Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley used the cloak of parliamentary privilege in her reply to the 2015 Budget and Financial Statement to accuse [โ€ฆ] the government  – specifically Ministers Denis Kellman, Denis Lowe, Darcy Boyce and Minister Sinckler –  of entering a shady arrangement with Cahill Energy to build a USD700 million Waste to Energy Gasification plant in Barbados.  She referred to several documents during a lengthy prosecution of the matter which she promised to make public.

Mia Mottley also directed additional charges at Ministers Michael Lashley and Denis Lowe. She accused both of them of driving luxury vehicles registered to Trans Tech Inc, a company owned by Lloyd Brathwaite. She further accused Lowe and Lashley of approving questionable invoices for repairs to trucks owned by the Transport Board and the Sanitation Authority by Trans Tech .

BU will update an audio file of Mia Mottleyโ€™s reply to the 2015 Budget and Financial Statement very soon.

162 responses to “Mia Mottley Accuses Government Ministers of Entering Shady Arrangement with Cahill Energy and Trans Tech Inc”

1. @Pacha

You are rapidly losing credibility on this matter. You do not accept MAM can be a change agent yet YOU lionize Arthur in the same breath?

Explain for 5 marks.

2. @ David.

MAM is the leader of the Opposition BLP party and the potential future Prime Minister of Barbados.

Politics is war.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/18/ag-to-probe-allegations-against-mottley/

3. So David should we just accept that there are degrees of corruption or time limits with reset buttons?

Barbados needs a change agent but that agent should be a person with proven integrity.

4. @Hants

Yes but MAM or some other – lousy track record or not – by their pivot may serve to catalyze others with the record you approve.

5. David

Our point of departure is that what is wrong with Barbados politics and economy cannot be changed with measures short of radical transformation. In those circumstances, the Parliament, the parties, nothing is to be left. Period!

But this is too radical for you. You want to continue dreaming that some Savior of a Mottley could fix this! Dream on!

We see no contradiction when we say that what Arthur had to say last night was an honest appraisal of what is wrong with the economic landscape.

Our agreement with him on that point cannot make us supporters of him, generally. Neither should it be translated to a transference of any such support for Mottley, by virtue of her being a leader of some opposition, even if ‘igrunt’ Bajans were to make her PM. Why? Mottley does not have the ability to make the same diagnosis or articulation as OSA on economy matters. In fact, she wasted four hours talking shiite. And is generally a flyweight intellect.

We are not losing any credibility. You need to advance a more sophisticated analysis.

What is contradictory to us is that you have in the past agreed, many times, with our analysis but you keep looking backwards for a political Messiah. Maybe, the Mottley class cleavages are, in your mind, influencing that irrational claim.

6. Not the record I approve. I ent nuhbody. tobesides I does live in Canada so it is up to de people livin in Babadus to decide.

7. @Pacha

In essence the system must explode Big Bang style for the change you want to occur?
    2/5 marks

8. Well, that maybe your simplistic view. It certainly is not ours.

You have been falling in and out of love with politician for 50 years, where has it gotten you?

Is that not what is being imposed on you from outside (internal explosion), in a slow march? You sit and wait till it goes off.

9. The very Arthur who have become enamored led Barbados with unprecedented popularity and what? In fact he publicly mentored MAM to take over.

What is your point again?

10. During the Budget debate there has been numerous allegations of corruption and dishonesty on both sides.

I would like to see the evidence.

Does Dennis Lowe have a genuine Doctorate from a real real University?

Does MAM have the certificate to practice law in Barbados and is she required to have one ?

Did Government pay $540. per sq. ft. for a building that should cost about $200. per sq. ft.

Can we see the entire contract documents showing the agreement between Cahill and Barbados government.

Making accusations and talkin shite in a rum shop or on BU is one thing. In Parliament different story.

MPs should not lie to the people of Barbados in Parliament so I accept they are all telling the truth. I just prefer to see proof.

11. You lack the political sophistication to weight public and private utterances.

Is that the same Arthur who said, in this writer’s presence, that he will never leave Barbados to Mottley?

12. @Pacha

If Arthur never intended to leave Barbados to Mottley why by his actions and decisions during his stewardship he stated otherwise on other occasions?

And by the way, we like to keep it simple on BU, academics and intellectuals – like yourself – have a way of using knowledge to intimidate the Third Estate and then question why this group become comfortable by disengaging from the process.

