The Monarchy of Corporate Control

TPP
While the sheeple have their heads deep into the mash of local politics a silent more pervasive new world order is firmly laying its foundations. Foundations so deep, the axiom that monarchy was to be so large that the sun (son) was never to set, will now be quaint. Foundations of a vicious, corporate, new liaise-faire, which is to extend to all the social spaces. Spaces where its last incarnation dared not to tread. We are to contend that the determination to inject a project for a republic in Barbados, as a means of giving life to a dying monarchy, and a dying political culture, are both totally irrelevant to any sane view about the future.
While Caribbean peoples are still sleep-walking through the last neo-liberal project, the goal posts for an eternal, cultural domination, have been moved to a different planet, as it were! So instead of fighting for a local woman to be head of state we may well have to consider the terms by which Nike, the footwear brand, is to be our new sovereign. Instead of thinking that some aged term like ‘Republic of Barbados’ or ‘The Republic of Barbados’ is to be attached to our not-so-fair land, we may want to address our minds to the possibility that a brand, not ‘the Barbados brand’ may exert its ‘right’ to name our country, as any sovereign assumes, as by ‘divine right’. A ‘right’ ordained to this new corporate sovereign by God herself but purchased within the sovereign debt marketplace.
Underlying this new ‘monarchy of control’ is a discourse which requires a certain kind of ‘intelligence’. An intelligence that looks to the future. A future grounded in a knowledge of the past, with a clear view of present circumstances. But then again we have never been able to discern the extent to which Caribbean people care about a future of our own making or why there has never been a type of ‘military intelligence’ that could replace the cheap gutter-snipping which could be explained, we imagine, within certain folk traditions.
And the rise of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) ,and its allied groups, come at a time where up to 93 million Americans of working age are either unemployed, on welfare, on other social services or in prison. At its heart, we are seeing the end of empire and its struggle to survive. Its critical chapter on Intellectual Property [Rights] has only recently been known to the public – thanks to Wiki-leaks. For ‘intelligence’ had determined that the people of the world were not to know about the most dire threat to all that we are, or think we are, was about to be set upon us. The corporate person has morphed into a vampire insistent of sucking the life’s blood of the people. People of colour, as used in their Petri dish, as test subjects before the full corporate roll-out in September.
So while we run around thinking that we could make some ‘change’ to anything, corporate agents, working with their wholly-owned governments, who in secret can presume to re-order the world in their own image, as if God! As Roy says, we are starting to hear this new world breathe. We can see it ‘re-imagining’ in Detroit where Blacks, Latinas and working class people, more generally, are being driven out, en masse – making room for the corporate monarchists. Or Chicago, where Rahm Emanuel may indeed get another chance to further deny water to residents as part of a wider ‘trinity’ to dislocate people of colour throughout the United States, in order to make room for this new, total, corporate, liaise-faire, global state.
We seem to remember the East India Company was the precursor of the modern entity. An entity created by the crown for the ‘civilizational’ projects deemed necessary to support trade and colonial expansion. Trade in ‘flesh’ and other cargoes from the East. But the idea that a corporate person should have since assumed more power than real human beings could hardly have been envisioned. Corporations have made outlandish claims to ‘free speech’ and have won the support of the United States Supreme Court for this ‘right’. A right which now allows US corporations to spend unlimited resources to get a (real) person to reflect their needs in all level of human government. We are more and more being brought to a ‘truth’ that corporations are people. But how can a real person be compared to a corporation, having just one vote and very limited resources? The tail has always been waging this dog!
The TPP will give corporations the right to sanction countries for perceived violations. It will have its own corporate courts to bring a certain ‘majesty’ in the execution of ‘justice’. Courts overseen by corporate judges. Courts for which there is no non-corporate appeal process. A final world court totally and overtly controlled by corporations! If the amateur historian, Fruendel Stuart, thinks that these people will care that he would have change his allegiance to the sovereign in Britain or that republicanism has any value in their planning, he lie in hell! He must now learn to bow lower to the real power behind the throne. The international corporation, as invisible as it maybe, acting through their local apostles, invisible as God.
Already, governments in the Caribbean cannot behave in ways anathema to local and international corporate interests. And governments in the industrialized countries must adhere to the whims and fancies of the corporates. Therefore there is just a narrow step to make for these largely unseen actions of corporations to come to the centre and be the dominant force they have always been behind the scenes. This ‘second coming’ will quickly find ‘a greater multitude’ singing the praises of the Mahdi, this Hidden Imam.

Pingback: The Monarchy of Corporate Control
There are no more nation states………..only corporate states. These notions of nationalism can’t relate to the world of today.
LikeLike
Already, governments in the Caribbean cannot behave in ways anathema to local and international corporate interests. And governments in the industrialized countries must adhere to the whims and fancies of the corporates.
