Jack Warner will be recorded as one of the most enigmatic politicians of our time. His popularity as a politician in Trinidad belies the underhand dealings he has been associated with through the years in his capacity as Vice President of FIFA and Czar of the football operations in Trinidad.

The David Simmons report logged on BU blog World Cup 2014: Mohamed Bin Hammam, Jack Warner and Corruption @FIFA exposed Warner for who he is,  corrupt to the very core. BU unsuccessfully requested from Warner’s staff a copy of the Affidavit he (Warner)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

threatened to have filed against Simmons. People like Warner perpetuate the perception that politicians – especially when Black – are thieves and must not be trusted.

BU joins with millions around the world in the hope Swiss authorities will be able to make the charges stick.

Related Links:

382 responses to “Jack Warner Arrested”

1. “The USA has invaded several countries in recent years and continues to threaten Russian. These are all illegal actions, against international law. Russian, at the request of the Crimean people acted in defending ethnic Russians from an American sponsored coup.
    The USA, as an illegal actor is constructively creating chaos throughout the world, Russia is trying to its utmost to maintain international law. An international law system set up largely by the USA.

Who is the real law breaker? Why is this law breaker not being asked to take the big boulder of a mole from its own eye before it pretends to want to deliver justice to the world.”

Surely Pacha you cannot be serious. Despite the hypocritical and ill-advised intervention by the USA in countries over the years purportedly in the name of freedom they pale in insignificance when compared to the atrocities committed by Russia against nations like Poland and Czechoslovakia(remember Aklexander Dubcek) and against its own people. There has never been a Gulag in the USA as far as I can recall. Yes, the USA has its sins but it is far much better than countries like Russia and Cuba and North Korea. Russia is now the world’s leading bully spreading its tentacles again because of a USA president trying to ensure that his hands are not stained by the blood of young USA soldiers when he leaves the White House.

2. @balance June 5, 2015 at 12:22 AM “There has never been a Gulag in the USA as far as I can recall.”

Your statement is true only for white people. The tens of millions descendants of enslaved blackpeople in the United States would be surprised to hear that their fore-parents were not really in Gulags:

http://www.ask.com/wiki/Slavery_in_the_United_States#The_end_of_slavery
    From 1865 to 1875, federal troops were stationed in the south specifically to keep blacks from being re-enslaved. However, after ten years of protection the federal troops were withdrawn, leaving blacks at the mercy of their former captors. When African Americans in the south no longer had the protection of the federal troops, whites found other ways to practice involuntary servitude.

This lasted well into the 20th century, with the last state, Maryland, finally abolishing in 1972. Although slavery is commonly understood to have ended with the Emancipation Proclamation, or the Thirteenth Amendment, exhaustive research conducted by journalist Douglas A. Blackmon and reported in his Pulitzer Prize winning book Slavery By Another Name shows that thousands of African Americans were re-enslaved with shocking force and brutality after the period of Reconstruction was over.

The continued involuntary servitude took various forms but the primary forms included convict leasing, peonage, and sharecropping, with the latter eventually encompassing poor whites as well. Using convict leasing programs, African American men, often guilty of no crime at all, were arrested, compelled to work without pay, repeatedly bought and sold, and coerced to do the bidding of masters. Sharecropping as it was practiced during this period often involved severe restrictions on the freedom of movement of sharecroppers who could be whipped for leaving the plantation. Both sharecropping and convict leasing were legal and tolerated by both the north and south. However, peonage was an illicit form of forced labor. Its existence was ignored by authorities while thousands of African Americans were subjugated and held in bondage well into the 20th century.

3. “balance hush do. show me a politician who has never vacillate”
    Not at international level Ac but surely at local with this present crop of DLP politicians standing tall for saying one thing in the morning and another thing in the evening

4. @balance June 5, 2015 at 12:22 AM “There has never been a Gulag in the USA as far as I can recall.”

http://www.ask.com/wiki/Convict_lease?qsrc=3044

Convict leasing in the United States began during the Reconstruction Period (1865–1877) The constitutional basis for convict leasing is that the 1865 Thirteenth Amendment, [which] while abolishing slavery and involuntary servitude generally, permitt[ed] [enslavement] as a punishment for crime…Convict leasing was a system of penal labor practiced in the Southern United States, beginning with the emancipation of slaves at the end of the American Civil War in 1865, peaking around 1880, and officially ending in the last state, Alabama, in 1928. It persisted in various forms until it was abolished by president Franklin D. Roosevelt during World War II with Mississippi State Prison being the last prison in the United States to abolish it in 1944…

