Those  Democratic Labour Party (DLP) members in parliament advocated the need for Barbados to enact Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation prior to being elected in 2008. There was an expectation Barbadians would have seen movement on this issue within 100 days of the DLP government […] taking office. It is an indictment on civil society we have not been able to pressure government to treat this issue as a priority.  In fact, the DLP was re-elected in 2013 and transparency legislation did not feature as a key platform issue.

It is ironic Mia Mottley’s contribution in the 2015 Budget Debate  has positioned the issue of graft and corruption in government squarely in the public’s domain. If we are to evaluate the fervour which some members of parliament on Mottley’s side supported her on the issue there is a lot to be said about the political class closing ranks.

Here is the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley’s reply to the 2015 Budget (first hour clipped).

246 responses to “Mia Mottley Prosecutes Government on CORRUPTION in Her Reply to 2015 Budget”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac June 22, 2015 at 5:52 PM
    “The Fact is that Mia Mottley tried to “hold herself up ” as being the the standard bearer for integrity…”

Lie, lie lie! Wrong person here. It is the damned lying pretentious Fumbling Stuart (preceded by David Thompson) and his ugly thieving corrupt goons who projected themselves as the standard bearer; hence the title Mr. Integrity from Molasses Hill.

And here is the proof:

“I will NOT lie, cheat, steal (or tolerate those who do)”. No child or descendant of David could ever be enrolled as a cadet in any military or related academy.

“Why Good governance? Good Governance is
    characterized by the principles of participation,
    consensus, accountability, transparency,
    responsiveness, effectiveness and efficiency,
    equity and inclusion, and the rule of law. It
    assures that corruption is minimized, the views
    of minorities are taken into account and that the
    voices of the most vulnerable in society are heard
    in decision-making and the allocation of
    resources.

I invite the people of Barbados, therefore, to join
    the Democratic Labour Party on this exciting
    journey to the creation of a Better Barbados. This
    journey emphasizes hope rather than despair,
    light rather than darkness, and movement rather
    than stagnation. This journey aims at human
    fulfilment and development. It does not aim at
    numerical worship and statistical purity. This
    is the true way of the Democratic Labour Party.”

One BIG frigging lie that has turned out to be, right ac & co!

2. @ De Word and Are-we-there-yet

Bear with me as I try to explain why, in my opinion, the status quo has remained the same.

The following excerpt was taken from page 47 of the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto.

“A major failing of government under the BLP over the past thirteen years has been its reluctance to take the people of Barbados into its confidence and explain to them what it has been doing on their behalf. There has been an absence of informative Press Conferences and releases which inform Barbados about government activities and its dealing. Parliamentary questions raised by the people’s representatives are ignored. Reports from the Auditor General are disregarded.”

Could you tell me when has the DLP, since 2008, ever taken “the people of Barbados into its confidence and explain to them what it has been doing on their behalf?”

When last did this administration held “informative Press Conferences and releases which inform Barbados about government activities and its dealing?”

Is it not true that the “Parliamentary questions raised by the people’s representatives are (still being) ignored?”

The CAHILL project has effectively answered the above 3 questions. Firstly, the DLP did not take the people of Barbados into their confidence and explained to us anything about this project. We were not informed about the project via an “informative press conference or releases” which would have informed us about government’s activities. We had to hear about this fiasco from the leader of the opposition through her reply to the budget.

Secondly, as the “people’s representative”, Mottley asked questions about the CAHILL project and leveled certain accusations against specific ministers. Obviously, her questions were ignored, because Lowe chose to give us a preamble of his autobiography, and Sinckler, in his wrap up budget speech, decided to go down a “you steal more than we” line, while disclosing fees Mottley may have received from a PRIVATE legal matter. Rather than respond to or refute the allegations, Sinckler essentially said “You can’t say Lowe and Lashley and in bed with Trans-Tech, because you in bed with Jose y Jose.” Petty politics only for the enjoyment of yard-fowls.
    I for one was disappointed with Sinckler’s performance, because his behavior was tantamount to that of an “ashewo” or “qahbi”.

If you were to read the Auditor General’s reports for the financial years ended March 31, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014, you will discover they are still being disregarded. It is clear that Mr. Trotman’s department is still experiencing similar reoccurring issues that have been plaguing his audits each financial year.