You ain’t telling any lies there, Pacha. George Carlin figured out how the game was rigged and in whose favour years ago: (Warning if you have speakers on – some swearing)
LikeLike
Greenie
We’ve always loved Carlin, the late. Have attended several of his live shows. We see nothing wrong with his language. In fact, his language should be more widely used, including in places like Parliaments, schools and anywhere else people feel the need. We could never understand why self expression has to be so curtailed. And there is no other language with which to confront these people. This battle with corporations, as the real sovereign, can never be won using their weapons.
LikeLike
The notion of nation/states and the ideology of nationalism are just as relevant today for millions upon millions of people across the world today as they were in the last century.
There are many state and non-state actors involved in the global politics and international relations of this world.
Multinational corporations are but just one class of non-state actors in the quest for political domination and ascendancy over many other peoples. Nation/states are another class. Multilateral financial institutions are another class. And they are many more. Each class and its constituent entities have been controlling various degrees of power and influence across the various regions and across the world.
To therefore focus on multinational corporations as becoming more sovereign than they are far from and could ever get in a constantly changing global regional power and power relations dynamic and as some things that are about to seemlessly replace the nation/state is to underestimate the dynamic itself, its various reifications and their historical evolutions, its various contradictions, and its various interconnections.
Furthermore, there is no set manual or guide or science for properly describing, explaining and predicting the various intercourses and interactions of world politics.
Whosoever you are, Pachamama, you must greater help our masses and middle classes of people of Barbados and within the wider CARICOM fight against, in what ever ways, these multiplicity of parasitic exploitative imperialist forces, however.
Many of the poor indigent suffering people on the streets in Bridgetown, in the depressed communities and villages in the urban and rural areas and where so ever else, are seriously crying out for bold, visionary, forward looking, decisive and disciplined intellectual political leadership across various spheres and sectors in this country.
Can you emerge from behind the anonymity of this blog and help fill a void in the present vacuum of leadership?
Can you be a part of a national collective leadership?
LikeLike
@PDC
Why can’t we make our points without reference to those who prefer to be anonymous? How do you know who bloggers are? Commenters are free to be who they want to be on BU.
Next!
LikeLike
There were never any nation states to begin with since 1492.The explorers were privately financed, the pirates/privateers were privately financed, the slavers were privately financed,the plantations were privately financed and the governments were privately financed.The concept of borders ,flags ,coat of arms and anthems are instruments set to appeal to the sentiment of the masses.The private financiers are never bound to these but only to the rule of the dollar and the gun.
LikeLike
@The People’s Democratic Congress April 8, 2015 at 3:28 PM
“Many of the poor indigent suffering people on the streets in Bridgetown, in the depressed communities and villages in the urban and rural areas and where so ever else, are seriously crying out for bold, visionary, forward looking, decisive and disciplined intellectual political leadership across various spheres and sectors in this country.
Can you emerge from behind the anonymity of this blog and help fill a void in the present vacuum of leadership?”
And do what? Face the likes of the goon Dumbville Inniss, Speaker Carry-away-a-ton and thee budding Dictator Stuart?
Can you imagine a man like Pornville Inniss who amassed and still accumulates (through his just as morally profane partner) his dirty personal fortune by prostituting himself to be used as a business front to market pornography and other sordid sexual acts all in the name of Profit can come and talk about brining legislation to curb the expression of bloggers on the Internet because they primarily oppose his wicked evil nasty lying administration?
Pornville we all know you have Prime Ministerial ambitions. But do like Stinkliar and give it a rest. You are totally damaged goods and we don’t give one shit about you or you thieving lying cronies ruling Barbados in the future. Never again in your lifetime.
LikeLike
@ Green Monkey April 8, 2015 at 8:34 AM
I loved and still do that man George C.
A man who ‘sees’ neither colour, race nor religion . Just the Truth about Humanity.
One of the great philosophers of the 20th and 21st centuries.
LikeLike
A few changes ago the PM attended the Commonwealth Conference in Kangaroo country reported at a cost to taxpayers of $500,000. Have we had a report detailing any benefits derived? Now we have a meeting to meet a lameduck President and…
Why the entourage? Ok we know, a PM must have an entourage even if the MOF cant pay tax refunds.
LikeLike
David April 8, 2015 at 7:22 PM #
Cant manage two donated cents under a monarchy but want to commandeer republic.
LikeLike
With such a large contingent going with the PM, there must be room for one more. I am available to travel. I have two qualifications for being in the party – firstly I have aways admired Obama and secondly I really fancy going to Panama, especially now they are widening the canal. Ring me. I have my bag packed.
PS Pacha, these Chicken Licken posts are a bit too histrionic for me.
LikeLike
Bark Obama meets Gaw Blummah.
LikeLike
LOL, Colonel………….have some respect, nuh man! You hear we have to respect the ugly man! Ha, ha, ha!
