The following note was received by Barbados Underground from Attorney-at-law Errol Niles.

Errol Niles
Errol Niles

I have been informed and have verified that you are currently using a very recent photograph under the caption: Lawyers in the News, with reference [โ€ฆ] to some matter that occurred on or before 1992. I submitted myself to the scrutiny of the courts and was vindicated and restarted practice in 2004. The suggestion, especially using an abridged photograph from the NATION newspaper during November 2014 is that I am involved in some illegal activity now before the courts.

In the circumstances I am asking that you remove my photograph from your publication with immediate effect.

Regards

Errol Niles
Attorney-at-law

This is BUโ€™s response:

Mr. Niles

Please note the Lawyer in the News refers to news about lawyers period. The copyright of the photo as far as we are aware is owned by another party. You are invited to post to a blog about this matter to share any additional concerns you may have.

Regards

David โ€“ Barbados Underground

154 responses to “Errol Niles Request for BU publication to be Removed ‘with immediate effect’”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

For some time I noticed that you were carrying a photograph of Errol Niles and I said nothing because I thought that he (being the affected party) should seek to defend himself. Niles now finds himself like an innocent man who was accused, tried and found NOT guilty of rape. Even though his name would have been cleared the court of public opinion still has him as guilty. THIS IS NOT FAIR TO NILES.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

All I see are pictures indicating lawyers who were in the news but no indication as to why they were in the news. If you were in the news for one reason or the other it is already common knowledge base on the obvious record of events then that appeared in the local news for all to see. Where, therefore, is the unfairness, if he was one of the lawyers who was in the news.

3. It seems as though individuals of certain professions, especially lawyers, see themselves as being superior to anyone else. When they provide their clients with poor representation or seek to with-hold their funds for prolonged periods of time, it does not bother them, because they know they can manipulate the law in their favour. Any request by the client for his/her funds to be released โ€œwith immediate effectโ€, often falls on deaf ears. If that client seeks the services of another attorney, more often than not, lawyers are reluctant to bring a case against fellow practitioners.

The fact that Niles has, more or less, โ€œcautionedโ€ BU, means that he reads this blog. I wish he had exhibited much more zeal in representing others who, under similar circumstances, may have felt aggrieved because of something someone (known or unknown) may have posted about them which would have caused them some sort of โ€œpain and sufferingโ€ or embarrassment. I also wished that Caswell Franklyn had expressed dissatisfaction about similar occurrences on BU.

Case in point, on August 29, 2014, a Democratic Labour Party operative, writing under the pseudonym โ€œDouglasโ€, posted a very distasteful article on BU called โ€œLisa Marshall, Retrenched Worker From the Transport Board.โ€ The article, which was also posted on the DLPโ€™s official web-site, contained information which suggested Ms. Marshall, who was retrenched, was not deserving of her severance to which she was entitled, because she is a thief. The author then attached letters from Ms. Marshallโ€™s personal file, in an effort to substantiate his โ€œclaim.โ€

Could not Niles or Franklyn exhibit similar zeal and conscience of what was FAIR or UNFAIR to Lisa?

Those letters revealed that Marshall was asked to account for money that was in her care. However, she was not terminated at the time, or was asked to repay any money she was alleged to have stolen.

Seems that lawyers only react when the โ€œshoe is on the other foot,โ€ while it seems as though Franklyn rushes in to defend certain โ€œspecial interestโ€ groups when the occasion suits him.

In this situation, it is MY opinion that both these “gentlemen” are being hypocritical.

4. David will do and do until he is dead by the sword.

5. David. If it is said that Niles was exonerated from the accusation of rape. Then it is my personal feeling that at least you can abide with a forgiving heart and at least place the word “exonerated” using a picture prior to the alleged act. Think about it as “Lawyers that were in the news”

6. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Artax, your statements are well made but as cliched as ever, two wrongs never make something right.

A blogger above states ” If it is said that Niles was exonerated from the accusation of rape”…and we can all finish that by saying …then he is innocent and should not be further vilified.

Now, that being said, I do not recall this matter with Niles and do not know if he was exonerated on a legal technicality (and thus really innocent only in name) or whether the matter was exposed as a sham.

David would know the details and should use judicious actions to resolve this matter.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

If de ole man recalls the genesis of this CORNER in the Rum Shop, where GP?, the premise upon which it began was to record all those persons from this sacrosanct profession who at some time had been found with their hand in the jar or possession of their charges.

