something immoral and unethical by a government who should be concerned with managing the affairs of the people, by the people and for the people. BU believes there is an injustice worthy of national debate – the fact Bjerhamn sits on the Board of the Central bank – did he Bjerhamn recuse himself when the matter of paying a dividend on the HCF was discussed and agreed by the Board? BU invites Dr. Justin Robinson to clarify this matter and while doing doing so to update us on the promise to produce financial statements of the NIS. Please also explain the 5 million dollar deposit reported to be held by the Central Bank in the name of Leroy Parris. How is it possible to give the Governor and Board a pass on this matter? Are we a Fig Republic?

Michael Lashley, Minister of Transport
So many transactions which have the smell of impropriety by a government elected on a promise to be transparent yet Barbadians continue to go about business as usual.
There is another issue transacted by the government through the minister of finance who is reported to have issued a letter to Royal Bank on behalf of a Preconco Mark Maloney project we need clarified (in our dreams!). Why Royal Bank? Is it because Doug Maloney is a retired Vice President of Royal Bank and continues to be a director? What influence does Mark Maloney and co have in the circumstances? DD please do your thing!
To those who say those of us who ask questions are being political, BU’s response is to offer a quote – “Eternal vigilance is the price of liberty”

I call for a citizenry ethics commitee which oversight the misconduct and alleged misconduct of politicians in Barbados. You’re asking for transparency in government, will here is quite possibly the first step in the process of sustained transparency of the public officials.
LikeLike
David re Exmouth were you better informed and not jumping on a BLP band wagon you would know that what has been left out of Mottley’s discourse on Exmouth which by leaving it out serves her purpose but not the purpose of truth or honesty in the colour of her politics she is dishonest bugger. What she has chosen not to tell the public is yes that was a project that this government wanted placed with Rotherley Construction but after waiting nearly 3 years on that company to secure a loan to build out the project the said company was unable and at the time unfit to secure any loan facility from ANY BANK to finance the project to provide funds to construct the buildings, this was allowed to roll on for a very long period of time in the hope that their financial situation would improve enough so that they could have qualified to secure a loan, this never materialised and they were unable to find funding for the project, Rotherley having spent money in work associated with the project then entered discussions with JADA to have that group pay them out for the cost of the work done and with a slight buffer and that request was made by Rotherley and agreed to by JADA and they were paid off by JADA and it was from that stage that JADA became the main party, in summary Rotherley could not source a cent to build out the project and were eventually compensated by JADA and they moved on. It would have been the honest comment to make had Mottley spoken what she knew but as we know even her own party members call her crook and a criminal and some who moved BLP party funds from the party to her private account so expecting truth or honesty from that woman would be expecting way too much from a Mottley, remember before her was her father whom had 3 ceiling fans and a FAX machines from AS Bryden some years ago and the company had to send to his office and extract them for NON PAYMENT of monthly fee, so the family has had a long history of non payment of debts and lying.
LikeLike
You have proved the headline to be accurate. How did Rotherley even qualify for the contract if unable to secure funding? Isn’t it the remit of the NHC board to decide on contractors? Why no retendering after Rotherley failed and were there any penalties? If as you say JADA paid out Rotherley why the need for Cabinet involvement? Could Cabinet revoke what they never granted?
LikeLike
And why was this matter not shared with the public the government was elected to serve?
LikeLike
Every day that passes with the citizens of this country sitting idly by without protesting what this government/party is doing reinforces in their minds that it is their right to do as they wish. Herein lies the problem. By remaining silent we are giving those in the wings tacit permission to do the same when they assume office. Hence the rot will continue from one administration to the next.
If the child sees the parent smoking, drinking, lying and cheating, it is highly likely that the child will display some or all of the same characteristics on becoming an adult. It is called learned behavior. That is how we are allowing this administration to teach the next. And it is what we allowed the last to teach the present.
LikeLike
This is a clever trick of the Minister of Finance and Michael Lashley, both of whom conspired/tortiously interferred to rob Rotherley Construction of the contract which they legitimately secured. Let me tell you how they did this and continue to these things, all to achieve their ends of giving Maloney & Bjerkhamn everything that they want/ are willing to buy.
The Minister of Finance withholds the Letter of Comfort from Rotherley Construction even though it is a term/condition of their contract with NHC/GOB. Without the LOC Rotherley Construction cannot secure the loan from Bank of Nova Scotia or CIBC, the Minister of Finance and Michael Lashley know this as the LOC is a requirement of the bank.