The following excerpt is “item 6” of the “Introductory Comments” taken from the “Auditor General’s Report 2014”:

“I must draw to Parliament’s attention a glaring shortcoming in the accountability process in Government. FOR MANY YEARS the Office has been highlighting a number of issues of lack of compliance with statutory requirements by state agencies in its annual reports and through other correspondence. However in a number of cases there is little evidence that relevant corrective action has been taken. In short, personnel in these agencies are not being held to account for their actions or lack thereof. This can only lead to a further deterioration in standards of good governance in the public service.”

The above is enough evidence to substantiate my point that the AG’s reports are still being disregarded.

3. Yeah talk yuh talk about about Cahill till the cows come home nothing is going to change , but what needs to change is the BLP leadership who now finds herself with her back pushed against the wall to defend past illegal activity leveled against her by one of her minister, added to the fact that there is a call for her by a govt minister which now has been followed by the calls of public interest for mia to present to govt legal certification that is accredited and fully approved by the govt and barbados bar association for her to be a practicing lawyer in barabados .there is a glaring gap which would never have been opened if Mia Mottley was not so gungho on presenting the politics of yardfowlism in reply to the budget.

4. millertheanunnaki June 22, 2015 at 6:22 PM #

“The Fact is that Mia Mottley tried to “hold herself up” as being the standard bearer for integrity…”

Miller, this is exactly what disturbs me about unintelligent yard-fowl supporters.

“The DLP administration’s attitude to accountability will be based on the understanding that as servants and representatives of the people there can be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the population. Consequently, a DLP administration will be accountable for its actions and policies and take the public into its confidence.”

“Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring:
    ………. a declaration of assets by public officials,
    ………. a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
    ………. a new Freedom of Information law,
    ………. amendments to the Defamation laws and
    ………. new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister.”

“There is therefore a need to clean up politics in Barbados. The Democratic Labour Party has selected a team of clean, caring, competent and committed politicians who have signed on to a code of conduct that promises Good Governance.”

The above excerpts were taken from pages 46, 47 and 48 of the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto, under the heading “22 Good Governance.”

The DEMS presented and party and their candidates to the electorate, as being the proponents of good governance and anti-corruption, while leveling accusations of corruption against their political opponents. It was upon this basis they formulated their election campaign and subsequently won the election.

Based on the above manifesto statements and subsequent election strategies, it is clear that the DLP essentially “HELD THEMSELVES UP AS BEING THE STANDARD BEARER FOR INTEGRITY.”

However, taking these allegations of untoward activities being leveled against them by Mottley, obviously, the ONUS IS ON THE DLP to disprove the allegations.

5. And wunnah educated fools expecting change to come from de movers and shakers and power -brokers in Bridgetown. Man wunnah mad is ass. History en on wunnah side at tall. Becuasing if de people dont deman change from de government; change en gun come brother. So wunnah could bark all wunnah want with wunnah intellectualism and philosophizing, but until de domesticated masses tek a stand, it gine be business as usual papa. Who gine be de hyena a loose in de meat factory this time around? De last time Clark tex a stand, but he fall flat on he face. Where are you Dr. Don Blackman? It gine tek a man like you with aa acrobatic tongue which is sharpened on the wellstone of de Queen’s English to aroused the collective-conscience of de docile Bajan Masses and spur dem en tah action. looka hare! And dem called dem self an enlightened people in de Carabeen. Man let me go yah hare becausing I got books to reed people tah see and money tah mek.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;

Right on!
    The pox is on both their houses. But it appears to be metastasizing recently.

7. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ ac
    Two wrongs don’t make a right.
    For the average voter (by which I mean those of us who are not unthinking DLP or BLP supporters) whether Mia can or can’t produce her certificate makes no difference.
    The allegations about the DLP Ministers are placed in the open and stand on their own. Voters want to see some clear proof that they are not true, rather than attempts to try and obscure the situation with counter-allegations about Mia.
    Does the DLP really believe that the voters will forget about Cahill and Ministers’ free cars?