The parameter may be likened to the question that is posed to a male rapist that is to say, “did you while raping the victim, only insert just the head of your organ or were you fully in the victim?”

The objective was not to reason whether one had partially or fully, in part or wholly robbed or discommoded the client of part or all their $250,000, the thing was to say to all in the profession that, as they were taught at their respective institutions of instruction, you is not to tief de client money, whether it be $5 or $500,000.

I have heard it said here that Caswell Franklyn has an outside chile more than once and whether it be true or otherwise, I did not see him come here with no DNA test demanding that comments about his name be removed.

It was done and he was exonerated but HE WAS A LAWYER IN THE NEWS as such related to circumstances of interest.

The next thing that we will see appearing is that the Speaker of the House Carry-a-way-a-ton uh retired peeple dem money should also have his name removed from here because not only did the court not find any fault in him but he paid de pensioner and his indiscretions must be struck away from all records.

Do not tief people money, nor be one of those doctors who leave scalpels in people guts and kill dem in QEH, or be cuntractors who tek peeple dem money and build dem goat pen instead uh house OR RISK GETTING YOU NAME HERE based on the fact dat you is a LAWYER OR NEXT SUSPECTED CROOK IN DE NEWS.

Shame and Blame has its place when there is no integrity or accountability…

8. @ pieceuhderockyeahright June 23, 2015 at 5:08 PM,

Excellent reply.

Concerning the whereabouts of GP……….? I hope he is well. You may not be aware that Bush Tea, recently, was uncharacteristically severe (read brutal) in his critique of the great man.

I would like to think that a man of his stature would not be put of by a “Seed Picker!”.

9. I believe that the stance taken by Caswell Franklin is the correct one. It is disappointing to find a few would believe that gossip or the court of public opinion trumps the rule of law.

10. I hope GP at Kensington watching Dwayne Smith beating ball.

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I would suggest that this case has opened up some policy matters related to the publication of info and images related to “lawyers in the news” that need to be regularized.

What are the facts of the case? Did it involve money? was the money paid back? could this be construed by the layman as vindication? Is this the same as exoneration?

From that information for all the lawyers in the news, some of the cases on which are old, BU could consider publishing a picture that appeared in the news of the time and a caption of “repaid all funds”, “repaid some funds”, “case withdrawn”, “case unresolved”, “lawyer in jail” etc.

12. politics as usual what wunna expect? wunna asking too much.. in barbados once a criminal always a criminal, what law the law say one thing ,the people stupse loud and hard and say another, niles poor soul this is barbados once you have been caught by the long arm of the law yuh freedom and respect diminished and mob rule takes control eternally.boy uh tell yuh BU aint easy ..good luck bro with seeing yuh picture removed ..

13. Bush Tea, recently, was uncharacteristically severe (read brutal) in his critique of the great man
    Ohhhh Lordie!!!
    LOOKA BUSHIE CROSSES DOH….

@ Exclaimer
    Uh BEG yuh Boss… please DO NOT associate GP’s sabbatical from BU with Bushie….
    P L E A S E!!!

David already got Bushie in his black book for chasing Peter Wickhan, Dictionary, Living in Barbados and one or two other persons of no fixed place of abode …who ‘chose’ to move on smartly…
    If You now plant any seeds in David’s mind about GP leaving …wuh that may be the straw that breaks….

GP will be back…..
    He has to, …otherwise we will all have to use google ourselves to get medical facts…
    Also he has to come back with an explanation of what happened to the Trinity during the three days that Jesus was dead.

He and Zoe are probably at an extended retreat on some mountaintop in Tebet doing extensive exegeses in obscure languages even as we speak….

Can you imaging how much shiite they will spew when they finally get back…?
    LOL ha ha ha
    oh shiirttte!!!

“Phantom is rough with roughnecks”

14. On the subject

Man David let the damn man stew do!
    Don’t mind Caswell.
    The ONLY reason that he Caswell is not in that list is that he do not have the damn law degree NOR the practising certificate that Mia don’t have….lol

This only shows that BU is wuking.

If they don’t want their names there…THEN DON’T DO SHIITE.

Wait….he ain’t a lawyer…?
    If he has a strong case that should be presented in defence then let him PUT UP HIS DEFENCE….. This is the way that the game is played in the new world social media…
    No more “Hide ‘n theif”…

Wuh Caswell get accused of all kinda shiite too -some of which is quite far fetched (like him having a lotta women -HA HA HA HA LOL OHHH SHIITE!!!! -WALOSS)…..steupsss!!
    Did he not put his case…?
    Is he not currently one of the most respected men in Brassbados?

steupsss …Man David tell Niles to submit a BU affidavit ….or HAUL…!!

