However, Michael Carrington with-holding a clientโ€™s funds for 2 years [whether or not he felt justified in doing such, the fact remains the client filed a civil suit against him to recover his property – Artaxerxes

Three months after Speaker Michael Carrington was ordered by the High Court to handover over two hundred thousand dollars to a former wheelchair bound client, he has done the unthinkable by breaking his silence on the matter. Carrington was reported in the local media using what BU considers less than stellar arguments to defend his position. What is interesting is the brazen and crass manner he delivered his defence away from the privilege parliament affords.ย  The fact the people of Barbados have been kept waiting on the Committee of Privileges report seems to have low priority. Why would Carrington โ€œunburdenโ€ himself before the report is laid in Parliament?

BU will not give this matter more than a few words to express our annoyance at the lack of outrage by civil society in response to Carringtonโ€™sย  reprehensible act. An act which required the intervention of the High Court of Barbados.

BU understands why his family has been โ€œtraumatizedโ€, career โ€œendangeredโ€ and reputation โ€œdamagedโ€™โ€™. Who led the action which has led to the distress? In any Commonwealth country in the world – including Tonga and Uganda – if the Speaker of the House had become embroiled in a matter which resulted in bringing one of the highest offices in the governance system into disrepute, nothing less than a resignation from the Chair if not parliament would be expected. History has recorded the ignominy of a greedy act by Speaker Michael Carrington, a burden Barbadians today and for generations will have to be reminded.ย ย  The gravitas with which the Speaker of the House of Assembly is expected to perform the role will never be the same.

193 responses to “Brazen Michael Carrington Breaks His Silence”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

You seem to confuse mansion with monstrosity. Please check your dictionary.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

You said: “There is not a word in the dictionary to describe this moron!”

I beg to differ unless you dictionary doesn’t have the word, “GOAT”.

3. I would go with goat, Caswell. LOL!

4. Colonel,

Are you sure the monstrosity is the crook’s? I thought a monstrosity near to David Seale’s rum place was his?

But there again, some people are greedy!

5. Check out out LAWYERS in the NEWS page,

6. Prodigal Son April 15, 2015 at 5:24 PM #

โ€œAnd Mr Crook talking about people embarrassed his family and endangered his career? As Mr Griffiths said, he brought this on himself. There is not a word in the dictionary to describe this moron!โ€

Talk ya talk, Prodigal!!!

7. Monstrosity or Mansion? Lets settle for a word borrow from his boss , Monstrous.
    From reliable sources, the monstrosity in Jackson is his , built on land commandeered from his poorer relatives.

8. BU understands the BA has had to deal with complaints about this man on other occasions. There is so much we sweep under the carpet in Barbados.

Carrington you need to shut the help up!

9. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

David, question for you or any other knowledgeable BU person re the matter of the disbarred attorney Therold Fields .

Will the outstanding judgement of over $600K be paid from the BA’s coffers, from Mr. Fields confiscated property or is this one of these hollow victories where the client who initiated this matter remains out of pocket?

10. @David,

Bajans have to be more aggressive in their approach to managing their money.

No Lawyer should be allowed to keep a Client’s money in a Client account longer than is reasonable.

What process can take longer than a month to transfer money to a client?

David can you get one of you Legal luminaries to tell us if there is some procedure that laymen like me don’t know bout.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 15, 2015 at 6:50 PM #
    โ€œBU understands the BA has had to deal with complaints about this man on other occasions. There is so much we sweep under the carpet in Barbados.โ€

The Griffiths’ case is just the fuse that lit the tip of the simmering iceberg.
    The man has been robbing poor people for years.
    Plantation Deeds and his imaginary friend John Hanson can confirm.

12. @Word

The court order is for Fields to pay. BU has posted about the Bar Association Compensation Fund which as far as we are aware has largely been left untouched.

It is a club, the members believe in the cry – all for one and one for all.

13. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Ok David, excellent. Thnx. The details on Comp Fund. answers the basic question.

I realize that the court ordered him to pay but I don’t get the impression that he will comply unless forced by further court action.

In any civil matter I imagine the successful plaintiff can levy against the loser’s assets but persons of Mr. Fields’ personality will likely have no property or viable assets in their name.

Thus that Comp Fund may come into play.

14. It seems that all these UWI lawyers are the same.These degenerates been doing this shite long long time.
    Now he is a victim. Baby wants his bottle. You do the crime you do the time except in Buhbaydoss where tiefing lawyers will relieve you of your money and ignore your ass and get away with it.
    All dem rass want exposing.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I just had it on good authority that a certain lawyer went to court to represent a leper but the lawyer on the other side objected because the first lawyer did not pay his fees and therefore did not have a valid practicing certificate. I am told that the leper rushed out and paid the fees for his lawyer.

