Has Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

It is the turn today (16/06/2015) of the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley to reply to the 2015 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals. BU has little doubt the four hour period allotted will be used to poke holes in many of the proposals the minister of finance delivered yesterday. […]  One wonders why in a 2×3 country we allow adversarial politics to to get in the way of commonsense – key players appear not to see the value in collaborating and therefore avoid the charade and grandstanding we will be be subjected to for the next two days. This is the weakness in our system of government.

Could it be the leader of the opposition will surprise us all and instead of engaging in the predicable, use her four hours on the public stage to deliver a message that will resonate and give hope to Barbadians?

There is a vacuum of leadership on the political and other fronts in Barbados, will somebody please stand up?

243 responses to “2015 Barbados Budget Reply…”

1. I hope that MIA reminds Barbadians that they have a choice.

2. Would like to hear MAM address this issue in her reply. Governor appears to be comfortable defending the peg (forex) and not as concerned about racking up public debt.

At 111%, gross debt-to-GDP continues to trend negatively
    and has increased each year since 2010. On 2 June 2014,
    Moody’s Investor Services downgraded Barbados debt
    from Ba3 to B3 and Standard & Poor’s from BB- to B on 19
    December 2014. – source EY 2015

3. Roverp
    Yes, a false choice!

4. Donna,

Are people actually still listening to what politicians say? Steupse!

5. Surprise suprise MAM has indicated she will not need the 3hrs and 58m.

Whew!

6. dream on!

7. MAM alleges the minister of commerce Donville Inniss was forced to admit at the post breakfast meeting this morning that his government has not distinguished itself as far as the private sector is concerned.

8. MAM has accused the MOF of NOT comparing the forex reserves year over year, if he had the Mar over Mar comparison shows 35 million less.

9. What!

Central Bank still printing money after being rapped on the knuckles by the IMF?

‘MAM gives epic FAIL to the 3 objectives.

10. MAM getting emotional after accusing the MOF of a sleight of hand to the measure in the Budget that homeowners of value 190,000 have to pay land tax.

11. David please what you mean by “MAM getting emotional “

12. @Hants

Here voice sounded pipsqueakesh and her right hand was flailing like crazy.

13. The issue of restraint of trade appears to have caught MAM’s attention. Asking a cross section of Bajans to get a tax clearance certificate was proposed in the budget.

14. MAM has revealed the Central Bank has 110 million in foreign exchange request from 2014.

15. David:

MAM like she gine hit dem on the issues of creating the a class of new and old oligarchs on the backs of the people, SGs and so on!

16. @Pacha

She mentioned Preconco, not sure how far she is prepared to go.

17. There can be no half measures. She will even deal with it or not!

18. Mam needs to stop using drama and theatrics and talk /alternatives proposals delivering a message to the public as to how her leadership would make a difference, Drama queen theater not going to fly ,people are looking for solutions,

19. MAM questions the removal of milk, frozen flying fish, vegetables from being VAT exempt.

20. AC

Your lover boy geh it to you yesterday. Tek some licks today neh!

21. wuh licks! sounds like warm over soap, SOLUTIONS MAM!SOLUTIONS,,any one can criticize,

22. MAM appears to differ philosophically with the government’s position of not refinancing debt to create fiscal space.

23. MAM declares 69 cents out of every dollar is to service debt!

24. MAM described as scandalous the discrepancy in the numbers reported by the Barbados Statistical Service (BSS) and the Central Bank by reporting the economy contracted by 3% Central Banks’ and 25% BSS.

25. She had the number 69 on her mind. mmmmmmmm

26. MAM sips an unknown beverage 1hr 30min in to her reply.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

AC

You could only be some sort of brasshole idgit”

You got the gumption to say that “People are looking for solutions??”

What de fvck was the solutions that Buffalo Sinkliar gave yesterday?? Was that his Jenny Craig Weightloss schedule that he took 4 hours to deliver??

You are one serious ingrunt BEATCH!! YOur ignorance knows no bounds!!

To try to put “the business of running the Government of Barbados” into the hands of the Opposition while your party in power, the Party in my Parliament, or PiPs and Pimps, whores away the duties, responsibilities and the coffers they are entrusted with are mismanaging, is really disingenuous.

But then again that is stating the obvious…your party was good at running a general election. FULLSTOP!!

Beyond that they did not have one clue as to how to run a government.

7 years later you are still learning the ropes.

Unfortunately, like a (misplaced) decimal point, (The Waste Tax Decimal Point that your Minister of Fine Ants will forever be famous for), this Garrison scholar, continues to show how “the best that the DLP can offer” is just “a Waste of Time”

28. MAM questions the sanity of the 70 year old Governor of the Central Bank to be adviser of the government.She questions his position on his unwillingness to reschedule debt.