You think when he returns, he will do the re-shuffle of the do nothing cabinet?
LikeLike
Reshuffle when he returns???????
Presidents Obama’s summit in Kingston was scheduled to start this morning, and the President sent an invitation to Stuart telling him that he could join the summit at 11 am. Stuart asked the President, ” but I thought that the summit starts at 10am?”
“Yes,” answered the President, ” but for the first hour we just stand around scratching our balls!”
LikeLike
How America Became an Oligarchy
According to a new study from Princeton University, American democracy no longer exists. Using data from over 1,800 policy initiatives from 1981 to 2002, researchers Martin Gilens and Benjamin Page concluded that rich, well-connected individuals on the political scene now steer the direction of the country, regardless of – or even against – the will of the majority of voters. America’s political system has transformed from a democracy into an oligarchy, where power is wielded by wealthy elites.
SNIP
In an earlier era, notes Dr. Cobb, wealthy landowners were able to control democracies by restricting government participation to the propertied class. When those restrictions were removed, big money controlled elections by other means:
First, running for office became expensive, so that those who seek office require wealthy sponsors to whom they are then beholden. Second, the great majority of voters have little independent knowledge of those for whom they vote or of the issues to be dealt with. Their judgments are, accordingly, dependent on what they learn from the mass media. These media, in turn, are controlled by moneyed interests.
Control of the media and financial leverage over elected officials then enabled those other curbs on democracy we know today, including high barriers to ballot placement for third parties and their elimination from presidential debates, vote suppression, registration restrictions, identification laws, voter roll purges, gerrymandering, computer voting, and secrecy in government.
http://govtslaves.info/how-america-became-an-oligarchy/
LikeLike
I became cognizant of Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP) last year. Pachamama, you have done well to shine a spotlight on this demonic trade/economic agreement which is undemocratic and represents a betrayal of the masses on the behalf of their corrupt legislators and governments.
TPP is perhaps the most sophisticated social, political and economic model that mankind has ever witnessed.
SuckaBabby comments at April 8, 2015 at 4:05 PM are a fair assessment of the role of private financiers since 1492 and are highly relevant to this post. Pachamama, you cited the examples of Detroit and Chicago where the poor are been marginalised – ably assisted, by their government and the corporate world. Why look at American cities when we have our own case studies in Barbados?
This unholy alliance between sovereign countries and the corporate finance world has been in play over a number of years. Examples in Barbados would be Sandy Lane, Sandals, et al.
The role of governments in the majority of developing countries and in an increasing number of developed countries is to facilitate and oil the wheels of corporate and large domestic organisations at the expense of their own citizens.
I would not be surprised if our government were to yield to the TPP agreement within the near future. We should never forget that our Bajan political class are corrupted to the core and would think little of selling out their countrymen and women.
The only question we need to ask ourselves is whether we are prepared to accept such a state of affairs; our whether we should assist our political class to step down from their lofty perch.
LikeLike
Apologies for cutting and pasting
Rothschild Versus Rockefeller
by Jeff Prager
A lot of people seem to be fixated on “Rothschild Rules The World” and my opinion is nothing could be further from the truth. The internet is FILLED with Rothschild Rules The World proofs. Has anyone ever considered that this might be to put people on the wrong track? I don’t believe any one person rules the world. In fact, it’s already been recently proven that no one person rules the world, but that still doesn’t stop people from believing that Rothschild rules the world.
I’ve probably read almost every web site describing Rothschild history. Few reveal that the Rothschilds divested themselves of commercial banking in the 1990s and are now involved strictly in private money management primarily for foreign potentates like the sheiks in Abu Dhabi and elsewhere.
When it comes to money, finance and global influence, the Rockefeller family has the Rothschilds beat by miles.
The Rockefeller family has controlling interest in the following corporations or members of the family sit on the board of directors and the Rockefeller family is much, much larger than the Rothschild family (this list does not include think tanks, the UN, BIS, the World Bank and other national and international organizations which are discussed below):
General Motors
Exxon
Chrysler
General Electric
Mobil Oil
IBM
US Steel
RCA
Eastman Kodak
Union Carbide
Caterpillar
Xerox
WR Grace
General Foods
Singer
Ralston Purina
Honeywell
Bendix
Colgate Palmolive
American Can
Diamond Shamrock
Cerro
Universal Oil Products
Airco
International Minerals and Chemicals
Cluett Peabody
Harris Intertype
Carborundum
Sybron
Texasgulf
Gannett
Ceco
TRW
National Steel
Uniroyal
Republic Steel
American Motors
FMC
Warner Lambert
Allied Chemical
US Industries
Raytheon
Eaton
Standard Oil
Teledyne
Nabisco
Kennecott Copper
Bristol Myers
Burroughs
Illinois Central Industries
Studebaker Worthington
American Smelting and Refining
Eli Lilly
Corning Glass
Emerson Electric
Scott Paper
Carrier
Avco
Hewlett Packard
First National City Corp
Chase Manhattan Bank
Manufacturers Hanover
Chemical New York Corp
Bankers Trust
First Chicago Corp
Marine Midlands Bank
Wells Fargo
Charter New York
Mellon National Corp
First National Boston Corp
National Detroit Corp
Bank of New York
Cleveland Trust
Detroitbank Corp
Lincoln First Banks Inc
Southeast Banking Corp
Prudential
Metropolitan
Equitable Life Assurance
New York Life
Massachusetts Mutual
Mutual Of New York
New England Mutual
Mutual Benefit
American Express
Continental Corp
CIT Financial
Crum and Forster
American Tel. and Tel.