8. If one pensively examine the social change which has taken place in America through its long history, one ought realize that in every instant change has founded its way from the grassroots level to the top. The War of Independence was started with the act of one negro man; the Women Suffrage Movement with three unknown white women; the Abolishes Movement Fredrick Douglas and a host of unknown whites and blacks people; the Civil Rights Movement with the courage of one black woman who refused to give up her seat for a white man, and so forth and so on. So social change equals political change!

9. Willard Peters Avatar
    Willard Peters

just in case you didn’t know, there is a very brutal spat going on between M.E. Clare Cowen of Cahill Energy on the one side and Philip Tempro/Bjorn Bjerkham of Jada on the other side. It has become so bad recently that both parties are trading shots at each other in emails passing between them. The emails are allegedly being copied to people in Government so as to add insult to injury. Cahill needs to be buried and fast.

10. Dred Scott, started the pushed for his right to be recognized as an American citizen, and was declared by the Supreme Court of America, as no less than agriculture equipment.

11. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Artax, good stuff. We gotta keep an eye on you fah sure cause you sound like a fella who will one day do some serious good for this country. Please don’t get enticed by the glitter and gloss along the way. I beg yah please, as the old folks would say.

Are-We, you got me LOLROF, with ” In fact, on reflection, outside of Barrow and Thompson, there might not be any other Bajan PM of the last 50 years who fully fitted the requisites you outlined above.”

I laughing because I ain’t sure if you mean that dem is the only two PMs who went to Combermere who fit all the criteria well. Cause you surely can’t mean dem is the only two period. Owen look like a sweet bread to you !!!

btw, there is some good enough info across the net re Dr. Bull and his gun which gives a good sense of how our boy Barrow was a smart enough player (very smart actually) even back then to be involved (tangentially) in what was to become a very lucrative weapons industry.

That gun architecture as you may know actually was used by scientists in mid-east as a blueprint for powerful weaponry years after the program halted in Bdos; so to your point that too is an interesting story sitting there in the CIA archives.

Never knew Barrow was listed as one of the richest Black men worldwide. Certainly was never a show off but obviously one saw he invested well, never knew it was that well!

12. I fully agree with the statement “there is a glaring gap which would never have been opened if Mia Mottley was not so gungho on presenting the politics of yardfowlism in reply to the budget.”

Yes, a “glaring gap has been opened” for all and sundry to question the authenticity of Lowe’s “doctorate.” And what he needs to do, as a matter of urgency, is to prove its authenticity by providing the following documents:

…… transcripts of his certificate from the University

…… a certified copy of his doctoral thesis

…… documentation from the Barbados Accreditation Council acknowledging his programme of study was assessed for its standard and given official recognition

…… any academic publications he has authored, relative to his field of research, as is required by holders of a PhD

Until he presents the above documents, then brandishing a “certificate” does not prove it is authentic.

13. @ac
    You say the public is astute and aware , but yet you keep coming on BU with your mindless obscure writing, to proof what ? that you are the sicker than sick

14. it should not take any bill of moral integrity to persuade any one who seeks higher office of govt, that there moral duty is conducive to proper government, for their in lies the crux of good governance, A law only validates but does not compel/ persuade one if there moral compass is bent and if there only aspiration was one of self interest. Mottley in her glowing appearance demonstrate openly where her interest lies.sufficient to say that if a bill of integrity was passed over the last six years one can easily say that mottlley aspirations to become PM would have been doomed as the necessary pilots to direct one standards would have been put fully in place some of which would have locked her out and denied her any formed of movement heading towards the PM of barbados

15. @ watchman your eyes don.t be tired doh ..reading my mindless obscure writing, wuh damn if it is so mindless and so obscure why do you read it ,are you a retard or what, maybe u need to get a life, retard,,,

16. Willard Peters Avatar
    Willard Peters

what of the Cahill and Jada spat?

17. @ willard Peters .thanks for the info. maybe BU david would be interested if and when u get your hands on one of the emails you can send it to David BU,

18. @ac
    I read everything , that how I know your writing mindless ,

19. @ac
    your people in the DLP farmyard don’t inform you, do you need to see the emails?