As soon as Rotherley Construction gives up in frustration and does a deal with BJ Investments to sell on the project/contract to them, the Minister of Finance issues the LOC to BJ Investments/Jada/Preconco and RBC.
Almost everything single contract that Preconco, Jada and Bkjerkhamn have been given by Sinckler and Lashley was secured by the MOF/GOB providing a LOC and acting a guarantor of the loan to build on the project.
LikeLike
How much money was given to the a political party days before the last election to buy votes and secure a victory, a victory against all odds in Barbados? Who gave what and what did they get in return?
LikeLike
@FearPlay
I came to that conclusion a while now. These nuff talking quite lambs just throw hands in the air, get in their rum shops and other places where their gather and simply talk till the cows come home. When they finish they simply say ”ohh this was going on for years now. Ain’t nothing new. God will take care of them.” You really think I sorry that these disgusting bitches in parliament enjoying the hold hog. Imagine right before these ignorant stupid bajans, politicians increase their salaries, enjoy pensions at 50 but say to all others you get yours at 67. They also can get a survivors pension for their families if any of the greedy btiches die. Yet not one single public servant can get that because according to Caswell Frankin, these dispicable bitches abolish it in 1980 for all public servants. Imagine these stinking bitches in parliament say that the only ones entitle to the two pensions after the 1978 decision is only them, all others can only get one. Now you got a couple of money hungry nasty ministers showing you clearly where their portfolios are focus. Crookery and collusion right before everyone’s eyes. Enough evidence to bring this entire administration down and the cowardly bajans hide in their lil holes. Stupid docile ignorant people. And David telling me shite to respect a PM that is friends with a crook, defends immoral lawyers but insults the general public.!
LikeLike
In my view, the most dire of the hints that Mia offered on Sunday night was in relation to thereasons she gave for the apparent withholding of the release of the IMF report by the MoF.
Are there indeed veiled criticism’s of the statistics provided by the CB in the report?
Were we warned about the trajectory of the statistics?
Is Barbados in imminent danger of defaulting on substantial external loan payments?
St George’s Dragon asked “are we there yet?” Looks like the rocks we have been heading towards are now within sight. Perhaps all these contracts are personal life jackets for a chosen selective few.
LikeLike
@ Opportunity Knocks, go and ask Santia Bradshaw and Kherrie Symmonds. They won by the slimmest of margins.
LikeLike
What about the new SSA Headquarters project which has stalled because the MOF again refuses to issue a Letter of Comfort, what is taking so long, how much money does it take to get one of these Letters of Comfort?
Bloody hell man the next we gone hear is that Bajan passports for sale too, no?
LikeLike
Kevin
are you saying that both Santia an Kerrie, with limited financial resources, we able to fend on the monied incumbants?
LikeLike
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69318/mottley-raises-issues-about-coverley
LikeLike
@OPP Knocks wrote
Bloody hell man the next we gone hear is that Bajan passports for sale too, no? end
Are U kidding????? Dem bin for sale for Donkey’s years!!! How wunna tink they are so many Indians here?????????????????????????????????
When de fellas send for tender, dem does mean highest extortionary bid, who paying the “CORRUPT Ones” the highest “fees”.
Wunna living in Latin America now, wid out any landslides, tidal waves, Pole shifting, sudden Continental movements—-nuttin so here.
LikeLike
I dont\’t undertand what has become of Barbados, we once had good institutions, good governance and proper procedures but now it seems its ……………..MONEY, MONEY AND MORE MAMONEY.
LikeLike
@Kevin
We get it both sides engage in vote buying.
#DumbandDummer. #Yardfowl
LikeLike
Shiite man…
…all o’ wunna sound like Bush Tea now…!
LikeLike
LikeLike
The politicians/Cabinet members/party members/civil servants/business men and women are our sons and daughters, husbands and wives, girlfriends and boyfriends, brothers and sisters, they are our parents, they are the children whom we taught at School and at Sunday school. They rolled in our bellies, they are the results of our deeply pleasurable orgasms, they slept/sleep in our beds, they eat at our tables. They come to our weddings and we go to theirs. We will go to their funerals or they will come to ours. THEY ARE US.
A Bad Idea: The buying and selling or votes and the awarding of contracts based on other than merit.
A Good Idea: Well before the next election each voter (not corporations) should give to the DLP 0.5% of our individual annual income. And each of us should give to the BLP 0.5% of our annual income. Just write one check to each party.
I call this the 1% solution.
The business community would no longer have to pay bribes.
The electorate would no longer have to sell their votes.
The politicians would no longer have to buy votes.