Consolidated Edison
Detroit Edison
Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea
SS Kresge
Federated Department Stores
Winn-Dixie Stores
May Department Stores
RH Macy
Marriott
National Bank of Westchester
U.S. Borax & Chemicals
First New Haven National Bank
International Basic Economy Corp.
New England Nuclear Corp.
Clarcan Petroleum
Diamond Shamrock
Selected Risk Investments, S.A., Luxembourg
Omage Fund
Youngstown Sheet & Tube
Carbon Limestone
United Nuclear
Picklands Mather
Rockwell Mfg.
Commonwealth & European Investment Trust
Provident Loan Society
Trans America Overseas Finance
Scantlin Electronics
Cutler-Hammer
Aircraft Radio
Stavid Engineering
C.I.T. Financial Corp.
International Minerals & Chemicals
Investors Group
Investors Mutual Fund of Canada
Investors International Mutual Fund, Ltd.
Manhattan Fund
Paribas
Agricultural Insurance Co.
Bendix
Caneel Bay Plantations
Seabord World Airlines
Chemway
International Basic Economy Corp.
Industrial & Mining Development Bank of Iran
Anelex
Pakistan Industrial Credit & Investment
Investors Syndicate of Canada
Hemisphere Fund
Basic Resources International, S.A.
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Corp.
AVX Ceramics
Ventron
Thermo Electron
Intel
Aerovox
Fansteel
Electronic Specialty
Plasmachem
Coherent Radiation
Mallinkrodt Chemical Works
Howard Johnson
Perini Corp.
American Motors
Americal Capital Life Insurance
Scantlin Electronics
Evans & Sutherland Computer Corp.
GCA Corp.
Itek
CCI-Marquardt
National Aviation
Iomec
Mitre
Riverside Research Institute
Scantlin Electronics (Quotron Systems)
Cerro
Poccantico Oil & Gas
Cryonetics
FMA Corp.
Mithras, Inc.
Thiokol Chemical
United Nuclear
U.S. Borax & Chemical
Safetran Systems
Airborne Instruments Laboratory, Inc.
Vertol Aircraft
Cornell Aeronautical Laboratory
General Applied Science Laboratories
James Talcott, Inc.
Mithras, Inc.
Thermo Electron Engineering Corp.
Flight Refueling Corp.
Nuclear Development Corp. of America
Dorado Beach Hotel Corp.
Airborne Instruments Laboratory, Inc.
Aircraft Radio, Corp.
Stavid Engineering
Vertol Aircraft
There are actually 100s more corporations with Rockefeller family members controlling the board and/or the stock—I’ve just included the largest ones here. Rockefeller was instrumental in establishing the Counsel On Foreign Relations, the Trilateral Commission and many other think tanks. Rockefeller family members sit on the boards at Yale, Cornell and other Ivy League colleges. Rockefeller University, formerly the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, was endowed by John D. Rockefeller in 1901 with a gift of $60 million. Its present investment portfolio is thought to be in excess of $ 200 million (as of 1974, 40 years ago). The Rockefeller family owns just about everything in America and has international influence through the multinational corporations they control. Their wealth surpassed the Rothschilds in the early 1930s.
While no single entity or family rules the world, the Rockefellers have the Rothschilds beat by miles in terms of overall wealth, global influence and corporate ownership and influence, in my opinion.
Congress developed a report in 1974 titled “Probing the Rockefeller Fortune,” during Nelson Rockefellers ascendancy to the Vice Presidency of the United States in the Hearings before the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, Ninety-Third Congress, Second Session, December 2, 1974, (Serial No. 45) pages 717-772]; but, somehow, the text itself was not reproduced in those archives.
The data can still be found across several internet web sites.
Follow Jeff on Facebook (aka EP Heidner)
LikeLike
@Exclaimer
You comment about an unholy alliance, those with money will always find ways to influence decisions in their interest.
LikeLike
@ PDC
You propose that we come out from behind our moniker. Yet you have an ostensibly, unregistered, ‘political party’, as it is, and none of us know who you are. All we ever get to see is your ad nauseum statements. We believe you have a higher responsibility than us to uncloak.