She accused him of rolling over 400 million in treasury bills at 1% and a change in srpead which affected the sale of forex to commercial banks.

29. So far MAM is behaving as though Barbados operates in an environment of its own. That there are no external factors! A bit disingenuous!

30. @Pacha

Please expand on your generalization.

31. David

The local circumstances are surrounded by global pressures. They cannot be properly understood outside of those contexts. What she is doing, thus far, is only the party political part of political-economy.

32. A 12 year old could do that!

33. Well if one has the gumption to criticize ,Then one should have the gumption to offer solutions all though that might be a very Tall order for Mia when she has none ,Mia. cannot truly believe that telling the people that this govt is wrong is going to be enough , Hell NO. if the house is on Fire ,then it definitely makes no sense hollering the house is on fire.the commonsense answer would to be to activate solutions and not keep hollering Fire Fire.
    Say what u may, whether one agrees or not with the govt policies /budget ,there were solutions.. and not what Mia is demonstrating /a maddening and deafening recitations of what she has said before on the campaign trail.

34. David

Incoherence is on the rise. It will be a feat to rescue this reply from a new level of mediocrity.

On the above comment, we thought she would have located her analysis within a global framework and then tell us what she would do different, under these current circumstances.

She is nitpicking and wasting time on too many details. There are no large ideas or set of ideas anchoring this reply.

35. @Pacha

If you are watching now she is doing exactly what you criticize with WTO rules taking hold in 2017.

36. MAMs reveals tourism is earning 1.5 billion today which is less that 3.5 billion factoring 35% for inflation from 7 years ago.

37. A singular mention would not suffice.

38. David

This is something everybody knows. How would she influence the external environment to make Barbados better?

39. @ac June 16, 2015 at 5:51 PM #

Well if one has the gumption to criticize ,Then one should have the gumption to offer solutions all though that might be a very Tall order for Mia when she has none ,Mia. cannot truly believe that telling the people that this govt is wrong is going to be enough , Hell NO. if the house is on Fire ,then it definitely makes no sense hollering the house is on fire………………………………….

You got some nerve, a typical Dem. Is this not what you and your cronies did prior to 2008 and it is clear for all to see that you all had a plan to win an election but did not have a plan to govern……hence the reason we are in this long drawn out mess!

You want solutions, you cannot handle solutions, you are clueless!

40. This government does not care about poor people.

Can you imagine that you can no longer mortgage interest and house repairs when you file your taxes?

We are doomed!

41. Many Barbadians have used the mortgage interest claim to assist with house payments.

42. MAM is asking why Trantec is receiving all the business from the Transport Board and Sanitation and not UCAL.

She is asking why two ministers are driving vehicles owed by Transtec.

Of course we have discussed these matters on BU long time.

Minister Michael Lashley Needs to Respond to Conflict of Interest Questions

by David on May 10, 2015 in Opinion, Politics Edit

The political spin doctors are out in numbers and if we listen to them the Barbados economy is on the bounce. We sure hope so! However, while the country debates whether there will be about 1% growth or greater than 1%, a reminder economies in our key source tourist markets have been improving and therefore […]

167 CommentsContinue Reading →

Our Eyes are on YOU Ministers Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe

by David on December 10, 2014 in Barbados News, Opinion, Politics Edit

The unprecedented decision by a minister of the crown to instigate legal action against Omar Watson  because he posted a Facebook status which caused him distress and anxiety  continues to be a source of annoyance to the BU household. The more you think about it, sub judice or not, it is a frivolous action, and […]

43. How is any of these moral pleadings different to when the BLP were in power?

44. Wow you have a criminal, the speaker, cautioning an ‘honorable’ member.

45. You go Mia!

The corrupt speaker now quoting standing orders! One crook trying to defend another crook!

46. The meglamaniac joker we have for an opposition leader is pompasetting about government contracts – the same woman who waste all of my taxpayers money as Minister of Education on St. Leonards School; the same Mottley joker who responsible for the mess at Crab Hill Police Station- only an idiot would follow this hypocrite.

47. BU notes how the Speaker is allowing Denis Lowe to shout down MAM.

48. They have no manners or do not know protocol! Gutter people!

49. David “She is asking why two ministers are driving vehicles owed by Transtec”

I can answer that but i won’t.

50. MAM says Maloney et al received 23 million 540$ a sq foot for The Grotto, low income housing.

And the Housing Credit Fund managed by the Central Bank declared a dividend of 25 million.