16. Yea, Caswell, I heard that at a reception I attended tonight. People in high places are laughing at these morons we have in Barbados.

If only they would join with us on BU and run these jackasses out of the place!

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

When I heard of this fiasco, my immediate concern was whether a person without a valid practicing certificate could be appointed to chair a statutory board where the law specifically requires a lawyer to be chairman. I do not have the answer.

18. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Caswell, your remarks ” a certain lawyer went to court to represent a leper but the lawyer on the other side objected because the first lawyer … did not have a valid practicing certificate” begs further enquiry of you.

Is that the de facto procedure then for those who have not paid the annual fee? i.e. become official only if its raised as an issue.

Also, does this make a matter in which a said ‘invalid’ lawyer has acted null & void?

Surely not, I expect as surely some cases would get thrown out.

Based on a comment that was noted in David’s BU remarks about the Comp Fund back in 2013 when he said in his May post : “Yet, it is noted that the amount paid into the Contribution Fund falls FAR short of what it should be…”

He was asserting that not all lawyers had been properly accredited as fully paid up and this was due to alleged non-payment by gov’t for the state lawyers but I expect that like the attorney above other private lawyers also were in arrears.

So I imagine this is another of those trite matters that is glossed over by the politicians and elites.

19. Maybe, Caswell, the big fish does not deal in those small matters. He probably thought he too is above the law! This embarrassment should humble him a bit for now!

If the case is further delayed, he has no one to blame now!

20. Each and every day these jackasses are demonstrating to the rest of the world, that we have truly earned the right to be called a republic.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel

You should have said: Each and every day these jackasses are demonstrating to the rest of the world, that we have truly earned the right to be called repugnant.

22. Prodigal, “This embarrassment should humble him a bit for now!” Yuh think? It will be arrogantly dismissed as ‘a minor misunderstanding’ or ‘an insignificant oversight’. A bit like a false invoice, or millions in undisclosed taxable income. “Humble, my ass”

23. Why did Mr Griffiths wait fourteen years to take the matter to court?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy April 15, 2015 at 10:36 PM
    โ€œEach and every day these jackasses are demonstrating to the rest of the world, that we have truly earned the right to be called a republicโ€

Let us see if Bajans- known over the world for their naivety and docility- would fall for this republic status lark under an administration headed by a man who has no reservations about publicly identifying with a morally despicable character proven forensically to be fraudster, money launderer and tax evader.

We shall also see if the Royal Loyal Opposition would accede to such a Constitutionally required amendment under a โ€˜bare-facedโ€™ crooked Speaker who makes a mockery of the whole Westminster traditions and canons of decency.
    We shall see from this political class of moral degenerates claiming to be the peopleโ€™s representatives and hence the voice of their invisible God.

25. @Word

There is the position held by some lawyers that membership in the BA is not mandatory and in protest they have withheld payment and consequently have been practicing without a certificate. This is a position dealt with in BU blogs.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@LiamCho

………..LiamCho April 15, 2015 at 11:23 PM #
    Why did Mr Griffiths wait fourteen years to take the matter to court?……….

Mr. Carrington kept on telling the poor man that there where financial matters delaying the process of the transfer that was the fault of the other law firm. Over the years Mr. Carrington would provide a very legal articulated excuse to which Mr. Poor Griffith believed because he knew that the system that process judicial matters, works slow and unfavourably. However through a tip, Mr. Griffith was duly informed that the money was already committed since the crooked lying bitch did not know that the smarts of Mr. Griffith woke him up one morning to do his own tinkering

Mr. Griffith then got the facts he needed, kept on asking the crooked bitch for his money to which the crooked bitch ignored him. When Mr. Griffith drop the bomb in his crutch about the money, the crooked bitch Carrington behave unseemingly and arrogantly to which Mr. Griffith decided to exposed the royal ass of the Queens Council for what he truly was and is.

The Crooked bitch Carrington thought he would have been able to get the money back in the account that he had already used for his good pleasure. He was trying frivilously to put back all to give back the poor man whilst hoping somewhere along the line that Mr. Griffith would have succumb to a heart attack or cockup otherwise and dead.