None of us would have to sell our souls to the [money] devil.
Contracts could be awarded STRICTLY ON MERIT.
We could all live happily after.
Or we can become Greece.
We still have time to choose.
LikeLike
I am only asking ???? June 30, 2015 at 1:11 AM #
Are you trying to convince BU that the government waited almost 3 years for Rotherley Construction to secure loan financing for the Exmouth project before giving the project to JADA?
Or that Rotherley, not being able to secure the relevant financing, “sold the project” to JADA and the government subsequently withdrew the contract from them and gave it to JADA?
Since this matter has been in the public domain for some weeks now, why has the government not seen it fit to inform Barbadians of the arrangement, rather than let an obvious DLP lackey use this forum to divulge this information?
And obviously, I call you a DLP lackey because of the structural composition of your contribution. Rather than focus on the issue and present the necessary documentation or other evidence to substantiate your claims, you preferred to attack Mottley’s character, all in an effort to emphasize your political diatribe.
Ii is against this background that I have to question the credibility of your information because it was written with much political bias and to serve your own political agenda.
LikeLike
What we really MUST have is STRICT INTEGRITY LEGISLATION. Ferocious Penalties!
We must attract the very BEST Thinkers to Govt, so MP pay should be at least TRIPLED! NB Singapore pays MPs approx $5MN Bdos $ a year, they are a richer/ bigger (4.5mn pop) country however.
Notice that Puerto Rico is about to default too!!! It will be contagion soon as the first to go may receive better treatment.
LikeLike
@ Simple Simon
…again you live up to your name.
You obviously do not understand the nature of brass bowl GREED.
A fellow who has 10 dollars want 50 dollars
A fellow who has 1000 dollars want 10,000 dollars
A fellow who has 1M dollars want 20M dollars
….and a fellow who got 100M want 100B
It is a damn sickness …that can only be cured by a CHARACTER CHANGE….or a good whacking.
…so take yuh 1% and give it to your neighbourhood ‘old auntie’ to help pay the electric bill or the water bill do…
LikeLike
Opportunity Knocks June 30, 2015 at 7:01 AM #
“How much money was given to a political party days before the last election to buy votes and secure a victory, a victory against all odds in Barbados?”
Opportunity Knocks, this guy Kevin says he’s not a DLP lackey, but the more he writes, the more he displays “yard-fowlism” and political immaturity associated with the supporters of the DEMS, as they consistently demonstrate on BU. Apparently, he ran to the back of the line when common sense and comprehension skills were being distributed.
He seems to be inferring that Bradshaw and Symmonds won by narrow margins because they engaged in “vote buying.” So, is he trying to say that those candidates who won by large margins did so without soliciting votes?
Common sense would tell any person of reasonable thought that those individuals who had an adequate amount of cash and other largess to offer voters, would have won by large margins.
For example, let’s examine the St. Michael North West constituency. It is a known fact that candidates from both political parties spent a considerable amount of money paying bills, distributing gifts and money to constituents to solicit votes. And this was more prevalent on election day. We all know who won and by what margin.
LikeLike
What bothers me greatly is the myth which the DLP has projected for eons that they are the party of the poor and successfully condemned the BLP as the party for the rich.
Remember the success they reaped at the polls with the “white shadows” rhetoric? These were the evil people who were hiding in the background running Barbados. The “white shadows” were projected as these scary white men who controlled the black people the poor masses elected.
Fast forward to 2008, a group of misfits fooled the electorate again that they are the party for poor people and they promised the masses:
Now we have a situation where three white men are controlling these freaks……..and to top it off……….one is on the Central Bank’s board and the other is on LIAT’s board…….who aint know a shiiite about aviation!
Talk about black idiots! This cannot be about the masses anymore, it has to be about self. I still want to know whatever happened to the load of lumber one of these white men presented to the speaker of the House days before a general election.
These morons are not fit for the highest jobs in our country!
LikeLike
@Opp Knocks, you pretend that you do not understand what has become of Barbados.
The wise man who said that when you see a turtle on top of a fence pole you know that he had some help was talking about these fellas, because it takes time and conscious effort from others to get that operation complete. They are doing what was always done.
What is so shocking is the flagrant disregard and brazen openness of their actions.
So we can wonder where this generation of politicians, businessmen and those charged to protect standards get this corrupt ethos.
And wonder too where are the men and women of integrity and character who will over turn in the market place the tills of these corrupt money grabbers.
Are there any left or is everyone seeking that sizable bank account!