20. What is evident is the fact that Mia Mottley has not presented up to present time within the last six days a certificate of any kind that validates her to be a practicing attorney in barbados, against a backdrop of accusations leveled towards Dr. lowe(one should take note with the quickness and readiness by lowe there is clear indication that he had nothing to hide ) and therefore presented a certificate that ascertains that his creditability is sound and he has not lied about his certification/ another assertion that Mia used in her reply to the budget knowing full well that it was a misrepresentation of truth to malign or scandalize dr loew among his colleagues , Now the blp misfits can go as far around the bend to shield Mia and refocus attention on Dr lowe certification however that type of posturing does not take away or void what is at stake for mottley and her absence of proof so far of her certification

21. Yes coming from the blp side of the farm yard everything needs to be fully validated so yes i need to see those “much talked about e mails,, now watchman go to sleep stop reading my writings before u go blind,

22. @ac
    OK , send me your email address, write the letters backward on BU, don’t worry only I will understand what you write

23. ac noticed all the blp yard ducks have retired for the nite except for one lonely wun who might has lost his way,, plax palax,, ac got the forum for self.. now back to MIA mottley the leader of poor judgement and yardfowl politics,,ha, ha, ha,

24. @ AC
    I agreed , you stink up the yard , so you can keep it ,

25. Fractured BLP Avatar

Hello AC

I am glad you chased BLP miscreants away from BU for the evening.

The blog master, David, is pleased that you have done the job for him!

After Mia Mottley failure to produce her LEC to practice in Barbados….David of BU
    is convinced that most BLPites are lying, corrupt bastards.

Keep up the good work, AC.

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

The prerequisites of a typical caribbean PM according to DE Ingrunt Word:-

A) excellent leadership and solid academic skills displayed at secondary school which you then carried forward as an adult;

B) a display (actual or not) of above average intelligence;

C) a legal or economics degree preferably (but any solid university degree will suffice);

D) personable and attractive (ideal but not necessary in times of unrest);

E) good oratorical skills or at least skillful use of language;

F) and very important an excellent understanding of the local politics and a strong ability to build partnerships inside and outside your party.

G) a low or non-existent standard on morality. This we have discovered is probably the key factor to ascend to the top.

My point was that in your formulation, possession of ALL the above characteristics together, aptly described the typical Bajan Prime Minister (and could perhaps be used as a check list to evaluate the chances of PM aspirants in the future, but I felt that your check list did not really truly describe all the PM’s of the last 35 years or so.

Now I must declare that I had a personal dislike of Errol Barrow, Tom Adams and David Thompson, born of interactions with them that left a figurative “bad taste in the mouth”. But, given that caveat, here is my personal assessment, using your list, of the people who became PMs that I met, listened to or watched in action as a Public Servant or read about their exploits in various media.

Errol Barrow had all the prerequisites.

Bree St John lacked prerequisite G. I have never heard any whisper of corruption about him.

Tom Adams had all the prerequisites. (I apologize for neglecting to include him in my earlier list.

Erskine Sandiford lacked prerequisite F (indeed, that caused his overthrow)

Owen Arthur lacked prerequisite D, His mistreatment of some of his Ministers and his midnight calls are the stuff of legends. He also arguably lacked prerequisite G as he insisted on moral standards in his Ministers and In addition he also ran a tight ship re. excoriating any incipient corruption in his Ministers – Just consider the number of Ministers he fired.

David Thompson had all the prerequisites.

Freundal Stuart lacked prerequisite A, D, F and G. He is, imho, the poster child for poor prime ministerial leadership in the Caribbean and a beacon of hope that anyone can become a PM and retain that post under the right conditions. Re. prerequisite G, even though he might not be personally and directly involved in any corrupt practices, his laid back style of leadership is almost certainly the cause of what many public servants see as an explosion in corruption during his tenure. Even David Thompson, unlike him, acted fairly quickly in reshuffling or removing 2 ministers whose hands were caught in the cookie jar and whose actions could imperil the image of the DLP being a new squeaky clean government.

So that’s my methodology for arriving at the conclusion that only 2 PM’s (plus the 1 now added ) fitted your model (LOL).

But this is just an academic exercise of no value re. the weighty matters that BU discusses.

27. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Denis Lowe does have a Ph.D from the University of Cincinnati.