In Tennessee, the convict leasing system was halted on January 1, 1894 because of the attention brought by the Coal Creek War of 1891, an armed labor action lasting over a year. At the time both free and convict labor were used in mines, although workers were kept separated. Free coal miners attacked and burned prison stockades, and freed hundreds of black convicts; the related publicity and outrage turned Governor John P. Buchanan out of office. The end of convict leasing did not mean the end of convict labor…The state sited its new penitentiary, Brushy Mountain State Penitentiary, with the help of geologists. The prison built a working coal mine on the site, dependent on labor done by prisoners, and ran it at significant profit. These prison mines closed in 1966.,,

Alabama began convict leasing in 1846 and the practice lasted until 1928. The revenues derived from convict leasing were substantial, accounting for roughly 10 percent of total state revenues in 1883. This percentage surged to nearly 73 percent by 1898…Although the beginning of the 20th century brought increasing opposition to the system, state politicians resisted calls for its elimination. In states where the convict lease system was used, revenues from the program generated income nearly four times the cost (372%) of the costs of prison administration.

No Gulags in the United States you say?

Think, think again.

5. http://www.theguardian.com/football/2012/feb/16/ttff-jack-warner-haiti-funds

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation claims Jack Warner controlled account holding missing Haiti funds

Funds donated for earthquake-hit Haiti that never made it to [Haiti] were paid into a bank account controlled by the former Fifa vice-president Jack Warner, the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) claimed.

Around £440,000 of emergency aid money has gone missing since it was donated two years ago…In 2010 Warner was special adviser to his country’s federation and the cash from Fifa ($250,000) and the South Korean FA ($500,000) was paid into a TTFF account it claims only he controlled.,,Lord Triesman, the former Football Association and England 2018 World Cup bid chairman, said last year that Warner had asked him for a £500,000 donation to buy the rights to the World Cup for Haiti so that games could be shown to survivors of the catastrophic earthquake on big screens. “I was later told Jack Warner owned the television rights for Haiti,”

6. balance

do you not recall George W bush comment “read my lips no new taxes”

7. balance all you have said you are guilty of from your days as an executive member to todsy

8. @ Simple Simon
    balance watches too much CNN….

9. Simple Simon

Yuh could have told them about Guantanamo Bay, a present gulag, if ever there was one!

On second thought, you were quite right, the whole of the USA is a gulag for Black folks, other minorities, even today!

10. Jack is NOT taking any prisoners.

Scotia director Mack resigns
    …after family business named in US probe
    Published on Jun 4, 2015, 12:10 am AST
    18 CommentsArticle
    Share:FacebookTwitter
    Scotiabank Trinidad Photo: ACCA Global

Scotiabank Trinidad and Tobago Ltd director Christopher Mack has resigned.

Mack was appointed a director of the bank in March 2013.

His resignation became effective on June 1.

Mack, who holds bachelor’s and MBA degrees from the University of Toronto, is the managing director of family business JT Allum and Co Ltd, owner of the JTA Supermarkets chain in Central and South Trinidad.

In 2013, Mack and his family turned the sod at Corinth, San Fernando, for the $500 million C3 Centre, which will include a JTA Supermarket, a MovieTowne cineplex and a Chuck-E-Cheese family restaurant and entertainment centre, among other attractions.

Scotiabank confirmed his resignation in response to an Express enquiry yesterday, saying: “Mr Mack delivered his resignation from the board of directors, citing increased executive responsibilities with the JTA group.”

Under scrutiny

The JTA Supermarkets chain is the business interest currently enga­ging the attention of US law enforcement au­thorities, sources told the Express last week.

The eight-count federal indict­­ment, which makes corruption allegations against former Government minister Jack Warner, alleges the ex-FIFA vice-president diverted a “significant portion” of a US$10 million bribe to his private account in a local bank and “laundered the funds through accounts held in the name of a large supermarket chain and affiliated investment company in Trinidad”.

Sources identified the supermarket chain as JTA Supermarkets and the affiliated company mentioned in the US-issued indictment against Warner as JT Allum and Co Ltd.