13. The point you Pacha and others have to admit whether you like it or not MAM addressed many of the issues BU has been advocating from inception. We have no brief for MAM but we are lined up behind her on the issue of asking for transparency on CAHILL, Preconco and Maloney, TransTech etc. This is the fundamental issue, ALL, fighting for transparency.

14. @ David

There is no set of people in this world for whom we are prepared to simplify our thinking to meet their needs. The world know is anything but simple. Those who seek simplicity for its own sake are doomed. We see everything in complexity and connected to everything else.

This world is no place for Simpletons.

Your simplistic question about succession could only be based on the absence of a real politique. It cannot be based on the popular assumption that politicians alway say certain things in public, for obvious reasons, and others in private. It ignores the recent history between these two. Did Arthur not unseat Mottley, twice? Does this history not suggest that his public utterances about this matter were for ‘public’ consumption alone? Do you remember the role Arthur sought for Mascol? These are all things you should know better than most. And you are to make HARD decision about them.

15. David’s true colours are coming to the fore. What about all the corruption MAM was in while in government for 14 years? It that to be forgotten?

David you are nothing more than a BLP hack? We’re highly disappointed!

16. @Pacha

By your last response we will use your label as YOU being simplistic. Arthur has no credibility in the debate now raging in the opinion of BU.

The reference to keeping it simple is more about how academics and intellectuals prefer to communicate with ordinary people.

BU is intimate with how Arthur operated as PM AND MAM and you and no other can change how we feel about some issues.

17. David

If your judgement was not impaired you would have seen that corruption, whether CAHILL or mount stinkeroos, is as Bajan as cou cou and flying fish.

That this system is incapable of avoiding corruption. Regardless to who is PM.

18. A simple man needs to have all these firm ideas.

We prefer to subject everything we believe to be true, to question. And if new information proves us wrong we are not beyond changing our views.

We are from Mars, you from Venus!

19. “You lack the political sophistication to weight public and private utterances.

Is that the same Arthur who said, in this writerโ€™s presence, that he will never leave Barbados to Mottley?”

He also said publicly in response to queries about her removal from the Attorney Generalship to the post of Economic Affairs that he was grooming her for higher office.

that said Pacha ; if Mr Stuart can be Prime minister of Barbados then Ms Mottley can be Prime Minister ten times.

20. Interesting call to the talk show today: it appears a Karaoke Competition sponsored by Trans Tech has so far made the rounds FIRST St. Philip North And Christ Church East. Interesting.

21. Balance

That is not the question. We care not about that question. The people of Barbados will decide.

David is presenting this woo-unto-man, your leader, as some anti-corruption czar, change agent, we say there is no evidence which supports that contention. And we’ve had 14 years to see this.

22. David
    I am sorry, but Mia cannot be the change agent needed at this time.

As Owen Arthur said Barbados needs a new way of doing things. David you should be pushing for new change agents.
    Do not help either party to regain power again.

I look forward to the day when men and women with conscience can step forward and say enough is enough.
    We have so many social commentators who should form a group and start to explore the changes that most persons are clamoring for.
    I heard Jeremy Stevens On Brass Tacks yesterday and he should get off the fence and get involved in the change

23. Clone

Thanks you for a breath of sanity!

24. @Clone

Please look up what comprehension means.

BU is not pushing MAM as a change agent, we are suggesting by her pivot position it could serve as a catalyst for change. Forget MAM and look at the narrative she has sparked by her budget reply. Some of you are limited to seeing red.

25. @ David

You are a LIAR!

‘Change agent’ are the precise words you used yesterday on a similar stream.

26. “David is presenting this woo-unto-man, your leader, as some anti-corruption czar, change agent, we say there is no evidence which supports that contention. And weโ€™ve had 14 years to see this.”

I beg to to disagree my dear fellow; none of David’s posts suggest the above to me.

27. or the day before

28. @ Rastarooster June 18, 2015 at 10:09 AM #

“CEO ME Clare Cowan Toronto based no history
    John Robilliard Director Guernsey based
    Partner in Blenheim group who set the shell company up no accounts filed. on the surface Blenheim are a reputable firm
    Where are the local directors and local content ???????”

RR here is a bit of history gleaned from various searches, the correctness of which cannot be verified

DD assumes the Clare Cowans are one and the same person.