LikeLike
Dompey June 30, 2015 at 1:00 AM #
I call for a citizenry ethics commitee which oversight the misconduct and alleged misconduct of politicians in Barbados.
……………………………………………………………………………………………..
And select members of this committee using the same yardstick as was done to appoint people to constituency councils, tribunals, statutory boards and the commissioners of police?
The highest court in the land, did not condemn the actions of one of its members who holds a high post, or the head of that court has not condemned his pal, who has disadvantaged thousands of now very poor people in this country.
If we are unable to get Integrity legislation off the ground , how do you expect to get a Citizenry Ethics Committee establish.
LikeLike
MoneyB, why the angst re Puerto Rico? They have gone through problems on-and-off over the last 35 years (of my business interactions in the region). I recall some 8 – 10 years more specifically they were in trouble and here they are again in very deep doo-doo.
Debt default is an accepted function of the financial markets and in PR (and Greece to some degree) they are no too-big-too-fail situations that will roil tsunami like the overall financial industry and country economies.
Major cities like Chicago in US defaulted and life moved on.
It would be shocking if businesses have not built in the fail scenarios from Greece as well.
Of course there will be disruption and angst but from that fire new life will raise Phoenix like. Of that we can be sure.
No one can borrow and live beyond their means like PR or Greece and not expect to pay a price.
Just as we in Barbados cannot expect to operate in this lawless, corrupt manner and not pay a very heavy price: indifference by citizens to morals, rule of law and decency! In sum, latent anarchy and fights between the have and have-nots.
LikeLike
@De Ingrunt
Merely pointing out that Contagion is likely! Greece has been in and out of Financial trouble for half the last 200 yrs. The real problem is when Italy, Spain and then France knock over the Cart.
Are U aware that there is $1 Quadrillion++ worth of Derivatives, most interest rate related, that could Bankrupt the entire World???? Total Global GDP is only about $80 Trillion!
Part of this gargantuan problem is that the Pols did not allow the system to cleanse itself by natural means and so the system is Sicker than 2008! The US alone has added $35TR of debt!!! This with virtually no increase in production, net growth etc
LikeLike
And speaking of derivatives:
<
blockquote>
Will Puerto Rico Cause An Inadvertent “Black Swan” Derivatives Melt-Down?
snip
But this story isn’t just about MBI. It’s about the companies that, along with MBIA, provide “insurance” for bonds and derivatives. These firms have assumed potential liabilities that dwarf their ability to cover them. Not just in the worst case scenario. I believe Puerto Rico’s financial demise could trigger the dreaded financial nuclear daisy chain of counterparty defaults.
The problem with creating “actuarial” payout models for insurance guarantees on financial assets, and this especially true for derivatives, is that the outcome is pretty much binomial. Either the assets pay off or they become worthless or near worthless. Furthermore, with the extreme degree of Central Bank intervention, which has enabled literal financial zombies to continue living and has enveloped the entire financial system with opacity, it’s impossible to model in expectations on, and potential sources of, counterparty default risk. It’s like lightening. It can unexpectedly strike anywhere – just ask Hank Paulson and Goldman Sachs…
This is exactly what occurred in 2008. Only this time around the problem is significantly greater than it was in 2008. Global debt and gross derivatives outstanding are much bigger than in 2008. And, except for the Plan B hyperinflation of the money supply, Central Banks are out of bullets.
I believe it is highly probable that the crashing stocks of MBIA, AMBAC and AGO are the alarm bells of a black swan landing. And, of course, no one has been talking about them until today. Although these firms are somewhat obscure and small compared to the size of the majority of financial companies, they are highly leveraged with massive off-balance-sheet liabilities for which they have zero hope of covering in the event of even relatively small bond defaults. In other words, these firms are the ones most likely to set off the next financial collapse triggered by their counterparty defaults.
http://investmentresearchdynamics.com/will-puerto-rico-cause-an-inadvertent-black-swan-derivatives-melt-down/
LikeLike
In the Western World Capitalism Has Devolved Into Looting
Paul Craig Roberts (Economist and former USA Assistant Secretary of the Treasury)
Ayn Rand is a pariah among those who believe that government is our benefactor. There are times and conditions when government can be a benefactor of the people. But not in the Western world at the present time. As Michael Hudson and I agree, Western central banks refuse to create money to finance economy recovery. Money is created only for the benefit of the oligarchs’ banks in order that the oligarchs can continue to control the governments.