Owner and director of the JTA Group Carl Mack last week confirmed there were “some foreign currency pur­cha­ses” from Warner by the company’s accountant, Kenny Rampersad.
    http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150604/news/scotia-director-mack-resigns

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David[BU]

I will start this submission with this excerpt

“Republic Bank Ltd (RBL) managing director David Dulal-Whiteway has said the bank is doing an internal investigation into the FIFA-related wire transfers.

RBL was among six regional banks listed as having completed wire transfers of large sums of money for the FIFA executives who were charged by the US last week.

The indictment shows in 2008, a high-ranking FIFA offi­cial caused payments totaling $10 million to be wired from a FIFA account in New York, USA, for credit to accounts held in the names of the Caribbean Football Union and the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Associations of Football (CONCACAF).”

Couple this with the ScotiaBank story above and what we have is the beginnings of a long tale of money laundering that may have been facilitated by many regional banks over the last 10 years or more.

It just goes to show you that what is done in the darkness shall be know of in the light.

A lot of the high flying criminals who felt that they were protected because the $$ was (OR SHOULD I SAY IS) going “overseas to Amurca now are shytin* brick in their pants because the US ent holding no secrets fuh nobody.

12. “Bush Tea June 5, 2015 at 7:55 AM #

@ Simple Simon
    balance watches too much CNN”

Seems like we are in the same boat Bushie watching the news from the Great Satan but we both know that CNN, FOX ,MSNBC are all at liberty to criticise their government whereas in places like Russia , dissent is not tolerated. Take Edward Snowden for instance; had he been a Russian and exposed sinister intelligence activity performed by the Government; he would have been hunted down like a dog right or wrong.

13. @ balance
    Come on B…… if anyone else but you had said that Bushie would ignore it…. BUT YOU KNOW BETTER.
    You watched those USA networks when Bush and gang were setting up to murder hundreds of thousands of Iraqis, and to kill Saddam? It was not even a case of criticism …. they were actually in the VANGUARD of the murderous plans….the ultimate lackies…

The West encourages and protects enemy defectors such as Snowden too.. Not saying that Russia (or anyone) is any better, but at least in Russia we know UP FRONT that dissent is not tolerated ….whereas the West tends to shout for ‘fish’ while they are selling ducks….

14. So a local Director of Scotiabank is forced to bite the dust because of fallout from the FIFA contagion? I think Scotia may have larger problems based on this story in the G & M.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/industry-news/marketing/scotiabank-caught-up-in-a-tangled-web-of-fifa-corruption-scandal/article24828120/

15. “David Cameron: Fifa scandal must prompt corruption purge”

I am no fan of the UK Prime Minister however he has made a good point that the “cancer of corruption ….. poisons and stifles”.

Corruption has a more poisonous effect on developing nations than it has on more mature economies.

I would have no objection if the Caribbean region is exposed to more rigorous auditing from external agencies, especially if this would ensure that our extremely dodgy politicians and business people are kept FIRMLY in check.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-33025225

16. it truly boggles the mind when leprechauns like bush sh,te would shout from the roof rafters about govt curtailing freedom of speech but have no qualms supporting dictators like Putin who at the drop of a pin jail dissenters for expressing opposing views, hypocrisy has no bounds,

17. St George's Dragon Avatar

I wish David Cameron good luck exposing corruption around the world. Before he gets too excited about the rest of the world, perhaps he should look closer to home and do something about the Al Yamamah case. In 2006 the Blair Government told the Serious Fraud Office to close down the case in which the SFO was investigating backhanders being paid by a UK defence company to Saudi royals. There are allegations that the payments continue to this day.
    Do I detect a slight whiff of hypocrisy?

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ **

Your ignorance truly knows no bounds.

Where does Bush Tea live?

Barbados!!

Where does Putin Live? Russia. Notwithstanding the glaring non-sequitur that you present about “supporting” Putin there are 187 countries across the globe and any person commenting on the incompetence of the Government of Barbados under this DLP (and previous BLP administrations) would fall into the same situation of failing to mention the name of a leader some place in the world who. like your DLP government, is seeking to muzzle the voice of dissent.

19. Of course there is more than a whiff of hypocrisy. In the so called democracies of the world we have convinced ourselves what we do,right or wrong, is justified.

20. @ ac

You always seem to make the error of taking peoples’ positions on issues in isolation.

Must Bushie or even David or Pachamama, with every post or comment, restates the totality of one’s positions, on every matter?

At that rate we will all be dwelling in what a sneaky fellow once called ‘year naught’.