Lotta shiite…

15. @Caswell

Was it BU who disbarred Niles?

16. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Pieces, there is a big difference between exonerated and rehabilitation. Your remarks are clear re a lawyer seeking penance and some belated rehabilitation. No can do. Th name remains up in lights. Are-we explains that point well, also.

However, if one is exonerated – and Carrington WAS NOT – then one presumes this s not whether the ‘head’ or ‘the whole thing’ was inserted. Thus how can we continue to call Mr Niles to account for the actions. As I said I do not know the particulars of the case.

Now that it has been resurrected by David via Niles’ request, surely David can put this matter to rest by clarifying the circumstances.

David, what was the original situation with this Niles’ matter?

Mr. Observer is correct that there is ‘the rule of law.’ Of course some lawyers are vagabonds but does that mean we must then behave like them.

Amusing how we validate that given the right circumstances we might be as misguided as though we condemn.

17. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

ooops, that should be : “…we might be as misguided as THOSE we condemn”

18. David how come you not at de Oval ?

I hear listening to the trini Tridents beating ball. lol.

19. ac June 23, 2015 at 6:39 PM #

โ€œpolitics as usual what wunna expect? wunna asking too much.. in barbados once a criminal always a criminal, what law the law say one thing ,the people stupse loud and hard and say another, niles poor soul this is barbados once you have been caught by the long arm of the law yuh freedom and respect diminished and mob rule takes control eternally.boy uh tell yuh BU aint easy ..good luck bro with seeing yuh picture removed.โ€

AFTER ALL THE RANTING, RAVING AND CHARACTER ASSASSINATION YOU DID ON BU, I HOPE YOU ARE WILLING TO EXPRESS SIMILAR SENTIMENTS TO LISA MARSHALL.

20. De Ingrunt Word June 23, 2015 at 4:34 PM #

โ€œArtax, your statements are well made but as cliched as ever, two wrongs never make something right.โ€

It was not my intension to infer that two wrongs make something right. I was merely highlighting the hypocrisy of this issue.

Tell me, De Word, did you read all the comments associated with โ€œLisa Marshall: Retrenched worker from the Transport Board?โ€

ONLY Nileโ€™s photo is on BU. Lisaโ€™s employment identification card (with photo) and correspondence from her personal file were posted to BU by a DLP operative. This ladyโ€™s entire future was compromised because of political posturing. Only because she engaged the help of the media to voice her request relative to severance payment she was legally entitled to.

And the only thing you can mention is my statements are โ€œclichรฉd as ever?โ€

Wuh, shiite, Word, you Ingrunt pun this one. Yuh. I got more pity fuh Lisa than fuh Niles.

21. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 23, 2015 at 5:08 PM “I have heard it said here that Caswell Franklyn has an outside chile more than once.”

The use of that term “outside chile” is politically incorrect.

The correct term is parallel family.

22. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Artax, I was trying to understand where I inferred your remarks were cliched and then I noticed the sentence structure was a bit askew. A better sentence structure should have read, ” your statements are well made; but as cliched as ever: two wrongs never make something right.โ€

I said your statements were well made. The cliche is as noted, re two wrongs.

The fact that the Lisa Marchall matter was outrageous is beyond doubt. How does that in any way validate whether this Niles matter is right or wrong?

If Niles was the culprit in that episode and was now seeking to be wrapped in a robe of goodness then by all means crucify him but otherwise why link these two issues; because they were both on BU and reflect personal attacks. Tenuous.

Anyhow, I dun wid that. When the BU minds move in a direction it takes a mobaton of wisdom to redirect and that I do not have. So proceed apace.

23. De Word, I understand your way of reasoning on this issue and agree โ€œtwo wrongs never make something right.โ€ In other words, Iโ€™m not saying Niles was either right or wrong in his actions. Actually, I just donโ€™t care.

The Lisa Marshall affair was more than outrageous and I was appalled that political pimps could stoop so low(e) to tarnish an ordinary personโ€™s reputation for political gain. Even if that person may be perceived as a member of an opposing political party, or they sought help from someone/something that the political pimp believes is โ€œin bed with his opponent.โ€

My point is, Niles is a lawyer whose case was highlighted on BU as โ€œa lawyer in the news.โ€ He is upset that his photo is on the blog as a means of identifying who he is. Niles promptly wrote BU requesting the blog facilitator to remove the photo.