From March 19, 2014 BU blog – CAHILL ENERGY:THE RACE TO WASTEย ENERGY

Dick Tracy March 20, 2014 at 12:48 PM #

CEO of Cahill Energy (Barbados) Ltd
    Marie Elizabeth Clare Cowan
    50 Yorkville Avenue
    Suite 4803, Four Season Residences
    Toronto

Mary Mahabir; Director/Attorney
    Lex Caribbean

Interesting that Ms Cowan was added as director on the 30,December 2013. Cahill Energy is incorporated just over 24 month ago in Guernsey.โ€

NOTE – Four Season Residences is very high end address

From a zoominfo profile updated 9/25/14

M.E. Clare Cowan
    Chief Executive Officer

Phone: (416) ***-****

Local Address:ย Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Cahill Energy Limited
    2881 Gibford Drive
    Ottawa , Ontario K1V 2L9
    Canada

From a zoominfo profile updated 4/17/02

Clare Cowan

Background
    Employment History
    Majority Owner โ€จ- Goldcare Indutiae Inc.
    Chair and Chief Executive Officer โ€จ- Goldcare Indutiae Inc.
    Presidentโ€จ – Goldcare Indutiae Inc.

From an article in the Ottawa Business Journal – no doubt from a press release issued by Cowan

“Venture Exchange Network kicks off
    Published on April 22, 2002

As an entrepreneur, Clare Cowan is in favour of levelling the playing field for money-seeking businesses. As the founder of Venture Exchange Network, it’s her job.

Cowan and company officially launched Venture Exchange Network last week, after two months of operation. With help from KPMG, the network is supposed to match entrepreneurs with deep-pocketed investors.

“I know what it’s like to find financing, and I want to make it about what you do, not who you know,” says Cowan, who is based out of Toronto.

The idea was borne out of a series of VC events she created in the mid-1990s, called MasterMinds. The events provided mentoring and funding between large and small companies.
    Venture Exchange Network is an extension of MasterMinds, adding investors to the mix. The network collects information from entrepreneurs and qualifies it by having KPMG perform a review. If an entrepreneur is considered for membership, the
    collected data is compared to the investment criteria of each investor in the network.

More than 300 North American VCs have been enlisted into the network, including Kodiak Venture Partners, CDP Sofinov, RoyNat Inc. and Battery Ventures.

Cowan says the network has some Ottawa-area VCs, but they cannot be identified for privacy reasons……………โ€ฆ..”

Google Goldcare Indutiae Inc. and Venture Exchange Network for more info.

From other searches it appears that Goldcare was a โ€œConsultingโ€ company started in 1996. and Network Venture Network Inc. started in 2002.

Other Venture Exchange Network hits show it to be a subsidiary of Goldcare and M. E. Clare Cowan as CEO

Goldcareโ€™s website has been abandoned. Venture Exchange Networkโ€™s website consists of three paragraphs of PR mumbo jumbo โ€œa revolutionary and interactive listing, screening and matching service for entrepreneurs, and private equity investorsโ€

I could find nothing of substance about either of these earlier Clare Cowan ventures (scams?), nor anything definitive about M. E. Clare Cowan.

This woman appears to be nothing but smoke and mirrors (and PR releases), and it looks like she has has really smoked BIM

29. More Smoke and Mirrors apparently related concern.

http://cahillinternational.com/about.html

30. ME Clare Cowan also appears on a search for Cahill International
    Now defunked other than an old web site
    All fur coat and no knickers
    Blenheim group were also involved in the structuring of CI by the looks of it.

31. Search on the four seasons address shows its actually on the market and has been for a number of months
    Interesting !!!!!!

32. Criteria of any reputable business when doing business with a potential partner is based on reputation, reliability, track record etc. How is Cahill different if compared to 3S which Arthur contracted to build the new prison? We should recall Darcy Boyce was head of the BTII at the time involved with VECO before it was hurriedly cancelled.

33. Another key performance indicator is a balance sheet
    Can anyone point us to Cahill’s balance sheet ?????
    Rhetoric!!!!!!!!

34. CLAUSE 1:
    Cahill has the exclusive right until 2048 for the development of any Waste to Energy Plants in Barbados

CLAUSE 2:
    No Corporation Tax
    No Value added Tax
    No Capital gains Tax
    No transfer tax
    No withhold Tax on dividends
    No import duties on the import of waste tires and other supply items
    Can import stacks of tires being located in other Caribbean islands
    Cahill must be allowed to drill water wells on the land without charge or tax and the permission
    The government must supply the infrastructure and water pipeline
    Cahill must be allowed to establish rain water lagoons in St Thomas
    The Environmental Impact Assessment for this sweet deal is being paid by Government
    Government of Barbados must represent and warrant to provide that the Government will deliver 550 tonnes per day and 450 tonnes of biomass per day

35. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Oh lawd, we do need to KISS and make up…that is Keep It Simple Stupid.