We will NEVER, willingly, give up the most powerful weapon we possess.
On the other hand, being a party operative, cannot be our role. We lack confidence in the political system, all of it, and have reached a point where our considered views have become too militant to coexist with the pleadings political operators tend to make.
Moreover we are not to be persuaded that anything occurring in Barbados, by itself, can have any effect on global conditions as they evolve into the ultra oligarchic world we are fast approaching.
At best, we see our job as an agitator, warner, people who present issues in ways seldom considered by the Caribbean mind. We will never consider your party or any other worthy of public support. Yes, you have had some good ideas in the past. Ideas we support. But it ends there. The system the PDC wants to change is more likely to change the very PDC into the very image of the BLP/DLP, which you are oh so critical of. Think about rooting up the whole system, from its foundations. Only then would we really have a chance to do anything real. That project must be global in character.
LikeLike
George lamming in one of his lectures at the Steel Shed made this same point some 15 years ago. He indicated that the International Organizations would be wielding more power than Presidents and Prime Ministers. We are seeing this today in the form of the IMF, the UN and the other international NGOs.
Although he saw the emergence of the power and influence of the multinationals, his focus was that very soon Caribbean women who sit in positions of power in these institutions shall be the very tools the Caribbean shall have to utilize in order to survive in the emerging restructuring of the world view.
There are times I believe that we Caribbean people pay little regard to the thinkers among at our very peril!!
LikeLike
@ Lemuel
“…He indicated that the International Organisations would be wielding more power than Presidents and Prime Ministers. We are seeing this today in the form of the IMF, the UN and the other international NGOs.”
Lemmie
wuh you gone very high bozie. At least the IMF, UN and other international NGOs have (allegedly) transparent objects and missions.
How about the OCM, Republic Banks, Cable & Wireless, EMERA, Massy, Sandals etc. that we have sold our asse(t)s to…?
Do YOU know what their overall missions are?
Do you know their ultimate intent?
What has EMERA contributed to our energy status so far?
What has Massey contributed to agricultural / industrial development in Barbados?
Apparently Owen, Miller and Enuf knows…… cause they have been agitating for us to sell ever shiite we have to these organisations for a few dollars which we can use to buy SUVs and pay for Froon’s jaunts in Panama etc…..
…talk bout brass….
LikeLike
@ Pacha
Al least in days gone by conquistadors had to come “vi et armis” to enslave a country. Old folks FOUGHT to the death to protect their national interests….
Now we have EDUCATED brasses who willingly opt to become slaves, in exchange for Japanese SUVs and big screen TVs…. while their children are condemned to begging at the feet of the Massey’s and EMERAs of this world …to get (or keep) a little servant job…..
…talk bout bowls…
LikeLike
So Pacha
…what is the REAL problem?
is it that these corporate monsters and deceitfully sneaking up on us to take our rights?
…..or do we have a case of greedy, short-sighted, low-self-esteem-cursed brass bowls who are actually BEGGING these organisations to “Please come and enslave us”….. so we can relax and depend on the largesse of the rich an powerful rather that work, create and produce to live by the sweat of our own brows….?
Bushie thinks that you have fingered the wrong villains here….. Can you really blame a natural mobster if a whole set of brass bowls seeks to join his gang…?
LikeLiked by 1 person
The comments here are are insightful and fundamentally correct with respect to the influence and in many cases control of all things societal by a group of puppet masters.
Blogger Suckababy’s references to the corporate interest back in the 15th century properly captures the context of how well entrenched the Pinocchio show has been.
It’s powerful and important to recognize new incarnations of cartels or global oligarchies like the TPP but realistically as noted above this construct of world hegemony by the few of the many is not new.
The truths of Knights Templar and all manner of warlock’s havens and the sort that created a nexus between Czars in Russia and the west and that created what we have as a UN security council permanent reps.
That also morphed in times past to install Presidents of the US and strive today to institutionalize that practice with the laws of donations and humongous sums of money, as also referred to in this post, and that also drive this continued burgeoning arms race etc etc.
These puppet masters are clearly not a new phenomena.
It would be simplistic and dangerous to say that a rose by any other name smells the same so maybe we can say the devil changes his name and appearance but is just as evil.
And btw, we here in Barbados most surely have our puppet masters too.
Where I think everyone gets fooled is that they perceive that white shadows of the ilk of the Goddard’s and BS&T Chairmen or the current Bizzy and COW head honchos hover ominously in the background and pull all the strings.
Surely they hover but as seen with Mr. Leroy Parris and the rather indicative money trails of the $700k for a $3.5K legal job and the $1M allegedly deposited in an a/c of a MP’s mother, and Mr Bushie’s continued warnings of the blatant overspending there has been a decidedly strong attempt to expand the local puppet master class!
LikeLike
I see on another part of the social media that someone roundly cussed out Dumbville Inniss.