His Ph.D thesis is

Lowe, Denis S: Social Climate in Integrated Schools: A comparative study of Social Interaction in Alternative and neighborhood Elementary Schools; Ph.D dissertation, University of Cincinnati 1989 (Role of Gender and Race. UMO # 9109262)

28. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Are-We, absolutely fantastic. Maybe of no value but wonderfully cracking exercise nonetheless. You have now explained your earlier remarks very well, sir. So I stand corrected.

But if Owen was so properly forthright and honest what’s the story with that $75K cheque and how did he allow the same Mia to slip and slide into alleged nefarious deeds in her various ministries?

Although his cabinet’s revolt would validate your Sandy point wasn’t that more circumstances of the harsh medicine he prescribed. Wouldn’t it be fair to say that his ascension to power after supposedly being an unpopular 2nd most important man in Barbados; the ‘after Sandy, any number can play’ man was itself a validation that he was indeed effective at key times at marshaling support?

When it comes to the end game isn’t it because they have ‘f-uped’ badly so to speak and lost the support to marshal those forces.

Bit Owen was very personable to the electorate however. The young Owen was the cat’s meow to many ladies and men adored his smarts.

And to think we believed it’s only now that our leaders are ‘defective’.

Good stuff, though. A lovely night’s entertainment.

David should make your comments an official Document of the BU Parliament.

29. St George’s Dragon June 22, 2015 at 7:42 PM #

“The allegations about the DLP Ministers are placed in the open and stand on their own. Voters want to see some clear proof that they are not true, rather than attempts to try and obscure the situation with counter-allegations about Mia.”

I agree with your comments, St. George’s Dragon.

Mottley should, as promised, make the evidence proving the two BMW SUVs being presently used by Lowe and Lashley are indeed owned by Trans-Tech inc., documents of the House.

Assume these vehicles were obtained by lease arrangements. It would be deemed as a conflict of interest, for the transport and environment ministers authorizing omnibuses and garbage trucks repairs to be undertaken by Trans-Tech, and they (Lowe and Lashley) lease vehicles from the same company.
    Especially when it has to be taken into consideration that, in Lashley’s case, UCAL is given 1 bus per day for repairs, while Trans-Tech receives more than 80% of repairs.

The DLP yard-fowls have mentioned about integrity and showing a LEC. Nonsense.

What is more important, is for Sinckler, who says he always asks for a legal opinion, to explain why, during the financial year ended March 31, 2014, certain quasi or statutory government entities received advances totaling $207,592,274.26, without parliamentary approval?

Did not his legal advisor told him: “The Financial Management and Audit Act, 2007-11, Section 35 requires that any loans made by Government shall be approved from a capital contribution by Parliament for that purpose. The Act also requires that these advances be secured by way of debenture mortgages, the terms of which should be determined by the Cabinet.”

According to the Auditor General’s 2014 report:

“There was no evidence that these advances were voted by Parliament. It should also be noted that these entities are wholly owned by the Crown and HAVE LITTLE OR NO MEANS OF GENERATING INCOME TO REPAY THESE ADVANCES.” [page 27]

Perhaps Sinckler could explain to us:

“Loans to individuals and Government Agencies were recorded as $409,565,427. This category of receivables consists of LOANS ADVANCED to various entities including car loans to Parliamentarians and Registering Officers who are not public servants.”

30. Very good contributions, Are-we-there-yet. You have obviously raised the bar in this particular forum.

31. ARETWY might have raised the bar in his make believe analysis ,however one should notice in the name and category department he does not dare to define where on barbados political landscape Mia would be better placed on the prerequisite scale as a strong and amicable leader.

32. BTW DR LOWE has promised that if Mia brings her certification he would publicly apologized to her, now to me that is indeed a challenge that is worth proving. i dare say such a challenge goes unproven gives lowe more dignity and further denigrate Mia.s character and separate truth from lies.this debacle is a version of vindictiveness driven by a thirst for power, The underground movers and shakers hovering in the dark of the blp party should have been fully aware that placing mottley in the forefront for a call on others for accountability was a huge mistake,and one shown by the turn of events have unfolded with great uneasiness exhibiting her faults her attributes of failures and deception.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Thanks De Ingrunt and Artax;

I’m a scientist so I tend to analyse things in a reasonably scientific manner.

AC; We were dealing with Prime Ministers so I did not think she qualified for that analysis. However, it could be used as a predictive tool and I think it would then conclude that MAM would join the pantheon of Barrow, Adams and Thompson as having all the prerequisites needed for a bajan PM.