This morn I questioned whether David’s mental state was clouded over the last few days by too much Jamaican Wonder or some other brand of tampi as I was confounded by his use of the term ‘change agent’ re Mia Mottley.

But he properly clarified what he meant by that term when he said that he saw her as a ‘pivot’ for change; which I understood to be, she being the current reference point as a catalyst for this debate on corruption.

He certainly understood that she was a corrupt influence herself.

All that to say, if we are discerning readers then it’s not possible to call anyone a liar on this point, Mr. Pacha!

I absolute don’t agree with David’s perspective either and for practical purposes don’t understand how he could pin hopes on change on a person like Mottley…choose Hinkson or some other newbie to embrace as ‘the agent of change’ because MAM is too badly soiled in the dirt of corruption herself.

The moderator certainly did not intend to lie or mislead. He just had an amazing brain freeze on proper descriptive word usage. And unfortunately that is what social media is all about…outlandish words and remarks.

But this is the Queens English that we all learned since Infants School so we should certainly be able to understand, properly by now I hope, words individually and words collectively in context that seek to communicate a thought .

O me miserum! (one of only 10 Latin phrases I know, lol).

36. Leave osa alone he was right about mia crass political ineptitude.. btw all of barbados waiting to receive their copiesof the evedience/ documentation detailed in her scathing diatribe about govt ministers .i wonder what is taking her so long.

37. @Rastarooster June 18, 2015 at 1:51 PM #

“Search on the four seasons address shows its actually on the market and has been for a number of months
    Interesting !!!!!!”

Interesting indeed

Was listed for CAD$6,988,000

A couple of the real estate site said it is now off the market.

I guess that with a deal like the one detailed by Artaxerxes June 18, 2015 at 2:30 PM she did not have to sell.

38. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

David this issue of validating reputable companies like a CAHILL is really a non-point in my view.

You certainly should know that very often in our (developing) countries contracts may stipulate that there is a local component or partner to a bid (or non-bid as this seems to be) and thus the local company can sometimes be a recently formed entity created specifically to fulfill that deal.

Fundamentally, there need not be anything wrong with that because the actual operational contracting external company has all the bona-fides and expertise in the task under consideration. The local company is just the legal go-between or there to maintain the project.

That type scenario has happened over the years so in simple terms CAHILL or others are ok. No corruption or malfeasance in the creation normally.

Deliberately contravening the Rules re Central Purchasing/Tenders Committee or officials finagling funds to their friends or associates or deliberate under-bidding and generating over budget situations etc etc are a completely different matter. That is definitely illegal.

39. Artaxerxes June 18, 2015 at 2:30 PM

You have got to be mekin that up.

If you are not, MECC gotta be livin in 7th Heaven.

40. @ David
    @ Ingrunt

LIAR!

David is worse than a liar, he even went back and changed the record. This is the kind of illegal, immoral, actions thing poor AC used to complain about and we ignored her pleadings to our detriment. Giving him the benefit of the doubt.

So we are not only indicting David as a *ucking liar. We are saying that there are a mountain of charges surrounding our grand charge, including plagiarism of a record he controls.

All this from a man he refuses to have any management of this blog which is not authoritarian but seeks to impose democratic traditions on politicians. And there is no disconnect within his twisted mind. Or the minds of his most strenuous supports. They are dictators at heart but want to teach us about democracy.

Now those comments were made 2 days ago – ‘change agent’. We spent at least a full day cussing him about calling MAM a ‘change agent’. And there was never a response until today. Now he seeks to say something else, when that determination should have been withdrawn. But we guess when you control a $100 a year blog you could do what the *uck yuh like.

Brassbowl David has no more of a moral ‘compass’ than the people he constantly sits here in judgment of. And this incident has proven this point.

41. 7th heaven would not comment on MECC other than to say talk to her supply chain of ex employees and consultants
    You will find your answers there and you won’t like what u hear ” law suitsURus”

42. @Dee Word

In this case Cahill Energy sets itself up as a company with a track record of Plasma installations behind it and does not explain your scenario which Barbadians are very familiar when social media prosecuted 3S under the last BLP government.