These politicians refuse to lock up their criminal business friends and partners, thieving sellouts for lawyers, rapists for doctors, fellow cabinet ministers who commit crimes against the taxpayers/voters, the politicians/lawyers do not want anyone talking about these crimes, but expect everyone to cower and say and do nothing when he knows it has reached epidemic proportions on the island…..
Dumbville you are pushing the envelope, hope you know how to deal with consequences, people can only take so much and no more….there is a limit to everything.
LikeLike
BU beside wanting Barbados to be a Republic, the DLP want to make the island a Dictatorship. Has any one read The Nation News this morning with pornville Inniss, and the dishonest AG wanting to stifle expressions on the internet through this blog and others? We are already a Banana State, now we will become a dictatorship like some of the other countries in the OAS. What a life we have to look forward to in the caribbean.
LikeLike
The Deep State and the Bias of Official History
How do Wall Street, oil companies and the shadow government agencies like the CIA and NSA really shape the global political order?
That’s the question author Peter Dale Scott examines in his forthcoming book “The American Deep State: Wall Street, Big Oil and the Attack on U.S. Democracy,” due out on Nov. 12. Scott, a professor emeritus of English at Berkeley and former Canadian diplomat, is considered the father of “deep politics”—the study of hidden permanent institutions and interests whose influence on the political realm transcends the elected.
In the “American Deep State,” Scott takes a compelling look at the facts lurking behind the official histories of events to uncover the real dynamics in play. In this exclusive excerpt—the first of several we will feature on WhoWhatWhy—he looks at the revolving door between Wall Street and the CIA, and what that demonstrates about where power truly resides.
In the last decade it has become more and more obvious that we have in America today what the journalists have called… America’s “deep state.” (1)
This expansion of a two-level or dual state has been paralleled by two other dualities: the increasing resolution of American society into two classes—the “one percent” and the “ninety-nine percent”—and the bifurcation of the U.S. economy into two aspects: the domestic, still subject to some governmental regulation and taxation, and the international, relatively free from governmental controls. (2)
All three developments have affected and intensified each other—particularly since the Reagan Revolution of 1980, which saw American inequality of wealth cease to diminish and begin to increase. (3) Thus for example Wall Street—the incarnation of the “one percent”— played a significant role in creating the CIA after World War II, and three decades later the CIA and big oil played a significant role in realigning American politics for the Reagan Revolution.
http://whowhatwhy.org/2014/10/26/the-deep-state-and-the-bias-of-official-history-2/
LikeLike
Why Obama visited Jamaica.
http://www.msnbc.com/rachel-maddow-show/why-obama-went-jamaica
LikeLike
Obama is clearing the deck to introduce the TPP at the summit in Panama! Global arrogance does not like Celac, ALBA and other non-imperial groupings. This sucker is a smooth devil.
They have withdrawn their sanctions on Venezuela for the threat they are not. The Americans have had to bow to other members of the regional group who said they will never come to another summit unless Cuba was there. The US is engaged in talks with Cuba about normalization. Collectively, this serpent cannot be trusted. Within this velvet glove is a fist of steel.
LikeLike
We see Sarah (something) Chairman of the Light & Power Company (Barbados) threatening a rate increase.
Bushie must be right, we are all ”’ssholes. Bajans too love White people running things. Or igrunt Black ‘wones’.
Imagine in a space where energy costs all over the world are at their lowest in years, and going lower. With fossil energy costs and the diffusion of alternative energies oversupplying markets. Yet Barbados could find ways to insist on an old economy model.
Moreover, the foreign invasion to capture this monopoly was, as some of us said then, should we say unwise, to be charitable to the shortsighted idiots who constantly force themselves into developmental cul de sacs.
LikeLike
@ Pacha
Bushie must be right, we are all ”’ssholes
Boss, …ya mean you see what mood the bushman is in this Sunday morning ….and would come with a provocative statement like that…?
What do you mean “Bushie must be right….”
…are you suggesting that the bushman could be wrong? 🙂
when have the bushman been wrong…? (well…since that incident back in 1977…?)
Those Canadians were encouraged to buy out BL&P by a set of white managers who were on their way out ..and preferred to do anything rather than pass the company on to black leadership…. (just like MoneyBrain’s dad) EMERA got a bargain and have already made back their investment…they have nothing to lose..
That this DLP government went along with that shiite scheme and even joined by selling off NIS holdings is the single worse financial decision ever made in Barbados …. that will become clearer when the power system begins to fall apart…
Anyone who will sell off their power company to foreigners and then buy energy from them under THEIR conditions deserves to be French Connected (UK).
LOL …note that EMERA has no such influence over in St Lucia where they are only MINORITY shareholders… but then St Lucians are not Bajan brass bowls….
LikeLike
The architects of the sale of NIB shares in the BL&P are still in position therefore all must be well.