But of course this is just a fun exercise, no crystal ball included.

On the other matter. I found a citation of Denis Lowe’s Ph.D thesis with its title and other info listed above so I think it is very likely that Denis Lowe does have a Ph.D from the University of Cincinnati awarded in 1989.

I also think that there has to be a 100% certainty that MAM, if she does’nt have a LEC, must have been granted an exemption on one of the grounds detailed in the Act setting up the School of Legal Education and its governing body. (Google LEC jamaica or Belize)

The matter of the attack on MAM’s credentials therefore could now clearly be seen for what they were, a vicious coordinated misdirection of the populace’s attention from the clearly stated and documented case of corruption brought against the DEMS in the budget debate by MAM. A case which they had no ability to defend.

Lowe, who admitted up front that MAM had not attacked his credentials in that debate, and the others knew full well that there was no actionable case that MAM did not have the credentials to practice as a Lawyer in this country since she had done so successfully for decades and had aptly demonstrated her ability in that sphere.

It was all theatre designed to obfuscate and provide fodder for the yardfowl.

It succeeded.

34. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC, re. your last post, Do you think it really matters if Mia does not bring a standard LEC but disses Dr Lowe’s challenge by having someone publish the instrument that exempted her from having a standard LEC. Her strategy should be to treat Lowe’s challenge with the contempt it deserves.

Lowe can’t win this battle which was merely his strategy to avoid answering the hard questions from Mia on the floor at the Budget debate. He telegraphed this by stating at the start of his speech that he would be unable to spend any time on the budget per se since he had to deal with the attacks on his character. Too bad he didn’t deal with any of Mia’s substantive points!

35. @William Peters

What is the connection between Tempro/Bjerhamm and Cahill?

36. How does one convince a yardfowl to remove their toe from the party line? It is amusing.

37. Willard Peters Avatar
    Willard Peters

I don’t know other than to say rumour has it that Jada was to be Cahill’s preferred building contractor/facilitator.

38. understood that you were dealing with past PM but since your prerequisites details what bajans look for and accepted as PM. i just wanted to know (if ) Mia would in any way fit into that mold and as a country seeking change shouldn’t be that the old way be dismantled and a new standard of actionable behaviuor takes “hold”
    Btw Lowe did answer the question about the car(followed by the owners response via media) and also did reply with proof about his credentials, So far the one and only question Mia had to answer was replied with deafening silence, Now for one to state that Mia does not have to reply and her non-response would be as to treat Lowe with contempt is some what hypocritical and disconcerting and a shameless response coming from both mia and her foot soldiers. especially (given) in the past six years the BlP foot soldiers left no stone unturned about certain private matters concerning govt members (DLP) business that was outside the peripheral of govt business ,Lowe for example has be the target of many questions about his personal business and family matters,now how could it be that a passing grade be given to MIA on matters that would apply to her integrity while seeking the highest office in the land.

39. are-we-there-yet June 22, 2015 at 11:50 PM #

“The matter of the attack on MAM’s credentials therefore could now clearly be seen for what they were, a vicious coordinated misdirection of the populace’s attention from the clearly stated and documented case of corruption brought against the DEMS in the budget debate by MAM. A case which they had no ability to defend.”

I have to agree with your above comments, AWTY, and I must add it was a very childish attempt as well.

This fiasco is another reason why I cannot be a supporter of a political party.

It would be a ludicrous attempt for me to view Lowe’s challenge to Mottley of presenting a LEC as a political victory, especially against the background that common sense should tell us that since Mottley is a Queen’s Counsel, was a former Attorney General and member of the Privy Council of Barbados, she cannot be engaged in the illegal practice of law in Barbados.

Additionally, Lowe mentioned it was Owen Arthur who made certain comments pertaining to his credentials, and NOT Mottley. At that time, the DLP being the opposition, could have used this LEC issue to score political points and bring a no confidence motion against Mottley when she was Attorney General, on the grounds that she has no legal basis to practice law in Barbados. And as such, she cannot legally represent the island in the capacity of AG.

Lowe and his supporters are only “raking the bottom of the political barrel,” creating their own “straw men to knock down.”