Could any lawyer who reads BU, not sought to help Lisa or advise her if she could seek redress as well?

Thatโ€™s all, my friend. I have absolutely no beef with you, we are on the same page. However, Iโ€™m concerned about Niles, as a lawyer, he can represent himself (and have a fool for a client).

I am more concerned about Lisaโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ who is there to represent people like her?

24. the comparison of niles who was vindicated and who would have been tarred and feather by public opinion in the media cannot be compared to lisa who sought and chose to seek media exposure/attention .the comparison is a bit disingenuous,the fact being that niles did get his exposure and was vilified by public opinion. the law court said he was innocent, should niles now be come a poster boy of all the wrongs in the legal paternity after he has been exonerated by the court of the land,

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man finding dat when clear reasoning or higher polemics is employed peeple does have a problem unnerstanding.

But when crudeness is employed peeples does unnerstand better

So here goes.

One night a police did walking cross de swing bridge when he ketch a feller pun de bridge about to jump off and drown he’self

So de police, being dat he from the RPBF en ting, decide dat he gine talk he down wid psychology en ting and axe de impending suicide perpetrator (heheheheh I did watching CSI las night so I gots de terminologies pun me tongue en ting)

“Sir why you wants to do jump sir. isnt you gots a family to live fuh? tell me whu going on sir, I gine help you”

De man pause a bit and say “you see dat dere Inland Revenue Building, you know who build it?”
    “No sir.”
    Me, i is de man dat build it.
    You see dem Parliament buildings, you know who build dem?
    No sir.
    Me man, I is de man dat build dem
    “You know whu my name is yet?
    No Sir.
    Man you see government house pun Bay Streeet, you know de name uh de man who build dat?
    No sah
    I build dat too and see you still ent know my name. but suck one doggie…
    Wait you is dat fellow WeJonesing…
    Splash…

Niles have do de equivalent to sucking one doggie effing he, nor Carry-a-ton (de Speaker) nor Niles, nor Lisa din such de “proverbial doggie” DEM NAME wun get broadcast heah’

You unnerstan now??

DOAN SUCK DOGGIE!!!

26. We do not want to rehash this matter on BU. Niles is a lawyer who made the news, let us leave it there.

27. BU continues to search for a picture of lawyer Mortimer Clarke and a few others listed under Lawyers in the News. Have a look and help is if you can.

28. How about the dreaded stigma called perception.The headlne Lawyers in the News …unless one is driven to follow up on the article there is a perception which resonates in the mind that automtatically leaves a false impression in the mind .Especially knowing that social media thrive on the sublime to the ridiculous.Do you think that if a continual poster of OSA holding a Seventy five thousand check with the caption PM,s in the news would be a fair assessment of his past.Niles has been exonerated so the need to humiliate and to splash his picture across the pages of BU .serves one purpose only as to be a reminder of his past /a past which according to court record released him of any charges against and gave him the right to pursue his life of freedom and liberty in the pursuit of happiness/a happiness which others are bound and determined not to let him have.

29. โ€œthe comparison of niles who was vindicated and who would have been tarred and feather by public opinion in the media cannot be compared to lisa who sought and chose to seek media exposure/attentionโ€

The more these idiots write, the more they expose their ignorance. I guess for them comprehension is similar to nuclear physics and being able to reason is clearly NOT one of their attributes.

Let me break this down โ€œSesame Streetโ€ style, perhaps only then you idiots will understand:

1) Whereas Niles was charged for an offence, went to court and was subsequently vindicated, the allegations leveled against Lisa DID NOT result in charges being brought against her and she being taken to court.

2) As a result, and according to the consortium, Niles was โ€œtarred and feathered by the public opinion.โ€ On the other hand Lisa was also โ€œtarred and feathered by the public opinion,โ€ purely based on certain allegations, without court action being taken against her and for vindictive and wicked political purposes. Let me refresh your memories:

โ€œac September 1, 2014 at 2:03 PM #: a thief demanding her fair share,,,,enough to make dog stomach sick,,but the BLP yardfowls seem to be O,k, with that not a picking teet about this criminality,โ€

โ€œac September 1, 2014 at 10:29 PM #: i got some dirt to throw pun wunna low life belly aching scalliwags who believe that employees thieving taxpayers money should not be exposed,,,what nerve,,,,โ€

I wonder who is really being disingenuous.