When the heat bite the Crooked Bitch Carrington in his ass, he struggled perfusely to stop Mr. Griffith from going public by offering him part payment. Mr. Griffith said he want all of his money and went public. The other crooked bitch in the form of the Prime Minister told him to get a lawyer as the potential for fallout further with his administration was eminent. As is the usual style of the Prime Minister to ignore the facts of wrong doing and exonerate and praise the crookery, prominence stepped in, colluded in the form of the DLP machinery, lackeys and business partners in profit and crime, to foot the bill for the scum bag Carrington. The crooked bitch then paid in full, the interest and all feeling good that no one could say he steal anything.

As a result of the deal struck for Mr. Carrington the crook had no choice but to pledge all support behind any actions taken by the DLP. His first order of business was to pull wool over eyes in a shitety plea. The second was to throw full support for his boss push for republic status. The pipers covered his ass and now they are picking every tune he must now sing.

27. Just checking if anyone can answer at least one of my earlier questions, the most important one at least – Is it against the law or against the code of ethics (or whatever they are supposed to obey) of lawyers in Barbados to use money placed in a legal practice clientsโ€™ account for anything other than that clientโ€™s business?

28. @Mitchlans,

Whether it is legal or not is irrelevant.

It appears the only problem for Bajan lawyers is not having the money when the client demands it.

Then it could take 8 to 14 years for a “resolution”.

29. Disagree Hants. If it is illegal, then he has broken the law and should be prosecuted for doing so. That is not what has happened. If it did, that would cast a completely different light on him remaining as Speaker. How can you have a Speaker with a criminal record?

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Mitchlans

It might not be an acceptable practice and there is the possibility that it could be tabooed within the law firm’s accounting procedures. But the practice of law as it stands could easily accept the many years of doing deposits this way as a standard practice, without any specific stipulations after a period time. I say this to say that if this matter was not brought in the public’s domain, we would not have had this light being shed on what lawyers do to clients money and where they keep it. To answer your question, if it was illegal he would have been locked to shite up. There is no law therefore that is in place that would have forced an arrest base on the practice but their must be rules according to bar that should implicate him in the years he took before he paid the man his money. What needs to be questioned and ascertained is if Mr. Griffith cannot bring a case against him for professional misconduct and any sufferings he Mr. Griffith endured at the hands of Mr. Carrington during the years of pleading and begging. If I was Mr. Griffith, I would be pursuing my next case against him for misrepresentation and pschological trauma and suffering the entire incident has placed on his health.

31. @@Mitchlans

Based on the BA’s Code of Ethics the answer is yes.

32. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

david, thanks for that update re…”position held by some lawyers that membership in the BA is not mandatory … This is … in BU blogs.”

I did catch that commentary in one of my reviews of your blog and thus it led me to the query to Caswell.

Surely as your statement suggests there is absolutely no legal direction on that matter if it’s still being debated.

And the fact that Parliament have not established a definitive legislation on the matter suggest clearly that it can’t be that important in the grand scheme of things.

Caswell himself advised that it’s clear that a non ‘certified’ lawyer is still a practicing lawyer because there was such an attorney presiding in his capacity as an attorney who was not ‘certified’ and nothing was made of it or no actions he took were invalidated.

So frankly all just another humbug; you pay the fee when needed to clear the air and simply have the damn thing backdated for the start of the ‘year’ and all’s well that ends well.

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

If a code of ethics governs lawyers conduct why then is Mr. Carrington still a lawyer. Why did this not come into play when the matter became one of ethics and morals.

34. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Sunny Sunshine, I know you know that there is a code ethics governing all professions.

Does the Hippocratic Oath stop doctors from charging gargantuan fees for their services or doing shoddy work and leaving swabs or whatever in a patient after surgery?

Does the building code of ethics stop Engineers/Architects etc from substituting sub-standard materials that endanger lives so they can make more profits on the project?

Does the code of writing stop people from cussing and making unproven accusation about others on social media (LOLLL)!

Carrington may be the current poster child for legal misdeeds but he is certainly not alone.

It was ironic in the news item re the disbarred attorney that the current attorney representing the client from England was himself brought before the courts for mishandling of client money.

That I thought was rather classic.

35. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Ooopps my bad..re ‘It was ironic in the news item re the disbarred attorney that the current attorney representing the client from England was himself brought before the courts for mishandling of client money.”

Wrong person.

Well look at that. There I go slandering people.

THAT attorney was not to my knowledge brought up from any such mishandling of client;s money. The person I was thinking about is another Phillip.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@De Ingrunt Word

Yeah Yeah pompersett. We got laws, codes, rules, stipulations and mek up as we go along. Still that does not stop the shite. So what is your solution the word that Ingrunt.

37. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Sunny, I wish I had the perfect ingrunce to solve the problem. I don’t.