I see this entire situation as being very childish, and as you quite rightly mentioned, “it was all theatre designed to obfuscate and provide fodder for the yardfowl.” By the responses from the resident DLP yard-fowls on BU, “it succeeded,”

40. Willard Peters Avatar
    Willard Peters

At the ending of the day, we still need to hear more about Cahill and the strong allegations made by the Leader of Opposition.

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac; what was the owners (of the car) response via media? I missed it, could you point us to it?

42. are-we-there-yet June 23, 2015 at 12:00 AM #

“Lowe can’t win this battle which was merely his strategy to avoid answering the hard questions from Mia on the floor at the Budget debate. He telegraphed this by stating at the start of his speech that he would be unable to spend any time on the budget per se since he had to deal with the attacks on his character. Too bad he didn’t deal with any of Mia’s substantive points!”

Again your analysis is correct, AWTY. Lowe DID NOT address Mottley’s substantive points.

Additionally, it is being suggested that Brathwaite of Trans-Tech Inc. fame answered questions relative to the vehicle being used by Lowe and Lashley. If you were to read Brathwaite’s reply, you will discover his response comprised of some very vague and generalized statements, which did not address the issue.

Now tell me, if the DLP wants Barbadians to believe they are the epitome of integrity and their members are men of thick moral fibre, why would Lowe and Lashley lease cars from a company that is given more than 80% of vehicle repairs from their respective ministries, when it would be seen as a conflict of interest?

Lashley argued that Simpson Motors also repairs buses, and we all know they sell used and new vehicles. Trans-Tech sells used vehicles only. If everything was above board, why could Lashley not solicit lease arrangements from Simpson’s to secure a new vehicle?

43. are-we-there-yet June 23, 2015 at 7:21 AM #

“ac; what was the owners (of the car) response via media? I missed it, could you point us to it?”

I’ll do the honours, AWTY.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/19/a-bunch-of-lies/

Note that Carson C. Cadogan has resurfaced on Barbados Today’s comments section.

44. The public refuses to accept the two government ministries responsible for the largest procurement of vehicles, parts and mechanic services find the ministers who head them leasing personal vehicles from a vendor by the name of Trans Tech. We deserve a response from the PM!

45. Only if the blp misfits would be more engaging on facts than loyalty maybe just they would become more appraised of everything involved with the Cahill project.suffice to say that for over the past six years they have been more concerned about underming govt tprojects than dealing with the facts outlined by govt in referance to the overall management role which cahill has in the progress of. the WTE project along with govt sponsership.Again suffice to say that Cahill along with govt has stated that the financial cost and running of the WTE would be done by Cahill Yet there is a setmind of diversion with meaningless attempts to place the taxpayers money as as financial player in the funding of the project

46. Can and will the supporters of the Government show in explicit detail how the Cahill project benefits the people of Barbados and is the best option in the supply of electricity and the management of solid waste? If these supporters do not have this information then they should be calling on the Government to answer Ms Mottley’s and many others’ concerns. The DLP should stop treating Barbadians as imbeciles.

47. This LEC matter is a nonsense. The Barbados Bar Association admitted to the Bar according to theit website in 1987 a year after graduating from LSE as well as admitted to practice law in England & Wales. The same way all the old lawyers were allowed. Isn’t there some 1987 transitional arrangements that allow persons accepted, enrolled or holding a degree like Mia’s to be eligible to practice?
    Anyhow I don’t recall her purporting to have the LEC, it is not new and she never admitted herself to the bar.
    Imagine a political warmonger like David Thompson never opposed her appointment to AG or QC. Go figure!

48. So tell us from where is the funding coming?

You are in the inner sanctuary of the slime pit called the DLP, tell us and let the taxpayers stop worrying that their children and their children’s great grand children would not have to be paying back millions out of which many million may end up going into a few DLP people’s pockets while future generations would be left holding the bag.

Just like CLICO policyholders are left holding the bag while millions sit in your dead king’s estate for his queen who sits in our highest seat in Parliament. My goodness, that galls me every time I hear her in Parliament.

49. The PM said he too busy (doing nothing) to respond to “trivial” matters such as those raised by Mottley. Nero fiddles while the tiefing is escalated to unprecedented levels.