We have never surmised that Bushie or anyone else of his ilk is any ‘respecter of persons’

But yet your ill-informed, minutia, of unwarranted missives will continue. There must be a language to discuss such a person, as you. However, the word/s currently escape this writer. LOL

21. A big issue observed in BU debate discussions over the years is the unwillingness by many to yield on positions to move the discussion to a constructive stage. We become so embroiled in the personality of the commenter we sacrifice the opportunity to constructively engage on the issue on the ‘table ‘. The irony is for the most part is we are anonymous players who use the cloak to play advocate often times.

22. @ David

That is the kind of thinking which keeps the country spinning like to top. Of course, you’re right and we envy you not! We need to move these discourses forward, not retread old ground, time after time. Only fools behave like that!

23. @ David

If people could focus on the future. What it portends, maybe helpful.

24. @Pacha

The ability to focus on the future requires individuals to be informed. So many of us relinquish personal responsibility to expand our horizons to others. And those others will always come with agendas.

25. A Trinidadian friend told me it was an open secret in T&T that Jack was using funds from undocumented sources to shore up his position so the question is how come the” woman with balls” (as someone described her) didn’t distance herself from him but extended a warm welcome and gave him increasingly important positions within the Gov’t. He continued to hold these positions until the merde hit the fan and it became untenable for Kamla to continue to support him.

Here is an editorial from the Jamaica Observer.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/What-was-Prime-Minister-Persad-Bissessar-thinking_19047615

26. @Sargeant

Why did the DLP not distance itself from Leroy Parris and CLiCO?

27. Just though I’d share this sighting from the Jamaica Observer

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/-There-s-nothing-to-apologise-for-_19077433

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant June 6, 2015 at 9:31 AM

Sarge, we want you to respond to the query posed by David BU @ June 6, 2015 at 9:29 AM. “@ Sargeant: Why did the DLP not distance itself from Leroy Parris and CLiCO?”

No red herrings this time. No $75,000 cheque to wave.
    Just us waiting with bated breath to see if Parris will get his just des(s)erts as Warner is about to ‘enjoy’ in a U.S State penitentiary; just like Madoff, just like Stanford.

29. Will someone at BU stop sending me 5 or more PER DAY of the emails on JACK WARNER. I’ve seen enough of the bugger. If proven guilty the law should put him away for life and seize ALL his assets. I never trusted businessmen from Trinidad (this has proven itself on more than one occasion over the years).

30. @Miller

You’ve been conspicuous by your absence recently but I don’t know why the DLP cast its lot with Parris as I am not a member of the DLP or have any knowledge of its inner workings but perhaps I can conclude that perhaps Parris has some cards to play if they try to distance themselves from him and may be predisposed to expose “secrets” as Warner has threatened. Another theory is that by throwing Parris out in the Sargassum weed they will also tarnish the legacy of St. John de Baptist (Thompson) who delivered them from the political desert and whose name could place on Medical Centre?

O another vein Mia is slated to address the HC/QC Alumni tonight at their annual Dinner in TO, now why did I mention that? A little bird told me that the DLP Branch here has a Bus Trip to Niagara Falls today, yuh can’t even escape the local politics up here.

Moi? I think I’m going to the Zoo the animals are friendlier and more trustworthy.

31. @ Sargeant June 6, 2015 at 9:26 AM

Interesting editorial from the Jamaica Observer.

Wonder what “favours” the owner of the Observer has laid on various Caribbean politicians in exchange for concessions.

32. @ Sargeant June 6, 2015 at 11:07 AM

“O another vein Mia is slated to address the HC/QC Alumni tonight at their annual Dinner in TO, now why did I mention that?”

Don’t know why you mentioned that, because Mia addressed the HCQC fundraising dinner on May 9.

Unlike another Barbados politician whose speeches go on for over an hour, Mia’s 25 minute speech was, according to one of the organizers, “vintage Mia – engaging, dynamic and refreshing.”

Have a good time in Niagara Falls

33. @Due Diligence
    If you remember I was the individual that brought the info on this forum about Mia speaking to the HC/QC Group and you asked about the date and location etc. I promptly forgot and when I heard about the DLP’s I thought that it was the same date as I had no intention of attending either event and I regret misleading others about the timing of the events as for some reason I thought that they had coincided perhaps that is a sign that my memory is not what it was.

Thanks for the cheap shot about Niagara Falls.