In the US for the past seven years the Federal Reserve has provided cheap bank reserves for the banks to lend at a markup or to speculate with. Banks are no longer suppliers of capital for productive investments and employment. Instead banks invest in speculation, arbitrage, derivatives, financing corporate takeovers and stock buybacks. The Fed has made it unnecessary for banks to pay for deposits. Instead, the banks get free money and charge consumers with negative interest rates for making deposits. For seven years Americans have, thanks to the utterly corrupt Federal Reserve and US government, been deprived of interest on their savings. In the Western world today, savers are penalized, not rewarded.
In Greece and Europe the banks are the oligarchs’ method of control just as the Federal Reserve is in the US and the Bank of England in the UK and the European Central Bank in the EU. The same in Canada, Australia, and Japan. When an oligarchy controls the money, the oligarchy controls the country, so “Western democracy” is only a pretense. There is no democracy in the West; only manipulated democratic symbols, the manipulation of which has allowed the One Percent to acquire the lion’s share of income and wealth, depriving the economy of the consumer purchasing power necessary to maintain full employment.
http://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2015/06/29/capitalism-devolved-looting/
LikeLike
@GM
Good article on PR and Derivatives, thanks.
BUY Precious Metal Bullion as there is no counterparty?
Must verify it is genuine as it could be titanium!!!
LikeLike
Did the polyclinic actually open yesterday?
LikeLike
The charade continues. Black Barbadians should never be surprised by the actions of any government of Barbados- BLP or DLP.
Under either of these administrations the white ruling class of Barbados never suffer. It appears there is an unwritten rule that the white people should always prosper.Every and I say every single government department is mandated to give work to that group and also the non-black groups in Barbados.I know what I am talking about.
Tokenism is the reason some small contracts are given to some black companies.Generally speaking,governments in Barbados have a duty to supply white companies and non-black companies the major government contracts.
This issue relates to the nonsense we celebrate as independence in November every year. White people in Barbados must never suffer.
BLP and DLP are useless to the advancement of Black Barbadians.The other ethnic groups will always prosper in Barbados once the BLP and DLP are in existence
Black Barbadians stop worrying and stop listening to the nonsense emanating from the mouths of the thirty jokers we elect to the House of Assembly every five years.
LikeLike
@N man
Wrong!!!
The Black Elite Pols and business gents are doing very well indeed, THEY are the new Masters!!!! When U truly get this, the answer should be evident.
LikeLike
Go to Youtube. search Secret Caribbean. You may learn something about power.
LikeLike
COW and Bjerkham built Port St. Charles together, They had a falling out. Bjerkham formed JADA and used to rent COWs equipment. Some man who is either the richest man in Florida or Miami acquired the same hungry machines which COW bought. COW was in trouble because as Peter Reece said: Those are hungry machines and if COW does not get enough business to feed them he cannot pay back loans or what have you. That was what the fight with he and Bjerkham was about. They were to meet at COWs old partner’s funeral on a Monday at the Catholic Church, when COW said he was going shoot Bjerkham in the foot. A few days before Bjerkham’s son Johanne shot and killed his own son. The last I heard of Bjerkham was an offer that if I spoke with Coppin in the P.M.s office and got permission to sub-divide Three House I would receive two apartments there. Funny how now there is a development called The Village. These men are all white supremacists all hooked into financial vagabonds of the world. What they do is get a commitment from the government to do a project and they go out and sell it to these world crooks. It is about time that blacks and indigenous people of the world start an anti-white supremacists movement as powerful as the anti-immigration movement in Europe.
LikeLike
Forgot to say that the richest man in Miami owned a placed called The Village. COW, Bizzy, Mark Maloney whose brother went to jail for stealing from a bank, Preconco are not bright and have found themselves in the position that they have to concrete the whole island.
LikeLike
The European Anti Immigration Movement was obviously too little too late so dont do that!!!!! If that is the best thing to copy U done lose!!!!
LikeLike
Saw the series with Sir Trev, what is your point????
LikeLike
The illuminati in Barbados are the Closed Brethren from which COW and Bizzy came. H.O.Emtage, their great uncles, was the vagabond of all vagabonds. The Williames have been vagabonds for centuries. The Williams are out of Anne Bolyne, the biggest whore in Henry VIII’s time. Thomas Cromwell was a Williams, he was a lowly man who came to power under his niece, Ann Bolyne’s prostitution. He got rid of everyone, even Anne Bolyne’s father, his own family, and the Archbishop. In the end he was tried and executed for treason. Bizzy, COW et al should be brought up on charges of treason. They are really degenerates. The Closed Brethren decides what to do in Barbados at their Neil’s Headquarters church and then pass it on to the Cattlewash crew. BLACKS IN Barbados MUST STOP, DEALING WITH WHITE BUSINESSES. We have been raped by the lowest of the low inbred white people. Inbreeding causes the brain to revert to the Reptilian part and all reptiles do is sex and war. They operate on a different vibration than humans. They are unable to empathize with humans.