LikeLike
What you talking about? Regardless to which ‘architects’ were in position the result would be the same.
LikeLike
Time to mash up an buy back.
In breaking her silence on the BL&P’s intention to part with some of its 400-plus employees, executive chairman Sarah MacDonald said the company had no choice but to cut costs.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66042/bl-official-lower-costs-rate-hike#sthash.KUWRlrQY.dpuf
LikeLike
@ Hants
Time to mash up an buy back.
EXACTLY…
…did Bushie not predict that this was another “Almond” in the making…?
Did BL&P not make PROFITS of nearly $50M last year?
Did they not make PROFITS of nearly $40M the year before?
When EVER …did they make an operating loss…?
What the hell is this woman talking about? …and to whom is she talking?.. idiots?
Quite simply, EMERA has extracted what they wanted from BL&P and it has now reached the stage where any idiot can see that major capital investment is needed if there is to be reliable power bout here next three to five years….
…let’s see …. will EMERA invest $ 400M in Barbados to be recovered over the next 20 years ….or cut their losses now …and run now and keep THEIR $400M…?
WUNNA GUESS THE ANSWER TO THAT RIDDLE…..
…then the DLP (led by Stinkliar of Four Seasons and Almond fame) will…
– Buy back the abandoned plant for hundreds of millions of dollars
– Pay millions more to scrap same
– Borrow hundreds of millions from (?????) to rebuild the power network
– Give the new plant to a foreigner to run…. probably some friend of Bizzy who he will bring and ‘introduce’ to the minister….
– Give this “friend of Bizzy” a lifetime of tax concessions
brass bowls will be brass bowls,,,,
LikeLike
The profits which BL&P has made are for their Canadian share holders, since the Bajan share holders, mainly the Government have cashed in their chips. We haven’t seen anything yet. There is going to be a time, when similar to the Solid Waste Tax, the tax payers of Barbados,even those not on the grid, will be called upon to pay a heavy SASGER (Seawell and Spring Garden Engine Replacement ) tax. EMERA is here to stay, until those engines are ready to be changed out. Under local management, there was a system in place to systematically phase out those power plants ,that would not have been overly burdensome on the company. As it stands now, the BL&P generation plants have been allowed to operate like the SSA’s and Transport Board’s fleet, which when run down would necessitate the replacement of multiple units at the same time.
Things are rough today, but I’ve been told that the Tom’s Adams years of 1981 (I was overseas) was much rougher , and even then the same BL&P under local management did not retrench workers, or ask for a rate increase.
Who are really representing the people of Barbados? But then again, how can anyone represent us when we have sold out to all and sundry?
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ Colonel Buggy
You seem to be one of the few bout here with eyes to see….
According to the last annual report (on BLPC website) the company made income after taxes of $54M in 2013 and $40 M the year before. If Bushie recalls correctly, they gave a press release for 2014 listing similar income levels last year…
This at a time when everyone else in the community are barely trying to break even.
The woman is therefore clearly lying about the reasons for cutting staff…..
but…
The reasons are there for anyone to see…
EMERA has to make a decision to invest hundreds of millions in new plant if Barbados is to have a secure energy future. They have no great incentive to do so however, since they have already extracted MUCH more than they paid when they were handed the company by the DLP and the idiots in charge at the time.
…so EMERA says to Government…. We need an exclusive license for another 40 years of guaranteed profits by the Fear Trading Jokers or we dun wid that…
Unfortunately, the DLP’s puppet master is seriously in the business of solar energy, so wunna done know that EMERA goose cooked… what license what??!!
…so wunna going hear all kinda excuses now why they will be ‘forced’ to bring pressure on Government by staff cuts, threats of rate increases and all kinda shiite …. just like Almond…. then they will sell the scrap to government or some shady international goon and run off looking for new brass bowl victims….
but hey…
Who in their right minds…would sell their ONLY energy business to strangers…???
…brass bowls…!!!
…that’s who….
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ Bushie.
Emera is successful CANADIAN company.
They are in business like all other CANADIAN companies to make PROFITS for their shareholders.
The Government of Barbados should not forget that Electricity is an ESSENTIAL SERVICE and neither should the management of Emera.
LikeLike
@ Hants
What government of Barbados?
…you mean the idiots currently in office…? poppets can govern…?
…you ARE right about EMERA and money though….
To make Bushie point clearer… anyone can take a casual look at the BL&P annual report on their website and compare with the Lucelec annual report on their website…
BL&P earnings per share in 2012 – $ 2.28 and in 2013 – $2.79 (Bds. dollars)
Lucelec earnings per share 2012 – $ 1.26 and in 2013 – $1.14 (EC dollars)
The McDonald woman is on both these boards….
…so why is there no need for such urgent restructuring in St Lucia…?
Answer….The St Lucians did not sell off their birthrights to money-driven devils like brass bowl idiots….
…next question…
Which other EMERA company performed better than BL&P anyhow…?