43. Year after year the BLP (both Mia and Owen) tried to put economics before politics in their reply to Sinckler’s budget. Year after year, they were trumped by a DLP strategy that was political first, second and third with false projections and performance, incoherent policy passed off as typographical errors and plenty smoke and mirrors bringing up the rear. It appears that this year, the BLP decided to adopt a politics first strategy and it catspraddled the DLP. Sealy looked apoplectic; Lowe reached for his bible and upbringing (sympathy begging) to “prove” 8 years later that he has a phD (is it in theology or education or psychology); Jones introduced FIFA (anyone asked?); Michael Lashley looked guilty as sin; Estwick was far from supportive apart from thanking the MoF for the milk CESS; AG Brathwaite focused on a legal certificate to practice (what do the transitional rules say); the PM tried in vain to justify the corruption and Sinckler closed with the usual but not before the Independent Owen Arthur decapitated his budget for the first time since “joining” the government benches. Owen had the government side prostrate!! Not once did he take a shot at Mottley or the BLP.

Mia obviously knew the government would come after her with Crab Hill and St. Leonards etc, but the aim was to level the playing field with regards to the public’s perception of corruption within the two main political parties. Don’t forget the DLP has used integrity to defuse the financial management credentials of the BLP. Without “integrity” what will the DLP run on having broken so many election campaign promises including eviscerating their legacy?

44. Cahill has zero track record and zero projects delivered
    Let’s get real here
    MECC is a fraudster extraordair

45. Isn’t the Grotto built with slabs manufactured by the same Preconco?
    Furthermore, how do you enter into a PPP to build low cost housing without conducting a viability assessment? The problem is that there is no established guidance or framework for private sector companies to produce low cost housing. Is there a set RoR, what size houses/apts are in demand, what is the price range? After the debacle at Coverley, the government learned nothing and jumped head first into these projects and unless they rent those units it will be another flop. Kellman’s idea of “commercialising” those units is a non-starter. If they can’t sell HOUSES in Coverley how will APARTMENTS in Grotto be more attractive? Stupseee

46. @ Enuff June 18, 2015 at 3:43 PM

Excellent post!

The dems were knocked off of their perch. Sealy was clearly not prepared for the knock out punch and he almost looked afraid.

I expected no less from the Stinkliar, he performed true to form. He is a compulsive liar……..(he said in the budget he has only one cell phone, in a photo in yesterday’s paper, he had two phones in his hands. Not even in simple things can he tell the truth)

I remember I was at a function soon after he was made minister of foreign affairs. We well remember how he opposed the EPA deal in his previous role but when he became the minister, he had to change his tune. At this function held the night before the signing of the agreement, someone asked him if he had his speech ready for the next day. That liar said….no, no, I am going to go home and get some rest and around two I will get up and knock up my speech. The PS looked at him with disdain because we all knew he was lying………we know that no PS far less the PS in foreign affairs would leave such a speech to be written by a novice politician.

I knew from then that Chris Sinckler was a nasty liar!

So all the nastiness he spewed last night, one can just dismiss it as he did not answer the accusations leveled at the four of them!

47. All of Barbados is also waiting to receive their copies of (Loweโ€™s) evidence/documentation detailed in (his) scathing, โ€œartificalโ€ emotional diatribe about his lifeโ€™s journey from running โ€˜bout barefoot to receiving his doctorate.

Denis Lowe should also presented a transcript of his doctorate from the University of Cincinnati, a certified copy of his thesis and documentation from the Barbados Accreditation Council proving the programme of study he undertook and the institution was assessed for their standards and given official recognition (accreditation).

Without submitting the above information and making them documents of the House of Parliament as well, we have no absolute proof Lowe actually has a doctorate.

There are scams known as โ€œdiploma or degree mill.โ€

48. Rastarooster June 18, 2015 at 2:08 PM #

Another key performance indicator is a balance sheet
    Can anyone point us to Cahillโ€™s balance sheet ?????
    Rhetoric!!!!!!!!

You’re going to have to get that Balance Sheet from the Group of Four who committed the taxpayers to that deal.

And don’t bother looking for a Income Statement, because Cahill has no income to report.

You may want to visit the following site for financial statements of Venture Exchange Network Inc.

http://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/vprr/04/9999999997-04-029165

49. @Enuff

Was about to send your probe to minister Denis Kellman via Facebook only to realize he removed David from his list.

Ever since he made that snafu on VOB about Sagicor he has been busted!

50. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Artaxerxes June 18, 2015 at 4:40 PM #

There are scams known as โ€œdiploma or degree mill.โ€
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Like one of his parochial mates, if not a relative, who came back here some years ago and landed the top post at, I believe ,the Child Care Board, and when it was discovered that her papers were bogus, she legged it out of the island ,never to return.