LikeLike
@Mary Jane
They are NOT bright BUT I would gladly give 20 points of my High IQ for half dem $$$$$$$.
LikeLike
@Mary Jane wrote
The Closed Brethren decides what to do in Barbados at their Neil’s Headquarters church and then pass it on to the Cattlewash crew. BLACKS IN Barbados MUST STOP, DEALING WITH WHITE BUSINESSES. We have been raped by the lowest of the low inbred white people. Inbreeding causes the brain to revert to the Reptilian part and all reptiles do is sex and war. They operate on a different vibration than humans. They are unable to empathize with humans.
How come these stupid Whiteys are so easily able to CON all wunna so, afterall dem stupid?????????
LikeLike
@Mary Jane
My grandfather was an upright, hardworking Bretheren who had no interest in material wealth. My father converted to Anglican when we were Confirmed, I was 13 (I went to Adult classes as I was cleverer than the adults).
How come we never benfited from the clubs U suggest exists??????????????
U mussee know dat too.
LikeLike
I believe that this story has gone under the radar however I believe that it explains why we are in the predicament that we find ourselves in.
These are the words from Cynthia Ford in the recent Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals:
“I must say I am extremely uncomfortable with the knowledge of what people are saying about corruption among our members of parliament. I am concerned, but I believe that all of us in here have been able to come in and say, ‘our mantra is to serve the people’ because politics is about the people. Where I have a difficulty is the entrenched set of comments and beliefs that Barbadians have about politicians generally. But this crop of this era of 2008 to 2015 seems to have been targeted in a way that has been different. I do not know if it is the technology; I do not know if it is the lifestyle of some of us, I do not know what it is. We are now dealing with a better educated population than we had in the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s. Therefore, we must carry ourselves with a measure of dignity that the public and the electorate should show us utmost respect.”
As each day passes it is becoming extremely difficult to see how the lot of the Afro-Bajan will improve. What I find striking is that all the news’ stories coming out of Barbados are disturbingly pessimistic. I believe that the die is cast. My advice to the poor and the middle class masses would be to migrate if you want to make something of your life.
The country’s future is bleak and extremely limited.
LikeLike
I must admit to being confused. Did the polyclinic open or not? I am not seeing any news to that effect and after all the controversy that would be surprisIng. I thought your congratulations were by way of sarcasm. If in fact it did open then that is worthy of more comment than that. That is provided that the polyclinic is not just “officially” open but actually ready to commence operations. Please enlighten me!
LikeLike
@Donna & Prodigal Son
No it did not and is no surprise to anyone sensible. BU will post on it later.
LikeLike
Thank you! So you were being sarcastic. I thought that I was losing it. I saw ac gloating on another thread and thought even she couldn’t be that crazy. Guess I was wrong. Silly me!
LikeLike
@Exclaimer
Where are the Peeps to go, surely not to the Racist White Northern Climes?????????????
Go to Sth Africa where the locals gladly kill Black foreigners???
Good advice actually but may take time. Problem id that most likely to go are well educated.
LikeLike
Thanks David.
I thought you were using a little sarcasm but still had to check as I saw one of the ac’s rejoicing.
I made some calls today and was told………….”whuh you know that if the polyclinic was to be opened, the dems would have made a big song and dance……………look what we did, we have opened the polyclinic after OSA refused to finish it”.
I have asked one of the ac’s to use her clout with her family to use up some of the CLICO money being held in all kinds of accounts to finish off this monstrosity so that the dead crook’s name can be plastered all over it.
LikeLike
@ Prodigal Son June 30, 2015 at 6:07 PM
Watch your CBC TVDLP news this evening and you will see the grand opening ceremony with the P M cutting the ribbon and John Boyce in tow with Mara somewhere in the background.
When are Bajans going to wake up like RIP Van Winkle to reality?
You guys are saddled with a cursed government. Why not ask Bush Tea to do an exorcism?
LikeLike
Exclaimer June 30, 2015 at 3:19 PM #
My advice to the poor and the middle class masses would be to migrate if you want to make something of your life.
………………………………………………………………………………………….
Migrate to where? Barbados has a very bad name, from long ago, among the other Caribbean countries. When we were living high on the hog, we looked down our noses at the other Low Islands,and were not afraid to voice it loudly. We should have taken heed to the old adage. “Remember those who you pass on your way up,as these are the very same people who you will pass again on your head long way down.”