Wuh this is OBVIOUSLY a case of killing a fatted calf and feasting on the carcass….
…the bones will be left for Bajan bowls to make soup …..
LikeLike
The just concluded 7th Summit of the Americas continues to reverberate from the sterling presentation made by PM Stuart, as he made a strong case for an improvement in US/ Caribbean relations.
Thank you Honourable PM Stuart.
Miller and Prodigirl remains proud of you.
LikeLike
This is the path that our leaders are taking us down. When will we as a people stand up and say “NO!”
“Poor governance allows investors to secure land quickly and cheaply for profit. Investors seem to be cherry-picking countries with weak rules and regulations because they are easy targets. This can spell disaster for communities if these deals result in their homes and livelihoods being grabbed.”
http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2013/feb/07/india-investors-forcing-ethiopians-off-land
LikeLike
We see the Republicans, urged by their corporate masters, have agreed to give fast track authority to Obama for passage of the TPP.
And you know they don’t intend to give him anything
This is not the end of the beginning, it is the beginning of the end, for us all!
LikeLike
http://www.democracynow.org/2015/4/16/grayson_on_money_politics_if_we
LikeLike
http://www.democracynow.org/2015/4/16/a_corporate_trojan_horse_critics_decry
LikeLike
http://www.democracynow.org/2015/4/16/harvard_students_expand_blockade_calling_for
LikeLike
Exclaimer April 14, 2015 at 6:28 PM #
Investors seem to be cherry-picking countries with weak rules and regulations because they are easy targets.
…………………………………………………………….
Easy targets = Easily bribed
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy
Easy targets = Easily bribed
You want easy targets?……brass bowls looking for quick money to buy bling
LikeLike
Russia’s pivot to Asia – A Sino-Russian Entente? | Asia | DW.DE | 15.04.2015
LikeLike
‘Bloggers’ Compared to ISIS During Congressional Hearing
(Paul Joseph Watcon) Bloggers, conspiracy theorists and people who challenge establishment narratives on the Internet were all likened to ISIS terrorists during a chilling Congressional hearing which took place yesterday.
The hearing, hosted by the House Foreign Relations Committee, was titled “Confronting Russia’s Weaponization of Information,” and accused Russian state broadcaster RT of weaponizing “conspiracy theories” to spread propaganda.
One of the speakers giving testimony was former RT host Liz Wahl, who made a public spectacle of quitting Russian state media last year in an incident stage-managed by neo-con James Kirchick, himself a former employee of Radio Free Europe – a state media outlet.
Remarking that the Internet provided a platform for “fringe voices and extremists,” Wahl characterized people who challenge establishment narratives as a “cult”.
http://govtslaves.info/bloggers-compared-to-isis-during-congressional-hearing/
LikeLike
Conspiracytheorisitis – evidently a very insidious disease that has been aroundfor years (even way before the JFK assassination and Oswald frame up) and has even infected at least one Congressman (maybe he just had a weakened immune system). No wonder the PTB are worried it might keep spreading.
“Every effort has been made by the Federal Reserve Board to conceal its power. But the truth is, the Federal Reserve Board has usurped the government of the United States. It controls everything here; and it controls our foreign relations. It makes or breaks governments at will. No man, and no body of men, is more entrenched in power than the arrogant credit monopoly which operates the Federal Reserve Board and the Federal Reserve Banks. These evildoers have robbed this country of more than enough money to pay the national debt. … Faithless government officers who have violated their oaths of office should be impeached and brought to trial.” — Congressman Louis T. McFadden before the House of Representatives, in the midst of the Great Depression, 1932. (Congressional Record, June 15, 1934)
Above is today’s quote of the day at WhatReallyHappenedDOTcom .
You can also see it here: http://ecosalon.com/25-quotes-on-who-really-runs-america/
LikeLike
It’s amazing, this TPP is the most dangerous thing to small island states. Yet there is no discussion about it at the ‘centres’. We suspect, we’ll be late to this corporate ‘party’ again, as well.
LikeLike
@Pacha
And what have small island states ever accomplished to demonstrate they can influence geopolitics?
LikeLike
Military intelligence has something to say about smallness. Smallness gives an ability to adapt to change quicker, strategically! We could attempt to change the landscape to render these new moves inert. At least see what’s coming done the pike, talk about it as a real issue, fail to cooperate.
LikeLike
@Pacha
You are correct theoretically of course. What small island states have we observed willing to swim against geopolitical current?
LikeLike
Yuh seeing this wrong! Think in military intelligence terms. 11 countries are no bigger than all the small countries combined.
Secondly, sometimes by exposing the plans of the enemy, letting in daylight into their darkness, we can scuttle the best laid plans.
There are many ways small states can influence projects for their continued subservience.
LikeLike
@Pacha
Correct, you need to better explain your logic.
LikeLike