30. โ€œDo you think that if a continual poster of OSA holding a Seventy five thousand check with the caption PM,s in the news would be a fair assessment of his past.โ€

No, but โ€œa continual poster” of DT, the fraudulent invoice, and the $3.333M cheque would be a fair assessment of his past and surely qualifies for โ€œLawyers in the News.โ€

31. You are a yardfowl, par excellence! How about posting details of all the ill gotten gains of the poor as ass dlpites who are now millionaires! Splash the $3.333 million cheque linked to your dead king!

32. Artaxerxes June 24, 2015 at 9:22 AM #

Your post beat mine! There is no reasoning with a yardfowl of the ac type!

33. Well blp misfits i belive there is a picture of DT alongside with other lawyers”caption”lawyers in the news. Correct me if i am wrong.needless to say he was never tried or found gulity in a court of law for any of the alleged failures on his part. Well outside the “court”of public opinion

34. LOL
    …if only David can get a picture of AC… we can start a thread called “Idiots on parade”
    Bushie has one, but that would be telling…… ๐Ÿ™‚

35. @Bushie

You troll FB?

36. @ ac
    your mindless thinking and writing to date, is worse than what a mad person have said the devil told them to say and do , I have talk to mentally disturb people and they know right from wrong, but you ac gone way pass mentally disturb ,your god give up on you

37. Bushie… that woman Ang Co is one ugly old goat, please do not post her pic on BU, we wouldn’t want the posters having nightmares… thanks.

38. Now you guys call me wicked.for stating a well known fact. No body seek to challenge but decided to implore and denigrate me for what have been said publicly over the years.BTw becareful of posting pictures of “ac”what u see maybe not who you seeThere is also a twin involved.

39. AC ya lie!!….two people cant be that ugly, that is a one-off mistake…..

40. @Calm
    You mean Ang Co the historian ?

41. No watchman, that is a clue to AC’s real name, as in Ang— Co-……

42. Well..well…unbelivable.the vindictiveness these yardfowls would go to. anyhow what de hell ac/s would continue to speak truth

43. David your are one skunk changing your moniker to post information about a blogger.shame on you David. i always knew you were a stknk rat called Calm.Shame on you.

44. @ AC
    steupsss
    Keep calm do!!
    Ever since you went and write that letter to the Nation …using your name and talking the same shiite that you do on BU …what you expect….?
    Everybody know that when yuh write to the stupid Trinidadian Nation, yuh does look in the Phone book fuh a name and address and nuse dat…. shiite man … Bushie does even give them de telephone number….lol

….but not you….

You UPS and send in yuh full name….
    ….and then gots the gall to come on BU cussing David of all people…

When common sense was giving out you must have been on holiday….

45. Besides having the same initials,I can’t believe that ac could stoop so low as to try to throw off the language police on BU.The angco is a 6th former of one of the outstanding Girls’ English Grammar schools found anywhere in the Commonwealth.The hodge podge sentence construction and spelling(can never get the word EVIDENCE right)of the frazzled brain ac surely cannot be angco….not in a chinee wirl.

46. The real issue here BU suspect is blog masters/Adminstrators from other websites are adding to the debate. The BU family post under the name David and we do not betray the confidentiality of our posters.

47. @ ac
    OK ac I have a gift for you, its a man, he calls VOB ( BT ) and talk about right & left side brain people , ask David E of VOB to get the man # for you , talk to the man, you and he will be good friends after , he have a frazzled brain like you and he love the DLP,

48. BU is the sweetest forum. These last few posts are hilarious especially Bush Tea, Iaughed and and I laughed until I cried. Bushie and Calm, you all clearly rattled the ac’s……..she at least admitted to there being more than one ac! Sweet!

49. @ Caswell Franklyn
    Caswell, as you well know: the media has an obligation as well as a responsibility to report the news providing that it does it in a way that is impartial and well balanced. Now, if the photo that has been published by BU, seeks to support Errol Nilesโ€™ acquittal, then obviously this doesnโ€™t in any meaningful way attempts to besmear his reputation. Disparaging statements which are linked with the photo ought to be a cause for concern for all of us, but seeing that there isnโ€™t any defamatory- evidence surrounding or supporting the publication of the photo as some have suggested. Why waste your time alluding to malevolence on the part of BU, when no such evidence stands in support of your narrative? From my own personal experience, I have often noticed that at times the media is caught between a rock and a hard place. On the one hand, itโ€™s venerated for informing the public conscience. While on the other hand, it is ridicule for not doing so.

50. The media is the only such institution in our existing time which seeks to hold our governing officials accountable and answerable for their improprieties. So letโ€™s support the efforts and efficacy of this well deserving institution.