In spite of its present predicament, Haiti is probably the only country that will readily accept us. Those living in the City of Bridgetown may try their luck, relocating to Bridgetown’s Twin City—-Charleston , South Carolina.
LikeLike
Hi David, let me give my responses to your queries. You would appreciate I can’t talk out board business on BU.
An individual cannot have an account or deposit at the Central Bank.
Housing Credit Fund matter would not have come before the Central Bank Board. Not a matter for the board. You can check the governance arrangement for the HCF.
When I joined the NIS board in 2008, the latest set of audited financials was the 1998 financials. The NIS has been undertaking a special project to get the financials up to date and audited. To date as a result of the project the NIS has submitted financials for 1999 to 2013 to the auditor general. As a government department the NIS is audited by the auditor general. Due to the backlog, the auditor general put out a tender for the job and it was awarded to the only bidder Ernst and young. The audits have been very slow. This appears to be due to the difficulty in establishing the audit trail for transactions so long ago, and data quality issues due to the changeover in IT system in 2004. The 2004 audit was especially difficult because that was the year of the changeover,thankfully that’s over ,EY is well advanced on 2005 to 2009. I lose more sleep over this matter than you David.
LikeLike
I lose sleep too Justn. I put in a claim to NIS last year and have received no money as yet. This was my first claim in more than 40 years. I’ve checked my contributions on line and even though I worked full time for 40+ years yet for many years NIS has only credited with a few weeks work in many of the years when I worked all year. I anticipate that this will negitively affect my pension benefits. Since I spent my whole professional as a record keeper I offered to bring my decades worth of original pay slips to NIS.
NIS has ignored my offer.
I am losing sleep too. It is 3:14 am and I haven’t been able to sleep as yet.
LikeLike
Sorry to hear of your challenge. If we can talk offline let’s see what can be done.
LikeLike
@Exclaimer
I find Cynthia Ford comments to be very disturbing. First she behaves like if the corruption claim held in the minds of all Bajans is a new revelation for her. Then she quipps that people elected to serve has foremost in their minds the tenacity to do right by the people and for the people. It is their heart content and heart’s concern. She makes this powder puff statement to sound like if all their actions have been above board and that the notion of corruption is the figment of the imagination of the electorate fuel by available technology and arrived at by the new found educational levels of comparable years. What a real two face assertion. All of them really believe that they do not do any wrong when they take cut backs and orchestrate scratch-ma-back deals. This is not stealing just wheel and deal. The people know a whole lot more than you politicians would trick us into believing. They just cannot get over the epson salts of job lost fear you wicked so in so’s place over their heads for years. But hopefully that too will soon change. The bucket bottom is dropping out and the pressures are starting to open up the cracks a bit more. Just a matter of time before righteous indignation.
LikeLike
Dr. Robinson
To your first point, then the Board of the Central Bank should be very concerned its reputation took a hit with the news report a prominent individual (Leroy Parris) maintains a deposit in his name. The public deserves an explanation i.e. the circumstances surrounding the matter. The Central Bank has enjoyed a solid reputation through the years and the managers in place today should want to continue in this vein.
We can debate whether it should have come to the Board or not but a fund in place for 40+ years and having never paid a dividend and then do so in circumstances where the payment is made to the builders of the GROTTO project should by now have attracted the attention of the Board. BU would be very interested to know who floated the idea to pay a dividend in the fund and how the matter was deliberated on and final decision made. This is a serious matter which touches on the integrity of the players.
Thanks for your feedback on this matter and it shows a need for your PR department to do some work. The public needs to be kept better informed on this matter. We cannot have the most important fund in Barbados being managed behind a veil of secrecy. It concerns BU more the implementation of good management and technology was never seen as a priority at the NIS to the extent routine production of audited financials is an issue.
LikeLike
I am Only Asking has all the facts about who bought out what contract but conveniently forgets the most important point. Lashley lied on the Cabinet to instruct his Board Chairman to give the contract to Bjerkham. What sort of Prime Minister stands for this? Pop kites, wild boys and tiefs. Elections can’t come soon enough for me.
LikeLike
@Justin Robinson
Unless you were permitted to respond to queries here, you bettas exercise due caution as this medium is not liked or appreciated by certain ministers, particularly Donville Inniss and Chris Sinckler.
Be that as it may. I too am curious as to how Leroy Parris can establish a deposit or permitted to transfer his money into the central bank, when you are saying as quoted:
”An individual cannot have an account or deposit at the Central Bank.”