So at this point a combination of Pacha’s guillotine, Bushie’s BBE and a healthy does of vigilance and this powerful thing called social media is what we have.

Social media provides the avenue for demonstration, shaming and agitation in a way never available before.

Particularly in a small country like ours used well it can be the extra weight to tip the scales against evil doers.

38. @SSS

Let us see if Tariq Khan responds to your question.

Bear in mind Mr. Griffiths is on public record admitting he is still waiting on responses from the Bar Association.

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@De Ingrunt Word

Not if Doville Inniss gets his way. But social media is heaping the cow la la pun top their heads.

Tariq Khan. Sorry not impress at all. He came out and said that bajans trust lawyers and some other shite. I bet if a survey was done he would see that the only peole who trust lawyers are th lawyers themselves and the immediate family of every lawyer. So a survey would show that 96% dont trust with a 14% trusting.

40. @ David (et al) so if it is a breach of the BA Code of Ethics to use client funds other than for the business of that specific client, the next question has to be whether the judge’s request for an account included proof that the funds had remained on deposit in the practice Clients’ Account for the duration. If not, would it be reasonable for the BA to request such proof in view of the delay in repayment, if no other acceptable reason for the delay could be given.

Remember, I asked if it would be reasonable for the BA to make such a request, not whether such a request would ever be made….

41. It would be reasonable especially given the offender is a ‘QC’.

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Reason in this matter would dictate for purposes of verification if indeed the client’s money was in the said in account. I believe wholeheartedly that it was already diverted.

There is no reason for those who took interest and should take interest in this case to determine the facts of Carrington’s sleeze. So a lot of unreasonable outcomes, defenses and show of arrogance went beyond reason and comprehension. The long and short is, this situation was not grounds for reasoning. Carrington gone clear and the outcome for Leroy Parris will be the same. Both broke no laws.

43. Dear Mikey:

Nuff, nuff people were hoping to see you on the front page of today’s Nation.

Stupsee, but it is just some no name lawyer.

44. @Sunshine Sunny Shine April 16, 2015 at 12:30 PM “.So a survey would show that 96% dont trust with a 14% trusting.”

96 + 14 =110

In any survey only 100% of people can respond.

It is this sort of “new math” that makes the lawyers believe that we the people are stupid.

45. @Prodigal Son April 15, 2015 at 5:24 PM โ€œAnd Mr Crook talking about people embarrassed his family.”

There is no need for Mr. Speaker’s family to be embarrassed. They have presumably done nothing wrong. Unless of course they have been helping him to spend his clients money.

In which case they should be ASHAMED, not embarrassed.

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@SS

Let me explain the maths. 4% represents the lawyers and their familes. The other 10% will be fabrications used by the lawyers to buffer their support. My maths is correct. You need to check yours.

47. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

David April 16, 2015 at 12:37 PM #

It would be reasonable especially given the offender is a โ€˜QCโ€™.@

Quick Crook?

48. St George's Dragon Avatar

Or were the figures provided by DeLisle Worrell?

49. @Sunshine Sunny Shine

You seem to speak from an informed position and you have provided a very well written account of what could have occurred. Source?

I took interest in this since the consensus is that we put Carrington’s head on a stake a la Ned Stark but I really don’t see why.

Carrington got himself in some hot water with a client and Griffiths must be commended for being able to do his research to prove a lawyer wrong and win a civil court case against him. Frankly, that is the Carrington only faux-pas, professionally.

This is Carrington’s first major slip up in his earnest career as a politician/lawyer and it appears that no laws were broken, yet people continue to castigate Carrington as though Griffiths was approached in a ‘Knock-Knock, spray-spray, hand over ya money’ fashion.

I am not defending Carrington by any means but legally, there aren’t any grounds for disbarment or resignation and I am finding it difficult to crucify Carrington as there is a fine line between malpractice and what we have before us since both men contested this for fourteen years.

None of us can question the validity of the Prime Minister, who is also a member of the legal profession with insurmountable experience as compared to Carrington, so what happens when PM Stuart says no laws were broken?

Do we rewrite an entire constitution or draft new laws to put Carrington’s head on a stake, a la Ned Stark, and prove the Prime Minister wrong?

50. Wait LiamCho! So a lawyer can use his client’s funds for whatever purpose he pleases, be it personal or otherwise and then scrabble around and get contributions from friends and supporters when the shit hits the fan because he ain’t got the funds to repay the man from his clients account. But until said shit hits said fan, no reason to do diddly squat other than ignire said client. OK den. Seems like maybe Fields should not be disbarred after all. Maybe he should be made a QC.