34. I hope MIA paid a courtesy call on the Mayor of Toronto and the Premier of Ontario.

35. ””’The German government sent Saudi Arabia a shipment of rocket-propelled grenades (RPG) to persuade the kingdom to support Germany’s bid to host 2006 World Cup, German media say.””

”””German newspaper Die Zeit reported on Thursday that then German Chancellor Gerhard Schröder authorized the shipment a week before the vote in 2000 to swing the Saudi vote from Morocco to Germany, with the arrangement made by the German Football Association, The Daily Mail reported on Friday.”””

http://www.presstv.com/Detail/2015/06/06/414530/Germany-FIFA-Saudi-Arabia-Gerhard-Schroder-RPG

36. @ St George’s Dragon June 6, 2015 at 7:46 AM,

You are 100% correct. There is a difference. If the UK economy were built on corruption it would still have the resilience to survive. Nigeria and Italy are two economies built primarily on corrupt practices yet they still “thrive and survive”. The reasons for this are clear – Italians and Nigerians are creative and know how to survive irrespective of their corrupt and incompetent governments. The same can not be said of Barbados. Mark my words: Barbados sooner or later will implode.

37. Here is an interesting link that details how the 10 million was spent with documents /records /transactions /statements to verify especially for those who like to gloat about other peoples short comings/failures

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-33039014

38. This the the business in Trinidad where the BBC is reporting 4 million dollars flowed into. We wait as Bushie alluded who from Barbados received a brown paper bag.

http://jtasupermarkets.com/home/about-us/

39. ””””””’CAPE TOWN, South Africa (AP) — A 2007 email shows FIFA President Sepp Blatter and then-South African President Thabo Mbeki held “discussions” over $10 million that ultimately went to allegedly corrupt soccer executives as payback for supporting the country’s World Cup bid, a newspaper claimed Sunday.””””””””

””””””””””’South Africa’s Sunday Times reported that the email from FIFA secretary general Jerome Valcke to the South African government asks when the $10 million will be transferred””””””””””””””

http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/soccer/fifa-email-connects-sepp-blatter-to-dollar10m-newspaper-claims/ar-BBkN585?ocid=iehp

40. Jack continues to be under the global spotlight, he can be assured he has international attention for a likkle while..lol

On Sunday, 7 June 2015, Barbados Underground wrote

41. @David June 7, 2015 at 6:14 PM “Jack…can be assured he has international attention for a likkle while..lol”

Cuh dear David man.

42. @David June 7, 2015 at 11:19 AM “We wait [to see] who from Barbados received a brown paper bag.”

To quote Shaggy “It wasn’t me.”

43. @David,

the focus on Jack Warner will allow the big fish to cover their tracks.

It is obvious that governments were involved in “lobbying” and “persuading”.

44. @@Hants

In that case Jack will have to squeal louder.

45. @ David
    …sorry for you if you think that only Football moguls are scared…
    LOL… a lotta ‘sports’ money got spent bout here in the last 20 years hear..?
    …ad we don’t have much to show for um…
    This Jack Warner business stirring up the jobby all over the world….

46. @Bush Tea

All we need is for someone in the know to leak statements of disbursement by the local lads.

47. ”””’Russia and Qatar could lose the right to host the 2018 and 2022 World Cups if evidence is found of corruption in the bidding process, a FIFA official was quoted as saying on Sunday.
    The comments by the head of FIFA’s auditing and compliance committee came as bribery claims mounted against disgraced former FIFA vice president Jack Warner, the man at the heart of the scandal engulfing football’s world body.
    “If evidence exists that Qatar and Russia received the (World Cup) awards only thanks to bribes, then the awards could be annulled,” Domenico Scala told the Swiss newspaper Sonntagszeitung.
    He said however that “this evidence has not been provided” so far.”””””””’

See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/football/russia-qatar-may-lose-right-to-host-2018-2022-world-cups-report/#sthash.bPogd4zp.dpuf

48. Russia losing the 2018 World Cup? Not gonna happen the geopolitics and logistics involved in taking the World Cup from Russia is too much to contemplate, of course the opportunity to embarrass Russia and remind the world of how corrupt Russia is will not be missed by many countries but as long as they qualify they will attend.

Quatar is another matter, this is the singular country that made people genuinely unhappy when they were awarded the World Cup but the Quataris have spread so much money around inside and outside of football that they may still have enough support to host the event despite the slave labour and freakish conditions that players would have to play under.