Was there an immediate accomodation clause or coined terminlogy used that made it possible for Mr. Parris to have this unusual accomodation. In addition, is the power of the Central Bank absolute or can its decisions be overturned by the offices of ministers or even the Prime.
LikeLike
@Big Brown
The Prime Minister said he did not have a problem with a speaker of the Chair and member of parliament withholding funds from an elderly wheel bound man for years. He said the speaker did not break any rules of the house and should get a lawyer. The Prime Minister also said that Leroy Parris is an outstanding son of the soil and that David Thompson, a stalwart must be immortalized by having his name place on the proposed St. John Hospital. The Prime Minister also said in light of CLICO Forensic Report findings that he has a list of all those who bought up the Leroy Parris real estate sweet cakes deal and indirectly stated by his verbal over-tones, that those on the list constituted are the ones who warranted further investigation. In other words the listees are the real crooks. What more can you expect from this compromised pretender.
LikeLike
@ Justin Robinson June 30, 2015 at 11:43 PM #
Very nice of you to respond to the questions in a very courteous manner. Much appreciated.
LikeLike
“DAMAGING and very irresponsible”
“That is how Mark Maloney, chief executive officer of Preconco, has termed Opposition Leader Mia Mottley’s comments about the entrance to the Villages at Coverly”
LikeLike
And I suppose that Mark Maloney is also going to deny building a petrol station in the middle of Coverley close-house development without planning permission,and it has remained inoperable for the past two years.
LikeLike
Colonel Buggy July 1, 2015 at 12:38 PM #
CB, that is a damaging and very irresponsible statement. He did not build a petrol station in the middle of Coverly without planning permission. Planning permission was verbally agreed by someone whose name he cannot recall during a reception at Ilaro Court the reason for which he can’t actually recall either, and the paperwork must have got ‘lost’. And the petrol station has not been inoperable for the past two years, just not very busy…..
LikeLike
We have a similar situation recently with the cement plant he said he was building near the Flour Mills plant.
It was only when the residents led by Mark Williams voiced their concerns that the Minister of Finance (always him or Lashley) who is the representative for the area had to come out and say that no planning permission was yet given for the project even though Maloney was saying that the project had the approval to start in short time.
An acquaintance of mine was at a function where the Maloney was (dont know if it was at the same function you mentioned above, Mitchlans, LOL)
……………a sticking point with a project was brought up and the person told him that permission was not granted yet……….he allegedly pulled out his phone and said………..watch and see permission will be granted right now.
So what MAM said today about he walking into government offices and demanding what he wants is no surprise. Public servants do not like the public intimidating them, when this happens, they would lose the file…..easy so!
Can anyone tell us how this scrawny white man has become so powerful in this country? The dems bombarded Barbadians for years with talk about white shadows, scared the hell out of Barbadians that there were white men hiding behind the scenes controlling the BLP and the government……………..and stupid Barbadians believed the rhetoric. At least David Seale is a man whom Barbadians respect and he is a big employer of black people and treats them with dignity…………………………
But look what is happening today…………no, no, no…… these men are the white sun………..strange enough the Jada man seems to one who keeps in the background!
LikeLike
A CALL TO ACTION has been made for residents to come out and work towards solving the problem of sargassum seaweed piling up on our beaches.
– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69382/action-sargassum#sthash.blTmZWOo.dpuf
LikeLike
Stinkliar said on Monday that they may have to look at rehiring some of the NCC workers they sent home………..without pay!
LikeLike
http://gizmodo.com/seaweed-sucking-truck-to-clean-spains-hottest-beaches-494272008
LikeLike
http://www.enviro-usa.com/products/debris-seaweed-barriers/35-inch/
LikeLike
Hi David, I am hoping you can put me in touch with Simple Simon
LikeLike
Mark A Maloney (MAM) v. Mia A Mottley (MAM) = MAM MAM
LikeLike
Hants July 1, 2015 at 3:16 PM #
Perhaps Bajans have heeded the call
LikeLike
LikeLike
In today’s Nation we learn at long last ,that the RUBIS gas station at the Villages , Coverley is now in full operation. It would be interested to learn if the developers had complied with the Town and Country Planning order ,of demolishing / relocating some nearby houses,as a matter of safety. And who paid for the demolition / relocation ,the developer or the taxpayers?
LikeLike
Pingback: Central Bank Declares SPECIAL Dividend to Pay Mark Maloney for the GROTTO Project | Barbados Underground